General Discussion >> America >> Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1466930466 Message started by Wolseley on Jun 26th, 2016 at 6:41pm |
Title: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Wolseley on Jun 26th, 2016 at 6:41pm
Trump visited Scotland on Friday and proceeded to talk about how the historic Brexit vote might help business there and then went on to congratulate Scots for “taking their country back” even though Scotland voted overwhelmingly to remain in the EU.
Heaven help the civilised world if this idiot becomes President. http://globalnews.ca/news/2787023/donald-trump-gets-social-media-thrashing-for-scottish-brexit-tweet/ |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Wolseley on Jun 26th, 2016 at 6:42pm
and another viewpoint:
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 26th, 2016 at 7:15pm
Trump is the epitome of the stereotypical ugly American.
An obnoxious, loud narcissist who tries to sell stupidity as 'plain speaking'. How does it go? "I been hearing some things... People have been talking... I don't know for sure but what I've heard people saying... Is that all around a pig's ass is pork. Now I don't know for sure, I'm not a Jew. And I'm ok with Jews... I love the Jew... What's that food they eat? Something mixed with chicken... But that's ok... All I'm saying is that we've gotta look into it... That's all I'm sayin ". |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Frank on Jun 26th, 2016 at 8:52pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 7:15pm:
The Brits voted for Brexit and the Americans will vote for Trump because of just this sort of seething, stupid dismissal of their legitimate concerns. Here's the thing, pal - you do not know better. Get that into your head if you can (you can't). Still, you do not know better no matter how much you sneer, seethe and carry on like you knew better. You just don't. Democracy will bollock you every time. And a good thing too. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Sir Bobby on Jun 26th, 2016 at 9:13pm
Trump is an idiot.
He doesn't deserve to be the president. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:32pm Frank wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 8:52pm:
For Christ's sake don't take it personally. Remember that not everyone who tells you what you don't want to hear is your enemy and not everyone who tells you what you want to hear is your friend. Intelligence lies in knowing the difference... And in my experience, treat with great suspicion anyone who tells you exactly, and in every respect, what you want to hear... Enemies I can handle... But a false friend is poison. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by mortdooley on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:06pm
Obama has really lowered the bar on what it takes to be President. Trump can't help but be a refreshing improvement if elected.
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:25pm Mortdooley wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:06pm:
Right up until he decides that Australians are taking US jobs... Cos, y'know he's "hearing things... people are talking... People are telling me that Australia's gettin too much of a good deal over Americans... Now I don't know for sure cos I haven't seen the numbers yet and they have, y'know, a different numbering system down there... People are telling me its upside down numbering... All I'm saying is that we gotta look into it... And Australia is a close friend of China... That's what people are telling me... That's all I'm sayin... ' |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Wolseley on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:36pm Mortdooley wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:06pm:
I think you forgot about George W Bush. You can't get much lower than that. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Margie on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:51pm Mortdooley wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:06pm:
You are a very misguided man Mr Mort if I may say so, mighty strong and I think , very unnecessary word's of the US' finest President to date. He did not like Tony Abbott for one, so in my book he is ok . ;) |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jun 27th, 2016 at 12:13am NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 7:15pm:
No, he is worse. Much worse. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jun 27th, 2016 at 12:14am Mortdooley wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:06pm:
Really? I can remember you being for Cruz. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jun 27th, 2016 at 1:19am
...and it gets more ridiculous:
Jim Bakker is still on TV? https://youtu.be/rCeVCFe1Uro Apparently he's the old guy with the beard. Never would have recognized him. And apparently he's now got a "Bomb shelter food" racket going, just in case the Rapture doesn't happen before the Tribulation, apparently. Anyway, God supposedly has now endorsed Herr Ruggenfuhrer, or something. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by mortdooley on Jun 27th, 2016 at 4:19am Marla wrote on Jun 27th, 2016 at 12:14am:
And Cruz would be the candidate if Trump had stayed out. I don't understand the desire for cultural suicide by the Hillary supporters! It must be the difference between Citizens and Subjects. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jun 27th, 2016 at 4:39am
Riiight, morty torty. As if electing a Canadian national didn't already exemplify the mentality of Texuus already
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by mortdooley on Jun 27th, 2016 at 4:55am
And Boris Johnson was born in New York City and may be the next PM of Great Britain, what is your point?
You must favor globalization over national sovereignty, it didn't end well for Rome and it won't end well for the West. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jun 27th, 2016 at 5:01am Mortdooley wrote on Jun 27th, 2016 at 4:55am:
Texuus voted for a Canadian national ...? Mortdooley wrote on Jun 27th, 2016 at 4:55am:
I'm sorry morty torty. Will blaming Obama for everything help? |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by mortdooley on Jun 27th, 2016 at 5:07am
Why do you fear Trump?
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by innocentbystander. on Jun 27th, 2016 at 9:00am Mortdooley wrote on Jun 27th, 2016 at 5:07am:
Maybe Marla is a mexican rapist. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by mortdooley on Jun 27th, 2016 at 9:14am innocentbystander. wrote on Jun 27th, 2016 at 9:00am:
Welfare cheat. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by innocentbystander. on Jun 27th, 2016 at 9:33am Mortdooley wrote on Jun 27th, 2016 at 9:14am:
Muslim terrorist? |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Frank on Jun 28th, 2016 at 7:13pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:32pm:
Indeed. And the Brits have shown common sense to see precisely that. Everyone had exactly the same opportunity to vote, had access exactly to the same info. The turnout was above 70%. 52% to 48% voted to leave. You can't dismiss that. Governments change peacefully at lesser margins. I think all the blabber now is disgraceful. Britain IS the oldest democracy and they can run a democratic choice. All the noise now is by the kids bellyaching about a new vote because they couldn't be fagged to turn up to vote when it was time to vote, stupid prats. It's the unspeakably dreadful, stupid, digraceful godawfulbuggeringmoronic Twitterati, isn't it? |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 28th, 2016 at 9:44pm Frank wrote on Jun 28th, 2016 at 7:13pm:
Aye, that it is. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Yadda on Jun 28th, 2016 at 10:34pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 10:32pm:
Oh, really ? Well, thanks for that insightful observation. . Quote:
IMAGE.... Quote:
QUOTE; "Peace summarises everything in Islam..." - Mr Yunus |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 28th, 2016 at 11:55pm Marla wrote on Jun 27th, 2016 at 5:01am:
Perhaps so. Blaming Bush for everything certainly worked for Obama and his party. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 29th, 2016 at 12:06am NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 7:15pm:
Meanwhile, the other party's candidate purports to stand for the rights of women and gays while her family foundation takes millions of dollars from nations that abuse both. A 2015 New York Times article questioned these Middle East donations. Granny Pantsuit isn't even a good liar. She's told more whoppers about her e-mail server than even she can keep straight, and even in small matters she can't resist embellishing the truth, claiming to have landed under sniper fire in Bosnia when she was actually greeted by a little girl carrying flowers. But if you really want to see her B.S. on full display, find the YouTube video in which she quotes black American James Cleveland ("I don't feel no ways tired') and actually attempts to imitate a black American accident: "Ahhh don' feel no ways tah-erd ..." Meanwhile, her potential running mate, Elizabeth Warren, built her academic career by claiming to be Cherokee, thus earning her status as a "woman of color." She's certainly a woman of color, and that color is ... pale white. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by innocentbystander. on Jun 29th, 2016 at 5:36am The4thEstate wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 12:06am:
Leftardism is a religion and Hillary is regarded as a God of that religion and just like the God of the Holy Bible that murdered children and perpetrated numerous other appalling and heinous acts Gods are given a free pass to commit as much evil as they like by their followers. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 29th, 2016 at 6:11am The4thEstate wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 12:06am:
I can't quite get why imitating an American accent is in any real way bullshit... If it is then almost everyone in the entire English speaking world is a bullshit artist... And the prominent among us, like, say, the Rolling Stones (and 95% of all English speaking rock bands), Australian , British and I guess Canadian actors, all make a living imitating what they perceive to be American accents. We, outside the US, often use American accents to highlight a variety of emotional states, from rank stupidity to the highest minded ideals... One thing in which you Americans have been peerless (for at least for 120 years), is exporting your culture on a gargantuan scale. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 29th, 2016 at 6:47pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 6:11am:
OK, since my post was apparently too subtle, here are the basics: Imitating a poor black Southern American when you're a rich white Northern politician is the height of pandering and phoniness. It's as if I were to come in here and, in hopes of better relating to the predominantly Australian crowd, started spouting the kind of slang that would immediately identify me as an unhip poser. Like maybe addressing every female in the forum as "Sheila" and constantly punctuating my points with "Fair dinkum, mate!" |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 29th, 2016 at 6:54pm innocentbystander. wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 5:36am:
And there's no way America's leftist media would call her out on such obvious pandering. Same as when Joe Biden used the word "y'all" while addressing a mostly black audience. I'm sure he used that Southern expression a lot when he was growing up in Pennsylvania and Delaware. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Frank on Jun 29th, 2016 at 6:56pm
Trump is spot on for a very significant proportion of the electorate in the US and around the world - see Brexit, see any number of anti-establishmentarian voices and movements around the world..
The Twitterati and the bien pensant (is there a difference?) can shite on that, belittle it, dismiss it but it remains a fact. It's a democracy. Come up with a better argument or carry on sneering at at a significant proportion of the electorate. But remember - sneering and screeching is not an argument. As Brexit has shown, sensible people do not listen to sneering and screeching. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 29th, 2016 at 8:05pm Frank wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 6:56pm:
I find the cries of "racism" (which has become a leftist cliche) more than a little ridiculous when applied to Brexit supporters. Since when do the citizens of a sovereign nation not have the right to determine what kind of immigrants and how many, if any, to allow into their neighborhoods? Since when do they have to ignore their borders and accept all comers, particularly those who not only fail to assimilate, but insist on imposing their own court system? And since when do these same citizens have to put with the edicts of elitists located in some foreign capital? The EU wants to control everything from refugee disbursement to the right to use tea kettles, and I can't blame any Brit for saying, "Enough! Get the (BLEEP) out of my life!" |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Aussie on Jun 29th, 2016 at 8:57pm
This is the way to show outright ignorance.
The Brits are whinging about Poles and other Eastern European buggers. What court system do they seek to impose. They are bitching about Hindus. What court system do they seek to impose. They are bitching about black people. What court system do they seek to impose. They are birching about a diffident non homogeneous mob we call Arabs. What court system do they seek to impose. Have to ask. Are you a yank, living in the USA? |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 29th, 2016 at 9:01pm The4thEstate wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 6:47pm:
Yes, I get the point... If that was the context (something only an American would truly understand in its American context)... And in poor taste, it wouldn't work here either... Having said that, Australians are less afflicted with the PC bug as Americans. Not saying we're not afflicted, just less afflicted. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 30th, 2016 at 3:02am Aussie wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 8:57pm:
No, THIS is the way to show outright ignorance: Aussie wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 8:57pm:
See the little words underneath my "Team America: World Police" icon? See the third line -- the one that says, "Flyover Country, U.S.A."? Ding-ding-ding ... those last three letters are your first hint! As for your laundry list of immigrants in the U.K. and repeated question -- "What court system they seek to impose?" -- I refer you back to my original comment and suggest you read the big words more slowly this time. Don't bother scrolling; I'll throw you a bone. Here's my exact statement: "Since when do they have to ignore their borders and accept all comers, particularly those who not only fail to assimilate, but insist on imposing their own court system?" See the word "particularly"? That's your clue that I'm not talking about EVERY immigrant group or MOST immigrant groups, and perhaps not even more than ONE immigrant group. I am referring only to "those [immigrants] who not only fail to assimilate, but insist on imposing their own court system." And who might that include? Well, 5 seconds of Googling will school you on the fact that, in the words of a December 2015 Daily Mail article with this headline: "There are now EIGHTY-FIVE Islamic courts dispensing 'justice' across the UK." Only the truly ignorant would fail to understand that. And gee, does the name "Aussie" imply that you're an Australian?? Living in Australia?? Just a wild guess! |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 30th, 2016 at 3:26am NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 29th, 2016 at 9:01pm:
Well, that's a point in your favor. In this country, not a day goes by that some university professor doesn't announce the latest "offensive" speech that should be banned from students' conversations. The University of North Carolina website recently suggested that people avoid complimenting a woman's shoes (implies that looks are more important than intellect), discussing golf outings (because not everybody can afford to play golf) or mention Christmas vacation (indicates the superiority of the Christian faith). I understand that the school has since taken down this particular post, probably out of embarrassment, but still ... a UNC professor seriously believed that all of the above were "microaggressions." Good grief. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 30th, 2016 at 6:18am The4thEstate wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 3:26am:
Australia got somewhat of a 'rude awakening' to the difference in PC levels between Australia and the US when Harry Connick Jr was asked to 'judge' a comical mock 'talent show' which was part of a popular television show. The 'act' he was presented with was a group painted in black faces and calling themselves the 'Jackson Jive'.. Most of us in Australia saw it as just good fun, but Harry saw it differently and wasn't backward in coming forward about it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3zGiMm7O64 |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jun 30th, 2016 at 6:51am
https://youtu.be/0rr81xYB-pI
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Aussie on Jun 30th, 2016 at 11:10am The4thEstate wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 3:02am:
So, it was, as I suspected, just another Muslim bash from you. There really is no need for you to post on that subject. It is obvious it will be just more of the same, regurgitated, no matter the Thread title. As for location, whatever I have under my avatar is not proof that I am not a penguin. Now that you have asked me, I confess I really am a penguin, and hang out at the South Pole. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 30th, 2016 at 4:58pm Aussie wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 11:10am:
Well, I suspect that most people got my point on first reading, but you were so busy looking for trivial errors that you couldn't see the forest for the trees. Too bad for your ego that you couldn't find any. At any rate, if you really want to defend Sharia courts in the U.K., why don't you take a swing at it instead of obsessing about how many of my posts take a dim view of Islam? You're playing the man instead of the ball, dude. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:09pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 6:18am:
Oh yeah, if Harry hadn't have objected, the PC Police would have never forgiven him for that one, and his career in the U.S. would have been toast. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Aussie on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:17pm Quote:
I believed I 'got' your point at first read as well, but wanted clarification, before taken it any further. You have now confirmed what I suspected ~ just another Muslim bash. Quote:
Every one of your posts is a Muslim bash ~ no point denying it. I could not care less about Sharia Courts. If people want to submit to that jurisdiction voluntarily, what right do I have to intervene? I say I have no right, and I ought keep my nose out of the business of other people. Quote:
Well, I thought I was addressing your Posts. I know nothing about you. You, too, could be a penguin for all I care. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Frank on Jun 30th, 2016 at 6:11pm Aussie wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
Every one of your posts is a Muslim bash ~ no point denying it. I could not care less about Sharia Courts. If people want to submit to that jurisdiction voluntarily, what right do I have to intervene? I say I have no right, and I ought keep my nose out of the business of other people. [/quote] Yeah, let's talk about you, why don't we? But luckily it's not about you. Equality before the law - note the singular. Just because you are ignorant and can't be fagged doesn't mean that multiple laws within a single jurisdiction is a good idea. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Aussie on Jun 30th, 2016 at 6:18pm Quote:
The Yanky Penguin made it about me. He asked: Quote:
There is only one Law which ultimately counts ~ The Law of the Land in which you live. However, that does not prevent anyone from voluntarily submitting to some Voodoo Laws of Vankers if they so choose. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jun 30th, 2016 at 9:29pm The4thEstate wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:09pm:
In the context of his being American, I'd bet he would have been. But its not just with the US where the difference lies... The term 'Paki' is extremely offensive in the UK. In Australia the 'Pakis' means the Pakistani cricket team. When they are in Australia competing with us, you might find signs that read 'The Pakis are coming' (meant without the intent of offense), which apparently, for a laugh, British tourists have their picture taken with the sign visible in the background. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jul 1st, 2016 at 8:58am Aussie wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
I've confirmed nothing other than my opinion that Brexit voters are not racist. But if it had been "another Muslim bash," what's it to you? Are you the resident defender of Islam? Big fan of female genital mutilation, honor killings, tossing gays off rooftops, genocide against Christians and Yazidis, beheadings and such? Subscriber to Islamic Playboy, with all those hot centerfolds of chicks flashing their ankles? Aussie wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
Oh yeah, especially my comments about Harry Connick Jr. on this same thread. Aussie wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
So if you could not care less about the gist of my post, why don't you keep your nose out of the thread? I mean, I could not care less about knitting. That's why I don't log on to knitting blogs and criticize people for talking about nothing besides knitting. Aussie wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
No, I'm a Yank, remember? If you happen to forget again, just check those three little letters underneath my icon -- the ones that start with "U" and end with "A." (Hint: It's not "Ulgaria.") |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jul 1st, 2016 at 9:05am NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 9:29pm:
And in the U.S., the term "Paki" means nothing. Say it to the average Yank and he may think you're talking about something to do with moving or shipping. But on the subject of "terms that mean different things in different countries," a British lady who moved to the States raised some eyebrows when she invited a male co-worker to "knock me up in the morning." Apparently she intended it to mean "call and wake me up," but on this side of the pond it means "impregnate me." |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 1st, 2016 at 9:33am NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 30th, 2016 at 9:29pm:
Actually, the term 'Paki' means 'Pakistani' in the UK too, for the not unsurprising reason that they are ...... are you ready for this? ....... Pakistanis ... who as an ethnic community never fail to transfer millions per annum as sizable portions of their saved earnings back to Pakistan where these monies benefit a foreign nation rather than the economy of the UK. The UK is a workplace for these people, not a homeland. Their tight-knit ghettoes in Britain's larger cities are replicas of their Muslim homeland. During summer, Britain's native people go south to Spain and Portugal to spend time on their sunny beaches, with meanwhile the UK's airport lounges are stiff with faux 'Brits' heading off to Pakistan, India, and the Middle Eastern Arabic countries. 'Pakis' is a very apt word for describing ... Pakistanis .. and it's an own-goal for Britain's legions of Pakistanis to take offence at being referred to as who they really are. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jul 1st, 2016 at 9:51am The4thEstate wrote on Jul 1st, 2016 at 9:05am:
Yes, I think we'd all go for similar to you here too... Although we might term it more like... having a root. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jul 1st, 2016 at 3:46pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Jul 1st, 2016 at 9:51am:
See, that's an expression that would draw blank stares among many Americans, or at least those of us who aren't that familiar with slang in other English-speaking countries. Around here, if you're rooting for someone, you're simply cheering them on, as in, "Good luck in the talent show, Sarah. We'll be rooting for you from the audience." Not that I've never been perplexed by an Australian slang expression. I was once on a game site that featured the four-handed card game of euchre. People played with both regular partners and random partners, and one day I wound up with a random partner from Australia. One of our opponents was a blowhard who kept making bad calls, losing points and then accusing us of cheating, and when we won the game, he went off on us. I just laughed at him and said, "Cheating? I've never met my partner before this game. In fact, I don't even know if my partner's a male or a female." Afterward, my partner (who turned out to be female) said to me, "He really spat the dummy," and I said something like, "Yeah, he sure did," but I had no idea what she meant by that. In the U.S., a dummy is either a mannequin or an idiot, so I had to look it up before I understood it was what we call a pacifier. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jul 1st, 2016 at 3:56pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 1st, 2016 at 9:33am:
You just underscored my point about why so many Brits went Brexit. I'm sure it also doesn't do wonders for Pakistani P.R. when reports like the Rotherham scandal surface in the media. Like this excerpt from an October 2015 story in the Daily Express: "Last August a devastating independent report was published revealing how at least 1,400 girls as young as 11 were groomed and sexually exploited over a 14-year period by gangs of predominantly Pakistani men." What's amusing is that much of the British media commonly refers to Pakistani Muslims as simply "Asians." |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 7:00am Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 1st, 2016 at 9:33am:
Paki is a derogatory term in the UK to describe south Asians generally, including Pakistanis, Indians, bangladeshis. I have never heard the term in Australia mean any other than the Pakistani cricket team. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 12:28pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 7:00am:
I couldn't give a rat's arse if it is, and that's because if calling a spade a spade or a Pakistani a 'Paki' is offensive to someone, then they are living in the wrong country and should think of going home where the music, the food, the language, the customs, the religion, and the clothing is exactly how they have recreated it in their British ghettoes. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 12:45pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 12:28pm:
Herbie racism 101. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Nicole Page 2016 on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:22pm Marla wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 12:45pm:
Did you realise Marla that referring to our Australian Aboriginal brethren as "abos" is also considered racist by the PC left? However, Australians shorten everything (it's not cause we're lazy; the air is so thick with flies we do our best to keep our mouths shut, hence the necessity of shortening words). Hence, "afternoon" becomes "arvo", "good day" becomes "gidday" and "aboriginal" becomes "abo". Therefore, you see, calling our Aboriginal brothers "abo" is not racist. However, "boong" is most certainly racist. And do you know why abos are called "boongs", marla? It's the sound they make when they bounce of your roo bar. That, my friend, is racist. What Herbert has written above, is most certainly not. Have a nice day. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:29pm Marla wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 12:45pm:
Ah! She who must NEVER be obeyed, has arrived! ... (on a Magic Carpet made of what else but beaten hemp). So! How have you been occupying your time, Miss Cogenial Colorado? What particular kind of music is associated with Colorado. We've been playing Louisiana Cajun and Kentucky Blue Grass here on the other thread. Very distinctive sounds. And a bit of Ol' New Orleans. Speak, O skirted one! |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:39pm
Most kind of you to intercede on my behalf, Nicole - but Marla, bogarde, and my good self have been involved in a ménage à trois on this board now for quite some time - which needless to say has thoroughly outraged and scandalised the Old Tarts here like Neferti, Mothra, Codsey-baby and sundry others ... *sniff*
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Marla on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:46pm
I give up.
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:59pm Marla wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:46pm:
Don't say that, or Aquascoot will be along shortly to give you further instructions on how to upgrade yourself from being a beta-filly to an alpha-mare ... |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Frank on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 2:41pm Marla wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:46pm:
An ideal place for socialism. It has always been on the horizon and it will stay on the horizon for ever. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Aussie on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 3:13pm Quote:
Urban myth. Officially it came out of the 40s and 50's - origin unknown. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by The4thEstate on Jul 3rd, 2016 at 12:45am Marla wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 12:45pm:
So why is a Coloradan lecturing an Australian on the proper use of the term "Paki"? It's not as if we even have that term on this side of the pond. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 3rd, 2016 at 8:04am Marla wrote on Jul 2nd, 2016 at 1:46pm:
My apologies. I did, of course, mean 'Miss Congenial Colorado' . |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 4th, 2016 at 7:23pm Wolseley wrote on Jun 26th, 2016 at 11:36pm:
What about an idiot who allegedly rapes children? "DONALD Trump has been accused of an historical child rape in shocking allegations filed with the United States Federal Court." Link Low enough? |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 4th, 2016 at 7:49pm "I personally witnessed the Plaintiff being forced to perform various sexual acts with Donald J. Trump and Mr. Epstein. Both Mr. Trump and Mr. Epstein were advised that she was 13 years old." This is bogarde's hero. |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 4th, 2016 at 8:02pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 3rd, 2016 at 8:04am:
I got it wrong again. 'Miss Congeniality Colorado'. 8-) |
Title: Re: Trump - stupid or out of touch with the world? Post by NorthOfNorth on Jul 4th, 2016 at 9:51pm The4thEstate wrote on Jul 1st, 2016 at 3:46pm:
If we used that term here, no doubt we'd abbreviate to 'spat the paki'... Thereby helping Brits in the Australia to another moment of comical cross-purpose chatter! |