Member Run Boards >> The Tavern >> Since this is The Tavern...
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1700801129

Message started by SadKangaroo on Nov 24th, 2023 at 2:45pm

Title: Since this is The Tavern...
Post by SadKangaroo on Nov 24th, 2023 at 2:45pm
Without doxxing yourself, do you have a favourite tavern or pub you like to go to, either locally or when you travel?

As someone living in QLD, I miss the old-style taverns and pubs that are/were everywhere in Melbourne.

Everything around here has no soul, they just feel like a converted office space with a pokies room off to the side.

I was down in Melb not so long ago for a work trip and went exploring near the Hotel and found this place,

https://www.thecharlesdickenstavern.com.au/

It was great for a nice relaxing ale or two.

I try not to travel much because I hate the time away from the family, but if I have to go, it would be good to have a list of places to check out, depending on where I am.

Title: Re: Since this is The Tavern...
Post by The Grappler Truth Teller on Nov 24th, 2023 at 3:12pm
O'Lunneys in Times Square - they are clan ...  it's the biggest mix-up, that you have ever seen - me father he was Orange and me mither she was Green ...

Post by Sophia on Nov 24th, 2023 at 3:30pm
OMG Mr. k ! You must’ve read my mind! I was just thinking about putting up my fave tavern… it’s in Runaway Bay Qld.  :) I’m just up the road from it now, until Sunday when we hit the road again.
A couple years ago, I was in the Tavern at RB and playing pokies (no surprise there!) and I wanted to go to the machine next to me but the whole place had a lot of people, anyway, I hear certain sounds emulating from the machine next to me and that woman she won $15,000 jackpot!
She looked up puzzled and I said “wow you just won $15,000, congratulations!”
Anyway, I don’t forget that and I always tell anyone playing near me that machines next to me always win  ;D

Post by Vic on Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:06pm
Rosebud RSL is a great place on the Mornington Peninsula that we go to a fair bit.   I also like Rainbow Bay Surf Life Saving Club in Coolangatta, Currumbin RSL and Caloundra RSL

Years ago, I went to a pub in Brisbane called "Sports" or something like that, but had to leave because I kept getting my bum fondled and pinched by other "patrons".

Post by The Grappler Truth Teller on Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:20pm

Vic wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:06pm:
Rosebud RSL is a great place on the Mornington Peninsula that we go to a fair bit.   I also like Rainbow Bay Surf Life Saving Club in Coolangatta, Currumbin RSL and Caloundra RSL

Years ago, I went to a pub in Brisbane called "Sports" or something like that, but had to leave because I kept getting my bum fondled and pinched by other "patrons".

Ha, ha - yes, a mate and I booked into a hotel in Sydney for Anzac Day once and only later realised, when we went down for a quiet one, that it was a gay pub.... all those strange looks... might go home a day early, eh?

Post by SadKangaroo on Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:50pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 3:30pm:
OMG Mr. k ! You must’ve read my mind! I was just thinking about putting up my fave tavern… it’s in Runaway Bay Qld.  :)

My grandparents used to take me and my sister there every Saturday night when it was called The Blue Bayou (at least the bistro) like decades ago...

That's unlocked some really amazing memories, thank you!

Post by Belgarion on Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:12pm
The Melbourne pub scene is excellent compared to the other states, much as it pains me to say it.  It has been a long time since i was a regular at any pub, but in Sydney I do like the Observer,  even though it has been yuppified since I used to frequent the place. As well there are other nice pubs in the Rocks like the Habour View,  Lord Nelson and the Hero of Waterloo

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:16pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 2:45pm:
Without doxxing yourself, do you have a favourite tavern or pub you like to go to, either locally or when you travel?

As someone living in QLD, I miss the old-style taverns and pubs that are/were everywhere in Melbourne.

Everything around here has no soul, they just feel like a converted office space with a pokies room off to the side.

One of the great things about Perth - no pokies   :)

Hard to say what my favourite pub is here, but The Cottesloe Beach Hotel would come close.

I usually sit right here, watching the sun setting over the ocean on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

Great beer, great food, fantastic view, and no pokies.

Oh, and a bit of trivia: when Heath Ledger died they held the wake at The Cottesloe Pub and scattered his ashes in the ocean across the road.

Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:28pm
Who has tasted a Farmhouse Ale, a saison?

Paljas Saison 330ml
ABV 6.0%
by Brouwerij Henricus
$10.00

Paljas Saison is an unfiltered and high fermented Ale with refermentation in the bottle. The use of a certain percentage of wheat and the little use of dry-hopping gives the beer a very nice flavour and fresh aroma. Specific yeast makes sure almost all sugars are fermented which makes it a dry and fluent drinkable beer for nice summer days.

About this beer
ABV 6.0%
Belgium
Saison / Farmhouse / Grisette

Dunno about that beer, similar grist to the one I brewed that was good.

Post by Setanta on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:32pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:16pm:

Hard to say what my favourite pub is here, but The Cottesloe Beach Hotel would come close.

I usually sit right here, watching the sun setting over the ocean on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

Oh, and a bit of trivia: when Heath Ledger died they held the wake at The Cottesloe Pub and scattered his ashes in the ocean across the road.

Changed a bit since I was there last before the America's Cup. Went there quite often although the Scarborough was the best Sunday session. My wife lived at 10 Marine Parade I think before she moved in with me.

Post by Gnads on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:47pm

I was down in Melb not so long ago for a work trip and went exploring near the Hotel and found this place,

I try not to travel much because I hate the time away from the family, but if I have to go, it would be good to have a list of places to check out, depending on where I am.

You know the answer to that ey? Maybe move back?

That's the sad thing about sad Dicktorians now living in QLD they are either trying to change where they've chosen to live into where they've come from or whinging about where they've chosen to live because it's not like where they've come from.

Seems your moniker is apt.

Oh & btw .... your photo .... too many people.

I just go down the street 3 blocks ... little sports club ... no pokies or meals anymore ....

but a good bar, good beer, good barmaid & a great bunch of regulars .... nearly like family.

I'll take a photo in the next few days. Club isn't open Saturdays.

Post by Gnads on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:58pm

Vic wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:06pm:

That's the Sportsmans Hotel/Bar in Springhill.

Been a Gay Bar for decades now.

So you weren't a  good sport then?  ;D ;D

Long time since I was at the Caloundra RSL but it was a good venue back then too.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:17pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:32pm:

Changed a bit since I was there last before the America's Cup. Went there quite often although the Scarborough was the best Sunday session. My wife lived at 10 Marine Parade I think before she moved in with me.

Well, that's freaky - my girlfriend back then (early '80s) lived at number 16 (?) Marine Parade with her parents.

I used to play in a few bands at the Scarborough Beach Hotel on Sundays, with my dearly departed friend John Meyer.

Great days, and great memories.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKA6rpwVH4k

Here's John.  I miss him heaps   :'(

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOxH1KdAoBo

Post by Setanta on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:20pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:17pm:

Well, that's freaky - my girlfriend back then (early '80s) lived at number 16 (?) Marine Parade with her parents.

I used to play in a few bands at the Scarborough Beach Hotel on Sundays, with my dearly departed friend John Meyer.

Saturday night at the White Sands was good too.

Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:22pm
Not a tavern, but a really nice restaurant in a winery:

Gorgeous food:

Harry’s Verandah Restaurant is in the D’Arenberg winery in the Southern Vales in SA.

Another verandah restaurant is in Paulette’s Winery in the Clare Valley in SA. Also partly on a verandah, Skillogalee winery restaurant across the main road from Paulettes. Worth a trip.

Post by Ja-Sindarin on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:22pm
Well for starters. Having lived in both Melbourne (Mogadishu) and Sydney (Shang-hai).

I can honestly say that although Melbourne gets more people to their footy than Sydney does to its and is known as the 'Sports Capital' of Australia.
Sydney's Entertainment Venues crap on the Melbourne ones.
Hell, it even has a Opera House (looks more like a Palestinian Mosque). Sydney is definitely more of a Party than Melbourne.

I guess my favourite was the humble White Cockatoo Hotel in Petersham when I lived in Petersham.
https://www.whitecockatoohotel.com.au/

Entertainment Venue Rankings.
1. Sydney
2. Adelaide
3. Hobart
4. Darwin (Backpacker Capital of Australia)
5. Perth
6. Brisbane
7. Canberra
8. Melbourne
9. Alice Springs

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:34pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:20pm:

Yep.  Sure was.  Small, but always fun.

John used to play there on Thursday nights, from memory.

I used to get up and jam with him there, and my friends played there on Tuesday nights, I think.  They were called MI5 and then changed their name to ... damn, can't remember right now.

John lived up the road a bit, on the top of the hill of Scarborough Beach Road.

This is a clip we recorded just when I suspected he might be getting sick.

I bought a new 1963/1964 reissue Strat and I took it to John so he could give it a workout.

He was an awesome guitarist, but above all, he was such a lovely guy.

From memory, this song is called 179 Hoedown (he loved old Holdens - owned an immaculate EJ).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTHgRT0V73E

Post by Setanta on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:42pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:34pm:

I used to get up and jam with him there, and my friends played there on Tuesday nights, I think.  They were called MI5 and then changed their name to ... damn, can't remember right now.

I bought a new 1963/1964 reissue Strat and I took it to John so he could give it a workout.

From memory, this song is called 179 Hoedown (he loved old Holdens - owned an immaculate EJ).

I sold an emaculate gold coloured EJ Premier out the front of my then girlfriends place on Marine Parade because of the traffic that'd see it. I used to work on Stirling HWY near the railroad crossing just around the corner from Marine Parade.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:51pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:42pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:34pm:

I sold an emaculate gold coloured EJ Premier out the front of my then girlfriends place on Marine Parade because of the traffic that'd see it. I used to work on Stirling HWY near the railroad crossing just around the corner from Marine Parade.

I actually think I remember seeing that.

John's EJ was light blue, and had the white Venetian curtains in the back window.

I think it went to his step-daughter after he died (not sure).

I tried to buy it off him many times, but he'd never sell.

That song in the last video might be called 454 Stomp.

This is actually 179 Hoedown:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jj7CScW4fnM

https://www.facebook.com/LostPerth

Post by Setanta on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:51pm
My wife's doctor used to go to WA surfing and attended these venues back then too, hit it off because he had posters of WA bands like Chain, Matt Taylor Band in his surgery. Unfortunately he lost them in the flood last year.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:59pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:51pm:
My wife's doctor used to go to WA surfing and attended these venues back then too, hit it off because he had posters of WA bands like Chain, Matt Taylor Band in his surgery. Unfortunately he lost them in the flood last year.

Ouch!   :'(

My friend John Meyer was in Chain  :)

Man, they were a good live band.

I used to go see Matt play all the time.

John was in Rose Tattoo too - I got to know Angry (Gary) Anderson through him.

He was actually there when we recorded that earlier video - 454 Stomp.

https://www.guitargods.com.au/guitarists/john-meyer.html

Post by Setanta on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:04pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:59pm:

Matt Taylor Band was what made Saturday nights at the Sands so good. Meh, It could have been Friday nights. It was 40 years ago.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:12pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:04pm:

Matt Taylor Band was what made Saturday nights at the Sands so good. Meh, It could have been Friday nights. It was 40 years ago.

Yeah, long time ago. Damn, 40 years!!!   :o

I remember I'd meet John at his house first for a few drinks (and a smoke), then we'd drive down to the White Sands (less than a kilometre away - probably less than 500 mtrs, actually) and he'd get up on stage and wail with Matt.

Afterwards we'd go back to Perth and spend the rest of the night/morning in the Muso's Club with Mark Lizotte (Diesel) and his band The Innocent Bystanders.

Great days, great pubs, and great bands.

Post by Setanta on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:12pm:

I remember I'd meet John at his house first for a few drinks (and a smoke), then we'd drive down to the White Sands (less than a kilometre away - probably less than 500 mtrs, actually) and he'd get up on stage and wail with Matt.

Afterwards we'd go back to Perth and spend the rest of the night/morning in the Muso's Club with Mark Lizotte (Diesel) and his band The Innocent Bystanders.

Went to Scarborough High, now gone like the Scarborough Hotel. A few years after me though.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:36pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:24pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:12pm:

Went to Scarborough High, now gone like the Scarborough Hotel. A few years after me though.

Hard to believe Mark is 57 years old.

I haven't talked to him for 30 years, so I always remember him as being in his 20s.

To describe him as a chick-magnet back in the '80s would be an understatement.

We'd all meet up at the Muso's Club after the pubs had closed, and we'd stick close to Mark in order to get his rejects.

As soon as he walked in the door, the women would just swarm over him.

Strangely enough, he was always very shy and didn't really take advantage of his female fans.

He'd be polite and say hello, but I never actually saw him take one of them home.

I always suspected (just slightly) that he preferred the company of other gentlemen (not that there's anything wrong with that), but he has a wife (Jimmy Barnes' wife's sister, I think) so I guess he's straight. It's not important.

Oh, and I have a good story about him and a very popular female news reader   ;)

Nice guy.  Very nice guy. I always remember him as being very polite, respectful, and surprisingly shy and quiet.

Post by Sophia on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:46pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:47pm:

That's the sad thing about sad Dicktorians now living in QLD they are either trying to change where they've chosen to live into where they've come from or whinging about where they've chosen to live because it's not like where they've come from.

I just go down the street 3 blocks ... little sports club ... no pokies or meals anymore ....

but a good bar, good beer, good barmaid & a great bunch of regulars .... nearly like family.

You must be meaning the SE corner of Queensland? When was the last time you came to the Gold Coast? Why it’s increasing with more and more people migrating from other states here is beyond my understanding, it’s over crowded, and Surfers not so Paradise is boring and trashy and the traffic is congested …so over commercialised now… it’s nothing like it was, which was worth coming to back in the 60s and 70s.
The only part of the Gold Coast I can tolerate is the Northern Coast—-Runaway Bay/Coombabah/Holllywell/Paradise Point areas. It’s a slower pace, and better traffic conditions. It actually feels “normal”.
But weekends I avoid going anywhere…. too many people.

Post by Gnads on Nov 25th, 2023 at 7:54pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:46pm:

You must be meaning the SE corner of Queensland? When was the last time you came to the Gold Coast? Why it’s increasing with more and more people migrating from other states here is beyond my understanding, it’s over crowded, and Surfers not so Paradise is boring and trashy and the traffic is congested …so over commercialised now… it’s nothing like it was, which was worth coming to back in the 60s and 70s.
The only part of the Gold Coast I can tolerate is the Northern Coast—-Runaway Bay/Coombabah/Holllywell/Paradise Point areas. It’s a slower pace, and better traffic conditions. It actually feels “normal”.

I lived on the GC when I was a kid. 1965 to 1967.

It was a great place.

I have been back quite a few times over the years, probably 3 year since the last time.

I wouldn't go there for the very reasons you stated.

The Sunshine Coast is just about the same...

& we have our own mini SSC down at Hervey Bay.

Only go if it can't be avoided.

But you must admit the only good thing to come out of Victoria has been the road north??? ;D

So many have moved up here ... & Cockroaches too.

And yeah a lot move up here for the lifestyle ... then commence to try & change it to the lifestyle/place they left behind.

The push for DLS up here is mostly driven by ex-pat southerners.

Post by Sophia on Nov 25th, 2023 at 8:43pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 7:54pm:

It was a great place.

I have been back quite a few times over the years, probably 3 year since the last time.

But you must admit the only good thing to come out of Victoria has been the road north??? ;D

And yeah a lot move up here for the lifestyle ... then commence to try & change it to the lifestyle/place they left behind.

Yeah even the Sunshine Coast has become busy.
Still a bit classier than Goldy.

I know why there’s so many coming to the coast… it basically because of  lockdowns … a lot of Victorians leaving. I actually don’t blame them.
I’m divided about whether to settle and live in qld or stay in Vic.
Sigh…. It’s hard to leave a place where we know everyone.

Post by John Smith on Nov 25th, 2023 at 10:50pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 8:43pm:

It was a great place.

I know why there’s so many coming to the coast… it basically because of  lockdowns … a lot of Victorians leaving. I actually don’t blame them.

The move to se qld from Sydney and Melbourne started long before covid. 

It has more to do with property prices and lifestyle than lock downs

Post by Sophia on Nov 25th, 2023 at 10:58pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 10:50pm:

Sophia wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 8:43pm:

It was a great place.

The move to se qld from Sydney and Melbourne started long before covid. 

It has more to do with property prices and lifestyle than lock downs

Absolutely, but since COVID more people Exodus from Victoria was reported.

Post by Super Nova on Nov 26th, 2023 at 1:43pm

Belgarion wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:12pm:
The Melbourne pub scene is excellent compared to the other states, much as it pains me to say it.  It has been a long time since i was a regular at any pub, but in Sydney I do like the Observer,  even though it has been yuppified since I used to frequent the place. As well there are other nice pubs in the Rocks like the Habour View,  Lord Nelson and the Hero of Waterloo

The hero.

I have great memories of that pub.

Those were the days.

Saturday night there used to be a singer, Daniel Jones/Johns, if is recall correctly.

We would all pile in. They would have a rubbish bin full of VB and ice. You could be at the back. Pass money along, the beer would come back pass hands with half a dozen people and you would always get the exact change back.

Everyone singing along.

They used to have thong clapping...... that was a great time on Sundays.

I have not experienced such great communal experience anywhere else.

Now they was a long time ago. Thanks for memory.

Post by Gnads on Nov 26th, 2023 at 5:38pm

Super Nova wrote on Nov 26th, 2023 at 1:43pm:

The hero.

Those were the days.

Saturday night there used to be a singer, Daniel Jones/Johns, if is recall correctly.

We would all pile in. They would have a rubbish bin full of VB and ice. You could be at the back. Pass money along, the beer would come back pass hands with half a dozen people and you would always get the exact change back.

Everyone singing along.

That must have been a very long time ago?

Post by SadKangaroo on Nov 27th, 2023 at 12:36pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 26th, 2023 at 5:38pm:

The hero.

Those were the days.

Everyone singing along.

Given the sort of Australia championed here, it must have been.

Post by Gnads on Nov 27th, 2023 at 1:13pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 12:36pm:

The hero.

Those were the days.

Everyone singing along.

We need to go back to some of that sort of Australia ....

todays Australia is fast becoming unfriendly & dangerous .... people don't give a shyte about anything but themselves & ripping people off.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 27th, 2023 at 1:39pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 1:13pm:

The hero.

Those were the days.

Everyone singing along.

todays Australia is fast becoming unfriendly & dangerous .... people don't give a shyte about anything but themselves & ripping people off.

Yep, generally speaking that's true, unfortunately.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 27th, 2023 at 1:45pm

Oh!  A pet peeve of mine about some pubs today.

Lining up at the bar    >:(

I first saw this in Sydney about 5 years ago and it was bonkers.

There was a nice long, spread out bar but people were queuing in single file at just one spot at the bar. Crazy!

I've been to hundreds of pubs in Perth, and I have never seen anyone line up to order drinks.  Never, ever.

That is, until about 2 or 3 years ago - now there are a couple of pubs in Perth that actually have signs saying "Single queue at the register, please".

Grrrr   >:(   You don't line up at bars!

Post by Super Nova on Nov 27th, 2023 at 2:56pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 1:39pm:

The hero.

Those were the days.

Everyone singing along.

Post by SadKangaroo on Nov 27th, 2023 at 3:21pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 1:39pm:

The hero.

Those were the days.

Everyone singing along.

Yep, it's the alpha way, the uber-capitalist way.

bugger you I've got mine.

Post by Super Nova on Nov 27th, 2023 at 3:46pm
I am really disappointed to read this change in behaviour. I left Aus about 22 years ago, come back now and then but didn't realize this level of change in our pub culture. Really saddens me. I was proud of how we behave and I have to say I continue the same behaviour today in pubs around the world. Having respect in a bar is always the right way to get along.

Why has it changed I am wondering, because our pub culture was as it was for a very long time.

Post by UnSubRocky on Nov 27th, 2023 at 3:52pm
Criterion Hotel

Post by Super Nova on Nov 27th, 2023 at 3:58pm
Also, I see Poker Machines in pubs now in NSW, why.... that sucks. If you want pokies go to the RSL like the good old days. At least the money when to something of value to the community. Cheap food, cheaper grog and thy build facilities for the town.

I went to my home town and every pub had changed to focus on pokies.

The RSL removed the snooker tables and put pokies in that area. WTF is going on.

Post by Sophia on Nov 27th, 2023 at 6:08pm

Super Nova wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 3:58pm:
Also, I see Poker Machines in pubs now in NSW, why.... that sucks. If you want pokies go to the RSL like the good old days. At least the money when to something of value to the community. Cheap food, cheaper grog and thy build facilities for the town.

The RSL removed the snooker tables and put pokies in that area. WTF is going on.

Decades ago, Victoria had no pokie machines. We ladies are offered a $5 bus ride up across the border to NSW to play 4 hours at each chosen pokie venues.
We were not alllowed outside for a walk and had to stay in the pokie venue.
After all, they were subsidising us I suppose.

Now we have pokies all over the place in Victoria! Any wonder the personal debt has soured.

Post by Super Nova on Nov 27th, 2023 at 7:02pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 6:08pm:

Decades ago, Victoria had no pokie machines. We ladies are offered a $5 bus ride up across the border to NSW to play 4 hours at each chosen pokie venues.

Now we have pokies all over the place in Victoria! Any wonder the personal debt has soured.

Agree. I lived in Melbourne for 10 years and likes the fact there were no pokies. Jone Kirner if I remember rightly.

In NSW where I grew up only RSL's had them so that was OK.

Having them in Pub has changed the whole purpose of pubs. It is a shame these changes have been made and is only in the interest of the gambling lobby and not in the interests of the people.

Australia is going the wrong way on so many fronts.

At least with RSLs in NSW the money when to infrastructure at the clubs and reduced meal for all. Pensioners loved it.

Post by Sophia on Nov 27th, 2023 at 7:21pm

Super Nova wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 7:02pm:

Agree. I lived in Melbourne for 10 years and likes the fact there were no pokies. Jone Kirner if I remember rightly.

Having them in Pub has changed the whole purpose of pubs. It is a shame these changes have been made and is only in the interest of the gambling lobby and not in the interests of the people.

At least with RSLs in NSW the money when to infrastructure at the clubs and reduced meal for all. Pensioners loved it.

And you know what else SN….there was an article way back that females were the most addicted to pokies! And then bus loads from Melbourne to over the nsw border were all women!

Post by Super Nova on Nov 27th, 2023 at 7:41pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 7:21pm:

Super Nova wrote on Nov 27th, 2023 at 7:02pm:

And you know what else SN….there was an article way back that females were the most addicted to pokies! And then bus loads from Melbourne to over the nsw border were all women!

That is sad. I would have thought it would be the guys blowing their paycheck.

Post by Gnads on Nov 28th, 2023 at 7:51am
Many regional RSLs have gone down the gurgler, yet some thrive.

From what I've seen mismanagement has been at the core.

Getting too big too soon, paying managers/CEO exorbitant salaries & who think they're entrepreneurs(with others money), dysfunctional boards & committees.

In other words the wrong "people".

Post by SadKangaroo on Nov 28th, 2023 at 3:06pm
I broke down in Moree once as a younger lad and spent a lot of time in their Services Club there while waiting for parts. 

It had a real nice vibe until one of the farmers hit another local with a bar stool right in front of a local copper, all because the guy was sitting at the bar in the attacker's favourite spot.

Kinda soured things, but it's a small town, and there weren't many other options for things to do, let alone get some libations.

The cop threw the victim out and let the guy have his spot on the bar.

I was on my gap year and was travelling, working where I could, did waaaaay too much backpacker work, stayed in hostels and met a lot of interesting people.  It was a great to see the country.

The last 3 months was spent over seas, mostly in south east Asia, but I digress.

What I wasn't ready for was how corrupt people with a tiny bit of power in country towns could be, until I realised, like the situation above, it was mostly towards Indigenous Australians.

It wasn't corruption, just simple racism.

Everyone sort of just banded together and got along, common enemy and all I guess.

Those young and innocent eyes...  I wasn't ready for it.

I can't believe how many people are still like that today, not drawn together by a small population in a country town, but the internet and poorly moderated forums.

Post by Agnes. on Nov 28th, 2023 at 4:39pm

Thats awful SK.

You dont find this problem in cities because the indigenous population is sprinkled at best- this is not so in small towns- racism has to be addressed in schools but it is very rarely even thought of as a problem- strangely enough!!! and yet it is the driver of so much unrest in the towns through out Australia- forums such as this one just highlight how it is tolerated - it wont ever die out but one day it may be that you can live in a small town and not have to worry about it.

Post by UnSubRocky on Nov 28th, 2023 at 8:57pm

Also, I see Poker Machines in pubs now in NSW, why.... that sucks.

Poker machines have been in NSW for the last 60 years. Having poker machines in pubs would not be a surprise. Given that there are over 80,000 poker machines in NSW, you would be kidding yourself to think that pubs would not have a few each tavern.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.