General Discussion >> Chat >> Brushes with fame http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1469333873 Message started by Redneck on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:17pm |
Title: Brushes with fame Post by Redneck on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:17pm
What have been your brushes with fame?
The wife and I met Gough Whitlam in a gallery in Venice in 1998 and had a chat, my missus said "Hello Mr Whitlam, we are from Australia!" "He said in a sort of condescending manner "I know that!" Anyway overall the chat was friendly though! |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Redneck on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:25pm
On another occasion I was walking through Canberra City and almost bumped into this bloke whos face I immediately recognised.
Thinking it was someone I knew, I said "Gooday Mate How are you going?" as I passed. The penny dropped a few seconds later it was Major-General Allen Stretton who had taken charge of the evacuation of Darwin after Cyclone Tracy. It was a year or so after that event. He probably wondered who was that d1ckhead that said hello! |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:43pm
Saw Kamahl waiting at an airport once .... every time someone walked in his direction you could see him tense and prepare himself waiting for them to ask for an autograph or just acknowledge him ... he looked soooo disappointed when they kept walking straight past without a glimer of recognition ... I couldn't help but laugh.
After about an hour of this I felt so sorry for him I was going to ask him for his autograph just to make him feel good, but they called my flight. That was the first time I realised just how desperately some celebrities crave fame ... he looked rather pathetic. No wonder so many celebrities turn to drugs and alcohol or suicide |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 25th, 2016 at 7:46am I found myself stuck in a lift in the city with a guy who looked like Gough Whitlam's clone. I was a uni student in my teens back then. Anyway, the resemblance was so remarkable I finally had to say to the guy that he was the spitting image of Gough Whitlam. He laughed and said : Yes I know. Everyone tells me I look like my dad. He was Nicholas Whitlam. :) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:02am Redmond Neck wrote on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:17pm:
I am wondering how he KNEW you were ausssies.. dont tell me you were wearing the boardies.. and thongs... ;) ;) I was very close to Princess Mary and hubby plus her mother in law the Queen of Denmark.. it was the Queens birthday and its quite a celebration over there...so off we went...I had my very small Australian flag...it was quite a crush they get right up close to the balcony... not like Buck House.....ans a sea of red and white flags and my lone star aussie flag....which I waved and waved.. I was a huge laugh... and when their carriage went past Mary looked right at me... I almost melted...maybe it was the miserable excuse for a flag that caught her eye.... my daughter has met the Queen of Denmark.. and been in the same room as Mary... does that count???? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:10am
My ex husband and I bought our 1st matrimonial home in a waterfront suburb of Sydney back in the 90's.
Anyway, we're moving in and I'm as nervous as hell being a young bride, moving into a new suburb, new home etc...when our neighbour from across the road turns up, parks his car and comes over to find out who we are. We didn't need to ask who he was though. It was ANGUS YOUNG from ACDC. As a neighbour, he was an unassuming, decent and nice person. Just a normal every day guy....with no tickets on himself. In fact, he seemed to crave the peace and quiet of anonymity more than anything else. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by issuevoter on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:18am Redmond Neck wrote on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:17pm:
Classic ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Marla on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:46am
While in a bar in Vegas Brad Garrett sat right next to me. Bought me a drink, said hello and left about 10 minutes later. I had no idea who in the hell he was until other bar patrons told me. Apparently, he played Jerry's mechanic on Seinfeld. One tall dude, though.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:26am Marla wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:46am:
I thought he was great in 'Everybody Loves Raymond' |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:27am
Robin Williams
Richard Branson Cordozar Calvin Broadus, Jr Packer, James and Kerry Jeannie Little Scarlett Johansson Ewan Mcgregor Nigella Lawson I'm bored of typing now. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:35am Gordon wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:27am:
hardly fair ... you worked for the ABC and still work in entertainment don't you? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:36am Gordon wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:27am:
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Redneck on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:39am Gordon wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:27am:
Bloody hell, a mine's bigger than yours freak! ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:03am John Smith wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:35am:
Used to, in a totally different industry now. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:06am John Smith wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:36am:
I've seen a lot of female celebs and most are totally underwhelming. I saw Paris Hilton for example at North Bondi and if it wasn't Paris, I'd not even have noticed her. I reckon the two hottest celebs who look hot IRL, Scarlett and Hugh Jackman. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:19am Gordon wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:06am:
Paris is a skank and if it wasn't for her grandfathers money nobody would ever take any notice of her. I've never rated her in the looks department. Scarlet on the other hand looks absolutely stunning. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:26am John Smith wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:19am:
Funniest thing I've ever seen. Paris was strutting it around North Bondi near the place we call 'The grassy knoll'. It's also knows as 'The wet patch' as it probably has the hottest women per sq/m on the planet sitting around in bikinis. So Paris was strutting around with her minders and a camera and sound guy, she used the beach shower and the heckles started coming in...can someone disinfect the shower, is that you Paris, we can't recognise you without a #$@% in your mouth. She proceeded up the beach to where the non-locals / tourists tend to clump and she got mobbed by the plebs. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:48am
Without a what in her mouth?????
:-/ |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Raven on Jul 25th, 2016 at 3:12pm
Got to meet Robin Williams once, He was waiting in line behind Raven at a bloody supermarket in New York. Didn't think he did his own shopping.
Also had the pleasure of meeting Mandawuy Yunupingu, Ernie Dingo and David Gulpilil. And Julie McCrossin at the height of her "Good News Week" fame. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 25th, 2016 at 3:17pm Raven wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 3:12pm:
I used to talk to Ernie Dingo often - he frequented the same coffee shop as me when he worked here in the Perth CBD. I've spoken to Ben Elton on several occasions too. He lives in Fremantle for 6 months of the year, so it's not uncommon to see him in one of the local pubs down there. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Jul 25th, 2016 at 3:59pm John Smith wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:26am:
hes good at stand up as well.... |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 25th, 2016 at 4:04pm
Michael Caton lived a couple of streets away from me in Bondi, once I was a few behind him walking to the beach and we passed a beat up old backpackers AE Foulcoon with a price tag that was very optimistic. I saw him looking at it and grinning, he saw me looking at it and at the same time we both said 'tell him he's dreamin'.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Brian Ross on Jul 25th, 2016 at 5:23pm
I've met:
During my brief movie career (as an extra): Edward Woodwood (the actor) Bryan Brown Jack Thompson Mel Gibson Mark Lee Bill Kerr Anybody care to guess which two movies they were? 8-) In politics I've met: Gough Whitlam Bob Hawke Don Dunstan Mick Young Bill Hayden Gareth Evans Kim Beazley Des Corcoran John Bannon Lynn Arnold Mike Rann Steele Hall David Tonkin Malcom Fraser Andrew Peacock Alexander Downer Amanda Vanstone Brendan Nelson Tone Rabbit Malcom Turnball In Academia I've met: David Horner Peter Stanley Jeff Gray Albert Palazzo Roger Lee Jean Bou Gary Sheffield |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by issuevoter on Jul 25th, 2016 at 5:35pm
I have never met any famous person, and if they tell you they have met me, I will deny it.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Jul 25th, 2016 at 6:29pm
Who do you call a Famous Person? Really?
Famous People earned their FAME and are most likely DECEASED. You mean CELEBRITIES ... that bunch who piss you off because they are consistently "in your face". That includes News Readers, Pollies and others in The News? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lionel Edriess on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:48pm I've met a few. The one that impressed me most was Roden Cutler, a gentleman of the old school. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:52pm
I once used the toilet on the plane after Julia Roberts.
I also sat just behind Gordon Ramsay on another flight. One is far more pleasant an experience than the other.... |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Agnes on Jul 25th, 2016 at 8:57pm
Well I have had 2nd hand brush with fame- my bff met Johnny Depp while he was shooting Pirates in QLD recently- he and Ms Heard smuggled Pistol and Boo on that trip..
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:08pm Brian Ross wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 5:23pm:
Oh yeah, I played an extra once. A movie being made in Melbourne. Got to meet ... Jesus, can't remember his name. Will have to google it. I don't consider politicians 'famous', but I've met a pile of those bastards. Gillard. Rudd. Shorten. Abbott (he used my office for an afternoon). Whitlam (family connections). Fraser (my all time favourite - a lovely man, and his wife was very charming). Bill Clinton (for about 2.3 seconds). Dunstan (family connection again). Mark McGowan (see him every few weeks). Howard (stood next to him at that milk bar near Kirribilli House once, while he was buying the paper or milk or something. He was wearing the Aussie track suit - about 6am). Thatcher (in Austria, many years ago - she was about 50mtrs away. Used to holiday there often, so I'm told) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:11pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:08pm:
William H. Macy! A nice dude. Strangely, he seemed nervous on set (out front of Parliament House in Melbourne). |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Black Orchid on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:14pm
I don't consider politicians "famous" and I have met too many to count. None are worth a mention.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:14pm
I met a famous guy called Jesus Christ as a young 25 yr old pregnant wife.
He became my precious friend and saviour when I was 5 months pregnant, lying in a hospital bed about to be wheeled into surgery. He saved me physically and spiritually that day. I understand that God/Jesus Christ is not an important person to most of you guys. But He is to me. And to my 1st 2 babies. :) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by issuevoter on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:22pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:14pm:
So what did Jesus say when you met him? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:24pm issuevoter wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:22pm:
bring me your sons :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:25pm Black Orchid wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:14pm:
I didn't actually "meet" Howard or Thatcher: just shared some space with them. No words were exchanged. And I only said about three words to Rudd, and he instantly dismissed me as a pleb. It's true what they say: Abbott and Rudd are the opposite of what you'd expect them to be when you meet them in real life. Abbott was actually quite polite to me (and he signed his biography for me). Oh, and I talk with Julie Bishop, Michaelia Cash, and The Terminator about once every fortnight. As much as I hang poo on them, they ain't too bad (don't tell anyone I said that). |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:28pm Brian Ross wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 5:23pm:
The first three were in Breaker Morant. The next three in Gallipoli. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Black Orchid on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:28pm
OMG where's Gregg? What did you do with him?
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:31pm Black Orchid wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:28pm:
Shush! |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by The Grappler on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:41pm
As part owner of an internationally known theatre in Sydney, I often brush shoulders with the rich and famous... some are fellow owners... my grand-children's grand-mother spent a lifetime in the film industry and has worked with many 'names'.... and I've done a stint or two in movies and on stage myself...... some famous people are relatives....
Brushes with fame are commonplace in the world in which some of us move..... we didn't all come from Lower Yobsville you know.... or from Bellevue Heights etc, either..... class is in the breeding and in what a person does.... being born in Bellevue Heights doesn't make one a vulture, you know, hovering above the rest.... and being born in Lower Whycomethere doesn't make one a guttersnipe........ |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:50pm
Met:
Cate and Bronte Campbell Anna Meares Lauren Jackson (being that she was the friend of my former employer) Jamie Dwyer and Mark Knowles -- my father and brother knowing them personally. Stephanie Rice Heath Ledger, before he was famous Rose Byrne Bryan Brown The Veronicas -- Lisa and Veronica Origliasso Suzy Quatro James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, and Kirk Hammett -- Metallica fame One of my daughters (one that I fathered as a teenager) is a swimsuit model, with her own official website. Does that count? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:56pm UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:50pm:
Heath was a Perth boy - saw him a few times, but never met him. Met Lars at the Charles Hotel in Perth. Bought him a beer while we watched The Party Boys on stage. Short little bugger. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:21pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:56pm:
Ulrich certainly is short. He seems to have a thing for tall women. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:31pm UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:21pm:
Yes. My wife at the time was quite tall, and he took an instant liking to her. Anyway, he was a pretty cool dude. He just blended in with the crowd, and didn't seem to have a big ego at all. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Brian Ross on Jul 26th, 2016 at 12:09am UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:28pm:
Correct. I was an extra on both movies. Edward Woodwood was a real gentleman, Mel Gibson a pain in the posterior, Jack Thompson and Bill Kerr good blokes. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 26th, 2016 at 2:40am Brian Ross wrote on Jul 26th, 2016 at 12:09am:
Were you one of the Australian soldiers to witness Morant and Hancock get executed? I was an unwitting background extra in a television show some recent years ago. I was okay with them having me feature as one of the anonymous people in the shot. But the scene was of me in the background, eating a hotdog about 20 paces back from where the main characters were situated. It was not a very good video, since it did feature me during my even fatter days. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Raven on Jul 27th, 2016 at 11:57am greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:11pm:
Reckon he is one of the most under rated actors. Great in Fargo and bloody funny in the American remake of Shameless. Didn't mind him as the Shoveler in Mystery Men though Raven didn't like the movie |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Redneck on Jul 27th, 2016 at 1:09pm issuevoter wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 5:35pm:
So you havent met Brian Ross FFS? You werent on his bigger than yours list! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 27th, 2016 at 1:16pm Raven wrote on Jul 27th, 2016 at 11:57am:
I agree. Fargo was excellent, but I haven't seen Shameless yet. I'll check it out on Netflix. He was good in The Lincoln Lawyer too. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Bojack Horseman on Jul 27th, 2016 at 1:38pm
I was in Womens day for calling Michelle Bridges a D grade celeb.
Fun times. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 27th, 2016 at 1:46pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jul 27th, 2016 at 1:38pm:
She must be. I had to google her name. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 27th, 2016 at 9:35pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 27th, 2016 at 1:46pm:
She features as a trainer for that weight loss program "The Biggest Loser". If you have not seen her channel 10's endless promotion of her show, or her weight loss plans being advertised, then you probably have boycotted channel 10. And perhaps you advert your eyes at the magazine stands, too. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 27th, 2016 at 9:51pm UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 27th, 2016 at 9:35pm:
I've seen the show advertised, but I had no idea who hosted it. To tell the truth, I don't watch a lot of Channel 10. As far as fame goes, she seems to be a D grade celeb (if that). |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by The Grappler on Jul 28th, 2016 at 12:18am Raven wrote on Jul 27th, 2016 at 11:57am:
I agree - he is a very good actor and very under-rated. Not overly handsome and tall it seems.... well, Mel is only 5'8". Macy is the kind of actor who 'is' the part rather than being a person imposed on the part.... My personal favourites are Tommy Lee Jones and Sam Elliott, both of whom my grand-children's grandmother (the first cousin of A Hollywood Director) has worked with at times, along with JC Van Damme and a lot of others, including the late Bob Hoskins (nice bloke). My daughter has worked with Johnny Depp. Both Tommy and Sam are fabulous guys. As for the ladies, Nicole is a good actress who holds a part well, and I do miss Meryl Streep. And Kylie IS a very nice lady. Oh - a gentleman does not make claims nor does he name names too much. People over-exposed to the limelight actually appreciate that..... and yes, I once worked with Jack. But then - here I am anonymous. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lady Lols on Jul 28th, 2016 at 2:13am Gordon wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 4:04pm:
Oh the serenity! I think it's time to go and get a photo in front of that famous house next to the airport. Apparently, I saw on tv a few months back, it is going to be demolished and new units put up. So in the meantime.....get your dressing gown on, ugh boots, and the trading post under your arm, then pose outside "that" castle! http://www.domain.com.au/news/the-castle-up-for-rent-20100721-10k55/ |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lady Lols on Jul 28th, 2016 at 2:37am
I recall meeting a few famous people, the first one was Brian Naylor, he used to do the news, and always finish off saying "And may your news be good news"...
Before he was a newsreader, he used to host a children's talent show called "Brian Naylors Swallows Juniors", I was about 12 when I met him, and as my dad would brag about my musical abilities, Brian would suggest for me to go on the TV show....well that freaked me out, I realized how much stage fright I would have! Music talent I had, but to have the confidence to go on national tv? When faced with something like that (I know it's opportunity)....might have been famous...loll... You all know how he and his wife perished in the awful Black Saturday fires in Kinglake in 2009? Very sad, he was a really lovely man, and even though he had the state of the art fire fighting equipment....something went terribly wrong. Anyway, more famous people along the way, as I worked in the city, would often see them in Myers. I do recall when the Queen came to Melbourne, with crowds waiting to see her drive past with her wave, all I see was a green hat go past! I met Peter Brock, at Richmond Technical College, he was a guest speaker, back in 1976 (hubby was getting his apprentice certificate). Peter had long hair, tight staggers jeans, and could he talk! :o I guess I thought of him as a motor mouth. But one thing I do remember he said, when you are driving, is to always leave room for error. I also met the then Victorian Premier, Jeff Kennett at one of the political rallies in our locality. And as my daughter and hubby got into doing some extras work in the acting field.....met a few more local and international stars. They really do get treated like royalty. The most memorable part in a movie the hubby got, was he had to be like an inmate, and they made the then Telstra Done, in the locker room area, like a jail.....for the movie "Underbelly" My daughter was being offered a regular part in the movie, to be the girlfriend, semi naked, and she refused, then they came back saying wearing a bikini...she still refused, and we balked, asking why? She said she didn't want to associate with what the series was about, oh gosh :o I was so annoyed. Another 'almost famous' situation ;D The most recent person I met a few months ago was Brian Cadd, during fashion week, as the daughter was a model and I was taking photos, so too was Brian. Then I asked later if I could take a photo of him, and he says, "lets have a selfie together" 8-) Well I did post that up on my fb saying "Guess who is in the photo with me!" ;D I will probably remember more once I sign off, I can't sleep tonight, I think these new blood pressure tabs keep me from wanting to sleep? Finally had to succumb to getting onto them :-[ I said to the Doc, I don't feel anything, and she said that's why high blood pressure is called the silent killer :( Oh well, at least I am enjoying catching up reading what everyone is writing about :) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by mortdooley on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:22am
About four years ago at the NRA Annual meeting I had a yellow lab dog come up to me in the convention hall. He was several feet ahead of his owner just checking things out and I was able to visit with both of them. I've forgotten the dogs name but his owner is Marcus Luttrell, an American hero and a true gentleman.
While in Las Vegas we saw Penn and Teller who at the end of their show walked up the isles to the lobby where they visited with the audience and posed for pictures. I have pictures of my wife and her best friend with Penn Jillette and listened to Teller talk non stop the whole time. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:42am Redmond Neck wrote on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:17pm:
You should have shirt-fronted him for being on a junket on the taxpayers' dime. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:03am John Smith wrote on Jul 24th, 2016 at 2:43pm:
Interesting, but I'm sure you misread his body-language. It would be one of the major down-sides of being a celebrity ... those idiots who selfishly and inconsiderately pester them for autographs and 'selfies' while they're trying to live a normal life when they're not performing. The first thing celebrities do is buy the sort of residential property with high walls that keeps these inconsiderate pests at bay. One thing about Kamahl that I learnt only after he had faded back into anonymity is that he had spent his entire career here in Australia with a huge chip on his shoulder for being paranoid and resentful about 'racism' directed at him and his son. I wonder in what form he found this 'racism'. Beautiful rich voice - I liked the fellow. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:14am Gordon wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 10:03am:
Got fired when they discovered you're not a Far Leftwing luvvie with a hard-on for trash-talking everything right of Che Guevara. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:21am greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 25th, 2016 at 9:11pm:
A freaky-looking guy, but I always enjoyed his movies. Damned good actor. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:33am
I was dating a TV celebrity who made her name advertising a certain product, but broke it off when I discovered she was secretly sniffing or injecting some sort of illicit drug each and every day - and then turning into a monster.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Fireball on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:38am
Such fascination by forum members with famous people, I wonder if any of that celebrity status 'rubbed' off on them........I doubt it......
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:54am Fuzzball wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:38am:
I quit the relationship with my clothes smelling of marijuana or something equally suspicious. Does that count? 8-) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Redneck on Jul 28th, 2016 at 9:54am Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:42am:
He was probably just using up his quota of free flights. ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 28th, 2016 at 10:23am Redmond Neck wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 9:54am:
You should have grabbed him by the lapels and head-butted him while your wife gave him a stiff kick in the gollywhoops with her Ugg boots ... |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Kat on Jul 28th, 2016 at 4:29pm
I've been on the piss with Motorhead.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Redneck on Jul 28th, 2016 at 4:49pm
One I forgot was hanging out with Billy Thorpe and The Aztecs at Surf City, Kings Cross in the 1960's on a couple of occasions.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 28th, 2016 at 4:58pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:03am:
No, I watched him for almost an hour (while waiting for a plane) and not a single person spoke to him or even acted like they recognised him ....the look on his face was definitely disappointment . Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:03am:
many celebrities crave the attention . |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by issuevoter on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:01pm Redmond Neck wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 4:49pm:
Now you're talking. I remember that sloping dance floor. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by John Smith on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:02pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:33am:
Velma Dace Dinkley and scooby snacks? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:10pm issuevoter wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:01pm:
;D ;D ;D hanging out with Billy Thorpe...wow what an experience... who remembers Johnnie Ray... now he turned the world on its head...I saw him at the London Palladium...from what was then called the gods.. so far up I dont think I could look at it now... we thought we were in heaven.it was bliss. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by issuevoter on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:17pm
Johnny Ray !!!. Jeez Cods, and I thought you were a chicky-babe
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:27pm issuevoter wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
Poor old Johnnie Ray; Sounded sad upon the radio; Moved a million hearts in mono |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:28pm Redmond Neck wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 4:49pm:
Crikey. I didn't think you were THAT old :-? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:30pm issuevoter wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
Is it ok if I say that I've never heard of Johnny Ray????? :-? :( :-[ :-/ |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:31pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:27pm:
You've heard of him too? Okkkkay...it's Google time here :-/ |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:35pm |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:36pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:27pm:
Did he ever cum on Eileen? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:41pm
Oh I remember that song!
Band : Dexys Midnight Runners 1982 or 83??? Song : Come on Eileen GRRRRR....STOP BEING NAUGHTY GREG!!!! |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:42pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:31pm:
Only thru the song off. lyrics I posted. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:44pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:41pm:
Who's the guy getting off the plane? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oc-P8oDuS0Q |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:50pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:44pm:
I love that song so frikken much. I was at school in England in 82 and that song was just everywhere. I was a bit more into punk but that song was still worthy. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:50pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:44pm:
Ohhhhhhhhhhh. NOW I GET IT. I couldn't understand that clip when it came out. I thought it was a song about his dad or something. :-[ :( What did I know back then....I was just a chyould <---- ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:52pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:50pm:
Are you English????? :-? Does Herbo know lol???? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:55pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:52pm:
Nopes, family work posting for a year. I went to school in 5 countries. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:56pm
Speaking of England, there was a song released around the same time as "Come On Eileen".
I can't recall the band's name but the song was ohhh so nice to listen to. Hmmmm let me see if I can remember some of the words : And tell me... Is it still raining there in England? And tell me what you did last night. One perfect day. One perfect day. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:02pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:56pm:
Only the first seven words apply to you Jones. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCzhgn5RMJc |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:03pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:28pm:
spiteful... one day.. if you are worthy of the privilege of getting OLD....you may reach a grand age.....a lot of people never do.....perhaps you would care to bare that in mind. next time you wish to take a swipe. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:05pm issuevoter wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:17pm:
I am... who tells you differen t has cottonwool for brains...you are as young as you feel.. and I feel very cute and cuddly.so there. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:07pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 5:55pm:
theres not much you havent done is there Lisa???? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:08pm cods wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:07pm:
I'm not lisa. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:14pm cods wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:03pm:
Huh? 1. I wasn't talking about or to you. 2. I honestly thought Gordon was as old as I was. 3. Bugger off. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:15pm cods wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:07pm:
Huh????????? That was Gordon. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:17pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:08pm:
I know you're not me. Crikey... ::) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:19pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:14pm:
I have a 9 yr old and I was at school in 82. Gets you in the ballpark |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:20pm Redmond Neck wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 4:49pm:
Here is my Billy Thorpe story. My High School, Bundaberg State High had annual sporting jousts with Salisbury High School all through the 60's. One year, we'd go down there, and the next, they'd come up to Bundy. Always close tussles especially in League, but we always beat the Brisbane buggers. I reckon it would have been 1965, we were down there. Always was a 'social' which was a dance thing. That year, Billy Thorpe was the entertainer/dance music provider. He was a student there, but I'm not sure if he was then a current student. If he was, he certainly was not playing any of the sports we contested. Anyhow, along went yours truly, but I missed out on Billy. I was down on the Oval with one of the local Salisbury fillies, as was the way it was in those grand days. :) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:21pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:17pm:
How old are you Cods? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:24pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:19pm:
How does that put me in your ballpark? I don't have a 9 yr old. I have 2 kids under 5. My other 2 are adults (well teenagers). And I was in primary school in 1982 (only just). Plus I'm a GIRL!!!!! :o |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:25pm
Ok 2 more.
I lived on a street which an Aussie rock leg sang about. And I don't care who believes this or not but I dated a supermodel before she was famous |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:26pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:21pm:
Too funny! ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:27pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:25pm:
BS. :P |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:29pm
I dated Miss Australia when she was Miss Australia! Get that up ya!.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:31pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:20pm:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Billy_Thorpe 29/3/1946 to 28/2/2007 |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:34pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:29pm:
And......*drum roll*.....here she is as she was crowned. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:38pm
Jenny Kee's Mum was my mother in law's next door neighbour.
So we got to see both her and her daughter a few times. My ex mother and father in laws lived a few doors down from Luke Ricketson's parents and they knew him as a little kid. So I got to meet them a few times too. Remember Johnny O'Keefe? Well he has a brother who was a Supreme Court Judge. His name? Barry. I got to meet him through my ex husband who was also a lawyer. And finally, I went to uni with 1 of Paul Keating's daughters. It was at Sydney Uni. We both studied Government. Our lecturer? None other than former Prime Minister John Howard's brother, Robert. Good times. :) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:45pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:27pm:
Why is living on a street which was featured in a song so unbelievable, pray tell? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:48pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:38pm:
Oh I've got a PK story. He was at the auction in the Double Bay rooms when I bought my place. (he's a regular there) He bid bought on one of the first listed and bid on the one before mine. I was bogging myself he'd bid up my place. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:48pm
flip
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:49pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:34pm:
;D ;D ;D Of course you did. ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:56pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:34pm:
The file name says Leanne-Dick_large. Just sayin' :-/ |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Gordon on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:57pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:56pm:
Yuk! |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Agnes on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:16pm
And I lived next door to the Nullabor Nymph..not so Nymphish anymore and minus her kangaroo skins- but still,we had coffee at least once a week..
http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/true-story-of-nullarbor-nymph/story-e6frg4nl-1111113172831 |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:20pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:56pm:
This may come as quite a surprise. Her name was Leanne Dick, (from a South Kolan cane farming Family. Great people,) introduced to the Melbourne Cup crowd in the presence of the pissed GG Kerr by Ch 7's Sandy Roberts as, Leeanne Cock. All 100% true. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Setanta on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:22pm
This is one of the guys we feed at the soup kitchen. He was almost famous and represented his country.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darrell_Hiles https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KBu_NTHjGcE |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:26pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:20pm:
Yes, I remember that. Mt Gambier Cup. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djVEWSDCDHc |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:35pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 7:26pm:
There were better links than that one, which has edited the *bloop* out. I have not looked for more, 'cause that'll do. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2016 at 8:20pm
I reckon we are 'Winners in the Club House,' Leanne. Yay!
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 28th, 2016 at 10:41pm Gordon wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:19pm:
Donald Trump envies you. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by AiA on Jul 28th, 2016 at 10:47pm
I watched Paul Newman drive a race car back in the late 1980's. The girl I was with screamed "Hey Paul!" and he turned around and glared.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by The Grappler on Jul 31st, 2016 at 2:15pm
Well, there is a well-known actor whose mother I've 'dated' - not making any claims here....
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by issuevoter on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:23am
I met Mickey Mouse at Disney World.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by AiA on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:37am Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jul 31st, 2016 at 2:15pm:
Olivia de Havilland just turned 100. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:39am Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jul 31st, 2016 at 2:15pm:
So .. er .. what's the claim you're making here? 8-) I worked with a guy who used to drink in the same pub as Kerri-Anne Kennerley (The Oaks at Milson's Point in Sydney). Said she was a 'bitch', but didn't explain why. Probably couldn't get to first base with her. Still looking good at 62. link |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:41am AiA wrote on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:37am:
Jesus Christ. Still alive? That's cruel. I saw a photo of Zsa Zsa Gabor when she was in her nineties, and I'm still suffering from Flashbacks and undergoing treatment for PTSD. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:50am issuevoter wrote on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:23am:
;D As a precocious pre-teenager it was Minnie Mouse in her bright red stilettos that used to have me leaning forward in my seat in the darkened cinemas at those Saturday morning matinées all those years ago ... :P |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by AiA on Aug 1st, 2016 at 6:58pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:41am:
Yes, and her mother is in Grappler's age bracket. I bet they made a cute pair back in the day. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:32pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:56pm:
Aussie has admitted to dating a she-male????? :o |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:38pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:32pm:
That is insulting and disrespectful of two people, one a former Miss Australia. Sometimes people here take it way too far, and that is way, way too far. That Miss Australia had class some here could only dream of having and likely have zero comprehension of. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:41pm Aussie wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:38pm:
Excuse me. I was asking Greg a question. Which means you can bugger off. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Aussie on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:49pm
'Cute' will get you nowhere, Jones.
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:52pm Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 1st, 2016 at 7:41am:
its a privilege to grow to a grand old age....some like Princess Di. dont even get half way.. why the need to knock age...what so wrong with living to 100.... >:( |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:53pm
GG Cosgrove.
Former neighbour of ours. Lived 5 doors down the street. Another Waverly College school boy...sigh. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:59pm Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:14pm:
ahhhh heres the sweet lovable lisa we all know and... ::) ::) noice to have the real lisa back.. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:00pm Aussie wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:49pm:
cute is that what it is... theres me thinking shes been keeping up appearances for too long and its all just caved in and its back to normal transmission.. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:02pm
wow will ,lisa write a book of her many brushes with fame and law school. and mariages and children and washing machines...
should make a good read,,,,,ooops will it include a chapter on broad beans... at this rate it will end up like another Harry Potter epic. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:03pm cods wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 8:52pm:
My aunty died last week in a tragic accident. She was 70. Now 70 sounds pretty old to me, but the truth is my aunty looked young and led a very active life. The only tablets she took were vitamins. Anyway.... |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:08pm
Trying to pump oneself up by skiting about "meeting" so-called famous people is beyond the pale. Smells of bogan wannabe to me. ;D
I have never "met" any so-called famous people. I don't consider my friends and acquaintances as "famous", they are just normal people, to me. :P |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:09pm
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:12pm Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:08pm:
hey I am famous nef.... you just dont know me thats all... famous or infamous that is the question... |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:13pm Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:08pm:
Well some of us had famous people as neighbours, uni lecturers, fellow students and work colleagues. We can't help it that these people were famous or that they were just there....in our lives :-/ :-? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:32pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:13pm:
Exactly. IF you have friends and neighbours who you consider "normal" they are ONLY "famous" to the bogans, everyone else considers them friends and neighbours .... get it? |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:34pm cods wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:12pm:
Yes, you are Cods .... I'd know you anywhere by the tiara. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:36pm Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:32pm:
Ah. i |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Neferti on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 10:04pm
Well done ... you have friends and neighbours who are equal to you ... there is no need to expand on who lives next door and to call them "famous", otherwise you are belittling yourself. :)
I have met and know many well-known people ... dropping names is NOT a great way to keep friends. ;) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 10:12pm Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 10:04pm:
:) |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Baronvonrort on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 11:56pm Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:08pm:
Have to agree with this. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by cods on Aug 3rd, 2016 at 7:39am Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2016 at 9:34pm:
recognition is so rewarding....you have no idea.. every once in a while I pop down to woollies in my slippers... and blow me down I often catch someone looking at me really hard..... you know in that cute.... is it.. or isnt it fashion... I often rush up and autograph their t/shirt or whatever... they look so surprised its lovely.. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by Wolseley on Aug 3rd, 2016 at 9:31am
Back in the 90s, I ended up in a lift with Nick Greiner quite a few times. The conversation, when there was one, never went beyond saying good morning or afternoon though.
On a more interesting note, around 1970 or so, I attended Gaelic classes in St Stephen's Church in Sydney that were organised by a long defunct Scottish society. There were not a lot of us - we started with about a dozen but the numbers slowly dwindled and the classes ceased after two years. Included in our group were John Douglas Pringle, a former editor of the Sydney Morning Herald, and the poet Les Murray, two very interesting people. When the man who gave the classes passed away, Les Murray wrote a poem about him, the "Elegy for Angus Macdonald of Cnoclinn”. Angus Macdonald was almost certainly the last fully-trained seanachaidh (or, in its Anglicised spelling, shenachie). A Seanachaidh combined the roles of genealogist, historian, documenter of events and agreements, and a holder of the poems, literature and folk tales, all committed to memory. |
Title: Re: Brushes with fame Post by The Grappler on Aug 3rd, 2016 at 11:11pm
Same old descent into personal slagging.... oh, well...
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |