General Discussion >> Chat >> Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1475223175 Message started by Lord Herbert on Sep 30th, 2016 at 6:12pm |
Title: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 30th, 2016 at 6:12pm
Let me know, and we can compare notes.
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:06pm
We can talk about the miraculous uses of Food Grade diatomaceous earth.
Any takers? codsey-baby? 8-) |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Black Orchid on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:30pm
How does that relate to chickens?
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:34pm
Dad had this crazy idea that we have a rooster and a hen run about our yard, in the middle of suburbia. I never got an idea how that worked. The first night, Dad found out that roosters crow at 4am in the morning. Dad had to plonk it under the upturned bin at night to keep it quiet. Our dog enjoyed following both hen and rooster around the yard each day.
Other than that, I had no interest in having them around the house. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by The Mechanic on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:34pm |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Aussie on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:40pm
How many of those new hive gadgets you got now?
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by The Mechanic on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:43pm Aussie wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:40pm:
I've got one flowive.. one standard hive.. and now my NEW hive.. I would go all new Flowhive.. but at the moment,.. they are too dear.. :( |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Aussie on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:45pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:43pm:
Long term, they will pay their way. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Rhino on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:52pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:43pm:
Nice outfit. Couldnt you get one in pink. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Leftwinger on Sep 30th, 2016 at 10:10pm |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Rhino on Sep 30th, 2016 at 11:11pm
Real men keep bees. Lol. You make a statement like that and your asking for it.
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by mortdooley on Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:34am Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:06pm:
We have sixteen including the four chicks hatched about two months ago. Be careful with the DE, while it is great for parasite control if placed in too confining an area can cause respiratory issues. We dust each bird under the wings and give a dose on the chute. It will also kill honey bees if they get into it. We feed non-gmo layer crumbles, lettuce, tomato and pumpkin when in season. We let them free range when I can be close to keep an eye out for Chicken Hawks. Two of our birds are Roosters, one is a serama and is about nine inches tall. He hates any male who has reached puberty but he loves women and small children. The other is a breed called showgirl. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by AiA on Oct 1st, 2016 at 1:37am
the old geezer across the street keeps both hens and honeybees. i buy eggs from him and occasionally get a double yolk. he is struggling with the bees because he is periodically hit with a sudden die-off that he can't explain ... so no honey from him yet.
he also has a still and makes both bourbon and moonshine but i don't care much for spirits so never take more than a sip when offered. his muscadine wine is quite good however ... |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 1st, 2016 at 8:55am Black Orchid wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:30pm:
Diatomaceous Earth (DE) is something I only just learnt about yesterday. It delivers the Death of a Thousand Cuts to lice, mites, and even intestinal worms on and in chickens. About 6 months ago a hen suddenly appeared in my backyard after - I suspect - escaping from the backyard of neighbours in the next street who sold up and moved away. I've let it roam free at front and back where it makes the crossing by going under the house. Someone said they're social animals, and so I brought back another hen to keep it company. After a couple of weeks the new hen disappeared for a couple of days, and so I got another one to keep the original one company. But then the second hen showed up again from - I guess - under the house where it had been brooding. It has been this third hen that is the problem. It looks like it's been used as a wrecking-ball on a building site. Half the feathers are missing, and then I found it is infested with mites and lice. Mites suck the blood, making chickens anaemic, and lice live on the flaking skin and lay their eggs in a tight compact bundle attached to the base of feathers on their backside - very hard to shift physically. And now it seems this Diatomaceous Earth could be the answer to rescuing the hen from a hellish death from anaemia and simply from being eaten alive by parasites. My next problem is to find out where they sell this stuff, and where I can buy it without having to take out a Second Mortgage on my house. 'Daisy' - that's her name - is a feisty little lady despite all these hangers-on who are making a meal of her. If I don't get her into prime condition my niece is going to kill me. DIATOMACEOUS EARTH is fossilised 'hard-shell' algae from millions of years ago, and isn't really an 'earth' but a composite of little corpses. :) |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lady Lols on Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:15am
I grew up with chooks in my early childhood years, and yet, I never had any of my own, although I would love to.
I always take notice of those that do have chooks, and I get given free range eggs from time to time. One elder European lady I knew of, used to cut up garlic, and mix it with the chook food to give to the chooks. So garlic can help with a chooks health I would assume. If that helps any, from me, the chookless lady ;D |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by John Smith on Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:28am Lord Herbert wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 8:55am:
you might want to be careful about where you let them brood . They might be laying eggs under there and if you don't get them out, you'll end up attracting mice and rats, and they might even smell you out of house if you leave them there long enough. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Gordon on Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:45am
I keep deer in my backyard but one of them managed to get out yesterday.
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/police-investigate-after-deer-killed-by-car-on-busy-road-in-woollahra-20160930-grssmp.html |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by The Heartless Felon on Oct 1st, 2016 at 11:27am
Herb, some types of kitty litter are made of DE. Check the packet...
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:34pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:34pm:
I would never have a rooster at my place because of the noise. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:46pm John Smith wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:28am:
Thank you for your concern, John, but with 3 cats on the property there's no problemo with mice or rats, and now with 3 chickens there's no problem with slugs, snails, lawn beetles or Curl Grubs. The 'brooding' was false brooding with a hen that cost me $3 because it's past its egg-laying years. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Redmond Neck on Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:53pm
Herbs Menagerie !
I have visons of Herb crawling on his belly under the house to collect the eggs! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:56pm The Heartless Felon wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 11:27am:
Interesting. I'll check that out next time I go to Coles or Woolies. Finally settled on a 4.5kg packet of Food Grade Diatomaceous Earth from E-bay : $56. It had better last a good while or I'll be looking for a cheaper alternative ... (ie. wring the chook's neck and throw it on the barbie with a couple of snags). The only place they stock this Diatomaceous Earth is in Queensland, and one place in Victoria. Nothing in NSW ... and so the postage cost is a huge addition to your purchase. Meeeanwhile, I've bought some 'Pestene Insect Powder' to tide us over until the DE arrives. Kills mites, lice, and fleas. $32 for only 500g Nett. I must be bonkers. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 1st, 2016 at 1:05pm Redmond Neck wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:53pm:
;D ;D ;D So have I! -- and THAT's why it's not going to happen! My crawling-under-the-house days are over - Thank God! The 'crawl-space' only allows for crawling on hands and knees over very broken and sharp-edged rubble the bloke who built this place dumped under there. I've been under there about 5 times in all, and each time came out with Redbacks, Funnel-Web Spiders, angry-looking centipedes, and Nameless Nasties hanging off my ears. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lionel Edriess on Oct 1st, 2016 at 3:20pm Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:06pm:
DE is commonly used as a pool filtration medium. As it does not decompose, it's probably a good idea to stay away from it. If you get a lung-full, it will outlast you. If you insist on using it, wear a mask when handling it - the dust is very fine. Perhaps you could research hydrated lime, that's what worked for me. It's particularly good for areas such as underneath your house and where chooks like to fluff in the dust. It kills lice and fleas, both eggs and mature insects. Both products should be readily available at Bunnings, or the DE at a pool shop. I'd go the lime route. If you get what I used to call 'sticky-fleas' (they 'clump' and don't move much) on the chook's legs, a dip of the affected areas, or a brush with the ol' sump oil also does the trick. Best to keep the oil off the plumage. Hope this helps. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 1st, 2016 at 8:16pm Lionel Edriess wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 3:20pm:
There are several grades of DE, with Food Grade being the safest and the most used for worming poultry, with Pool Grade being a big no-no for anything other than pool filter systems. There's also an 'ordinary' grade of DE that is okay for using externally on poultry, grain in silos, fleas on dogs and cats, and for killing mites in hutches and coups. Also very good for adding to dust-baths used by poultry which then helps to kill the mites and lice more effectively. Lionel Edriess wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 3:20pm:
I've phoned around, and Bunnings doesn't stock it in NSW any more, and I wouldn't go anywhere near the coarse Pool Grade DE. Lionel Edriess wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 3:20pm:
These egg-clusters have to hatch first before DE is effective on them, and so I'll try your sump oil if I can find any sump oil, that is, because I don't own a car. :) Thanks Lionel. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by mortdooley on Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:45pm
I don't know about other countries but here it is available in Feed Stores. Anywhere livestock supplies are sold here will usually carry it or will get it if they want your business.
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Black Orchid on Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:56pm
Be careful with that stuff Herbert and I think it is available at feed stores and some major pet stores.
Not Bunnings because that is a hardware store! |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 2nd, 2016 at 5:45am Black Orchid wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:56pm:
I've phoned up Pet Barn and they'd never heard of the stuff. Bunnings, dearest Orchid, includes huge nurseries where the only tools are the fools paying exorbitant prices for some of their plants ... :) :P |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 2nd, 2016 at 6:02am Black Orchid wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:56pm:
Thank you, Orchid. I'll be using a surgeon's mask while I apply it to the feathered girls (if I can catch them). But here are a few notes off the Web with regard to the health risks of breathing in Food Grade Diatomaceous Earth : "Inhalation of diatomaceous earth may cause temporary respiratory irritation such as sneezing, coughing, difficulty breathing, eye, nose and throat irritation or bloody nose. This means that workers exposed to crystalline silica on a daily basis for many years may be at risk, but casual contact is not likely to be hazardous. "After inhalation of amorphous diatomaceous earth, it is rapidly eliminated from lung tissue. However, crystalline diatomaceous earth is much smaller, and it may accumulate in lung tissue and lymph nodes. Very low levels of crystalline diatomaceous earth may be found in pesticide products. Is diatomaceous earth likely to contribute to the development of cancer? When mice were forced to breathe diatomaceous earth for one hour each day for a year, there was an increase in lung cancers. When rats were fed silica at a high dose for two years, there was no increase in cancer development. "When guinea pigs were forced to breathe air containing diatomaceous earth for 2 years, there was slightly more connective tissue in their lungs. When researchers checked before the 2-year mark, no effects were found". |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by jmjcare on Oct 4th, 2016 at 7:33pm Lord Herbert wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 8:55am:
Try here that's where I got mine http://www.ozfarmer.com/organic-natural-insecticide-diatomaceous-earth-fines?search=DIATOMACEOUS%20EARTH |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 4th, 2016 at 7:58pm jmjcare wrote on Oct 4th, 2016 at 7:33pm:
Thanks, jmj - I've already ordered 4.5kg from another online shop. The stuff is cripplingly expensive for anyone who can't chalk it up as a deduction on a business tax return. This is a one-off purchase that I'll have to use very sparingly. Meanwhile I'm using Pestene at $33 for 500g. All very expensive. The online purchases seem like a bargain until you factor-in the delivery costs. You may just as well trot down to your local pet shop. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by The Mechanic on Oct 4th, 2016 at 7:58pm AiA wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 1:37am:
moonshine ... excellent!! :) I would say that someone is using pesticides in the neighbourhood if a heap of bees are all dying at once.. or maybe a farming paddock nearby where the farmer is spraying.. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by The Mechanic on Oct 4th, 2016 at 8:02pm
by the way..
you can watch my bees swarming here... http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1454239778/15#29 |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Dnarever on Oct 4th, 2016 at 8:42pm
albatross get your albatross.
albatross albatross get your albatross. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by jmjcare on Oct 4th, 2016 at 9:03pm Lord Herbert wrote on Oct 4th, 2016 at 7:58pm:
You're welcome sorry I read this thread too late but what you are paying is way too expensive and you can put in your postcode after you've added the item to your cart and go to check out it will give you the different postage. Maybe next time, try that just untick all the insurance they offer. oops just noticed you've already ordered 4.5kg that's a lot. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 5th, 2016 at 7:52am jmjcare wrote on Oct 4th, 2016 at 9:03pm:
A one-off, costing around $80 with delivery. Good for cat fleas too. I'm only supposed to have two hens, but I got tricked by one of them that went AWOL for three days during which time I fetched a replacement companion for the remaining one ... only for the 'lost' one to reappear again - bold as brass and full of Bad Attitood because it failed to hatch any eggs. Lots of eggs, but, and I'm too gutless to ask payment from my neighbours when I give them a few because I've got too many in the fridge. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 5th, 2016 at 7:57am John Smith wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:28am:
Since you wrote this, my cat Gizzy has had his collar ripped off him in a fight at night with a rat in the backyard Potting Shed that sh!ts turds as big as cocktail sausages. Big as a Bull Terrier, and probably has a gold tooth. |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Redmond Neck on Oct 5th, 2016 at 8:12am Lord Herbert wrote on Oct 5th, 2016 at 7:57am:
Not near the Tempe Tip are you Herb. They had rats as big as kangaroos their in the 1960s |
Title: Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? Post by Lord Herbert on Oct 5th, 2016 at 8:49am Redmond Neck wrote on Oct 5th, 2016 at 8:12am:
That's not my area, but there's a lot of bushland around where I am where they probably feed on the plague of feral cats. |