General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1447857386 Message started by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:36am |
Title: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:36am
Who votes for dickheads like David Leyonhjelm???
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-11-17/david-leyonhjelm-discourages-us-from-adopting-stronger-gun-laws/6948656 Quote:
The fact we do not have semi - automatic weapons (fixed) freely available in Australia means we have less victims than the United States....If Leyonhjelm thinks massacres like the one in Port Arthur are an acceptable consequence so people can own semi -automatic weapons he is an idiot....It makes a difference to those who lost their loved ones at Port Arthur who would no doubt find his comments about being victims very offensive!!! [smiley=thumbdown.gif] [smiley=thumbdown.gif] [smiley=thumbdown.gif] |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by The Grappler on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:39am
Mekong Club.. Cabramatta.... any Friday or Saturday Night..... $100 will buy you a Saturday Night Special...
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:44am Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:39am:
Yeah Grap and having automatic weapons freely available will not result is any mass killings....Tell that to the people in Paris!!! ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by sir prince duke alevine on Nov 19th, 2015 at 1:07am
Don't you love d1ckheads who speak without using evidence. I thought better of leyonhjm but obviously he is as deranged as the likes of tony Abbott.
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Maqqa on Nov 19th, 2015 at 1:22am
I remember the Liberal Democratic Party
Lots of voters mistook them for the Liberal Party - we lost a few votes to them in the ethnic community |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by BigOl64 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:12am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:36am:
We haven't had Automatic weapons available to the public since the 30s, when they were banned by every state in Australia. There were no automatic weapons at port arthur I think your hysteria has caused a technical glitch in not being able to tell the difference between an automatic weapon and a semi automatic weapon, it happens with anti gun hysterics. So calm your tits, it is just someone expressing an opinion, not quite illegal in this country yet. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:31am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:36am:
He really is an idiot. When was the last time we had a massacre? Oh yeah - Port Arthur. The laws introduced by Howard have clearly worked. That there is still gun crime in Australia is due simply to the fact that ALL guns have not been banned. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:19am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:31am:
This guy has no business even being in parliament. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:26am BigOl64 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:12am:
Does it matter what I called a weapon the can kill masses of people....So calm your tits mate because I am also entitled to my opinion....Leyonhjelm has slagged off at the majority of Australian's by calling us victims, which insinuates we are weak in his closed mind....Even having semi automatic weapons would result in another massacre if some of the froot loops we have seen commit gun crimes had access to these weapons....Good on John Howard for having the balls to stand up to people like you!!! :) :) :) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:30am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:36am:
If it's any consolation, almost nobody thought they were. I believe he was put first on the ballot paper and a lot of Liberal voters voted for them instead. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:56am Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:30am:
His election was as big a travesty as Ricky Muir who also, received almost no votes. And both of them are first-class retards. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by innocentbystander. on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:59am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:44am:
The Paris massacre was carried out with illegal weapons that no amount of gun control would have prevented, unless somehow you can get the ISIS state to implement gun control too, I will acknowledge though that Howards gun laws have definitely prevented massacres by lone mental patients that have no ability to source weapons illegally. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:09am innocentbystander. wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:59am:
No gun control will ever be perfect. That doesn't mean you don't try. NO SAFETY measures we implement in any area of our society will be perfect but again, that is no reason for dumping them. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:19am mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:56am:
Well, you're half-correct. Leyonhjelm is a nutter, but Muir seems quite reasonable. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:20am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:36am:
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:23am Maqqa wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 1:22am:
Are you saying Liberals voters are idiots who cannot read voting forms and accidently voted for the wrong party? David leyonhjelm is a Veterinary surgen, a lawyer, has a masters in business administration and is a farmer. He is well known in country areas for his Agribuzz column in The land. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by innocentbystander. on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:26am Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:23am:
Sounds very successful, no wonder the worlds biggest loser Kat hates him ;D |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:31am innocentbystander. wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:26am:
Get back to the peanut-gallery. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:34am innocentbystander. wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:26am:
The Liberals say those who have been subjected to an AVO cannot have a firearm License for 5 years. The Carr government changed it to 10 years disqualification for AVO with firearm licence. The Greens say those who have been subjected to an AVO should wait 5 years. David Leyonhjelm says those who have been subjected to an AVO should never have a firearm license. I agree with Leyonhjelm, those who are stupid enough to have an AVO taken out against them should never have a firearms license. Leyonhjelm has probably forgotten more than what the dopey leftists in this forum know. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:37am Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:20am:
Any of the gun grabbing hoplophobes want to comment on how this illegal full auto machine gun came to be in Australia? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:43am Kat wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:19am:
Sure, if you're a nutter. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:50am mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:56am:
From memory Leyonhjelm was elected through voter ignorance, and Muir was elected through a tangled octopus of preference flows. To be honest, even though I disagree with a fair few of the things they both stand for, I still prefer them over the standard Labor and Liberal clones of each other. Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:23am:
Nobody is arguing he isn't successful before politics. Generally they argue that he is a libertarian twit. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:55am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:31am:
The Childers backpacker fire and the Quakers hill fires had more innocent people killed than our second worst mass shooting which was done with a single shot bolt action .22 Lockhart and Monash were mass shootings the hoplophobes tend to pretend never happened Here is NSW police Minister Troy Grant saying greater than 97% of all gun crime in NSW is done with illegal unregistered firearms, he said guns bought over the counter at gun shops are not the problem. He also calls out the greens for their fear campaign against licensed firearm owners and asks him to be honest, he is calling Shoebridge a liar.. He starts at 1 min 10 sec- www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKXLxKX8RgQ |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:57am Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:55am:
Unless you're a farm owner, you don't need a gun. Simple as that. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:02am Kat wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:19am:
Of course he is reasonable to you! He is long-term unemployed, has no skills and can scarcely string a sentence together. He is like you minus the pathological anger! |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:02am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:57am:
What about Olympic target shooters, Aussies have won many Gold medals at the Olympics do you want to stop our Olympians from competing? Mexico has banned guns, their firearm homicide rate is three times higher than the USA, you could move to Mexico if you want strong gun laws. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:07am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:43am:
He's several times opposed filthy policies of the LNP. So on that basis alone, he's worth his seat. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:08am mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:02am:
This is wrong. He had to quit his job at a sawmill before he came to parliament. He mentioned he has been on welfare in the past, but I don't think that should be held against him. mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:02am:
He's come a long way since his first bumbling interview. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:09am mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:02am:
And you are a fool. Tus nature balances... |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by innocentbystander. on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:14am Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:34am:
Unfortunately a lot of AVO's are bogus. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by John Smith on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:49am mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:02am:
you just keep making crap up don't you? He was working before politics, and creative writing doesn't come as naturally to him as it does to you. That's hardly a fault. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:58am Kat wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:07am:
Huh, so THAT'S how low you set the bar for getting your vote, eh? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:01am John Smith wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:49am:
Muir was born in Maffra, Victoria. He grew up and went to school in Stratford. He worked for a leather company making car seats. Around 2009, he moved to Denison, near Heyfield, and worked for a sawmill, moving up to manager. Shortly before the election, the sawmill ceased operations and he lost his job. Source: Wikipedia. He was unemployed. He cannot speak publicly. He has no real skills besides making seats and sawing wood. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:01am Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:08am:
Not exactly a powerful statement. He still is rarely interviewed because he has so little of intelligence to say. His votes can be swayed quite easily because he understands so little. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:02am innocentbystander. wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:14am:
As long as there is an actual appeal process, I'd be happy with that. One incident does not a character make - especially if it never actually happened! |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Panther on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:09am innocentbystander. wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:14am:
You probably won't find any stats to back that up, but you are probably way more right than wrong. :( In domestic disputes, usually preceding divorce proceedings, I know for a fact that it's common practice for lawyers to......ahhhhem......instruct their client to egg their partner on until any minor violent act can be so blown out of proportion that an AVO can be easily gotten, & if the partner doesn't accommodate with violent behavior, the complaining party is drilled in the art of deception (lying) so that any Judge would be so moved to tears they would gladly provide the complainant with whatever relief they sought. For that, a honest, law abiding citizen -- who's one big mistake in life was not picking the right partner -- can easily lose their firearm license, never get one, or have their firearms confiscated, all due to a contrived set of events. That said, IMHO, many more AVOs than not, are for valid reasons, & the violent party gets what they deserve. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by The Grappler on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:17am
As long as the standard for handing out 'avo's is simply that the complainant 'feels' something and there is thus zero standard of proof - a (lack of) standard deliberately set up by government so as to afford itself the 'right' to confiscate private property, i.e firearms, and give to itself the right to attack, without proper cause, that segment of the community most likely to shuffle off bad government - these can never be a valid reason for any sanction by a court or by regulation in any way, let alone the justification for violent intervention by the instruments of the State into a private life.
No government may arrogate unto itself any right or privilege of action against its own people without proper reason and, in our society, proper proof based on actual events. These 'laws' have always been an end-run around democracy and Law itself, and are themselves an abuse pure and simple. There endeth the lesson.. and that lesson is in these 'laws' being themselves the spearpoint of tyranny. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:18am Panther wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:09am:
Long training as a scientist has led me to the conclusion that when someone says they know for afact, it usually means they are pulling it out of the descending colon. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by innocentbystander. on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:33am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:18am:
Long training as a right wing conservative has taught me that the left couldn't care less how many AVO's are false as long as its another spanner thrown in to societies works. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:33am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:58am:
I place a high priority on stopping the bad policies of tis execrable 'government'. So yes, I support those in power who do likewise. And he doesn't actually 'get my vote', unfortunately - his electorate is no-where near mine. We're stuck with the terminally-useless Angus Taylor. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:35am innocentbystander. wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:33am:
Really, I care about false accusations as much as the next person. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:35am innocentbystander. wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:33am:
You really do get more foolish by the day. What an utterly inane comment. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Panther on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:39am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:18am:
A scientist that takes a drunken, pill poppin', cocaine snortin', crack smokin' talkin' horse as his namesake is a scientist who's personal theories aren't worth 2 cents. But hey, that should never stop you from having your own personal opinions.........never know, you might (though doubtful) have a moment or two of lucidity from time to time -- could even shock yourself into a temporary mental sobriety! ;D |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:53am mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:01am:
Wasn't trying to be, but just pointing out there is a substantial improvement. Do you still maintain that you think he was "long term unemployed"? Or do you now realise that is incorrect |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by John Smith on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:56am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:01am:
I seem to remember a story just AFTER the election when Abbott asked Muir to meet with him in Canberra. Muirs' reply was that if Abbott wanted to speak to him he would have to travel to Muir as Muir couldn't afford to take the time of work Found it http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/ricky-muir-nowhere-to-be-seen-at-sawmill-after-turning-down-meeting-with-tony-abbott-20140530-399ea.html :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:19am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:01am:
And that'd be two more skills than you. The fact that he may, at some time, have been unemployed, is utterly irrelevant. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:23am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:26am:
In 1995 we had a grand total of one death from semi auto rifles, semi auto rifles caused the least amount of deaths in Australia before they were restricted according to the Australian Institute of Criminology New Zealand has had no mass shootings since 1996 despite allowing semi autos with silencers for recreational hunters. If semi autos are the problem why has NZ had no mass shootings with them since 1996 Queensland broke the 1996 NFA and allows farmers and landowners to have semi auto centrefire, no mass shottings done with semi autos in Qld since they gave them back. You are a typical hypocrite hoplophobe in using fear to demonise all law abiding firearm owners because of the actions of a madman who never held a firearms licence. Hoplophobes like you say we should not judge all muslims by the terrorists yet you judge all firearm owners by a madman at Pt Arthur. The leftists say it's ok to use fear to demonise law abiding firearm owners but not ok to use fear to promote any other agenda. Hoplophobes should seek psychiatric help for their irrational fear of guns. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:37am Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:23am:
You are a gun fan and you call them "silencers". Hilarious. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:38am Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:37am:
But thats what they do in the movies Stratos ;) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:48am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:38am:
If I called them sound moderators the hoplophobes might not understand what I am talking about. A sound moderator for a .223/.308 will reduce Db levels by around 28-31Db, you cannot silence the supersonic crack when the projectile breaks the sound barrier. A sound moderator will add about 8-10 inches to the length of a rifle, making them harder to conceal. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:50am Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:48am:
I was under the impression that a moderator only reduces the effect of exhaust gas from the cartridge. If the bullet reaches supersonic speed you still hear that. Instead subsonic ammunition is used https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suppressor#Subsonic_ammunition |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:52am Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:48am:
Calling them silencers is dumb and wrong. Nothing silent about it. I fully support gun control of the weapons you seem to want access to, and also support sound suppressors, because why would i want those that need to use guns to suffer hearing loss? Two completely different matters. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:53am John Smith wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:56am:
Pretty sure if he was working at the time, his employer would understand if he had a meeting with the PM. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:58am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:50am:
Subsonic ammo loses heaps of energy. Kinetic energy is Mass times Velocity Squared over 2 or MV^2/2 Since velocity is squared any reduction in velocity has a huge impact in reducing kinetic energy of the projectile. My .243w shoots 58 gr projectiles at 3900 Feet per second, to make it subsonic I have to reduce projectile velocity to below 1280 Feet per second. A semi auto centrefire will be a single shot gun with subsonic ammo not enough gas pressure to cycle another round. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:04pm Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:52am:
In New Zealand they have strong regulations on who can own guns instead of what type they can have. I think the NZ model is superior to our laws, they have had no mass shootings. Our second worst mass shooting was done with a single shot bolt action .22, if you can trust someone with a single shot .22 then you can trust them with just about anything. I think sound moderators should be allowed for farmers, many farmers always have dogs with them and not a single company sells hearing protection for dogs. I think farmers should be allowed to have a pistol as well, it's not easy carrying a rifle on a motorbike/quad bike or horse, they should be allowed a pistol with similar restrictions to their Cat C semi auto rimfire can only be used on nominated property. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:07pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:58am:
Yes but whats the point in suppressing the sound of the shot, if the bullet makes a crack. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:19pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:04pm:
I think they should be not only allowed, but encouraged. Shooters suffer from terrible industrial deafness (although mainly in the one ear closest to the gun). |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:20pm Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:19pm:
Wouldnt ear protection be suffice? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:21pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:07pm:
It helps. Ideally you should use other protection like earmuffs if possible. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 3:23pm John Smith wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:56am:
It made Muir look like a backward hick. Which of course, was exactly what he was and still is. The first suit in his life (including for his wedding) was bought for the senate. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by The Grappler on Nov 19th, 2015 at 4:19pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 12:04pm:
Not quite true https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aramoana_massacre My daughter worked on the film "Out Of The Blue". |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 19th, 2015 at 4:20pm mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 3:23pm:
He wasn't even there when he said he was too busy to meet the PM. I wonder if the journo's checked in the pub for Muir? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 4:28pm
Maria, are you still maintaining that Muir was "long term unemployed: or have you changed your mind?
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Kat on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:06pm mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 3:23pm:
Grow up, foxtick. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:17pm Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 4:19pm:
Of course she did!!!! LOL A bit like the relative who was flight director for Apollo 13, the billionaire relative and the ASIO spy. You are such an easy mark. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:18pm Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 4:28pm:
Do you know that having a few months working minimum wage in a sawmill doesnt make you long-term employed? Liek Lambie, he has spent most of the last 10 years on the dole. And 5 minutes listening to him talk will tell you why. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:21pm mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:18pm:
Proof please. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:26pm Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:21pm:
No problem. Just prove to me the existence of any historical figure using the new and approved 'Stratos Method' and I will indulge you. Along with the location of the Ark of the Covenant. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:28pm
You obviously believe it, seeing as you've doubled down with an even stronger claim. Why do you think Muir:
Don't get angry, just show me why you think is the case, because I've read nothing that suggests this is remotely true. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by BigOl64 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:11pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:26am:
Manstrual Cramps? :'( :'( :'( Yes, you are entitled to an opinion even an ignorant one, but you are not entitled to have your ignorant opinion go unchallenged. I find knowing what the f,,,,k you are talking about always helps in these situations |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by The Grappler on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:13pm mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:17pm:
So are you - since it's all true and you are a known fantasist. You really ought to get away from that running with the known psychopaths you took on.. you'll be banned alongside them if you continue. What billionaire relative? I have no billionaire relative... you've spent too long listening to He Person's fantasies and outright lies..... Such an easy mark. Now do try to keep the personal remarks out of it, mania, and get on with discussion on facts, as I do. He Person's anti-Grappler jihad has been terminated... with extreme prejudice. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:26pm:
I did in the other thread. You dodged questions and fled that thread too. You are of course, welcomes to continue our previous discussion there: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1446463185/570#570 |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:27pm BigOl64 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:11pm:
My opinion was based on Leyonhjelm calling Australian's victims like we are piss weak which you failed to address and instead went on a rant about what big bloody gun with lots of bullets was used....You have a very nasty nature and prove the point that people like you should never be allowed to own a big bloody gun with lots of bullets!!! ::) ::) ::) The Argument from Intimidation is a confession of intellectual impotence. Ayn Rand (1905 - 1982), The Virtue of Selfishness, 1964 |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by John Smith on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:37pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:53am:
His employer? that would mean he was employed wouldn't it? :D :D :D |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by John Smith on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:38pm mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 3:23pm:
I don't care how Muir looked ... I'm more interested in how you look and you're looking like someone who has no idea and just makes crap up as she goes. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by John Smith on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:39pm mariacostel wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 5:18pm:
still making up crap I see.... :D :D :D you're just too stupid for your own good! |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by BigOl64 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:16pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:27pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Try discussing this when you are a little less 'weepy' |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:19pm John Smith wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:39pm:
I think he'll do OK. He's been thrown in at the deep end and he's taken a couple of mouthfuls of water but he does seem like a genuine guy. I wonder if Maria turned up at the next local drag meet, she would expect them to talk like a poli? I wouldn't. That doesn't mean they are stupid. http://www.smh.com.au/national/ricky-muirs-anguish-on-asylum-vote-20141205-1219av.html |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:41pm BigOl64 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:16pm:
I made my point....You have proven my point that gun nuts are irrational people....Implying I am somehow weaker than you because I don't think guns make us safer is an irrational argument....Who is the gutless one in this debate??? :) :) :) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:55pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:41pm:
I could be classed as a gun nut here. IE, I think Au's laws are stupid re semi-auto firearms, especially .22 rimfire, don't mind legal firearm ownership. I no longer own any but have had a few, some like the Ruger mini 14 5.56 and SKS 7.62x39 I sold when the writing was on the wall. Others, slowly after that, I loved my BLR .243. :'( That said to others I'm a lefty as I see a need for control, it's no longer the case that you can trust that the kid you see riding down the road with a .22 over his handlebars is going to bring some rabbit's home. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7kGtRIcCWs |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by John Smith on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:02pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 7:19pm:
I agree ... I watched a bit of 'Kitchen Cabinet' with him last week and he seems OK to me. Sure he stumbled on the first few interviews. I wonder how marialongstupidone would do .. she seems to do a lot of stumbling on a forum where she has time to check her information before posting .. imagine in an interview. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:08pm
Gidday Setanta, I have no problem with the current laws as they stand and I fail to see why anyone needs semi automatic weapons....So far no one has put the case as to why these weapons are necessary for the general public apart from a stupid self defence argument....More guns in the community will result in more killings and accidents....It is simple logic!!!
:-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:23pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:08pm:
That's because you have never shot pig in scrub, rabbit's running, or how important it is to get a quick second shot before something disappears into scrub, possibly wounded. No-one should use self defence as an argument, it's unlawful to use disproportionate force, full stop. What about lever action? Still too fast isn't it? Perhaps muzzle loader or an Martini action single shot like the old .310 Cadet? Why do you propose we need to tell others what they need to get a job done? Edit: Here, let me try and paint a real picture, a real life incidence. I was out shooting rabbit with my bolt action Sportco .22. A rabbit popped it's head out of the burrow I was watching, absolute head shot(cue Dougy, boom headshot). In fact what really happened was I blew it's teeth and mouth way, it stood up on it's hind legs, squealed like you wouldn't believe, it's little paws brushing at where it's face used to be. I needed my other Sportco .22 semi-auto as, by the time I could take it in and cycle the bolt, it was back down the burrow, dying in pain trying to find it's face. And if that story makes you think hunters are heartless beasts... I can still see that bunny in the scope, it made me seriously question the ethics of it. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Panther on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:27pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 11:48am:
Silencer Suppressor Can Muffler Sound Moderator Makes no difference what you call them. All the names are absolutely correct & acceptable......they are also called 'cans' & 'mufflers' by the Armed Services. Again, all would be absolutely correct. Those that say calling them 'silencers' is incorrect are they themselves incorrect.....very incorrect (except that is, in their own lil minds). They have been called silencers for over 100 years in the gun capitol of the world....in the USA.....& not just in the movies like some braniac tried to have us believe. In the USA they are officially & legally called "SILENCERS". You can substitute 'suppressors' if you wish, but legally they are known as 'silencers'. So, those that are making it an issue, saying you shouldn't call silencers..silencers..don't know their ass from their elbow about firearms.......period. ;D ;D Check out one of the largest manufacturers of "SILENCERS" in the world here.... http://silencerco.com/ Source: http://silencerco.com/education/ Quote:
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:41pm
They silence nothing. Even if that's what people want to call them, it's clearly a misnomer, and literally everyone I know who talks about guns don't use that to describe them.
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:43pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:23pm:
I have been roo shooting as a matter of fact....Good to see you have a plausible argument which adds weight to your argument....However my beef is not so much the availability of firearms being available for legitimate purposes, it is with Leyonhjelm calling his fellow Australians victims because we support gun control....More guns with maximum killing capacity will not make people safer!!! :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:50pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:43pm:
Roo shooting was spotlighting? Not a lot of chance of them getting away wounded or otherwise. Well we are to a degree, there is a legit reason for things we can't have, as a rule, not situational. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Panther on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:52pm Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:41pm:
So, you object to using their proper name because you insist on being pedantic about what they do, rather than what they are actually named. Use whatever name you personally prefer, but to say calling them "Silencers" is incorrect is only professing your own basic ignorance about firearms to those that actually know better. ;) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:03pm Panther wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:52pm:
Whatever you want to call them, they were legal in SA when my Sportco was made, Sportco were a SA company, came threaded for <insert noise reducing pseudonym> and a screw off thread cover. Anyway, with a .22 rimfire you could buy Zs, probably still can, from memory they travelled bout 600fps, probably like a good .22 air rifle. The sound was a whisper. Nothing will silence or diminish the sonic crack and that is by far the loudest, subsonics like the .22 Z are abundant for rounds like 9mm, for a <insert noise reducing pseudonym> to be effective, you need to use subsonics. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:04pm Panther wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:52pm:
I said it was a misnomer. Here's your "silence" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZU5TGljAmw I don't really care what you call it, but "silencer" doesn't describe what happens, and I've only heard it (outside of movies) being called such by people who don't really know how they work. There are far more accurate and not misleading names. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:04pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:50pm:
Shooting during the day in Meekatharra....There where literally hundreds of roos all over the place....I also went shooting with some real nutters when I was much younger who shot at everything that moved....Lucky for a wedge tailed eagle they where lousy shots hey....Not all shooters are responsible and giving them semi automatic weapons is not something I would recommend??? :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:07pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:03pm:
This is a very different matter. As someone with gun experience, have you ever used subsonics? If so, what for? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:12pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:04pm:
Damn Phlip, I remember people like that... Were they from Cunderdin... I could believe that. edit: Contemplating on some of my time in the wheat belt, I'm from Perth, I remember one farmer I worked for had a site of Aboriginal significance, in the salt lake at the lowest part of his land, in an overcrop of rock was hand art, you know pigment blown over hands. He mined the areas around it for gypsum to break the clay on the higher ground. Maybe I could google map it 30 years later! Might do that. edit: Oh, I forgot the point, he was considering using some Ammonium Nitrate and Diesel on it. edit again: Thinking on it now, considering world events, it seems pretty much an ISIS view of the world as far as they see historically significant sites. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:30pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:12pm:
I know a few people from Cunderdin....Why am I not surprised you picked them for being red necks??? ;) ;) ;) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Panther on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:37pm Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:04pm:
Well, then I suggest you jot off a note to the largest manufacturer of silencers.....shocked I know, but that's what they call them..go figure...well, tell then that they should cease & desist, & never call their products 'silencers' ever again......I guarantee you'll be able to hear their laughter from wherever you live. ;D ;D ;D Silencer Suppressor Can Muffler Sound Moderator/Modifier Bottom line....instead of being girlishly silly by insisting what name is right or wrong, all the above names are absolutely acceptable, by governments, the military, & most importantly by the pros in every field of firearm manufacture & usage, including instruction. They all use the names interchangeably without fear of being corrected by a snotty kid who thinks he knows better than they do. ;) without quibbling over names like lil spoiled school girls: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HzMLvrF6u4 |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:48pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:30pm:
Because like a good lefty, I can generalise, or is that righty? I get confused sometimes. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:55pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:48pm:
Probably more a centralist like me....I look at the both extremes and cringe at their blind support for bullshit just because their team proposed it....Policy has been trumped by spin and the rusted on defend it regardless of the merits!!! ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:02pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 9:55pm:
Hell no.. They're apparently crazier than the other two. At least the other two have faith. That's something you may not question. After all, what do you believe in? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:05pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:02pm:
In relation to faith I am an agnostic (not surprising)...In relation to politics I find both good and bad in both extremes....Mostly bad!!! :) :) :) Faith is a cop-out. If the only way you can accept an assertion is by faith, then you are conceding that it can’t be taken on its own merits. Dan Barker, "Losing Faith in Faith", 1992 |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:12pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:05pm:
;) That's a Freemason wink, IITL, we should be forgiven. :'( |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:18pm
Phlip, where are you from in Perth, north or south of the river? Where did you grow up?
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:41pm Setanta wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 10:18pm:
Sent you a PM Setanta!!! :) :) :) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 20th, 2015 at 9:32am Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:13pm:
You make up stories on here ALL THE TIME! What about the Apollo 13 Flight Director you claimed as part of your family? Seriously, Grappling, you need some help. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by mariacostel on Nov 20th, 2015 at 9:33am Stratos wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm:
No you didnt. I applied the Stratos method and that eliminated 100% of your evidence. Don't complain. It is your methodology that is being employed. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Stratos on Nov 20th, 2015 at 9:45am
I've made a reply in the other thread. No need to cover this one with the same discussion. See you there Maira.
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by cods on Nov 20th, 2015 at 10:27am philperth2010 wrote on Nov 19th, 2015 at 8:08pm:
I am not sure why you argue the toss with people who cannot explain what use a gun has other than to blow a hole in something.I can accept a knife has many uses...and a forks not bad.. however a gun to me has only ONE use.. another thing that bothers me.. is if or when a Police officer shoots and usually kills someone in line with doing their job..... so many go on a hue and cry saying WHY DID HE SHOOT.......HE DIDNT HAVE TO KILL... yet he is trained to do just that.... ::) ::) ::).. yet many see its fine that someone with no skills at all can own a gun... ::) |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by philperth2010 on Nov 20th, 2015 at 5:58pm cods wrote on Nov 20th, 2015 at 10:27am:
I rarely indulge in arguing with anyone....Everyone is entitled to their opinion and although I might not agree with some people there concerns are sometimes legitimate!!! :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by Setanta on Nov 20th, 2015 at 8:35pm philperth2010 wrote on Nov 20th, 2015 at 5:58pm:
That's about it Phlip, not a lot more you can do besides state your view/opinion, try and give some reasoning, see if someone wants to really debate the pros/cons and I do agree the fewer guns there are in society the fewer will be killed by them, that's a pretty safe bet but they may well still die from another implement of death. |
Title: Re: David Leyonhjelm calls Australian's victims!!! Post by The Grappler on Nov 20th, 2015 at 9:30pm
Make of it what you will....
My beef is with the WAY government here went about removing firearms from the community, which was by installing a regimen under which anyone accused, with a zero standard of proof, of any form of the very attenuated 'violence' included under the 'domestic violence' umbrella, would, BY REGULATION AND NOT BY LAW, have any legally owned firearm confiscated without compensation. That is and always has been the reality, and I will remind you all again that the Australian people REJECTED gun control at the election prior to the introduction of 'uniform domestic violence laws' under the reign of Paul Keating. The installation, therefore, of an end run around democratic will of the people, by the installation of these (non) laws requiring zero evidence other than a 'feeling' by 'the complainant' - was a violent abrogation of the rule of democracy in this country, and a usurpation by government of the right of the people to determine for themselves their best path. That, ladies and gentlemen, is a civil war declared by governments here against their own people. On a personal note, I owned legal firearms, and gave them away, and had the option, at the time of the oppression of firearms here, to purchase semi-automatic hand guns and long arms - but chose not to do so. In view of the absolute arrogance of government since that time, I regret the decision to not buy weapons for self-defence. |