General Discussion >> General Board >> Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1627960482 Message started by Captain Nemo on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:14pm |
Title: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Captain Nemo on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:14pm
Completed my Census form online, yesterday having received my login details via the snail mail.
Very basic questions and did not take long to complete it. They are allowing it to be done ahead of the official day (10th August) ... good idea - that may mean the system does not bog down like last time. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:31pm
In that case, I might do my census online today.
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Neferti on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:49pm
I did mine last night.
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:55pm
My split personality is always a problem, with schizophrenia and dementia.
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Neferti on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:58pm chimera wrote on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:55pm:
You should ask the ABS for a second copy of the Census to fill out then. One for each personality. ;D |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Valkie on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 3:01pm
Religion.....the great spaghetti monster
Gender....I identify as a meat popsicle. Race.....earth Income ......not enough Marital status....yes Children....yes |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 3:36pm Captain Nemo wrote on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 1:14pm:
Yes but. What happens if you report early, then change your religion, house burns down and you die from covid? Can you then change back to the old religion? "Fill in 2 application forms, stating why you want to return to previous belief and what you don't believe in now. Is there a dead relative here who can explain what's going on". |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Aussie on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 4:05pm
Just tried to do ours. Bastard of a thing would not let me passed the names of 'who is in household question.' I filled it out....pressed 'next' and was sent back to complete it.
Schits me. Have another go tomorrow. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 11:04pm
Took 10 minutes to fill out.
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Gnads on Aug 4th, 2021 at 8:41am UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 11:04pm:
Maybe .... if you're at home on census night. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Bobby. on Aug 4th, 2021 at 9:11am
The Govts. sure are nosey parkers.
There is basically nothing that they don't know already. They probably even have your colonoscopy pictures - if the truth be known. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Carl D on Aug 4th, 2021 at 9:13am
Did mine last week
I was particulary amused when I was answering the questions (which were the same as mine) for my 91 year old aunt and one of the questions asked was... has she started a study course (or words to that effect) recently? We both had a bit of a laugh at that. ;D |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Bobby. on Aug 4th, 2021 at 9:17am Carl D wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 9:13am:
The Govt. is watching you: |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 4th, 2021 at 9:18am
At 93 years of age, Dr Lis Kirkby has become Australia's oldest graduate. PhD she did.
NSW government was upset that some people signed the covid shop lists as "Mickey Mouse. Spiderman" and so on. The Census probably has a donkey vote like elections. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by ChrisP on Aug 4th, 2021 at 2:00pm
I wonder if, in 100 years time, people will be looking at this year's census to track down their ancestors? No doubt the Ancestry site will be encouraging it, still. ;D
https://www.ancestry.com/ |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 4th, 2021 at 3:02pm Gnads wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 8:41am:
My work hours are already set and I will not be working that night. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Aussie on Aug 4th, 2021 at 3:26pm Aussie wrote on Aug 3rd, 2021 at 4:05pm:
Done. Getting past that was not intuitive...it was plain dumb on the part of the ABS. It looks like all you have to do is just fill in the names, but nah....you have to hit what I reckon is an unnecessary other button.....before you can enter names. Stupid. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Kat on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:08pm
Everyone in my unit complex had received their census forms a week or more ago
- except yours truly. My neighbour Karen (it's her actual name - she's not 'a Karen', far from it) actually got 3, all addressed to her unit so it wasn't the postie's fault. So the other night, in the throes of a paroxysm of boredom I decided to do mine online. Answered all the questions, then saved and exited. I had planned to not send it til it was due just in case someone happened to lob here on that night. Annnnd... today the paper form finally turned up in the mail. Organisation certainly isn't the ABS's strong point. :P :P |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by John Smith on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:14pm Kat wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:08pm:
It may not be the ABS's fault. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:18pm
The spare copies are for handing out to local homeless residents. They are advised to write -address : none.
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Kat on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:21pm John Smith wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:14pm:
The delay between my neighbours getting theirs and me getting mine was probably down to Aus Post. Although, it wasn't Aus Post who addressed 3 forms to Karen's unit. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Ye Grappler on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:35pm Kat wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:21pm:
Probably all arranged by some private contractor at double the cost. When I was there I tried to straighten the ABS out in its systems... designed and built stuff for accuracy from the bottom up ... nothing stuck it seems and they've gone backwards... just an appearance money job for selected groups..... you know who .... No Country For Hard-Working Men... |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by John Smith on Aug 5th, 2021 at 5:37pm Kat wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:21pm:
Had a parcel once posted from Brissie to go to the GC ... somehow it went up to Rockie, then onto Darwin, somehow got sent down to Melbourne, then back to Brissie via Sydney before it was finally delivered on the GC friggen thing traveled more kilometers than most people do in their lives ;D ;D ;D :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Gnads on Aug 6th, 2021 at 9:24am
Had a similar thing happen to a parcel I had coming from Sydney ....
got to Brisbane .... was sent to Adelaide ... back to Sydney .... then back to Brisbane before making its way... 3 hrs north of Brisbane ... Aust Post ..... pharking hopeless... illiterate idiots in the mail sorting centres?? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Carl D on Aug 6th, 2021 at 9:39am
https://twitter.com/ShuggyMF/status/1404631847741517825
(click on the image for full view) lol. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Neferti on Aug 6th, 2021 at 9:57am Aussie wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 3:26pm:
Maybe it is you who is stupid? Nobody else seems to have had the problem in finding the "button". Were you expecting 12 Little Indians to be residing at your place on Census night and there wasn't enough room for all their names? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by The Heartless Felon on Aug 6th, 2021 at 10:04am Gnads wrote on Aug 6th, 2021 at 9:24am:
Some couriers struggle too, I had a parcel sent from Sydney, took 2 days to get to Brisbane then 12 days to get from Eagle Farm to South Brisbane... |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Frank on Aug 6th, 2021 at 4:35pm Kat wrote on Aug 4th, 2021 at 7:08pm:
Sensing BS. How did you manage to login online without the Id and password provided in the letter? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by John Smith on Aug 6th, 2021 at 7:21pm Gnads wrote on Aug 6th, 2021 at 9:24am:
the guys sorting have seconds to look for the postcode and grab it off the conveyor belt and throw it in the right bin before they miss the opportunity, with thousands of parcels on the belt at once. It's very easy to make a mistake. I tried doing it one day to help them, my head was spinning after 5 minutes and I had to walk away because i felt queezy |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:32am Just did it. Took seven minutes all up, including retrieving code and changing password. Impressed at how simple it was. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Ayn Marx on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:49am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:32am:
Pisses me off there’s no question allowing me to state my sexuality. Ok, most of you closet occupants would be too scared, but me, I wan’t to wave my queer little flag in public given census results influence where state and federal funding is allocated. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Frank on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:51am Ayn Marx wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:49am:
Why do you need government money to be bent? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 9th, 2021 at 11:06am Ayn Marx wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:49am:
In 'Religion' there's an 'Other' option. You could put it in there. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Ayn Marx on Aug 9th, 2021 at 11:16am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 11:06am:
Since when was being a fairy a religion? Besides, that would prevent me listing myself as agnostic. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Ayn Marx on Aug 9th, 2021 at 11:24am Frank wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:51am:
For one thing, given the connection between fundamentalist Christianity et al and gay/lesbian youth suicide in Nth Tasmania I’d like to see more Gov’t finance devoted to, for instance, phone in crisis counselling, psychological/psychaitric support in our area. This isn’t an airy-fairy issue, it’s a matter of life and death I see too often. Changing subject here but I’m getting pissed off with the media’s reporting of horrifying increases in youth suicide. Two well documented causes are never mentioned, being queer and being young and smart enough to know the planet is being destroyed by so called grown ups. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 9th, 2021 at 12:55pm Ayn Marx wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 11:16am:
You could start your own religion. The 'Ayn_Marx Fairy Faith' ? :-/ |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Belgarion on Aug 9th, 2021 at 1:52pm Ayn Marx wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:49am:
Why do homosexuals require specific government funding? : Edit to note I just read your post above. You think youth suicide is specifically related to homosexuality? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by John Smith on Aug 9th, 2021 at 5:47pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 11:06am:
I heard once that so many people put 'trekky' in as their 'other' option (from star treck) that it was once a recognized religion by the ABS .. I don't know if it still is. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Frank on Aug 9th, 2021 at 6:03pm John Smith wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 5:47pm:
Like pronouns, religions multiply like rabbits. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Frank on Aug 9th, 2021 at 10:12pm
U
Ayn Marx wrote on Aug 9th, 2021 at 11:24am:
https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1549521640/9#9 |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Bobby. on Aug 10th, 2021 at 8:46am
I just did my census - it took me 10 minutes online.
What a pain in the arse but at least the website wasn't overloaded and it worked. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:10pm
https://happymag.tv/2021-census/?fbclid=IwAR1PmY6OyGYzZ1Lf8ZHijWAFaY2l-7r5cNaDVpAT7Y4IQ-HO2NQKa8FJpsY
Look at this pharkin' sheeit. The heterophobic community are at it again trying to push their pharkin' homosexual agenda. As if it means that they are trying to challenge the majority of people to accept homosexuality as being a priority sexuality. There was a "non-binary" option on the questionaire. I think the ABS has been very generous here. Should sexual orientation be even a consideration on census forms? What business is it of anyone else what your preference? We are supposed to do a count of how many people there are in Australia and even their origins. If we have a good idea of how many and where people are, then we have an idea where funding should be going for future projects. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:12pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 10th, 2021 at 8:46am:
You put in the code. You put in the password. You spend 10 minutes clicking buttons on relevant questions. "pain in the arse"??? I would hate to see how well you do in a war zone. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:16pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:10pm:
What's their agenda? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:23pm
Irish paid for the fairy people when a roadway was diverted.
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/fairy-bush-survives-the-motorway-planners-1.190053 According to Mr Lenihan, the bush is a marker in a fairy path and was the rendezvous point for Kerry fairies on their way to do battle with the Connacht fairies. Under the bush, Mr Lenihan claims, the Kerry fairies would regroup and consult on what might be the best tactics in battle. He said their white blood has been seen on a number of occasions on the surrounding grass. He warned of terrible consequences if the fairy bush was destroyed, saying that the site in 10 to 15 years' time may have a higher than usual casualty list, including fatalities. Last night, Mr Lenihan said he was very glad at the outcome. "I didn't think there would be any need from every point of view that it should be cut down. I'm happy people have seen sense." |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:29pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:16pm:
To promote their homosexuality at every opportunity, as if to challenge people to reject them and then claim homophobia. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by John Smith on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:33pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:29pm:
and how are they doing that exactly in regard to the census? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:40pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:29pm:
Well, don't reject them. Simples. Bobby: "I'm gay". Gweggy: "Okay, Bobby. I'm straight. Have a good day". Bobby: "Thanks, you too". |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Bobby. on Aug 11th, 2021 at 5:09pm
Greggy remove that false quote or I'll report you.
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by John Smith on Aug 11th, 2021 at 7:02pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 5:09pm:
I don't see any false quotes...... not unless you think Greg is gay too? But I doubt it. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 11th, 2021 at 7:10pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 5:09pm:
It's a different Bobby, Bobby. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 11th, 2021 at 7:21pm
https://twitter.com/fawltytowers_/status/1065870093249327106?lang=en
the burglar alarm is a semi tone higher you should know the difference |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 11th, 2021 at 7:52pm
They got almost everything from me, with the exception of who I share my bed with. my racial makeup - and full name
For as long as my mind goes back the ABS had emphatically denied storing names Last census they finally came clean - and admitted storing names for thirty years from the time censuses began The ABS has never given an explanation for this - other than matching up with your MyGov, MyHealth, Centrelink, Passport, taxation and Police files Adding a name to your census form goes beyond "data collection" Names are NEVER needed for "data collection" It becomes a PERSONAL PROFILE DOSSIER |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 11th, 2021 at 8:42pm
They know everything about you already in Moscow, Beijing and eBay. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Karnal on Aug 11th, 2021 at 8:47pm
I blamed Islam.
You? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Karnal on Aug 11th, 2021 at 8:48pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 5:09pm:
How can we tell it's false, Bobby? Do you have the original? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 11th, 2021 at 10:37pm John Smith wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:33pm:
I think my claim was clear that the non-binary/homosexual groups are whingeing about not being allowed to promote their homosexuality by making it an issue IN the census. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 11th, 2021 at 10:46pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:40pm:
That is completely different. Announcing that you are gay to someone in private is simply a way to let the person know you are homosexual, in the context of letting them know where you stand in terms of sexual orientation. You don't lead off with that as an opening statement when in a new social situation. If the context is right, such as someone hitting on you and you prefer the same gender (different to the person hitting on you), it would be okay to let them know you are gay. But, if I went around announcing that I am heterosexual to all and sundry, it would not only be really socially awkward after the first few, but I would be receiving reprimands for being sexually harassing towards people who were not interested in knowing my sexual preference. So, if there was an option of whether you were heterosexual, homosexual, bisexual, asexual, or whatever else, it would be irrelevant to the census data and would serve no purpose. Pretty soon, the question of religion might also be removed from the census question. But, "soon" might be for the 2031 census. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 12th, 2021 at 7:46am
The census reader sees it in private. Probably a scanner reads the - mark and keeps it to itself unless scanners are now gendered. Having a sexual scanner would be secret. They have male and female plugs.
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Bobby. on Aug 12th, 2021 at 7:50am UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 4:12pm:
I just don't see why I should have to fill in questions when the Govt. already knows the answer to every question there? To me it's nothing more than an honesty test. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Karnal on Aug 12th, 2021 at 11:10am
Did anyone tick Boong? I couldn't find it in the form.
They invented a stick, no? |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Valkie on Aug 12th, 2021 at 1:24pm Karnal wrote on Aug 12th, 2021 at 11:10am:
When you can't spell your name it immediately goes to a special boong page. Wif pitchas an drawrwring and stuff. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 12th, 2021 at 5:08pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 12th, 2021 at 7:50am:
Well, yeah. The government can match up the data with what they already know. See the discrepancies in the answers. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 12th, 2021 at 5:28pm
US Census. 2020.
Don't use a black pen or colored pen. Name . Donal jOhn TrrumP How long have you lived in the White House. 4 more years. What is your income. None, homeless, no tax pay lots of tax. What is your racism . MAGA. we're winning so big. What education level are you. Smart very very smart, more than Tchinaa. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 12th, 2021 at 8:09pm buzzanddidj wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 7:52pm:
chimera wrote on Aug 11th, 2021 at 8:42pm:
They don't know as much as you might think, not regarding myself, at least They have a Centrelink file - and a health file - but these are not linked - as YET Governments need a name to link these small scattered mini-files - into one big one They have quietly admitted this They have REPEATEDLY refused to give any other justification The ABS are on the record for LYING to Australians over many decades - over many colours of governments Why would I trust them NOW - or make personal dossier compilation any easier ? I don't have an eBay footprint My personal details on Facebook are deliberately false |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by chimera on Aug 12th, 2021 at 8:32pm buzzanddidj wrote on Aug 12th, 2021 at 8:09pm:
Yes they knew. All of them. Instantly. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 12th, 2021 at 9:19pm chimera wrote on Aug 12th, 2021 at 8:32pm:
"They" and "them" are quite welcome to digest all of the false personal information I can feed them |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Bobby. on Aug 12th, 2021 at 10:22pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 12th, 2021 at 5:08pm:
They do full checks on a random sample. |
Title: Re: Census 2021 - 10th August (or earlier) Post by Frank on Aug 13th, 2021 at 10:20am
Bwaaaaahhhhh.... my efnic sub group is not listed by the wacist ABS for the censhush. We are disappeared!! Bwaaaaah!!
https://amp.abc.net.au/article/100363326 |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |