General Discussion >> America >> Waking up http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1733528672 Message started by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 9:44am |
Title: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 9:44am
Isn't it great waking up now knowing that Trump is in charge now after his landslide win.
Everything seems so much better and brighter, people are rejoicing and the future is so bright. I have never seen the world so happy. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 9:56am
It would be nice for people to talk about how much better they feel now that trump is leader after his landslide win.
Title: Re: Waking up Post by chimera on Dec 7th, 2024 at 10:16am
I feel so good and happy today. Trump is wearing his incontinent pad, is eating Maccas and has stopped waving his hands about on campaigns. Life is so good. Thank you Mr Trump.
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 10:26am chimera wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 10:16am:
That is what is so good about Trump, no matter who you are or where you are he makes all people feel good and brings the world together. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by chimera on Dec 7th, 2024 at 11:29am
In fact there is a Dem crowd-fund to ensure this man never is seen without incontinent pads.
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 11:31am chimera wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 11:29am:
Its a good idea but don't you think they should use those funds to pay the vendors that have not been paid by Kamalas campaign first. But I agree that funds would be more wisely spent on Trump than the vendors that gave credit to Kamalas campaign. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by chimera on Dec 7th, 2024 at 12:04pm
Kamala is NOT incontinent.
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 12:08pm chimera wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 12:04pm:
I know that, the problem is the donors did not give her enough money to pay for her campaign, how was she expected to run a campaign on $1.6bil. I think the reason she lost was because the donors are tight arses. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by chimera on Dec 7th, 2024 at 12:30pm
Trumpy is very loose there with hand-outs.
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Marla on Dec 7th, 2024 at 12:32pm
“The other exception to the rule regards dealings with masochists. A masochist derives pleasure from being hurt; so denying the masochist his pleasure through-pain hurts him just as much as actual physical pain hurts the non masochist. The story of the truly cruel sadist illustrates this point: The masochist says to the sadist, "beat me." To which the merciless sadist replies, "NO!" If a person wants to be hurt and enjoys suffering, then there is no reason not to indulge him in his wont.”
Anton Szandor LaVey, The Satanic Bible on the Trump voter/supporter |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:02pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 9:56am:
No, Leroy, it will be better for people to say how they feel after your DL launches an international trade war, triggers inflation, withdraws from NATO, gives Vlad the nod to go into Eastern Europe and let's Chi-na take the South Pacific. At 78, your DL's the oldest person to be elected prez. He refuses to release his cognitive tests. His IQ score of 90 was borderline to begin with. He has one term to serve and doesn't give a shit. He bankrupted 9 businesses, got done for charity, business and bank fraud, not to mention the criminal convictions and charges he's banged to rights on, according to his own Attorney General. During his last term, he bungled a global pandemic, watching America cop the highest death toll in the world. He directly caused many of those deaths himself, either at his maskless mass rallies or events at the White House, open while the rest of the world was in lockdown. He spruiked fake cures, undermined his own health advisors and turned public health briefings into farcical reality TV events. The voters turfed him out after one failed term, where he achieved none of his campaign promises. No big beautiful wall, no replacing Obamacare, and instead of paying off the deficit, he blew it out by over $12 trill. In the most recent election, 51% of American voters voted against him. He beat his rival candidate by a 1.6% margin, one of the lowest popular election wins ever - far lower than the previous incumbent, Sleepy Joe, who he refused to accept, sabotaging the peaceful transfer of power, undermining the process forever. Your DL has the lowest popularity rating of any prez in history. Even many of those who just voted for him loathe him. So, rather than crowing about winning elections, I suggest you wait to see outcomes. Your DL has been handed an almost perfect economy. GDP currently stands at 2.8%, correlating directly with Inflation, also 2.8%. Average wage growth is 5.6%, unemployment 4%. Manufacturing has returned to the US, with Biden"s CHIPS and Jobs/Infrastructure legislation passed and the US government directly investing in smart, renewable technology. The US is out-performing all G7 countries. Crime is at historic lows, with violent crime down over 20% since 2021, due largely to the improved economy. All your DL can do is fuck it up. Given his performance in his first term, he most certainly will. Given his promises during the campaign, it's a given. Tariffs, corporate tax cuts, mass deportations, political vengeance - these are all a recipe for disaster. On the foreign policy front, Europe is at risk from Russia. The Middle East is at risk from Israel and Iran, now developing nuclear weapons after your DL tore up Obama's deal. China has eyes on Taiwan, North Korea is developing nukes and is now in with Russia, who will speed this process up further. All of these things are totally over your DL's head. His dementia is starting to show. He learned nothing about global relations during his first term in office, and he's not going to start learning now. Landslide win? Come come. The pinch hasn't even started. If I was you, dear, I'd start waking up. Ever get the feeling you've been fucked? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:06pm
Good, accurate summary Karnal!
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:32pm Karnal wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:02pm:
So all in all you wake up and feel good, thats all that matters. Do you live for today or do you worry today about tomorrow. If you are afraid of the future then you will live your entire life full of fear. I wake up and thank my luck I did. I then get excited because I've got another day, I'll worry about tomorrow tomorrow. Enjoy today see the beauty in today because tomorrow might not come. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by UnSubRocky on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 9:44am:
I thought Kamala Harris lost the presidency when she tried to appeal to the females only in California, instead of being a president to the whole country. Ms Harris made the same mistake that Hillary Clinton made in 2016. The misandry angle might appeal to the Oprah Winfreys of the world. But when it comes to the bread and butter families out there, pushing some "woe is me" agenda won't win you and audience at the White House. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by UnSubRocky on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:37pm chimera wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 12:04pm:
She started to get that way when she almost called Mr Trump a "f***er". |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 4:09pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:32pm:
But that's not what you've been saying for the past year, now is it? If I recall correctly, you repeated your lines: Sleepy Joe is leading us into WWIII, the Biden crime family with corruption like never before, the economy has never been so bad maybe ever, if DL doesn't get in America's finished you really mean it, the Dems had the election RIGGED, they're emptying out their jails, mental hospitals and mental asylums and flooding the country with garbage, poisoning the blood of America, they're eating the cats they're eating the dogs they're stealing our pets, etc, etc, etc. You said all that, Leroy. Would you like to correct any of it? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 4:22pm UnSubRocky wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm:
Karmala was asked many times about the idea of becoming the first female president. She knocked it on the head every time, saying her gender didn't matter squat. Trump went before a panel of black female journalists and tried saying how great he'd be for women and blacks. He couldn't remember anything he'd done for women and blacks, so he settled on how he'd created black jobs. When they asked him what a black job was, he threw a tantrum about racist gotcha questions. SO UNFAIR !!! |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 7th, 2024 at 4:39pm Karnal wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 4:22pm:
You are lying, of course. What's new? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:37pm Frank wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 4:39pm:
Aren't you a smartie? All good. We'll have a little look-see. You post yours and I'll post mine. No doubt you could find a quote where Karmala admits she's female, come back and have a squawk, but do you know? You won't. As soon as you pick up that bottle, you're done. Karmala appealed to female voters through policies, not identity politics. Her campaign did everything it could to not do a Hillary - apart from the pants suits. You. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:40pm
Karamella tried to play the 'black woman/woman of colour card' and ended up like a roller skater on an ice rink... with her campaign stuck like an ice skater on a roller rink ..........
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:52pm Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:40pm:
How so? She is a black woman of colour. How did she play it? Do you mean by saying her race or gender isn't important every single time she was asked about it? I see. Karamela played the black woman card by not playing it. Cunning, no? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:56pm |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:58pm |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 6:58pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:58pm: Bobby, do they wheel you out after dinner? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2024 at 7:13pm Karnal wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 6:58pm:
I must be a prophet - or maybe Ben Garrison is? I foretold the future. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 7th, 2024 at 7:50pm Karnal wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 5:52pm:
Kackela is NOT the brains behind Kackela. Every dim 9 year old knows that. She is even more of a puppet than the moth eaten sock puppet 10% Big Guy. Kamala Harris’ ascent to the Democratic ticket marked a big win for a small yet influential group of Black female Democratic strategists, who cast Joe Biden’s selection of Harris for vice president as the result of decades of advocacy, progress and struggle. Black political strategists have long called the list of women of color on Biden’s vice presidential shortlist an embarrassment of riches — a small victory by itself after previously going decades without seeing another woman on a Democratic ticket. But they say Harris’ nomination is a long-awaited recognition of the political force that Black women have been as a consistent and enthusiastic bloc in Democratic politics. https://www.politico.com/news/2020/08/11/kamala-harris-vp-black-women-393972 |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 8:00pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 7:13pm:
You foretold the Storm, Bobby - the global mass arrest of the elite paedophile ring, otherwise known as the DEEP STATE CABAL. On Day One. Instead, your DL will hide the Epstein Client List and give Matt Gaetz and all their elite paedophile friends cushy jobs. At the end of his term, he will pardon the sinister DEEP STATE CABAL. Do you deny this prophecy? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2024 at 8:05pm
Its not Kamalas fault, she had no idea and was convinced by the dems that she had a shot at presidency. To them she was just a tool, an experiment if you like. They tried Hillary first but she was a dud too. Kamala was spared the proper process which would have made her aware that she was not capable of being a president. By skipping the pre selection no one got to highlight how incompetent and unsuitable she was including Kamala herself. The media played their part and convinced those gullible enough that she was the real deal. As painful as it is we all know now that she could never be president she would be eaten alive.
The dems gave her false hope and shielded her from reality which in the end destroyed her and damaged the dems. It will take time for those that were fooled by the dems to comprehend what happened and we should all be patient and understanding of what they have gone through and give them the opportunity to learn trust and warmth again. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 7th, 2024 at 8:07pm Frank wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 7:50pm:
How Black women secured Kamala Harris’ spot on the ticket, is it? No no, dear boy, I'm a liar, remember? You have one of two choices. You need to: a) Show how Karmala played the black card; or b) Confess to lying. Intelligence and integwity, innit. So, what's it to be? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by UnSubRocky on Dec 8th, 2024 at 3:56pm Karnal wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 4:22pm:
I could either not have been paying much attention to the interviews of the presidential candidates, or you are making things up. But, I can believe you about the "black job" comment. Maybe you are referring to the debate Trump had with Biden. Kamala Harris was looking to be a bit of an Aunt Jemimah in politics. Not that I want to call Ms Harris that. However, that is just how it appears to me. What counts in American presidential elections are the perceptions that the candidates have upon the public and the public's response to the candidates' speeches. Mr Trump did alright as a manager of the country. Ms Harris probably would have fractured the country's unity. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 8th, 2024 at 4:10pm UnSubRocky wrote on Dec 8th, 2024 at 3:56pm:
No, dear, not when you say this: UnSubRocky wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm:
Karmala was disciplined throughout the entire campaign. Many criticized her for this. She never played the black card as you and others here claimed, then walked back when challenged. Whenever Karmala was asked about being black, she chuckled and said so what? She deliberately avoided mistakes made by Hillary and never played the female card either. That's not about perceptions, it's about truth. Perceptions are wrong all the time. Our job, in a political debate, is to correct mistaken perceptions. This is how we arrive at factual conclusions. And that's how we avoid liars and cheats becoming our leaders. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by UnSubRocky on Dec 9th, 2024 at 4:22pm
What you don't know about Americans is their ability to lose interest in things very quickly. Unless their credibility is being challenged, Americans do not bother remembering a lot about details.
Kamala put up a strong stance for women's rights. That is commendable. But, that is nothing when it comes to defending the integrity of all Americans. Imagine Ms Harris to be the American version of Anthony Albanese. Albanese is sucking up to the indigenous Australians because he is too much of a wimp to stand up against foreign influence. When a politician attacks a person rather than the policies of that person, you are not going to get very far. I watched the replay of the presidential debate. As soon as Kamala Harris decided to be a lawyer rather than a politician, I felt that Ms Harris was setting herself up to fail. Americans do not like lawyers. They want someone to be entertaining to face the media. Harris did another Hilary Clinton mistake by appealing to emotion, rather than making promises that she could not keep. At least Mr Trump can go on and make grandiose statements about doing things and only being able to keep the promises of some of those statements. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 9th, 2024 at 9:56pm UnSubRocky wrote on Dec 9th, 2024 at 4:22pm:
I see. So Karmala never played the race card after all, you just didn't like what she said. No worries, Rocky, then we agree. 51% of voters didn't like it either, dear. Too bad too sad, no? Good to see you speaking truth. Unlike some, I still feel it's a worthwhile commodity, even in these post-truth times. You? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 9th, 2024 at 10:04pm Karnal wrote on Dec 9th, 2024 at 9:56pm:
You lost, paki. F off. Truth for you. Go back to sleep. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Brian Ross on Dec 9th, 2024 at 10:32pm |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Karnal on Dec 9th, 2024 at 10:37pm Frank wrote on Dec 9th, 2024 at 10:04pm:
You're on your second bottle, old boy. Time for beddie byes. Brian, dear, would you mind doing the honours? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 11th, 2024 at 4:15pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2024 at 9:44am:
Perhaps your distance from the United States will insulate you from the grim consequences of his policies. The erosion of healthcare, the gutting of social security, rising costs of living, suppressed wages, rampant inflation, soaring interest rates, and the systematic dismantling of environmental protections. These measures prioritise corporate greed over public health and environmental sustainability, paving the way for a more precarious and unhealthy existence for all in the US. It’s unfortunate, really, you truly deserve to experience the harsh reality of what you so ardently support. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Dnarever on Dec 11th, 2024 at 9:22pm
Waking up = woke.
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 11th, 2024 at 10:06pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 11th, 2024 at 4:15pm:
Yeah I'm going to enjoy the next four years, you can live in yours. Yeah I know Trump is Hitler and he going to gas immigrants and kill babies and eat kittens and double dip his chips. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Brian Ross on Dec 11th, 2024 at 10:52pm |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:17am Leroy wrote on Dec 11th, 2024 at 10:06pm:
There is no bigger white flag than someone rewriting what was said to them to a version they can more easily dismiss, allowing them to completely dodge what was actually said to them. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:30am SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:17am:
Trump was president for four years from 2016 to 2020 and he did not erode health care, he did not gut social social security, he reduced costs of living, increased wages, lowered inflation, reduced soaring interest rates, decreased unemployment and improved living conditions for all Americans. We all know that, we all seen that, you can't change history. There is no bigger red flag than someone who ignores the truth. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:25am Leroy wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:30am:
But now you're changing the goalposts. The policies he's announced for his next term all paint the long-term picture that I've described. You're changing the goalposts to look backwards, and in a stunning red flag of your own, are choosing to ignore all the risks to what he's saying he will do. Perhaps like many other things, he's simply lying and in reality won't be as reckless and extreme as he's claiming he wants to be. Only time will tell. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:31am SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 11th, 2024 at 4:15pm:
SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:25am:
None of this happened under Trump 1.0 and none of these are his policies for Trump 2.0 and none of this will happen. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:46am Frank wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:31am:
It all starts with his blanket tariffs. Blanket tariffs, which are not carefully crafted to protect specific local industries, have generally proven ineffective. Research and historical examples demonstrate that blanket tariffs lead to higher costs for consumers, retaliatory measures from trade partners, and disruptions in global supply chains. These tariffs can also harm domestic industries reliant on imported materials, as well as sectors targeted by retaliatory tariffs. This then drives up inflation and, in turn, interest rates. Trump, a Republican President in a Republican-controlled House and Senate, is unlikely to implement anything but trickle-down measures to address this when, knowing his inability to admit fault, it will already be too late. Will they take any support measures that directly assist the people who will be impacted the most by the negative outcomes of his policies? No, of course not. Trickle-down baybeee! They'll resort to cutting regulations to benefit the big end of town, resulting in fewer protections for workers and the environment, all to save costs. Once the Nasdaq and overall stock market look good, even if people have less access to healthcare (an estimated 2.3 million lost their healthcare in his first term as a direct result of his policies), are earning less, and suffering under worse employment conditions, the job's done from Trump's point of view. The people don't matter as long as he has good stock market numbers to point to when he's talking to the press on the way to his helicopter. If you want to talk about Trump's first term, that's exactly where I'm drawing this playbook from. Trump's focus on the stock market overlooked the broader economic conditions faced by many Americans, such as wage stagnation, job insecurity, and rising healthcare costs. The stock market primarily benefits those who own stocks, which is a smaller, wealthier segment of the population. As a result, gains in the stock market did not necessarily translate to improved living conditions for all Americans. The Trump administration's policies, including tax cuts and deregulation, aimed at stimulating economic growth and benefiting businesses, which in turn were expected to create jobs and boost the economy. However, the benefits of these policies were unevenly distributed, leading to criticism that the administration was more concerned with stock market performance than addressing the economic challenges faced by everyday Americans. Combine that attitude with a fully Republican-controlled House and Senate, and the recklessness of blanket tariffs, and how is what I've described not simply inevitable? Well? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:49am SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:25am:
Trump won in 2016, we were told this was going to mean unemployment, collapsed economy, end of healthcare, Trump was controlled by Putin, Trump was going to start WW3, and on and on it went. Nothing happened, the economy improved, unemployment went down, healthcare improved, no wars started. Its the same now, Trump wins and the economy is going to crash, unemployment is going to rise, Trump is going to start WW3, Putin has been replaced by Hitler. People are not falling for it this time, can you even acknowledge the similarities from last and why this tactic is viewed with suspicion. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by aquascoot on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:51am Dnarever wrote on Dec 11th, 2024 at 9:22pm:
woke is dead my friend it died at the 2024 election the swinging voters were found not to have cared much about inflation and the economy. their number 1 issue was the lefts attack on culture, the trans issues, the DEI issues woke cost the left the election its stone cold , dead in the water teenage girls are running protests over trans in bathrooms footballers are refusing to wear the pride rainbow colours the NFL are openly doing the trump dance as a touchdown celebration. JK Rowling is no longer hailed a a transphobe, she is now hailed as a hero ayan herhii ali is being welcomed into a leftie think tank after being shamed as an islamophobe the surgical treatment of girls under 18 is now banned across europe after some horrific stories of double mastectomies being performed on 13 yo"s. woke is over even the leftie elite can see the writing on the wall they will probably throw the trans issue under the bus |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:54am SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:46am:
Biden has gone backwards with his carefully crafted tariffs, you don't crack walnuts with a feather duster. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 12th, 2024 at 12:44pm Leroy wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 11:54am:
I've let your other statements go unchecked, but you're going to need to provide a little more info on this claim, especially after you're claiming healthcare was improved under Trump, when 2.3 million lost their healthcare as a direct result of his policies. That's another of your claims that should have been questioned. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Leroy on Dec 12th, 2024 at 12:47pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 12:44pm:
We differ on opinions, knock yourself out posting your evidence of your claims. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 12th, 2024 at 1:09pm Leroy wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 12:47pm:
Interesting, so I'll take that as a refusal. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by John Smith on Dec 12th, 2024 at 1:13pm Leroy wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 12:47pm:
opinions don't matter, only facts ... something you are totally oblivious to |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 12th, 2024 at 1:20pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 1:09pm:
And white flag. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 12th, 2024 at 1:55pm
November 2024
The Biden administration will double tariffs on certain solar panel components that are made in China, it announced Wednesday. Starting in January, imports of Chinese solar wafers and polysilicon will carry a 50 percent tariff, up from the current levy of 25 percent. Polysilicon is a type of silicon that is used to make solar panels, while wafers are the semiconductors used in the panels. https://thehill.com/policy/energy-environment/5035684-biden-administration-increases-solar-panel-tariffs/ So Biden makes renewable energy more expensive for Americans? Is that the carefully calibrated aim here? Mais non! Climate action and jobs, as the press release breathlessly claims. When you bozos talk of Trump tarriffs, it is ALWAYS ONLY about consumer price. When Biden does it, it's everything else but price increase. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 12th, 2024 at 2:59pm Frank wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 1:55pm:
There’s quite a lot to unpack here, Frank. First and foremost, it appears that, once again, you’re skimming headlines in search of a mic-drop moment, without realising that what you’ve shared actually reinforces my argument. From your own post: Frank wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 1:55pm:
Right off the bat, these are not indiscriminate tariffs akin to those imposed by 45, but rather targeted measures focusing on specific solar panel components. So already the risks of 45's plan including raising inflation, interest rates and a push closer to a recession do not apply. Delving into the rationale behind this decision reveals a comprehensive strategy by his administration. This approach encompasses protective measures, investment incentives from the Inflation Reduction Act and other sources, and efforts to expand the domestic industry, all aligning with his broader agenda to foster the growth of Green jobs. Quote:
Your concern about higher costs for imported components, ultimately passed on to the consumer, is entirely valid. But mate, that's precisely been my point about 45. Consumers will be incentivised to purchase domestically produced goods from industries that the Biden administration has spent years cultivating as part of his vision for a Green economy. But what happens if there are no local alternatives? Consumers would indeed face higher costs, which is why this policy was meticulously focused on specific components rather than indiscriminate blanket tariffs. Quote:
Surely, by now, the distinction is glaring. 45’s tariffs are not targeted at particular sectors or industries. Instead, if his rhetoric is to be believed, they’re intended as sweeping measures imposed on all imports from China, Mexico, and Canada. This approach would affect an enormous range of goods for which local alternatives don’t exist or rely heavily on tariffed components in their supply chains. Furthermore, there’s no evidence of a strategic, long-term plan to build robust local industries over several years in preparation for such tariffs. Instead, 45 has declared his intent to implement them immediately upon taking office. And what does he plan to do with the revenue generated? Will it be reinvested into programs to alleviate the burden on consumers facing an already crushing global cost-of-living crisis? Of course not. He’ll perpetuate the lie that China is footing the bill, mischaracterising tariffs as a "tax on China," and divert the funds towards tax cuts for the wealthy. Again, that’s assuming he’s not simply lying, which, given his track record, is a generous assumption. Do you finally grasp the distinction between these two approaches? Can you see the difference yet? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 12th, 2024 at 3:47pm
What is a product that the US cannot produce itself or get from another country with a less unfair trade practice than China?
KRISTEN WELKER: But how do you make sure that consumers don’t wind up paying more? Will you punish CEOs who try to pass the cost of tariffs on to their customers? PRESIDENT-ELECT DONALD TRUMP: Well, the market’s going to take care of it. I mean, actually, the market takes care of it. And if it doesn’t, we adjust it somewhat. But in the case of Whirlpool or, let’s say, companies that made washing machines, they were all being put out of business by the dumping from, in particular, South Korea and China. And when I put the tariffs on, very substantial tariffs — although peanuts compared to what people do to us, what countries do to us — it became a very, very powerful, successful company. Now, let’s say I didn’t do the tariffs, it would’ve gone out of business. You would’ve lost tens of thousands of jobs. And you don’t include that in your equation. No, they make a lot of money. I’ll go a step further. Tariffs are going to make our country rich. Tariffs are going to help us pay off $35 trillion in debt. Tariffs are going to make our country safe because China, as an example, doesn’t want to play games with us if we’re going to do tariffs on them. They don’t want to play games. And we have a lot of games being played on us right now. NBC interview The US industrial capacity is second to none. It is not Australia or NZ. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:09pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 2:59pm:
You are fighting a losing battle. He will never understand. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:24pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:09pm:
Given the self-own with the link he posted, I'm guessing he's actively choosing not to at this point. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Jasin on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:49pm
SK and Peccary can't admit that their Leftism, woke, Media attempt at politics is still part of the World's political and military problems.
Germany and the Confederacy are done and dusted. Now the Leftism holds on via France and the Democrats. But the cracks are showing and they're getting desperate. They'll be gone from politics too soon. Suicide is painless in their political correctness of perfection beyond being human at all. Finally the Left will run to Italy in Europe and the Media in America as their last stand. But they will finally fail there too. You're both just Lefty LOSERS who can't admit defeat, even when you lose and keep losing.😆😂🤣 |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:51pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:24pm:
Nonsense. You drone on ad on like a Granuiad editorial. I showed qyou what Trump actually said and Biden actually did. I also pointed out that the US is not dependent on China on any industrial product. But carry on about expensive socks and other doomsday scenarios. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:55pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:24pm:
He is choosing not to, but even if he did choose to try to understand he just isn't capable. You will never get through to people like Frank. They lack the ability to think for themselves, and they won't hear a bad word said about their cult leader. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Jasin on Dec 12th, 2024 at 5:02pm
The Lefties get upset and tantrum when they couldn't get their 'Media' version of the Voice incorporated as a replacement for an already established 'political' voice, in Parliament. They can't accept that the majority of aborigines preferred the political voice.
What they can accept is the $450 million they stole from tax payers that was put in their Media pockets. Now we know who the real theives and criminals are 'here: in modern Australia. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 12th, 2024 at 5:25pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:55pm:
Frank just isn’t very bright. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 12th, 2024 at 7:31pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:55pm:
Wanky rubbish from both of you. "Trump can do nuffin' on the border, on tariffs, on deportations, NATO, Russia - because doing ANYTHING different would a disaster. No deviation from the Dem prog lines is possible without a disaster". Stupid, wanky rubbish, peddled endlessly for years. Yet you never tire of it and no matter how often your predictions fail, you keep repeating them. Manic wanky rubbish. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 12th, 2024 at 7:32pm Remember when Matt Gaetz, as a single man, was living with a 10-year-old boy whom he claimed was his "adopted" son from Cuba? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 12th, 2024 at 7:34pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 7:32pm:
What gweggy faps to today. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 12th, 2024 at 7:43pm Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 5:25pm:
Yeah, maybe. There's something very off about him, that's for sure. He doesn't acknowledge facts, truth, or reality. Just seems to live in his own little bubble where only his (misinformed, ignorant) opinions matter. Have never really come across anyone quite like him before (except Bobbi, of course). I wonder what colour the sky is in their world :-/ Hey Monk: remember when Matt Gaetz, as a single man, was living with a 10-year-old boy whom he claimed was his "adopted" son from Cuba? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 7:43pm:
Wankeroo... |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:21pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 7:43pm:
I remember that scandal. So this creep is the 80yo baby’s selection for AG? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by aquascoot on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:56pm
must be great to wake up and be donny
does greg have loyal fans ? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by aquascoot on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:57pm
so much love for the big unit
Title: Re: Waking up Post by aquascoot on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:57pm
we dont care if youre a convicted felon
Title: Re: Waking up Post by aquascoot on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:58pm
forget horseface , give us some attention
Title: Re: Waking up Post by aquascoot on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:59pm
oh donny, i had a democrat boyfriend but he was flaccid
Title: Re: Waking up Post by aquascoot on Dec 12th, 2024 at 9:01pm
mr president
please swipe right |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 12th, 2024 at 9:26pm Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 8:21pm:
Yep. And he just loves 10-year-old boys. So much so, he "adopted" one. Spoiler alert: there's no record of Gaetz ever adopting the child - he was just living with him, as a single man. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 12th, 2024 at 9:39pm
This is not going to end well.
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 6:54am Frank wrote on Dec 12th, 2024 at 4:51pm:
Let’s attempt to summarise the contrast since you seem apprehensive about delving into a more detailed explanation. Biden’s tariff increase, which you highlighted, was part of a coherent, long-term strategy to bolster the US green economy. It began with significant investments in solar manufacturing, included incentives to attract private sector participation, and culminated, as you noted, in Biden’s decision to: “Double tariffs on certain solar panel components that are made in China.” This approach demonstrates clear objectives, relevant action, and measurable outcomes. Domestic alternatives mitigate the impact of these tariffs on consumers, allowing the economy to adapt while advancing renewable energy goals. In this case, the temporary discomfort serves a greater purpose, paving the way for sustainable growth. In stark contrast, Trump’s proposed tariff policy for 2025 reeks of economic recklessness. His agenda includes a 25% tariff on all imports from Mexico and Canada, alongside a further 10% tariff on Chinese goods, imposed indiscriminately from day one. IF he wasn't simply lying during the campaign. These blanket tariffs come without any meaningful preparation to develop domestic industries that could shield Americans from the resulting price hikes. The risks are manifold: retaliatory measures from trade partners, economic instability, inflationary pressures, and the spectre of recession loom large. Unlike Biden’s deliberate approach, Trump’s plan offers no tangible goals or endgame, relying instead on the misguided notion that tariffs alone can coerce nations with greater economic endurance into compliance. China, in particular, has shown a willingness to absorb such shocks, confident in its resilience. The pain would ripple across economies, but the US stands to lose more, economically and politically. Moreover, Trump’s timing is precarious. He is not stepping into the robust economic conditions left by Obama in 2017 but rather a landscape recovering from his own mismanagement during COVID-19 and its aftermath. The economy today lacks the buffers to withstand his chaotic policymaking. Should his policies trigger economic collapse, it will brand not only his presidency but the Republican Party as architects of disaster, leaving lasting political and economic scars. In summary, Biden’s tariffs serve as a calculated investment in the future. Trump’s tariffs, by contrast, embody short-sighted opportunism, offering pain without purpose and a gamble that the US can ill afford. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 9:30am SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 6:54am:
Let me stop your Guardianista spin and green washing there. This is how BIDEN actually explains it: President Biden’s economic plan is supporting investments and creating good jobs in key sectors that are vital for America’s economic future and national security. China’s unfair trade practices concerning technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation are threatening American businesses and workers. China is also flooding global markets with artificially low-priced exports. In response to China’s unfair trade practices and to counteract the resulting harms, today, President Biden is directing his Trade Representative to increase tariffs under Section 301 of the Trade Act of 1974 on $18 billion of imports from China to protect American workers and businesses. https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/statements-releases/2024/05/14/fact-sheet-president-biden-takes-action-to-protect-american-workers-and-businesses-from-chinas-unfair-trade-practices/ So the principal reason has nothing to do with supporting domestic green industry. That can be done without punitive tariffs on China. The principal reason is punitive tariff on China (now doubled) with the added bonus of positive outcome for local industry. Which IS Trump's angle and justification. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 10:13am
You should have kept reading Frank.
From your same link: Frank wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 9:30am:
It's all part of their plan, as I've been saying from the start. Frank wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 9:30am:
Now you’re shifting the goalposts, claiming “principal reason” as your new defence. Convenient, isn’t it? But it doesn’t hold water. Biden’s administration has spent years methodically preparing alternatives to the targeted tariffed components used in US solar panel construction. This wasn’t just about tariffs, it’s part of a broader strategy to boost manufacturing, create jobs, and integrate more clean energy into the grid. Quote:
That might be 45’s stated goal, using tariffs as a crude bargaining tool to coerce Canada, Mexico, and China into making changes to migration policy and drug enforcement. But no one ever claimed otherwise. The problem isn’t the stated objective; it’s the sheer recklessness of the approach. From day one, 45’s plan is to slap blanket tariffs on imports with no groundwork, no strategy, no effort to build a foundation like Biden did in the example you’ve highlighted. Equating the two actions as identical is dishonest at best and ignorant at worst, they’re not remotely comparable. 45 is proposing a 25% tariff on all imports from these countries and an additional 10% on everything from China. Every product, every supply chain element, every imported component is fair game. The result? Consumers will inevitably pay more for nearly every product they purchase, whether imported or locally produced with imported inputs. And because there’s no preparation, no thought to ensuring viable domestic alternatives, the majority of cases will leave consumers with no choice but to pay the tariffs. If the goal is to bolster local industries, he’ll need to articulate a coherent plan. What measures will accompany this blunt instrument? How will the chaos he’s introducing into the market, the uncertainty, skyrocketing prices, supply shortages, be mitigated? How long are these tariffs intended to last? Will he reverse them on a whim? Are they a genuine policy tool or an empty bluff? And if they’re a bluff, what does that say about the credibility of anything he claims in the future? Worse still, if his intention is to drive local investment, he’s achieving the opposite. Investors loathe uncertainty, and these tariffs, especially if they provoke retaliatory measures or a trade war, will send them running. Then there’s inflation. You’ve conceded that prices will rise for everyone. Do you not see how this blanket approach will exacerbate inflation across the board? These are indiscriminate tariffs on all imports from these nations, not targeted, not strategic, just sweeping and blunt. Do you grasp it yet? Your attempt to equate 45’s ham-fisted tariff policy with Biden’s measured and deliberate approach is not only factually flawed but transparently motivated by your desperate need to cling to the illusion that "they’re the same." They’re not. And as much as you might wish to dismiss these points to preserve your worldview, doing so only exposes the vacuity of your argument. Frankly, if your opinions are that devoid of substance, you might be better off staying in your echo chamber, it’s safer than exposing yourself to further embarrassment. If you can’t see the difference between a coherent, forward-looking policy and the reckless whims of a man who governs via tantrums, that’s on you. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 10:28am SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 10:13am:
Bollocks. I pointed out from the beginning that you TDS kids have been obsessed with consumer price increases when Trump imposes tariffs but not when Biden does it. I have shown you repeatedly that in BOTH cases the main concern and purpose is something else - unfair trade practices, fentanyl, espionage, dumping from China, illegals from Canada and Mexico. So no shifting goal posts from me. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Brian Ross on Dec 13th, 2024 at 10:56am
Oh, dearie, dearie, me, you're such a Troll and an Trumpite, Soren. Tsk, tsk, tsk... ::) ::)
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 11:39am Frank wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 10:28am:
Take the example you highlighted: Biden supported building up local industries first, creating viable domestic options that would naturally attract consumers, before imposing tariffs. This approach ensures that when tariffs do raise the price of imports, consumers have practical and affordable local alternatives. Let’s be clear about the purpose of tariffs. One of their key roles is to make imported goods more expensive, thereby shielding local industries from being undercut by cheaper imports. The issue isn’t simply that prices go up, tariffs always involve a cost. The real problem is 45’s utter lack of strategy. He’s rushing to impose sweeping tariffs on everything, yes, everything, from these countries, with no groundwork and no targeted approach. Instead of protecting local industries in a meaningful way, he’s blindly applying tariffs to all imports in a crude attempt to strong-arm these nations into changing their drug and migration policies. This isn’t a measured plan. It’s policy by coercion, and the collateral damage will be felt by every consumer and business dependent on these imports. Quote:
So you're seriously arguing that targeting a specific component, within an industry already bolstered by strategic support and the development of viable domestic alternatives before imposing tariffs, is somehow the same as indiscriminately slapping blanket tariffs on three entire countries without any groundwork or local substitutes in place, forcing consumers to absorb the full cost? Do you honestly believe those two approaches are even remotely comparable? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 12:31pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 11:39am:
How would YOU do it? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 13th, 2024 at 12:31pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 11:39am:
Told ya before, you're fighting a losing battle. He will never understand. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 1:38pm
As President Biden says, American workers and businesses can outcompete anyone—as long as they have fair competition. But for too long, China’s government has used unfair, non-market practices. China’s forced technology transfers and intellectual property theft have contributed to its control of 70, 80, and even 90 percent of global production for the critical inputs necessary for our technologies, infrastructure, energy, and health care—creating unacceptable risks to America’s supply chains and economic security. Furthermore, these same non-market policies and practices contribute to China’s growing overcapacity and export surges that threaten to significantly harm American workers, businesses, and communities.
So not just solar panels, then. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by UnSubRocky on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:28pm
If Americans expect the world to be able to take the Americans seriously, when they protest and counterprotest the death of someone killed by police, I doubt that the Americans could outcompete anyone, other than in the field of being highly emotional people.
I have seen soccer riots with more crowd composure than a group of Americans at a peaceful protest. China is not going to be competitive for much longer. With the Chinese population going backwards, there is going to be more and more concern about having to pay their workers more money. That means their industries will not profit as much. Think about how that will impact the world economy in 10 years time. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:40pm Frank wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 12:31pm:
Diplomacy. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:43pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:40pm:
Oh?? Like KamaKamalka Harris, border tsar, was doing for the last 4 years on the Mexico border?? Good one. Or like Penny Wrong did with China after we were hit by trade sanctions FOR YEARS by a lying, cheating China. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:48pm Frank wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:43pm:
Do their plans risk spurring inflation, and interest rates and force their people to pay the tariffs which will fund tax cuts for the rich because no locally manufactured alternatives exist, pushing the country closer to a recession, trade war and economic decline? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:53pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:48pm:
What is it that the US cannot locally manufacture or import from another country that does trade honestly by WTO rules?? And did the flood of illegals cause the interest rate hikes and inflation? Would these have been worse if Kackela stopped the flow? What diplomatic success did either Harris or Biden have with China, Iran, Mexico, Russia, Afghanistan, Yemen etc, etc? |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:03pm Frank wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 1:38pm:
The solar panels were your example, it's not my fault if you regret that now. You claimed it was equivalent to what 45 is doing. I’ve dismantled that absurd assertion. 45 is slapping indiscriminate blanket tariffs on three countries, with no forethought, no strategy, and absolutely no measures to shield his own people from the economic fallout. He lacks even the faintest idea of how to channel the inevitable pain into long-term benefit. In stark contrast, Biden, using your example, has spent his term rebuilding and revitalising an entire manufacturing sector, using targeted tariffs as a deliberate strategy to bolster and sustain that industry. Biden’s approach also provides consumers with a tariff-free alternative, a nuance 45 couldn’t comprehend, let alone implement. That’s the crux of it: the two approaches are not remotely the same. You either refuse to acknowledge this, cling to the fig leaf of “principle reasons” to justify the indefensible, or resort to outright dishonesty to downplay the recklessness of 45’s actions. You haven’t defended his proposals even once, because you can’t. Instead, you peddle lies about Biden’s accomplishments in a feeble attempt to obscure the sheer incompetence and destructiveness of 45’s approach. Reality has never been on your side, and this is no exception. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:03pm Frank wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 2:53pm:
It's telling that you won't answer my question and instead propose more to me instead. You're pushing the notion of good faith. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:04pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:03pm:
That was an example of Biden DOUBLING tariffs. I quoted this WH announcement well before that. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:06pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 12:31pm:
He is in toddler mode now, so I think you're right. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by Frank on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:48pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:03pm:
You proposed diplomacy which obviously did not work with China or Mexico when Biden Harris were in charge. When this failure of your supposed answer ("diplomacy") is pointed out to you, you babble about toddler mode and Bbwianesque answer my question crap. Diplomacy didn't work with Mexico or Canada because these countries knew that Kackela and Sleepy Joe are weak and ineffective. Diplomacy hasn't worked with China either, for the same reason plus because China is a hostile power. So now comes economic ball squeezing. Australia can't bollock China, we have made ourselves too dependent on them. But the US can. And will. The EU will follow. |
Title: Re: Waking up Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:57pm SadKangaroo wrote on Dec 13th, 2024 at 3:06pm:
He's getting worse by the day. Best concentrate your efforts elsewhere. But not with Leroy. Or Bobbi, of course. Best avoid JaSin too. poo, there aren't any sane ones left :-/ |