General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> NDIS to cost $100b, exceeding the pension: budget
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1719753483

Message started by JC Denton on Jun 30th, 2024 at 11:18pm

Title: NDIS to cost $100b, exceeding the pension: budget
Post by JC Denton on Jun 30th, 2024 at 11:18pm
https://www.afr.com/policy/economy/ndis-to-cost-100b-exceeding-the-pension-budget-watchdog-20240614-p5jltf#:~:text=The%20National%20Disability%20Insurance%20Scheme,on%20its%20current%20growth%20trajectory.

this thing is a colossal waste of money, ive never heard of anything like it in the world. what makes it unique is it gives its own providers  an incentive to help people commit fraud. the power of free-markets have been harnessed to maximise the amount of welfare fraud, which is unheard of in the history of welfare programs. it's essentially the completely useless jobactive unemployment 'support' network but for disability support, with the exact same flawed private provider design.

Title: Re: NDIS to cost $100b, exceeding the pension: budget
Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 1st, 2024 at 1:55am
My mental health was at a point where I needed to go to disability support services for job networking. Maybe NDIS costs $100 billion in the budget. But, without it, you might see a waste of billions more on just funding people to sit at home on a disability support pension. I know of a guy that has cerebral palsy. He is able bodied enough to stand at a checkout counter and help people with their groceries. He is doing what he can for the how his life has eventuated. I bet he thanks things like NDIS for getting him where he is.

Post by JC Denton on Jul 1st, 2024 at 7:48am

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 1:55am:
My mental health was at a point where I needed to go to disability support services for job networking. Maybe NDIS costs $100 billion in the budget. But, without it, you might see a waste of billions more on just funding people to sit at home on a disability support pension. I know of a guy that has cerebral palsy. He is able bodied enough to stand at a checkout counter and help people with their groceries. He is doing what he can for the how his life has eventuated. I bet he thanks things like NDIS for getting him where he is.

wtf???? you can get NDIS and the dsp at the same time. the DSP eligbility requirements have been tightened to a degree that virtually all the people only on NDIS but not on DSP would never also be able to get the DSP.

Post by Aquarius on Jul 1st, 2024 at 8:53am

The whole scheme is just so open to fraud. Criminals have been posing as providers to use NDIS participants' money for organised crime. Funds have been spent on drugs, holidays and cars. The NDIS will cost an estimated $44 billion this financial year and as it is estimated that at least one fifth of that money will be siphoned off by crime syndicates that means $8 billion worth of funding this year will not be going to the people it is intended for.

Only a Labor govt could devise such a scheme - totally inefficient and economically unsustainable. Thanks Julia. 

Post by mothra on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:00am

Aquarius wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 8:53am:
The whole scheme is just so open to fraud. Criminals have been posing as providers to use NDIS participants' money for organised crime. Funds have been spent on drugs, holidays and cars. The NDIS will cost an estimated $44 billion this financial year and as it is estimated that at least one fifth of that money will be siphoned off by crime syndicates that means $8 billion worth of funding this year will not be going to the people it is intended for.

Only a Labor govt could devise such a scheme - totally inefficient and economically unsustainable. Thanks Julia. 

These are remarkable claims. Can you support them?

Post by Aquarius on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:08am

mothra wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:00am:

Those claims were made by the NDIS watchdog according to the ABC.

I cannot give you the link because I haven't made 100 posts as yet.   ::)

Post by mothra on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:10am

Aquarius wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:08am:

You don't know how to copy and paste?

Post by JC Denton on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:15am

both the liberals and labor have allowed it to become what it is. trying to make this partisan is retarded. the problem is the private delivery publicly funded model, which is how everything is always done in australia and why everything always gets rorted (see also jobactive, which has bipartisan support).

Post by Aquarius on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:20am

It was Julia Gillard's legacy.  Now we're stuck with it.   >:(

Post by JC Denton on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:22am

Aquarius wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:20am:
It was Julia Gillard's legacy.  Now we're stuck with it.   >:(

great, and the libs were in power for years and did f_ck all about it.

Post by Aquarius on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:24am

mothra wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:10am:

Of course I know how to copy and paste!   ::) 

But now I see I have hit the magical 100 posts!  So here is one of the links ... there are several though.  It's easy enough to find them.

You do know how to search for a link to the ABC on the NDIS? 

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-06-04/ndis-scam-fraud-participants-manipulated-australia/103934188

Post by mothra on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:31am

Aquarius wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:24am:

But now I see I have hit the magical 100 posts!  So here is one of the links ... there are several though.  It's easy enough to find them.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-06-04/ndis-scam-fraud-participants-manipulated-australia/103934188

You know that 5% and one fifth is not the same thing, yeah?

And absolutely nowhere in that article does it claim that all misbegotten spending was due to organised crime.

Utter lack of comprehension of the electorate. Thatss the bloody problem with this country. The absolutely hilarious way tings are twisted.

Too much information for the unwary. Hell. they'll buy any old crap.

Post by JC Denton on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:45am
the spending is just because all the costs are often unaccounted for so people are charging way more for services and provisions that would cost less anywhere else. there's not enough oversight and it's probably not possible to provide it anyway given the absolute scale and rapid growth of the scheme. providing a properly oversighted scheme would cost as much as the NDIS itself. i have nfi where this organised crime thing came in but it's probably bullchit or exaggerated.

Post by Aquarius on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:49am

mothra wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:31am:

And absolutely nowhere in that article does it claim that all misbegotten spending was due to organised crime.

Utter lack of comprehension of the electorate. Thatss the bloody problem with this country. The absolutely hilarious way tings are twisted.

I only mentioned one fifth because that was in the article.  You got any problems - take it up with the ABC. 

Post by mothra on Jul 2nd, 2024 at 12:54pm

Aquarius wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:49am:

mothra wrote on Jul 1st, 2024 at 9:31am:

I only mentioned one fifth because that was in the article.  You got any problems - take it up with the ABC. 

But the article didn't say one fifth ... it said 5%.

This is why i ask you if you understand the difference between one fifth and 5%.

You've misunderstood the article and gone on to publicly claim that the NDIS is losing 20% of it's funding to organized crime. Absolutely nowhere in the article is that claim made.

What is claimed is that some money was lost to organized crime and in total, around 5% is unaccounted for.

Do you see where you went wrong yet?

Post by Aquarius on Jul 5th, 2024 at 11:54am

Well here's the correct link ...

The watchdog for the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) says criminal rorting of the social service is even worse than previously feared.

In 2022, Michael Phelan, then the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission chief, warned as much as a fifth of disability funding in the NDIS was being abused by organised crime groups, prompting a government crackdown.

The NDIS has cost an estimated $44 billion this financial year, meaning at least $8 billion worth of funding intended for people with disability is allegedly being abused by crime syndicates.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-05-24/ndis-rorts-by-organised-crime-worse-than-feared-watchdog/103888752

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jul 5th, 2024 at 1:17pm

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-05-24/ndis-rorts-by-organised-crime-worse-than-feared-watchdog/103888752

Maybe these are the sorts of requirements we need set in place to claim for government billions handouts for 'policies like NDIS provider, AgedCare provider, childcare etc:-

" must be a natural born citizen of Australia, a resident for 14 years, and 35 years of age or older." ....and with a clean bill of health re rorting and criminal contacts....

Post by aquascoot on Jul 5th, 2024 at 1:30pm
of course its a grift.

gillard painted a picture of people in wheelchairs following sporting accidents being supported

but for every very rare case like that (a deserving case), there are 10,000 drug addicts who developed intellectual impairment, fat feckers who need a scooter to get to maccas, alcoholics with brain damage who need to be watched 24/7 (and who get their NDIS workers to go to the bottle shop for them...true story), crims who led the police on car chases and then crashed and got injured and are "disabled", malingerers with fake diseases  like fibromyalgia.

if you are an NDIS worker, you can convince your "client" to go to darwin on a holiday and YOU get to tag along for free.

you can take your client to the golf course and sit them in the buggy whilst YOU play a round of golf courtesy of the taxpayer.

but the biggest rorters are the service providers who  get to charge an administration fee every time they take a phone call, all paid out of the "package"

and who can complain?

you think someone with a brain injury can tell an auditor how often they were phoned or how often the care providor sent out a physio?

unworkable rediculous waste of tax payer money to enrich grifers and to use the most vulnerable to do it

shameful stuff and typical of labor

Post by MattE on Jul 6th, 2024 at 6:45am
I can understand a parent wanting the Autism Spectrum Disorder "level 2" diagnosis and all the money that flows from it. The ability to get private tutoring, music lessons (for socialisation) etc would be a great help.

But many of these cases aren't "level 2", they are actually level 1 which gets no funding. So psychologists and psychiatrists feel pressured into saying level 2 knowing the big difference it'll make.

This isn't to say a child with autism level 1 should get no support. But being on the NDIS should not be it. Better support through the school system is what is needed.

Post by Bobby. on Jul 6th, 2024 at 8:14am
How did we become a nation of cripples?

Post by MattE on Jul 6th, 2024 at 10:58am

Bobby. wrote on Jul 6th, 2024 at 8:14am:

Because everyone needs a label. A lot of parents think it is trendy to have an "autistic" kid. Can't be plain old ADHD anymore. It is sick.

My son was diagnosed with Autism, but it is very low level and I don't believe in it. I don't get the NDIS for him and instead simply use diet, discipline and the church. He is very smart, but a little odd. But who cares? We don't need the money to send him to prostitutes like a lot of families do!

Post by Bobby. on Jul 6th, 2024 at 2:38pm

MattE wrote on Jul 6th, 2024 at 10:58am:

Bobby. wrote on Jul 6th, 2024 at 8:14am:

Because everyone needs a label. A lot of parents think it is trendy to have an "autistic" kid. Can't be plain old ADHD anymore. It is sick.

My son was diagnosed with Autism, but it is very low level and I don't believe in it. I don't get the NDIS for him and instead simply use diet, discipline and the church. He is very smart, but a little odd. But who cares? We don't need the money to send him to prostitutes like a lot of families do!

We're turning Australia into a nation of victims -
we see cripples everywhere with their hands out for money.

Post by whiteknight on Jul 6th, 2024 at 4:31pm
The government pension age of 67 should be put back to 65.   :( 

Post by Bobby. on Jul 6th, 2024 at 4:38pm

whiteknight wrote on Jul 6th, 2024 at 4:31pm:
The government pension age of 67 should be put back to 65.   :( 

It should be 60 or even 55 for those who feel unable to work -
even without a Doctor's certificate.

I've heard of builders with crook knees and bad backs who can't get an aged pension.
Some are stuffed at the age of 55.
people with heart problems too - at similar ages -
The doctors and surgeons don't want to get involved with Centerlink -
it wastes their time so they declare their patient 100% fit -
even if they fail all the health tests.

Post by whiteknight on Jul 6th, 2024 at 4:40pm
Well said Bobby as usual right again. [smiley=thumbsup.gif] 

Post by Bobby. on Jul 6th, 2024 at 5:04pm

whiteknight wrote on Jul 6th, 2024 at 4:40pm:
Well said Bobby as usual right again. [smiley=thumbsup.gif] 

Yes - why would doctors and surgeons want to get involved with Centerlink
when they could be subpoenaed to go to court and lose days of their time
standing around waiting to be called
and receive peanut money for their time?

Some surgeons make $20,000 or much more per day and they would be lucky
to get $500 for each day standing around in court and
their other waiting patients could miss out on life saving treatment
with cancelled/postponed operations.
There are no winners there.
Centerlink knows that too and uses it against people applying for help.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.