General Discussion >> General Board >> Woollies Rationing http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1717635679 Message started by Sir Spot of Borg on Jun 6th, 2024 at 11:01am |
Title: Woollies Rationing Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Jun 6th, 2024 at 11:01am
What the heck is going on? Why are they rationing toilet paper again? And water. And something else - looks like i didnt get it so have to look it up. IGA is sold out of all those things too. Is there an outbreak or something?
Spot |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sophia on Jun 6th, 2024 at 12:23pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 11:01am:
What area are you talking about? Maybe something is on the horizon. I know strawberries have had a bad run in Qld and will be more expensive. (Remember after the cyclones how bananas went up to $16 per kg!) And I know olives have suffered the same fate and hence 3-4 lites olive oil went from $48 to $64 And there a limit on buying olive oil as the shelves are now emptying fast. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by MeisterEckhart on Jun 6th, 2024 at 12:28pm
There is an anticipated supply chain problem due to the imminent US tariffs on Chinese imports, forcing Chinese exporters to ramp up shipments to the US before the tariffs come into effect, at the cost of shipping to other countries such as Australia.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by greggerypeccary on Jun 6th, 2024 at 1:58pm MeisterEckhart wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 12:28pm:
Toilet paper is made in Australia. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jun 6th, 2024 at 2:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 1:58pm:
No sh!t? So are bricks. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by MeisterEckhart on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:02pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 1:58pm:
Lucky for you, then. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by thegreatdivide on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:05pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 11:01am:
Link? |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by aquascoot on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:15pm MeisterEckhart wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 12:28pm:
what are you doing on this forum meister? youre way too smart and logical for these chodes are you , like myself, hoping to throw down ropes and help the chode ascend the narrow road to success? they wont climb people have their emotional set points and to give up complaining and think for themselves (personal responsibility) would tip them out of homeostasis |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:25pm
China has blocked all Tim Tams, Hills Hoists and Vegemite. All Medibank data is wiped with Virgin Pulp Toilet Paper.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:33pm aquascoot wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:15pm:
Aquascoot doesn't like these people either: |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by MeisterEckhart on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:25pm aquascoot wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:15pm:
It's an omen of times to come, and a warning call to Australia to ramp up local manufacturing, even at the risk of higher costs at checkout. The days of sucking off the tits of countries that provide us with dirt-cheap goods via slave and forced labour are over. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:30pm MeisterEckhart wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:25pm:
The only things Australians are good at manufacturing internationally competitively are holes in the ground, fantasies, and excuses. Aquascoot and MeisterEckhart are examples of failures. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by MeisterEckhart on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:33pm Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:30pm:
You missed the point again. This is about local manufacturing for local consumption. Political forums aren't your thing... Stick to TikTok. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Carl D on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:39pm
I've been to Woolworths at Belmont Forum this morning and I didn't see any signs of rationing.
Haven't seen any news about it either. Mind you, if this "bird flu" goes on a world wide rampage (and all indications are that it will) with it's current CFR - Case Fatality Rate - of 52% then I'm sure we'll be seeing a panic buying spree that will eclipse the Great Toilet Roll Panic of 2020. Oh, and while I'm here... aquascoot wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:15pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Gawd, you're hilarious. But I have to at least give you points for persistence. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:49pm MeisterEckhart wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:33pm:
Bricks? Even bricks face rising imports. In the 1920s an economic committee considered the issue of whether Australia should support local manufacture using tariffs. The committee decided that local manufacture should be supported. However in the long run it petered out in the 1980s coincident with a time when the A$1 = US$ 1.25 The rise of the Australian dollar made local manufacture uncompetitive and that is still the case. Local manufacturing with consequent reduction of imports causes A$ to rise because trade balance is strongly positive even without local manufacture. Its a sad fact that success in resources and agriculture mitigates against success in manufacturing. "What construction materials does Australia import? China alone provides 60 per cent of Australia's annual $6 billion worth of construction materials, which in turn account for approximately 20 percent of the total cost of a single construction. Consequently, measures to stem the virus resulted in a shortage of construction materials such as timber, windows and steel." |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jun 6th, 2024 at 8:10pm
Are they rationing Tim Tams?
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Carl D on Jun 6th, 2024 at 8:16pm Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 8:10pm:
Not in Perth at the moment... lots of them in Coles and Woolworths at Belmont Forum today. I had to laugh when I saw they were $5 a packet at Woolies but only $2.50 a packet at Coles. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 6th, 2024 at 9:01pm
Chinese Tam Tams: Unique Resonance
Tam tams are similar to gongs but are generally flat and feature no raised center. They are known for their rich, complex soundscapes and chocolate vibes. - Construction: Made from bronze or brass, offering durability and a broad tonal range. - Sound: Produce a deep, full-bodied resonance that can be powerful and subtle, with crunch and flavour. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 7th, 2024 at 12:50pm Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 8:10pm:
It does not matter. Marla is under the impression that you are rooting chocolate kangaroos. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 7th, 2024 at 1:10pm
Cannabis chocolates are a type of edible cannabis product that combines cannabis's benefits with the pleasure of chocolate. Cannabis chocolates are a popular way for people who do not want to smoke or vape cannabis to consume it. Cannabis kangaroos consume chocolate in Colorado.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Gnads on Jun 7th, 2024 at 6:55pm chimera wrote on Jun 7th, 2024 at 1:10pm:
So are cannabis cookies and muffins. versatile no? |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 7th, 2024 at 7:01pm
Kangaroos at cannabis farms go higher.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by greggerypeccary on Jun 7th, 2024 at 7:13pm Carl D wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 8:16pm:
I saw that at Coles today. No wonder we have an obesity problem in Australia. A packet of chocolate biscuits is just $2.50 while a head of broccoli is $4.50. It's crazy. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Daves2017 on Jun 7th, 2024 at 11:39pm
$16 a califlower on the Gold coast today.
Petrol has also jumped 50 cents to $2.37. It's redculous |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Marla on Jun 8th, 2024 at 5:04am
I blame Obama.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sophia on Jun 8th, 2024 at 9:23am greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 7th, 2024 at 7:13pm:
It’s a thing with weekly specials between the two. I sawTim Tams half price yesterday but I avoid that garbage. Sugar and whatever chemicals… have a look at the list of ingredients. Even packet chips are horrendous prices at discounts let alone full price. If people still buy that junk food at those prices… I will be amazed. This is encouraging people to impulse buy junk instead of healthier products. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sophia on Jun 8th, 2024 at 9:28am Carl D wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 7:39pm:
There’s no rationing of toilet paper in my neck of the woods either (Yarra Ranges) There does seem to be a shortage of olive oil in those 3-4 litre tins though. Usual ones are missing and shelves look empty. Then I noticed new ones coming in getting a share of the action at $64 too! How’s the olive oils in Perth going? |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jun 8th, 2024 at 9:42am greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 7th, 2024 at 7:13pm:
At these prices restaurant meals will become cheaper than home cooking. Something is rotten in the state of Denmark. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 8th, 2024 at 6:19pm Daves2017 wrote on Jun 7th, 2024 at 11:39pm:
I thought it was ridiculous for you to say that, if you were on the Gold Coast. It is around $1.79/L here (Rockhampton). And when I went to check the Gold Coast prices, they were anywhere from $1.75/L to $2.29/L. Why is there such a discrepancy? |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jun 8th, 2024 at 7:45pm
Why are Australian petrol prices 30% higher than US prices?
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 8th, 2024 at 8:20pm
The US has 2.5 million Arab slaves carrying buckets of oil in 52 degree tornados for Jewish oil barons. They use Afro slave drivers for maximum production.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Jun 9th, 2024 at 8:00am Sophia wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 12:23pm:
Canberra Spot |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Jun 9th, 2024 at 8:01am thegreatdivide wrote on Jun 6th, 2024 at 6:05pm:
Why the heck would there be a link? Spot |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Jun 9th, 2024 at 8:04am
Actually i was at the hospital yesterday and they seem to be full-on covid mode. Compulsory facemasks and only 2 visitors per patient and theres a really large section just for covid in the ED. i guess theres an outbreak here that isnt in the news.
Spot |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Carl D on Jun 9th, 2024 at 8:13am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 9th, 2024 at 8:04am:
Covid... flu... RSV - Respiratory syncytial (sin-SISH-uhl) virus - are all running rampant in Australia at the moment. And, yes - it isn't in the news. And there's no messaging or advice from any of our governments or health departments about how people can take precautions (other than "wash your hands" and "cough and sneeze into your hand or arm" - both of which are useless for dealing with respiratory viruses which you breathe in - and they know it). This is deliberate, of course because we're now supposed to believe that Covid isn't an big issue anymore... but it is. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by greggerypeccary on Jun 9th, 2024 at 10:58am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 9th, 2024 at 8:04am:
That's interesting. The hospitals here in Perth are full of COVID and RSV, yet there are no restrictions or precautions in place. No masks, no social distancing, no "only 4 people in a lift", no hand-washing, nothing. I got my mother out of RPH yesterday, and so far she and I are both testing negative to COVID. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sophia on Jun 9th, 2024 at 11:17am Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 8th, 2024 at 7:45pm:
I have no answer to that puzzle …. I’ve wondered for years… |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sophia on Jun 9th, 2024 at 11:20am greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 9th, 2024 at 10:58am:
There’s a heightened response my way of suggestions to wear masks pretty please. Some do, some don’t. And I wish those social distancing floor stickers weren’t taken away … should’ve left them there permanently. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 9th, 2024 at 11:23am
The United States produced more crude oil than any nation at any time, according to our International Energy Statistics, for the past six years in a row. Average monthly U.S. crude oil production established a monthly record high in December 2023 at more than 13.3 million b/d. People in the oil states are sniffing petrol and voting Trump.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Carl D on Jun 9th, 2024 at 11:32am greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 9th, 2024 at 10:58am:
I think Spot is in Canberra where they've recently reintroduced masking in hospitals and some other healthcare places. Surgical 'baggy blues' only but better than nothing I guess? Which is what the other States and Territories are doing so far. Changes due to respiratory viruses, including COVID-19 Quote:
Our next door neighbour has been to Royal Perth Hospital several times during the past 2 weeks and he says they're "thinking" about bringing back masks. They're still "thinking" by the sounds of it and if they do I'm sure it'll just be 'baggy blues' (with half the staff and visitors wearing them under their nose or chin) and it'll only be temporary as I believe it is in Canberra. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 9th, 2024 at 1:54pm Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 8th, 2024 at 7:45pm:
Because of our taxation on petrol. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 9th, 2024 at 2:34pm
US is $1.40 Au litre and Oz tax is 40c more than US: $1.80.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 9th, 2024 at 3:20pm chimera wrote on Jun 9th, 2024 at 2:34pm:
Which makes it on par with the USA. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 9th, 2024 at 3:48pm
$1.80 is not $2.
Oz is $2+ litre, less tax is $1.60. 20c on $1.40 is 14% more. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by lee on Jun 9th, 2024 at 4:43pm
Coming to a store near you -
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 9th, 2024 at 6:18pm chimera wrote on Jun 9th, 2024 at 3:48pm:
I filled up the other week 98 octane for $2/L. That is going to last me the next 3 weeks. The tax here is 44c/L on petrol. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 9th, 2024 at 7:14pm
46c. US is 4c , 6c Au.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 9th, 2024 at 7:15pm
The other year, we saw a reduction of the petrol tax by half. That is 22c/L.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by chimera on Jun 9th, 2024 at 7:58pm
'5 February 2024 sees the excise rate increase from 48.8 cents per litre to 49.6 cents per litre.'
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Carl D on Jun 11th, 2024 at 10:01am
Might be time to stock up on eggs if you need them.
Egg farmers say supply not at risk from bird flu after Coles imposes two-carton limit on shoppers Supermarket’s restriction applies everywhere except WA as more than 500,000 chickens euthanised due to avian influenza Quote:
Might be a good idea to make sure you've got enough toilet paper as well because that will probably be next. ::) |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by John Smith on Jun 11th, 2024 at 10:02am Carl D wrote on Jun 11th, 2024 at 10:01am:
bird flu gives you the runs? :o :o :o |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Jovial Monk on Jun 11th, 2024 at 10:28am
More the thought of the conspiracy theories etc etc when there is an outbreak.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Carl D on Jun 11th, 2024 at 10:37am Jovial Monk wrote on Jun 11th, 2024 at 10:28am:
Yep. The 'trigger words' for a repeat of the Great Toilet Paper Panic of 2020 will be: "(Another) Pandemic" "Quarantine" "Lockdowns" "Masks" And probably a few more that I can't recall right now. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 11th, 2024 at 12:17pm
I had bought an 8-pack of toilet paper back in March. I have only gone through 3 rolls of toilet paper since then. Surely a family of 5 can make an 8-pack of toilet paper last a month. No need for this hoarding of toilet paper.
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Jun 13th, 2024 at 5:39am
Im wearing a mask most of the time because my friend is very very sick and since i was in that covid ward visiting the other day i do not want to give it to her if i picked it up. People look at me strangely for wearing the mask but i dont care.
Spot |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 13th, 2024 at 6:19pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 13th, 2024 at 5:39am:
There is an influenza virus making its way around the CQ region right now. And with the Rockhampton Agricultural Show in full swing, there are going to be plenty of contagious transmissions being made. I swear I will go back to work in a couple of weeks and find that half the staff will be off work sick. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 7:49am UnSubRocky wrote on Jun 11th, 2024 at 12:17pm:
im not hoarding i just dont buy it very often and its budgeted to buy 2 when i buy it - wrecks the budget to wait til next shop Spot |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 11:29am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 7:49am:
An 8-pack of toilet paper should start getting replaced when you are down to 1 roll left over. In fact the online Woolworths catalogue states that Quilton packs are an 8 pack, that cost $8.60. If you cannot budget $9 within a month, you really are struggling financially. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 11:33am
Toilet paper is a substitute for currency in a post-apocalyptic world.
Don't get caught short. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 12:28pm Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 11:33am:
Much like in the movie "The Rover", modern conveniences are a luxury. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Sophia on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 12:31pm Carl D wrote on Jun 11th, 2024 at 10:01am:
Well… daughter told me yesterday egg shelves are completely empty. She always buys this vegan egg white packet product… said she’s surprised the panic mob haven’t caught onto that yet ;D Well then, what’s next shortage…whatever eggs are used for such as ……cakes etc There’s heaps of vegan recipes not using eggs, butter, milk etc I think it’s sad for those chooks… life is restricted enough for them and then all have to be put down :'( How did this bird flu bs get in? |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Gnads on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 1:12pm Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 11:33am:
You'll need a double ration you're so full of it. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Gnads on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 1:19pm Sophia wrote on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 12:31pm:
Only about 40% of egg production now comes from caged hens. The other 60% is made up from barn laid & free range hens. https://www.australianeggs.org.au/farming/barn-laid-eggs |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 1:19pm Gnads wrote on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 1:12pm:
Is Gnads buying or selling? .... or Gnads has been caught short? |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 3:40pm Gnads wrote on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 1:12pm:
Given the tone of ltyc's posts elsewhere, I doubt his sphincter can retain his crap. |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by Gnads on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 5:40pm Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 3rd, 2024 at 1:19pm:
Just mentioning your capacity for shyte ...huge. Buy up darling you'll be wearing out fingers, wrists & elbows wiping. RSI or Carpal Tunnel on the cards .... yes? Lining up for the NDIS following. ;D |
Title: Re: Woollies Rationing Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 4th, 2024 at 8:11pm
Ltyc will be having hemorrhoids, with the amount of toilet sitting he needs to do.
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |