General Discussion >> General Board >> Pell's sentencing
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1552358982

Message started by Aussie on Mar 12th, 2019 at 12:49pm

Title: Pell's sentencing
Post by Aussie on Mar 12th, 2019 at 12:49pm
Wednesday and will be covered live from the Court Room on ABC TV.

FMD.

Why?

Title: Re: Pell's sentencing
Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:07pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 12:49pm:

FMD.

Why?

To satisfy the insatiable blood lust of people like Bobby.

Post by PZ547 on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:08pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:07pm:

FMD.

Why?

Leave people to their blood lust thank you

Makes a change from pedos' rrs lust

Post by Aussie on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:14pm
It really is absurd.  Given the secrecy and lack of total transparency in the two Trials, we now get to the other extreme.  Gee, I wonder when we will get a live TV Channel dedicated to covering ALL sentencing, NOT just that of the tall poppies.

Zero equality before the Law these days.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:21pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:14pm:
It really is absurd.  Given the secrecy and lack of total transparency in the two Trials, we now get to the other extreme.  Gee, I wonder when we will get a live TV Channel dedicated to covering ALL sentencing, NOT just that of the tall poppies.

Zero equality before the Law these days.

Mob voyeurism at its worse.

Less than a century ago, 20,000 people traveled to Kentucky to see a white woman hang a black man.

We haven't progressed much.

Post by Gordon on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:48pm

FMD.

Why?

Hey Aussie, I consulted Google for the meaning of FMD and the very first search result is shown in my attached screenshot. Why would you say such a thing?

free image hosting

Post by Gordon on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:50pm
WTF?? ( World Taekwondo Federation)  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by Aussie on Mar 12th, 2019 at 2:11pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 1:48pm:

FMD.

Why?

Hey Aussie, I consulted Google for the meaning of FMD and the very first search result is shown in my attached screenshot. Why would you say such a thing?

free image hosting

Maybe you could stop being such a successful try-hard and look for the other meanings (not zero in on the one which suits your pathetic and grubby agenda) you deadshit.

Post by Gordon on Mar 12th, 2019 at 2:48pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 2:11pm:

FMD.

Why?

free image hosting

Maybe you could stop being such a successful try-hard and look for the other meanings (not zero in on the one which suits your pathetic and grubby agenda) you deadshit.

https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=GGF

Post by cods on Mar 12th, 2019 at 2:57pm
gordy!   must you?

Post by Gordon on Mar 12th, 2019 at 3:08pm

cods wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 2:57pm:
gordy!   must you?

Yeah  ;)

Post by cods on Mar 12th, 2019 at 3:10pm
bad doggie!

Post by Gordon on Mar 12th, 2019 at 3:17pm

cods wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 3:10pm:
bad doggie!

It's just Turdo having yet another whinge at the media, so his thread needs a turd dropped on it.

When he's sentenced, we'll start a real thread :)

Post by Valkie on Mar 12th, 2019 at 4:46pm
He should have been a muzzo

They get away with it all the time.

Post by BigP on Mar 12th, 2019 at 4:53pm

FMD.

Why?

I can recall seeing a little FMS on "Bad Santa" a couple of years back

Post by Gordon on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:28pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 2:11pm:

FMD.

Why?

free image hosting

Hay Aussie, if language like that was used in the messages to Tally, no wonder she was so freaked out  :D

Post by Bobby. on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:36pm

FMD.

Why?

What have I done to deserve such a comment?
This is about Pell not me.

Post by BigP on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:38pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:36pm:

FMD.

Why?

Bob, just be happy that they are thinking about you mate

Post by Bobby. on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:39pm

BigP wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:38pm:

FMD.

Why?

Bob, just be happy that they are thinking about you mate

I don't want Greggy thinking poofy things about me - it's sick.

Post by Aussie on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:41pm

FMD.

Why?

Maybe this....constantly?

Post by Mary Black on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:44pm
Bobby is just as entitled to his opinion as you are to yours.

get buggered you front bottom ...  ;D ;D ;D

Post by Agnes on Mar 12th, 2019 at 7:12pm

Mary Black wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:44pm:

;D ;D ;D

Post by Bobby. on Mar 12th, 2019 at 7:27pm

Mary Black wrote on Mar 12th, 2019 at 6:44pm:

Thre's nothing wrong with a good christian hanging.
In Pell's case the evidence is too weak for a hanging -
it's one man's word against another.

Post by Sad KangAnon on Mar 13th, 2019 at 6:03am
Pell is a significant and important person not just in Australia but around the world given his rank amongst the church.

It does make sense.

I've read what some people have said and in the context of everything they'd said on the topic before, I know they're not defending Pell, but the knee-jerk reaction is that they are.

Such a buggered up situation, from what he did to how not only his victims but how the community has to suffer too.

If it is televised, I won't be watching.  I'll read about it and hopefully, never have to think about him ever again.

Post by Pedro Curevo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 7:45am
There was more than one witness against Pell...he had a long history of abusing boys.

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 7:52am

Pedro Curevo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 7:45am:
There was more than one witness against Pell...he had a long history of abusing boys.

Not in this case - only 1 witness.

I reckon Pell will get 2 years jail.

Post by BigP on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:00am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 7:52am:

Im thinking a little more than that Bob,,

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:22am

SadKangaroo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 6:03am:
Pell is a significant and important person not just in Australia but around the world given his rank amongst the church.

It does make sense.

I've read what some people have said and in the context of everything they'd said on the topic before, I know they're not defending Pell, but the knee-jerk reaction is that they are.

Such a buggered up situation, from what he did to how not only his victims but how the community has to suffer too.

If it is televised, I won't be watching.  I'll read about it and hopefully, never have to think about him ever again.

Well said sir!

(However, I will be watching the sentencing.)

With any luck, he will cop a few years in jail and be defrocked by the Pope.

Also, hopefully, his appeal will fail.

If it does, perhaps we should ask him: : "Did you like it?"  >:(

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:27am

BigP wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:00am:

We'll see - only about an hour to hear it.
I'm tuned in to 3AW.

Post by Gordon on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:34am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:27am:

I'm tuned in to 3AW.

We're having an office sweep, winner takes all.
I drew 2 1/2 years.

Post by PZ547 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:35am

Captain Nemo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:22am:

SadKangaroo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 6:03am:

It does make sense.

Well said sir!

(However, I will be watching the sentencing.)

With any luck, he will cop a few years in jail and be defrocked by the Pope.

Also, hopefully, his appeal will fail.

If it does, perhaps we should ask him: : "Did you like it?"  >:(

Yep.  The defrocking bit might sting.  And incarceration rather than being allowed back to his luxury, gold tapped, Vatican apartment, might vex him a little

chuck in a hair-shirt for the cell and one of those knotted self-whipping gizmos for a bit of cell-bound light relief

but he's already been rewarded, life-long, for his chosen path

and who doubts that he's already been roundly forgiven by his frock-wearing chums in high places

if he does spend time in Aussie prison, I've an inkling people like Howard will see to it that he receives his daily portion of foie gras and fine wines.  There must be quite a few R.Catholic guards in prison who, like a huge chunk of the Australian populace, truly believe (because they believe their own salvation depends on it) that Pell is their god's right hand man who was set up and or sacrificed

Basically, Pell won.  He's 77.  What can hurt criminal filth when they hit 77 years of age?  Not as if he'll be in general population.  And even if he were, he'd be a celebrity hearing confession in the exercise yard with endless willing backsides at his disposal

He's untouchable, impervious and his conceit will remain as he treads nobly around, dispensing blessings

I suspect though that he'll suffer 'medical emergencies' and will spend most of his time in hospitals, waited on hand and foot.  Or will be despatched to some wealthy follower's mansion while the general public believes he's suffering in prison

He got away with it lifelong and will continue to sneer at the lunacy of courts in imagining they have the right to touch his holy hem

Post by Gordon on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:38am

Gordon wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:34am:

I'm tuned in to 3AW.

I drew 2 1/2 years.

Neville from accounts drew 4 years. I think I'll make a side deal with him to share our winnings.

Post by PZ547 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:47am
Pell knows where the bodies are hidden

It's a show for the plebs

He wins either way.  He's either transferred to hospital or 'house arrest' shortly after the show ends, or periodically the daily rags will run an article about how he's bringing hope to lowly prisoners -- as penance

Pell won't lose.  Half the big money pedos and pedo pollies won't let him suffer and he knows it

Post by BigP on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:00am

PZ547 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:47am:

He wins either way.  He's either transferred to hospital or 'house arrest' shortly after the show ends, or periodically the daily rags will run an article about how he's bringing hope to lowly prisoners -- as penance

Pell won't lose.  Half the big money pedos and pedo pollies won't let him suffer and he knows it

He lost the minute they charged him,

Post by PZ547 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:20am

BigP wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:00am:

PZ547 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:47am:

He lost the minute they charged him,

Nup.  He won.  He's like the bank robber who doesn't get caught until his dotage and with the money all spent

Pell is supposed to put the lid on public outrage after the long delayed investigations

the kids were used and admit they still feel like soiled tissues, sixty years on

what difference does Pell make, other than he's a tall poppy who's been publicly slapped

They can't take away the pedo enjoyment he's had for the past 60 or more years.  He has those memories to keep him warm even if his tool no longer functions

he spat on everyone and that spit cannot be removed

he won and he knows it.  Just a man in a frock getting a bit of a slap down for public consumption when he could be dead next week

Some things cannot be 'healed' or fixed

Pell won't suffer.  The kids suffered. Their parents too. And their spouses and children and grandchildren, because these things take several generations before they lose their power to pollute

The question should be -- WHY have there been so many R. Catholic pedo scandals in the past several decades?

were pedos seeded within the R. Catholic church and if so by whom?

because it's clear the R.Catholic church has been severely diminished in public estimation as result

so was it an intentional long-range plan to crash the R.Catholics?

OR -- are pedos attracted to and welcomed within religions generally?  Is the clergy a good fit for pedos?

Nothing ends with Pell, regardless of what they do with him

but many will choose to believe this Pell dog and pony show heralds a new, clean beginning for religions and an end to their systemic corruption and depravity

people are easily satisfied, quite often

Post by Bias_2012 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:40am
Looks like he'll get a harsh sentence, two years in jail I'd say

Post by buzzanddidj on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:50am

FMD.

Why?

I think the interest is to see if he could break Robb Oakeshott's record
I believe he's DONE it
We have a new champ

Post by PZ547 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:53am

Bias_2012 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:40am:

where's the sarcasm smiley? Don't want people to think you're serious

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:10am

Bias_2012 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:40am:

I predict 6 years.

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:11am
So, effectively, 3 years 8 months.

Better than nothing.

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:12am
He got 6 years but he'll get out in 3 years 8 months.

Post by PZ547 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:13am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:12am:

how soon before he has to be 'hospitalised'

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:14am

He could be out in a few months.

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:15am
Chief Justice Peter Kidd at the County Court in Melbourne  has been sentenced Cardinal George Pell to a minimum of 3 years and 8 months minimum to be served, his total sentence is 8 years and 6 months(Judge Kidd gave discounts on this total)

Justice Kidd condemned Cardinal Pell's actions and pilloried his behaviour in a position of trust and leadership in the Church

Justice Kidd stated he was not going to be punished for the failings of the Catholic Church, he stated that Pell's behaviour was a grave abuse of power

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:16am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:14am:

If the appeal succeeds.

I hope it fails.

The biggest punishment then would be the Pope defrocking him.  8-)

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:17am

Captain Nemo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:16am:

If the appeal succeeds.

I hope it fails.

You hope it fails?

That's rather odd.

I just hope for the right outcome.

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:17am

In a box?

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:18am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:17am:

If the appeal succeeds.

I hope it fails.

You hope it fails?

That's rather odd.

I just hope for the right outcome.

I have formed an opinion about his character based on many other events.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:20am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:17am:

In a box?

In a chauffeur driven car.

He's appealing the conviction.

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:21am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:20am:

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:17am:

In a box?

In a chauffeur driven car.

He's appealing the conviction.

His health is bad.
He could die in prison.

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:28am
I watched the entire summation. I consider Judge Kidd's words to be well considered and intelligent

He gave weight to the victim's rights but  also to Pell's medical condition and the fact that he is in the twilight of his life

Pell's legal team will appeal this decision however, Judge Kidd's summation was brilliant and I can't see how an appeal will succeed. It may but it will need an almighty brilliant effort from the best brains in the legal profession to achieve it

Judge Kidd's sentencing was totally convincing and well balanced

Post by PZ547 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:30am

If the appeal succeeds.

I hope it fails.

a for public consumption defrocking only

Remember Pell's position within the Vatican?

He knows way too much to worry about anyone doing him any harm

but as long as the public believes justice has been seen to be done, it's all sweet

people are so dumb it's a crime to allow them to keep breeding

bring on the robots for a better world

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:31am

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:28am:
I watched the entire summation. I consider Judge Kidd's words to be well considered and intelligent

He gave weight to the victim's rights but  also to Pell's medical condition and the fact that he is in the twilight of his life

Pell's legal team will appeal this decision however, Judge Kidd's summation was brilliant and I can't see how an appeal will succeed. It may but it will need an almighty brilliant effort from the best brains in the legal profession to achieve it

Well, they're appealing the conviction actually.

Moreover, Kidd's sentencing summation will have no affect on that process.

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:37am
No Gregg I didn't say that it would, however Kidd was able to enunciate the strength of the case against Pell

Justice Kidd continually underlined that it was Pell on trial and not the Catholic Church at large

This will be important when  it comes to finding grounds for the appeal

Judge Kidd also ordered George Pell be placed on the Sex Offenders Register and that a physical sample be taken from him for purposes of identification

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:39am

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:37am:
No Gregg I didn't say that it would, however Kidd was able to enunciate the strength of the case against Pell

Justice Kidd continually underlined that it was Pell on trial and not the Catholic Church at large

Judge Kidd also ordered George Pell be placed on the Sex Offenders Register and that a physical sample be taken from him for purposes of identification

They already have the (three) grounds for appeal.

Kidd's sentencing is neither important nor relevant in regard to the appeal process.

I agree that he did a good job, though.

Post by PZ547 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:40am

Good post.  You've stuck to the facts and done so without emotion.  Well said  [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:44am

PZ547 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:40am:

Good post.  You've stuck to the facts and done so without emotion.  Well said  [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Actually, he didn't stick to the facts at all.

Kidd's sentencing is completely irrelevant in the appeal process.

Moreover, the grounds for appeal have already been identified.

I agree with red when he says Kidd did a good job, though.

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:45am
I also watched Kidd's sentencing remarks in their entirety.

He did a good job.

However, as per usual, I am dissatisfied by the relatively short non-parole period. This is typical of many sentences handed out.

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:54am
A statement read on behalf of victim "J":

Here is a rough transcription of J’s statement, read by his lawyer, Viv Waller. A choir boy in the 1990s, J has remained anonymous throughout the process. Waller reminds the media and others that it is an offence publish details that may identify the victim.

“I respect what the judge said. It was meticulous and it was considered. It is hard for me to allow myself to feel the gravity of this moment.

The moment when the sentence is handed down, the moment when justice is done. It is hard for me, for the time being, to take comfort in this outcome.

I appreciate that the court has acknowledged what was inflicted upon me as a child. However, there is no rest for me.

Everything is overshadowed by the fourth coming appeal.

I am aware of a lot of public comment by people who are critical of my evidence. Regardless of the outcome of the appeal - a few facts will always remain.

I gave evidence for several days. I was cross-examined by Pell’s defence counsel. A jury has unanimously accepted the truth of my evidence.

Pell chose not to give evidence. The jury did not hear from him. He did not allow himself to be cross-examined.

I have played my part as best I can. I took the difficult step of reporting to police about a high-profile person, and I stood up to give my evidence.”

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:58am

He got 6 years ...

Correct.

... but he'll get out in 3 years 8 months.

There is no guarantee that he'll be granted parole.

"The non-parole period fixes the earliest date that a State offender may be released on parole.

"The non-parole period does not determine the date upon which the State offender will be released upon parole.

"It operates to fix a time when the parole board may itself decide if and when the offender is to be released on parole."

Post by Bias_2012 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:59am

Captain Nemo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:45am:
I also watched Kidd's sentencing remarks in their entirety.

He did a good job.

However, as per usual, I am dissatisfied by the relatively short non-parole period. This is typical of many sentences handed out.

He got discounts as well, 8 years 6 months reduced to 6 years down to non parole of 3 years 8 months

Now if he appeals and it fails, there's a possibility some of those discounts could be taken away and the original sentence increased

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:03am
It is interesting to learn that Pell did not take the stand in his defense during the trial. He did not present for cross-examination against the testimony of "J".

That tells me that the defence were worried.

Very interesting indeed.

Post by cods on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:05am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:44am:

PZ547 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:40am:

Actually, he didn't stick to the facts at all.

Kidd's sentencing is completely irrelevant in the appeal process.

Moreover, the grounds for appeal have already been identified.

I agree with red when he says Kidd did a good job, though.

didnt the judge also mention there had been no evidence of any more complaints since 1996...

the judge can only rule on what was presented in court and the outcome...he went to great lengths  to make sure he was not judging him on any thing the church has been accused of....I seriously believe a lot of people do hold him responsible for the Church..

one of the reasons  I believe he didnt speak in court....is because he knows he should have dealt with the accusation a lot better..........in hindsight  :( :(

I expected the judge to give him 1 year for each guilty...which would have been 5 years....the sentence seems fair  he has lost everything he aspired too...

even if he is pronounced not guilty he can never get back whats hes lost....may those calling for his death    think about that...

Post by Sir lastnail on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:09am
Pell should be burnt at the stake just like they used to do to others.

For some reason stupid people keep giving them money each week so of course the corruption perpetuates :(

And then their is the stupid gov giving churches tax free status. They should be taxed like any other business:(

Post by Gordon on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:09am

Gordon wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:38am:

Gordon wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:34am:

I'm tuned in to 3AW.

I drew 2 1/2 years.

Neville from accounts drew 4 years. I think I'll make a side deal with him to share our winnings.

Sanjay from IT go the loot.
Typical.

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:42am

Captain Nemo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:03am:
It is interesting to learn that Pell did not take the stand in his defense during the trial. He did not present for cross-examination against the testimony of "J".

Very interesting indeed.

I wonder if any of the jury are Catholics?

Post by tickleandrose on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:44am

Very interesting indeed.

Perhaps its for another reason.  I remember, a couple years back, when they wanted to get him to Australia for questions, some reports indicated that he was already at that time diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. 

And I have not seen him speak recently publicly. 

If it is true, then his testimony would be next to worthless anyway depending on severity. 

AND that opens another question...   If a person is guilty of something he did.  But through some... say, medical issues like stroke and dementia, he or she cant remember it at all.  And all he and she know now is that she or he is in prison for doing something he or she have no memories of.    Should we show mercy at times like this?

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:03pm
Was there any mercy for the 2nd dead victim who Pell sexually abused at the age of 13 and who almost immediately began a lifelong drug habit, that he died of at the age of 30...what about what mercy he experienced at the hands of a fiend?

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:10pm
The  Judge mentioned that there have never been any other  SUBSTANTIATED complaints against Pell since the allegations he has been convicted of

It doesn't mean there have not been many other complaints, clearly there have been plenty

I would venture to suggest that there are more Pell victims out there but who cannot face the blaze of the public  spotlight on them should they come forward

Make no mistake about it, victims often blame themselves, particularly in regard to those abusers who hold lofty office

Post by tickleandrose on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:13pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:10pm:
The  Judge mentioned that the have never been any other  SUBSTANTIATED complaints against Pell since the allegations he has been convicted of

It doesn't mean there have not been many other complaints, clearly there have been plenty

I would venture to suggest that there are more Pell victims out there but who cannot face the blaze of the public  spotlight on them should they come forward

Make no mistake about it, victims often blame themselves, particularly in those abusers hold lofty office

I understand. But as a civilized collective society, we like to think that we are better than the criminals that we sort to punish. 

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:17pm
I think Judge Kidd has been merciful to George Pell

Considering the fact that one of his victim's is dead, with little doubt that his drug induced death started  years ago, when he was 13 years old and was abused by Pell

I think 3years 8 months is tiny in comparison to the effect Pell has had on his victims

Post by Sir lastnail on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:20pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 11:42am:

Very interesting indeed.

just imagine if longprong was a juror ! How f.cled would that be :(

Post by cods on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:24pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:10pm:
The  Judge mentioned that there have never been any other  SUBSTANTIATED complaints against Pell since the allegations he has been convicted of

Make no mistake about it, victims often blame themselves, particularly in regard to those abusers who hold lofty office

I see so you are being SELECTIVE  with words..

maybe he means   they didnt charge him   which means....WHAT EXACTLY?.....this has been blown wideopen since the ROYAL began   no need to hide...come right out and say it...theres 4 corners..60 min all dying to pay anyone for every little word....

how do you feel about others condemning him to death even burning at the stake?... ::) ::) ::)

this sounds like mob action at its worst?......why not throw him to the crowd and let them deal with  ::) ::)justice........

you have come to your verdict even though you werent in court......

a lot of people still claim OJ is innocent.....

but I do hear the tide is turning for Michael Jackson..

Post by Redmond Neck on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:25pm
Where is Rumpole Of The Sunshine Coast commenting of this?

Strange he isnt correcting all you novices on law on where you are obviously wrong!

He must be out there using his big hands on the golf course!

;)

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:02pm
I have always said that you cannot bury the truth forever

It will come tunnelling through on you, no matter how hard you try to suppress it

History is littered with the corpses of truth suppressors down through the ages

Tyrants fall into this category and make no mistake about it....today a tyrant got his come uppence in court

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:30pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:03pm:
Was there any mercy for the 2nd dead victim who Pell sexually abused at the age of 13 and who almost immediately began a lifelong drug habit, that he died of at the age of 30...what about what mercy he experienced at the hands of a fiend?

The one who said he'd never been abused?

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:34pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:17pm:

Considering the fact that one of his victim's is dead, with little doubt that his drug induced death started  years ago, when he was 13 years old and was abused by Pell

I think 3years 8 months is tiny in comparison to the effect Pell has had on his victims

"The other victim died several years ago from a heroin overdose. He never reported the abuse and denied anything happened when he was asked by his mother."

Post by Redmond Neck on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:44pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:34pm:

"The other victim died several years ago from a heroin overdose. He never reported the abuse and denied anything happened when he was asked by his mother."

AS alrady been commented by many in regard to this case, maybe he was too embarrassed to tell his mother, especially if they were a very religious catholic family!

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:46pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:44pm:

Maybe he was too embarrassed to tell his mother, especially if they were a very religious catholic family!

Maybe he wasn't abused.

Let's look at what we know:

- never reported any abuse

- denied anything happened when questioned by his mother

Hmmm  :-/

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 2:25pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 10:28am:

Gawd you post crap.  The only appeal made has been on conviction....NOT the sentence, and I doubt there will be any complaint about the sentence from his Lawyers.

I was at Golf...did not see it....and I doubt it would have been as wonderful as you suggest Mr Baron.  Sentencing is a dime a dozen mundane formal routine, and language used is virtually pro forma.

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 2:27pm

What appeal????????  There is only one afoot....and that is against the conviction NOT the sentence.  You are posting crap.

(They'd be nuts to appeal the sentence which is on the light side...or towards the 'vanilla' end.   :)  )

Post by BigP on Mar 13th, 2019 at 2:34pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:25pm:

Strange he isnt correcting all you novices on law on where you are obviously wrong!

;)

Those f@ken beady eyes are pretty good at spotting the ball as well I would think :)

Post by Redmond Neck on Mar 13th, 2019 at 2:35pm

;)

Wow Steely Eyed Rumpole the know all has arrived!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 2:53pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 2:35pm:

;)

Wow Steely Eyed Rumpole the know all has arrived!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

And don't you far king forget that!

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:18pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 12:20pm:

Very interesting indeed.

Maybe the first trial stuffed up because there was a biased Catholic on the jury?
There's a lot they're not telling us.
We know nothing about the jury -
absolutely nothing.

Post by Redmond Neck on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:22pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:18pm:

Very interesting indeed.

Maybe the first trial stuffed up because there was a biased Catholic on the jury?
absolutely nothing.

I dont suppose Rumpole was on the jury?

Just a thought!  ;D ;D ;D

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:35pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:22pm:

Very interesting indeed.

absolutely nothing.

We don't know how the jury was selected.
What if someone said -

"I'm a Catholic and I could never convict the beloved Cardinal Pell?"

Would they be excluded?

Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:41pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:35pm:

Very interesting indeed.

absolutely nothing.

What if someone said -

Would they be excluded?

yes, they would be excluded.

The jury is selected at random from the jury "pool".

Each potential jury person is asked if there is any reason they feel they cannot deliver an unbiased verdict.

14 jury members were selected and the two "extra" ones were excluded by ballot after hearing the first stages of the trial.

All pretty normal procedure.

I was once on the jury "pool" in Melbourne and got as far as the courtroom for the selection process, but was not selected at random as they reached the required number before me.

All very interesting but a tad boring in the end because I missed out.

I would have liked to have been selected for the jury.

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:45pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:41pm:

Very interesting indeed.

absolutely nothing.

What if someone said -

Would they be excluded?

yes, they would be excluded.

The jury is selected at random from the jury "pool".

Each potential jury person is asked if there is any reason they feel they cannot deliver an unbiased verdict.

14 jury members were selected and the two "extra" ones were excluded by ballot after hearing the first stages of the trial.

All pretty normal procedure.

I was once on the jury "pool" in Melbourne and got as far as the courtroom for the selection process, but was not selected at random as they reached the required number before me.

All very interesting but a tad boring in the end because I missed out.

I would have liked to have been selected for the jury.

Thanks - I didn't know that.
Our resident lawyer should have told me.

Post by Black Orchid on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:46pm

AS alrady been commented by many in regard to this case, maybe he was too embarrassed to tell his mother, especially if they were a very religious catholic family!

That's the whole point there are too many "maybes" which negates the criteria of "beyond a reasonable doubt".

Post by Bojack Horseman on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:48pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:46pm:

Maybe he was too embarrassed to tell his mother, especially if they were a very religious catholic family!

Maybe he wasn't abused.

And we know that abusers often don't come forward and deny out of fear, shame, guilt.

My statement the othert day stands you're looking for any little excuse.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:51pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:48pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 1:46pm:

Maybe he wasn't abused.

And we know that abusers often don't come forward and deny out of fear, shame, guilt.

My statement the othert day stands you're looking for any little excuse.

I'm not looking for excuses at all. I have no horse in this race.

I'm merely stating a fact: it's possible he wasn't abused.

Post by Bojack Horseman on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:52pm
The jury decided he was. I'm satisified.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 3:55pm

Very interesting indeed.

absolutely nothing.

What if someone said -

Would they be excluded?

One of the jury members was a church pastor.

Pell didn't challenge any of the jurors.

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:05pm

How do you know those "facts?"

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:06pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:05pm:

I read the news today, oh boy.

"Pell had the right to challenge up to three jurors as their numbers were pulled out of a ballot box and their occupations read out.

"He challenged none.

"Nine men and five women were sworn in, among them a church pastor, a mathematician, a chef and a schoolteacher."

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:15pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:06pm:

Aussie wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:05pm:

I read the news today, oh boy.

"Pell had the right to challenge up to three jurors as their numbers were pulled out of a ballot box and their occupations read out.

"He challenged none.

"Nine men and five women were sworn in, among them a church pastor, a mathematician, a chef and a schoolteacher."

Okay......I can't remember whether the Jury Panel lists we were given in Qld included occupations.  Name and address definitely.

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:35pm
Too bad you were at golf Aussie, then you wouldn't be guilty of posting the mindless crap that you have, which is par for the course for you on this subject. Your prejudiced Catholic mindset has your brain on tilt

Justice Kidd's comments clearly illustrated that Cardinal George Pell was guilty of carrying out horrific acts which Kidd described in chapter and verse

No doubt you the King of Queensland Solicitors, will have a problem with that but Justice Kidd's summation was heavy on facts and  depending on what accent of the trial he was commenting on, in what I thought was a brilliant summation on everything ,in favour and not in favour of Pell, depending on what aspect of the trial he was commenting on

Kidd's summation truly reflected the balance of the scales of Justice and he displayed his absolute independence as Judge

Too bad you were busy chasing a little white pill around some grass to view it ..You might have learned something

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:40pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:35pm:
Too bad you were at golf Aussie, then you wouldn't be guilty of posting the mindless crap that you have, which is par for the course for you on this subject. Your prejudiced Catholic mindset has your brain on tilt

Justice Kidd's comments clearly illustrated that Cardinal George Pell was guilty of carrying out horrific acts which Kidd described in chapter and verse

No doubt you the King of Queensland Solicitors, will have a problem with that but Justice Kidd's summation was heavy on facts and  depending on what accent of the trial he was commenting on, in what I thought was a brilliant summation on everything ,in favour and not in favour of Pell, depending on what aspect of the trial he was commenting on

Kidd's summation truly reflected the balance of the scales of Justice and he displayed his absolute independence as Judge

Too bad you were busy chasing a little white pill around some grass to view it ..You might have learned something

I am a Calathumpian, formerly a Presbyterian.  Not a Catholic.  I have been in Court for literally many hundreds of sentencings, and they all are as you describe.....well, some Magistrates maybe not.  That is par for the legal course.  Legal grist for the mill.  Mundane and not exceptional.  Nothing magical about it all.

Why are you suggesting that Pell will appeal that sentence?

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:47pm
So you watched  it? Did you have someone record it for you? Your last comment seems to indicate you viewed it?

Yes, my opinion is that an appeal will be launched, nothing more, it's just an opinion,

I have followed this trial just like the majority of Australians. This was an incredibly  landmark trial. The whole world was watching. I believe the first time a Catholic Cardinal has ever been put on trial

Personally I think Judge Kidd did Australia proud with his thoughtful and intelligent sentencing comments

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:54pm

Yes, my opinion is that an appeal will be launched, nothing more, it's just an opinion,

Based on what?  Do you honestly assert that what Pell was given is manifestly excessive?

"Landmark?"  Bullshit.  Novel...in that a Cardinal was the Accused....yes, but landmark?  Absurd.

Post by Violet Crumble on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:57pm
So, Pell got gaol for a few years.

Stop worrying about him ... think of the other paedophiles out there who don't have anything to do with the Catholic Church.

They are everywhere ... raping little kids, or thinking about it ... sick, sick, sick.

Post by BigP on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:59pm

Violet Crumble wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:57pm:

Stop worrying about him ... think of the other paedophiles out there who don't have anything to do with the Catholic Church.

They are everywhere ... raping little kids, or thinking about it ... sick, sick, sick.

Jesus, I dont know how I made it through my childhood without being ass fisted,,

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:01pm
I have said this before...one victim took to heavy drug use shortly after  the time of the offence, he was 13 years old at the time. There is an obvious correlation between these scenarios

This victim died of a drug overdose at 30. His sister has stated that he took to drug use directly following his sexual abuse and that it culminated in him dying from an overdose

The other victim stated that the episode ruined his life

I think that 3 year  and 8 months on the bottom is a tiny sentence  for ruining 2 lives

Post by BigP on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:05pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:01pm:
I have said this before...one victim took to heavy drug use shortly after  the time of the offence, he was 13 years old at the time. There is an obvious correlation between these scenarios

This victim died of a drug overdose at 30. His sister has stated that he took to drug use directly following his sexual abuse and that it culminated in him dying from an overdose

I think that 3 year  and 8 months on the bottom is a tiny sentence  for ruining 2 lives

You are better off waiting until he is dead before you slander him lol

Post by Violet Crumble on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:05pm

BigP wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:59pm:

Jesus, I dont know how I made it through my childhood without being ass fisted,,

What did I say that got you on the defensive?

Post by BigP on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:06pm

Violet Crumble wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:05pm:

BigP wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 4:59pm:

What did I say that got you on the defensive?

I wasn't offended, just your assertion that they are everywhere ,

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:08pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:01pm:

So...why would Pell appeal......as you boldly asserted:

Pell's legal team will appeal this decision however, Judge Kidd's summation was brilliant and I can't see how an appeal will succeed.

::)

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:38pm
Well...I dunno Aussie..perhaps its because his barrister said an appeal will be launched in June, that was on 9 News tonight and the words came out of his Barrister's gob

So I'd say that's a fairly safe bet

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:39pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:38pm:
Well...I dunno Aussie..perhaps its because his barrister said an appeal will be launched in June, that was on 9 News tonight and the words came out of his Barrister's gob

He's appealing the conviction, not the sentence.

I told you this already, red.

Post by red baron on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:47pm
Where are you getting this stuff from Greggy, of course he is appealing the conviction I haven't said at any stage, anything other than that

Post by Redmond Neck on Mar 13th, 2019 at 6:42pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:38pm:

Dont worry Red Aussie is a failed lawyer from the Sunshine Coast so he knows all about dodgy law!!

He had to give up law he was so bad apparently!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 6:46pm

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:47pm:
Where are you getting this stuff from Greggy, of course he is appealing the conviction I haven't said at any stage, anything other than that

Rubbish.

Pell's legal team will appeal this decision however, Judge Kidd's summation was brilliant and I can't see how an appeal will succeed.

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2019 at 6:49pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 6:46pm:

red baron wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 5:47pm:

Rubbish.

Here is your entire Post:

Re: Pell's sentencing
Reply #50 - Today at 9:28am Quote

Post by philperth2010 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:51pm
I thought the sentence was adequate but certainly on the lenient side....However considering Pell's age, the fact he has lost his career, reputation and is now a convicted sexual predator his life is in ruins which no appeal will restore!!!

:) :) :)

Post by Bobby. on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:58pm

philperth2010 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:51pm:
I thought the sentence was adequate but certainly on the lenient side....However considering Pell's age, the fact he has lost his career, reputation and is now a convicted sexual predator his life is in ruins which no appeal will restore!!!

6 years is a crushing sentence for an old man like him.
According to a reporter in Rome on ABC 24 tonight
Pell was reported in the Italian newspapers as living a life of lavish luxury at the Vatican.
To be an old man in a spartan jail with no intellectual stimulation -
and poor food etc -
and to go from a Cardinal in Rome to just another bum in the shower is a terrible step down.
He will be absolutely miserable in jail.
I doubt that he will survive before he dies.

It's a tragedy for his victims and a tragedy for him.

Post by philperth2010 on Mar 13th, 2019 at 9:05pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:58pm:

philperth2010 wrote on Mar 13th, 2019 at 8:51pm:

6 years is a crushing sentence for an old man like him.
According to a reporter in Rome on ABC 24 tonight
Pell was reported in the Italian newspapers as living a life of lavish luxury at the Vatican.
To be an old man in a spartan jail with no intellectual stimulation -
and poor food etc -
and to go from a Cardinal in Rome to just another bum in the shower is a terrible step down.
He will be absolutely miserable in jail.
I doubt that he will survive before he dies.

It's a tragedy for his victims and a tragedy for him.

He will serve 3 years and 8 months if he lives that long Bobby....I have no sympathy for Pell or other clergy who turned a blind eye to child abuse and moved paedophile priests to other parishes to continue abusing....The tragedy is that that one of Pell's victims didn't get to see the bastard suffer???

:-? :-? :-?

Post by red baron on Mar 14th, 2019 at 9:50am
Thanks Aussie for re posting my words. Can't see anything there that stated that I said an appeal would be mounted on the grounds of sentencing though,  as Greggy alluded to

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 14th, 2019 at 10:12am

red baron wrote on Mar 14th, 2019 at 9:50am:
Thanks Aussie for re posting my words. Can't see anything there that stated that I said an appeal would be mounted on the grounds of sentencing though,  as Greggy alluded to

Have you seen the title of the thread, red?

All we're discussing here is the sentencing.

Anyway, just to clear it up: Pell is appealing the conviction, NOT the sentence.

On this, we all now agree.

Post by xeej on Mar 14th, 2019 at 10:32am
It appears Pell's defense offered no defense at all and Pell himself had nothing to say, hence the unanimous guilty verdict, and take into account the vanilla thing!

Is this the right remain silent thing? at least that way the likes of Abbot and Howard can still be buddies with this unit.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 14th, 2019 at 10:37am

Johnnie wrote on Mar 14th, 2019 at 10:32am:
It appears Pell's defense offered no defense at all and Pell himself had nothing to say, hence the unanimous guilty verdict, and take into account the vanilla thing!

Is this the right remain silent thing? at least that way the likes of Abbot and Howard can still be buddies with this unit.

"Pell may have been willing to go into the witness box. But it is unusual for the defendant to do so in sexual abuse cases in Australia."

"In the hundreds of cases Pell’s defence barrister Robert Richter has led, he has called the defendant to the stand only a handful of times."

Post by xeej on Mar 14th, 2019 at 11:05am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 14th, 2019 at 10:37am:

"Pell may have been willing to go into the witness box. But it is unusual for the defendant to do so in sexual abuse cases in Australia."

"In the hundreds of cases Pell’s defence barrister Robert Richter has led, he has called the defendant to the stand only a handful of times."

It's as good as an admission of guilt, how else could you take it? He now has a chance to get off on a technicality.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 14th, 2019 at 11:44am

Johnnie wrote on Mar 14th, 2019 at 11:05am:

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 14th, 2019 at 10:37am:

It's as good as an admission of guilt, how else could you take it? He now has a chance to get off on a technicality.

Did you read what I posted?

"... it is unusual for the defendant to do so in sexual abuse cases in Australia."

If I was innocent, I wouldn't take the stand and let some smart arse lawyer try to twist my words.

Post by Aussie on Mar 14th, 2019 at 2:55pm

red baron wrote on Mar 14th, 2019 at 9:50am:

What sort of fool do you take me and other people to be?  THis is your post...again:

Re: Pell's sentencing
Reply #50 - Today at 9:28am Quote
I watched the entire summation*. (*You are referring to his comments on sentencing.) I consider Judge Kidd's words to be well considered and intelligent

Pell's legal team will appeal this decision however, Judge Kidd's *summation (* You are referring to his comments on sentencing.)was brilliant and I can't see how an appeal will succeed. It may but it will need an almighty brilliant effort from the best brains in the legal profession to achieve it (*You are referring to his comments on sentencing.)

Judge Kidd's sentencing* was totally convincing and well balanced

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.