General Discussion >> Feedback >> New Format http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1466832425 Message started by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 3:27pm |
Title: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 3:27pm
Dunno why or who asked for it, but what do you reckon?
Ill duplicate this in the General section. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 3:27pm
Poll added.
Title: Re: New Format Post by Jovial Monk on Jun 25th, 2016 at 4:31pm
Guess FD is tired of running OzPol?
My board is open to all who like genuine debate and no stupid changes. polanimal.com.au Change the ‘e’ to an ‘a’ |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 25th, 2016 at 4:58pm
Posts typically disappear from the front page of the politicians suck board in 12 hours. I wet back through 20 pages on that board. That only took me back to June 5 this year, and that is after removing a heap of posts.
Any topics about state politics will just get lost in that. Same with the European and American stuff. One option I am considering is moving politicians suck into the regional category and calling it federal politics. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 25th, 2016 at 5:26pm freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 4:58pm:
I know what you mean, I use the latest 20 posts thingo an even that often only covers an hour or sos posts. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:01pm
I don't mind it ... Aussies just upset he didn't think of it :D :D
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:07pm John Smith wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:01pm:
Not 'upset' at all. Think it is unnecessary, especially lacking any request or requirement for it. P_N has resigned as a consequence of this and the removal of some Threads which were stickied in the General Section. Not sure what that is all about. Not sure what any of this is all about. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:09pm Aussie wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:07pm:
PN has resigned in protest to FD relaxing some of the rules. It has nothing to do with the new format. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:10pm Aussie wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:07pm:
Maybe FD is preparing to sell the site. Perhaps you can make him an offer on it? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:34pm John Smith wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:10pm:
Title: Re: New Format Post by Greens_Win on Jun 25th, 2016 at 8:07pm
Can the NT Forum be put with SA, like ACT with NSW ... so NZ Politics can claim that particular spot please.
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 25th, 2016 at 8:08pm
why is cods in handcuffs?
I didn't realise you were so kinky :D :D :D |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 8:37pm John Smith wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 8:08pm:
cods is great at 'kink.' |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Leftwinger on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:34pm John Smith wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 8:08pm:
They ran out of straightjackets ? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by philperth2010 on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:36pm freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 4:58pm:
Why not just leave it where it is and call it Federal Politics....After all this is Oz Politics Forum and Federal Politics is what the site is about IMO??? :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Ajax on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:38pm
New section should be between member run boards and political parties...... ;)
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:46pm philperth2010 wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:36pm:
It seems to belong better in the regional category. But I'll consider this option too. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Karnal on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:50pm
Can we get a Pakistani board, Aussie? It might help those who suffer from homesickness.
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:52pm Karnal wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:50pm:
Maybe even a Homesickness Board to match? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Wolseley on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:24pm
I would question the need for the groups in "Regional Politics". It makes it more time consuming to find posts that may interest you (most people would be interested in the political affairs of states other than their own) and it's going to give the moderators a lot more work in having to move threads around the forum due to them having been posted in the wrong section.
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:28pm Wolseley wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:24pm:
Agreed, and that task will now fall on the shoulders of freediver as it was general perceptions_now who moved Threads around. I see no-one (including freediver) has yet explained the need for any change. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Karnal on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:42pm Aussie wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 9:52pm:
That would be racist, Aussie. A Paki board wouldn't be racist - Pakis aren't a race. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:43pm Wolseley wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:24pm:
Would you mind demonstrating for us how easy it is to find a thread about state politics in the politicians suck board? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:50pm freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:43pm:
Took me five seconds. Link. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:55pm Karnal wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:42pm:
No they just shag 11 year old girls and have their community refuse to help the police prosecute them... Despicable pr.cks that mob. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Leftwinger on Jun 25th, 2016 at 11:07pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:55pm:
I thought you didn't condone sluring races Andrei ? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 8:33am Aussie wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 10:50pm:
You used the search didn't you - ie not by browsing the politicians board. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by LEUT Bigvicfella (RTD) on Jun 26th, 2016 at 9:03am John Smith wrote on Jun 25th, 2016 at 6:01pm:
Having initially voted I didn't like it, I have now sort off changed my mind. It does serve to keep posts on the page a bit more and for the extra effort in switching between fora is easier to read and comment. Is it worth the effort though to have to constantly move posts for PolSux into state based forums? Should the POLSUX forum be disbanded and force posters to use the state based ones? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 9:20am
The polsux forum has effectively become the federal politics forum. That's pretty much all that was on there anyway.
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:16am
Godday Freediver,
Why dont you change the "Newest 20 Board Topics" to say 50 or 100. I usually go there first every time I come online to see whats been happening, I often then us view list of 50 to see more if I havent been online for a long period (eg overnight). I seldom go searching through the boards unless trying to find a particular topic or am bored sh1tless. Just a thought! |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:17am Redmond Neck wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:16am:
I think you can edit the URL directly, then bookmark it. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:19am freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 9:20am:
I had always considered it a federal politics forum anyway. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:20am freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:17am:
cool trick .. I don't know why you kept it a secret for so long :D :D |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:23am John Smith wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:20am:
Ripper I didnt know that either. What I was suggesting was you can (I think) make the one that shows the latest 20 when you click in the forum, show 50 or 100 etc, which would bring up that number as a starting point without the user having to fart around. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:23am Quote:
So where did you put state politics? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:24am freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:23am:
in the same spot ... there was no where else to put it |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:24am Redmond Neck wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:23am:
20 is the starting point. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:27am freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:24am:
Thats what I thought. 50 or 100 would be way better if others on here are like me and spend most of their time looking in that area to see whats changing etc! |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:28am
You can set it to whatever you want.
Title: Re: New Format Post by John Smith on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:29am Redmond Neck wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:27am:
that's where I always go ... I rarely access the home page or the 'forum' page |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:32am John Smith wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:29am:
I think you guys are talking about setting your own, I am suggesting changing the Forum page setting to show 50 or 100 most recent automatically |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:36am
This would allow you to scroll up to the boards if needed but see the latest 100 posts down the bottom
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:40am |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:44am freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:40am:
You are not listening freediver. I know one can do as you show in that link. BUT I think the Forum Home page should show 50 or 100 recents down the bottom thats all, so you can monitor lots of topics and easily scroll up to the boards to start a new topic for example It is changeable in Admin I am sure! |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:59am
Thanks for the suggestion.
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:00am freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:59am:
No worries thanks! |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 12:08pm freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 8:33am:
Of course. What is so wrong with that? Fact is I found it in five seconds.......NOT using the useless search function here. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 1:35pm
I was trying to make it relevant to the discussion of the new format. It wasn't a google context Aussie.
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:13pm freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 1:35pm:
You asked: Quote:
I searched. The answer is ~ easy, five seconds. That was the context. You still have not explained why these changes had to be made, particularly given there is a clear majority who do not like it. Do you care about Member input? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:24pm
I hope you are claiming penalty rates today freediver with all this moving going on!
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:25pm Quote:
How do you know this? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:30pm freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:25pm:
I asked. Link. You will be able to see who voted and which way they voted. Neither I nor mere Members can. You will also be able to see whether socks have contaminated the vote. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:32pm
You started a poll right here in this thread Aussie. According to that one, the majority like it.
How many different polls did you start? |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:39pm freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:32pm:
Two. And, from what my screen tells me, no-one has voted here, in this Thread. Maybe that is because I have not voted in this Thread, and the vote does not appear. (Edit.....I'll now vote....and see what I can see.) I started the other Thread because a great deal of active Members have been banned from accessing Feedback. (See the OP of this Thread.) |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Redneck on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:41pm
P1ss off Aussie stop trying to be a control freak!
Freediver is the head sherang and can do as he pleases |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:43pm Redmond Neck wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:41pm:
Of course he can and Members are can indicate a preference as they please. I'm sure FD appreciates all feedback. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:45pm
So you started two polls, and got a 'clear majority' by only considering one of them after only a small number of people could be bothered voting?
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:48pm freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 2:45pm:
One can do but what one can do, freediver, and come to conclusions based only on what one sees. You can see who has voted which way, and then the overall outcome will be known to you. Some people may have voted in each Poll. I don't know, but you will. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 5:28pm
Only if I look Aussie.
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 5:36pm freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 5:28pm:
How about you have a look then? Mr Hicks does, and it seems, with great ease. You will know what your Members actually want if you do that. You will also be able to see whether socks have contaminated any Poll, or whether any "block" vote from anywhere is in effect. |
Title: Re: New Format Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2016 at 5:45pm
Thanks for the suggestion Aussie.
Title: Re: New Format Post by The Mechanic on Jun 27th, 2016 at 9:28pm
too many pages and boards.. I can't keep up with it all..
not all of us are on the dole and sit on this site for half the day .. :( |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 27th, 2016 at 10:36pm |
Title: Re: New Format Post by Aussie on Jun 28th, 2016 at 10:46pm
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |