General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1484967662 Message started by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:01pm |
Title: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:01pm Jezz this fkken clown is supposed to be a lecturer at one of our more prestigious universities and his subject is politics. The cretin does even understand the laws surrounding our compulsory voting system. ;D ;D ;D Here is the snippet, feel free to read the rest of his horse sh1t opinion if you want, most of it is inane drivel. "Voters are not compelled to support a candidate or even to cast a valid ballot. They are obliged to turn up." https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/19/opinion/voting-should-be-mandatory.html?smid=fb-nytopinion&smtyp=cur&_r=2&referer=&utm_source=bugger&utm_medium=website&utm_content=link&ICID=ref_bugger Here is the truth, something that escapes walled's statements most of the time Under the Electoral Act, the actual duty of the elector is to attend a polling place, have their name marked off the certified list, receive a ballot paper and take it to an individual voting booth, mark it, fold the ballot paper and place it in the ballot box. It is not the case, as some people have claimed, that it is only compulsory to attend the polling place and have your name marked off, and this has been upheld by a number of legal decisions: High Court 1926 Judd v McKeon (1926) 38 CLR 380 Supreme Court of Victoria 1970 Lubcke v Little [1970] VR 807 High Court 1971 Faderson v Bridger (1971) 126 CLR 271 Supreme Court of Queensland 1974 Krosch v Springbell; ex parte Krosch [1974] QdR 107 ACT Supreme Court 1981 OBrien v Warden (1981) 37 ACTR 13 And some people here think he knows what he is talking about; guess again numpties, you've duped, ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:07pm
He is more familiar with his presidency when we become a republic after the silly old bint checks out .
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:09pm Its time wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:07pm:
So you are hoping that we get someone as clueless as trump first up? No wonder most republics are a fkken disaster. ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:09pm
Purveyor of the truth , thief of young christian girls hearts who willingly convert , rock and roll superstar and our first president .
Waleed "legend" Aly |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:12pm Its time wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:09pm:
You forgot, does not have a clue about the subject he lectures at Monash; nicknamed- Token Black |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:14pm Its time wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:09pm:
President Aly's inauguration day speech will be inspirational. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Grendel on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:14pm
That's true Waleed is clueless about most things and he's been an apologist on many occasions for Muslim bad behaviour.
But he's much loved by LW Prog luvvies. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:19pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:14pm:
Too bad he will have no idea about the subject matter he is supposed to to know; but if a trump like (joke) character is good enough for the POTUS then it is good enough you you lot, hey greeg? There are much, much, smarter more professional people out there, or are you all about the Token Black to make you feel all warm and fuzzy? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:21pm Its time wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:09pm:
Indeed. I wonder what name he'll choose for our Republic - Waleedia? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:22pm Grendel wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:14pm:
To not have even a basic understanding about our voting system should be instant dismissal from his job as a lecturer in politics at Monash Uni. He is a lefty wanker, logie winner and light entertainment joke, token black, none of which requires any level of professionalism or intellect, so he does very well there, but only there. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:26pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:21pm:
Hope so , I like it |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:26pm Its time wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:09pm:
Waleed Aly: the first President of The Republic of Waleedia. Rock on! |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:31pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:26pm:
Hopefully that will be a country that he know something about, because as we have seen time and time again, he is clueless about our country. I can see why you lefties think he is the ducks nuts, he is inspiration to you, but considered a cretin by the rest of us. He is your donald trump and that is why you want him for president. :) :) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:34pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:26pm:
l e g e n d |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by miketrees on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:34pm The good thing is there is so much archival material on Wally he will have so much to look back on and cringe about when he gets older and grows a few brains. He will almost certainly admit he was a complete knob jocky |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:41pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:01pm:
Waleed, who ever he is, just identified with clueless Labor supporting suburban bus drivers and council road repairers What else do they say without thinking? "It's easier to pay a fine than go to court" ... that's the next thing this degenerate Waleed will probably spruik |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Fireball on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:44pm
He looks like a typical camel shagging, little boy molesting rag head, speaks in a manner not unlike haemorrhoid. Must have the same DNA..... ::)
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by longweekend58 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:48pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:01pm:
You really need to get over your insane hatred of compulsory voting. Voluntary voting is what put Trump in the White House. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:48pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:41pm:
As a lecturer of politics at Monash University at the very least he should know the law dealing with compulsory voter in Australia. This is not that joke of a TV show where he is fawned and fettered because he is the token black in a white apologist environment; I expect him to not be the fool when it come to his 'actual' job. And lecturing another country about how they should run an election when he is utterly clueless about how we do it, is a bit rich. I think getting a fkken logie has made him thing he is actually waleedia's new president. ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:51pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:41pm:
Jesus, dissing on bus drivers and road workers. What do you do for an encore - mock the disabled? You've certainly shown your true colours. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:52pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:48pm:
They got exactly what they wanted, so I don't see what you think the problem is. What I want is that the lecturer of politics at Monash University has modicum of understanding of our our compulsory voting works before lecturing another country of its virtues. BTW, Im off the roll again and those lazy public servants have stopped hassling me; so our compulsory voting is once again, not my problem. :) :) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:59pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:52pm:
I will have to have a word to my bro in law about getting you back to the polls to do your lawful duty casting a vote |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:00pm
You're giving him far too much cyber space bigol, Waleed will never be anymore than an ignorant loudmouth
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Culture Warrior on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:02pm
Such behaviour is common in the halls of academia. They're preaching to mostly 18-19 year olds in lecture theatres, who don't have the ability to think critically yet and view lecturers as near gods. Lecturers are fully aware of this and that's why they often do it.
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by longweekend58 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:06pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:52pm:
no they didnt. Even with voluntary voting, Clinton got a big majority of the votes. And if you included all the lazy people who didnt vote, Trump woudlnt have even gotten close. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:08pm
Gold Member Re: President Donald J Trump Reply #2897 - Sep 9th, 2016 at 8:36pm Mark this in your diary. Trump will never become POTUS. To show you how sure I am, I extend a challenge to you. If Trump becomes POTUS, I will leave this forum forever. I will never return, under any other name or sock. Ever. Do you have the guts to make the same declaration |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:10pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:02pm:
It's good to know we have you there, Mistie, to clean up those halls. Literally! |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:10pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:06pm:
Just because you got the most votes does not mean you get to be in charge; even happens here. If someone does not want to vote so be it; it what happens in first world democracies all over the planet. You should happy that they exist, even if we aren't one. :) :) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:13pm Its time wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:59pm:
Good luck with that; those lazy dumb as dog sh1t public servants tend to give up long before I do. ;D ;D ;D ;D There are over one million of us, what are you going to do, set up a web page, begging us to enroll? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:15pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:06pm:
So do you think the US should have "First Past the Post" voting? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:16pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:10pm:
What and knock the broom out of your hands? The shock would kill you wouldn't it? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:18pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:16pm:
Not at all. I'm willing to give Mistie a hand. Aren't you? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:28pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:18pm:
I think your mate token black might need to be relegated to sweeping floors at his Uni until he learns his subject matter in a little more detail. These are the sort of errors an under-grad would be flogged for, this cretin is supposed to be the lecturer. Admit it, he got his job at the Uni because of his logie and not his degree (which is looking pretty dubious). |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:40pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:28pm:
Nothing wrong with mixing with the help. It builds character. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Rhino on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:11pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:06pm:
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:19pm rhino wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:11pm:
Well, internet space is limited, so I'll just stick to this particular instance. You went wrong by assuming he said that "Americans vote directly for their President". |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:25pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:40pm:
He needs knowledge about the subject he teaches others; he is a fkken embarrassment to us all. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:30pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:25pm:
All part of his presidential training. The Republic of Waleedia will be fine under his |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by longweekend58 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:39pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:10pm:
When Trumps leads the world to war and/or trade war, remember that voluntary voting is what caused it. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:52pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 2:15pm:
longy, would you prefer the Electoral College be scrapped and just the "popular" vote retained? That's the only way Clinton could have won If the US changed to First Past the Post voting, would you be happy with that? There's no chance of it happening but there's nothing stopping you from suggesting it as a viable alternative ... but you'd have to convince 50 States, the States take precedence over the Fed, you wouldn't think it these days, but they do indeed. There's no chance of compulsory voting either So what do you think about the voting system in the US? it stinks in your opinion and needs changing, or is it Ok? How would you ensure candidates who get the most "popular" votes, can win ? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 4:03pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:39pm:
Compulsory voting is a wank; there is NO evidence that any of our elections would turn out any different if we were a first world democracy and neither would the US if they decided to flush their right to vote down the toilet. We are alone, everyone else is right we are wrong. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Rhino on Jan 21st, 2017 at 4:06pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:39pm:
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Rider on Jan 21st, 2017 at 4:14pm
Insipid twat who repeats the sjw bleatings gleaned from an equally insipid self indulging social media echo chamber leftist cesspool.
Just your typical swamp rat really. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by longweekend58 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 4:26pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 3:52pm:
A) the US already has first-past the post voting. B) when you ask the entire country to vote for just two positions Pres and VP, it doesnt seem to make sense to use a college system and yes, the US electoral system is an abomination which is so fragmented and so open to abuse that it is a disaster. what did you think of North Carolina which passed a voter ID law specifically designed to disenfranchise blacks and student. They literally researched ID mainly used by these groups and then banned them. You think that this is even remotely fair? Or how about the recent election where a Democrat won the governors mansion and the REpublican congress literally voted to strip the governor of most of his powers. THIS is the USA electoral system This is the system where elections are run by local committees comprised of members of political parties which can and have, literally banned people from auditing the votes. REmember 2000? the supreme court with a majority of republican appointees voted to HALT A RECOUNT because GWB was in front. so does it stink? I can think of some third-world cesspools with a more open and less corrupt system. Did Trump ACTUALLY win? We will never know since recounts have to be paid for by individuals and even then, can be stopped by judges who owe allegiance to politics above democracy. STINKS AND THEN SOME |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Brian Ross on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:04pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:01pm:
Tell me, Bigol64, does anybody actually make sure that you cast a vote, when you vote? ::) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:08pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 4:26pm:
Well I take it then you would prefer they had just First Past the Post voting, nothing else. If they went that way, it would be counter to Australia's beliefs about it. What if we did away with preferential voting, how would that go? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:16pm Brian Ross wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:04pm:
This is supposedly President Waleed's quote: "Voters are not compelled to support a candidate or even to cast a valid ballot. They are obliged to turn up." This is from BigHole's own quote (from the AEC): "Under the Electoral Act, the actual duty of the elector is to attend a polling place, have their name marked off the certified list, receive a ballot paper and take it to an individual voting booth, mark it, fold the ballot paper and place it in the ballot box." So, looking at the three parts of our future President's quote: 1. Nothing from the AEC about being compelled to support a candidate. 2. Nothing about casting a valid vote. 3. It says they must attend a polling place, and King Aly said "They are obliged to turn up". He did not, as BigHole has wrongfully assumed, say "They are ONLY obliged to turn up". Mr President is right and BigHole is, once again, wrong. - Voters are not compelled to support a candidate Correct - or even to cast a valid ballot. Correct - They are obliged to turn up. Correct |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by longweekend58 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:56pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:08pm:
Look, you clown.... I said nothing of the sort and I support preferential voting. I said nothing about the US system other than to tell you what it actually is. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:15pm Brian Ross wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:04pm:
Since I don't vote Id say no. But you do know that this was the Australian Electoral Commission stating this, not me, don't you? I can give you a link to that AEC or you could easily find it just like that idiot waleed could have by using google. So everyone after me, that fkkwit walleed made a false statement because he is a cretin and the AEC states that you cannot just get your name ticked off the ballot; it is NOT BigOl stating this but the fkken AEC! :) :) Glad to see another fine Australian no longer ignorant of the system they vote under. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:16pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:15pm:
No, he didn't. You've made a complete fool of yourself. His statement is 100% correct. - Voters are not compelled to support a candidate - correct - or even to cast a valid ballot. - correct - They are obliged to turn up. - correct |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:17pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 4:26pm:
So not about compulsory voting then. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:20pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:16pm:
The courts of Australian made that statement fkkwit not me I just posted what THEY fkken said. What the fkk is wrong with you people is it your poor state school education or were you dropped on your head as a child? He is a dullard and your are doing your usual bullsh1t to cover that up. BTW why the fkk are you still here? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:24pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:20pm:
Yes, but you failed to actually read what they said. "It is not the case, as some people have claimed, that it is only compulsory to attend the polling place and have your name marked off". And Waleed's statement: "Voters are not compelled to support a candidate or even to cast a valid ballot. They are obliged to turn up." You'll notice the absence of the word "only". Thus, Mr Waleed is 100% correct. You have made an absolute fool of yourself with this thread. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Dnarever on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:43pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 1:01pm:
Technically Wally is pretty close to the mark, Quote:
This is actually very close to the mark. You are required to mark the ballot, that would include drawing Donald duck on it, there is no compulsion to cast a valid vote, just to mark the ballot paper. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by cods on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:49pm
hes only bitching because his side lost...BIG TIME...
the yanks and the Brits would still have had more people voting without compulsary than Australia does with it.. whats it got to do with him how the west run their elections.. how about looking at those Muslum countries.. where a king can have 70 children to carry on the LINE>...yeah right have you noticed this guy never has a shot at them does he???... I think there are still countries that dont allow women to vote.. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2013/10/27/7-ridiculous-restrictions-on-womens-rights-around-the-world/?utm_term=.4ad5ecfeac23 waleed should take a shot at these archaic rules then I might take a look at what he has to say about Australia until then.... With Saudi Arabian women behind the wheel since Saturday to protest their country's refusal to grant driver's licenses to women, theyre challenging not only long-standing restriction, but also a the larger system of Saudi Arabian gender-based laws, some of the harshest in the world. According to one measurement, though, there are actually several countries that rank lower on women;s rights than Saudi Arabia. The World Economic Forum, which publishes the preeminent ranking on gender gap issues, ranked Saudi Arabia 10th from the bottom in its 2013 report -- ahead of Mali, Morocco, Iran, Cote dIvoire, Mauritania, Syria, Chad, Pakistan and Yemen. Womens rights abuses are by no means limited to North Africa, West Africa or the Middle East, though thats where we tend to hear such stories most frequently. A lot of the most severe stuff comes out of legal or de facto guardianship systems, said Rothna Begum, a researcher who tracks womens rights in the Middle East and North Africa for the advocacy group Human Rights Watch. But she adds that, especially in Saudi Arabia, things are modernizing. Here are nine other remarkable legal restrictions against women, from Asia to Latin America: 1. India (some parts): Road safety rules dont apply to women. In some states of India, women are excepted from safety rules that mandate motorcycle passengers wear helmets -- an exemption that kills or injures thousands each year. Womens rights advocates have argued the exemption springs from a culture-wide devaluation of womens lives. Supporters of the ban say theyre just trying to preserve womens carefully styled hair and make-up -- which isnt exactly a feminist response. 2. Yemen: A woman is considered only half a witness. Thats the policy on legal testimony in Yemen, where a woman is not, to quote a 2005 Freedom House report, recognized as a full person before the court. In general, a single womans testimony isnt taken seriously unless its backed by a mans testimony or concerns a place or situation where a man would not be. And women cant testify at all in cases of adultery, libel, theft or sodomy. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Brian Ross on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:53pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:15pm:
Oh, yes. I recognise it from their paraphenalia. So, you don't vote. You are quoting from the AEC how it likes the voting to occur, not how it actually happens, nor the instructions which are usually given before the opening of the Polling Booth to the various functionaries by the Polling Booth supervisor. You are aware what those instructions are, aren't you, Bigol64? IIRC they are: "The voters will be made to form a queue. They will be directed to the first member of staff that is free and they will have their name marked off the roll. They will be handed their ballot paper and directed to the voting booth. If they refuse the ballot paper you are to ask them again and if they again refuse it, you are to hand it to the supervisor who will fold and place it in the ballot box. Once they have marked the paper (assuming of course they have taken it), they are to then fold and place it in the ballot box. On no account are they allowed to leave the Ballot Station with a ballot paper in their possession. You will note, no voter is forced to take a ballot paper. No one is standing over them when they mark the ballot paper (or not). They are prevented from leaving the Ballot Station with any ballot papers. The only way they can be fined is if they refuse to have their name marked off the roll. They are not made to vote. I have worked on elections, at the Ballot Booth as an AEC official now for the last 20 years, both at State and Federal elections. I think it's time you voted, Bigol64, to acquaint yourself with the procedures from a voter's viewpoint. ::) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:54pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:43pm:
This is actually very close to the mark. You are required to mark the ballot, that would include drawing Donald duck on it, there is no compulsion to cast a valid vote, just to mark the ballot paper.[/quote] Correct. And he didn't say the only requirement was turning up at the polling place. He said "They are obliged to turn up", which is quite correct. He said nothing wrong in his statement. BigHole has made a fool of himself with this thread. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by cods on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:56pm
I seem to remember an old saying
you can lead a horse to water but you cant make it drink.. thats smacks of this thread.. who cares who ,really cares about the dotted Is or the crossed Ts..... you are obliged if you have any manners at all.. ::) ::) to take the ballot form....as I do... if you refuse to take it.. or tear it up... is anyone obliged to arrest you...or do they ignore you.??.... the officer who hands you the form puts a number or something on it..is this so it can be checked to see if you did in fact vote or give them the big finger?????>.. until a whole load of people do this.....Big Finger.. I guess we will never know.....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Brian Ross on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:01pm cods wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:49pm:
Really? Australia generally has a ~94% valid voter turn out. The UK has generally about ~66% voter turn out. The US has generally about ~58% voter turn out. I think Australia leads by quite a margin... ::) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Dnarever on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:03pm cods wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:56pm:
The Ballot official has to initial the ballot paper. If it isn't initialled the vote is invalid. This is to prevent people bringing their own ballot sheets and voting multiple times. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by gandalf on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:34pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:24pm:
Indeed. Case closed. Sorry Big Ol, but you just got showed up. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:36pm polite_gandalf wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:34pm:
That 7 or 8 times today Bighole? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Brian Ross on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:43pm cods wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:56pm:
In Australia, we vote the "Australian vote" - secret ballot. There is nothing on the ballot paper that identifies it with yourself. What the Polling official does is initial it, with their own initials to indicate that it is a valid paper. Interestingly, in the UK, they do not have a secret ballot. Each ballot paper has a number. This is marked against your name on the electoral roll when you are handed the ballot paper. Ballot papers are kept for IIRC 14 years. If the Government so wished, they could trace back who voted for which candidate. Tsk, tsk. ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:09pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 5:56pm:
Keep your stupid mouth shut then about the US not getting the president they wanted |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Dnarever on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:15pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:09pm:
When Trump got about 25% of the vote and Clinton finished with over 3,000,000 more votes it is difficult to argue that it is the result that Americans wanted but it is the result they got. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by The Grappler on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:36pm
Told you all before - Aleed Wally would learn a lot more by spending one day here and on another couple of political forums than he could in a lifetime of bending the books...
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by longweekend58 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:43pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:17pm:
I could show you that compulsory voting would have prevented WW2 and you'd still support voluntary. You wank on endlessly about the supposed 'sacrifice' of the military and yet you aren't even selfless enough to VOTE. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by longweekend58 on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:46pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:09pm:
You think there is some kind of connection between those two statement you boofhead? the vote is routinely rigged... by republicans as in north carolina or other examples of where republicans only are allowed to count the votes and let's not forget the republican supreme court in 2000 literally stopping recount to avoid a possible democrat win. the confidence in the integrity of the american voting system is low by western standards. we lose a handul of votes in an election and a re-election is ordered. The americans lose 100,000 and the republic courts, government or electoral committee dont give crap. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:50pm Bias_2012 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:09pm:
Most unpopular incoming President in modern history. Very low turnout for his inauguration. And, this is the kicker, more people voted for Clinton than Trump. Yeah, I'm pretty sure it's safe to say that America didn't get the President they wanted, and at least 3 million people would agree with me. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Frank on Jan 21st, 2017 at 9:41pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:50pm:
By the same pollsters who said he'd never get the nomination and he'd never win. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Dnarever on Jan 21st, 2017 at 9:46pm longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:43pm:
Yes with manually counting that many votes they would have all been much too busy to fight. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Dnarever on Jan 21st, 2017 at 9:48pm Frank wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 9:41pm:
There is also those pesky millions of people protesting that gives it away ? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 21st, 2017 at 11:20pm Its time wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:36pm:
9, actually. But who's counting? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 21st, 2017 at 11:34pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 11:20pm:
Not me , much :) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by The Grappler on Jan 21st, 2017 at 11:56pm
Laydeez and Chennumens! Can we leave the bitch fighting and get on the subject...
Oooh - you bitch, Greg... ooooh you hairy monster BigOl.... Ooooh you emotional negative longweekend... ooooooh you tract repeater aquascoot ......wait a minute..... It's a fair cop! |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by gandalf on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 6:51am Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 11:56pm:
The subject is concluded. Big Ol's allegation against Waleed has been proven to be completely false, and not even Big Ol is defending his claim anymore. There's not much else to talk about really. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Dnarever on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 7:28am polite_gandalf wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 7:34pm:
It would have been easy to get this wrong, What Waleed said did seem suss on the face of it. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 9:15am Dnarever wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 7:28am:
In his (small) mind, BigHole inserted "only" into this statement: "They are obliged to turn up" That's where he went wrong. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 9:55am
We demand nothing short of a written apology to our first president big hole
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:35am polite_gandalf wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 6:51am:
The word not is in front of that word only; as you are NOT only obliged to show up, but ........,. And if any of you actually read the legal precedents you would see that your obligation does in fact extend beyond just showing up. Were all of you dropped on your heads as babies? I gave you the names to some very interesting cases involving our voting obligations; I know waleed did not read them but you lot of fkktards should have. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:44am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:35am:
And nobody is saying it doesn't. If you read the President's statement, you'll see that he didn't limit the voters' obligations to just showing up. "Voters are not compelled to support a candidate or even to cast a valid ballot. They are obliged to turn up." You done goofed, BigHole. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:47am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:24pm:
You have based you entire argument once again on semantics, you point out the word only like set the legal precedence for the entire voting system. it is NOT the case to ONLY attend and get your name marked off and waleed and the res of you geniuses think that all you have to do. This would be wrong, that is not all you have to do. It is compulsory by law for all eligible Australian citizens to enrol and vote in federal elections, by-elections and referendums. See how the AEC failed to use the word show up. http://www.aec.gov.au/enrol/ |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:50am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:44am:
Is english not your first language? And why the fkk are you here, or are you still a LYING PIECE of SH!T? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:50am |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:51am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:47am:
Where did Waleed, or anyone else, say that you only have to attend and get your name marked off? You're seeing things that aren't there, BigHole. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:52am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:50am:
Where did Waleed, or anyone else, say that you only have to attend and get your name marked off? Show us. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:54am longweekend58 wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 8:43pm:
Actually you can't show where compulsory voting has done sh1t. What compulsory voting does do, is line the pockets of the parties and independents with taxpayer's hard earned money. And nothing else. You know nothing about sacrifice as your stupid comparison between serving this country and standing in a fkken line, you dolt. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:57am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:47am:
Correct. And nobody said it was. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Fireball on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:07am |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:10am Brian Ross wrote on Jan 21st, 2017 at 6:53pm:
I thrive on the fact that the AEC is populated with lazy and stupid people who couldn't find their arse with both hands behind their back. I don't vote, I am not on the electoral roll and at this stage I have not intention of changing that. :) :) Im pretty sure it is still illegal for anyone to deliberately encourage another to not cast a valid vote. As in what waleed mentioned and currently being supported by others. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:13am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:10am:
Once again, you're seeing things that aren't there. Where did Waleed encourage people to not cast a valid vote? |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:14am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 10:57am:
Why have you not fkked off from this site yet; anything you have to say on ANY matter is invalid. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by BigOl64 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:18am greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:13am:
Why are you still here, you made the bet now fkk off. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:32am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:18am:
To highlight your mistakes and irrational bigotry. Mission accomplished. Your white flag has been accepted. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Leftwinger on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:33am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:14am:
Well we all knew that was coming , how is that apology letter coming along , one for president Waleed one for Greg |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Brian Ross on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 4:30pm BigOl64 wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 11:10am:
Typical exaggeration. Most of the AEC staff that I have met and interacted with have been smart, dedicated people who carry out their duties diligently. As you are, you claim, neither registered to vote or have voted, I wonder on what basis you have made your assessment? Quote:
Interesting. All states require you, except South Australia, IIRC to be registered to vote, Bigol64. South Australia doesn't require you to register but once registered, you are not able to let your registration lapse. You can register only on the state roll there, also unusually. You don't have to register to vote federally. Now, unless you're a long-time resident of South Australia, Bigol64, you are boasting of undertaking an illegal act and promoting an illegal act. Tsk, tsk. ::) Quote:
Waleed has merely mentioned the reality of voting in Australia, Bigol64 whereas you have failed to comply with the electoral act in all states, except South Australia. Tsk, tsk. tsk. ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by juliar on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 4:50pm
I can see why you lefties think he is the ducks nuts, he is inspiration to you, but considered a cretin by the rest of us. He is your donald trump and that is why you want him for president.
BigOld, That's why Socialist indoctrination at an early age, like what happened to the Lefties here, is so dangerous because it bends the brain so they can't see round corners. |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Brian Ross on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 5:02pm juliar wrote on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 4:50pm:
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by Bias_2012 on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 5:07pm
Even the most persuasive argument that compulsory voting violates free speech ideals that include the right to silence misunderstands how compulsory voting works. Voters are not compelled to support a candidate or even to cast a valid ballot. They are obliged to turn up.
Leave your form blank if the options are so uninspiring. Draw pictures on it. Even this is useful: By tracking the growth of these informal votes we can gauge voter dissatisfaction. - Waleed Aly LOL what a useless drongo |
Title: Re: Waleed clueless about voting/politics/most things Post by juliar on Jan 22nd, 2017 at 5:23pm
And the Greenies and Lefties go from polling place to polling place voting multiple times.