Cousins to return in 2009 (Read 5516 times)
ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Re: Cousins to return in 2009
Reply #15 - Oct 3rd, 2008 at 10:33pm

oceanz wrote on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 9:55pm:
as opposed to Sydney being at the top..?

ha ha.

Round 4 2008

Sydney Swans     16.11.107    West Coast        5.15. 45

Some highlights:

Tolerance is the virtue of men who no longer believe in anything
&&-- G.K. Chesterton

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #16 - Oct 4th, 2008 at 4:08pm

ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 10:33pm:

ha ha.

Round 4 2008

Some highlights:
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/8955/barryyy9.gif

Barry Hall is a huge embarrasment and much more damaging than Cousins ever was as a role model to young fans Donald..its a shame you believe he is all the Swans have to offer.   Roll Eyes
« Last Edit: Oct 4th, 2008 at 5:38pm by oceanz »  

&&Jade Rawlings on Cousins " He makes our team walk taller..a very good team man , Ben Cousins"

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #17 - Oct 4th, 2008 at 4:19pm

oceanz wrote on Oct 4th, 2008 at 4:08pm:
ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 10:33pm:

ha ha.

Round 4 2008

Some highlights:
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/8955/barryyy9.gif

Baryy Hall is a huge embarrasment and much more damaging than Cousins ever was as a role model to young fans Donald..its a shame you believe he is all the Swans have to offer.   Roll Eyes

CRACK!

CRACK!

CRACK!

There's nothing better than hearing the sound of Staker's jaw cracking. Ooooh yeah.

Round 11 2008

Sydney     83                         West Coast 78

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #18 - Oct 5th, 2008 at 6:23pm

But the sound of this guys jaw cracking is the sweetest sound of all  ha ha ha..

Ooohhh yeahhh!

Barry Hall -1

Adolf Hitler -0

Hall says.."this has been 55 years coming Adolf  mate..crack!!"

Adolf says.."you meathead.. I know nothing ..I saw nothing..I vil have you shot!!!
« Last Edit: Oct 5th, 2008 at 10:17pm by oceanz »  

&&Jade Rawlings on Cousins " He makes our team walk taller..a very good team man , Ben Cousins"

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #19 - Oct 6th, 2008 at 5:56pm

6 things come to mind upon viewing your post Oceanz...

1) Man o man... I had no idea my little edit on the multiculturalism board hurt you this deeply. Otherwise, why would you put in all the time and effort to make that stupid thing?

2) That doesn't really offend me.

3) So... what you're really saying is the West Coast eagles are nazis?

4)                
...  Smiley

5) That's a poor paintshop job.

6) It's not funny nor witty.

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Reply #20 - Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:01pm

I think it is an insightful juxtaposition of postmodernist re-evaluations of recent history.

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #21 - Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:02pm

ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 5:56pm:
ONLY 6 THINGS??? : )

1) Man o man... I had no idea my little edit on the multiculturalism board hurt you this deeply. Otherwise, why would you put in all the time and effort to make that stupid thing?

4)                
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/8955/barryyy9.gif  Smiley

you make me laugh you DT..you manipulate my post because it has the word "Hitler" in it and im the Nazi??

It was also completely relevant to the topic.

what are you afraid of?

Hypocrisy is your middle name.

It was not my aim to get a perfect result in my" paintshop job"..

just make a point.

I did.

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #22 - Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:03pm

freediver wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:01pm:
I think it is an insightful juxtaposition of postmodernist re-evaluations of recent history.

Smiley thanks FD...

couldnt agree more.

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #23 - Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:27pm

oceanz wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:02pm:

4)                

you make me laugh you DT..you manipulate my post because it has the word "Hitler" in it and im the Nazi??

what are you afraid of?

just make a point.

I did.

1) I never called you a Nazi.
2) I'm calling the West Coast eagles 'Nazis' as a joke because it appears that Adolf Hitler's head is on Brent Stakers head, hence making him an eagles player. It's a joke, you know? A J-O-K-E.
3) How can it be possibly relevant to this topic? 
4) I changed the word from 'Hitler' to 'Mugabe.' Both are dictators and both use race politics, right? Hence your point was still getting across. How is that 'manipulating' your post? Unless your 'real' intention was just a meaningless stab at Hitler and by taking out the word 'Hitler' the whole 'point' of your post was lost? I was actually upset that you deleted your entire post. But fair enough, you're entitled to do whatever you want.
5) How am I being hypocritical? Are you even sure how to use that word in the correct way?
6) It was a poor paintshop job, I'll stand by that.
7) If your 'point' was a protest about my edit on the multiculturalism, then it has been a success. But a PM would have been more than satisfactory.
8) You really need to get less touchy about my insults about West Coast and in particular, the editing. If I knew it meant that much to you that the word 'Hitler' was left in, then I might have left it alone.

Anyway, this is my last post on this thread as I don't want to offend you anymore, Oceanz. Okey dokey?

Toodles.

-DT

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #24 - Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:47pm

ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:27pm:
oceanz wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:02pm:

4)                

what are you afraid of?

just make a point.

I did.

1) I never called you a Nazi.
no you didnt-sorry

2) I'm calling the West Coast eagles 'Nazis' as a joke because it appears that Adolf Hitler's head is on Brent Stakers head, hence making him an eagles player. It's a joke, you know? A J-O-K-E.
3) How can it be possibly relevant to this topic?  
you missed my point, but who cares Roll Eyes

4) I changed the word from 'Hitler' to 'Mugabe.'
one has to ask "why"? why is it ok to use Magabes' name and not Hilters..and who gives you the right to change my post without my permission?..if I was flaming or attacking someone I could understand?
Both are dictators and both use race politics, right? Hence your point was still getting across
if you change my post it then becomes  YOUR point not mine
. How is that 'manipulating' your post? Unless your 'real' intention was just a meaningless stab at Hitler
but its ok to take a stab at Magube?
and by taking out the word 'Hitler' the whole 'point' of your post was lost? I was actually upset that you deleted your entire post. But fair enough, you're entitled to do whatever you want.
5) How am I being hypocritical? Are you even sure how to use that word in the correct way?
yes..I stuffed up on that point

6) It was a poor paintshop job, I'll stand by that.
I agree..Im dont do them usually

7) If your 'point' was a protest about my edit on the multiculturalism, then it has been a success. But a PM would have been more than satisfactory.
you publicly editted my post you didnt PM me to ask if it was ok- it technically was a very legit post DT

8) You really need to get less touchy about my insults about West Coast and in particular, the editing
if you'll become less touchy about Swans ..fine..I can take a joke DT
. If I knew it meant that much to you that the word 'Hitler' was left in, then I might have left it alone.
..its got nothing o do with it "meaning that much to me"..its wrong to change someones post DT..period...it would be offensive to anyone

Anyway, this is my last post on this thread as I don't want to offend you anymore, Oceanz. Okey dokey?

Toodles.

Okey Dokey

-DT

« Last Edit: Oct 6th, 2008 at 10:28pm by oceanz »  

Revenant

Reply #25 - Oct 12th, 2008 at 11:38am

I'm not sure if I want the Pies to pick him up. He's potentially a good player but I don't think he's taking his recovery serious enough. Remember the Cuz went over to the USA for treatment and over there they’re very big on 12 step recovery like in AA and NA, which are programs of complete abstinence from all drugs including alcohol.  Yet when the Cuz came back to Oz he went up to schoolies week in Queensland and was out drinking, which to me says he isn't following the advice of those who've treated him. So with that sort of attitude he's a huge chance of slipping back into full blown addiction, if he's the type of addict who needs to abstain.

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #26 - Oct 12th, 2008 at 2:46pm

Revenant wrote on Oct 12th, 2008 at 11:38am:
I'm not sure if I want the Pies to pick him up. He's potentially a good player but I don't think he's taking his recovery serious enough. Remember the Cuz went over to the USA for treatment and over there they’re very big on 12 step recovery like in AA and NA, which are programs of complete abstinence from all drugs including alcohol.  Yet when the Cuz came back to Oz he went up to schoolies week in Queensland and was out drinking, which to me says he isn't following the advice of those who've treated him. [i]So with that sort of attitude he's a huge chance of slipping back into full blown addiction, if he's the type of addict who needs to abstain.

I think Revenant..that at that time his head was all over the place.

The media hounded him out of the country quite literally..he never went to sign into rehab..it was obvious he went to escape the media and hatred in the public arena generated by  witch hunt he was subjected too. He lost a good  mate on top of it all.

I think he veiws his condition now as a true addiction..whereas in the beginning he wouldn't have even really believed he had one..He wil go to the Collingwood I believe because Mcguire will take care of him..ie: keep an eye on him.

He knows he needs that kind of management. And McGuire has been down that road.

Cousins needs footy to help him recover.

I believe he would go back to West Coast in a heart beat if they opened the door.

But Nisbett says no.

Lestat

Reply #27 - Oct 12th, 2008 at 3:44pm

I'm not sure if I want the Pies to pick him up. He's potentially a good player but I don't think he's taking his recovery serious enough. Remember the Cuz went over to the USA for treatment and over there they’re very big on 12 step recovery like in AA and NA, which are programs of complete abstinence from all drugs including alcohol.  Yet when the Cuz came back to Oz he went up to schoolies week in Queensland and was out drinking, which to me says he isn't following the advice of those who've treated him. So with that sort of attitude he's a huge chance of slipping back into full blown addiction, if he's the type of addict who needs to abstain.

Are you kidding..I would be rapt if we pick him up. He is exactly what we need...a bit of class in the midfield. And you can see that he is still in great shape.

Of course it depends on what we have to give up to get him. A 3rd rounder would be ok, considering that we have now 2 3rd rounders after the Rhyce trade...and a 3rd round pick is pretty hit and miss anyway. If we can get him in the PSD even better but that is highly unlikely.

Yes he is a risk...but with the amount of youth we have in our side, and the lack of experience , a hard running gun midfielder is exactly what we need...I think the risk is well and truly worth it. Yes it can come back to bite us...but not sure about you...but I'm sick of 'almost' being good enough...its time we made some hard decisions and took some risks to finally get that holy grail.

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #28 - Oct 12th, 2008 at 3:51pm

a decision as to  wether he will be allowed to play AFL again is to be made tomorrow.
« Last Edit: Oct 12th, 2008 at 5:37pm by oceanz »  

Revenant

Reply #29 - Oct 13th, 2008 at 7:57am

oceanz wrote on Oct 12th, 2008 at 2:46pm:
I'm not sure if I want the Pies to pick him up. He's potentially a good player but I don't think he's taking his recovery serious enough. Remember the Cuz went over to the USA for treatment and over there they’re very big on 12 step recovery like in AA and NA, which are programs of complete abstinence from all drugs including alcohol.  Yet when the Cuz came back to Oz he went up to schoolies week in Queensland and was out drinking, which to me says he isn't following the advice of those who've treated him. [i]So with that sort of attitude he's a huge chance of slipping back into full blown addiction, if he's the type of addict who needs to abstain.

I think Revenant..that at that time his head was all over the place.

The media hounded him out of the country quite literally..he never went to sign into rehab..it was obvious he went to escape the media and hatred in the public arena generated by  witch hunt he was subjected too. He lost a good  mate on top of it all.

Even so, he eventually went into the rehab where they would've advised him to abstain from all drugs including alcohol. So if I was a club looking to recruit him I'd be asking him he's drinking at all and I'd also be asking what on going support he's receiving to help him stay clean.

If he said he was having the occasional drink and not attending any counseling or support groups I wouldn't draft him. The last thing Collingwood needs is more off field BS like we had this year. It's too disruptive.

Lestat,

We wouldn't have to give up anything for him as he is no longer with a club. We'd just have to pick him up in the national draft if he’s still available when our turn comes.  

Just as an aside, I reckon Anthony Corrie was a great pick up for us. He's only 24 and he played 20 games for the Lions this year and all we gave them was pick 93. It should be good, we can have Corrie in one forward pocket and Medhurst in the other, which means Thomas, Didak and Davis will be able to spend more time rotating through the middle.