General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Penny Wong not interested in cleaning up CFMEU
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1723774611

Message started by Armchair_Politician on Aug 16th, 2024 at 12:16pm

Title: Penny Wong not interested in cleaning up CFMEU
Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 16th, 2024 at 12:16pm
Both the opposition and the Greens say they would like more time to look over the details before committing, with the Coalition calling for the union to run in administration for a minimum of three years instead of a maximum of three years, as proposed by the government.

The opposition’s senate leader Simon Birmingham again reiterated the Coalition’s demands for Labor to include three amendments put forward by Senator Cash.

They include terms around banning political donations and expenditure, calls for the administrator to regularly report to parliament, and implementing a three-year minimum administration term.

“This Bill can pass today if you agree to clean up your pathetic, inadequate and weak effort in terms of addressing the CFMEU. It can pass today if you accept the very reasonable conditions that Senator Cash and the Coalition have put to you,” he said.

“That’s what this Bill looks like, and you’ve been dragged kicking and screaming to improve the Bill thanks to Senator Cash’s amendments.”

https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/major-setback-in-fight-to-clean-up-cfmeu/ar-AA1oPFWP?ocid=winp2fptaskbarhover&cvid=746287af23024102eb3d114abb1494b7&ei=8

Title: Re: Penny Wong not interested in cleaning up CFMEU
Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 16th, 2024 at 12:17pm
The CFMEU is run by thugs and needs to be gutted and completely overhauled. Labor is far too beholden to the CFMEU and can't be trusted to handle this appropriately.

Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:35pm

If 3 years aren't enough for an administrator to clean out the corrupt members then the administrator themselves is corrupt.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:42pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:35pm:
If 3 years aren't enough for an administrator to clean out the corrupt members then the administrator themselves is corrupt.

I disagree. Do you have ANY idea how rotten and corrupt that union (and the MUA) is? They'd be lucky if they fixed it in ten years.

Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:45pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:42pm:

I disagree. Do you have ANY idea how rotten and corrupt that union (and the MUA) is? They'd be lucky if they fixed it in ten years.

No more corrupt than the liberal party. But I'm going to bet cash would never agree to them being put under administration for a minimum of 3 years.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:53pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:45pm:

No more corrupt than the liberal party. But I'm going to bet cash would never agree to them being put under administration for a minimum of 3 years.

You've got to be joking. Have you not heard of the behaviour of the unions that would make the mafia seem like amateurs? Get your head out of the sand!

Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2024 at 2:28pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 1:53pm:

You've got to be joking. Have you not heard of the behaviour of the unions that would make the mafia seem like amateurs? Get your head out of the sand!

And yet it was the libs lunching with known Mafia figures :D

Post by lee on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:01pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 2:28pm:
And yet it was the libs lunching with known Mafia figures

And Labor? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:08pm

lee wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:01pm:

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 2:28pm:
And yet it was the libs lunching with known Mafia figures

And Labor? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

And labor what?

Post by lee on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:14pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:08pm:
And labor what?

Did you forget Teti?

Did you forget Tripodi?

Did you forget Meagher?

I know you like Crikey - so here goes -

"The article also noted the names of other prominent Italian businessmen who have made political donations — Pat Sergi, Nick Scali and Tony Labozzetta — all prominent in Sydney’s Italian-Australian community.

In his inaugural speech to state parliament on April 30, 1996, the newly-elected MP for Fairfield Joe Tripodi, now Finance Minister, said:

During my election campaign I made many new friends in the local Italian community who assisted me, namely, Michael Daniele, Sam Romeo, Roy Spagnolo, Tony Mittiga and Pat Sergi. These people are friends I intend to keep for a long time.

In her inaugural speech on December 1, 1994, the newly-elected MP for Cabramatta Reba Meagher, the ex-Health Minister, also paid tribute to her helpers:

I would also like to thank Pat Sergi, Michael Danieli, Anthony Cavallaro, Sam Romeo and Nick Scali.

Both newcomers thanked Pat Sergi who received a prominent mention in The Age investigation: “Mr Sergi, a Sydney property developer and charity director, was named in the Woodward royal commission in 1979 as a money launderer for the drug boss Robert Trimbole.” "

https://www.crikey.com.au/2009/02/24/nsw-mafia-stains-labor-and-liberal-alike/

:'(

Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:16pm
You sure you don't want to go back 50 yrs, just in case your stupidity isn't obvious to all? ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by lee on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:19pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:16pm:
You sure you don't want to go back 50 yrs, just in case your stupidity isn't obvious to all?

So you are categorically stating there is NO link to the Mafia? You must be an insider. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

BTW - Your maths needs work - 1996 - 2024 is not 50 years. ;)

"The investigation has also revealed donors have lobbied on behalf of a mafia figure to a host of Liberal and Labor MPs over issues related to their businesses.:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-06-29/italian-mafia-group-linked-to-senior-australian-politicians/6579076

And neither is 2015. ;)

Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:21pm

lee wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:19pm:

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:16pm:
You sure you don't want to go back 50 yrs, just in case your stupidity isn't obvious to all?

So you are categorically stating there is NO link to the Mafia? You must be an insider. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

No, I'm stating that your stupidity is obvious to just about everyone. You would have been better of not posting anything, and having people think you were a fool, rather than posting that and proving to them once and for all that you absolutely are a fool

Post by lee on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:26pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:21pm:
No, I'm stating that your stupidity is obvious to just about everyone.

So you can't show it and yet I'm stupid. SO much for your open  mindedness. ;)

BTW- I will repost my amendment -

"The investigation has also revealed donors have lobbied on behalf of a mafia figure to a host of Liberal and Labor MPs over issues related to their businesses.:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-06-29/italian-mafia-group-linked-to-senior-australian-politicians/6579076

So we know you can't subtract, you lack knowledge and claim to be somehow superior. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 16th, 2024 at 5:19pm

lee wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:26pm:

John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:21pm:
No, I'm stating that your stupidity is obvious to just about everyone.

So you can't show it and yet I'm stupid. SO much for your open  mindedness. ;)

BTW- I will repost my amendment -

So we know you can't subtract, you lack knowledge and claim to be somehow superior. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Everyone knows Labor has ties to the mob through the unions. It's not exactly a secret. Labor can't be trusted to clean up the unions they are beholden to. The unions have too much influence over Labor and contribute too much to them financially for Labor to ever take real action against them. It's just a fact. Simple as that.

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 16th, 2024 at 6:02pm

Show me!!

Post by John Smith on Aug 17th, 2024 at 9:36am

lee wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 3:26pm:
So you can't show it and yet I'm stupid

Why do I need to show a statement I've never argued for or against? You're stupidity is in your ability to argue what I'm saying, without you ever understanding it. Do you hear voices in your head? Is that who you is saying these things to you? And you're just pretending I'm saying it?

Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 17th, 2024 at 11:16am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 6:02pm:

Show me!!

Google is your friend. You'll find many articles citing acts of violence, intimidation, standover tactics, bribery, protection payments, corruption, kickbacks and other illegal acts by members of various unions - especially the CFMEU and MUA. Then there's payments by Labor using taxpayer funds to unions under the guise of education when it was actually Labor repaying them for a political campaign donation. The trade union movement is rife with illegal activity and it's been permitted by Labor for far too long. Have a read of this. I dare you.

https://www.royalcommission.gov.au/system/files/2020-09/turc-final-report-volume-3.pdf

Edit: I fixed the link - didn't realise it didn't work.

Post by John Smith on Aug 17th, 2024 at 12:21pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 11:16am:
You'll find many articles citing acts of violence, intimidation, standover tactics, bribery, protection payments, corruption, kickbacks and other illegal acts by members of various unions

you argued about links to mafia figures. You realise that bribery etc isn't limited to the Mafia, right? Nor are they mafia just because they are italian.

As for the libs RC's, they put in a paid stooge to oversee it who was told what the outcome would be, before he even started it.

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 17th, 2024 at 12:55pm
Many assertions that such things take place - poor widdle bossie can't sit down to the table and negotiate?

It is the 'boss class' with their fantastic imaginations about their 'position' and 'privileges' that carries out most of the standover and such.... what it means at the end of the day is that they can't run a business.  Sitting down and expecting full conditions to apply to workers on sites etc, full safety and so forth and full pay rates, is not standover.  Even threatening legitimate strike action is not standover .... attacking union negotiators on a personal basis by threatening their jobs is standover - and that is why there are all these Union bloke paid by the Unions to do that work (though the site reps still cop it)....

Real world.  How much does it cost a stupid management to try on an industrial war when all they had to do was know and accept the proper conditions and rates of pay?  Former Royal Commission found one sucker ready to admit guilt - a Maori with no real idea I think... nobody else fell for the lies and bullying of using lawfare.

I suppose we should just go back to full Awards and nothing else then ................... make it easier and fairer for everyone.  Bossy wouldn't like that - no 'wriggle room' that Howard was trying for.

Footnote:-  Been watching the 'retirement complex' construction going on - the one whose noise caused us to move and 'go bush' for years now - heaps of earnest young tradies in utes copping a grand a day each or something....... sheilas hanging off every arm .... and progress is slow and the prices keep escalating....  locally it's called The Gulag and nobody is buying ... it's actually ony a couple of feet above the lake - in a major flood it will go under... last big one the water nearly came through our back fence and we were on the rise... wonder why nobody's buying a tract house separated by a metre from the neighbours...

Onya, Bossy!!  Great planning!!

;D                                       ;D                                        ;D

Post by lee on Aug 17th, 2024 at 1:06pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 9:36am:
Why do I need to show a statement I've never argued for or against?

So your throwaway comment about the Libs was just that. Consider it thrown away, more dross from Guido. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 17th, 2024 at 1:54pm
The Coalition would like the Union under admistration for as long as possible which is not surprising...However banning political donations from Unions to Labor has always been a target for the Coalition and will be the main reason the Coalition will oppose reform!!!

A law that would force the disgraced CFMEU into administration failed to pass on Thursday after the Coalition and Greens blocked the bill in the Senate because it does not include a ban on political donations.

https://www.smh.com.au/politics/federal/political-donations-the-sticking-point-in-cfmeu-law-stalemate-20240814-p5k2af.html

Labor is in power - but the Coalition still attracts the most money

https://theconversation.com/labor-is-in-power-but-the-coalition-still-attracts-the-most-money-221976

::) ::) ::)

Post by lee on Aug 17th, 2024 at 1:58pm

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 1:54pm:
.However banning political donations from Unions to Labor has always been a target for the Coalition and will be the main reason the Coalition will oppose reform

after the Coalition and Greens blocked the bill

And only the Coalition is guilty. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 17th, 2024 at 5:34pm

lee wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 1:58pm:

.However banning political donations from Unions to Labor has always been a target for the Coalition and will be the main reason the Coalition will oppose reform

The Greens are not calling for a ban in donations from the CFMEU it is a Coalition amendment.... So banning political donations from Unions to Labor has always been a target for the Coalition!!!

Why are the Greens guilty when they are not calling for a ban on donations from the CFMEU???

Why should donations from the CFMEU be banned???

https://www.greenleft.org.au/content/concerns-grow-over-labors-anti-union-anti-cfmeu-bill

Post by lee on Aug 17th, 2024 at 5:41pm

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 5:34pm:
The Greens are not calling for a ban in donations from the CFMEU it is a Coalition amendment..

A law that would force the disgraced CFMEU into administration failed to pass on Thursday after the Coalition and Greens blocked the bill in the Senate because it does not include a ban on political donations.

::)

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 17th, 2024 at 5:54pm

lee wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 1:06pm:

John Smith wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 9:36am:
Why do I need to show a statement I've never argued for or against?

So your throwaway comment about the Libs was just that. Consider it thrown away, more dross from Guido. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Aye - that be our Smith - never commits himself to any approach beyond hyperbole...

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 17th, 2024 at 6:15pm

lee wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 5:41pm:

The Greens are not calling for a ban in donations from the CFMEU it is a Coalition amendment..

::)

A comment from a reporter not Greens policy....The Greens refuse to ban donations from the CFMEU because they are a recipient....Nowhere are the Greens quoated calling for a ban on donations....Can you provide a quote from the Greens Lee???!!!

Meanwhile, the Greens had earlier expressed concern about the bill overriding the court process.

The amended bill on Thursday included conditions for the administrator to report to parliament every six months, extended the duration of the scheme of administration from three to five years and that anyone removed from the union could not then be a bargaining representative for another organisation.

https://www.theage.com.au/politics/federal/political-donations-the-sticking-point-in-cfmeu-law-stalemate-20240814-p5k2af.html

Earlier, Greens leader Adam Bandt had ducked questions about donations the Greens have received from the CFMEU, while indicating the party would not back the legislation.

Labor’s federal executive has banned donations from the Victorian branch of the CFMEU but Bandt did not say if the Greens would do the same noting his party had not received a donation from the union since 2013.

“Donations are a matter for the party … it’s about a decade ago that one branch received donations, over a decade ago, so this isn’t about donations from us,” he said.

Are you calling Bandt a liar Lee???

I will wait for Lee to provide a quote from the Greens where they support banning donations from the CFMEU???

:-? :-? :-?

https://www.watoday.com.au/politics/federal/greens-leader-ducks-cfmeu-donation-questions-as-government-introduces-new-law-20240812-p5k1ly.html

Post by lee on Aug 17th, 2024 at 6:36pm

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 6:15pm:
A comment from a reporter not Greens policy...

So you gave an incorrect quote... not my problem. ::)

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 17th, 2024 at 6:48pm

lee wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 6:36pm:

A comment from a reporter not Greens policy...

So you gave an incorrect quote... not my problem. ::)

I am happy to set you straight....You could have done your own research before making a dickhead of yourself....Nothing unusual!!!

;) ;) ;)

Post by lee on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:17pm

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 6:48pm:
You could have done your own research before making a dickhead of yourself.

I relied on you to provide correct quotes... but it is my fault because you failed. You can't even admit error. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:18pm

lee wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:17pm:

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 6:48pm:
You could have done your own research before making a dickhead of yourself.

I relied on you to provide correct quotes... but it is my fault because you failed. You can't even admit error. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Double down on your stupidity....I explained it to you and you still proved you are a dickhead!!!

:) :) :)

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:19pm

lee wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 1:58pm:

The Greens are not calling for a ban in donations from the CFMEU it is a Coalition amendment.... So banning political donations from Unions to Labor has always been a target for the Coalition!!!

Why are the Greens guilty when they are not calling for a ban on donations from the CFMEU???

Why should donations from the CFMEU be banned???

https://www.greenleft.org.au/content/concerns-grow-over-labors-anti-union-anti-cfmeu-bill

Lee???

Post by lee on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:34pm

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:18pm:
.I explained it to you and you still proved you are a dickhead!!!

Yes, you provided the wrong quote. I guess I should treat you like Guido and check your homework.  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by Dnarever on Aug 17th, 2024 at 10:27pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 16th, 2024 at 12:17pm:
The CFMEU is run by thugs and needs to be gutted and completely overhauled. Labor is far too beholden to the CFMEU and can't be trusted to handle this appropriately.

The CFMEU is run by thugs

Yes but it developed this way historically in order to deal with Thug criminal employers.

In both building and maritime there were literally employers who had conditions that tough that they were killing employees. In this situation the union had to be real tough.

Still to this day the employers in these industries are among the worst.

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 18th, 2024 at 12:16am
Spot on, Dnarever.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 18th, 2024 at 9:45am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 12:55pm:
Many assertions that such things take place - poor widdle bossie can't sit down to the table and negotiate?

It is the 'boss class' with their fantastic imaginations about their 'position' and 'privileges' that carries out most of the standover and such.... what it means at the end of the day is that they can't run a business.  Sitting down and expecting full conditions to apply to workers on sites etc, full safety and so forth and full pay rates, is not standover.  Even threatening legitimate strike action is not standover .... attacking union negotiators on a personal basis by threatening their jobs is standover - and that is why there are all these Union bloke paid by the Unions to do that work (though the site reps still cop it)....

Real world.  How much does it cost a stupid management to try on an industrial war when all they had to do was know and accept the proper conditions and rates of pay?  Former Royal Commission found one sucker ready to admit guilt - a Maori with no real idea I think... nobody else fell for the lies and bullying of using lawfare.

I suppose we should just go back to full Awards and nothing else then ................... make it easier and fairer for everyone.  Bossy wouldn't like that - no 'wriggle room' that Howard was trying for.

Footnote:-  Been watching the 'retirement complex' construction going on - the one whose noise caused us to move and 'go bush' for years now - heaps of earnest young tradies in utes copping a grand a day each or something....... sheilas hanging off every arm .... and progress is slow and the prices keep escalating....  locally it's called The Gulag and nobody is buying ... it's actually ony a couple of feet above the lake - in a major flood it will go under... last big one the water nearly came through our back fence and we were on the rise... wonder why nobody's buying a tract house separated by a metre from the neighbours...

;D                                       ;D                                        ;D

I fixed the link and provided you with some proof. Care to read it, or are you scared to be proven wrong?

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 18th, 2024 at 11:11am

lee wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:34pm:

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 17th, 2024 at 7:18pm:
.I explained it to you and you still proved you are a dickhead!!!

Yes, you provided the wrong quote. I guess I should treat you like Guido and check your homework.  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

You are now aware of the facts and are still doubling down on your stupidity and denial....Why should donations from the CFMEU be banned....My original statement was correct!!!

The Coalition would like the Union under admistration for as long as possible which is not surprising...However banning political donations from Unions to Labor has always been a target for the Coalition and will be the main reason the Coalition will oppose reform!!!

Nothing to do with the Greens!!!

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 18th, 2024 at 12:19pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 9:45am:

I fixed the link and provided you with some proof. Care to read it, or are you scared to be proven wrong?

Oooh - another attitude problem child.... how exactly would you go about proving me wrong about bosses v unions?  You reckon your propaganda and whinging boss lies trumps reality now?

Boo-hoo... the Royal Commission was a political ploy, and managed to catch one John Lomax unaware of his being railroaded - as a Maori he was probably trained in pleading guilty to get off lighter ....... the rest of it was just dark assertions to cover its inability to actually find serious and endemic wrongdoing.

Propaganda.

Post by lee on Aug 18th, 2024 at 1:13pm

The Greens refuse to ban donations from the CFMEU because they are a recipient..

So I did some research... :)

"Labor’s federal executive has banned donations from the Victorian branch of the CFMEU but Bandt did not say if the Greens would do the same noting his party had not received a donation from the union since 2013."

https://www.theage.com.au/politics/federal/greens-leader-ducks-cfmeu-donation-questions-as-government-introduces-new-law-20240812-p5k1ly.html

Oh, They were a recipient, your comment seemed to make it current. ::)

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 18th, 2024 at 1:23pm

lee wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 1:13pm:

The Greens refuse to ban donations from the CFMEU because they are a recipient..

So I did some research... :)

"Labor’s federal executive has banned donations from the Victorian branch of the CFMEU but Bandt did not say if the Greens would do the same noting his party had not received a donation from the union since 2013."

https://www.theage.com.au/politics/federal/greens-leader-ducks-cfmeu-donation-questions-as-government-introduces-new-law-20240812-p5k1ly.html

Oh, They were a recipient, your comment seemed to make it current. ::)

Make up what ever bullshit you like....It was not my comment it was from the News Article I posted in reply #26 which contained the full quote....I never claimed the donation was current and posted the details with a link!!!

You are now aware of the facts and are still doubling down on your stupidity and denial....Why should donations from the CFMEU be banned....My original statement was correct!!!

Nothing to do with the Greens!!!

You have made no atempt to address my comments and continue to deflect with bullshit....What was wrong with my original comment and why should donations from the CFMEU be banned???

Post by lee on Aug 18th, 2024 at 1:29pm

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 1:23pm:
What was wrong with my original comment and why should donations from the CFMEU be banned???

You really need to get your comprehension checked. I never said anything for or against. I merely went on your original quote. Which was an error.

You do trigger easily, don't you? I do find that intriguing. ;)

Post by philperth2010 on Aug 18th, 2024 at 3:03pm

lee wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 1:29pm:

philperth2010 wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 1:23pm:
What was wrong with my original comment and why should donations from the CFMEU be banned???

You really need to get your comprehension checked. I never said anything for or against. I merely went on your original quote. Which was an error.

You do trigger easily, don't you? I do find that intriguing. ;)

So you agree with my original comment about the Coalition which had nothing to do with the Greens???

:) :) :)

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 18th, 2024 at 8:36pm
Ban one political donation - ban them all.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 19th, 2024 at 10:49am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 12:19pm:

Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 9:45am:

Oooh - another attitude problem child.... how exactly would you go about proving me wrong about bosses v unions?  You reckon your propaganda and whinging boss lies trumps reality now?

Boo-hoo... the Royal Commission was a political ploy, and managed to catch one John Lomax unaware of his being railroaded - as a Maori he was probably trained in pleading guilty to get off lighter ....... the rest of it was just dark assertions to cover its inability to actually find serious and endemic wrongdoing.

Propaganda.

Just as I thought - you've got nothing.

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 19th, 2024 at 5:26pm
All solid - needs nothing more... The RC was a front and a failure - and a costly one at that.

Ooooh - veiled accusations of associating with the mafia..... every party has had that one leveled  at it... Labor, Libs, Nationals... probably the Greens though their alliance with the Stalinist Neo-Fascist International (commonly called SNAFI) should really exclude such evils of decadent capitalism.....

The Greens people have all handed their land and homes back to the Aborigines, you know... that stumped pretty much everyone else here - what about you?  You go for that?

Funny how any union the guv machinery wants to lambast is simultaneously Communist and mafia allied...

This is a ploy by Labor to appear to be in charge.... they don't really want to sink the union just look like they're tough guy capos of the middle right (as they are in reality) ... the 'right' is just coat-tailing for the media look.... check their makeup...

All the real Labor and Liberal etc spivs who mix with the mafia all wear Armani suits... not work clothes....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zR_KZ4bBglM

Post by John Smith on Aug 19th, 2024 at 5:28pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Aug 18th, 2024 at 8:36pm:

On this, I agree. They should ALL be banned.
It's about time politicians started representing their constituents, not their donors

Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Aug 19th, 2024 at 5:31pm
'Ear, 'ear - don't cut out The Workers Song ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zR_KZ4bBglM

Post by Armchair_Politician on Aug 21st, 2024 at 8:38am

John Smith wrote on Aug 19th, 2024 at 5:28pm:

It's about time politicians started representing their constituents, not their donors

It may cost taxpayers a bit, but I think all public/business political donations should be banned entirely, with a Commonwealth grant or fund - whatever you want to call it - set up to provide each candidate with a set amount of money to spend on their campaign. A level playing field which excludes special interests to limit the opportunity for votes to be bought. I don't know if each candidate should get exactly the same amount, or if it should be a different amount according to whether they're a challenger or the incumbent, or something else. But something needs to change. Having said that, both major parties rely on corporate/union/public donations too much and won't ever allow it to happen.

Post by John Smith on Aug 21st, 2024 at 8:44am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 21st, 2024 at 8:38am:

John Smith wrote on Aug 19th, 2024 at 5:28pm:

It may cost taxpayers a bit, but I think all public/business political donations should be banned entirely, with a Commonwealth grant or fund - whatever you want to call it - set up to provide each candidate with a set amount of money to spend on their campaign. A level playing field which excludes special interests to limit the opportunity for votes to be bought. I don't know if each candidate should get exactly the same amount, or if it should be a different amount according to whether they're a challenger or the incumbent, or something else. But something needs to change. Having said that, both major parties rely on corporate/union/public donations too much and won't ever allow it to happen.

I've been saying that for years. Corporations should not be allowed to dictate policy.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.