General Discussion >> Chat >> Fat kids http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1635581972 Message started by StoveLegs on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm |
Title: Fat kids Post by StoveLegs on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm
When I first saw a photo of my husband's six year old niece she was clearly overweight. When I told him he denied it. Now she’s a teenager, obese and going through fad diets with her mum but not losing weight. The problem could have been nipped in the bud at a young age but it was ignored and denied and now the problem’s worse. My child is now overweight according to the GP and it’s the same denial again.
Is fat the new normal? I don’t understand parental denial. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by rhino on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:38pm
You cant tell people, look at some of the idiots on this forum. Go to the thread about weight loss and you will see what I mean, constant denial. We have now a whole generation addicted to junk food and medications for lifestyle illnesses. , its too late, obesity is the new norm.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by NorthOfNorth on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:54pm StoveLegs wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm:
Could be. In another example of YankWank, fat shaming has become another taboo, and taken up with the enthusiasm of an old testament prophet, such that Weight Watchers (a company dedicated to losing weight) has had to rename itself WW or (the hand wringing) “wellness that works”. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by AiA on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:04pm
If I had fat kid I'd slip some cyanide into his Halloween candy ...
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by John Smith on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:19pm StoveLegs wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm:
Ask lisa |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gordon on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:37pm AiA wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:04pm:
What would you do if your wife put on weight after you married? |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Frank on Oct 30th, 2021 at 8:23pm
Fat kids have fat parents.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Frank on Oct 30th, 2021 at 8:23pm Gordon wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:37pm:
I'd review what I am feeding her. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by AiA on Oct 31st, 2021 at 4:34am Gordon wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:37pm:
A friend of mine years back married at 25 years old. His wife was the same age. 2 years later he was the same weight and she was a pig, so he divorced her. Her friends thought he was the pig for divorcing her. His friends saw things differently. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gordon on Oct 31st, 2021 at 7:22am AiA wrote on Oct 31st, 2021 at 4:34am:
He did the right thing, unless their vows included 'for fatter or thinner '. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by aquascoot on Oct 31st, 2021 at 8:07am
gordan, i was listening to an evolutionary biologist who made a lot of sense.
he said that for 1000's of generations, humans really only got carbs with high fructose in the form of seasonal fruits and they would gorge themselves and try to put on fat, because the fruit woul be gone pretty quick so sweet stuff induces 1 increased appetite 2 increased fat storage. i think that right people who drink sweet drinks, eat biscuits and cakes and deserts, like white break, like all those processed carb products like breakfast cereals are always hungry and always fat. i'm not saying people need to go full on paleo but i eat a helluva a lot of eggs and red meat and i never touch brekkie cereal , biscuits, bread or cake. or soft drink. i just dont like them. and i have heaps of energy. i go bush walking with guys who have to munch a muesli bar (processed cabs with corns syrup) every 90 mintues and they always look like they are gunna pass out. i just have a few hard boiled eggs and water and your body is full of energy. i think if people just gave up carbs except for salads, avacados,tomatoes sweet potatoe and maybe a few oranges and bananas and ate more meat fish chicken eggs and beans , they would have heaps more energy and would shed kilos |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gordon on Oct 31st, 2021 at 12:45pm
I agree with you 100% here, Scoot. Here's what I reckon.
At the end of the day, the laws of thermodynamics rules all and its energy in minus energy out, and it doesn't matter if you're eating maccas, paleo or medeteranian. If your input is more than your output, you'll get fat. However, good luck trying to calorie control on maccas or the SAD. My experience was after my 30s when I ate empty carbs and sugar my blood sugar would spike, I'd feel ravenous even after I had a big pasta meal and I'd over eat. To compensate I'd have to do extra workouts and fast to make up for the overconsumption. I had the willpower so never got fat, but most don't. Their microbiome and blood sugar are screaming out to be fed. For about two years now I've dropped all grains apart from oats, and eat mostly what you mentioned and never feel that gnawing hunger. On a rolling average I'm probably eating the same calories but without the over and under consumption. I can have porridge with a tablespoon of whey powder at 7am, do a cardio workout and not feel any hunger until 4pm. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Ye Grappler on Oct 31st, 2021 at 1:18pm
... featuring tonight on FATV, re-runs of Legends of The Full, The Expandables, and A Fridge Too Far.......
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Kat on Oct 31st, 2021 at 1:30pm
Being overweight has simply never been a problem for me.
I seem to be able to eat almost whatever I like, but never get fat. My ex used to hate it, because she was the sort who couldn't walk past a cake shop without gaining a pound (her words, not mine). |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by John Smith on Oct 31st, 2021 at 2:05pm
I once saw a doco once that said that our body's ability to store fat is determined by our parents and grandparents circumstances. If they ever had long periods where they went hungry, our cells 'remember' that and then adapt so as to more easily store fat in preparation for our next period of starvation.
If our parents and grandparents did not go through periods of hunger, our cells take longer to store fat. Apparently this 'memory' is only retained for one or two generations. Personally I'd like to know how they ever prove that one way or the other. If it's true then I guess the next couple of generations will be skinny |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gordon on Oct 31st, 2021 at 2:20pm John Smith wrote on Oct 31st, 2021 at 2:05pm:
They got that after looking at a few 100 years of meticulous records of crop yields from villages in places like Denmark and Sweden, then did experiments on animals that confirmed it. But I believe there were also correlations with health. The children of people who had extended calorie deficits were actually healthier on average. Here's something. People who put on weight ALWAYS eat excess calories or misreport their calorie intake, meaning, epigenetics play a part, but only a part. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Mr Bundy on Oct 31st, 2021 at 4:04pm
Get the kids stomach stapled for their own good.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by aquascoot on Oct 31st, 2021 at 5:15pm Gordon wrote on Oct 31st, 2021 at 12:45pm:
it seems quite obvious gordon. you watch people start having a sarb snack, say a bowl of popcorn or potatoe chips. they eat a few and then they just cant stop. a lever has been flicked that say "this is sweet, time to gorge ourselves and store fat because we may not get this chance again" thats fine if you are an aborigine and come across honey once a year. thats not fine if you are steve and jeneen and come across a maccas once a day |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by UnSubRocky on Oct 31st, 2021 at 6:30pm
When I was a teen, I had always thought that I was either skinny, healthy, or slightly overweight. My parents showed me some old photos of myself that I barely recall having taken. One photo showed me doing a muscles pose. But I was anything other than muscular. I was probably 20kg overweight and lacked any noticeable muscular definition.
It was a big concern for me because I was relatively active at the time. Mum bought a meal replacement shake. I had breakfast. Lunch was the meal replacement shake. Then I would wait out the rest of the day to have dinner. I lost 10kg in that month. Whatever other excess weight I lost was through natural discipline and high school sports. If a child is fat, they have been coddled too much by their parents and have developed some bad habits. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by UnSubRocky on Oct 31st, 2021 at 6:37pm AiA wrote on Oct 31st, 2021 at 4:34am:
He grew apart from her because she grew? If she was deliberately getting herself fat, it would be understandable that the guy loses interest in her physically. But if the issue was her antisocial personality, then the divorce may be justifiable. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gordon on Oct 31st, 2021 at 7:37pm
Took the little bloke trick or treating tonight, and he and all of his mates were literally stuffing lollies in their gobs as fast they could go. Most of the parents were trying to moderate it but I decided to see what would happen. Driving home he went really quiet was close to puking. When we got home he showed his mum the bucket of lollies, put it on the kitchen bench and didn't ask about them again.
After dinner I asked if he wanted dessert, he said, just some of the plain greek yoghurt my daughter eats. Let's see how long that lasts ;D |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Mr Bundy on Oct 31st, 2021 at 9:06pm
The fat kids should be shown footage of the starving kids in Biafra and fat shame them.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Ye Grappler on Oct 31st, 2021 at 11:05pm Kat wrote on Oct 31st, 2021 at 1:30pm:
Down at the supermarket today, and Fat Steve and Janeen went out through the self-serve - to buy a cake and some biccies... in their twenties, and 'Steve would have to be twice my weight and flabby as... 'Janeen' not far behind.. thought:- 'That cake is the last thing they need." |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by mothra on Nov 1st, 2021 at 2:18am
This forum is so unbelievably hateful.
Thank the gods it's dying. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by UnSubRocky on Nov 1st, 2021 at 2:35am mothra wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 2:18am:
The forum is pretty depressing. Barely anything worthy of responding. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Ye Grappler on Nov 1st, 2021 at 5:32am
... tonight on FATV ... re-runs of the classic Pork Chop Hill followed by Four Burgers And A Funeral...... next week on Classic Convention we will be running Gone With The Blintz ......
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gnads on Nov 1st, 2021 at 6:55am UnSubRocky wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 2:35am:
There’s a simple solution to that…. For the pair of you. ::) |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Ye Grappler on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:10am
................ in our Weekly Finance Roundup.... how to meet and get into an expanding proposition....... future programs include Moby Dick (or the Tale Of the Great White whale) and Twelve Years A Slaverer ... Hello Mr Chips .......... watch for our epic series Stir Fry Wars..... Tom Clancy's The Slim Of All Our Fears.....................
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by UnSubRocky on Nov 1st, 2021 at 3:52pm Gnads wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 6:55am:
Oh, really? There are actually two solutions. Other people either lift their standards in posting to this forum. Or we can accept that this forum is dead and move on. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Setanta on Nov 1st, 2021 at 4:00pm AiA wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:04pm:
A better solution might be... |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Setanta on Nov 1st, 2021 at 4:01pm Frank wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 8:23pm:
Kibble diet for a while? |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by UnSubRocky on Nov 1st, 2021 at 4:02pm
Nice. Not only will that type of chocolate make the kid regular for a few days. The next week, the kid will end up constipated and probably worse off until he can naturally get regular again.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Setanta on Nov 1st, 2021 at 4:06pm aquascoot wrote on Oct 31st, 2021 at 8:07am:
Here's one for you Aqua... Feeding mammals(rats?) a high fructose diet seems to induce the cilia in their gut to grow allowing more nutrients to be absorbed. While this may seem like a good thing, and it is, it's not a good thing if you eat a heap of fructose throughout the year ans as we see that leads to obesity. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Setanta on Nov 1st, 2021 at 4:08pm mothra wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 2:18am:
Umm, so are you... Both counts. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by rhino on Nov 1st, 2021 at 5:11pm Setanta wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 4:06pm:
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:20pm rhino wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 5:11pm:
Fructose is common in nature it's found in these and other fruits. Bananas Apples Strawberries Oranges Mandarins Mango Grapefruit Peaches Apricots Grapefruit Some veggies containing fructose Tomato Onion Cucumber Asparagus Lettuce Beans Carrots Brussel sprouts Broccoli Sweet potato Spinich Peas Corn Potato Mushrooms Fruit and veggies contain fructose which is good for you it's low in calories it's absurd to claim it will make you fat. Are you claiming the fructose in tomatos can make you fat ? LMAO at your stupidity. Always better to eat the fruit instead of just drinking the juice. You should avoid processed sugars and things like high fructose corn syrup |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:23pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:20pm:
Have to agree with you 100% on this. In particular, don't drink orange juice - it will destroy your teeth. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Mr Bundy on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:32pm
Put fat kids on starvation diets for their own well being .
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Mr Bundy on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:33pm greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:23pm:
Not if you clean them. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by aquascoot on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:35pm Setanta wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 4:06pm:
one of the more interesting thing going on at the moment is with "micro biomes' i see gastroenterologists are now using donor fecal ingestion to try to get peoples guts back to normal farmers have been onto this for years. animals have to be kept off fresh green pasture as it leads to colic, founder and metabolic syndrome in animals. its simply too high in sugar and induces a bacterial overgrowth and fermentation. if you look up things like the FODMAP diet, you will see that this is also a problem for a lot of humans with abdomenal pain. antibiotics and sugars greatly change your gut bacteria. and you actually have more bacterial cells in your gut then you have human cells in your body (are you a human or a bacteria?). |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:39pm Johnnie wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:33pm:
Sure, straight after drinking it. But most people don't. Moreover, brushing them straight after drinking orange juice is even worse - it rubs the acid into the teeth and helps destroy the enamel. If you want to drink orange juice, you need to rinse your mouth out with water immediately after. If you don't, you're destroying your teeth. And let's be honest, nobody does that. (Same with apple cider vinegar, by the way) |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by rhino on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:40pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:20pm:
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by rhino on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:44pm
Its actually a nonsense that anyone requires fruit for good health, it is a myth perpetuated by the food industry, just like the 3 square meals a day nonsense. Plenty of vitamin c and everything else in vegetables. Kind of strange aqua buying in this nonsense since he continually labels others as gullible.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:57pm rhino wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:44pm:
Despite our differences, I have to agree 100%. People get so sucked in to, for want of a better description, the "Kelloggs" myth. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 1st, 2021 at 8:02pm rhino wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:40pm:
Everything i listed is considered a Carb are you saying we shouldn't eat anything i listed because we evolved to not eat any of that? |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by rhino on Nov 1st, 2021 at 10:56pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 8:02pm:
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Ye Grappler on Nov 2nd, 2021 at 12:03am greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:23pm:
The Belsen diet works well... here are your daily calories.... don't eat them all in one gulp..... Jesus, man - if a Wharte family did that they'd be hunted down like dogs by the DOCS sorority... |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gordon on Nov 2nd, 2021 at 11:59am rhino wrote on Nov 1st, 2021 at 7:44pm:
The thing people get wrong about fruit is thinking it imparts amazing life giving health benefits. No doubt different fruits contain excellent vitamins and minerals etc but the real benifit from fruit is in the context of your diet. They're an excellent way to get the sugar hit we all love but in a healthy way. When you eat an apple the sugars don't hit your liver in one whack like foods with added sugar. Plus fruit is filling and has fibre. One apple can tide me over for half a day. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by freediver on Nov 2nd, 2021 at 6:30pm
I get the impression the Aborigines ate a lot of meat and carbs. Carbs in the form of whatever root vegetables they dug up. Meat from goannas, shellfish, stingrays etc.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Gordon on Nov 2nd, 2021 at 6:38pm freediver wrote on Nov 2nd, 2021 at 6:30pm:
Now their diet is VERY high in vitamin b. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 3rd, 2021 at 6:42pm StoveLegs wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm:
- given coverage the humongously FAT ARSE on Kim Kardashian seems to get I see obesity as national and international catastrophic FIRST WORLD health problem We cannot say the word "FAT" anymore We have gone into denial - with "PLUS SIZE" STUFF all this diabetes, kidney failure, wide rangihg cancers - and heart failure scare tactics Just learn to love yourself, your fried food, chocolate - and your couch After ALL - a long life. is probably WAY overrated |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by rhino on Nov 3rd, 2021 at 7:45pm freediver wrote on Nov 2nd, 2021 at 6:30pm:
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by NorthOfNorth on Nov 3rd, 2021 at 7:47pm rhino wrote on Nov 3rd, 2021 at 7:45pm:
Prehistoric coca cola? |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by freediver on Nov 4th, 2021 at 6:57am rhino wrote on Nov 3rd, 2021 at 7:45pm:
No thanks. |
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 4th, 2021 at 7:19am
Who the hell is Stove Legs??😳
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by UnSubRocky on Nov 5th, 2021 at 5:06pm
It is not like indigenous people ate everyday in the thousands of years prior to European settlement. Whatever carbs they did consume would have been starved off by the hunger they had to endure.
Title: Re: Fat kids Post by Ye Grappler on Nov 8th, 2021 at 9:23am
Harry Potter And The Half-Fed Prince?
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |