Iraq - Baghdad - According to Canon Andrew White (Read 1464 times)
NorthOfNorth

Iraq - Baghdad - According to Canon Andrew White
Sep 1st, 2009 at 9:51am

For a first hand and very frank description of the situation in Baghdad, have a listen to the Anglican minister working in Baghdad, Canon Andrew White (known locally as the "Vicar of Baghdad"). The depth of his courage by remaining in Baghdad, despite the extreme danger, is made even more profound by the fact that he has multiple sclerosis.

Most alarming for him is his opinion that the very small Christian presence is at its most precarious than at any other time over its near 2000 year history... It appears the country is being 'religiously cleansed'.

"Religion is a major cause of violence in the world" says White.

Why is the violence and kidnapping in Iraq so persistent? Says White, "Most terrorists... the source is the same... they have lost... Either they have lost land or territory or money through de-Baathication... but ultimately they have lost power and they need something back and so you have to be able to give them something... You never get anything for nothing".

BBC - The Classic Interview - Canon Andrew White

60 Minutes Interview with Canon Andrew White
« Last Edit: Sep 1st, 2009 at 10:15am by NorthOfNorth »  

Conviction is the art of being certain

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Re: Iraq - Baghdad - According to Canon Andrew White
Reply #1 - Sep 1st, 2009 at 8:15pm

Why is the violence and kidnapping in Iraq so persistent? Says White, "Most terrorists... the source is the same... they have lost... Either they have lost land or territory or money through de-Baathication... but ultimately they have lost power and they need something back and so you have to be able to give them something... You never get anything for nothing".

The Christians and Shia Muslims are still fleeing due to persecution so they are obviously no better off under a "democratic" government. The blame can go on US intervention and their mixed messages.

The core US policy declared by Rumsfeld for the invasion of Iraq was -

De-Baathification. The Coalition will work with forward-looking Iraqis and actively oppose the old regime's enforcers--the Baath Party leaders, Fedayeen Saddam, and other instruments of repression--and make clear that it will eliminate the remnants of Saddam's regime

Then Rumsfeld warned the newly formed Iraqi Government  against anti-Baathist purges because it would lead to "lack of confidence" and "corruption" of government.

There is no leadership now. Iraq is a country that needs a dictator and the brutality and suffering is far worse now than it was under Saddam. There were no terrorist attacks prior to the invasion.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #2 - Sep 1st, 2009 at 8:53pm

Yep, what is now? 6 1/2 years on and the place is still a mess.

But it's ok, just give them $20m for each hostage and they'll go away .....and buy weapons with it.

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #3 - Sep 1st, 2009 at 9:51pm

Mantra,

The Christians and Shia Muslims are still fleeing due to persecution so they are obviously no better off under a "democratic" government.

Although the West like to portray it in terms of Sunni, Shia, Christian[, Kurdish] conflict, the fact is that the people are more united/divided along a line that is demarcated by different groups' acceptance of the occupation. Sunni and Shia groups often co-operate in anti-Invasion resistance. And if you ever travel to a country in the Middle East, and watch satellite television there, you'll find a station which broadcasts 24/7 footage of united Sunni, Shia, Whoever else, operations against invasion forces. They also broadcast messages of unity between all different resistance movements.

Iraq is a country that needs a dictator and the brutality and suffering is far worse now than it was under Saddam.

Perhaps it just needs an end to foreign interference?

Amadd,

Yep, what is now? 6 1/2 years on and the place is still a mess.

The mess in Iraq has been brewing since the 1980's, when the U.S first began wreaking havoc there, giving Saddam the green light to do as he pleased. When they turned on him and pulled him up, it certainly got much worse. There's not a single piece of mess in that country that doesn't have America's scent all over it.

abu_rashid  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #4 - Sep 2nd, 2009 at 12:13am

Abu, I agree with you there.
Maybe the U.S. were naive in thinking that they could instal a suitable leader, or maybe they intentionally wreaked havoc.
The bottom line is that you don't go messing with a history that you don't fully understand. Sometimes the better option is to stand back and accept that you can't save the world or control the world.
On a lesser scale, it's the same in this country. Bringing in too many cultures has just caused a confused nation.
The old aussie "she'll be right mate" culture is gone. She won't be right mate.
We have too many cultures of unique deception for any one culture to understand or accept the other. Therefore nobody trusts anybody.
People don't trust politicians, women don't trust men, men don't trust women, aussies don't trust Indians (for very good reason), christians don't trust muslims..etc. The scope of mistrust has narrowed  too quickly for practically any one culture to be able to handle.
It's a melting pot of mistrust because capitalism has moved too quickly IMO - far far too quickly.

« Last Edit: Sep 2nd, 2009 at 12:20am by Amadd »  

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #5 - Sep 2nd, 2009 at 12:55am

Australia was founded on the dispossession of another culture from their nation/land, our entire modern history is based on newcomers upsetting the existing culture, so don't act like you're the original inhabitant of the land, whose being dispossessed and overrun. And I think for this reason, keeping Australia "white" will just never work. If you don't like the fact it's multicultural, then you are at odds with Australia, not Indians or others who've come to make a new life here.

When you see an Indian blaring out some Bollywood music ringtone on his phone, and jabbering away in Hindi, know that he's living up to the Aussie trait of completely disregarding the existing  culture of the people who preceded him here. He is being truly Aussie.

Australian culture has never been about assimilation and being uniform. It's always been about individualism. You probably have no problem with a teenager following some whacked out weirdo fashions, styles etc. (which amount to culture), yet if an immigrant dresses any different, or listens to different music or eats different food... BOOT HIM OUT!!! for refusing to 'integrate'.

abu_rashid  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #6 - Sep 2nd, 2009 at 1:36am

Abu, I just think that we had an aimiable culture going which was learning from past mistakes and building towards a good future.
Aboriginals, no doubt deserve the most respect because it was us who changed their direction.
Now we really have no say in it, or any responsibility to the aboriginals, because our culture has also been stolen. So, in effect, we are in the same boat as the aboriginals unless we can boot out the scum.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #7 - Sep 2nd, 2009 at 7:54am

The US didn't go into the Gulf war, Iraq and Afghanistan for altruistic purposes - they went to claim the oil.

As far as our culture goes - it has changed so much over the last few decades, who has a clue what it is anymore.

Amadd is right about the restrictions imposed on our society though. You can't go anywhere, or do anything without it being regulated. We are controlled by the banks, other multinationals and politicians who  continually steal from us to feather their nests.

The global rulers are the ones who are aiming for a one world where colour, creed or religion is irrelevant. What do they care if cultures clash?

Iraq was a very advanced society pre-Saddam, well ahead of the western world in culture and education until the Trilateral Commission was formed. Now it's regressive and violent and the people are fleeing or dying by the hundreds of thousands. Even basic needs can't be met.

Australia will eventually go the same way. We are resource rich and currently we are being invaded in a civilised way by stealth, but in another century this country won't even be a remnant of what it is today as the dominant, controlling cultures will overtake the weaker ones and there's nothing we can do about it.

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #8 - Sep 2nd, 2009 at 9:18am

Amadd,

Abu, I just think that we had an aimiable culture going which..

As I'm sure the Aboriginals thought they had an amiable culture going before we stepped in and destroyed it.

which was learning from past mistakes and building towards a good future.

How is it learning from past mistakes if it wants to remain white and racially based? Multiculturalism _IS_ learning from past mistakes and paying penance for them. Remaining a white and racist state is not.

Aboriginals, no doubt deserve the most respect because it was us who changed their direction.

And likewise, I'm sure in about 100 years time, the immigrants who'll shape Australian culture over the next century will look back and feel a similar sentiment towards the formerly Anglo-centric culture they displaced. As I said, they'll be just as "Aussie" as we were.

Do you want to be part of that next century of shaping Australia's culture? Or do you want to just sook over what's lost and simply will not be. Because if that's what you choose, then you won't be a contributor to Australia's future culture, but instead you'll be an opponent to it.

Now we really have no say in it, or any responsibility to the aboriginals, because our culture has also been stolen.

So go sit in a reserve, sniff petrol, drink yourself into a stupor and feel sorry for yourself then.

So, in effect, we are in the same boat as the aboriginals unless we can boot out the scum.

Why stop at non-whites? You should likewise boot yourself out, and leave the Aboriginals to resume where you interrupted them.

The 'scum' are people who've built this country and made it what it is today. Without the massive influx of immigrants (many of them non-white) this country would've stood still and could not have progressed as it did.

The 'scum' in my opinion are the racists like yourself, who really don't belong in this society, and who want a white-only state. They should go back to England, and if that isn't white enough, then keep going till you reach Iceland.

abu_rashid  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #9 - Sep 2nd, 2009 at 10:20pm

The 'scum' are people who've built this country and made it what it is today. Without the massive influx of immigrants (many of them non-white) this country would've stood still and could not have progressed as it did.

The 'scum' in my opinion are the racists like yourself, who really don't belong in this society, and who want a white-only state. They should go back to England, and if that isn't white enough, then keep going till you reach Iceland.

Yes you are right, there's no point staying in a country where I am a stranger. The scume are the people who built this country. Those whose relatives who died fighting for their future, they are the scum of the nation.
Now it belongs to people like you who will go so far as to change their nationality so they won't be the scum of the nation.
This country will become a mirror image of the sesspools of where the cultures originated unless they integrate with a culture which has proven to work...and work well.
« Last Edit: Sep 2nd, 2009 at 10:25pm by Amadd »  

Soren

Reply #10 - Sep 2nd, 2009 at 11:07pm

A country's resources mean little compared to its culture. And resources without culture are useless (cf Aborigines).

The Europeans, above all the British, who built modern Australia did not come here because of the attrractiveness of Aboriginal culture.

Migrants into modern Australia, on the other hand, do come here precisely because of the attractiveness of the culture the Europeans and the British established and developed. They are not coming to any gold fields - but they are coming in a cultural gold rush, as it were.

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #11 - Sep 3rd, 2009 at 12:02am

Yes you are right, there's no point staying in a country where I am a stranger.

Well Australia is a democracy, and the majority decided it was needed to bring in immigrants to build the nation. If you don't accept that, then you don't really accept Australia. You only accept the decision of the people, when it happens to coincide with what you want.

The scume are the people who built this country

Come on, drop the facade. You are talking white and non-white, and that much is quite clear. You would consider Muslims, who could've been here for more generations than the vast majority of whites, and who could've had ancestors who worked the camel trains to pioneer and settle and build Australia, to be scum. Whilst Brits who arrived recently or one generation ago, you'd consider the non-scum people you'd like in Australia.

You're just a snivelling little racist scumbag, and thank God that people like you are going to become a thing of the past for the next generation of Australians.

So don't give me any of this crap about people who built this country.

Those whose relatives who died fighting for their future, they are the scum of the nation.

On the beaches of Gallipoli?? Half way round the world?? Acting as a decoy for the Brits? Come on give me a break. Like those Australians dying today, they died for someone elses imperialist cause, which has nothing at all to do with Australia.

Now it belongs to people like you who will go so far as to change their nationality so they won't be the scum of the nation.

I haven't changed my nation whatsoever.

However I don't share the same sickening views as people like you.

This country will become a mirror image of the sesspools of where the cultures originated unless they integrate with a culture which has proven to work...and work well.

You'd be happy if that were the case wouldn't you? So it would vindicate your hatred and bias.

The word integrate seems to be bandied around a lot, yet is understood by few. What exactly do you mean by integrate?? I see plenty of integration... Or are you one of those simpleton hicks who demands that integration means you dress in a dictated style, eat dictated cuisine etc.?? Perhaps we could have culture-police, who could ensure that only tomato sauce is served with kebabs??? None of that bloody non-integrating hommous!! Or that all immigrants shop at target and wear the exact same clothes as the "average aussie"?? Perhaps we could issue all new immigrants with a pair of stubbies and thongs?

abu_rashid  

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #12 - Sep 3rd, 2009 at 8:00am

Abu - the point Amadd is trying to make is that until up to the 70's - Australia was developed with blood, sweat and tears and we brought in migrants for a purpose to help build Australia's infrastructure. Those migrants until the last couple of decades blended in and became part of the Australian culture, such as it was.

Immigration is now for a totally different purpose. There are no longer the demands placed on them that they adapt, help develop our infrastructure and be part of a whole country. Basically they come here as consumers and nothing else is demanded from them.

This of course isn't entirely the fault of migrants. Our governments no longer care about the future of this country but only the cash flow from our depleting resources. We have inadequate infrastructure to cope with our increasing population but no-one cares.

We have to take people for humanitarian reasons, but this week more rules have been bypassed and Afghanistan refugee youth have been established in Melbourne without processing. This is setting a precedent for future migration.

We don't have the resources to cope with the half million migrants coming here each year. We have already reached our population figures predicted only 10 years ago for 2040.

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #13 - Sep 3rd, 2009 at 10:37am

Abu - the point Amadd is trying to make is that until up to the 70's - Australia was developed with blood, sweat and tears and we brought in migrants for a purpose to help build Australia's infrastructure. Those migrants until the last couple of decades blended in and became part of the Australian culture, such as it was.

Well Australia was a lot more racist back then, so they probably felt they had no choice but to "conform" to the way everyone else appeared. Mantra, my problem with the integration claims is that people confuse integration with uniform appearance. I want to know what exactly people mean when they whinge about immigrants not integrating. My understanding is, they see a Muslim woman wearing hijab, or hear some Indian with bollywood ringtones on the train, or too many kebab shops or chinese restaurants, and they think this means those people are not integrating.

We have to take people for humanitarian reasons, but this week more rules have been bypassed and Afghanistan refugee youth have been established in Melbourne without processing. This is setting a precedent for future migratio

Precisely, many of them are coming from places we've helped to muck up. So shouldn't we rightfully bare some of the responsibility for cleaning up the mess?? Think about Iraq and Afghanistan, two of the countries we've just spent the past 7 or 8 years destroying. Of the millions of refugees from iraq, most are in Syria and Jordan, countries which seriously don't have anywhere near the ability to look after them as we do. Both of those countries are much more arid and over-populated than us, yet they're expected to take care of all those refugees. Likewise for Pakistan with the Afghan refugees. Pakistan already has about 7 times the population of Australia, in a land mass that's about 1/10th the size.

We don't have the resources to cope with the half million migrants coming here each year. We have already reached our population figures predicted only 10 years ago for 2040.

Come on, we're far better equipped than most other nations on earth to handle these refugees. Certainly far better equipped than Syria for instance.

abu_rashid