The hindu traditional of burning an effigy (Read 2702 times)

The hindu traditional of burning an effigy
Jun 2nd, 2009 at 9:02am

was unsure where to put it, here or "rudd under pressure"
think he is feeling the heat ??? Wink

HINDU extremists burned effigies of Kevin Rudd and shouted angry slogans outside the Australian High Commission in New Delhi yesterday as fury over a series of attacks on Indian students in Melbourne reached dangerous new heights.

Amid growing concern in Canberra that the issue was damaging relations between the two countries, the Prime Minister sought to reassure India that Australia was not a racist nation.

However, a new flashpoint emerged, with accusations by Indian students in Melbourne that Victorian police used excessive force to break up a rally calling for action over racial violence. In New Delhi, about 100 members of the Bharatiya Janata Party's youth wing yesterday staged protests outside Australia's high commission before meeting briefly with Canberra's top envoy to India, John McCarthy.

Members of the BJP's hardline Hindu political ally, the Shiv Sena, also burned an effigy of Mr Rudd and reportedly staged protests outside a visa office in Mumbai.......

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25573550-601,00.html

NorthOfNorth

Re: The hindu traditional of burning an effigy
Reply #1 - Jun 2nd, 2009 at 9:37am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 2nd, 2009 at 9:02am:
think he is feeling the heat ??? Wink

Do you think this is on the head of one politician?

They're not burning Rudd's effigy, they're burning an effigy of the Australian representing those of us who give a wink and a nod to violent racial intolerance, that produce members of a police force who call the victims of these crimes soft targets because they are decent, non-aggressive, law-abiding guests... Like somehow its the victims' fault.
« Last Edit: Jun 2nd, 2009 at 9:43am by NorthOfNorth »  

Conviction is the art of being certain

Calanen

Reply #2 - Jun 2nd, 2009 at 10:16am

Is it white people beating the Indians up? I wonder.

ISLAM is a vicious [un-reformable] political tyranny, which has always murdered its critics, and it continues that practice even today.
Yadda

Happy

Reply #3 - Jun 2nd, 2009 at 10:22am

NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 2nd, 2009 at 9:37am:
... soft targets because they are decent, non-aggressive, law-abiding guests... Like somehow its the victims' fault.

So if Police tells law-abiding guests to leave intersection and they don't, only points toward 2 possibilities:

They are law-abiding guests on their terms
They do not understand English

NorthOfNorth

Reply #4 - Jun 2nd, 2009 at 10:28am

Happy wrote on Jun 2nd, 2009 at 10:22am:
NorthOfNorth wrote on Jun 2nd, 2009 at 9:37am:
... soft targets because they are decent, non-aggressive, law-abiding guests... Like somehow its the victims' fault.

So if Police tells law-abiding guests to leave intersection and they don't, only points toward 2 possibilities:

They are law-abiding guests on their terms
They do not understand English

It might be clearer to you, Happy, if you were in a hospital bed with a broken jaw (because you were in a train speaking your first language into an iphone), when you heard that your family and friends had staged a sit-in at an intersection because they had just been told by law enforcement officers that maybe you provoked your own attack... not through aggression, but that you were alone and had the cheek to look and act foreign.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #5 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 9:52am

Guess what Helian?
Ordinary Australians get attacked for flippant reasons every day of the year.
It just so happens that there are more Indians in this country now than at any other time in history - 99% of them being rich back in their homeland. It only stands to reason that there will also be more incidents ocurring which involve them.

Do you think they'd stop coming here because of bad advertising?
No way, they come here for the money and they do very well.
Not only do they do very well, but they rort our system.
I know for a fact that some Indians pay shonky agents about $10K for a non-existent education course (cooking or some bs). They then work here (as a working student), "donate" money to political parties, and send money home.

If fearful Indians parents send their little princes and princesses (a lot of them are) to other western countries that want their business, then great. Maybe then young Australians might be able to afford entrance to a university.

NorthOfNorth

Reply #6 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 10:03am

Amadd wrote on Jun 3rd, 2009 at 9:52am:
Guess what Helian?
Ordinary Australians get attacked for flippant reasons every day of the year.
It just so happens that there are more Indians in this country now than at any other time in history - 99% of them being rich back in their homeland. It only stands to reason that there will also be more incidents ocurring which involve them.

Do you think they'd stop coming here because of bad advertising?
No way, they come here for the money and they do very well.
Not only do they do very well, but they rort our system.
I know for a fact that some Indians pay shonky agents about $10K for a non-existent education course (cooking or some bs). They then work here (as a working student), "donate" money to political parties, and send money home.

If fearful Indians parents send their little princes and princesses (a lot of them are) to other western countries that want their business, then great. Maybe then young Australians might be able to afford entrance to a university.

Well, if they're all rich back home, why do they need to rort the system?

But you know nothing of the sort. You heard a story that some mate told you about someone he'd heard of who 'knew for a fact' Indians pay shonky agents for fake courses... If you really knew that for a fact, you'd have dobbed them in and be gabbing on here about what you'd done.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #7 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 11:19am

Well, if they're all rich back home, why do they need to rort the system?

In case you hadn't noticed, our dollar is worth far more than the rupee. They make far more in western countries than they can at home.

But you know nothing of the sort. You heard a story that some mate told you about someone he'd heard of who 'knew for a fact' Indians pay shonky agents for fake courses...

Fair enough, I have no concrete proof - I haven't bothered to look for harder evidence.

I've worked with so-called Indian students, and after a while through general conversation, you find out  that they're not going to school.
They need to be enrolled as a student to be able to work here unless they have a specific work visa.
Later I found out from reliable sources that political parties get generous donations from them or their families, and the so-called courses they're enrolled in don't even exist.
But of course there are still many genuine students paying a high premium for advantage over Australian students.

If you really knew that for a fact, you'd have dobbed them in and be gabbing on here about what you'd done.

If I had bonafide proof I wouldn't do anything with it.
I've done my tour of duty as a good samaritan and I'd never go through that crap again. They put you through hell.
If I saw a murder outside my front door, I'd close the door and turn up the TV.

Grendel

Reply #8 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 12:09pm

But you know nothing of the sort. You heard a story that some mate told you about someone he'd heard of who 'knew for a fact' Indians pay shonky agents for fake courses...

Yet last year there was a TV expose on this very thing.  It also involved other Asian groups as well.

Having vetted many job applications in the past I can tell you first hand that many Filipinos for example try to pass off false certificates and even submit certificates etc that don't belong to them.

Happy

Reply #9 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 12:10pm

Amadd wrote on Jun 3rd, 2009 at 11:19am:

I've done my tour of duty as a good samaritan and I'd never go through that crap again. They put you through hell.

It is so hard to report crime and retain reasonable safety in Australia that it is not funny.

Crims and accused persons have many rights, effectively discouraging reporting even a little crime.

NorthOfNorth

Reply #10 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 12:35pm

Happy wrote on Jun 3rd, 2009 at 12:10pm:
Amadd wrote on Jun 3rd, 2009 at 11:19am:

It is so hard to report crime and retain reasonable safety in Australia that it is not funny.

Crims and accused persons have many rights, effectively discouraging reporting even a little crime.

There's always an anonymous call.. from a phone box out in Shitdeep Suburbia.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #11 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 1:08pm

I suppose so, but even if I knew at the time that there was something shonky going on, I still doubt if I would've bothered ringing crimestoppers about it. Unless of course they really p!ssed me off for some reason.

think he is feeling the heat ???  Wink

NorthOfNorth

Reply #12 - Jun 3rd, 2009 at 1:15pm

Amadd wrote on Jun 3rd, 2009 at 1:08pm:

I suppose so, but even if I knew at the time that there was something shonky going on, I still doubt if I would've bothered ringing crimestoppers about it. Unless of course they really p!ssed me off for some reason.

And you expect so much of immigrants and guests.

Happy

Reply #13 - Jun 4th, 2009 at 12:14pm

As a side note, this alone lowers the crime statistics without Police lifting a finger.

NorthOfNorth

Reply #14 - Jun 4th, 2009 at 12:24pm

Happy wrote on Jun 4th, 2009 at 12:14pm:

As a side note, this alone lowers the crime statistics without Police lifting a finger.

How would that significantly be the case if a call to crimestoppers cannot be associated with a report of a crime by the victims?