General Discussion >> Chat >> Supermarket self checkouts http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1646797438 Message started by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:43pm |
Title: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:43pm
Here's my review of 3 supermarkets and their self checkout systems.
Woolies There are 3 prompts you have to clear before you can even start scanning, do you have a bag, do you have a loyalty card, are you paying by card. Once scanning the system is reasonable, but a little glitchy and slow. I think there' an extra annoying prompt at the end that slows you down. Coles There are no prompts to begin with and you can just start scanning unless the person before you walked away without pressing yes or no to print a receipt. Once scanning it's about the same as Woolies in speed, has the occasional glitch and the occasional hangup when it doesn't know you put something in the bagging area. It has the loyalty card prompt at the end and also asks if you want to print a receipt as I mentioned earlier. Coles also has a self scanner with a conveyor belt, they're newer machines and are really fast and easy to use. Aldi Not many Aldi shops have self scanners, but the times I've used them they are really fast. No prompts to get going at the beginning or end so that's good. The system is really fast, probably because they're newer and they have less inventory to deal with. One annoying thing is, after you scan something, the time it gives you to put the item in the bagging area is really short and you get an voice prompt, 'please put your item in the bagging area'. I go fast enough so it doesn't happen often but I can hear a constant repetition of it from the machines around me which is bloody annoying. From worst to best. Woolies Coles normal machine Aldi Coles with the conveyor belt Hope this helps. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:51pm
Thankyou for your diligence in taking away low paying jobs from ppl
Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:09pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:51pm:
Hope you don't put petrol in your car yourself ;) |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:14pm Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:09pm:
When it comes to petrol, there's no choice (not that I'm aware of). Supermarkets offer a choice (most of the time, in Australia), and I always choose the human. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:38pm
I HAVE ALWAYS REFUSED to use a supermarket self check out service.
Dear God! I'm a customer. The friendly and capable staff can scan and pack my goods for me. I appreciate it (and I'm sure they appreciate their weekly wages too)! Have you noticed how many are students trying to study and earn their keep? Others are mums who work part time during school hrs so as to keep up with the cost of living. I fully support such important front line workers of our community. And our Federal Govt (who collects their income tax) would probably agree with me! |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Laugh till you cry on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:41pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:38pm:
Finally, a real housewife expert opinion on cheap shopping. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:52pm
Resistance is futile, better to focus on reskilling than trying to support jobs that won't be there. I use an old school checkout when I have lots of stuff or need to do a few urgent texts.
My kid is at school career advice stage at the moment, and the future impacts of AI are being taught and factored in for many sectors, law being a standout. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 9th, 2022 at 4:32pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:38pm:
So, if you had 5 items, you would not just pop over to the self-serve checkouts and use them. That is, instead of standing in line behind two customers who each have $100 (2 minutes worth of scanning) groceries? I mean, if they had water fountains at grocery stores, I would not be spending $3 for a 600mL bottle of water from a vending machine (or $2.10 from the fridge at Woolies). But, I have no intention on waiting 5 minutes behind other people if I have a few items that could be scanned by me at the self-serve. Wait times are shorter when there are more checkouts available. That is the purpose of self-serve. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by JaSin. on Mar 9th, 2022 at 5:07pm
People who interact with 'machines' more than people - develop Autism (they just sit and stare at imaginary 'screens').
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 9th, 2022 at 6:05pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 4:32pm:
No. I wouldn't. I never use the self-serve if humans are available. At Target in the CBD, I have no choice. In London, I have no choice. But here in Perth, we (mostly) still have a choice, and as long as that choice exists I'll take the human over the machine every time. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by AiA on Mar 9th, 2022 at 7:50pm
My local supermarket has self-checkouts but those only take electronic payments but I prefer to pay cash so never use them. My local Walmart has self-checkout machines that DO take cash and there are ZERO prompts to get started - one simply starts scanning - so I use those a lot. However, should I try to buy a bottle of wine, well, then the trouble starts ...
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:06pm
One of the biggest complaints when 'MASTERS" started trying to compete with Bunnings was that all their checkouts were self serve. After about 6 months they allowed their 'customer service' desk to check out customers. They never recovered. It only took them a couple of years to go bust.
Any business who wants to force all their customers on self serve should take note. Customers want service. I'll start using self serve when I get offered a discount. Whilst I'm paying for service, I expect to get it. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:17pm John Smith wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:06pm:
Bad locations, bad store layout, products people didn't want to buy from a hardware store, bad restock and purchasing systems etc etc etc. Nothing about self checkout. Every time I go to a Bunnings these days they have just 2 people checkouts and that usually includes the service desk. https://www.thecourier.com.au/story/4571244/self-inflicted-wound-how-masters-home-improvement-fell/ https://www.smh.com.au/business/companies/what-went-wrong-at-woolworths-masters-20160118-gm8fge.html |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:19pm
One of the funniest complaints about Masters, tradies hated it because its decor was supposed to be more female friendly ;D
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:19pm Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:17pm:
yeah, thats why they changed their policy after 6 months :D :D |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:22pm John Smith wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:19pm:
Read the two articles. The reason they failed were way WAY bigger than self checkout. And Bunnings now is mostly self checkout so.... |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:25pm Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:22pm:
you read the two articles. No one said self checkout was the only reason. and crap about bunnings. I've never used self service at bunnings and I go their several times a week. I've always had an option available. That wasn't available at masters for a long time. By the time they fixed it, most people had already formed their first impression of them. They never recovered |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:33pm John Smith wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:25pm:
LoL OK except you said the biggest complaint was self checkouts, and not stocking problem, products people didn't want to buy, poor quality products and locations people didn't want to go to which business analysts all agree were the actual reason they went bust. Show me a link to your checkout allegation or we'll just have to assume you made it up. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lols on Mar 9th, 2022 at 10:35pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 4:32pm:
Nope I would not pop over to self serve… I would go to the “8 items or less” express checkout. I would avoid self checkout as much as possible, for some reason I can’t stand them. My daughter loves it and when we are shopping together she always steers the trolley into the self checkout… I’m protesting and she’s reassuring me it’s okay ;D |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 9th, 2022 at 11:31pm
I shop at Coles and I never use the self-checkout, even if I have to wait 5 mins to get through a staffed check-out.
I do it on principle to support staff levels. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 10th, 2022 at 1:00am
In a situation where the self-checkouts are available, having a few items in hand for purchase would not be enough of a motivation to go use one of them? Do you want to stand in line and get in the way of other shoppers trying to get by? Surely, getting out of the store in a timely manner is part of the reason you want to shop somewhere.
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:20am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 1:00am:
No. I never use self-checkouts when humans are available. So far, I have never used a self-checkout machine at a supermarket (Coles, Woolworths, etc.) in Australia. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 10th, 2022 at 10:18am Sophia wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 10:35pm:
FIVE ITEMS OR LESS??? That's called going to a petrol station 😂🤣😆 If I see ONE item that's been decently reduced in price I will buy 5 x that 1 item 😂🤣😆 Nahh if I go shopping - a small shop is usually 25 items. And I always use the checkout with the friendly customer service officer waiting for me with a smile. I tell you what else I do...I am regularly asked for feedback too (because I get sent emails through my rewards points card). Would you like to guess what I do with those emails? Yep. I use that opportunity to fight for the jobs of those customer service officers. How? By highlighting how thankful I am for the wonderful and competent way they scan and pack everything for me in departments which makes it easy for me to unpack when I get home. I also throw in a sentence about how I have high standards wrt cleanliness and being careful with items such as bread and eggs which are prone to getting squashed if not packed properly. And how pleased I am to see that the customer service officers who serve me at the checkout have been properly trained to show respect for items such as eggs and bread etc by placing them carefully at the top making sure these items are secure and safe. Oh I go on about their lovely smiles etc and I always end my feedback with sentences like ....these well trained officers are for me the face of a trustworthy brand yadda yadda yadda ( I make sure it's well constructed before I release it ). Hilarious conversations follow next time I go back for more shopping. Apparently these positive feedback emails filter through the line right up to senior levels. Everyone gets told. And the service officers in question gets a bit of recognition and a box of chocolates or a gift voucher (not sure what it is). It's ever so easy to complain about a person. It's over so much nicer to compliment them. Anyway the sun is out and my 3rd load of washing is about to go up. Cheers 😎 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Carl D on Mar 10th, 2022 at 10:24am greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:14pm:
Same here. I've also noticed its sometimes quicker to choose the human than wait in line for the self serves. The only petrol station I'm aware of that still offers full driveway service is Lori's Fuel Station at 259 Railway Avenue in Kelmscott. https://www.facebook.com/Lorisfuel/ I filled up there quite a few times when I worked at Kelmscott Tenpin Bowl from July 2011 until it closed in May 2013 (its now Kongs Oriental Food Warehouse). The bowl was right next to the freight yard behind Lori's. You can just make out the yellow Kongs signs in the background at the left side of this picture. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:24pm Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:33pm:
yes, it was the biggest complaint. No one I spoke to ever mentioned any of the other issues apart from the occasional comment about quality. Go on, tell me what what the biggest complaint i heard was again, I love handing you your arse on a plate all the time. :D |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:30pm John Smith wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:24pm:
You heard :) Is that what all the other painters with down syndrome told you? Now provide a link it was even a factor in its demise. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:37pm
run away while you can turdie, I've made enough off a fool of you for now ;D ;D
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:41pm John Smith wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:37pm:
Just one link ya slobbering retard. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:45pm Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:41pm:
are you really that stupid? I mean, I know you were never very intelligent, but even I thought you at least understood some English. What part of 'no one I spoke to' did you fail to understand ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:54pm
I can post dozens of articles by business analysts giving reasons why Masters tanked, none mention self checkouts, not one.
But you and one of your fellow slobbering retards know it was because of self checkouts. Remember, DON'T BREED! |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:59pm Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:54pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D post an article showing what those I spoke to think the reasons are ... go on I challenge you you really are dumber than dogʇᴉɥs, you know that ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 10th, 2022 at 6:02pm
The mongaloid of Ozpol strikes again.
Post a link to prove you're not a mongaloid. Can't because you're a MONGALOID. And remember, DON'T BREED. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 10th, 2022 at 6:47pm Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 6:02pm:
your acknowledgement of your stupidity is accepted. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 10th, 2022 at 7:36pm John Smith wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 6:47pm:
Back up your statement with proof, ya dribbling retard. And remember, DON'T BREED. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 10th, 2022 at 7:46pm Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 7:36pm:
are you really that retarded? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Gordon on Mar 10th, 2022 at 8:16pm John Smith wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 7:46pm:
You're the one who mentioned it, now back it up with proof ya dribbling downer. And remember, DO NOT BREED. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 10th, 2022 at 8:38pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:20am:
If you bitch about stock availability because there is no one stocking shelves, or the price of groceries because they have to pay another $200 to have some service person mann the checkout counters, you have missed the point about the benefits of having self-serve checkout counters. Same kind of argument with petrol stations being self-serve. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by wombatwoody on Mar 15th, 2022 at 6:15pm AiA wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 7:50pm:
Enjoy it while you can: https://www.lifesitenews.com/news/australia-abandoning-physical-currency-expected-to-become-cashless-society-by-2031/ |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:33pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 8:38pm:
I don't bitch about the price of groceries because they have to pay another $200 to have some service person man the checkout counters. I'm perfectly happy to pay extra if it provides jobs for people. I paid $2.20/litre for petrol today (self-serve is the only option), and $9 for a bottle of mouth wash - couldn't care less. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:50pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:33pm:
Of course but that's because you never married AND had kids. Otherwise you too would be saving everything you can to leave them a healthy inheritance. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:54pm John Smith wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 5:59pm:
Anyone know WTF this idiot is struggling to say? My parents spoke broken English like this ... when they 1st arrived in Australia. 😂🤣😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:57pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:54pm:
I'm not going to write in 'drug addled moron' just because you can't read English. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 15th, 2022 at 8:07pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:54pm:
To be fair he's trying hard (given he left school in yr 9). If only he could stop abusing drugs ... for the sake of his lonely brain cell 🥺 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 15th, 2022 at 8:14pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:50pm:
I did marry, and I do have kids. My wife died years ago, and my kids are employed in decent jobs and certainly don't need any money from me. Moreover, they wouldn't take it even if I left it for them (they'd donate it to a charity). Our family doesn't worship money, and we don't seek inheritances. My father died a few weeks ago (holding my hand as he struggled to take his last breath), and now his money has been transferred into my mother's account (I finalised the paperwork yesterday). Starting tomorrow, I'm using that money (with Mum) to buy her a new AC unit, fridge, bed, lounge, washing machine, TV, vacuum cleaner, wheelchair, etc. etc. etc. She doesn't need any of those things replaced, but I've insisted that she get brand new everything. I want her to be as comfortable and happy as possible in her last years (possibly only months). I want her to spend every last cent on herself (and stimulate the economy in the process). If I end up with an inheritance from her, I will consider that a failure. This is how our family works, and my children wish the same for me - they want me to spend every last cent on myself before I die (my ever-expanding guitar collection is seeing to that quite nicely). Some people put family, love, comfort, community, and experiences before money and inheritances. And, some people put jobs before the need for cheaper baked beans. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 15th, 2022 at 8:15pm John Smith wrote on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:57pm:
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 16th, 2022 at 12:58am greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 15th, 2022 at 7:33pm:
More like $200 to pay 2 teens to work 6 hours. Or maybe 3 people working 4 hours shifts, manning the checkouts. But it comes down to moving 2 people away from the checkouts to stacking those shelves and saving the store money on not needing to babysit some old man that does not know how to scan a few items himself. We had 2 people on checkouts tonight when I was doing my shopping. Given that it was near 8pm, it is fair that they only had 2 checkouts open to serve the 5 people getting served in that 10 minute window. Why would you want to have a third or fourth person sitting at the checkout waiting on someone else after the 1 person they served is gone. Waste of labour money. You paid $2.20/L today. I bet you are the type of person that uses his car regularly, too. Would you rather pay $1.10/L and self-serve. Or would you rather pay the $2.20/L and have someone from the service station pumping your fuel for you? By the way, buy a packet of baking soda powder for $1.90. Dump the contents into an old milo or coffee tin. Leave the lid over it and available in the bathroom. Before a shower, get a spoonful of baking soda from your tin and put it in your mouth to dissolve, swish around and then expel down the bathroom drain during your shower. The baking soda will clear off the plaque on your teeth a lot better than mouthwash. Wash your mouth out afterwards and brush your teeth to clean off the remainder. Your breath will smell better for a lot longer. You save money. The powder will last longer than mouthwash. And for guys, your manhood won't be affected by the way mouthwash does. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 16th, 2022 at 3:13am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 10th, 2022 at 8:38pm:
Seriously? They can HIRE ppl to stock shelves! Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 16th, 2022 at 10:45am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 16th, 2022 at 12:58am:
If it creates more jobs, I have no problem paying more for goods and services. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 16th, 2022 at 10:51am greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 15th, 2022 at 8:14pm:
I'll just leave this here. Why? I don't want to give you the chance to ever edit/delete your ridiculous response. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 16th, 2022 at 10:53am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 16th, 2022 at 10:51am:
I did marry, and I do have kids. My wife died years ago, and my kids are employed in decent jobs and certainly don't need any money from me. Moreover, they wouldn't take it even if I left it for them (they'd donate it to a charity). Our family doesn't worship money, and we don't seek inheritances. My father died a few weeks ago (holding my hand as he struggled to take his last breath), and now his money has been transferred into my mother's account (I finalised the paperwork yesterday). Starting tomorrow, I'm using that money (with Mum) to buy her a new AC unit, fridge, bed, lounge, washing machine, TV, vacuum cleaner, wheelchair, etc. etc. etc. She doesn't need any of those things replaced, but I've insisted that she get brand new everything. I want her to be as comfortable and happy as possible in her last years (possibly only months). I want her to spend every last cent on herself (and stimulate the economy in the process). If I end up with an inheritance from her, I will consider that a failure. This is how our family works, and my children wish the same for me - they want me to spend every last cent on myself before I die (my ever-expanding guitar collection is seeing to that quite nicely). Some people put family, love, comfort, community, and experiences before money and inheritances. And, some people put jobs before the need for cheaper baked beans. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:13am
Yep Bwian/Gwoggy et al
Sure you do. Unfortunately I can see your filthy white flag of surrender. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:15am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:13am:
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:20am
I almost miss the interjection by your fake/shared id Jim Slackey persona.
But he turned up anyway. Just under your Gwoggy id instead. It's been over 15 years (that I know of) of you bludging online full time under hundreds of ids at the expense of tax payers like myself and my husband and even our older kids who do work now. If only the dole which you need to stay afloat could be halved. I wonder if that would finally push you out of that icky filthy multi cyber troll chair you live in night and day across so many forums. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:21am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:20am:
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:26am
Poor little cyber multi troll. Medication time for you hey 😂🤣😆
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Jim Lahey on Mar 16th, 2022 at 3:41pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 16th, 2022 at 11:20am:
LOL hows the election going Lisa? Lose much? haha |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Jim Lahey on Mar 16th, 2022 at 3:42pm
Lisa is on par with being as bigger loser as Trump LOL
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 1:13am greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 16th, 2022 at 10:45am:
Oh, bull-f'n'-sheeit. $2.17/L to fill up my car tonight (plus some for my mower fuel). I would not pay another 5c/L to pay someone to come out and pump my fuel. It is such an easy task that it would be demeaning to have someone else do it for me. Take your 20 items to the self-checkouts and do your own scanning. The designated checkout operators are too busy trying to help old people too technophobic from learning new things. I swear that there are too many people in this country that think paying more to have people scan and bag, or wash the windscreens, check your oil, and pump your fuel. Perhaps we need to bring back people that go around knocking on your bedroom windows to wake you up and replace that darn alarm clock. Or maybe a water carrier to replace those pesky pipes leading from the town's water reserves. Wake up and smell the coffee -- before you start accusing that product of stealing income from tea or milo brands. Being a luddite in the 21st century will soon leave Australia having to fall behind places like Indonesia in technology. Ironically, their catch up will have us competing better with them. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:04am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 1:13am:
No, not bullshit. I have no problem paying more for goods and services, if it creates more jobs. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 17th, 2022 at 7:02am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 1:13am:
Just ignore Bwian aka Gwoggy aka Laugh Til We Laugh At Him aka Jim Slackey aka Moosetupha Can't Troll hard enough... He's absolutely off his face and talking utter invented BS again. And he posted 2 comments yesterday which I copied and took a screenshot of before he could edit or delete them. Why? Both comments clearly indicate how unhinged his full time multi troll mindset is these days. Do not believe his comment above. It is a filthy and unhinged lie by an unwell man who has not worked for at least 15 years (that I know of). What I do is this : I follow the principles my migrant parents taught me : • Always do the right thing wrt money matters. Don't waste it. Invest it in your health and welfare and future. And your children's future. And always remember the vulnerable poor around you. This is why today .... I'm in a very financially secure position with my husband. I've stuck to mum n dad's philosophy. I STILL remember being around 4 and sitting on a normal chair at the kitchen table and watching my parents talk about money. It was never about MAKING money. It was about SAVING money. They kept repeating the word : economia <--- it means to economise ie save. And that's all I knew growing up. My life was about growing organic fruit n veg ( Mum n Dad had a mini farm happening ffs with chooks etc ). And that's why 2 teenage migrants with no education and no English language skills and no money and no support who came to Sydney with nothing but dreams and hope in 1965.....had FOUR houses by the time I was born! Both worked 2 to 3 jobs each all the time and saved. My uncles and aunts by marriage did even better! They owned factories as well as homes. But that's because my uncles had trades skills/qualifications. Mum n Dad taught us to remember those around us who couldn't cope financially. If your standard of living increases so should your standard of giving. And through that we were taught the important principle of BEING GRATEFUL and the principle of SHARING. And as a little kid I watched what this did. It kickstarted a synergistic chain reaction involving community network development driven by positive energy and happiness. Yes HAPPINESS. Being HAPPY! That's what life is supposed to be about! The only complaint I have about my European childhood is that we never had a pet dog or pet bird or pet kitten like the kids at school. Ours was always a pet lamb. My cousins had pet goats. The peculiar thing about our pets? Every so often these animals needed to apparently return to their homes far away on some farm for the farm air was good for their health. They would then come back. Looking exactly the same mind you to be our pets again. 😐i |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Jovial Monk on Mar 17th, 2022 at 7:06am
By mistake I joined a self checkout queue at Coles a few days ago—this was a manned checkout originally. Talking to the woman in front of me as she scanned her items I remarked it takes longer to do the self checkout than if it was a manned checkout. I hastened to add I was not hassling her, just making an observation. She agreed but hard to find manned checkouts.
So we take longer so the store makes some more money. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 17th, 2022 at 7:38am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 1:13am:
Just ignore Bwian aka Gwoggy aka Laugh Til We Laugh At Him aka Jim Slackey aka Moosetupha Can't Troll hard enough... He's absolutely off his face and talking utter invented BS again. And he posted 2 comments yesterday which I copied and took a screenshot of before he could edit or delete them. Why? Both comments clearly indicate how unhinged his full time multi troll mindset is these days. Do not believe his comment above. It is a filthy and unhinged lie by an unwell man who has not worked for at least 15 years (that I know of). What I do is this : I follow the principles my migrant parents taught me : • Always do the right thing wrt money matters. Don't waste it. Invest it in your health and welfare and future. And your children's future. And always remember the vulnerable poor around you. This is why today .... I'm in a very financially secure position with my husband. I've stuck to mum n dad's philosophy. I STILL remember being around 4 and sitting on a normal chair at the kitchen table and watching my parents talk about money. It was never about MAKING money. It was about SAVING money. They kept repeating the word : economia <--- it means to economise ie save. And that's all I knew growing up. My life was about growing organic fruit n veg ( Mum n Dad had a mini farm happening ffs with chooks etc ). And that's why 2 teenage migrants with no education and no English language skills and no money and no support who came to Sydney with nothing but dreams and hope in 1965.....had FOUR houses by the time I was born! Both worked 2 to 3 jobs each all the time and saved. My uncles and aunts by marriage did even better! They owned factories as well as homes. But that's because my uncles had trades skills/qualifications. Mum n Dad taught us to remember those around us who couldn't cope financially. If your standard of living increases so should your standard of giving. And through that we were taught the important principle of BEING GRATEFUL and the principle of SHARING. And as a little kid I watched what this did. It kickstarted a synergistic chain reaction involving community network development driven by positive energy and happiness. Yes HAPPINESS. Being HAPPY! That's what life is supposed to be about! The only complaint I have about my European childhood is that we never had a pet dog or pet bird or pet kitten like the kids at school. Ours was always a pet lamb. My cousins had pet goats. The peculiar thing about our pets? Every so often these animals needed to apparently return to their homes far away on some farm for the farm air was good for their health. They would then come back. Looking the same. 😐 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 17th, 2022 at 7:45am
Lisa ive figgered out what you are trying to do. I expect you are failing. You are trying to gaslight greggery
Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 17th, 2022 at 8:14am
Exposing the dangerous lie of a full time multi cyber troll who hasn't worked at all for the past 15 yrs that I've had the displeasure of knowing him is not gaslighting.
It's called speaking up and speaking out. I suggest you look up the term gaslighting ASAP. I myself survived that terrible form of abuse in my first marriage. Edit : For the benefit of Spot definition of gaslighting is "an increasing frequency of systematically withholding factual information from, and/or providing false information to, the victim - having the gradual effect of making them anxious, confused, and less able to trust their own memory and perception. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 17th, 2022 at 8:42am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 8:14am:
Yeah dont try it on me either "Gaslighting is a form of manipulation that often occurs in abusive relationships. It is a covert type of emotional abuse where the bully or abuser misleads the target, creating a false narrative and making them question their judgments and reality." Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 17th, 2022 at 8:50am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 8:42am:
You do realise that I'm in no relationship with a fake multi troll like Groggy or any of his multis you blooming fool! No that FACT passed you by. Seriously Spot....do me a favour and don't post at me. I don't enjoy correcting fools like you. Ta. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Ye Grappler on Mar 17th, 2022 at 9:01am
Loathe them - every time I get going in earnest, that snide female voice comes in to tell me I'm doing it wrong - I can get that anywhere, so I don't need it from a machine... they need a strong male visionary voice to ordnung people how to do things right.....
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 17th, 2022 at 10:32am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 8:14am:
I suggest you look up the term 'unhinged'. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Belgarion on Mar 17th, 2022 at 10:36am Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 9:01am:
Yep. I hate the bloody things. Once I asked the woman overseeing these things if I got a staff discount. She gave an embarrassed laugh and moved away. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:40am Belgarion wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 10:36am:
Have you noticed that many also have a checkout person in the self checkout area to assist people who get stuck? If that checkout person opened up another register instead...customers would probably be out the door faster anyway. Keep meaning to ask ....has anyone ever seen an Aldi self checkout? I've never seen one. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:44am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 1:13am:
Just ignore Bwian aka Gwoggy aka Laugh Til We Laugh At Him aka Jim Slackey aka Moosetupha Can't Troll hard enough... He's absolutely off his face and talking utter invented BS again. And he posted 2 comments yesterday which I copied and took a screenshot of before he could edit or delete them. Why? Both comments clearly indicate how unhinged his full time multi troll mindset is these days. Do not believe his comment above. It is a filthy and unhinged lie by an unwell man who has not worked for at least 15 years (that I know of). What I do is this : I follow the principles my migrant parents taught me : • Always do the right thing wrt money matters. Don't waste it. Invest it in your health and welfare and future. And your children's future. And always remember the vulnerable poor around you. This is why today .... I'm in a very financially secure position with my husband. I've stuck to mum n dad's philosophy. I STILL remember being around 4 and sitting on a normal chair at the kitchen table and watching my parents talk about money. It was never about MAKING money. It was about SAVING money. They kept repeating the word : economia <--- it means to economise ie save. And that's all I knew growing up. My life was about growing organic fruit n veg ( Mum n Dad had a mini farm happening ffs with chooks etc ). And that's why 2 teenage migrants with no education and no English language skills and no money and no support who came to Sydney with nothing but dreams and hope in 1965.....had FOUR houses by the time I was born! Both worked 2 to 3 jobs each all the time and saved. My uncles and aunts by marriage did even better! They owned factories as well as homes. But that's because my uncles had trades skills/qualifications. Mum n Dad taught us to remember those around us who couldn't cope financially. If your standard of living increases so should your standard of giving. And through that we were taught the important principle of BEING GRATEFUL and the principle of SHARING. And as a little kid I watched what this did. It kickstarted a synergistic chain reaction involving community network development driven by positive energy and happiness. Yes HAPPINESS. Being HAPPY! That's what life is supposed to be about! The only complaint I have about my European childhood is that we never had a pet dog or pet bird or pet kitten like the kids at school. Ours was always a pet lamb. My cousins had pet goats. We seemed to have a lot of fresh meat back then too. 🥺 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Ye Grappler on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:47am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:40am:
I've commented on that in-store as well.... waste of time those things.... people were lined up about 25 deep one day - I just went to the short queue and was out in 2 minutes. 'Tfino why people choose to use those things...................... |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Jones on Mar 17th, 2022 at 12:08pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:47am:
I remember once hubby and I were at Big W. He wanted to use the self checkout whereas I simply refused. Anyway .... we split the shopping in half and he went to the self checkout which was available whereas I waited to be served by the checkout girl. Long story short I was waiting for him outside the store. Why? Those checkout girls are so fast and they know how to pack the bags very carefully and efficiently too. As I'm a dutiful wife ....I told him off all the way home because the girls or guys at the checkout are more often than not students trying to survive whilst studying or mums trying to keep up with the cost of living by working shifts around their husband's work times. These people are also our front line workers. Damn it they deserve to know how much we appreciate them. And I always thank them for being so friendly and efficient and careful with how they pack my things. Little comments like : "Well well well whoever trained you trained you very well indeed. Your customer service skills are excellent. " Immediately the smile would come up on our faces and with a quick wink I'd head off to pack everything inside the car. Once inside the car ... it takes less than 60 seconds to shoot through a quick email to Head Office using the relevant details on my receipt and just like that ... the cashier no and name along with the store no and name and the positive feedback are in the RIGHT hands. Note : I can be a tad cheeky sometimes with these feedback reports by inserting a negative comment about the self checkouts and how problematic they are. 😂🤣😆i |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:04am:
And in your economic hypothetical model, please explain to people how paying, say, 10% more for your groceries would have someone more sit on the registers waiting for you to load up your groceries. What is it now? $16/hr for an under 18-year-old to work on registers? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:10pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:03pm:
If a supermarket employs more people - to operate the checkouts - they'll probably need to increase their prices to cover the cost of the labour. You can't seriously tell me you don't understand this basic principle? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Belgarion on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:27pm
Aside from the staffing issue, the self serve checkouts themselves are impractical. There is no space to park your trolley properly or unload your goods and then pack them into your bags. It takes far longer than a manned checkout and is an ergonomic nightmare, especially for someone with a toddler or two in tow or physically unable to manage.
But the supermarkets don't give a rats. All about saving money in the guise of making things better for the customer. ::) |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 17th, 2022 at 6:29pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 7:45am:
she's far to stupid to gaslight anyone successfully. Lisa thinks everyone else is as petty as she is and the idea that someone else might not prioritise money over people is simply beyond her abilities. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 6:36pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:10pm:
I think my point was that you don't. And when they increase their prices, customers shop at places that are cheaper. And when customers shop at places that are cheaper, the supermarkets make less money to spend on labour to work those checkouts. And when they have less customers shopping at those better-manned checkouts, there is not much point having someone stand at the registers waiting for non-existent customers to come through their idle checkouts. And then there is the profit-cost ratios coming into play -- even though this is the main issue. Here, I will give you an example of a place that I did work at over 20 years ago. I worked at a pizza store (one of the 5 main delivery places in town at the time). Back then, I would walk in at 5pm and see a front counter person answering phone call after phone call from a constantly ringing phone. We would jump on the phones to help out with the backlog of calls coming through. In the meantime, we would have a cut person and a dispatcher working to send out pick up and delivery orders. I worked as a delivery driver. I would deliver 10 deliveries per night on average. I would have to carry around $20 in change + whatever I would bring back from the customer. Sometimes I could not cash in whatever excess I would have on me and would walk around with more than $50 on me. That would make me a mugging risk and escalate the chances of other driver getting mugged. I recall having to stay back until 2 or 3am on a Saturday or Sunday morning doing washing up and floor cleaning as a close driver. I quit that job in 2001. Cut to 2020, I know of someone who works a franchise in the pizza industry. He has greater sales from one store in terms of customer numbers than I had to contend with in 2001. The difference being that the phone is ringing about a third of the time I recall in my own work experience -- given that I have been in the store on a Friday night and watched this happen. The front counter people are helping dispatch a lot more. This is because of the online ordering and payment system. Customers order online, pay and then pick up at their convenience. In and out like it is nothing. Delivery drivers don't have to get payment off the customers as much as they would. That would lead to fewer issues about having too much money on them. The best thing is that he would have time to wash up have the store cleaned not long after closing time. And the kicker is that the customers could get a discount on their orders. AND the franchisee would still make a decent profit to pay his bills and labour. So, you would be kind of a moron not to save a few hundred dollars a day to have better service in whatever industry you employ people. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 6:40pm Belgarion wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:27pm:
Are you going to go through a self-serve checkout with more than 10 items? I use self-serve because of the quick getaway. 10+ grocery items, I will go through a staffed checkout register. They exist. But, the lines are shorter because we do not have to wait behind the people checking out a couple of items. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 17th, 2022 at 6:45pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 6:36pm:
Okay, champ ;) |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Belgarion on Mar 17th, 2022 at 7:13pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 6:40pm:
The supermarkets have policy of leaving the ordinary checkouts unmanned, in an attempt to force everyone into the self serve area. Only when lines really start to build up do they reluctantly staff them. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 9:42pm
I have a policy of showering everytime I am considerably dirty/sweaty. But, if I followed your line of thinking, I would never get out of the shower.
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 17th, 2022 at 9:55pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 9:42pm:
Ahh so you don't have a Mediterranean wife then. We force our husbands and kids to have 2 showers a day (1st thing in the morning and the other just before jumping into bed). And all towels are only used ONCE. After that they go straight to the laundry 😎 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 10:18pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 9:55pm:
That is interesting. I have two towels on the towel rack. One for drying the hands. The other to towel off after a shower. But, after toweling off after a shower, I swap the towels over so that I have a dry towel for 12 hours later. Then I wash the towels with my clothes once or twice a week. Back in year 6, our teacher told us that we should shower in the morning before school. Arguments started that if we had a shower the night before, we should be clean enough before school. Now, it is a matter of rinsing over in the morning. Then showering before we go out to public places. Then scrubbing over before bed. I have also noticed that I cannot sleep if I have not brushed my teeth before bed. Mum has us baulked about not going to bed before brushing our teeth. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 17th, 2022 at 10:43pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 10:18pm:
The bit about you washing the towels with the clothes....absolutely horrified me. You never mix towels with other things as the lint will spread across the washing. Loads of washing get sorted as follows: 4 plastic baskets from Big W up against the laundry wall. Basket 1 : all whites/creams/light colours Basket 2 : all darks ie navy blues and blacks Basket 3 : all towels (mine are all white so I can put a bit of bleach in the water Basket 4 : all socks You choose the basket which has the most stuff in it for your next wash. And that's how I taught my hubby and kids too. The above system works ok. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:25pm
It was like 20 years ago that I learned not to use hot water for my washing. Not only does it cost electricity, but the clothes also shrink. Cold Power washing for me.
It does not matter if I mix up the washing with towels and socks. It is only me. The black socks I wear for work (el cheapo from Big W) have about a year's life. I have to replace the Tradies brand. I bought King Gee socks from Lowes. They look like they will last for a long time. And I use my old white socks for my walks in my running shoes during rucking. Slowly but surely, the socks are getting recycled for a couple uses as my wash cloth for my car washing. I do, however, put new shirts as separate washes. I think I have had the misfortune of running colours into other shirts, before. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Ye Grappler on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:35pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 5:10pm:
I'd like to view the full figures on installation, cost of operation and extra staff needed anyway to keep them running smick..... I'd rather wait for a checkout than put up with the sh1t from those things, after waiting in a long line to even get to them.... When I go to K-mart I stand to the side of the checkouts, and say - anyone wants the machines, go ahead. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Ye Grappler on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:37pm
Towels separate - my socks and shorts and stuff all go together... who cares? I don't wear cheap red dyed things....
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:49pm
Anyway, how many times have checkouts closed as you line up for service, due to the staff member's shift finishing? Supermarkets won't keep a checkout open just because you don't want to use self-serve.
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Ye Grappler on Mar 18th, 2022 at 12:00am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:49pm:
The customer is always wrong - this is progress. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 18th, 2022 at 12:05am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:25pm:
New washing machines only have 1 hose outlet (for cold water). Mind you I've never ever washed in anything but cold water. I love Dynamo and Cold Power laundry liquid and buy up when on sale as they're expensive. Look if it's just you then I suppose you're doing the right thing in amalgamating a few washes. I mean you can't just a have a few items in each load. That would be silly. Can you shop and cook? Did Mum teach you how to be savvy in those areas? She sounds awesome to me lol. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 18th, 2022 at 12:22am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2022 at 11:49pm:
Wanna make a bet? Yes ... I am THAT customer. My hubby hates it too lol. It's merely part of my routine actually. I approach the cashier standing like a sentry guard at the self checkout area (he/she is the person who is on hand to help teach customers how to be check out chicks and perform that function for free) and ask if they could please open a check out for me as it's easier and less stressful for me. It's no lie. It IS far easier and less stressful if someone who is fully trained does the job for you while you watch to make sure they don't accidentally double charge you on an item (some scan items way too quickly and that can cause a double charge on just 1 item). And guess what? That checkout always opens up for me and I go there with a wide smile on my face and thank the person for being so lovely. The thing that's got me worried though is the fact that soon some supermarkets will remove all checkouts and self checkouts. In fact it was trialled a few years ago. Back when I was into professional shopping. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 18th, 2022 at 12:36am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 18th, 2022 at 12:05am:
Okay, I'll wander into this topic. Mum taught me basic cooking since I was 10 years old. Before that, Mum would encourage me to peel the potatoes and carrots. I made the family a meal myself the first time when I was 15 years old. Basically, sausages and vegetables (nearly what I am having for dinner tonight). The more complicated meals like curries and sweet and sours were learned when I moved out of home. Grocery shopping was a learning experience over the first year. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 18th, 2022 at 10:56am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 18th, 2022 at 12:36am:
Good mum then. And for what it's worth ...I think you're a good boy. I also think I spoil my kids a lot. I should let them do more household chores. Edit : They're not touching my new Bosch 10 kilo front loader. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 21st, 2022 at 5:49pm
Ten items in my quick shopping stop. I wanted to try the manned checkouts with the items to see what it is like to go through one where a self-checkout could have sufficed. Assistants were busy ringing up 50+ items and being 2 or 3 customers in line, the only solution would be to use a self-checkout.
Anyway, I walked into Glenmore Seafoods a few hours later to buy some prawns. $45/kg! I can imagine petrol costs would have seafood prices skyrocketing. Transport costs for supermarkets would have had to bump up prices and cut down on labour costs. Best to help cut down on labour by doing your self-serve checkouts. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:05pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 21st, 2022 at 5:49pm:
::) ::) ::) moron |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:19pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 21st, 2022 at 5:49pm:
What about the people who lose their jobs - you have no concern for them at all? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:21pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:19pm:
Does he realise that he won't save a cent on his shopping? Any money supermarkets save will go directly into profits. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:25pm John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:21pm:
Exactly. People (who really need a job) lose their jobs, and the CEOs and shareholders get richer. Moreover, the shoppers keep paying the same prices. I won't be using a self-serve checkout anytime soon. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:14pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:19pm:
If you have ever worked in customer service you would know that all new technology does is cut back on wasted labour after-hours cleaning up. Nobody loses their jobs because customers come in and self-serve. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:15pm John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:05pm:
Are you? It seems like it. Do you want to employ someone to wipe your bum whilst you are in the mood to spend more money? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:17pm John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 6:21pm:
Cutthroat industry among supermarkets. You are probably paying less relative to the cost of living 20 years ago. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:18pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:14pm:
FFS, your naivety is frustrating. Coles and Woolworths have both admitted that people have lost their jobs because of self-serve. Moreover, it's happening in the warehouses too: Unions have slammed Woolworths as “heartless” for deciding to replace 1,350 warehouse workers with robots after employees put in extra effort to see the supermarket giant through the coronavirus crisis. The company on Tuesday revealed plans to cut 1,350 warehouse jobs at the same time as admitting to a blowout of at least $90m in the cost of backpay for other workers it has underpaid. Woolworths, which has enjoyed bumper sales during the coronavirus outbreak as Australians stockpiled essentials including toilet paper, told the stock exchange it planned to close three warehouse sites in Sydney and Melbourne and replace them with two more highly automated distribution centres at Moorebank in Sydney’s south-west. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:21pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:17pm:
I doubt it. 20 years ago a single income paid the mortgage, bills and the shopping. Today you need one wage just for shopping and bills, another for mortgage or rent |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:22pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:15pm:
I wouldn't employ you for that, that's for sure. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:24pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:14pm:
are you kidding? twenty years ago if there were 20 tellers, 15 staff would be employed to man them. Today if there are 20 tellers, 3 are manned at most and the rest are pushed through to self serve. You realise that there is a REASON why shops are turning towards self serve right? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 8:56pm John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:22pm:
Nor would I apply for the job. But, you would employ someone to wipe your bum? Seems like you have more money than sense. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 7:28am John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:24pm:
The reason is that customers do not really want to wait in line to be served by either one of the 15 or 3 tellers to have their groceries checked out. I do not know what parallel universe you live, but in this universe, people do not like to be idle. How many times have you walked in somewhere and found that the lines are so long that you do not want to wait around to be served. You go somewhere else to be served. That is the issue. Efficiency of serving customers quickly will improve customer relations. If you want to wait in line for any number from 3 to 15 tellers to get to you to checkout your $200 worth of groceries, I have no issue. But, us 10 items or less people are going through the self-serve checkouts. We are really doing YOU a favour. I would wait in line at the bank to transfer money from one account to another. 5 minutes (usually minimum) in line waiting for other people to do their banking before I get served. An employee told me that I should just use the ATM to do the money transfers. No more waiting in line. And banks can get more done. I guess if teleportation was invented -- point to point -- you would not use that because suburban trains, bus and taxi drivers would get downsized. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 7:34am John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 7:21pm:
That is amazing. I spend up to $200 per fortnight on food. I cannot empathise with high rent or mortgages, seeing that my own rent is probably a third of what other people pay. But, if you are in a $50,000 job, you should be able to make enough money to pay the bills, mortgage/rent in modest accommodation and have food and entertainment sufficient to anyone's needs. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:10am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 7:34am:
See that highlighted bit? That's a lie! 20 years ago did NOT pay the mortgage and bills. Nope that is a shocking lie! You'd be stupid and naive to believe John Abo Smith who has never had a mortgage in his life and has been unemployed and living off benefits and in Aboriginal Housing for most of his dole bludging existence. 20 years ago ... both parents needed to work and indeed we ( my ex husband and I did just that ). And childcare was bloody impossible and very expensive too. I was personally caught up in that nightmare trying to get back into the workforce after getting married and having gone on maternity leave. 20 years ago we had a mortgage of 400 K back then and needed a double income as we had 2 babies on the scene. It was terribly challenging jumping back into my HR career as my CV was considered "stale" for having had my twins and taking a few years off. So for REPLENISHING Australia's future workforce (which is economically important for Australia) I found my Uni degree/s from reputable Universities and prior work experience....suddenly meant nothing. As far as potential employers were concerned...my resume had gone stale and those years were considered NON PRODUCTIVE because I had been REPRODUCTIVE. I persevered within that type of context and my persistence eventually paid off. ^^^ That was the reality of buying and owning property 20 years back. In Sydney! |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Jim Lahey on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:12am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:10am:
be quiet Lisa, we know you are a career dole bludger who met your "husband", dero jones at centerlink while trying to get payment for your 10 children |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:20am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:10am:
Now .... please bring the fake multi shared nic Jim Lahey out please. It makes me laugh watching the various unemployed dole bludging cyber junkie trolls from Drunk's Dump jumping up and down after my every post 😂🤣😆 Actually it absolutely delights my heart knowing that I have ardent admirers in some 4 MEN who jump into a fake id trying to PM me every day as Jim Lackey only to be ignored. And just knowing I have 4 MEN on standby day and night refreshing their screens every minute waiting to see if I've posted. No other female on OzPol has ever managed to keep 4 unhinged male cyber junkie nutters off the street and keep them superglued to their squalid cyber junkie urinated chairs. And that makes my day! 😂🤣😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:23am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:10am:
John would live somewhere and would be making payments somehow. For the last 21 years, I have been living off the taxpayer with welfare getting paid to me. Two-thirds of my income is from work. I get paid about half the amount of welfare that other people usually get, if they are not income means-tested. I really would not know what the rent prices are like for people. Back in my childhood, my father was the sole income earner. Mum had to stay home and raise her three children. By the time my brother started pre-school, Mum re-entered the workforce. This helped pay off the mortgage faster. We were borderline in poverty when Dad was the sole income earner. We were well into middle income earning family by the time I was in my teens. Then Dad got promoted in his blue-collar job. Mum went to a 6-figure paying income job. The mortgage being paid off meant that Mum and Dad could save money. And when I finally decided to get a job in my late teens, I had my own spending money and some financial independence. I live in a house that I will probably inherit from my relatives. So, I do not know the reality of buying a home. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:41am
Hang on .... how come you've not been able to get a full time job for 21 years? Aren't you around 40 yrs old anyway?
I personally do not know of anyone (offline) who has been unemployed for 21 years. Good luck with relying on an inheritance for owning a home. You might find that the house in question will be required to be sold off to cover the cost of an aged care facility. Of course this is only if the current owner needs an aged care facility. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Jim Lahey on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 9:15am
Lisa can only use her basics card for food so she has to drink metho and listerine in the park with Dero Jones
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 9:16am Jim Lahey wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 9:15am:
Now .... please bring the fake multi shared nic Jim Lahey out please. It makes me laugh watching the various unemployed dole bludging cyber junkie trolls from Drunk's Dump jumping up and down after my every post 😂🤣😆 Actually it absolutely delights my heart knowing that I have ardent admirers in some 4 MEN who jump into a fake id trying to PM me every day as Jim Lackey only to be ignored. And just knowing I have 4 MEN on standby day and night refreshing their screens every minute waiting to see if I've posted. No other female on OzPol has ever managed to keep 4 unhinged male cyber junkie nutters off the street and keep them superglued to their squalid cyber junkie urinated chairs. And that makes my day! 😂🤣😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 1:56pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:41am:
Because of mental health issues. I went through a severe PTSD condition late last year to have trouble concentrating on anything more than basic tasks. Now, I am on the mend. I have been employed probably 24 of the last 25 years of my life. And I have worked full time hours cumulatively 3 months out of those 24 years. I have recently turned 43 years old. The house I am living in is falling apart. My parents want to replace the stairs. And I will have to have the stumps replaced with metal supports. So, I doubt I will be owning this place for much. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 4:38pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 7:34am:
thats because you buy a lot of processed, pre made and pre packaged crap. as for the rest of your crap, ... it's well, crap. $50k is enough to pay all that in Rocky, but it's not even enough to pay just the rent in Melbourne or Sydney. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 4:45pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 8:23am:
Don't listen to the drug addled lunatic. She's been snorting cocaine again I bought my first home in 1998 for $98k. As best as I can recall, my repayments were about $400 month. Easy to do especially since I had no dependents at the time. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:19am John Smith wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 4:38pm:
Well, I must admit that for the previous 6 months (ending in February this year) I was averaging $100 a week in booze and colas per week. Added to the fact that I earn about $400 per week from work and get about $300 per fortnight from Centrelink, even wasting money on booze (and the usual hangover cure from eating a junk food meal), I can still afford to spend $200 per fortnight on groceries and rent. Yes, my rent is cheap. But you should be able to afford rent and food in cities, too, earning $50,000 a year. Are you spending more than $300 a week on rent? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:22am John Smith wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 4:45pm:
What is $400 per month in 2022 prices? $800 to $1000 a month, now? That is about double my rent payments. And I would total my income at $25,000. I still have money for groceries and entertainment. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 24th, 2022 at 7:59am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:19am:
everyone in the cities is paying more than 300 a week in rent - in fact prolly more than 600. in fact anyone in australia that isnt in govt housing or some other subsidy scheme is paying more than 450 a week. Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 24th, 2022 at 9:47am
$600/wk in rent is about $31,200 per year. I highly doubt that any mid-range house being rented would be much more than $300/wk. $450/wk or above, you would have a good house being rented.
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Jovial Monk on Mar 24th, 2022 at 10:49am
Don’t move to the big smoke.
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 11:39am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 1:56pm:
Hang on - didn't you tell me a month back (on OzPol) that you supposedly turned back a bank loan in the 1990's of around 5 million dollars with no security? And I told you that was total BS? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 11:41am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 9:47am:
$600 a week for an old 2 bedder unit in Sydney is considered cheap. It's been like that for the past 2 years. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 11:46am John Smith wrote on Mar 23rd, 2022 at 4:45pm:
If ONLY this was Yahoo! The Abo troll would be kicked off yet again by all the male posters around him for talking through his unemployed anus. NO HOME in SYDNEY was 98 k in 1998! My first husband and I bought our matrimonial home in 1994 for $450k and that was an old wreck which we essentially demolished. 1994 : $450 grand (old wreck) Vs 1998 : $98 grand Absolute farkkking nonsense by a clueless Abo multi cyber junkie troll Frodo Smith who has only ever lived for free compliments of the tax payer! |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 11:51am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 22nd, 2022 at 8:56pm:
He gets a handout like you do. His reason is different to yours. He's absolutely lazy and addicted to cyber trolling and bourbon and cigarettes and drugs. And on Yahoo he'd make fun of those who did work. That's why on Yahoo not 1 male poster ever got on with him. They abhorred what he stood for. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 24th, 2022 at 12:33pm
i bought a house for 98k in brisbane in 1998
Sppot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 24th, 2022 at 12:56pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 11:39am:
That was not me. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 24th, 2022 at 12:59pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 12:33pm:
A small house, perhaps. My parents own a home that is probably worth $200,000, now. In 1998, it might have been worth $150,000. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 1:26pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 12:33pm:
No you didn't. Stripe |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 1:27pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 12:56pm:
Must have been Rhino 🦏 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:13pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:22am:
you're not renting a 3 bedroom house are you? ::) ohh, and $400 a month in 1998 was about 1/5th of my monthly income back then . I had plenty of money for groceries. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:16pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 7:59am:
prices on the gc for a 3 bedroom place starts at at about $600 week rent. If you want something with a little room to move you =need to go over $1000/week |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:17pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 9:47am:
;D ;D $600 is the starting price these days |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:18pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 11:46am:
I've never lived in Sydney you deranged lunatic. Go take your meds before they put you in a straight jacket again |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:07pm John Smith wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:16pm:
Incorrect! A 3 bedroom HOUSE today starts at $750 per week. And you do not have to pay over $1000 per week for something larger. And I'm talking Sydney today in decent suburbs (not the bogan west or Illawarra where the unemployed Abo clueless Frodo has only lived). You don't need to pay over $1000 a week as Bogan Frodo is staying. And Sydney is the most expensive city in Australia for real estate! It's cringeworthy watching the clueless Frodo Nong stumble as he posts absolute rubbish about real estate. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:11pm John Smith wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:18pm:
Frodo Abo Smith...your long term drug addiction is getting the better of you. You're not understanding how I'm showing you up for the clueless nong that you are. Freediver has long made you look like a fool and we've joined with him to laugh AT you. The fact that you keep coming back for more pwning is testament to your particular brand of drug induced insanity for which every male poster even on Yahoo saw and ridiculed you for. 😂🤣😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:53pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:07pm:
once again the lunatic proves why she is so ridiculed John Smith wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:16pm:
you moron |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 7:17pm John Smith wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 6:53pm:
OMG! You mean to say you're lying about which part of Australia you live in now? Hang on did you say the GC??? Gold Coast?? Nahhh no way .... you can't be that stupid Frodo. You do realise that what you've just admitted to is quite serious. You're impersonating a poor innocent guy who happens to have the same name as you and now you're pretending to live where he lives? That's a new low. Even for a piece of fake shyte like you who hasn't paid a cent in tax or child support in his pathetic life and is still bludging off another woman by maintaining a cyber junkie troll existence and by being on the dole. BRB....I have a few calls to make. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 24th, 2022 at 7:22pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 7:17pm:
This might help. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 24th, 2022 at 8:06pm
Hey MustyAnus/Bwian/Groggy/banned again Jim Lahey etc ..you must have arthritic fingers pushing so many ids and screens on all those iPads there.
You're RAPING whatever is left of your deranged ethics and you're needlessly MURDERING yourself slowly every minute of the day. The bitterness of 15 yrs of chronic cyber junkie trolling is EATING you away. Into nothing.😔 PS Jim Lahey IS banned. Sucked in troll 😂🤣😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 25th, 2022 at 2:59am John Smith wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 5:13pm:
It is a three-bedroom, high-set house, with a large yard, situated about 1km from the Rockhampton Stocklands shopping centre. Built in 1986. Only I live here. $2000 a month is not much money to earn. A manager at my fast food restaurant in 1998 earned $35,000 per year, even though they were doing up to 60 hours a week. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:03am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 8:06pm:
Where is valkie? Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:05am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:03am:
Why do you want to know? Stripe |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:07am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 1:26pm:
Yes i did Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:09am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 12:59pm:
I didnt say it was huge Actually i knew someone at the time that bought a dingy lil crapola 1 br place in sydneys outer suburbs for 50k that year. It really was yuck. Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:11am Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:05am:
Because you have taken over for them - you must know where they are Spot |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:12am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:09am:
FMD .... here we go. $50 K for a HOUSE in SYDNEY in 1998 ffs! Spot whatever it is you're on....stop taking it. It's proving your stupidity knows no bounds. 😂🤣😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:14am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:11am:
What else do you know? Stripe |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:40pm Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 7:17pm:
;D ;D ;D the resident lunatic strikes again ... how many lines you snort tonight lisa? |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by John Smith on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:41pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 24th, 2022 at 7:22pm:
Unfortunately, even the shrinks can't help her. The only viable option at this stage is a full frontal labotomy |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 25th, 2022 at 10:11pm John Smith wrote on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:40pm:
What is this line that you know so much about that can be snorted? Like some filthy pig? The only lines I know of are those lines which appear in pure and applied mathematics and of course physics. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 25th, 2022 at 10:14pm
A LABOTOMY??
😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆 Oh God you really are seriously dumb. Is it any wonder Freediver loves making fun of you every chance he gets 😎 Yep we all know you Frodo ...😂🤣😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Lisa Ross on Mar 25th, 2022 at 10:17pm John Smith wrote on Mar 25th, 2022 at 7:41pm:
You all saw it here folks. Dumbo Abo Frodo is talking serious science stuff 😂😂😆 |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by SadKangaroo on Mar 31st, 2022 at 4:33pm Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:43pm:
I like the technology behind the systems and I've enjoyed watching it improve and in some cases get worse. The local woolies has changed their deli barcodes to small ~1cm square QR codes that are a bitch to scan. I also like being able to split my shop as I choose, to maximise the fuel vouchers. That said, this is where my fascination for them ends. It's just another cog in the job losses to automation, and our Government has framed any discussion about what to do about it as socialism and their supporters simply parrot it. They'll complain about it, as they do on here, but they'll direct their anger to big tech or some conspiracy, as they've been told to, and the problem will not be addressed until it's too late and it will cost many times more to fix, if it ever can be at that point. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by Senexx on Apr 7th, 2022 at 5:45pm
If you want me to use the self-serve checkout, then you best pay me one full hourly wage of a checkout operator or at least deduct it from my shopping.
I'm not there to do their job for them. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2022 at 6:17pm Senexx wrote on Apr 7th, 2022 at 5:45pm:
Agreed. Hitherto (just to annoy the anti-Marxists), I have not used a Woolworths or Coles self-serve checkout. I've used them in Target, Kmart, and in London - as I wasn't given a choice - but I will hold out as long as I can with WW and Coles. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 7th, 2022 at 11:42pm
I actually bought three items at the supermarket. I went through checkout with an attendant. Mainly because I wanted to see if she had actually rebuffed me the last time I went through her checkout line. Otherwise, I would have gone the way of the self-serve.
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 7th, 2022 at 11:46pm Senexx wrote on Apr 7th, 2022 at 5:45pm:
This afternoon, Bunnings had a line up of people for the TWO checkouts they had manned. I had about $500+ worth of items in my hand and I did not want to wait around for 4 other people to be served before me. I went to the self-serve and was done within a minute. I probably would not mind $20 deducted from my $500 purchases. But, the convenience of getting out of there quicker was the clincher. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by SadKangaroo on Apr 8th, 2022 at 3:32pm UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 7th, 2022 at 11:46pm:
I usually go to the Tool Shop checkout or Refunds/Exchange counter if the other are full and there is no line before the self checkout. Quicker and easier, plus they remind me about flybuys which I always forget. |
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 8th, 2022 at 3:59pm
I do not know about flybuys. But, I think Bunnings is associated with Woolworths. I could have had my Woolies card scanned for points on a $500+ purchase.
Title: Re: Supermarket self checkouts Post by SadKangaroo on Apr 8th, 2022 at 4:04pm UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 8th, 2022 at 3:59pm:
It's a relatively new thing, https://www.bunnings.com.au/help-support/flybuys My local has the snag hut back. I've been going after work for emergency supplies if and when needed so I keep missing it, but tomorrow, I need to add a chain to my gas tanks to secure them to the wall, didn't realise that was a legislative requirement, so maybe I'll be lucky and can get one on the way in. (and one on the way out) |