Member Run Boards >> Multiculturalism and Race >> What is Australian culture?
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1720665040

Message started by Laugh till you cry on Jul 11th, 2024 at 12:30pm

Title: What is Australian culture?
Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 11th, 2024 at 12:30pm
Football, meat pies, kangaroos and Holden cars?

Holden cars are gone which was 25% of Australian culture.

Does that mean there is a big unfilled hole in Australian culture.

I once did a guided tour of a UK  stately house with a friend.

The guide was extolling French paintings, Flemish tapestries, Spanish timber mantlepieces and staircases.

I loudly exclaimed to my friend. These pommies have no culture at all. They stole everything.

Title: Re: What is Australian culture?
Post by tallowood on Jul 11th, 2024 at 1:02pm
Pig dogging.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5vytRcjTq5w

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 11th, 2024 at 1:05pm

tallowood wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 1:02pm:
Pig dogging.
[medi]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5vytRcjTq5w[/media]

Is it lawful?

Does the church approve?

What would Australian Jesus do?

Post by Frances on Jul 11th, 2024 at 1:39pm
Tried to post an image but it didn't work......

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 11th, 2024 at 2:14pm

Frances wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 1:39pm:
Tried to post an image but it didn't work......

Australian culture is a blank slate?

A self-erasing culture?

A black hole?

Post by tallowood on Jul 11th, 2024 at 2:20pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 2:14pm:
A black hole?

That sounds racist :o

Post by tallowood on Jul 11th, 2024 at 2:28pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 1:05pm:

tallowood wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 1:02pm:
Pig dogging.
[medi]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5vytRcjTq5w[/media]

Is it lawful?

Does the church approve?

What would Australian Jesus do?

On private property with permission of the landowner or manager. » In NSW, there are 189 State forests where you can hunt pigs with dogs. You must have a current R-Licence and written permission from the Department of Primary Industries (DPI) Game Licensing Unit.

So Jesus gave them permission. The evil spirits came out of the man and entered the pigs, and the entire herd of about 2,000 pigs plunged down the steep hillside into the lake and drowned in the water

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 11th, 2024 at 3:04pm
We don't really have a culture of our own.

Some would say the larrikin, have-a-go mentality and mateship were the exemplars of our culture, but COVID shows that were all utter bullshit.

The moment the going gets tough it's "bugger you, I've got mine" and "Don't tell me what to do" and even mask wearing was treated as the biggest injustice in the history of the world, akin to communism horrors and this simple act of personal responsibility too much to ask for to help your fellow Aussie when it was thought it could help reduce the spread of respiratory droplets and transmission.

No, we don't really have any culture of our own.

We've been heavily influenced by British colonisation. Many of our institutions, legal systems, and cultural practices derive from British traditions.

Our population is highly multicultural, with significant influences from various immigrant communities. This diversity is sometimes seen as overshadowing a distinct, unified Australian culture.

Much of our entertainment and popular culture, including movies, music, and fashion, is heavily influenced by American and British trends.

Some argue that mainstream Australia has not sufficiently integrated or acknowledged Indigenous Australian cultures, which have a rich and ancient heritage.  Any attempt to do so with things like welcome to country and other ceremonial duties triggers the usual suspects.

We simply lack a unique cultural identity.

Unless you consider the alcohol-fuelled, gambling-addicted and wife-beating elements our culture, which I hope not.

Post by Frank on Jul 11th, 2024 at 5:53pm

Our population is highly multicultural, with significant influences from various immigrant communities. This diversity is sometimes seen as overshadowing a distinct, unified Australian culture.

Australia is fundamentally an Anglo- British country with significant American and some continental European influences, mainly Italian, French, German.

I am not aware of any significant cultural influence by Arabs, Indians, Pakistanis, Chinese, Vietnameseetc, etc. Beyond their food and ghettos. I do not see Australian adopting Indian, Chinese, Muslim tastes in art, literature, cinema, values, sensibilities, politics, outlook, language etc.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 11th, 2024 at 6:42pm

Frank wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 5:53pm:

Australia is fundamentally an Anglo- British country with significant American and some continental European influences, mainly Italian, French, German.

I am not aware of any significant cultural influence by Arabs, Indians, Pakistanis, Chinese, Vietnameseetc, etc. Beyond their food and ghettos. I do not see Australian adopting Indian, Chinese, Muslim tastes in art, literature, cinema, values, sensibilities, politics, outlook, language etc.

That is the closet pom culture?

Post by Bias_2012 on Jul 11th, 2024 at 8:20pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 3:04pm:

Some would say the larrikin, have-a-go mentality and mateship were the exemplars of our culture, but COVID shows that were all utter bullshit.

The big cities are like that, but not in the bush

The Aussie culture is still alive and well in rural areas. "Mateship" is still a big part of our culture out here in the bush, among traditional Aussies

And there's still an acute understanding of our "Australian" language with all it's Aussie slang etc

Meddling governments haven't succeeded in squashing our culture ... yet

Post by Daves2017 on Jul 11th, 2024 at 11:34pm
I totally understand where sad kangaroo is coming from!

I don't see much culture in Australia apart from yougurt!?!

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:01am
As I said - all the way back to the very beginning, when groups began to coalesce and form a 'social identity' - culture was present.  That's why we call the Aboriginal Hunter Gatherer mode of life a Culture.... same as the Eskimos or the North American Indians or the Chinese or Japanese.... and god forbid... even the Europeans!!

ALL had a Culture/were part of a Culture - doesn't mean that every individual was exactly the same.....

You'll need a book to lay out what Australian Culture is.... and people here can't even follow my small scale dissertations that are as careful as I can be to state everything because the Dork Society jump on any single word you use that they haven't followed in discussion before... you can't just accept that a concept is settled with that kind....

Now then - about this equality for all..... Albo handed his mate the new 'governor-general most hated ever' an extra $200k because - wait for it - she did not already enjoy a military superannuation pension!!   Now that, Poppets, is what those idiots call 'equity' - but it sure as hell ain't equality ......... I piped Albo a line and said:- "I take it that now all pensioners will receive the same if they are not in receipt of a service super pension of some magnitude?"

Who the Hell are you gonna call next election?  Ghost Busters?  They're the only sensible ones left.... and the lots we have are not of The Australian Culture.... we abhor grifters and bludgers and liars....

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:31am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:01am:
As I said - all the way back to the very beginning, when groups began to coalesce and form a 'social identity' - culture was present.  That's why we call the Aboriginal Hunter Gatherer mode of life a Culture.... same as the Eskimos or the North American Indians or the Chinese or Japanese.... and god forbid... even the Europeans!!

ALL had a Culture/were part of a Culture - doesn't mean that every individual was exactly the same.....

You'll need a book to lay out what Australian Culture is.... and people here can't even follow my small scale dissertations that are as careful as I can be to state everything because the Dork Society jump on any single word you use that they haven't followed in discussion before... you can't just accept that a concept is settled with that kind....

Now then - about this equality for all..... Albo handed his mate the new 'governor-general most hated ever' an extra $200k because - wait for it - she did not already enjoy a military superannuation pension!!   Now that, Poppets, is what those idiots call 'equity' - but it sure as hell ain't equality ......... I piped Albo a line and said:- "I take it that now all pensioners will receive the same if they are not in receipt of a service super pension of some magnitude?"

Who the Hell are you gonna call next election?  Ghost Busters?  They're the only sensible ones left.... and the lots we have are not of The Australian Culture.... we abhor grifters and bludgers and liars....

Grappler's nonsensical word-salad rants don't elaborate on the invisible Australian culture.

Perhaps the answer is that one attribute of Australian culture is flying under the radar avoiding being noticed or nominated for anything. Sitting quietly at the back of the room and never raising your hand.

Post by Bias_2012 on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:54am

Daves2017 wrote on Jul 11th, 2024 at 11:34pm:

You must be living in a big city, because that's what sad kangaroo's post is about

The Australian culture has been obliterated in the major cities

To see the Aussie culture that still exists, one must reside in rural areas for a while where there's a vast majority of traditional Aussie constituents

It binds rural folk together, and because of our Aussie culture, we are not strangers to one another, as people are in the big cities these days

Murals on silos, entertaining passing travelers and towns folk

Birdsville Races road trip, watch right through - happy faces - enjoying their Aussie culture

https://youtu.be/Yxyyjb1UK_4

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 12th, 2024 at 8:35am
The people are what make culture.

Those more regional and rural people are a more genuine and better representation of what it means to be Australian for sure.

My in-laws lived in a regional mid-north Queensland town in the early 90s, they're immigrants from SE Asia.

They were the target of many racist jokes and behaviour, but not out of malice, just ignorance, though at the time they didn't realise it.

It wasn't until the area was hit by floods that they realised that the people around them gave them those ribbings not because they were different, not out of hate or misunderstanding, but because they were one of them, one of the community.  That's how they treated each other.

But when the going got tough, they'd give the shirt from their back to help them. 

During the floods, the way the community banded together, to help everyone, including and almost especially my in-laws was eye-opening for them.

Everyone worked together and helped each other out.

They didn't realise though that their little general store was the heart of the town.  Everyone was helping because they and their store was an essential part of the community.

They saw everyone there, nearly every day, would talk and chat to them, they didn't realise how important they were and not just for the store.  And people would almost fight to get an invite to their dinner parties. 

Of course, the Pub was the real heart of the town, but isn't that always the case?

That sort of "Mateship", not John Howard's jingoism or bullshit for the cameras, if I had to pick anything I'd want to be our culture, it's that.

But in many ways, it's a thing of the past.

There are too many external influences that are taking that away from us, and not just in the big cities either.

These smaller regional communities are being devastated by big corporate interests and it's turning the people against each other.

But that's a topic for another thread.

Post by mothra on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:04am

Poor old anachronism.

You'll go spitting and flailing into a multicultural grave, you immigrant you.

Colonised! Just when you thought you'd got away with telling everyone how superior you are at sword-point.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:28am
There's no doubt that Australianism will remain essentially a Western-focussed culture - held in place by its hyperfocus on Americanism - having replaced the British with the Americans due to our cultural need for an overlord.

The sheer volume of threads here and elsewhere on American politics and culture demonstrates this obsession with all things American and the compulsion to emulate it whenever we can - except maybe for the Irish obsession with glorious failure and defeat!

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:37am
Two attributes of Australian culture have emerged from this discussion.

Pubs and mateship.

I lived in London for ~2 years and there were at least 4 pubs in walking distance from my residence. Does this signify that the UK has a higher cultural level than Australia?

Regarding mateship, is it misogynistic? Does mateship exclude women?

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:40am

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:37am:
Does mateship exclude women?

Does fraternity?

'All men are created equal'?

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:22am

mothra wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:04am:

Poor old anachronism.

Colonised! Just when you thought you'd got away with telling everyone how superior you are at sword-point.

You can flail and splutter without saying anything all you like, silly bint.

Or you could point out how and where Australians are adopting Indian, Chinese, Muslim etc tastes in art, literature, cinema, business, sport or in their  values, sensibilities, politics, outlook, language etc.
Don't point to the existence of ghettos. That is not cultural influence, that's fragmemtation.

Post by mothra on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:30am

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:22am:

Poor old anachronism.

Or you could point out how and where Australians are adopting Indian, Chinese, Muslim etc tastes in art, literature, cinema, business, sport or in their  values, sensibilities, politics, outlook, language etc.
Don't point to the existence of ghettos. That is not cultural influence, that's fragmemtation.

i think the only thing i need to point out is that you are living in a bubble.

i suspect it's vacuum sealed.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:35am

Australians are adopting Indian, Chinese, Muslim etc tastes in art, literature, cinema, business, sport or in their  values, sensibilities, politics, outlook, language etc.

The Chinese Zodiac now most prolifically expressed in Australian bullion and coinage from both its official mints - nearly 36 years of celebration

The Chinese dragon - regularly appearing each year on Australian bullion.

The Chinese Lunar New Year - celebrated throughout Australia.

Indian Divali - the Hindu festival of light - each year becoming more popular throughout Australia. Holi - the Indian Festival of Colour - will likely soon follow.

Muslim Ramadan.

Post by aquascoot on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:49am
paul hogan
kath and kim
'mad max
ned kelly
two up
anzac day
the melbourne cup
drought
the reef
utes
backyard bbq
russell coight
mowing your yard
ayers rock
slouch hat
kylie
steve irwin
jimmy barnes
john mcarthur
james cook
ludwig leichardt

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:49am

mothra wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:30am:

Poor old anachronism.

so you can't think of any cultural influence on mainstream Australians either.

There isn't any, so relax.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:53am

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:49am:

Buddhism - the fastest-growing religion in Australia with traditional Western Christianity in terminal decline.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:54am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:35am:

Australians are adopting Indian, Chinese, Muslim etc tastes in art, literature, cinema, business, sport or in their  values, sensibilities, politics, outlook, language etc.

The Chinese Zodiac now most prolifically expressed in Australian bullion and coinage from both its official mints - nearly 36 years of celebration

Indian Divali - the Hindu festival of light - each year becoming more popular throughout Australia. Holi - the Indian Festival of Colour - will likely soon follow.

Muslim Ramadan.

Celebrated by the Chinese, Indians and Muslims. Only. Not Australians (by definition).

The indians and the Chinese are not celebrating Ramadan, nor do anyone else but Muslims.

you don't see Muslims or Chinese at Divali for some reason.  ::) Missed the bus, probably, oor there was no parking or something...

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:56am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:53am:

Buddhism - the fastest-growing religion in Australia.

It was Islam a few years ago? No longer?

either way, obviously driven by IMPORTS, not by locals.

Post by mothra on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:56am

mothra wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:30am:

Poor old anachronism.

There are countless. multicultural abundance all around you and you ... sulking in a corner insisting you are a god.

Post by aquascoot on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:57am
probably chinese resturants in country towns frank.
and some towns have a distinct influence
boonah near me...very lutheran german (refuse to allow maccas or woolworths into town)
innisfail...very italian (cane farmers)

Post by mothra on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:58am

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:54am:

Muslim Ramadan.

Celebrated by the Chinese, Indians and Muslims. Only. Not Australians (by definition).

The indians and the Chinese are not celebrating Ramadan, nor do anyone else but Muslims.

you don't see Muslims or Chinese at Divali for some reason.  ::) Missed the bus, probably, oor there was no parking or something...

Nope. Just celebrated.

Were you not invited?

Post by aquascoot on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:59am

Buddhism - the fastest-growing religion in Australia with traditional Western Christianity in terminal decline.

theres actually a bit of a ressurgence in cultural christians as well

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:00am

Muslim Ramadan.

Australian Chinese zodiac bullion and coinage - wildly popular in Australia and worldwide - purchased by all ethnicities in Australia and worldwide - usually selling out within days of release - same for the Chinese dragon bullion and coinage.

Divali celebrations - attended by all ethnicities in Australia.

Chinese Lunar New Year celebrations - attended across Australia by all ethnicities.

Post by aquascoot on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:00am
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r616QJ-3xeU

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:01am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:59am:

theres actually a bit of a ressurgence in cultural christians as well

There is to a degree with Americanised Christianity.

Post by tallowood on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:12am

Bias_2012 wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:54am:
To see the Aussie culture that still exists, one must reside in rural areas for a while where there's a vast majority of traditional Aussie constituents

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gK4-egHFVzs

Post by mothra on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:13am
Not to mention that we have world music festivals, most notably the wonderful WOMAD from my own home town.

An food and art exposes ...film and television ... fashion and influence.

And politics and academia for the grown ups.

Who the hell is actually complaining? And more tellingly, why?

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:15am

tallowood wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:12am:

[]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gK4-egHFVzs[]

A celebration of Irish culture transplanted in Australia.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:19am
A feature of Australian culture is that it is highly receptive to absorbing celebratory events into its milieu and will readily adopt them regardless of their ethnic, religious or cultural origins.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:23am
What about:

Deforestation?

Desertification?

Do those attributes qualify?

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:26am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:15am:

[]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gK4-egHFVzs[]

A celebration of Irish culture transplanted in Australia.

Probably accidental, but the reversed Australian flag behind the band is a tipping of the hat to Irish contempt for authority and formality that found a home in Australia from its earliest founding days.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:30am

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:23am:
What about:

Deforestation?

Desertification?

Do those attributes qualify?

Awww boo hoo.

Where in the world has there not been a conflict between civilisational development and ecology?

Post by tallowood on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:38am
It seems to me that whinging about lack of Australian culture is part of Australian culture  ;)

BTW, with much culture comes much sorrow, and as culture grows, grief increases, just look at history of all those cultural places, the history that is full of wars and destruction.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:39am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:00am:

Muslim Ramadan.

Australian Chinese zodiac bullion and coinage - wildly popular in Australia and worldwide - purchased by all ethnicities in Australia and worldwide - usually selling out within days of release - same for the Chinese dragon bullion and coinage.

Chinese Lunar New Year celebrations - attended across Australia by all ethnicities.

Yes, people go to the zoo, too.

Still, Australians do not think, see the world, adopt the values of Ramada, diwali, Chinese New year.

Australia resolutely and firmly remains an essentially Anglo culture with American influences (itself a largely British-European derived culture) with some significant but minor European influences.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:44am
Cultures that are insinuated into Australian society are not Australian cultures.

Such are actions mimicked by Australians, not cultures.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:44am

mothra wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:13am:
Not to mention that we have world music festivals, most notably the wonderful WOMAD from my own home town.

WOMAD itself a very strong expression of the uniquely open, Anglo- European cultural outlook:

WOMAD was founded in 1980 by English rock musician Peter Gabriel, with Thomas Brooman, Bob Hooton, Mark Kidel, Stephen Pritchard, Martin Elbourne and Jonathan Arthur. Original designers were Steve Byrne and Valerie Hawthorn.

Post by mothra on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:47am

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:44am:

mothra wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:13am:

WOMAD itself a very strong expression of the uniquely open, Anglo- European cultural outlook:

WOMAD was founded in 1980 by English rock musician Peter Gabriel, with Thomas Brooman, Bob Hooton, Mark Kidel, Stephen Pritchard, Martin Elbourne and Jonathan Arthur. Original designers were Steve Byrne and Valerie Hawthorn.

You have no idea what WOMAD is, do you fruitbat?

Post by tallowood on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:06pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:19am:
A feature of Australian culture is that it is highly receptive to absorbing celebratory events into its milieu and will readily adopt them regardless of their ethnic, religious or cultural origins.

Like Dustyesky?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlcF-APVJ_c

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:14pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:39am:

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 11:00am:

Muslim Ramadan.

Yes, people go to the zoo, too.

Still, Australians do not think, see the world, adopt the values of Ramada, diwali, Chinese New year.

Australia resolutely and firmly remains an essentially Anglo culture with American influences (itself a largely British-European derived culture) with some significant but minor European influences.

Yes we do... go to the zoo... And we celebrate Chinese and Indian cultural/religious events where, 40 years ago, we did not.

Having said that, there's no doubt Australian culture will always be predicated on Anglo-American culture and, most importantly, on Anglo-American political/governance traditions - there is no Asian or African political tradition that will ever eclipse that.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:15pm
Its narrowing down to:

Football;

Meat pies;

Kangaroos;

Pubs;

Mateship;

Deforestation; and

Desertification.

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:18pm
The problem with those like Frank, they demand immigrants shed their culture and assimilate by replacing it with Australian culture, but we can't really define what that is, and the moment Australians do things to adopt elements of other cultures we get thinly veiled versions of the great replacement fears.

So it's difficult to have a genuine conversation about this.

Post by mothra on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:26pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:18pm:
The problem with those like Frank, they demand immigrants shed their culture and assimilate by replacing it with Australian culture, but we can't really define what that is, and the moment Australians do things to adopt elements of other cultures we get thinly veiled versions of the great replacement fears.

It's worse than that. Frank equates expression of culture from non-European stock as like a trip to the zoo.

Frank is having a really bad time acclimatising to modern day Australia. He's offended at every turn.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:28pm

All cultures demand that immigrants assimilate by shedding their former cultures and adopting local ones.

Do you think the Chinese / Indians in their homeland would not expect that of Australian immigrants? They will likely refuse to accept you as Chinese / Indian even if you tried to become that.

Try telling Europeans in Europe that, as an Australian of European descent, you're also European... They'll laugh in your face.

Compared to ancient world cultures, Australians are incredibly tolerant of immigrant cultures and will readily adopt their celebratory events without regard to conflict with earlier established religious or cultural traditions. What kind of Australian doesn't like a party?

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:14pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 10:56am:

Buddhism - the fastest-growing religion in Australia.

It was Islam a few years ago? No longer?

either way, obviously driven by IMPORTS, not by locals.

Of course it's driven by imports (immigrants). All non-Aboriginal cultures were/are driven by immigrants.

However, soon after, features of their imported influence readily infuse into Australian culture - particularly celebratory events and artistic/musical traditions - and occasionally (although rarely) religious traditions.

Buddhism is a good example of an imported religious tradition but it's not the Buddhism that Asian practitioners would fully comprehend. Buddhism has been Westernised and is largely an import from the US where traditional Asian Buddhism underwent a process of Westernisation.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:24pm
Something of interest concerning the acceptance of immigrant assimilation in Australia is that it seems heavily dependent on whether or not they speak with an Australian accent - and the broader the accent, the more fully they are accepted.

In the same way the French accept immigrants more readily who speak French well.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:34pm
The indisputable, definitive, conclusive answer.

Multiculturalism.

The government has ordained it.

Australia has no distinctive culture.

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:40pm
Nah - the multis are just sub-cultures in zoos .... like the old tradition of going out for a nosh at the Chinese.... now it's Indian, Italian, Greek, and even zoos for Muslims .... called self-created ghettoes.....

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:42pm

mothra wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:26pm:

It's worse than that. Frank equates expression of culture from non-European stock as like a trip to the zoo.

Frank is having a really bad time acclimatising to modern day Australia. He's offended at every turn.

Ah - let's just make it personal again then.....

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:44pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gK4-egHFVzs

Now it's more a case of the homo among the gum trees..... a tranny or two and a kangaroo ...

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:49pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:34pm:
The indisputable, definitive, conclusive answer.

Multiculturalism.

The government has ordained it.

Australia has no distinctive culture.

Australian mainstream culture is porous in a way that ancient, established cultures are not.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:54pm

Well, can YOU define what any of those other, non Australian cultures are?

Post by tallowood on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:06pm
Cultural import/export

Australian version of "The Song Of The Volga Boatmen"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRFo-44PKa0

Russian Choir response with “Waltzing Matilda”
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVoVLvkiK2E

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:10pm

You must be living in a big city, because that's what sad kangaroo's post is about

The Australian culture has been obliterated in the major cities

It binds rural folk together, and because of our Aussie culture, we are not strangers to one another, as people are in the big cities these days

Murals on silos, entertaining passing travelers and towns folk

[im]https://live.staticflickr.com/1786/42432255145_6206a5bd14.jpg[/img]

Birdsville Races road trip, watch right through - happy faces - enjoying their Aussie culture

[medi]https://youtu.be/Yxyyjb1UK_4[/media]

The mysterious 'OUTBACK', the cultural centre of Australia, where the fewest Australians live.

Multiculturalism has not penetrated the hardened wrinkled skin of the mysterious outback.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:11pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:54pm:

Yes.

One of those 'I know what X is, but now that you ask me, I don't', moments!

Post by tallowood on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:32pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:10pm:
The mysterious 'OUTBACK', the cultural centre of Australia, where the fewest Australians live.

Multiculturalism has not penetrated the hardened wrinkled skin of the mysterious outback.

What the sculpture of the "Russian Jack" is doing in the Australian outback then?

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:32pm
Yes - we have no bananas!

No culture is universally applied across all individuals in it like a coat of paint slathered on.....  the Aborigines had it down pat... as long s they could keep it at 'small wandering groups' = Terra Nullius - each group could retain its own identity without identity politics entering into it - well - unless they got into a blue with some other group ...

Now there are too many of them and the groups begin to intermingle and trouble comes about, and they no longer simply have the room to wander in peace and close identity with their small group... then there are the Western ideas 'activists', who somehow think that happiness is not being able to freely wander about ..... Fraser Island, for example ..... in shared usage .... but can only be found in Supremacist Ownership of it all - and the group demanding this are most likely not even 'native' to the area.

Like the Middle East - these 'tribes' are pretty much the creation of the Outsiders with control.... and even within 'tribes' (let alone 'nations') each remnant of each small group still holds to its own as much as possible.

Maybe if their population was reduced and they were scattered again with each small group having the 'native title' rights to wander etc across what was their stamping ground (not 'owned land' any more than my trip to town, you catch kangaroo - me catch shopping list, gives me ownership of everything along the way), they might find some peace.

Sadly - The great Project of Abestine/Aborassic Park/Gondwamano Bay is unlikely to work for the same reasons... they just can't get along with one another as small groups....

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:56pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:11pm:

Yes.

Multiculturalism is a great swindle on many levels. One of them is to absolve people from knowing or understanding neither their own culture nor those of the incoming multitudes.

Post by tallowood on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:56pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:32pm:

Banana benders keep out ;)

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jul 12th, 2024 at 3:01pm

tallowood wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:56pm:

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:32pm:

Banana benders keep out ;)

Buggar - there is one banana left in Coffs Harbour - last time I drove through there all the bananas were gone.... it's all special crops these days....  what's that word... boutique crops .... maybe someone will invent the auto-mashed avocado.... I grow the trees from seed here and give them to worthy people to grow.... too old to build that plantation but a Turkish lady up the road is getting some from me  ... the more avocadoes the better I say...

If I still had acreage I'd have an avo plantation... up north of Lismore there is a beauty... in them thar hills.... being me I'd have a few trees overhanging the fences and signs saying 'you may pick if you need but only up to the fence!'   8-)

That was it - the Old Girl's 100th anniversary of her great-grandparent's wedding.... we organised a family gathering up north of Lissie and found the old family farm.... two women have it now as an animal refuge full of injured animals and birds from the fires ..... and this huge avo farm up the road.... good volcanic soil there..

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 3:37pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 2:56pm:

Yes.

Multiculturalism is a great swindle on many levels. One of them is to absolve people from knowing or understanding neither their own culture nor those of the incoming multitudes.

It's not possible to define Australian culture such that it is unique from generic neo-Anglo culture that can be found in Canada, the US or New Zealand; more broadly, it is not that distinguishable from generic modern culture found throughout the West, Eastern Europe and even in parts of Asia.

What we think of as uniquely Australian, such as mateship, is, of course, not unique at all. The French have their 'fraternité, the Americans have their 'crowning of god's good with brotherhood from sea to shining sea', the kiwis have it, even Russians use a form of it (if only to mask their imperialism towards neighbouring peoples). It's a theme in most modern nation-states.

What is uniquely Australian about Australia's mainstream culture? 'Laidbackness'? Egalitarianism? Nasal vowels?

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 12th, 2024 at 3:40pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 1:42pm:

mothra wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 12:26pm:

Ah - let's just make it personal again then.....

You lobbed death threats at me before, and you want to complain about things getting personal?

Please...

Post by tallowood on Jul 12th, 2024 at 3:53pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 3:37pm:

Yes.

It's not possible to define Australian culture such that it is unique from generic neo-Anglo culture that can be found in Canada, the US or New Zealand; more broadly, it is not that distinguishable from generic modern culture found throughout the West, Eastern Europe and even in parts of Asia.

What we think of as uniquely Australian, such as mateship, is, of course, not unique at all. The French have their 'fraternité, the Americans have their 'crowning of god's good with brotherhood from sea to shining sea', the kiwis have it, even Russians use a form of it (if only to mask their imperialism towards neighbouring peoples). It's a theme in most modern nation-states.

What is uniquely Australian about Australia's mainstream culture? 'Laidbackness'? Egalitarianism? Nasal vowels?

What is cultural uniqueness? Which modern country is 100% culturally unique?

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:02pm

I have a mixed family so yes I do.

Would I otherwise?

Probably not as much.  I've had to go out of my way to educate myself since our school system let my generation down in many ways.

I grew up with a diverse group of friends and 30+ years later we're all still friends.  But those from immigrant backgrounds sound and act more Australian than I do due to the bullying over the years.  It was a necessity for them, sadly.

It wasn't until they started having children of their own that they started to embrace their heritage because they wanted to keep it alive in their children, so they knew their history and where they came from.

It was then, from them, that I started to learn more about mainland Chinese culture, Filipino culture and some Slovakian culture.  But it's a very upper-level understanding and only from their regions point of view.  China and even the Fills are very diverse within themselves.

It all depends on the people you mix with.  It's easy to dismiss, discriminate or hate what you don't understand.

I grew up in a time and a place that fostered mixing with people from different backgrounds in school and celebrating our differences, without it being overboard and over-correcting into wokeville.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:17pm

tallowood wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 3:53pm:

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 3:37pm:

Yes.

What is cultural uniqueness? Which modern country is 100% culturally unique?

What does it mean to quantify uniqueness? What does, say, 50% unique mean?

Post by aquascoot on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:25pm
multiculturalism is fine but we have to admit some cultures are better then others

the sudanese have been a disaster
the chinese and indians are hard working , smart and law abiding

the lebanese in western sydney are vastly over represented in criminal enterprises

the workers compensation board even had terminology like greek back or yugoslavian back as medical categories , such were the incredible number of insurance claims from some ethnicities.

there was a running joke at the department of social security (now centrelink) that it would be best to give rumanian migrants coming for family reunification , applications for the disability pension on the plane coming here so they could get started on the paperwork

i have never had an issue with most asian migrants.
i feel they add to the country

if you want to stick your head in the ground and say that sudanese and a lot of the middle eastern and eastern europeans are as good, be my guest. i beg to differ.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:41pm

aquascoot wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:25pm:
the chinese are hard working ,smart and law abiding

Depends on who you ask.

The Indians, Bhutanese, Vietnamese and Filipinos may beg to differ.

Devious and criminal more than smart and law-abiding they might argue.

Also, Chinese organised crime in Australia is extremely dangerous with many Chinese serious crims protected by Chinese diplomats.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:50pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:02pm:
It wasn't until they started having children of their own that they started to embrace their heritage because they wanted to keep it alive in their children, so they knew their history and where they came from.

But if white Anglo Australians want to do the same they are either called wacists or even their HAVING a heritage or culture of their own is questioned.
Look at this thread. Every heritage is respected, only Australianness is questioned, discounted or even dismissed out of hand.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:59pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:50pm:

But if white Anglo Australians want to do the same they are either called wacists or even their HAVING a heritage or culture of their own is questioned.
Look at this thread. Every heritage is respected, only Australianness is questioned, discounted or even dismissed out of hand.

Ethno-chauvinism in Australia is minimal compared to that expressed across Africa and Asia, including the subcontinent. where ethnic acceptance is usually refused generationally to non-local-ethnic immigrants.

Even Europeans, including the English, can be snooty towards neocultural Western immigrant peoples.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 5:08pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:59pm:

Ethno-chauvinism in Australia is minimal compared to that expressed across Africa and Asia, including the subcontinent. where ethnic acceptance is usually refused generationally to non-local-ethnic immigrants.

Even Europeans, including the English, can be snooty towards neocultural Western immigrant peoples.

But if a white person voices the judgement of Africans or Asians along the same lines that Africans and Asians judge each other, he would be denounced as a privileged white supremacist.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 5:14pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 5:08pm:

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:59pm:

But if a white person voices the judgement of Africans or Asians along the same lines that Africans and Asians judge each other, he would be denounced as a privileged white supremacist.

Yes, ironically, not among Africans and Asians about each other who often don't miss the opportunity to denigrate each other along ethnic/cultural/religious/tribal lines.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:15pm

aquascoot wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 4:25pm:
multiculturalism is fine but we have to admit some cultures are better then others

the sudanese have been a disaster
the chinese and indians are hard working , smart and law abiding

the lebanese in western sydney are vastly over represented in criminal enterprises

the workers compensation board even had terminology like greek back or yugoslavian back as medical categories , such were the incredible number of insurance claims from some ethnicities.

there was a running joke at the department of social security (now centrelink) that it would be best to give rumanian migrants coming for family reunification , applications for the disability pension on the plane coming here so they could get started on the paperwork

i have never had an issue with most asian migrants.
i feel they add to the country

if you want to stick your head in the ground and say that sudanese and a lot of the middle eastern and eastern europeans are as good, be my guest. i beg to differ.

That is all very well as far as it goes. People from some cultures/countries come to the West (any Western country) to make money. They work hard, get ahead but remain culturally separatist. Faruqi, Payman are an example of this group. Others come to exploit welfare and to dodge and cheat and be kept and remain culturally separatistst. Your welfare dependant Romanians and Lebs and Africans are examples.

The former are preferable but not to yet another cohort that comes to make a living, make money, get ahead and embrace the culture and be a contributor to it.  The Brits and non-Balkan Europeans are examples. It is no surprise since they are culturally the most similar to other Western countries like Australia.

Post by Gnads on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:26pm

The moment the going gets tough it's "bugger you, I've got mine" and "Don't tell me what to do" and even mask wearing was treated as the biggest injustice in the history of the world, akin to communism horrors and this simple act of personal responsibility too much to ask for to help your fellow Aussie when it was thought it could help reduce the spread of respiratory droplets and transmission.

We've been heavily influenced by British colonisation. Many of our institutions, legal systems, and cultural practices derive from British traditions.

Much of our entertainment and popular culture, including movies, music, and fashion, is heavily influenced by American and British trends.

Some argue that mainstream Australia has not sufficiently integrated or acknowledged Indigenous Australian cultures, which have a rich and ancient heritage.  Any attempt to do so with things like welcome to country and other ceremonial duties triggers the usual suspects.

Unless you consider the alcohol-fuelled, gambling-addicted and wife-beating elements our culture, which I hope not.

Always knew you were a self loathing, nation deprecating arsehole.

Post by Gnads on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:28pm

I don't see much culture in Australia apart from yougurt!?!

Speaks volumes about you & why you think Fatima Payman is a good politician.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:29pm
There's a myth that British and Irish peoples assimilate well into Australian culture.

However, when they're asked many consider themselves British / English / Welsh / Irish / Scottish first, Australian second. Many lampoon the Australian citizenship process as 'getting the lobotomy'.

Their cultural similarities are the perfect camouflage that makes it easy for them to appear superficially Australian.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:35pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:29pm:
There's a myth that British and Irish peoples assimilate well into Australian culture.

However, when they're asked many consider themselves British / English / Welsh / Irish / Scottish first, Australian second.

Their cultural similarities are the perfect camouflage that makes it easy for them to appear superficially Australian.

Totally unremarkable for any overseas born person.

As for "Many lampoon the Australian citizenship process as 'getting the lobotomy' - this is a pretty stupid and slanderous load of invented b.s.  I have never heard of anyone, British or otherwise, who decided to take Australian citizenship AND lampooned it as lobotomy. That is just idiotic, malicious crap you invented.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:53pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:35pm:

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:29pm:

However, when they're asked many consider themselves British / English / Welsh / Irish / Scottish first, Australian second.

Totally unremarkable for any overseas born person.

As for "Many lampoon the Australian citizenship process as 'getting the lobotomy' - this is a pretty stupid and slanderous load of invented b.s.  I have never heard of anyone, British or otherwise, who decided to take Australian citizenship AND lampooned it as lobotomy. That is just idiotic, malicious crap you invented.

It's true.

The British love sarcastic humour.

Yes, it is unremarkable for anyone born anywhere not to consider themselves Australian first, hence the tendency to jealously preserve their home culture in their manner and in the raising of their children and grandchildren.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:05pm
The reasons Barry Hu8mphries created the characters Sir Les Patterson and Barry McKenzie were (1) an attempt to embarrass and shock Australians into seeing what many foreigners perceived Australians to be and (2) to entertain the British who enjoyed the stereotype of Australians as drunk fools - South Seas Irish.

Unfortunately for Humphries, Australians of the time, far from being shocked or embarrassed, embraced McKenzie and Patterson as Australian icons.

Post by Gnads on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:11pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:28am:
There's no doubt that Australianism will remain essentially a Western-focussed culture - held in place by its hyperfocus on Americanism - having replaced the British with the Americans due to our cultural need for an overlord.

The sheer volume of threads here and elsewhere on American politics and culture demonstrates this obsession with all things American and the compulsion to emulate it whenever we can - except maybe for the Irish obsession with glorious failure and defeat!

What??? Peccars Trump obsession?

Treat it with the contempt it deserves.

He said he'd leave this forum if Trump won the election for POTUS back in 2016.

Yet he's till here.

I wonder whether he'll leave if Trump wins the next US election & becomes POTUS again in November 2024?  ;D

You leave the Irish out of it ... I love Guinness & Traditional Irish music.

No one has tried to emulate that here.

Famous Irish(migrants)Trad musicians Paddy, Joe & John Fitzgerald have live in Australia for a long time.(60's)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RzpSC45iPpo&t=17s&ab_channel=snfitz2

Paddy Fitzgerald exited his earthly stage on Dec 2nd 2023 - leaving behind family,  community and musical heartache. and missing on a great scale . Over 60 years ago the family of Martin and Annie Fitzgerald with 7 children - Thomas, Paddy, Joe,  Stephen, Anna, John, and Mary. boarded the big ship of no return as it steered for Australia.  They brought the love of East Clare, the memories of great neighbours, the hurling, the handball, the hills, the small fields, the little house and the music and gave it all a whole new home in Melbourne Australia. I had the privilege of making my way to that new home in 2015. Paddy, with his brothers, the late John (banjo), and Joe played for my audience of one in Paddy's back garden music room. It was a privilege then. It feels much more of a privilege now.  Part of the show were these 3 jigs :- 'The Roscommon Jig', The Last March' and 'The Gander in the Pratie Hole.'. Rest in Peace much loved Paddy xx

They often went back to Ireland for Trad festivals.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:18pm

Gnads wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:11pm:
You leave the Irish out of it ... I love Guinness & Traditional Irish music.

No one has tried to emulate that here.

Yep, nothing wrong with a Guinness and Irish music.

According to the Irish, Australians are the closest people to them in psychology, humour, culture and outlook.

Post by Gnads on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:18pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:05pm:
The reasons Barry Hu8mphries created the characters Sir Les Patterson and Barry McKenzie were (1) an attempt to embarrass and shock Australians into seeing what many foreigners perceived Australians to be and (2) to entertain the British who enjoyed the stereotype of Australians as drunk fools - South Seas Irish.

Unfortunately for Humphries, Australians of the time, far from being shocked or embarrassed, embraced McKenzie and Patterson as Australian icons.

There was nothing unfortunate about it ... like many of his other characters it paid his bills & was popular.

That it was OTT satire is irrelevant .... it was all accepted as a part of the Australian larrikin culture and Aussie humour & self deprecation.

The ability to take the piss out of oneself & others.

Far too many narcissistic self inflated egos  around these days. 

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:22pm

Gnads wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:18pm:

There was nothing unfortunate about it ... like many of his other characters it paid his bills & was popular.

That it was OTT satire is irrelevant .... it was all accepted as a part of the Australian larrikin culture and Aussie humour & self deprecation.

Yep... but Humphries was trying to school Australians and it backfired - the money he made came from the British who enjoyed the Australian drunk idiot stereotype.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:48pm

Well, there's an Australian characteristic people like you (where ARE you from? You are very coy about it) don't get - self- deprecating humour. Very British.
Peter Cook was Barry's patron saint. Cook was to Britain that Barry was to Australia AND Britain.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:50pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:22pm:

Gnads wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:18pm:

Yep... but Humphries was trying to school Australians and it backfired - the money he made came from the British who enjoyed the Australian drunk idiot stereotype.

What is your background? What is the source of your resentment? Do share.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:55pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:48pm:

Well, there's an Australian characteristic people like you (where ARE you from? You are very coy about it) don't get - self- deprecating humour. Very British.
Peter Cook was Barry's patron saint. Cook was to Britain that Barry was to Australia AND Britain.

Yes, I do get self-deprecating humour.

My reference to it being unfortunate for Humphries was that he expected Australians to be shocked by his holding up a mirror to Australians of the time - they weren't.

Humphries commented on the Australian contempt for the 'Pom' as an example of Australians projecting their sense of cultural inferiority which he added was understandable because, in his words, "we are".

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 8:01pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:55pm:

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 7:48pm:

Yes, I do get self-deprecating humour.

My reference to it being unfortunate for Humphries was that he expected Australians to be shocked by his holding up a mirror to Australians of the time - they weren't.

Humphries commented on the Australian contempt for the 'Pom' as an example of Australians projecting their sense of cultural inferiority which he added was understandable because, in his words, "we are".

Two way bet, innit. Self-aware and self-deprecating while also inferior.

What is your background? You never remembered to tell us.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 12th, 2024 at 8:02pm
'The Adventures of Barry McKenzie' was released in 1972, a year after 'Wake in Fright' was released - which did shock and disgust Australian audiences.

Wake in Fright's Canadian director, Ted Kotcheff, recognised in remote Australian culture the same themes he experienced in remote Canadian culture - "Canada is Australia on the rocks", he said.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 8:24pm
In 1972 Joan Sutherland made a recording of Turandot with Pavarotti, conducted by Zubin Mehta.

Where are you from Meister? Don't be ashamed to say. You are very big on everyone else's background.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 12th, 2024 at 8:44pm
Rolf Harris was once an Australian cultural leader.

He stitched all the jingo icons together and had Australians bursting with pride.

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:08pm

Gnads wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 6:26pm:

I'm not against celebrating Australian culture, I'm just saying nobody really agrees on what it is.

If you can't accept that I don't care.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:10pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:08pm:

I'm not against celebrating Australian culture, I'm just saying nobody really agrees on what it is.

So what ARE you celebrating?

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:10pm

There is nothing wrong with celebrating our culture in the same way, I'm just saying it's very difficult to articulate what that culture is.

We are a very young nation, with a founding that is difficult to celebrate.

We were a penal colony.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:12pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:10pm:

There is nothing wrong with celebrating our culture in the same way, I'm just saying it's very difficult to articulate what that culture is.

We were a penal colony.

A wild guess - you are of Irish decent?

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:14pm

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:12pm:

We were a penal colony.

A wild guess - you are of Irish decent?

I think my grandmother was half Irish but the closest thing to ever acknowledging that was her watching EastEnders when I was growing up.

Post by Frank on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:18pm

We were a penal colony.

America was a penal colony for much longer than Australia. Australia was a substituted when the Americans went independent in 1776.

Post by SadKangaroo on Jul 13th, 2024 at 8:53am

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:18pm:

We were a penal colony.

America was a penal colony for much longer than Australia. Australia was a substituted when the Americans went independent in 1776.

And?

It's actually parts of American "culture" that are making their way into the Australian psyche that is eroding the things we would once point to as what made us great.

Using them as an example is a poor choice.

American Individualism, Consumerism and Materialism and Neo-Capitalism, they're all things that grate against the ideals of mateship and the have-a-go mentality.

The "bugger you I've got mine" mentality is growing and overtaking what was once something we could be proud of.

Post by Frank on Jul 13th, 2024 at 9:00am

SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 13th, 2024 at 8:53am:

Frank wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 9:18pm:

We were a penal colony.

And?

It's actually parts of American "culture" that are making their way into the Australian psyche that is eroding the things we would once point to as what made us great.

Using them as an example is a poor choice.

You brought up the penal colony aspect.

In any case, as Clive James pointed out, the problem with Australia might not be that some are descendants of convicts but that many are descendants of jailers. Certainly in spirit. You are one such.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 13th, 2024 at 9:46am
The most enduring pillar of Australian culture, or culture-bearer, is what is now known as the broad Australian accent.

First noted within 20 years of settlement, it has persisted as the most obvious marker of a person’s Australianness and Australianism (whatever that is), although it has diversified into at least three branches: broad, general and cultivated.

There are, however, significant sub-branches, such as: the Aboriginal Australian accent, southern European-Australian accents and various forms of Asian-Australian accents.

Of all of them though, the broad Australian accent dominates in identifying a person anywhere within the Anglosphere as Australian.

An interesting confirmation of this was an interview by Indian media with cricketer Brett Lee.

With an accent that is already unmistakably Australian, Lee broadened his accent for the interview to a degree that made it almost incomprehensible to even his fellow Australians.

That the Indian interviewer understood what Lee was saying indicated that this broadening was contrived and pre-scripted for Indian consumption - a nod to the uniqueness of the broad accent and an indicator that, whatever Australian culture may be, its enduring pillars are still to be found in those who speak in that way.

Post by tallowood on Jul 13th, 2024 at 10:30am

Post by Gnads on Jul 13th, 2024 at 12:28pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 12th, 2024 at 8:44pm:
Rolf Harris was once an Australian cultural leader.

He stitched all the jingo icons together and had Australians bursting with pride.

You'd really love Jimmy Saville then?  ;D

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 13th, 2024 at 12:41pm
Enduring pillars (ideals) of Australianism that have endured almost since settlement would include: egalitarianism, antiauthoritarianism, irreverence, secularism and 'mateship' (fraternity).

Post by Gnads on Jul 13th, 2024 at 12:42pm

That's not what you said - that what I high lighted.

So I don't accept what you said ....

and whether you care or not is of no consequence.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 13th, 2024 at 1:25pm
If Gnads is a representative of Australian culture, Australia is doomed.

Post by Frank on Jul 13th, 2024 at 1:30pm

A fatuous summary of this prseudo-debate.

Can you point to any country where there is unanimous agreement on what its culture is?

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 13th, 2024 at 1:50pm
The only attribute that can be specifically identified as Australian culture is multiculturalism.

OY OY OY.

Post by Frank on Jul 13th, 2024 at 3:40pm
What do we owe the White Australia Policy?

It’s an uncomfortable truth for much of the Australian public, but everything we love and value about Australia we owe to the White Australia Policy.

It is so central to our national character that New South Wales’ 23rd Premier Jack Lang once said:

“White Australia must not be regarded as a mere political shibboleth. It was Australia’s Magna Carta. Without that policy, this country would have been lost long ere this.”

The events that occurred before federation led directly to it and the implementation of the policy. After its abolition, our social values and culture still has its direct connection to the emerging Australian sentiment and ideals that took place during our early colonial period and flourished during our formative century, from 1850 to 1950. The policy is directly responsible for everything we associate with Australian culture, our national identity, social values, political framework and our customs and traditions.

At its core, Australia is a White creation. Before Captain James Cook landed in Botany Bay in 1770, Australia didn’t exist. The land mass was there, and the Aboriginals inhabited it, but the land was undeveloped and had no infrastructure or political system to formulate it into a country. This all changed when European men and women came to settle and develop the colonies.

Those who diminish the European foundation for Australia by saying the land doesn’t belong to us, because “sovereignty was never ceded” and use phrases like “White Australia has a black history”, don’t understand Australian history. This historical analysis will help dispel these myths.

Our history stems from hundreds of years of European, but more specifically, British history. Viewed in this way, White Australia is thousands of years in the making and was inevitable. Even the most overlooked details of our culture are thousands of years old: Wedding rings, for example, are an Ancient Roman tradition that represents permanence, strength, eternal love and commitment.

The rest is here:  https://www.noticer.news/what-do-we-owe-the-white-australia-policy/

Post by Bias_2012 on Jul 13th, 2024 at 5:03pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 13th, 2024 at 1:50pm:
The only attribute that can be specifically identified as Australian culture is multiculturalism.

Strange statement! Multiculturalism in Australia is a human political construct. The basic Aussie culture is what all "multicultural" ethnic Australians live within in the overall community, whether they are aware of it or not

The Aussie culture is a culture on it's own, in it's own right. In it's basic form, it's the culture nearly all immigrants are attracted to when they sign their immigration papers ....laid-back lifestyle, free to travel around, sense of humor, peaceful coexistence (but it must be reciprocal from the ethnic immigrants of all shades), natural justice, fun-loving activity, sporting activity, each to their own, respect for the opposite sex, respect for the law, a helping hand when needed, a fair go, the freedom to seek opportunities to advance improvement in one's life or for the community in general, religion not to be forced down our throats

Without all these positive Aussie cultural attributes, immigrants seeking a better life, might think twice about coming here. Coming here for hand-outs, education, jobs, modern living, and a chance to live in a house of their own, provides only half the story. It's essential to also have a peaceful basic egalitarian culture as a foundation for immigrants to achieve what they want to do in their lives.

The core Aussie culture is what everyone is really living by, regardless of what is practiced in ones own home. There are exceptions in the community though, those of the Islamic faith and perhaps a few others. They shun the core Aussie culture, and Australia is poorer for it. To work as a nation, Australia must be unified, only the core Aussie culture can do that, all other cultures have to be subservient, all of them together can't be a "main" culture, it's a contradiction in terms to think they could be

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 13th, 2024 at 6:56pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Jul 13th, 2024 at 5:03pm:
To work as a nation, Australia must be unified, only the core Aussie culture can do that, all other culture have to be subservient, all of them together can't be a "main" culture, it's a contradiction in terms to think they could be

That looks very much like what Germany was imposing in 1939.

Oy! Oy! Oy!

Post by Frank on Jul 13th, 2024 at 8:14pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 13th, 2024 at 6:56pm:

To work as a nation, Australia must be unified, only the core Aussie culture can do that, all other culture have to be subservient, all of them together can't be a "main" culture, it's a contradiction in terms to think they could be

Oy! Oy! Oy!

Australian kultcha of 40,000 years, alive and cursin'.  Proud, ancient culture. Always was, always will be.

Gissa green slab = that means Green Dreaming.

Gordon wrote on Jul 13th, 2024 at 7:18pm:
Need a bit more of it

[media]https://youtu.be/xGNYeZzXSec?si=seKxgu_F_y_l8K7J[/media]

Post by Bias_2012 on Jul 14th, 2024 at 1:21am

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 13th, 2024 at 6:56pm:

Oy! Oy! Oy!

Trust you to think of that, when I just listed all the egalitarian attributes of the Aussie culture ... they are the mainstay by which peaceful living is attained in the broader community, and to avoid conflict between all the different races and cultures. Rule of law is one thing, but a dominate egalitarian culture is necessary for the laws to work. The Aussie culture and Australian law go hand in hand (as an example, the muslim bloke who sexually molesting women in hospitals just recently, not only had no respect for the law, he also had no respect for the opposite sex .. which is a violation of the mainstay Aussie culture)

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 14th, 2024 at 8:18am
The ideals of egalitarianism, antiauthoritarianism, irreverence, secularism, and mateship (or fraternity) - are not in themselves unique to Australia, but they are collectively those on which Australianism is founded.

The first three were gifted to us by Irish culture and the sentiments of the British underclasses.

Secularism likely grew organically from antiauthoritarianism and irreverence.

The ideal of mateship undoubtedly evolved from the same sensibility as the revolutionary French republican ideal of fraternité - that of a national brotherhood in defence of the people against tyranny, class injustice and adversity.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 14th, 2024 at 9:12am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 14th, 2024 at 8:18am:

The ideal of mateship undoubtedly evolved from the same sensibility as the revolutionary French republican ideal of fraternité - that of a national brotherhood in defence of the people against tyranny, class injustice and adversity.

Mateship excludes women.

Australians are not Francophiles.

Defence is a burden on the underclasses and excludes the wealthy from service.

Tyranny is a symptom of authoritarianism and there is no evidence of any Australian movement against it.

Australians are obedient followers of internet culture.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 14th, 2024 at 9:43am

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 14th, 2024 at 9:12am:

Mateship excludes women.

Tyranny is a symptom of authoritarianism and there is no evidence of any Australian movement against it.

Mateship does not exclude women any more than fraternity, 'all men created equal' and 'brotherhood of man' do.

Mateship/fraternity has nothing to do with Francophilia.

During the 18th and 19th centuries of Australian settlement, there was a distinct divide between the ruling classes and 'the common man' - particularly in the playing out of English-Irish animosity transplanted in Australia - hence the enduring popularity of the Ned Kelly legend, not to mention the Eureka Stockade.

The attempt to create an Australian aristocratic class in the 19th century was ruthlessly lampooned in Australia - the Bunyip Aristocracy - and condemned as an attempt to create an authoritarian oligarchy.

You are a good example of an obedient and mindless follower of internet culture.

Post by Gordon on Jul 14th, 2024 at 10:33am
Democrats encouraged it
images_255.jpeg (24 KB | 4 )

Post by tallowood on Jul 14th, 2024 at 12:04pm

Mateship excludes women.

"She's good sport"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mtwkDGlpWJk

Post by tallowood on Jul 14th, 2024 at 12:06pm

Gordon wrote on Jul 14th, 2024 at 10:33am:
Democrats encouraged it

On that picture the right ear seems to be intact.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 14th, 2024 at 12:31pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 14th, 2024 at 9:43am:

Mateship excludes women.

Mateship does not exclude women any more than fraternity, 'all men created equal' and 'brotherhood of man' do.

Mateship/fraternity has nothing to do with Francophilia.

During the 18th and 19th centuries of Australian settlement, there was a distinct divide between the ruling classes and 'the common man' - particularly in the playing out of English-Irish animosity transplanted in Australia - hence the enduring popularity of the Ned Kelly legend, not to mention the Eureka Stockade.

The attempt to create an Australian aristocratic class in the 19th century was ruthlessly lampooned in Australia - the Bunyip Aristocracy - and condemned as an attempt to create an authoritarian oligarchy.

You are a good example of an obedient and mindless follower of internet culture.

Being mindless and obedient is an aspiration for MeisterEckhart who associates with dolts like Grappler and Yadda.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 15th, 2024 at 2:36pm
No worries. She'll be right mate. OY OY OY.

This discussion turned up nothing for white Australians.

The only culture that was identified was Aboriginal culture.

The only common attribute of non-Aboriginal Australians was multiculturalism which is not particularly Australian.

Australia awaits the first non-Aboriginal Australian philosopher to emerge sober from the mysterious outback to help Australians find themselves.

Post by MeisterEckhart on Jul 15th, 2024 at 3:30pm
Four features of non-Aboriginal Australianism have persisted since settlement to the present day: egalitarianism, antiauthoritarianism, fraternity (mateship) and irreverence.

These features occur in other cultures worldwide, with Irish culture most resembling non-Aboriginal Australian culture. What distinguishes Australian culture from Irish culture is largely a product of geography, geology and climate.

Features of Australian Aboriginal cultures are those of tribal / clan hunter-gatherer cultures also found worldwide.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 15th, 2024 at 7:13pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jul 15th, 2024 at 3:30pm:
Four features of non-Aboriginal Australianism have persisted since settlement to the present day: egalitarianism, antiauthoritarianism, fraternity (mateship) and irreverence.

These features occur in other cultures worldwide, with Irish culture most resembling non-Aboriginal Australian culture. What distinguishes Australian culture from Irish culture is largely a product of geography, geology and climate.

Features of Australian Aboriginal cultures are those of tribal / clan hunter-gatherer cultures also found worldwide.

So, "egalitarianism, antiauthoritarianism, fraternity (mateship) and irreverence" in Australia are rendered unique by "product of geography, geology and climate"? According to MeisterEckhart.

Fat chance.

Post by Bias_2012 on Jul 15th, 2024 at 9:03pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 15th, 2024 at 2:36pm:
The only common attribute of non-Aboriginal Australians was multiculturalism which is not particularly Australian.

Multiculturalism in Australia is a political construct, for legislation of laws to minimize discrimination

Other than that, the natural core Aussie culture is what is generally accepted as the main culture

You can't fight it forever, it's just a fact you need to adapt to

If you're really not sure of all the ingredients of the Aussie culture, devote more of your time to studying it

Not accepting what we've been explaining to you, is being flippant, and we are beginning to feel we are wasting our time posting

If you've got a beef with the Poms, fine, but us Aussies have our own identity, our own culture, and own lifestyle, they are predominate in the Australian social and cultural landscape

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 15th, 2024 at 9:46pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Jul 15th, 2024 at 9:03pm:

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jul 15th, 2024 at 2:36pm:

Multiculturalism in Australia is a political construct, for legislation of laws to minimize discrimination

Other than that, the natural core Aussie culture is what is generally accepted as the main culture

You can't fight it forever, it's just a fact you need to adapt to

If you're really not sure of all the ingredients of the Aussie culture, devote more of your time to studying it

Not accepting what we've been explaining to you, is being flippant, and we are beginning to feel we are wasting our time posting

If you've got a beef with the Poms, fine, but us Aussies have our own identity, our own culture, and own lifestyle, they are predominate in the Australian social and cultural landscape

Is Australian culture a secret that Australia is trying to hide from the world to prevent a rush of immigrants?

... or, it it BS? There's nothing to see.

... or is it the mysterious outback that has taken the lives of many who have traveled into the desert to find it?

Pray tell.

Post by Laugh till you cry on Jul 24th, 2024 at 12:56pm
Elon Musk would not need to brain-chip Australians. Obedience of Australians is genetic.

It is like the British genetic trait to form a line behind somebody who is motionless for too long.

"I think we still have that British uptightness, a fondness for rules and rigidly adhering to them (just look at our bureaucracy). Also the repression, dare I say toxic masculinity to some degree, social policing."

https://www.escape.com.au/travel-advice/australians-reckon-theyre-relaxed-are-they-having-a-laugh/news-story/9127465fda390e03193428cd0670dc3f

... We're not as politically or socially 'chill' as people think

You think this place is chill?

We might have a reputation as a 'lucky country' so propped up by mining wealth we don't need to worry about anything, but, as Reddit user TheNamelessComposer in the AskAnAustralian Reddit group explains, we have our share of social and political problems.

"I know either way you can't generalise a nation of 26 million individual human beings," TheNamelessComposer began, before going on to do his best to generalise a nation of 26 million individual human beings, "who vary as humans do anywhere, but the popular image of the Aussie overseas is some easy-going, laid-back larrikin: Crocodile Dundee, Steve Irwin, some random stockman, surfer etc."

"They don't get too worked up about things, take it as it comes, like a joke etc. But even if we take city folk, as most of us are, how true is this, really?"

"Maybe things have changed, but I feel in many ways Aussies as a whole aren't really that laidback, easy-going. The whole 'she'll be right' mentality, either. I think we still have that British uptightness, a fondness for rules and rigidly adhering to them (just look at our bureaucracy). Also the repression, dare I say toxic masculinity to some degree, social policing."

"I also feel there's a definite undercurrent of aggression in Australian society, regardless of how one appears on the outside. E.g. road rage, a lot of random verbal aggression etc on the street, I mean there are other issues at play. Many also seem pretty easily offended."

"Not meaning to bash Australians, I do think most are pretty down to earth, many are good-humoured etc, and we're far from unique in this regard, I just don't know if we're particularly any more deserving of this title (I guess some might not see it as wholly positive) as other similar nations."

"I suppose life in general is getting busier, more hectic, complicated in some ways, and people all over the world are becoming more alike." ...

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.