General Discussion >> General Board >> Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1497415297 Message started by Unforgiven on Jun 14th, 2017 at 2:41pm |
Title: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Unforgiven on Jun 14th, 2017 at 2:41pm
This is probably just the start and still being hidden is what the government will pay PNG to immunize itself from PNG law suits.
There is also the demobilization costs and any payouts to detention contractors who may also sue. Australian taxpayers, give till it hurts: http://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/13/asia/australia-manus-island/index.html Quote:
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by cods on Jun 14th, 2017 at 2:45pm
thank you Kevin bloody Rudd.. >:( >:( >:(
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Unforgiven on Jun 14th, 2017 at 2:48pm cods wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 2:45pm:
Cods, and it's mate Beaugarde73 was one of the outspoken supporters of this policy. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 3:21pm cods wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 2:45pm:
at what point exactly do the libs become responsible for that they do? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Unforgiven on Jun 14th, 2017 at 3:38pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 3:21pm:
The Liberals snatched people from the high seas in international waters and transported them to hell holes in third countries. That is kidnapping and illegal detention. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Yadda on Jun 14th, 2017 at 5:02pm Malcolm [he's the PM!] gives boat people a brand new 'Pull Factor' AUD $70 million / 1,900 = +AUD $36,000 e.g. "All you have to do is buy your ticket, and get on our boat, people. And sail for Australia. And if the Australian government prevent you from arriving in Australia, and detain you offshore, then use the Australian legal system to sue the Australian government for the psychological harm that the Australian government has caused you. And receive an excellent return on your money risked, to embark on our world class immigrant boat!" Quote:
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Valkie on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:38pm
nuke em
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Sir Bobby on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:52pm
$70M/1900 = $36,842 for each victim.
That's a nice payout from the generous taxpayer. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Gordon on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:54pm
Great way to incentivize a tsunami of human sewerage.
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Unforgiven on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:56pm Bobby. wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:52pm:
That's just the start. It doesn't compensate for kidnapping on the high seas, years of detention, and mental cruelty. The Australian taxpayer has deep pockets. More should be paid. I wonder what the total cost is of this policy and the Manus fiasco. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Unforgiven on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:56pm Gordon wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:54pm:
Are Gordon's relatives on their way? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Gordon on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:59pm Unforgiven wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:56pm:
No, my relatives are white. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Sir Bobby on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:59pm Unforgiven wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:56pm:
It's all Kevin Rudd's fault. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:05pm Bobby. wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:59pm:
no, it's all the fault of the idiots that locked them up indefinitely |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Valkie on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:05pm Bobby. wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 6:52pm:
Should come out of the politicians future fund. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Unforgiven on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:08pm Valkie wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:05pm:
They'll take it from your dole money Valkie, and give you a wedgie as a receipt. ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Sir Bobby on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:13pm Valkie wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:05pm:
Kevin Rudd should make an apology. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Gordon on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:14pm Bobby. wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:13pm:
Make Kevin pay it back, he can borrow it from his Mrs. Rudd’s wife, Therese Rein is worth as much as $200 million despite missing this year’s BRW Rich 200 (the cut off this year was $235 million). Rein is the managing director and owner of Ingeus, a welfare-to-work company with operations around the world Read more: http://www.afr.com/personal-finance/inside-kevin-rudds-multi-million-dollar-property-portfolio-20130701-jydwr#ixzz4jxyzRrOA Follow us: @FinancialReview on Twitter | financialreview on Facebook |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by JaSin on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:18pm
When 'William' becomes KING.
His first major duty will be to 'remove' the Union Jack from the Australian Flag. "With this auspicious moment of mine, that I hereby remove the Union Jack from that bloody convict rag and set forth the future of Australia like a kick out the door. God speed and good riddance!" Australia will be forced to become a Republic and the World will flood into the country in their MILLIONS !! |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:20pm Gordon wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:14pm:
make Abbott pay it back. ... afterall, it was his idea to abandon any sense of decency in how they were treated. what I'd like to know is just how badly were they treated? The govt. has settled every single case so far rather than risk one going to court. After assuring us for years that they weren't breaking any domestic laws or breaching any international obligations. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:40pm
Labors virtue signalling and virtual invite lost control of the borders. Read Triumph and Demise, Julia knew it even if numpties here deny it.
But Rudd fixed it, with a tow back policy where safe to do so, Keatings mandatory detention legislation and Rudds country shoppers washing up in boats never ever to be settled in Australia legislation sorted it out. Takes draconian measures but labor was up for it. The bill is labors but it was a small price to pay to stop the graph of country shopper arrivals reaching vertical. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:00pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:40pm:
the compensation wasn't for putting them on manus (something you can blame/praise labor for) the compensation was for how they were treated after they were taken to manus ... something that remains solely the responsibility of the libtards |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:09pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:00pm:
When were the contracts signed and the oversight initiated? I don't know but I am sure you do. ::). They didn't start entering the gulags as I have seen it described here under Libs. I don't think Labor would have done any better and it is dodgy speculation to think that they would have. You need to stop looking at things in the terms of footy teams and that your footy team does no wrong. Plenty of blame to go around. Both parties are lock step but the legislation is Labors. All of the punitive legislation is because idiots like you who barrack for teams allowed Labor to enact legislation that if attempted by Libs would have clowns like you howling. You and your fellow travellers did all this, you allowed and aided and abetted the virtue signalling that encouraged the country shoppers, you allowed the legislation that locked them up and you allowed the legislation that meant they could never ever settle here. Thanks to your efforts, the borders are again secure. :) |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:15pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:09pm:
oversight initiated? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D when was the last time you heard labor cite 'operational secrecy' as an excuse? The libs changed all the rules before they could even change their undies. The compensation wasn't for what happened in their first week on manus, it was for what happened over the next 4 years. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:18pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:09pm:
rubbish. I always said they should fly them over to the mainland. That way there was no risk of drownings. I never supported labors asylum seeker policy, I only ever supported it over the libs since it was the best option available off the two . You have to play with the cards you're dealt, not the cards you wish you had. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Sir Bobby on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:19pm Gordon wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:14pm:
Who gave the Govt. legal advice that what they were doing was legal? Maybe that law firm should be sued? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:22pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:15pm:
Oversight in the contracts that Labor would have signed. It wasn't a difficult paragraph to understand. I don't think Labor would have done better, you opinion is that they would have. Considering the dogs breakfast they made of the whole border situation I suspect I am closer to the truth than you are. Having said that, they lost control of the borders but then regained control. They had to, it is an election losing issue having country shoppers washing up every day as happened under Labors watch. But now we are in the sunny uplands and you can bet that Labor at least won't be dismantling their legislations and if ever worse measures are needed, they will be up for again because idiots like you will let them. Presumably Labor will be in the next election, there maybe some chancers who will try it on with a few boats. What do you reckon Labors response will be? Met with fairy floss and welcomes or shipped off to detention? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Valkie on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:23pm
It seems that the whole world is stuffed.
Parasite, lying, country shoppers get a payout And Hard working Australians get to pay The trick appears to be. Worthless Screaming stupid Parasites Black Allergic to work Oh yeah And a muzzo scum Looks like bwyann is in for a windfall. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Aussie on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:23pm Bobby. wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:19pm:
How many times did this Black Duck say that the whole of Operation Sovereign Borders was illegal? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Sir Bobby on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:25pm Aussie wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:23pm:
Was it taken to the high court? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:27pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:18pm:
Of course you didn't, none of you did. ::) None the less, under Whitlam, Keating and Rudd your team, because of idiots like you (that is Labor supporters because you seem to think I am talking about you personally as being responsible for Labor policy ::)) who have legislated every bugger over of country shoppers. You and your team, you barracked for them, this was the playbook they created, non point crying about it now, own it numptie. In fact be proud, it is various Labor legislations that are keeping the borders secure and scaring off country shoppers. Unless you want to point at some Liberal legislation that you think is relevent, if so, post it. :) |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Aussie on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:27pm
No, Bobby......because 'operational matters' made sure the evidence was suppressed.
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:27pm Bobby. wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 7:13pm:
He is no doubt sorry that the dopes who want to blame him are so dumb. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:28pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:22pm:
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:30pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:27pm:
wrong. i did. Ask Mr Hicks if you like, he seemed to think I should have voted greens just for that one policy :D :D :D :D. He carried on about it like a pork chop for years. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:34pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:22pm:
I don't think Labor would have done better Labor held out for almost 6 years before caving to the liberals and re opening Nauru. The problem would have not existed had it been left to Labor. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Sir Bobby on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:35pm Aussie wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:27pm:
I thought it was in the High court? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:35pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:28pm:
It is amusing that you think safeguards, oversight and performance standards in contracts are desperate. Then again, that may have been the issue. Rushed contracts without oversight to fix a political problem. Apart from the meme, (desperate much yourself ;D) you got anything substantive to offer? No opinion on what happens to the first country shoppers that try it on under the next Labor government? Or is that too close to criticising your footy team? :) |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:37pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:30pm:
Labor supporters in general allowed your party to do these things. Once more, for you, I am not talking about you personally. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:38pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:30pm:
I also supported your position on multiple occasions and routinely called both Liberal and Labor police a disgrace in this area. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:41pm Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:34pm:
Bwahahahahaha the problem existed because of Labor. They lost control of the borders. As things go its not complicated. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:44pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:35pm:
Mostly country shoppers target small islands and move in after paying the price agreed to. Larry Ellison and Richard Branson both purchased islands, they are both country shoppers but they were not the first. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by John Smith on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:46pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:35pm:
you realise that you can't just make crap up about imaginary contracts and expect to get away with it, right? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:47pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:41pm:
What a load of rubbish. A few refugees as we see multiplied a hundred fold across the world does not indicate such a situation. It was just a political vote catcher in the form of a scare campaign. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:48pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:46pm:
Why not they normally do ? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:58pm John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:46pm:
My statement Quote:
Maybe you are right, maybe Labor didn't do any contracts, therefore no oversight, no performance criteria. Maybe the whole lot was just done on a handshake and a wink. I assumed there would be contracts but maybe that assumption was a mistake. ;) |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:59pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:58pm:
Keep digging that hole. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:01pm Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:47pm:
You are right, it was a scare campaign and Labor left themselves vulnerable to it. it was political suicide for Labor to not regain control of the borders after losing it. And it was more than a few, it was a lot and the trend was going up and with increasing velocity. That's just history. The situation could not go on, the Australian people would not tolerate it. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:09pm Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:59pm:
No hole. Governments want stuff done and spend public money that's what they do, sign contracts. If they want poo done in other countries they sign bits of paper dealing with obligations and payments. I am sorry you and John are so divorced from reality that you do not believe this. It is my assumption that if the contracts were a bit better we would not be in this mess. But yeah, that's an assumption, I haven't seen the contracts bu there were contracts and Labor signed them. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:16pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:01pm:
And you were so frightened. "stop the boats" Please tell me nobody really swallowed that load of BS. Boat arrivals has been a vote catcher since the children overboard lie. It is a fictitious issue built by stacking lies on top of lies for electoral gain. There is no problem there never was. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:17pm Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:09pm:
The contention isn't if there is a contract just that you know what is in it. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:23pm
I have made it clear several times I have not seen any contracts. But I ain't the idiot denying that labor signed contracts.
My contention is that a contract with some oversight and performance provisions might have prevented a lot of the crap. But it was labor that signed the contracts and I seem to recall a press conference with Rudd and the PNG Prime Minister doing exactly that. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Secret Wars on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:28pm Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:16pm:
I accept that there was no problem for the likes of you and John Smith, but there was an electoral problem and Labor knew it. That's why they fixed it. And happily borders will remain secure...until Labor gets in again. Do you reckon if a few country shoppers wash up when Labor gets in again they are going to try and go soft again, or once bitten and all that? It's not my issue if you cannot accept political reality. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Francis on Jun 14th, 2017 at 11:53pm
You have to be dead set kidding me?
The "private " company "contracted" too the job should wear all the costs / blame. Ffs. ..fight it in the courts you gutless liberals. ...and if you don't win than just change the laws and don't pay! If it was one your Chinese backers at risk you would risk it for them. This country is a sad shell of what it was and 2% of what it could have been because these criminal we elect as leaders |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Emma on Jun 15th, 2017 at 2:55am John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:18pm:
here here :) |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Ye Grappler on Jun 15th, 2017 at 3:56am Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:23pm:
Indeed.. you've seen no contracts, yet you say Labor signed them. Now it's 2017 - at what point does the LNP accept responsibility? ::) |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Mr Hammer on Jun 15th, 2017 at 7:30am
Does that mean they piss off back home after they get their money?
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Francis on Jun 15th, 2017 at 8:18am
Its now 90 million and no doubt going to keep going up.
It should be paid out of the pollies who signed the deals pension |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by aquascoot on Jun 15th, 2017 at 8:22am
i'm a bit surprised they didnt fight it in court.
if they lost, they could go to the australian taxpayer and say, we now have to increase the medicare levy by .5 % to cover the big cash payouts to people that the majority of the population probably dont want to pay big cash pay outs too. it sets the liberals up on the side of the battling ozzie taxpayer and leaves the alliance of slater and gordon, the judiciary and the left wing intellectuals exposed to a huge political back lash. i would even think that the voters would support a winding back of power for the judiciary. it appears that the judiciary have plenty of people out on bail causing mayhem and the government could pin the whole fiasco on the legal system (which is hardly popular) and could, maybe, reign in some of the legal fraternity and give the power back to the people. thats how i would have played it. if the liberals are truly the "noble right' then they would have been more persistent unapologetic willing to stand up for their principles. this is really 'weak sauce' beta male activity from turnbull. but the guy likes to catch public transport for gods sake. thats about as beta male as you can get :D :D |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 15th, 2017 at 7:52pm aquascoot wrote on Jun 15th, 2017 at 8:22am:
yes, weak decision to give OUR money to illegals. |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Francis on Jun 15th, 2017 at 10:18pm
The government must fight this in the courts and sue the private company that was contracted to the centre for all costs.
Its just not right and must be stopped at any cost. It doesn't not just meet the pub test....it doesn't meet any Australians test! Who was responsible for this ? Rudd/Gillard /rudd . What is the name of the private company. ...who sits on the board...sue all of them. Dutton is as weak as water >:( Bring back Abbott :o |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 15th, 2017 at 10:52pm Francis wrote on Jun 15th, 2017 at 10:18pm:
Who was responsible for this ? Rudd/Gillard /rudd . Try: Abbott, Turnbull, Dutton and Morrison. Remember it was Scotty who made it illegal for anyone to tell us what was going on in detention camps ? You don't think it was just a coincidence that they really did need to hide what they were doing ? It not only occurred during their reign but with their knowledge and approval. Why else would they have legislated to cover it up ? |
Title: Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees Post by Dnarever on Jun 15th, 2017 at 10:55pm Quote:
Of course it does many on here barracked for years to abuse the rights of refugees. Remember stop the boats reopen Nauru etc. |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |