General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Sussan Ley's impulse purchase of luxury apartment
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1483664184

Message started by Sir lastnail on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:56am

Title: Sussan Ley's impulse purchase of luxury apartment
Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:56am
Does anyone really buy this story of the impulse purchase of a million dollar apartment with a mortgage ?? No doubt she will be negatively gearing it. What a grub :(

Sussan Ley's purchase of unit on taxpayer-funded trip 'not planned'

An impulse purchase is how Health Minister Sussan Ley is explaining her decision to buy an apartment during a taxpayer-funded trip to the Gold Coast in 2015.

Key points:

Sussan Ley under pressure from Opposition over property she purchased in May 2015
    Purchase "was not planned nor anticipated," a spokesperson for Ms Ley says
    Labor MP Catherine King is calling for Ms Ley to explain further or hand in her resignation

Ms Ley is under pressure from the Opposition over the property she purchased in May 2015 while travelling to Queensland on ministerial business, accompanied by her husband — whose expenses were also covered by the taxpayer.

A spokesperson for Ms Ley said "the property purchase was not planned nor anticipated".

In a statement, the spokesperson said the Minister had travelled to Brisbane to announce health funding before meeting with "local health stakeholders" 80 kilometres away on the Gold Coast.

"Minister Ley's partner was invited to accompany her to a function in Sydney on the Friday evening," the statement read.

"He then travelled with the Minister to Queensland under family travel arrangements.

"The EMB [Entitlements Management Branch] was consulted at the time to confirm Ms Ley's partner's travel was within the rules.

"All travel undertaken was in accordance with the rules."

The property is described as an investment in Ms Ley's Register of Interests, where she also declares a mortgage for the property.
Ley 'has some explaining to do'

But Labor MP Catherine King is calling for Ms Ley to explain further or hand in her resignation.

Ms King told the ABC that the Minister should also release her diary for the period.

"I think she's got some explaining to do, to explain how purchasing a luxury apartment with her husband is in any way, shape or form official business," she said.

"Frankly, if she can't, she needs to resign."

Ms King said while it remains unclear if Ms Ley broke any parliamentary rules, the purchase and its claimed nature did not pass the pub test.

"In anyone's world, $700,000 plus is a lot of money," she said.

"I don't know too many people who would spent that sort of money, even if they had it, on an impulse. It's a pretty unbelievable claim."

Ms Ley had the fourth highest expenditure during the period of the purchase — from January 1 to June 30, 2015 — including more than $105,000 on charter flights and $11,800 on family travel costs.

In total, she claimed almost $650,000 over the six-month period and $490,637 in the following six months.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-01-06/ley's-purchase-of-unit-on-taxpayer-funded-trip-'not-planned'/8165414

Title: Re: Sussan Ley's impulse purchase of luxury apartment
Post by Leftwinger on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:04am
https://youtu.be/rY0WxgSXdEE

How many corrupt libs is that now , 30 40 ?

Post by Grendel on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:06am
She didn't break any rules.
She did her job by attending the events.
So according to King she has no entitlement to other life outside of government.  Well that is interesting.
:D :D :D :D :D
Labor once more overstepping the mark, and throwing mud hoping it will stick.  ::)

Post by lee on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:12am

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:56am:
Does anyone really buy this story of the impulse purchase of a million dollar apartment with a mortgage ?? No doubt she will be negatively gearing it. What a grub

Does that apply to Labor MP's  with negatively geared property, or is it solely the province of the Coalition?

Post by Unforgiven on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:18am
All politicians are ripping off the public.

The ATO should be investigating the expense claims of all politicians.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:24am
Do these pollies ever think about doing their jobs properly or is it all about what they can extract out of the system ?

Post by Fit of Absent Mindeness on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:56am

lee wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:12am:

Does anyone really buy this story of the impulse purchase of a million dollar apartment with a mortgage ?? No doubt she will be negatively gearing it. What a grub

Does that apply to Labor MP's  with negatively geared property, or is it solely the province of the Coalition?

It should apply to both - is there a Labor mp that did this?

Post by stunspore on Jan 6th, 2017 at 12:54pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:06am:
So according to King she has no entitlement to other life outside of government.  Well that is interesting.
Labor once more overstepping the mark, and throwing mud hoping it will stick.  ::)

Yes quite right. The luxury apartment purchase wasn't planned before the trip. It just happened to also be an impulse buy during the trip.  Trip would have happened regardless.  However, it does not pass the so called "Hockey pub sniff test".  As hideous as the choppergate.  Ofc, since this is a lib we are talking about, they are entitled regardless.

Purely coincidental that the property belonged to a lib donor and known acquaintance ofc. 

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:01pm
There was Don Randall, took a tax payer funded trip to Qld to buy an investment property. He had to pay the money back, hope Ley will have to as well.

Bloody pollies can catch cattle class like the rest of us (obvious exception of PM flying to foreign country.) Bloody Libs never learn, do they?

Post by longweekend58 on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:02pm
So the rule is that if you travel on the taxpayers tab or on a business tab you are not entitled to enjoy yourself or engage in any private business during the trip?

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:05pm
Obviously the main purpose was to buy the apartment, some event was then found to “justify” the trip. She and hubby can travel cattle class as far as I am concerned.

Post by Leftwinger on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:06pm

longweekend58 wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:02pm:
So the rule is that if you travel on the taxpayers tab or on a business tab you are not entitled to enjoy yourself or engage in any private business during the trip?

Depends if she billed the taxpayer anything to attend this "spontaneous" purchase , let's not forget slipper going down for a few taxi vouchers

Post by Leftwinger on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:07pm
Least she didn't attend a cancer hospital just to go to a libtard pissup after

Post by lee on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:19pm

Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:56am:

Yep.

https://theconversation.com/politicians-hold-300m-in-property-so-how-should-they-influence-housing-policy-30206

Post by stunspore on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:21pm

I would assume the best ethical/moral way to approach this is to apportion personal usage to such a trip and pay an appropriate portion. 

Post by lee on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:25pm

stunspore wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:21pm:

I would assume the best ethical/moral way to approach this is to apportion personal usage to such a trip and pay an appropriate portion. 

And we know politicians are so ethical/moral. /sarc

Post by Bam on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:25pm

Unforgiven wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:18am:
All politicians are ripping off the public.

The ATO should be investigating the expense claims of all politicians.

Good idea, but I'm not sure the ATO is the correct organisation to do the investigation. Ombudsman? Audit Office?

Post by John Smith on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:25pm
another disgraceful abuse of her entitlements. It's not enough she simply say sorry and be made to pay it back. It hasn't worked as a deterrent to others the other thousands of times they previously did that, it won't work now

The bitch should be sacked, and the property sold with all the money going back into the govt. coffers. Only then will the pigs learn their manners. Anything less and these pigs will just keep abusing taxpayers money.

Post by John Smith on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:26pm

she can claim any expenses back through her tax return, the same as everyone else.

edit: In fact, I wouldn't be at all surprised to find out she was keeping a copy of the receipt AND claiming it back as a tax deduction as well.

Post by Honky on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:28pm
lol.  You and I might buy a stubby holder or a fridge magnet while on a trip away, this leech buys a friggin apartment. 

Post by Bam on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:30pm

A spokesperson for Ms Ley said "the property purchase was not planned nor anticipated".

Does anyone seriously believe the story that spending three-quarters of a million dollars purchasing real estate is an impulse buy? This is a frigging APARTMENT, not a chocolate bar. There's paperwork, inspections, banks and lawyers involved. This isn't something that one can complete in a few hours on the side on a work-related trip.

Post by Honky on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:31pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:24am:
Do these pollies ever think about doing their jobs properly or is it all about what they can extract out of the system ?

Extracting what they can out of the system is their job isn't it?

Post by John Smith on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:33pm

... wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:28pm:
lol.  You and I might buy a stubby holder or a fridge magnet while on a trip away, this leech buys a friggin apartment. 

impulse purchase of $700 000 ... viewing, offer, acceptance and finance all arranged in one day?

I don't buy it.

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:34pm

Bam wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:30pm:

Does anyone seriously believe the story that spending three-quarters of a million dollars purchasing real estate is an impulse buy? This is a frigging APARTMENT, not a chocolate bar. There's paperwork, inspections, banks and lawyers involved. This isn't something that one can complete in a few hours on the side on a work-related trip.

Nah, the bitch made an announcement in Brisbane and “met stakeholders”—clearly a tax payer funded trip purely to buy the unit.

Post by Gordon on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:37pm
Funny, usually pollies don't throw the stones too hard about travel expenses...you know, the glass houses thingy.

Post by stunspore on Jan 6th, 2017 at 3:08pm
Any guesses what's going to happen then?

Lose front beach spot?  Pay back of funds?  Find another distraction?

Post by Bam on Jan 6th, 2017 at 3:18pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:33pm:

impulse purchase of $700 000 ... viewing, offer, acceptance and finance all arranged in one day?

I don't buy it.

Nor is anyone else who has ever bought or sold real estate.

Post by Gordon on Jan 6th, 2017 at 8:07pm

I don't buy it.

We know that. Susan bought it ;)

Post by Aussie on Jan 6th, 2017 at 8:50pm

Bam wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 3:18pm:

I don't buy it.

Wasn't the place sold and bought by her at an auction?  If so, she would have had to sign an unconditional CASH (no finance) Contract.  Yet, she did get a loan to complete the purchase. 

Ballsy, if her story is true.

Stuffed if I'd sign up to an unconditional Contract in the hope a Bank would lend me the money to complete the purchase.  If I didn't get the finance, my arse is grass in all sorts of litigation.

Post by Gordon on Jan 6th, 2017 at 9:04pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 8:50pm:

Bam wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 3:18pm:

I don't buy it.

Wasn't the place sold and bought by her at an auction?  If so, she would have had to sign an unconditional CASH (no finance) Contract.  Yet, she did get a loan to complete the purchase. 

Ballsy, if her story is true.

Stuffed if I'd sign up to an unconditional Contract in the hope a Bank would lend me the money to complete the purchase.  If I didn't get the finance, my arse is grass in all sorts of litigation.

It happens in Sydney all the time.  Cashed up buyers literally drive past an auction about to start on the street flick through the contract and buy it.

Paul Keating used to be like a bad smell at the Double Bay auction rooms and I've heard stories he bought places on 5hr listing he'd never seen.

Not everyone is a misery guts old cabbie, ya know

Post by John Smith on Jan 6th, 2017 at 9:57pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 9:04pm:
Cashed up buyers literally drive past an auction about to start on the street flick through the contract and buy it.

cashed up buyers don't need a mortgage :D :D

Post by Belgarion on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:01pm
If someone can afford to buy an $800,000 property on an 'impulse' then questions should be asked about their finances....and if that person is travelling on government business, why is their partner along at the taxpayers expense as well?

Post by Gordon on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:04pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 9:57pm:

Cashed up buyers literally drive past an auction about to start on the street flick through the contract and buy it.

Ummmmm. They still finance their purchases but they have a banker on speed dial.

Post by John Smith on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:08pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:04pm:

Ummmmm. They still finance their purchases but they have a banker on speed dial.

calling your banker while at an auction is not a banker on speed dial, its pre arranged. Bankers still have forms to fill out and signatures to acquire ... her banker is in NSW, auction in QLD

ohh, interesting fact, the person she bought the house from had previously donated $50k to the liberal party that year

impulse buy my arse.

Post by Gordon on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:16pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:08pm:

calling your banker while at an auction is not a banker on speed dial, its pre arranged. Bankers still have forms to fill out and signatures to acquire ... her banker is in NSW, auction in QLD

ohh, interesting fact, the person she bought the house from had previously donated $50k to the liberal party that year

impulse buy my arse.

I'm not making a judgment about her particular situation,  I'm just saying people with a lot of juice who know their financial situation do buy on impulse and getting finance later is just phone call. I've done it myself. $700k is not that big a deal.

Post by cods on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:31pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:16pm:

impulse buy my arse.

I'm not making a judgment about her particular situation,  I'm just saying people with a lot of juice who know their financial situation do buy on impulse and getting finance later is just phone call. I've done it myself. $700k is not that big a deal.

wow! well it is in my world....I didnt know we had a millionaire on here.. wow....double wow..

is Sue Ley a millionaire btw???>..

you dont know that....she may have a good jobn for now   but theres no guarantees she will always have it..

I personally dont believe it was coincidence...

and dont forget we paid for hubby as well....seems a bit rich to me...why would she take him on a trip like that.....
"Minister Ley's partner was invited to accompany her to a function in Sydney on the Friday evening," the statement read.

"He then travelled with the Minister to Queensland under family travel arrangements.

"The EMB [Entitlements Management Branch] was consulted at the time to confirm Ms Ley's partner's travel was within the rules.

she went to discuss health funding..... ::)

sorry I dont buy it..

sack her.

Post by Gordon on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:42pm

cods wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:31pm:

impulse buy my arse.

wow! well it is in my world....I didnt know we had a millionaire on here.. wow....double wow..

is Sue Ley a millionaire btw???>..

you dont know that....she may have a good jobn for now   but theres no guarantees she will always have it..

I personally dont believe it was coincidence...

and dont forget we paid for hubby as well....seems a bit rich to me...why would she take him on a trip like that.....

she went to discuss health funding..... ::)

sorry I dont buy it..

sack her.

Scroll up and see what I said about Paul Keating.
I've seen him at a few open for inspections and at the auction rooms many times.  He was in the rooms when I bought my current place and I though ffs go away but he didn't bid.

I know heaps of agents and always hear stories of  buyers who pop into a place on auction day and buy it.

There's an awful lot of money sloshing around in Sydney 

Post by Dnarever on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:43pm

Its time wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 1:06pm:

Depends if she billed the taxpayer anything to attend this "spontaneous" purchase , let's not forget slipper going down for a few taxi vouchers

Slipper went down but plenty of other got away with it including Abbott when we paid for his book tour and for his accommodations while he cycled around much of Australia

Post by Gordon on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:47pm

Dnarever wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:43pm:

Slipper went down but plenty of other got away with it including Abbott when we paid for his book tour and for his accommodations while he cycled around much of Australia

Even following the rules to the letter I think what they're allowed is a disgrace. 

Post by Bam on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:15pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:47pm:

Dnarever wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 10:43pm:

Even following the rules to the letter I think what they're allowed is a disgrace. 

I don't agree with you often, but I agree here. The politicians should follow the same rules as taxpaying workers.

On a related matter, the property was purchased from an LNP donor. That needs to be investigated thoroughly to determine if there's any corruption involved. Other politicians have lost their jobs for less - Slipper and O'Farrell to name two.

Post by The Grappler on Jan 7th, 2017 at 8:24am
Rules that do not work are overdue for change...... simple really.

Nobody in this country apart from politicians and their mates voted them a huge salary, perks more than adequate to live on without touching that salary while 'investing' it into a scheme (NG) that they invented and uphold so as to reduce tax on that salary, and an income for life.  Since these are so out of step for short term contracted employees such as politicians, especially in this day and age, they now need to be corrected.

Abiding by the rules that are failed is no longer a defence, when you are actively working to undermine the rules for everyone else's income, except your cronies, of course.

Post by Fireball on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:00am
You don't spend three quarters of a million dollars (more or less) on a whim. ::)

Post by cods on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:16am

Fuzzball wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:00am:
You don't spend three quarters of a million dollars (more or less) on a whim. ::)

thats what I say...she has to go.

Post by hawil on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:28am

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 11:24am:

I,am sure it is the latter; the politicians around the world have hijacked the theory of democracy for their own benefit; the question is, can anything be changed, because the only power the citizens got, is to vote every few years, and then just another greedy mob gets in and nothing changes.

Post by philperth2010 on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:39am
Clutching at straws really....If Ms Ley had said she used the opportunity to finalise a purchase on an investment property whilst she was on official business in Queensland, where is the problem....Other Pollies have done far worse with little repercussions....Ms Ley will pay the money back to avoid any misunderstandings and all will be forgiven!!!

:) :) :)

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:43am

philperth2010 wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:39am:
If Ms Ley had said she used the opportunity to finalise a purchase on an investment property whilst she was on official business in Queensland, where is the problem.

she didn't say it was an opportunity to finalise a purchase, she said she was in Brisbane on business and while there went to the Gold Coast to buy a $700 000 property the unit on a whim.

the argument is that she 'created' the business so as to justify charging taxpayers for her trip to buy the property.

If she is telling the truth she'll have no problem releasing her diary.

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:45am
Here's the problem. Travel entitlements are made to be rorted.

Fly up to the Goldy, do 30 mins and one second of work then, oh, golly gosh, what will I do with the rest of the day, hey kids, Sea world, Dream World, Movie World? Weeeeeee. Not premeditated, no problem.

Ley effed up because she did something that could be called premeditated personal business. In reality, there's no difference to what she did and what they all do on just about every single trip that's not the standard Canberra commute.

Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:48am

impulse buy my arse.

My neighbors bought an investment property on impulse when driving past a house being auctioned that day.

Most of the lefties in this forum haven't got 2 bob to rub between their fingers so they have no idea of what happens in the real world

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:49am
:)

Despite what politicians claim, the family reunion scheme seems to be little more than a perk used to hitch a taxpayer-funded family holiday to parliamentary work in places many Australians can only dream of visiting for a break.

No MP ever seems to use the family reunion entitlement during a visit to a disadvantaged remote Aboriginal community or a fact-finding mission to a town on its knees as its manufacturing base collapses.
http://www.businessinsider.com.au/mps-show-they-still-dont-get-it-on-travel-entitlements-2015-8

Post by philperth2010 on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:52am

John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:43am:

philperth2010 wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:39am:
If Ms Ley had said she used the opportunity to finalise a purchase on an investment property whilst she was on official business in Queensland, where is the problem.

she didn't say it was an opportunity to finalise a purchase, she said she was in Brisbane on business and while there went to the Gold Coast to buy a $700 000 property the unit on a whim.

the argument is that she 'created' the business so as to justify charging taxpayers for her trip to buy the property.

If she is telling the truth she'll have no problem releasing her diary.

Oh yes it sounds very suss....Much of what politicians do on official business is pretty suss....She will pay the money back and nothing will happen!!!

::) ::) ::)

Post by stunspore on Jan 7th, 2017 at 10:33am

Baronvonrort wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:48am:

impulse buy my arse.

My neighbors bought an investment property on impulse when driving past a house being auctioned that day.

Most of the lefties in this forum haven't got 2 bob to rub between their fingers so they have no idea of what happens in the real world

If it doesn't meet community expectations then be prepared to be lambasted over it.  That's what happened with Bishop's choppergate. 

Post by stunspore on Jan 7th, 2017 at 10:37am

Gordon wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:49am:

Despite what politicians claim, the family reunion scheme seems to be little more than a perk used to hitch a taxpayer-funded family holiday to parliamentary work in places many Australians can only dream of visiting for a break.

No MP ever seems to use the family reunion entitlement during a visit to a disadvantaged remote Aboriginal community or a fact-finding mission to a town on its knees as its manufacturing base collapses.
http://www.businessinsider.com.au/mps-show-they-still-dont-get-it-on-travel-entitlements-2015-8

This is an excellent article.  Well done for locating it.

Post by Grendel on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:07pm

stunspore wrote on Jan 6th, 2017 at 12:54pm:

Yes quite right. The luxury apartment purchase wasn't planned before the trip. It just happened to also be an impulse buy during the trip.  Trip would have happened regardless.  However, it does not pass the so called "Hockey pub sniff test".  As hideous as the choppergate.  Ofc, since this is a lib we are talking about, they are entitled regardless.

Purely coincidental that the property belonged to a lib donor and known acquaintance ofc. 

Yes well just another outpouring of ALP propaganda by a Prog.
Listen...  don't quote me unless you are going to address what I actually said...  you just waste my time and that of others.  :D :D :D :D :D

Post by Grendel on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:10pm
One more time for the Uber-dummies...

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:19pm

impulse buy my arse.

So they just stopped and handed over the cash or the credit card and then they were on their way :D LOL

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:22pm

or maybe a trip to an allied war base in Iraq ;)

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:24pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:10pm:

goose would prefer these rorts aren't highlighted ... just shut up and accept them, right Goose? :D :D

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:25pm

stunspore wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 10:37am:

This is an excellent article.  Well done for locating it.

I hit a paywall ... can you please copy /paste the article for those of us who don't subscribe?

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:36pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:19pm:

impulse buy my arse.

So they just stopped and handed over the cash or the credit card and then they were on their way :D LOL

Wow, you're not good at this :)

Bpay by phone for a portion of the balance is accepted at auctions with the full balance payable on the next business day.

Seriously guys, people do this ALL the time :)

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:37pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:36pm:
Bpay by phone for a portion of the balance is accepted at auctions with the full balance payable on the next business day.

so no finance?  :D :D

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:38pm
MPs show they still don't get it on travel entitlements
When you fill in your tax return, the ATO very kindly sends you a little coloured pie chart on behalf of the government showing how your tax dollars are spent.

It lacks a sliver for the cost of running Canberra, especially paying for the travel entitlements of MPs.

In the past five years, Australian taxpayers have spent $7.5 million flying the families of politicians around the country, including $1.04 million in the last six months of 2014, straight after Joe Hockey’s swingeing budget cuts and insistence that the nation tighten its belt.

For the last few years, Australian taxpayers have been lectured about the end of age of entitlement, a budget emergency and government profligacy. But it seems MPs would rather not take their own political rhetoric to heart.

A rare outbreak of bipartisanship has emerged between the Labor and Liberal parties in recent days over MP entitlements and travel expenditure after the initial attacks on Bronwyn Bishop for her now notorious $5000 helicopter ride.

Education minister Christopher Pyne said you can’t criticise Labor’s Tony Burke for billing taxpayers $12,000 for his family flying business class to join him at Uluru in 2012.

It subsequently emerged that taxpayers coughed up $7000 for Pyne’s family, including four children, to fly business from Adelaide to Canberra to watch dad in action on the opening day of the 2013 parliament, and another $5000 to fly three family members, at $1200 each, to Sydney for a six-day trip on Boxing Day, 2009.
Pyne met with then opposition leader Tony Abbott as the justification for the Sydney trip and a spokesperson helpfully offered that they didn’t see the New Year’s Eve fireworks.

Asked if the trip to Canberra was excessive, Pyne, part of an opposition team that railed against Labor’s profligacy in government, responded: “They are the rules… I don’t think that’s an unfair thing for them to do.”

“I haven’t done anything wrong,” he said.
Circling the wagons

But if he truly believes spending $7000 of other people’s money on business class travel for children passes the “pub test” then you have to wonder what beer he’s drinking in the front bar.

Labor’s Anthony Albanese rushed to the Pyne’s defence saying “It is not, I don’t believe, unreasonable that Christopher’s kids were there to see him sworn in.”

He’s absolutely right, but conveniently ignores the fact that the point is HOW they got there.

No-one expects a politician’s kids to take the bus, but even if it is within the “rules”, it’s hard to comprehend how spending that much money on a 90-minute flight for small children is defensible.

It’s fine for Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie as they ferry their kids to movie sets, Russian oligarchs and Arab oil sheiks, but the expectation is they’re using their own funds rather than sending the bill to people earning far less money than they do.

The parade of excuses trotted out by politicians to justify their actions would be laughable if not for the fact that these are your taxes at work.

Tasmanian senator Eric Abetz declared that MPs had to fly business class to read confidential documents. Great. No problem with that. But are the kids in business reading those confidential documents too?

The Australian reported last week that federal MP travel entitlements jumped 17% to $35.4 million in 2014, a $5 million increase on 2013, an election year.

Family travel expenses rose 13% above the previous four-year average.

Politicians cite long hours and time away from family as reasons for this extraordinarily generous perk. It seems they are somehow more unique than FIFO workers away from their families for weeks on end, or the average commuter, leaving for work before their kids are up and getting home after they’re in bed, or the thousands of business execs required to travel both here and overseas for work.

And here’s the rub about the hardship of being in Canberra: in 2014, the Australian House of Representatives sat for just 72 days, compared to 164 days for the UK House of Commons and 130 for Canada’s lower house.

The “woe is me” bleating is breathtaking. If public office is such a burden, then best find another job. That’s what Australian workers do without the benefits of the generous retirement entitlements of political life.

Earlier this year, when talking about tax rates, treasurer Joe Hockey said “Australians spend the first six months of the year working for the government”.

The average annual wage is around $75,000. Even an entry level MP, also known as a backbencher, is on $195,000, plus allowances and entitlements.

The average Aussie worker pays around $15,000 in tax annually. So in this instance, one Australian had to work for six months just to pay enough tax to cover the cost of flying a Christoper Pyne’s family to Canberra to watch dad at work.

The $7.5 million family travel bill means 500 Australian taxpayers had to work for an entire year just to cover the cost of MPs flying their kids business class around the country.

The litany of MPs exploiting this perk has continued to pile up over the weekend.

Treasurer Joe Hockey – whose marriage to an investment banker makes him one of the wealthiest MPs – spent $8000 to fly his family business class to Perth, during school holidays in April 2013.

The trip cost $14,000 all up. That’s one taxpayer’s entire year of tax spent on the now treasurer’s working family holiday.

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:38pm
Cont

The hits keep coming
Immigration minister Peter Dutton. Photo: Getty Images

Overnight, immigration minister Peter Dutton became the latest MP revealed as enjoying taxpayer largesse, spending $140,000 for his family to fly business class, mostly between Brisbane and Canberra, over the past five years.

That includes a three-day trip to Cairns in July last year ,which included his wife and three children, and cost taxpayers $7210. It’s legit because the then health minister had “numerous” commitments, according to a spokesperson.

The Herald Sun says the PM’s own family spent $74,000 since he became Liberal leader in 2009, including flights for his wife and two adult daughters from Sydney to the Melbourne Cup and Derby Day.

Labor’s Brendan O’Connor also made family trips to Uluru and Cairns while on “official business”.

And if you’re still not convinced that some politicians consider these entitlements a right and believe they’re being unfairly picked on, Fairfax Media revealed on the weekend that four former MPs – Labor’s Barry Cunningham, Tony Lamb and Barry Cohen and Liberal John Moore – have launched High Court legal action to claw back more taxpayer-funded allowances and travel entitlements.

The Gillard government trimmed the generous entitlement scheme in 2011, but the four, currently receiving between $81,000 and $115,000 annually, along with other entitlements, want more.

They even sought financial help from the Commonwealth for the case.

Prime minister Tony Abbott points to changes to MP’s entitlements he’s made, including stopping MPs employing family members (an earlier scandal) and first class travel overseas, as proof he’s tackling the issue.

He’s now asked for a “root and branch” review of entitlements saying that “the sorts of expenses which are fair and reasonable for politicians are the sorts of expenses that will be fair and reasonable for business”.

The fact that no-one felt this way until the details of Bishop’s $5000 helicopter trip broke a month ago is telling.

If an Australian business behaved like this, the company CEO would be grilled by furious shareholders. Meanwhile, the Fringe Benefits Tax implications, imposed by Canberra, would have everyone wondering if it was all worth it in the first place.

It’s also worth noting that Abbott’s 2014 budget plan to scrap the lucrative gold travel pass, which gives retired MPs 10 free flights annually, hasn’t happened. It’s stalled in the Senate, where politicians are reluctant to surrender their perk, which costs taxpayers around $1 million a year.

Scrapping the gold pass is now heading to the review instead. And the former politicians launching the High Court action want the old scheme of unlimited travel reinstated.

Bronwyn Bishop’s shocking profligacy has ultimately done Australian taxpayers a huge favour. It’s brought scrutiny to areas of political life that are astonishingly out of step with rhetoric of financial pain and austerity delivered to voters on a regular basis.

Australian taxpayers are entitled to expect politicians to share some of the belt tightening they demand of voters.

Post by Bam on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:47pm
Few issues unite left-leaning and right-leaning people more quickly than MPs abusing their entitlements.

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:48pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:37pm:

John John John John John John.

Some people are fully aware of their financial position and know exactly what they can get finance for.

They can sign on the dotted line, pay the deposit and know 100% they can get finance.

They don't need to go get a preaproval, they know they have the juice!

I've bought a place or two ;) when I phone my mortgage broker she sees my missed call and calls me back within a few hours and says in a sing song teasing voice, what have you done now, Gordy.

Literally all I have to do is pay a deposit, call the broker, txt my conveyancer and go and sign the docs when she's got the paperwork ready.

Post by Bam on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:48pm

You're forgetting that the vendor was a generous LNP donor. This isn't as above board as you seem to think.

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:52pm

Bam wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:48pm:

You're forgetting that the vendor was a generous LNP donor. This isn't as above board as you seem to think.

I'm not arguing her specific case, it seems fishy, I'm simply stating people do buy properties they've stumbled upon as they know getting finance is a forgone conclusion.

Post by stunspore on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:03pm
Treasurer Joe Hockey – whose marriage to an investment banker makes him one of the wealthiest MPs – spent $8000 to fly his family business class to Perth, during school holidays in April 2013.

The trip cost $14,000 all up. That’s one taxpayer’s entire year of tax spent on the now treasurer’s working family holiday.

This part my fav part.  Hockey being shown what a self-entitled b* he is.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:11pm

Instant finance no problems. Just name your price and it's yours :D LOL

Post by Gordon on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:18pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:11pm:

Ok so you've never done this before. 

When you buy a place you pay a deposit of 10%.
The balance is paid upon settlement which usually occurs 4 to 6 weeks later.  You don't need the entire amount ready when you win an auction or the agent accepts your offer.

You can decide to buy a place then arrange finance. That's how it's done.

I really hope this helps your confusion.

Post by cods on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:40pm

stunspore wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:03pm:

[b][b]HE ISNT ALONE STUNSPORE....[/b][/b]

Labor frontbencher Tony Burke charged taxpayers $48,000 for luxury euro trip with staffer who is now his partner.
The pair flew first class to Barcelona in 2009.
His partner Skye Laris admits she fell in love with the man who hired and promoted her.
Burke says his expenses are “beyond community expectations”.
IT’S a love story that blossomed in the luxurious comfort of first class — all paid for by the Aussie taxpayer.

Labor frontbencher Tony Burke has come under fire for charging taxpayers $48,000 to take first class flights to Spain and Italy with his staffer Skye Laris, who is now his partner.

Now Ms Laris has hit back at news reports that uncovered her politician lover’s extraordinary travel expenses.

Post by Grendel on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:42pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:24pm:

goose would prefer these rorts aren't highlighted ... just shut up and accept them, right Goose? :D :D

Wassup TROLL?
Can't refute can't debate... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 7th, 2017 at 2:20pm
One announcement and meeting unspecified stakeholders is not justification for a taxpayer funded trip to Qld. The lameness of the reason shows the trip was just for buying an apartment.

Post by stunspore on Jan 7th, 2017 at 3:40pm

cods wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:40pm:

stunspore wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:03pm:

[b][b]HE ISNT ALONE STUNSPORE....[/b][/b]

Labor frontbencher Tony Burke charged taxpayers $48,000 for luxury euro trip with staffer who is now his partner.
The pair flew first class to Barcelona in 2009.
His partner Skye Laris admits she fell in love with the man who hired and promoted her.
Burke says his expenses are “beyond community expectations”.
IT’S a love story that blossomed in the luxurious comfort of first class — all paid for by the Aussie taxpayer.

Labor frontbencher Tony Burke has come under fire for charging taxpayers $48,000 to take first class flights to Spain and Italy with his staffer Skye Laris, who is now his partner.

Now Ms Laris has hit back at news reports that uncovered her politician lover’s extraordinary travel expenses.

Undoubtedly other politicians do that as well.  But it is of a double standard from the guy who declared an to an age of entitlement.  To call australians "working for nothing" for duration of year to pay for taxes.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 7th, 2017 at 5:09pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:18pm:

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:11pm:

Ok so you've never done this before. 

When you buy a place you pay a deposit of 10%.
The balance is paid upon settlement which usually occurs 4 to 6 weeks later.  You don't need the entire amount ready when you win an auction or the agent accepts your offer.

You can decide to buy a place then arrange finance. That's how it's done.

I really hope this helps your confusion.

I think I'll buy a 800K house today whilst I am on government business with my hubby ;)

If you believe that then you'd better start looking for fairies at the bottom of your garden :D LOL

Just for your info these coaliton dogs have a long history of hoarding property and taking advantage of generous tax concessions to offset their tax liabilities. And you wonder why they refuse to address negative gearing excesses in property ? Who and what are they really running the country for ?

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 7th, 2017 at 5:14pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 2:20pm:
One announcement and meeting unspecified stakeholders is not justification for a taxpayer funded trip to Qld. The lameness of the reason shows the trip was just for buying an apartment.

who are these unspecified stakeholders ? What back room deals was she doing with them ?

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 7th, 2017 at 5:38pm
Stakeholders seems to all we know. Bullsh1t, of course.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 7th, 2017 at 5:57pm

Does anyone really buy this story of the impulse purchase of a million dollar apartment with a mortgage ?? No doubt she will be negatively gearing it. What a grub :(

Sussan Ley's purchase of unit on taxpayer-funded trip 'not planned'

An impulse purchase is how Health Minister Sussan Ley is explaining her decision to buy an apartment during a taxpayer-funded trip to the Gold Coast in 2015.

Key points:

Sussan Ley under pressure from Opposition over property she purchased in May 2015
    Purchase "was not planned nor anticipated," a spokesperson for Ms Ley says
    Labor MP Catherine King is calling for Ms Ley to explain further or hand in her resignation

Ms Ley is under pressure from the Opposition over the property she purchased in May 2015 while travelling to Queensland on ministerial business, accompanied by her husband — whose expenses were also covered by the taxpayer.

In a statement, the spokesperson said the Minister had travelled to Brisbane to announce health funding before meeting with "local health stakeholders" 80 kilometres away on the Gold Coast.

"All travel undertaken was in accordance with the rules."

The property is described as an investment in Ms Ley's Register of Interests, where she also declares a mortgage for the property.
Ley 'has some explaining to do'

But Labor MP Catherine King is calling for Ms Ley to explain further or hand in her resignation.

Ms King told the ABC that the Minister should also release her diary for the period.

"I think she's got some explaining to do, to explain how purchasing a luxury apartment with her husband is in any way, shape or form official business," she said.

"Frankly, if she can't, she needs to resign."

Ms King said while it remains unclear if Ms Ley broke any parliamentary rules, the purchase and its claimed nature did not pass the pub test.

"In anyone's world, $700,000 plus is a lot of money," she said.

"I don't know too many people who would spent that sort of money, even if they had it, on an impulse. It's a pretty unbelievable claim."

Ms Ley had the fourth highest expenditure during the period of the purchase — from January 1 to June 30, 2015 — including more than $105,000 on charter flights and $11,800 on family travel costs.

In total, she claimed almost $650,000 over the six-month period and $490,637 in the following six months.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-01-06/ley's-purchase-of-unit-on-taxpayer-funded-trip-'not-planned'/8165414

Hi sir Nail,
the pollys are there to feather their own nests not represent us.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:00pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 5:57pm:
Hi sir Nail,

Then they should bugger off and resign and run their property empires on their own time and expense :(

Post by Dnarever on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:12pm

\

The Logistics of a home purchase is not something you can manage in your spare time while on business travel.

She should have come up with a better excuse I can think of several.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:17pm

Dnarever wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:12pm:

\

The Logistics of a home purchase is not something you can manage in your spare time while on business travel.

It's funny how longprong an co didn't think that craig thompson was entitled to get his rocket polished on the company expense but Sussan Ley the grub should be allowed concessions to buy a property :(

Post by Dnarever on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:29pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:17pm:

\

It's funny how longprong an co didn't think that craig thompson was entitled to get his rocket polished on the company expense but Sussan Ley the grub should be allowed concessions to buy a property :(

She found herself accidentally in an apartment that she just had to have coincidentally a friend of hers just happened to be selling the very same apartment ?

Wind up that sniff tester I thing we have a problem, nobody is going to believe this one. Well except Longy and a few of his ilk.

Post by cods on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:31pm

\

It's funny how longprong ... ;D ;Dan co didn't think that craig thompson was entitled to get his rocket polished on the company expense but Sussan Ley the grub should be allowed concessions to buy a property :(

hey dont target me under that  give them an inch and they will take a yard it never fails..

its dishonest and its theft...

they must risk their position if they stoop to that level and thats goes for all of them...

Craig Thomson was charged by the police...

this hasnt come to that as yet.... but her head should roll..... we cant trust these guys to keep their hands out of the taxpayers pockets.. its disgusting.

Post by Dnarever on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:54pm

cods wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:31pm:

\

It's funny how longprong ... ;D ;Dan co didn't think that craig thompson was entitled to get his rocket polished on the company expense but Sussan Ley the grub should be allowed concessions to buy a property :(

hey dont target me under that  give them an inch and they will take a yard it never fails..

they must risk their position if they stoop to that level and thats goes for all of them...

this hasnt come to that as yet.... but her head should roll..... we cant trust these guys to keep their hands out of the taxpayers pockets.. its disgusting.

You had found Craig guilty at least 15 months before he was charged with anything ?

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 7th, 2017 at 7:52pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:00pm:

Hi sir Nail,

Then they should bugger off and resign and run their property empires on their own time and expense :(

Yes

Post by Bam on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:06pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:52pm:

I'm not arguing her specific case, it seems fishy, I'm simply stating people do buy properties they've stumbled upon as they know getting finance is a forgone conclusion.

Fair enough ... I would expect anyone who is buying real estate to have their finance pre-approved.

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:59pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 1:42pm:

Wassup TROLL?

when you say something of substance, I'll refute it

whilst your concern is only to excuse this behaviour, there is nothing to debate.

Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2017 at 10:00pm
thanks for putting up the article gordy

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 7th, 2017 at 10:17pm
Ley travelled to Gold Coast several times before buying the unit:

Post by The Grappler on Jan 7th, 2017 at 11:02pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 10:17pm:
Ley travelled to Gold Coast several times before buying the unit:

Yep - I can enter the same phrase any time - ministerial business - but what was INVOLVED as 'ministerial business'?

A blank statement is meaningless - let's see the details of this 'ministerial business'.

Post by The Grappler on Jan 7th, 2017 at 11:03pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 7:52pm:

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:00pm:

Hi sir Nail,

Yes

Yes X 2!

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 7:54am

John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:59pm:

Wassup TROLL?

whilst your concern is only to excuse this behaviour, there is nothing to debate.

What a load of demented Bullsh...   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I posted the facts.
You as usual ignore the facts because you are incapable of doing more than simply Trolling...  the proof is all over this site Johnboy....  you are the biggest TROLL here. :D :D :D :D :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:38am
roach posting facts. . .something I am yet to see.

It is obvious the bitch wanted to buy that apartment and used the taxpayers to fund some trips to the Gold Coast including the last one to actually buy the apartment.

One public statement in Brisbane does not justify $10K of travel paid by the taxpayer nor does “meeting stakeholders.”

Post by Dnarever on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:42am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:38am:

It is obvious the bitch wanted to buy that apartment and used the taxpayers to fund some trips to the Gold Coast including the last one to actually buy the apartment.

One public statement in Brisbane does not justify $10K of travel paid by the taxpayer nor does “meeting stakeholders.”

For a short period yesterday I was a steak holder. Then I put it in the freezer.

Post by Dnarever on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:46am
It is fairly obviously had she done nothing wrong then she would not have felt the need to lie about it being an impulse buy.

Had she said that she knew that she had a business trip planned for that date so arranged to sign the papers while she was there all of a sudden it sounds plausible, or she could have claimed that her husband had done the leg work and negotiation and she just went to sign the documents we have another plausible acceptable explanation.

But an impulse buy really ?  All of a sudden we are looking at a lot of effort and time that she didn't have ?

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:54am
Yeah, it is just not believable. More believable is a desire to buy the apartment and several tax payer funded trips to the GC to do the legwork.

Pretty premeditated fraud on the taxpayer. she HAS to go!

Post by Gordon on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:20am

Bam wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 9:06pm:

Gordon wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 12:52pm:

Fair enough ... I would expect anyone who is buying real estate to have their finance pre-approved.

Pre-approvals are not a guarantee of finance, they're just to give buyers an indication of their borrowing capacity before they go shopping.

Here's a little secret from the mortgage industry, they only exist so that in the time between someone asks for a pre-approval and when they actually find a place, it mentally locks them into using that bank rather than continuing to look around.

Experienced property investors know how much they can borrow.

Once again, I'm not trying to say she didn't use her travel allowance to scope the place, I bet she did. But saying people don't buy property on impulse is wrong. I've seen it happen a lot, I've done it myself.

Post by Belgarion on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:23am
This woman digs herself in deeper with every statement. 

Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:26am

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 7:54am:

Wassup TROLL?

I posted the facts.
You as usual ignore the facts because you are incapable of doing more than simply Trolling...  the proof is all over this site Johnboy....  you are the biggest TROLL here. :D :D :D :D :D

you posted facts?  ;D ;D ;D ;D

you just recycled the same garbage excuses the politicians use every time they get caught rorting taxpayers.
Go troll PA if you've nothing better to do.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:54am

didn't the late Don Randall get caught out doing the same scam ? It seems the coalition have itchy pockets when to comes collecting properties ;)

Post by Gordon on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:58am

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:54am:

didn't the late Don Randall get caught out doing the same scam ? It seems the coalition have itchy pockets when to comes collecting properties ;)

Paul Keating would beat them all combined.
Hr practicly lives in the Double Bay auction rooms

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:22am

He certainly did.

Time to cut pollies’ pay and allowances.

Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:39am

Gordon wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:58am:

news flash genius

paul keating is retired .....

Post by cods on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:42am

Dnarever wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:54pm:

cods wrote on Jan 7th, 2017 at 6:31pm:

\

You had found Craig guilty at least 15 months before he was charged with anything ?

not sure what that has to do with my reply...BUT!

on here YES I did .. I wasnt on the jury though.. thats a fact... and his case was totally different.. this isnt about apples and oranges..

its about her GOVT paid for  expenses sheet...

which I happen to believe is FACT...

craig Thomson in fact should never have been allowed to run for parliament.. he was already  under a cloud in 2010...what goes on in Union business...is no different to what goes on in Big Banks....

however when it comes to politicians... I do believe we all have a stake in their behavior..

and I for one believe in when you break the rules you accept the consequences.....its tough.. but its the only way...

we all know that Union members are still being ripped off...its ugly and its wrong..

no more excuses thats the way I think...
THE Future of embattled Health Minister Sussan Ley is in further doubt with the discovery that her partner owns a Gold Coast business close to where she purchased a unit while on a taxpayer funded trip.

Ms Ley’s role as federal Health Minister has been under a cloud since the Herald Sun revealed she purchased a $795,000 Main Beach apartment from a Liberal donor during a taxpayer-funded trip with her partner.

The Sunday Herald Sun can now reveal that Ms Ley’s partner Graham Johnston owns a central Gold Coast franchise of Its Bin Cleaned.

ASIC records reveal Mr Johnston is the sole director and shareholder of Albury-based Highmark Pty Limited, which is listed as the holder of the central Gold Coast It’s Bin Cleaned franchise.

A spokesman for Ms Ley yesterday said Highmark Pty Ltd had always been declared on Ms Ley’s register of interest and no business relating to the company had ever been undertaken by Mr Johnston while on taxpayer funded visits to the Gold Coast.

“Any business that is transacted by Ms Ley’s partner is done so by telephone, from Albury, they said.

The Opposition said the latest revelation further eroded Ms Ley’s claim the unit purchase was “not planned nor anticipated”.

“Sussan Ley is trying to play the Australian people like fools and say this was not a planned purchase — but this new information makes a complete mockery of that,” Opposition Health spokeswoman Catherine King s

so many coincidences  ::) ::) ::)

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:42am

sounds like we pay these ex-pollies too much for doing nothing except writing books about themselves :(

Post by cods on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:46am

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:42am:

sounds like we pay these ex-pollies too much for doing nothing except writing books about themselves :(

and all their travel to book signing...whew hard yakka that... do you reckon Hawkey paid for his ticket to the cricket???....... ::) ::)

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:52am

cods wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:46am:

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:42am:

and all their travel to book signing...whew hard yakka that... do you reckon Hawkey paid for his ticket to the cricket???....... ::) ::)

hawk is too busy selling off chunks of australia to his mates in china. We pay for him to visit china once a week :(

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:24am

First you need a mind, b4 you can be a mind-reader Monkeyboy.

Oh and do try to get what little facts you have right eh. :D

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:25am

John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:26am:

Wassup TROLL?

I posted the facts.

you just recycled the same garbage excuses the politicians use every time they get caught rorting taxpayers.

Again more TROLLING and not one single attempt to address the facts... :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:34am

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:24am:

First you need a mind, b4 you can be a mind-reader Monkeyboy.

Oh and do try to get what little facts you have right eh. :D

I actually posted the bitch’s itinerary roach. Pretty obvious she was planning on buying that apartment, only rightards like you try and deny it.

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:36am
Well you posted it wrong or the wrong itinery or lied because there were 2 events she had to attend as was reported in the media.

Did she have buy apartment on her Itinery?  No...  just you mind-reading then eh Monkeyboy. :D :D :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:39am
Off course she didn’t put “buy apartment” on her itinerary! She would have had to pay for the trip herself if she did! Geez, even you should be able to work that out, roach, with not too much help!

One media event in Brisbane and “meeting stakeholders” on the Gold Coast is transparent excuse for getting the taxpayer to pay for her trip. She is emulating her former Leader who attended some Lib function in Melbourne then the next morning did a presser at the Peter Mac cancer centre to be able to claim TA for his trip.

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:42am
Thank you for proving me right about you once again.... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
You have no clue do you...  just an obsessive demented bias. :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:43am
You proved nothing.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 8th, 2017 at 12:42pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:36am:
Well you posted it wrong or the wrong itinery or lied because there were 2 events she had to attend as was reported in the media.

Did she have buy apartment on her Itinery?  No...  just you mind-reading then eh Monkeyboy. :D :D :D

give it a break will you. who are you trying to defend ? :D LOL

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 12:44pm
roach is a rabid rightwinger who will defend, not very well, any Lib from any scandal. See him trying to blame Shorten and Plibersek for the Centrelink debacle?  :D :D :D :D

Post by Aussie on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:13pm
What an amazing co-incidence.  Who'd a thunk it?  The apartment she purchased is just a bee's dick away from her partner's place of business.

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:18pm
Yup. Impulse buy my rosy red arse!

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:18pm
And??????
makes it a good decision then wouldn't you think...  one not requiring a lot of thought. ::) ::) ::)

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:21pm
If the bitch wants to buy an apartment then she should do the travel etc on her own dime, not the taxpayers’! That is what this is all about roach.

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:22pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:18pm:

You monkey boy are a ferkin idiot.
You cant prove anything because you cant read minds.
you have no access to any discussions between ley and her partner or any others.
All you have is your demented obsessive rusted-on bias.
All pollies have a right to a life outside of politics and they aren't on the clock 24x7 for their political term/s.
It has been stated time and again she broke no rules.
All this therefore is just another beat up and mud-slinging by the ALP and their brain-dead supporters. :D

Post by Aussie on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:23pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:18pm:
And??????
makes it a good decision then wouldn't you think...  one not requiring a lot of thought. ::) ::) ::)

Grendel, was this apartment purchase financed through a mortgage?

Post by Aussie on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:26pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:22pm:

you have no access to any discussions between ley and her partner or any others.
All pollies have a right to a life outside of politics and they aren't on the clock 24x7 for their political term/s.
All this therefore is just another beat up and mud-slinging by the ALP and their brain-dead supporters. :D

Neither did Slipper but that did not stop you from being a loud vigilante about his trips to the wineries, lauding his conviction, and being silent about his subsequent vindication.

This stinks just as much.

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:30pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:26pm:

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:22pm:

Neither did Slipper but that did not stop you from being a loud vigilante about his trips to the wineries, lauding his conviction, and being silent about his subsequent vindication.

This stinks just as much.

I don't think you remember anything I said about Slipper...  I wasn't an Ashby fan and I thought Slipper was a good Speaker.

Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:47pm
Just another case of a "past their use-by date" politician going rotten

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 1:49pm
Yup.

Post by Bam on Jan 8th, 2017 at 3:48pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:20am:
I'm not trying to say she didn't use her travel allowance to scope the place, I bet she did. But saying people don't buy property on impulse is wrong. I've seen it happen a lot, I've done it myself.

She purchased the property from a party donor and she made multiple visits to the Gold Coast area on "official business" around that time (10 April 2015, 17 April 2015 and 9 May 2015). On those grounds I doubt it was an "impulse buy".

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 4:09pm
Whether or not it was an impulse buy is irrelevant.
The point is according to the powers  that be she didn't break any rules.
Just what is it about that you people don't get?
If she travelled there for Government business and fulfilled her responsibilities etc, then on her time off she can do what she damn well pleases.  If that involves buying a house, a car, an apartment or a can of coke  so what, pollies have lives outside of Parliament you know.  They are entitled to it.

If she did something wrong and broke the rules then bad luck for her, it's not like she's a great Health Minister anyway.  But apparently she didn't break any rules. :D :D :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 4:16pm
She will be booted/demoted in the coming reshuffle because she was STUPID to buy the apartment on an official trip and MORE STUPID not to find a better excuse. Just travel to the GC and buy the unit, paying for the travel yourself! HM does this clown get paid? Over $300,000pa plus allowances? Really, she couldn’t travel to the GC on her own dime?

Post by Bam on Jan 8th, 2017 at 4:52pm
Sussan Ley agrees to pay back cost of taxpayer-funded trips to Gold Coast

Post by Bam on Jan 8th, 2017 at 4:53pm
She's paying back the cost of four trips. Hardly an "impulse buy".

Post by stunspore on Jan 8th, 2017 at 4:59pm
Wonder if it is damned if you do, damned if you don't.  Now that she paid the cost back, will people think of her as being more guilty?

Post by red baron on Jan 8th, 2017 at 5:15pm
Sussan Ley needs to resign immediately. Her excuses and promises of reparation are a sick joke.

She has been caught fair and square swindling the Public of Australia.

Case closed, piss off Ley

Post by stunspore on Jan 8th, 2017 at 5:47pm
Well - there does appear that coalition is capable of learning.  Instead of 3 weeks, we get what is about 1 week?

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 6:00pm
She needs to resign her Ministry.

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 6:01pm
Poor roach  :D :D :D

Post by Dnarever on Jan 8th, 2017 at 6:12pm

Bam wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 3:48pm:

Gordon wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:20am:
I'm not trying to say she didn't use her travel allowance to scope the place, I bet she did. But saying people don't buy property on impulse is wrong. I've seen it happen a lot, I've done it myself.

She purchased the property from a party donor and she made multiple visits to the Gold Coast area on "official business" around that time (10 April 2015, 17 April 2015 and 9 May 2015). On those grounds I doubt it was an "impulse buy".

Very difficult to believe that she had legitimate business in an out of state regional area 3 weeks within a month.

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 8th, 2017 at 6:18pm
Just heard on the news that the grub is paying back some of the money she swindled from the tax payers for her bogus trips ;)

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 6:23pm
Yup. Bitch needs to resign as Min Health

Post by Bam on Jan 8th, 2017 at 7:12pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 6:23pm:

The whole government needs to resign.

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 7:24pm

Bam wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 7:12pm:

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 6:23pm:

The whole government needs to resign.

that would be nice but grubs don’t do things like that.

I notice the bitch is paying back the TA on all the Gold Coast visits, I WAS right and she did take several tax payer funded trips to finalise her payment of the apartment. That is worse than silly old Bronny chartering a helicopter: much more premeditation!

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:51pm
So what if she decides to pay something back...  if she was entitled to whatever and she didn't break the rules, then what she is doing now is just for political expediency.
Rudd apologised to aboriginals he didn't have to...  and look at all the good that has done :D
Playing politics is just playing politics, pandering to the lowest common denominator is just stupidity.

Oh and she and the media still maintain there were no rules broken.

We always seem to be having these sorts of problems...  perhaps it is time the rules were changed, they seem too confusing for the poor dears to understand them. :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:58pm
The point is, roach, the bitch is paying back the TA for all four(?) visits to the Gold Coast paid for by the taxpayer. That bears out what I said.

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:00pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:58pm:
The point is, roach, the bitch is paying back the TA for all four(?) visits to the Gold Coast paid for by the taxpayer. That bears out what I said.

No it doesn't.... :D :D :D :D :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:12pm
Ley doesn’t agree with you and is paying back the TA to prove it.

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:15pm

Nope....  but it does bear out what I've said...  I stick to the facts you simply speculate. :D :D :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:16pm
Speculate? Make deductions yes. Deductions proved correct. All those trips to the GC on the taxpayer dime were solely for the purpose of buying an apartment.

Post by Grendel on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:26pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:16pm:
Speculate? Make deductions yes. Deductions proved correct. All those trips to the GC on the taxpayer dime were solely for the purpose of buying an apartment.

No you speculate and that speculation is coloured by your bias.
Deduction is totally different.

Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:28pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 11:25am:

John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:26am:

Wassup TROLL?

I posted the facts.

Again more TROLLING and not one single attempt to address the facts... :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

what facts are you struggling with goose? I don't give a fukkkk that she was 'within the rules'. The rules suck and need to be changed.

Now why do you insist on making excuses for them when they rort taxpayers like this?

Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:31pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:00pm:

No it doesn't.... :D :D :D :D :D

yeah ... she's paying back 4 trips because one was an impulse buy :D :D :D

seriously, just how stupid are you?

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:47pm
Oh dear:

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:47pm
Both hands and a foot in the till!

Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:50pm
fkkk you taxpayers, not only are you paying for her to buy her property, you're paying for her new years eve celebrations too .

I can't wait for goose to come on and tell me there is nothing wrong as it's within the rules. :D :D :D

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:07pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:26pm:

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:16pm:

No you speculate and that speculation is coloured by your bias.
Deduction is totally different.

yeh sussan ley is a good honest politician because she hoards property instead of doing her job :D LOL

Post by davo on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:45pm
How about this for a hypothetical scenario. a statement by Malcolm Turnbull"I stand 100% behind Sussan she has voluntarily offered her diary for scrutiny and I am confident she will have acted within  guidelines this is nothing more than a dirty campaign by Labor to smear a hardworking MP".Also there are calls for George Brandis to open his diary for scrutiny to quote George " Are you fking kidding? i am as crooked as a dogs hindleg the answer is no just no''

Post by The Grappler on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:50pm
Get to the Choppa!!!

Post by The Grappler on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:51pm
**Ahh. Houston - we -  we've had a problem**

Post by Leftwinger on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:58pm

Grappler Truth Teller wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 10:50pm:
Get to the Choppa!!!

Post by The Mechanic on Jan 9th, 2017 at 6:30am
this woman is an absolute disgrace...

the mangey looking scrag needs to be thrown to the back bench...

its time for turncoat to grow a pair and get rid of these sloths...  >:(

Post by salad in on Jan 9th, 2017 at 8:32am
It's like I keep saying: Australia has the most vile alleged human beings masquerading as politicians than any other country. They are nothing more than putrid filth. Is it any wonder that the Mafia, a vile organisation, rejects every job application submitted by an Australian alleged politician.

Our politicians are vile, rotting, putrid filth.

Post by Grendel on Jan 9th, 2017 at 8:52am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 9:12pm:
Ley doesn’t agree with you and is paying back the TA to prove it.

I do wish you wouldn't lie about what I say or at least get an adult to explain to you what I say... 

Post by Grendel on Jan 9th, 2017 at 8:53am

Grendel wrote on Jan 8th, 2017 at 8:51pm:
So what if she decides to pay something back...  if she was entitled to whatever and she didn't break the rules, then what she is doing now is just for political expediency.
Rudd apologised to aboriginals he didn't have to...  and look at all the good that has done :D
Playing politics is just playing politics, pandering to the lowest common denominator is just stupidity.

Oh and she and the media still maintain there were no rules broken.

We always seem to be having these sorts of problems...  perhaps it is time the rules were changed, they seem too confusing for the poor dears to understand them. :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 9th, 2017 at 9:26am
Wow, turnbull has stood Ley aside without Ministerial pay! If even turnbull acts the rip off must be huge and obvious!

Post by Grendel on Jan 9th, 2017 at 9:34am
Just more biased speculation from the biased speculator :D :D :D

Post by Bam on Jan 9th, 2017 at 9:48am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 6:30am:
this woman is an absolute disgrace...

the mangey looking scrag needs to be thrown to the back bench...

its time for turncoat to grow a pair and get rid of these sloths...  >:(

If he did that, Turnbull won't have much choice left for his front bench. Many MPs step outside what is reasonable on their expense claims and not just Coalition MPs either. The simple fact is, the rules are far too lax and allow them all to get away with quite a lot of rorting.

They should be made to obey the same rules as Centrelink recipients - wait five years, use a flawed data matching algorithm to raise almost all of their claims as debts that need to be paid back, give them 21 days to respond over the Christmas-New Year period using a website that is offline for 95% of the time due to under-resourced IT departments, and have 25% of their income withheld without a court order until the debt is paid back or the dispute is resolved.

That will be fitting punishment for these troughsnouters.

Post by Brendon on Jan 9th, 2017 at 10:00am

(snipped for focus)

Yes. All bases are covered. But people aren't as stupid as you think.

Post by Leftwinger on Jan 9th, 2017 at 10:02am
Done like a dinner rtards  ;D

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 9th, 2017 at 10:04am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 9:26am:
Wow, turnbull has stood Ley aside without Ministerial pay! If even turnbull acts the rip off must be huge and obvious!

We fell asleep, our goose is cooked, our reputation is shot
Wake up little Susie
Wake up little Susie, well ...

Post by John Smith on Jan 9th, 2017 at 10:06am

Grendel wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 9:34am:

when are you going to stop making excuses for them?

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 9th, 2017 at 10:25am

salad in wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 8:32am:
It's like I keep saying: Australia has the most vile alleged human beings masquerading as politicians than any other country. They are nothing more than putrid filth. Is it any wonder that the Mafia, a vile organisation, rejects every job application submitted by an Australian alleged politician.

Our politicians are vile, rotting, putrid filth.

Why some of these grubs are in politics. Certainly not to do the job they are chosen to do :(

Post by Grendel on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:06am

John Smith wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 10:06am:

Just being honest and calling Monk for what he is... :D
Stop lying about what I say. :D :D :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:12am
Poor roach, his beloved Libs are not looking too good lately. Full of crooks more like.

Post by Grendel on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:15am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:12am:
Poor roach, his beloved Libs are not looking too good lately. Full of crooks more like.

I don't vote Liberal you wonker... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
You want crooks...  look no further than the ALP.

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:21am

Grendel wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:15am:

Pretty clear statement that roach is a rightard. Not that there was ever any doubt.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:23am

You want crooks... 

Nope.

Neither does Turdball.

"In a statement, Prime Minister Malcolm Turdball said Ms Ley had agreed to "stand aside without ministerial pay" during an investigation by the secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet."

Post by Leftwinger on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:43am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:21am:

Pretty clear statement that roach is a rightard. Not that there was ever any doubt.

100% rtard

Post by Grendel on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:19pm

Its time wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:43am:

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:21am:

100% rtard

Wassup Florence someone stand up to your bullying somewhere?  Back here to Troll eh? ;D ;D ;D

I'm no rusted-on like yourself CFMEU... :D
Oh and just because someone refuses to lie about others you progs cant abide doesn't make them a RWinger...  just makes them honest and not a pathetic LW Prog that cannot tolerate dissent.
I don't vote Liberal...  so you and Monkeyboy should stop lying about me...

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:20pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:19pm:
I don't vote Liberal...  ..

Oh, come on. You've admitted to it in the past.

Post by Grendel on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:23pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:20pm:

Link please....  or are you just lying to try and twist what I've actually said...  I'm a swinging voter Peccerhead...  I don't vote for just one party and that means I don't vote Liberals or Labor or....  etc...
Now stop wasting my time...   :D

Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:31pm
roach swings between the Libs and ON but he is a leftard, really, no really  :D :D :D :D

Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:41pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:20pm:

Fake conservatives don't like to admit that they vote for jevons paradox  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Hey, I KNOW: let's import customers and pretend we didn't do it ... the mining companies will pay for the ads etc etc etc suck suck suck daddddddddddddddddddddy  ::)

::) ::) ::) ::) y'know, like, ... yadda yadda and stuff = cheap-ass finishing school etc like  :o :o :o :o

Post by Sir lastnail on Jan 9th, 2017 at 1:58pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 11:06am:

John Smith wrote on Jan 9th, 2017 at 10:06am:

Just being honest and calling Monk for what he is... :D
Stop lying about what I say. :D :D :D

Listen mate. If these pollies actually did what they are paid to do instead of building up their property portfolios using our taxes then people wouldn't be so cynical of them.

As it stands I call next level bullshit on this.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.