General Discussion >> Feedback >> Re-ordering of Member run boards http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1448089450 Message started by Jovial Monk on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:04pm |
Title: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:04pm
I have a request to make of FD.
The member–run boards should be re-ordered in descending order of number of posts. Why should Fermentations with over 2000 posts be much harder to find then Real Estate with 200 posts and no activity at all for five months? A new Mod for Real Estate seems a good idea too ;D |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:13pm
Goodness me! I have a reply button in Feedback. I guess that general ban on many Members here is over!
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:31pm
So you going to use that there button for something useful?
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:34pm Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:31pm:
Do you have anything particular in mind? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by sedi on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:38pm Aussie wrote on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:13pm:
Just you. ;D |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:38pm
:D What thread is this?
You think my idea is a good one? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:43pm Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:38pm:
Yeas, I do, but that won't count for much more than nought. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:53pm
Oh well, see what happens.
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 21st, 2015 at 10:58pm
When the vast majority of posts on a board are made by one person it renders the post count kind of pointless.
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 4:32am
You haven’t had a look lately.
Thanks for confirming your bias tho. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 4:58am
Just a cursory glance at the fermentations board.
Of the 20 threads on the first page. 19 have been started by the same bloke. Of those threads, 17 of them have the last post by that same bloke. See my prior post about the count being kinda pointless. :) |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 5:52am
Yeah, very cursory.
Have a read of those threads. At least I try, and am succeeding, in getting interest and posts from the membership. Hell, from Soren to GreggaryPeccary they post in my board. :D Not that it is any of your business. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Dnarever on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 5:56am Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 21st, 2015 at 5:04pm:
I don't really have a view either way what you say does seem reasonable but then I wonder how you would find some new topics or low use topics in this case. I don't know if it is possible but the ideal would be to be able to order the posts how you like - most recent / highest number / alphabetically. Probably not possible in the system. Admittedly I have no real issue with how it currently works though I agree it isn't always ideal. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 7:06am
Well, yeah. There is a bit of work involved in the re-ordering the boards. Not that much.
I just thought it might be a nice idea. Might help FD earn a bit more advertising income if active boards aren’t buried? Maybe all those HUGE boards dealing with Islam could be moved to the bottom? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Phemanderac on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 7:25am
I don't think it matters if the idea is good or bad to be honest.
The index is not all that hard to find things in. In my opinion (which is probably not worth much) this is more of a perceived status issue than anything else... For my money, if any re arranging where to take place (and let's be perfectly clear here, I do not think it does) then surely the smart money would be listing things alphabetically - that's how most things are listed. Well, except for popularity contests I suppose. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 7:30am
I believe it was The Mechanic suggested re-ordering the Member–run boards originally. I think it is a good idea: if you show a bit of energy why not be rewarded for that?
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Phemanderac on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 7:41am
Wouldn't increased participation by a range of members be rewarding?
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 7:51am
It would.
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by freediver on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 8:38am Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 7:06am:
Make up your mind JM. Islam would go to the top if I acted on your initial request, with extremism second. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 12:34pm
Just giving some alternatives, reorder the boards in descending post count order and/or put the bigger boards on the bottom of the index.
Real Estate has had no effort put in for nearly 6 months so why is that higher up the index than Food or Fermentations that are active and have active Board Mods? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 12:36pm
One other question/suggestion: YABB offers the possibility of hiding a post in a thread, but it does not work here, only threads can be hidden. Can that be fixed?
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 12:59pm
We can delete specific posts if necessary.
Rarely is that needed. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 1:37pm
If it was re-ordered on a descending vote count, it would look like this:
Islam (Modded) 61351 Extremism (No Mod.) 43348 Relationships (Modded) 31328 Environment (No Mod.) 27031 Spirituality (Modded) 21846 Multiculturalism etc (No Mod.) 14904 Hunting & Fishing (No Mod.) 7606 The Tavern (Modded) 7116 Sport (Modded) 5171 Finance/Economics (Modded) 5153 Atheism (No Mod.) 4470 Fringe (No Mod.) 4408 Film, TV, Radio (No Mod.) 3473 Drug Policy (No Mod.) 2955 Philosopy (No Mod.) 2892 Cats/critters (Modded) 2828 Defence (No Mod.) 2428 Fermentations (Modded) 2091 Womens' Issues (Modded) 1795 Food (Modded) 1674 Health/Welfare (Modded) 1470 Travel (No Mod.) 946 Books (Modded) 887 Real Estate (Modded) 833 Games (Modded) 373 The Tool Shed (Modded) 312. E&OE |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 2:15pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 12:59pm:
But there is a button to hide a post, just it does not work (in the Member–run boards anyway.) Just asking if that was done for a reason or just happened or could it be made to work etc/ |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 2:31pm
Hah, maybe we could have another division of the Index so
General Member run boards Party boards Religious boards Under religion put Spirituality, Islam, Extremism, Fringe, Atheism, Multicuture. Religion could go just above Party boards (or below, who cares?) |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 2:58pm Aussie wrote on Nov 22nd, 2015 at 1:37pm:
So Fermentations would move up a notch or two? Real Estate has 833 posts not 200 as the OP stated. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 23rd, 2015 at 3:49pm
Not just about Fermentations dear Neferti.
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 23rd, 2015 at 3:51pm
Relationships would drop one spot, but I have no issue with that.
The suggestion makes sense, but some little effort will be required to get it done. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 23rd, 2015 at 3:55pm
Anyone locked out of Feedback can comment in Relationships and Agnes has started another one in Fermentations. I will copy useful and relevant posts to here (no, I don’t mean just posts supporting my suggestion :) )
There seem to be a lot of boards with no Mod in your list, Aussie? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 23rd, 2015 at 3:57pm
It seems Redneck is not impressed?
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 23rd, 2015 at 6:09pm Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 23rd, 2015 at 3:57pm:
Redneck should get FD to make The Shed available to ALL ...... then he would get more posts. Even us girls want to ask a "mechanical" question from time to time. ;D What about it Red? ;) |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 23rd, 2015 at 7:31pm
Interesting. JM can post here, poor old George not.
Not a prob, since I use JM all the time. A datum for FD? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 25th, 2015 at 4:49pm
Nobody seems totally opposed to my idea.
Will you do it, FD? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 26th, 2015 at 4:30pm
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 26th, 2015 at 4:34pm
8-)
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Saul Goodman on Nov 26th, 2015 at 5:37pm
I would leave things as they are freediver.
Sounds like a member that creates most of the topics on his own board blowing his own trumpet! Besides we are all used to the order, why create confusion. Remember its Saul Goodman |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by bogarde73 on Nov 27th, 2015 at 9:54am
Yes, the rotund monk here seems almost frenetic in his desire for change.
I would agree with the previous poster. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 27th, 2015 at 11:16am bogarde73 wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 9:54am:
Or, perhaps a request for a bit of token recognition from FD for the effort he has put in. He started it from scratch. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 27th, 2015 at 11:20am Aussie wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 11:16am:
In between leaving it unattended after several flounces and spectacular non-leaves lol |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 27th, 2015 at 11:21am Saul Goodman wrote on Nov 26th, 2015 at 5:37pm:
Agree with that. No reason at all to change it. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 27th, 2015 at 11:51am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 11:21am:
You are wrong. There is reason. The Moderator has asked for it. There is no reason to ignore (or deny) such a simple request from the person responsible for building it. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by bogarde73 on Nov 27th, 2015 at 12:35pm
This is not a democracy Aussie, this is a business.
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 27th, 2015 at 12:59pm bogarde73 wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 12:35pm:
Well......sort of. But even a 'sort of' business requires good management, and that includes management of its supporters. I mean ~ fair dinkum, what skin is it off FD's nose to meet this ever so simple request from a supporter? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 27th, 2015 at 1:07pm
10–20 minutes of work, a few minutes more if he takes all the religious/hate crap and puts it in a separate section. That estimate is based on how it would go in phpBB3, not YABB, of course, can’t be too dissimilar?
How easy would it be to allow board Mods to ban members temporarily, a week say? And can Mods be allowed to hide crappy, abusive posts? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:18pm Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 1:07pm:
Are you attempting to tell Freediver how to manage HIS Forum? You, Jovial Monk (George, Maxine, et al) have your own, exclusive, PA Forum and last time I looked it was only HBS Guy (you) and Left of Centre (Lefty) who posts there, regularly. What makes you think that IF Freediver rearranged the order of "member run boards" it would add benefit to the OzPol site? PS to Arsie. Butt out. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:20pm Neferti wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:18pm:
I reckon there is an obvious reason, which is, that it would encourage the Mods of Member run Boards to generate interest, and the more traffic here, the better it is for FD and the Forum. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:33pm Aussie wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:20pm:
What you "reckon" means stuff all. Member Run Board MODS have limited "power" for a very good reason. This is FREEDIVER's Forum. You already have a Political Forum that you "own" arsie ... http://littleozzybloke.com/lobdc1/index.php Pop off over there and GENERATE SOME TRAFFIC ... last I looked it was D.E.A.D. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:35pm
I just see an estimate and two questions.
Seems the PA cesspit dwellers are very insecure, desperate even. FD gets revenue from the ads to pay the cost of hosting this board. Maybe a bit of effort might increase the ad revenue. ’Sup, Naffy? If FD can’t get more ad revenue maybe he could reduce the bandwidth needed by removing the excrescence attached to this forum like a diseased poultice hanging out a hospital window. That is Frank Hardy quote too. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:43pm Neferti wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:33pm:
Thanks for the free plug!! |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:53pm Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:35pm:
IF Freediver gets compensated for "traffic" on an Australian Political Forum such as this one ... he has done extremely well and is obviously a better and smarter operator than you or arsie. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:56pm
That is another desperate–sounding post.
’sup Naffy? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:58pm Aussie wrote on Nov 27th, 2015 at 4:43pm:
No problem. You might be better there than here, hassling Nef. ;) |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Phemanderac on Nov 28th, 2015 at 7:37am
I am in favour of reordering all the boards so that they're alphabetical...
That just seems like the most practical reordering, if indeed reodering is possible, worthwhile and desired. Why would people NOT want to have it alphabetical? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 28th, 2015 at 8:31am
Nothing wrong with leaving it as it is.
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 28th, 2015 at 2:03pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 28th, 2015 at 8:31am:
Other than ignoring a not unreasonable request from a loyal and active supporter. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 29th, 2015 at 9:36am
Why should Food and Fermentations, active boards with active Mods be way below a board like Real Estate with no activity for 6 months?
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 29th, 2015 at 10:39am
I still don't buy a board being active when it's the same bloke writing all the posts.
On the first page of fermentations there are 20 threads. 17 have been started by one bloke. The same bloke is either the last or only person to comment on 18 of the 20. I could go down and just spam real estate. Would it make it "active" discussion? No of course it wouldn't. The whole issue is a non event in my view. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Nov 29th, 2015 at 11:48am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 29th, 2015 at 10:39am:
So you keep repeating. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 29th, 2015 at 4:18pm
You’d think he has skin in the game. He doesn’t have a Member–run board so he does not have skin in the game.
Why does he keep talking about my board when there are other boards? For example, Food is more active than Real Estate. I can see no reason why boards that are moribund should push more active but newer boards down the index. Not one person has given an reason why that should be, not one! These boards are all bigger and have more recent activity than moribund Real Estate but are below it in the Index: Health and Welfare Cats and Critters Books (Not that much bigger but more active than REst.) Defence Food Women's Issues Fermentations They deserve to be higher up than dead boards like Real Estate IMHO. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Neferti on Nov 29th, 2015 at 5:29pm
Stop sooking, Monk. The "it's not fair on me" went out when we were pre-schoolers.
I shall make an effort to INCREASE the post-rate in Real Estate by posting new Sales Information of Properties across Australia, because I can. I might even find a few properties in Europe. ;D I think that you are just having a go at LisaJones. Cease and desist. It won't give you leverage. ;) |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Andrei.Hicks on Nov 29th, 2015 at 7:16pm
Would agree.
This subject has run its course. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 29th, 2015 at 8:23pm Neferti wrote on Nov 29th, 2015 at 5:29pm:
You always get everything wrong, don’t you? |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 29th, 2015 at 8:24pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 29th, 2015 at 7:16pm:
That is up to FD, of course. |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by bogarde73 on Nov 30th, 2015 at 10:11am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Nov 29th, 2015 at 7:16pm:
Not according to a combined membership of one. . .lol |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by philperth2010 on Dec 5th, 2015 at 1:14am
I believe Sport should be at the top because it is the most important topic and has a fantastic moderator!!!
[smiley=lolk.gif] [smiley=lolk.gif] [smiley=lolk.gif] |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 5th, 2015 at 5:12am
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Dec 5th, 2015 at 8:05pm
Have you noticed, Monk?
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Aussie on Dec 5th, 2015 at 8:28pm
Just 'shows to go' you how observant people here really are. Amazing!
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 5th, 2015 at 8:31pm
Ha! Have now!
Thanks FD! Now, if . . . ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Re-ordering of Member run boards Post by Phemanderac on Dec 6th, 2015 at 7:34am
That's not alphabetical...