General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1714883420 Message started by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 2:30pm |
Title: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 2:30pm
Labor is copying Biden's ideas to buy votes from young people
by helping them out with their HECS debt. ( using borrowed money) May 4, 2024 Sky News host Rita Panahi says Australia has got “too many kids at universities” doing “junk degrees”. Ms Panahi says they are being sold “false hope”. “They’re leaving university with a big debt,” she said. “It doesn’t actually help them achieve anything in terms of meaningful employment. “Their job they end up doing bares no relation to the degree.” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfBO46P__VE |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Gordon on May 5th, 2024 at 2:34pm
We're paying for people to study lesbian folk dancing.
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 2:36pm https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-05-05/help-hecs-debt-indexation-2024-cut-easier-to-pay-off/103800692 HECS indexation to be overhauled in budget with $3 billion in student debt 'wiped out' By national education and parenting reporter Conor Duffy Posted 9h ago In short: Student debts will be lowered for more than three million Australians under reforms designed to stop HECS loans growing faster than wages. Loan indexation will now match whichever is lower out of the Consumer Price Index or the Wage Price Index — which the government says will prevent another shock increase like last year's 7.1 per cent increase. What's next? The changes will be introduced in the 2024 budget and, pending getting through parliament, will take effect from June. Millions of Australians with student loans will have hundreds of dollars wiped from their HECS debts as the federal government rolls out its plans for cost-of-living relief in the upcoming budget. Every June HECS debts are indexed and bumped up a few percentage points to make sure the amount owed keeps up with inflation. For almost 35 years indexation has been calculated based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI), which is now at historic highs. Last year's 7.1 per cent increase was the largest hike since 1990 leaving some in a debt spiral with loans increasing faster than they could be repaid. Annual HECS indexation will now be calculated on whichever figure is lower out of CPI and the Wage Price Index (WPI). The policy will be backdated to June 1 2023, which means last year's 7.1 per cent indexation will be lowered to the WPI of 3.2 per cent. "This will wipe out around $3 billion in student debt from more than three million Australians," Education Minister Jason Clare said. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 2:38pm Gordon wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:34pm:
Or gender studies. ::) I've heard of people with 3 degrees who still can't get a job. ::) |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by greggerypeccary on May 5th, 2024 at 2:49pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:30pm:
Good move! [smiley=thumbsup.gif] |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 2:52pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:49pm:
Hi Greggy, your Labor is getting us into more debt - this time for their latest brain fart - junk degrees. more here: https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1714798277/0#0 |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by greggerypeccary on May 5th, 2024 at 2:58pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:52pm:
The term "junk degrees" is only ever used by people who have never been to university. If you want a job, go to TAFE; if you want to expand your mind, go to university. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 3:01pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:58pm:
Labor is teaching more dickheads like Brian. Brian is superior to us: Reply #4 - Jun 1st, 2021 at 6:41pm https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1622526696 Brian, Quote:
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2024 at 3:02pm
Goober says he has a degree (I don't believe him)and is unemployed. His is a junk degree
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by greggerypeccary on May 5th, 2024 at 3:06pm John Smith wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:02pm:
In Bobby's defence, I think he's been forced into early retirement. As have I. Not sure what degree Bobby has though - Women's Studies, maybe :-/ |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 3:09pm John Smith wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:02pm:
Hi Smith, what was your degree - King's Cross rough trade? |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 3:09pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:06pm:
Engineering. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2024 at 3:12pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:09pm:
This is not the forum for you to try to pick up Goober. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by aquascoot on May 5th, 2024 at 3:23pm
why go to uni?
AI is certain to take over all the intellectual jobs But AI cant service a car, connect the electricity to your house, lay a concrete slab or fix a dripping tap. very proud that my very successful kids did not make the mistake of going to uni to absorb leftist propaganda and end up with a debt |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by lee on May 5th, 2024 at 3:56pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:58pm:
" Sexual violence has been perpetrated by around one in four men in studies among US university students and in community populations in other countries, by between one in ten and one in eight men in various European and other countries, and by close to half of men in some countries. In sexual violence, the use of verbal coercion and alcohol or drug-facilitated or incapacitated coercion is more common than the use of physical force. For example, North American studies of male university students find that about one in five have coerced someone into sex using verbal tactics (verbal pressuring, anger, threats to the relationship, etc.), while about one in 15 have used alcohol or drug incapacitation, physical force or threats of physical force." https://research.qut.edu.au/centre-for-justice/wp-content/uploads/sites/304/2023/01/Who-uses-domestic-family-and-sexual-violence-how-and-why-The-State-of-Knowledge-Report-on-Violence-Perpetration-2023.pdf Expands the mind. ::) |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by greggerypeccary on May 5th, 2024 at 3:59pm lee wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:56pm:
Thank goodness tradies don't sexually assault women. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by lee on May 5th, 2024 at 4:01pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:59pm:
What ratio? |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by greggerypeccary on May 5th, 2024 at 4:05pm lee wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 4:01pm:
Just a guess, but I'd say 99 to 1. i.e. 99% of sexual assaults carried out by tradies are male tradies, 1% carried out by female tradies. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on May 5th, 2024 at 4:15pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 4:05pm:
Shocking - so that's on average 0.99% of one assault a year as opposed to 0.01%? |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on May 5th, 2024 at 4:16pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:58pm:
Look at what expanding their minds did to our parliaments etc..... Jesus ..... |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 4:37pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 4:16pm:
I blame Labor and the dickheads who voted for them. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by lee on May 5th, 2024 at 4:38pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 4:05pm:
What ratio university males to tradie males? ::) |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 4:40pm aquascoot wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:23pm:
There are many very successful people around who never went to Uni. I knew a guy once who is now worth at least $20 million - maybe $40 million - who was just an insurance salesman who started his own brokerage. ( he was not very good at school) |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by greggerypeccary on May 5th, 2024 at 4:46pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 4:40pm:
Not everyone measures success in dollar terms. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 4:51pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 4:46pm:
It's better than having 3 degrees and living in your Mum's basement. :-[ |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2024 at 5:11pm aquascoot wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:23pm:
Is that why you've stopped thinking? Trying to get ahead of the curve |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Sir lastnail on May 5th, 2024 at 5:15pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 4:40pm:
In Australia they put people like that on a pedastal because Australia is a corporate crooks paradise and the gov makes it easy for them to steal money off the punters :( |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 5:51pm Sir lastnail wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 5:15pm:
Yes and he used negative gearing too - buying mostly apartments on the Gold Coast and renting them out so people could pay them off for him. He got in, in the 1990s so that's why his apartments are worth zillions today. So it was selling insurance and investing the profits in property hoarding that worked. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Sir lastnail on May 5th, 2024 at 6:29pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 5:51pm:
Just more financial scams the pollies won't admit to. Seriously who would vote for main stream parties these days ?? I know it's a silly question. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 9:10pm Sir lastnail wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 6:29pm:
It's all about buying votes. Albo could have given $3 billion towards creating proper jobs but that would never happen. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2024 at 9:14pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:10pm:
Did you get your degree for free ? |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Frank on May 5th, 2024 at 9:14pm greggerypeccary wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 2:58pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 9:21pm John Smith wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:14pm:
I was very lucky - I got a 4 year paid scholarship. :) |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Gordon on May 5th, 2024 at 9:22pm aquascoot wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 3:23pm:
Uni is fine for some but the concept uni for all is where it's gone wrong and junk degrees are created for junk students. And yes, AI is very much something to think about. 1stborn is now doing year 12 and wants to do a double degree in law and economics, 2 areas which will be greatly influenced by AI. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 9:25pm Gordon wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:22pm:
Degrees in engineering or medicine will be the best earners in later life. BAs are very dubious. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2024 at 9:30pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:21pm:
Is that code for 'you had a sugar daddy '.? |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 9:32pm John Smith wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:30pm:
The Govt. paid. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2024 at 9:36pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:32pm:
And now you're crying that the government wants to pay for others? How typical of you. You are the reason we are in debt. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Gordon on May 5th, 2024 at 9:39pm Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:25pm:
Since late primary school she talked about being a doctor but a few years ago a switch flipped in her head and now she loves law and economics. She knows medicine is more vocational but with the mind she has, she'll do ok I reckon. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 5th, 2024 at 9:41pm Gordon wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:39pm:
Some lawyers and economists really struggle to make a living. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Baronvonrort on May 5th, 2024 at 11:55pm Gordon wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 9:39pm:
Doctors have to get medical indemnity insurance to cover stuff ups. Lawyers get client payments from this insurance. More money in Law and Economics |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 6th, 2024 at 6:46am Baronvonrort wrote on May 5th, 2024 at 11:55pm:
Lawyers have to buy indemnity insurance too. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by aquascoot on May 6th, 2024 at 7:07am
a lot of the law and a lot of medicine will be replaced by AI
in the law, chat gpt will be able to do a lot of the wills and power of attorneys and housing sales and contracts in medicine, AI can already read xrays better then radiologists and a group of pyschologists have already started a government approved chat gpt counselling service Will ChatGPT Replace Psychiatrists? Psychology Today https://www.psychologytoday.com › our-new-discontents chatgpt psychology counselling group australia from www.psychologytoday.com 26 July 2023 — Talk therapy has largely disappeared, appointments have shortened in length, and much of the treatment has been reduced to prescribing ... People keep using AI chatbots like ChatGPT for "therapy ... SBS Australia https://www.sbs.com.au › news › the-feed › article › tat... chatgpt psychology counselling group australia from www.sbs.com.au 12 Apr 2023 — People are leaning on AI chatbots for mental health "therapy" and encouraging others to follow suit. But legal, ethical and safety concerns ... ChatGPT is giving therapy. A mental health revolution may ... Al Jazeera https://www.aljazeera.com › economy › could-your-ne... chatgpt psychology counselling group australia from www.aljazeera.com 27 Apr 2023 — In theory, AI therapy could offer quicker and cheaper access to support than traditional mental health services, which suffer from staff ... Missing: australia | Show results with: australia |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on May 6th, 2024 at 12:57pm
That would give greater depth and meaning to my statement in my first book that spychologists and spychiatrists, in the main, had little to no real connection with the real world, but made it up as they went along...
Funny thing - I'm getting a little counseling at this time following mega surgery ... and this particular P-spike says I am essentially a humble and self-deprecating man not a boaster or self-glorifier at all ... and I tell him the same things I tell you lot here.... my kid's relatives.... my connections with security services etc .... my involvement in specific things past ... my simple statement that every part of the life I describe is verifiable from living sources etc ... except for one part..... the part I blew the whistle on years ago following The Betrayal... Did you know I was halfway through reinstatement in the security service when I fell desperately ill? They're gonna need me to fill a gap when all the young 'uns are busy as beavers - and not just chasing beaver as they do now ... but this surgery and its aftermath ... so hard to focus mind all the time. Guess I'm headed for Israel for some action then .... that surgery turned me into a n-n-n-n-newt!!! But it got better .... all I need is a quick repair to that old knee and back into parachute harness.... |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Gordon on May 6th, 2024 at 1:06pm aquascoot wrote on May 6th, 2024 at 7:07am:
Fortunately my daughters school doesn't teach them what to think, but to think. As I said before, Uni is great for some but terrible for others. Squishy people with squishy brains doing junk degrees is where it's going wrong and that's just a case of good intentions and bad incentives. You can get a loan to study anything you want, so Unis make courses of anyone who wants to study anything. A better idea would be to give squishy people a subsidy for a camper van, and send them off traveling doing fruit picking and farm work for a few years. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 6th, 2024 at 1:38pm Gordon wrote on May 6th, 2024 at 1:06pm:
Therein lies the problem - universities should only be teaching relevant degrees that lead to employment. Arty farty degrees should be halted. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Frank on May 6th, 2024 at 2:29pm Bobby. wrote on May 6th, 2024 at 1:38pm:
The problem is the sheer number of university students, most of whom are intellectually not up to it therefore thwy are offered totally dumbed down courses. Add in a very large number of full fee paying international students with sub-standard English and matching intellectual ability and you have the current situation. There are very few degrees that still require intellectual rigour, mostly in the mathematics-based disciplines and because their accrediting bodies have not succumbed to woke ideology. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Bobby. on May 6th, 2024 at 2:41pm Frank wrote on May 6th, 2024 at 2:29pm:
That's right - they should never have dumbed down the courses. Even in engineering I'm surprised at what they learn now - it's so different to what we were taught - they produce engineers who don't have a proper understanding of the basics. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Gordon on May 6th, 2024 at 2:56pm Frank wrote on May 6th, 2024 at 2:29pm:
A combined law/economics degree will require nearly the same atar as medicine. If she gets into that she won't be around dummies :) |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by Frank on May 6th, 2024 at 7:13pm Gordon wrote on May 6th, 2024 at 2:56pm:
Well, up to a point. There are not a lot of international students in law courses, so that aspect of the dumbing down doesn't apply. But Law is now the new Arts degree, as far as standards are concerned. There is also the College of Law exam at the end for those who want to be admitted as solicitors. Still, two thirds of Law graduates are not working as lawyers. Yes, it is a good degree but it is more and more like a solid Arts degree was 50 years ago. Some arts degrees now are like a matriculation was 50 years ago. For a well-rounded, well-read young person I would recommend law ahead of Arts or Social 'Science', except perhaps the Classics or Music is she were so inclined. You still have to master things in these disciplines. Economics is really Political Economy, so tread carefully there. If your daughter can handle mathematics, that would be better. There is glut of graduates trained in the talk/policy aspect of economics - treasuries are full of them - but very few of them can handle the maths. ATAR is an indicator of demand more than of rigour in the humanities like law. Anyway, good luck with it. |
Title: Re: Labor gives $3 billion towards junk degrees: Post by aquascoot on May 6th, 2024 at 7:21pm
well said frank
an economics law degree could see you filling the role of simon baker if you are good at sales and sharp on the street skills, you get to be kevin spacey https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oa-xt6qrmE |