General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Liberal deadbeats and their online GST
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1539479859

Message started by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:17am

Title: Liberal deadbeats and their online GST
Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:17am
Everytime I buy stuff off ebay no matter how little the value is I am reminded of Gerry Harvey and all of the liberal deadbeats that implemented his policy for him :(

Just one of the many reasons never to vote for the conservatives :(

Title: Re: Liberal deadbeats and their online GST
Post by PZ547 on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:21am

Sir lastnail wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:17am:
Everytime I buy stuff off ebay no matter how little the value is I am reminded of Gerry Harvey and all of the liberal deadbeats that implemented his policy for him :(

I won't be voting for them, never fear

I'll be voting for the Sustainable Australia party

and it doesn't matter how inexperienced they might be to start with

because they could never hope to stuff things up as badly as LNP and Labor have, repeatedly

in their Passing the Parcel elections

I mean the definition of stupidity is 'doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting a different result'

so are Aussie voters going to confirm their stupidity yet again come elections?

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:37am
Sounds like a good idea ;)

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:37am

Sir lastnail wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:17am:

I even have to pay GST for online subscriptions for software.

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:43am
Yeah, I just looked at renewing my Norton Anti-virus subscription and there is now a GST component on that.

Blimey.

How annoying.

I thought the GST was supposed to be a tax for goods and services within Australia ... not imposed on stuff from overseas.

I hate it.  >:(

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:47am

Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:43am:
Yeah, I just looked at renewing my Norton Anti-virus subscription and there is now a GST component on that.

Blimey.

How annoying.

I thought the GST was supposed to be a tax for goods and services within Australia ... not imposed on stuff from overseas.

Yes - I got wacked on both my Norton subscription &
my Microsoft Office subscription.
The Govt. must be rich -
they are certainly clever to be able to get foreign companies to be tax men for them.
It should be no one's business if I have software from overseas.

Why don't those foreign companies just tell the Australian Govt. to go to hell?

Post by 56 44 on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:48am
I've ordered a knife sharpener from Czech Republic and they didn't collect GST so I'm wondering what will happen when it lands here

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:49am

Blimey.

How annoying.

That's what I thought too. Now when I am buying 2nd hand goods from the US on ebay and the price is ok until you go to the checkout and old Gerry is there with his hand out collecting 10% on behalf of the liberal party :( Most annoying :(

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:52am

Its time wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:48am:
I've ordered a knife sharpener from Czech Republic and they didn't collect GST so I'm wondering what will happen when it lands here

Good question. Interesting to see what happens. They seem to rely on the seller to collect the GST for them. So far they have done a back door deal with ebay and would you believe it Aliexpress of all places !!

And also they include the postage when they calculate the import charges !! What a scam :(

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:53am

Sir lastnail wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:52am:

Good question. Interesting to see what happens. They seem to rely on the seller to collect the GST for them. So far they have done a back door deal with ebay and would you believe it Aliexpress of all places !!

How does the Govt. do it?

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:57am

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:53am:

Sir lastnail wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:52am:

How does the Govt. do it?

Only the US companies they have some leverage over. Remember that Alibaba is listed on the US stock exchange otherwise I can't see an exclusively owned chinese business collecting any tax for them.

Post by FRED. on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:57am
WHATS WRONG WITH YOU *****S YOU WANT WHAT THS GST GIVES YOU BUT YOU WON'T PAY IT  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:00pm

FRED. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 11:57am:
WHATS WRONG WITH YOU *****S YOU WANT WHAT THS GST GIVES YOU BUT YOU WON'T PAY IT  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Not on 2nd hand foreign goods. fickoff mate :(

If you are hard up for tax get your light shoe brigade with their dozen investment properties to start paying their fair share of taxes. There's at least 9 bill a year foregone in tax revenue because of these property hoarders here. Stop protecting these parasites and layabouts.

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:00pm
Fred, Fred, Fred ... If I could buy a Norton Anti-virus software package that was made in Australia, I would.

Thing is ... I can't. Why the hell should I pay a foreign company an extra 10% ?

How do I know that will benefit Australia?

Post by FRED. on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:08pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:00pm:
Fred, Fred, Fred ... If I could buy a Norton Anti-virus software package that was made in Australia, I would.

Thing is ... I can't. Why the hell should I pay a foreign company an extra 10% ?

nimo nimo nimo it goes to the states  for bugger sake ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D   like viC sa wa nsw qld nt tas noT the  USA :D :D

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:18pm

FRED. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:08pm:

nimo nimo nimo it goes to the states  for bugger sake ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D   like viC sa wa nsw qld nt tas noT the  USA :D :D

How do you know that those foreign companies are going to forward the 10% GST they tack onto the price to the Australian Government to in-turn pay the States?

How is it being policed?

Post by FRED. on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:29pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:18pm:

How do you know that those foreign companies are going to forward the 10% GST they tack onto the price to the Australian Government to in-turn pay the States?

How is it being policed?

through the TAXATION DEPT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! >:(

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:33pm
"through the TAXATION DEPT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

How do you know that a company in a foreign country has anything to do with the Australian Taxation Office?

They could just pocket the 10% and go on their merry way.

The Australian Taxation Office has no idea that I might be renewing my Norton Anti-Virus software on-line.

Post by FRED. on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:39pm
[quote author=madmonk link=1539479859/17#17 date=1539484381]"through the TAXATION DEPT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

How do you know that a company in a foreign country has anything to do with the Australian Taxation Office?

The Australian Taxation Office has no idea that I might be renewing my Norton Anti-Virus software on-line.

[

OMG  its collect at point of sale like  every thing 

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:40pm
Collect at point?

On a foreign transaction?

Are you sure?

p.s.

For example ... Norton is a US company but it runs out of Ireland for online sales.

Why would a company based in Ireland have to report anything to the Australian Taxation office?

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:49pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:33pm:

I don't know how the Australian Govt. managed to
pressure Norton into that.
I'd love to know what the threat was?

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:51pm
I suspect that the Australian government doesn't actually care if it gets the 10% at all ... so long as they have imposed an equivalent cost on the person buying the goods, they reckon they have done their bit to help Aussie companies ... trouble is, I can't buy an Australian made Norton Anti-virus service made in Australia.

Post by FRED. on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:55pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:40pm:
Collect at point?

On a foreign transaction?

Are you sure?

p.s.

For example ... Norton is a US company but it runs out of Ireland for online sales.

Why would a company based in Ireland have to report anything to the Australian Taxation office?

ASK YOUR MUM!

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:56pm
Mum says: those companies are laughing at the Australian Government.  ;)

Post by FRED. on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:58pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:49pm:

DO BUSINESS IN AUSTRALIA PAYTAX IN AUSTRALIA   OMFG

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:59pm

which states ?? :D LOL

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:01pm
gee. So much angst.

I remember on this forum people wanting GST imposed on those small imports, so the local sellers could compete.

And poor Capt Nemo didn't know GST was charged on all imports, previously only over $1000. Charged at point of entry generally. That is Customs & Excise.

Where they come in directly, from China for instance, but sold on ebay - ebay does the collection. A cost of doing business. The same as any importer.

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:02pm

FRED. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:58pm:

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 12:49pm:

DO BUSINESS IN AUSTRALIA PAYTAX IN AUSTRALIA   OMFG

What if Norton said - sorry we don't collect tax for the Australian Govt?

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:06pm

lee wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:01pm:
gee. So much angst.

I remember on this forum people wanting GST imposed on those small imports, so the local sellers could compete.

And poor Capt Nemo didn't know GST was charged on all imports, previously only over $1000. Charged at point of entry generally. That is Customs & Excise.

Where they come in directly, from China for instance, but sold on ebay - ebay does the collection. A cost of doing business. The same as any importer.

Lee, I'm talking abot a purely electronic transaction. It's online payment for an online non-tangible product. It's software online, not even a package or DVD ...

It's ridiculous that I have to pay 10% more to a company based in Ireland for something that I can't buy an Australian made version of anyway.

Tangible goods? Maybe an argument for that. But software?

Really?

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:08pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:02pm:

I love "What ifs".

What if the Australian Government told Norton their goods were banned in Australia?

Of course you could fly overseas, buy it there and come back. Don't declare anything.

Singapore has a GST. I guess you need to to somewhere else. It used to be Sim Lim Square was the hub of pirate software. You might get a cut rate there. Along with a few nasty surprises.

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:13pm
I don't like paying 10% extra for no benefit.

A "smear of magnetism" moves "money" from my bank account's "smear of magnetism" to a company in Ireland's bank account's "smear of magnetism".

In return, I receive a copy of a "smear of magnetism" to my laptop's hard drive in the form of a "smear of magnetism".

Why does the Australian Taxation office have to get involved at all?  ;D

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:25pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:13pm:
I don't like paying 10% extra for no benefit.

A "smear of magnetism" moves "money" from my bank account's "smear of magnetism" to a company in Ireland's bank account's "smear of magnetism".

In return, I receive a copy of a "smear of magnetism" to my laptop's hard drive in the form of a "smear of magnetism".

Why does the Australian Taxation office have to get involved at all?  ;D

because they are thieves :(

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:28pm
Yep. Reckon they are.

Post by Dnarever on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:31pm
1) Throw this Liberal government out ASAP.

2) Never deal with Harvey Norman and such again.

Post by Swagman on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:35pm
....so Labor's platform is dropping all taxes.....cool

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:38pm

lee wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:08pm:

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:02pm:

I love "What ifs".

What if the Australian Government told Norton their goods were banned in Australia?

Of course you could fly overseas, buy it there and come back. Don't declare anything.

Singapore has a GST. I guess you need to to somewhere else. It used to be Sim Lim Square was the hub of pirate software. You might get a cut rate there. Along with a few nasty surprises.

How could the Australian Govt. ban Norton products in Australia?

I'm curious.

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:40pm

Swagman wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:35pm:
....so Labor's platform is dropping all taxes.....cool

Oh my no!

Little Billy is going to raise taxes.

For example, removing from 850,000 retirees their franked dividend tax return - equals on average $5,000 per year each.

Ouch!

In some cases that works out to be about 30% of the retiree's income.  :o

Post by Swagman on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:40pm
......mind you, the GST is not as discriminating as progressive income tax. 

Progressive income tax is a much more accurate representation of theft. :(

Post by Sir lastnail on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:45pm

Dnarever wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:31pm:
1) Throw this Liberal government out ASAP.

2) Never deal with Harvey Norman and such again.

his shops are very poorly stocked and he always wants to flog expensive stuff. Try buying a 10 buck fan from old Harvey. That dude is so arrogant he wouldn't sell anything as cheap as a 10 buck fan :(

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:11pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:38pm:

How does the government ban dangerous goods? it has a list of banned imports.

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:13pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 1:13pm:
Why does the Australian Taxation office have to get involved at all? 

yay. Way to go. Then the GST would be spent where it was raised.

Damn. That puts the takers of more GST than they collect in a hole.

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:15pm

lee wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:11pm:

Yeah, but Norton is just a "smear of magnetism", not an actual tangible object.

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:16pm

It stops them at the border.
With the internet, there are no borders.

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:19pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:16pm:

Except when they come through the post. perhaps they shouldn't have their name on the packaging.

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:27pm

lee wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:19pm:

Except when they come through the post. perhaps they shouldn't have their name on the packaging.

No - you pay by credit card or maybe PayPal & you download it
& then receive a license key number via email.
Unless our Govt. has a way to block Norton
by leaning on the internet providers I don't see how they could stop it.

Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:31pm
Zackery ... Extremely difficult to ban an online transaction.

In fact, you know the crackdown on the so-called "torrent sites"?

Well ... I have it on good authority that one can still access "torrent sites" despite the government crackdown. ... if one knows where to look ... At least - so I'm told.

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:32pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:27pm:

You mean like the way they stopped the pirate book sites? Gave 'em a list and said they were banned.

Post by cods on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:33pm
has shortarse promise to take the GST off internet foreign imported goods then???>.... ::) ::) ::)

it will probably be on his next list of pressy hand outs... :)

that should stop rusty complaining about paying any taxes....he cant stand doing that... :)

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:33pm

lee wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:32pm:

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:27pm:

You mean like the way they stopped the pirate book sites? Gave 'em a list and said they were banned.

Maybe - I'd like to know how Norton & Microsoft were threatened?

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:36pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:33pm:

You mean like when they transferred their profits offshore?

Post by Bobby on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:39pm

lee wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:36pm:

Bobby. wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:33pm:

You mean like when they transferred their profits offshore?

That too.

Post by lee on Oct 14th, 2018 at 2:51pm
"Microsoft makes major settlement with Australian Taxation Office"

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/microsoft-makes-major-settlement-with-australian-taxation-office/news-story/d52e5f6885b60830d128d79654d9db0f

It seems Norton may actually pay tax in Australia.

Does the email come from Australia or elsewhere?

Post by Bam on Oct 14th, 2018 at 10:08pm

Great Firewall of China.

Post by Bias_2012 on Oct 15th, 2018 at 1:29am

Blimey.

How annoying.

Apparently, in the case of eBay Australia at least, it's only on the "service" component of the GST. That keeps it within Australia

I've practically stopped buying overseas, which is what the Govt wanted, but the Aussie dollar is low due to the Govt's mismanagement of the economy ... so both ways, the GST and the low dollar are stopping me

The second hand items I was buying can't be purchased in Australia, and they added in a small way to the national GDP

Yeah, not buying from Harvey Norman either

Post by Bobby on Oct 15th, 2018 at 5:34am

Bam wrote on Oct 14th, 2018 at 10:08pm:

Great Firewall of China.

It looks like our Govt. has threatened to make internet providers block certain sites -
just like in China.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.