Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7
Progressive Taxation: Back to the Future (Read 17197 times)
Equitist

Progressive Taxation: Back to the Future
Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:18pm

Preface: this thread has been prompted by a heated tangent on another thread (see http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1279677842/120) - and I wasn't sure whether it would be more apt to post it in General or Politicians Suck. For the sake of broadening the debate here, I shall post something similar to my initiating post on that other thread.

I, for one, am concerned about the increasingly-regressive nature of our taxation system on individuals and families - and the associated opportunity costs to the nation as a whole.

So, as a matter of interest, I suggest that people utilise the following tables to calculate the comparative WEATH-fare BENEFITS to middle-high income Aussies over the past decade (and quarter century)...

I suggest that people first calculate relative tax payable (for FY86, FY01, and FY10/11) on, say: -

* Diferent $25K income increments up to $150K, then jump by $50K to $250K, and then calculate the tax on $500K and $1M

* Or use the latest FY10 or FY11 thresholds for a more direct comparison

Then: -

Take a look at the current annual Newstart and Aged Pension rates...

IM(not-so)HO, the results will surprise most and alarm some - not least because the Libs are carrying on so much about the post-2007 Federal debt and deficit, despite being the proud architects of the biggest budget black holes in Australian history...

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/

Residents

1985–86

Taxable income/Tax on this income

$0–$4,594 = Nil

$4,595–$12,499 = 25 cents for each $1 over $4,595

$12,500–$19,499 = $1,976.26 + 30 cents for each $1 over $12,500

$19,500–$27,999 = $4,076.25 + 46 cents for each $1 over $19,500

$28,000–$34,999 = $7,986.25 + 48 cents for each $1 over $28,000

$35,000 and over = $11,346.25 + 60 cents for each $1 over $35,000

2000-01

Taxable income /Tax on this income

$1 - $6,000 = Nil

$6,001 - $20,000 = 17 cents for each $1 over $6,000

$20,001 - $50,000 = $2,380 + 30 cents for each $1 over $20,000

$50,001 - $60,000 = $11,380 + 42 cents for each $1 over $50,000

$60,001 and over = $15,580 + 47 cents for each $1 over $60,000

2009–10

0 – $6,000 = Nil

$6,001 – $35,000 = 15c for each $1 over $6,000

$35,001 – $80,000 = $4,350 plus 30c for each $1 over $35,000

$80,001 – $180,000 = $17,850 plus 38c for each $1 over $80,000

$180,001 and over = $55,850 plus 45c for each $1 over $180,000

2010–11

0 – $6,000 = Nil

$6,001 – $37,000 = 15c for each $1 over $6,000

$37,001 – $80,000 = $4,650 plus 30c for each $1 over $37,000

$80,001 – $180,000 = $17,550 plus 37c for each $1 over $80,000

$180,001 and over = $54,550 plus 45c for each $1 over $180,000

The above rates do not include the Medicare levy...(read Medicare levy reduction or exemption for more information).

Tax offsets reduce the tax payable. Tax offsets based on taxable income levels apply to a range of circumstances. For more information read About tax offsets.

Of course, income tax breaks have been but one of many regressive taxation and WEALTHfare measures - and many middle-high income individuals now have an effective marginal tax rate of only 15%, thanks to the effectively-exclusive Superannuation Tax Concessions scam.

The past decade has been really good for some Aussies - and not others, eh!?

On that other thread, I suggested that we should restore a semblance of progressivity, by reintroducing one or more high-end thresholds - either 60% at, say, $250K or maybe 50% at $250K and 60% at $500K (and, given that the lower thresholds are remarkably close together, why not have additional threshold/s at, say, $750K, $1M, etc.!?).

Of course, taxation is but one of many socio-economic engineering tools but I think that it is time to address both the growing income and wealth inequity and other opportunity costs - especially in terms the Federal Govt's crucial roles in providing equitable access to affordable essential services and infrastructure and ensuring long-term socio-economic stability and environmental sustainability.

Discuss.

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Re: Progressive Taxation: Back to the Future
Reply #1 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:25pm

One thing that I didn't mention was the relevance of curbing regressive taxation and inter-related WEALTHfare waste in order to prepare for the grave issues raised in the dreaded Intergenerational Report.

Personally, I reckon that the Howardian Era set some very bad precedents, in terms of pretending that some of its WEALTHfare, tax and pensions and other policies were designed to responsibly address those and other increasingly-daunting long-term socio-economic issues...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

hawil

Reply #2 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:36pm

ParkesACT 2600

20’th Nov.2008
Submission for the tax Review

In the last four decades all the tax-changes have been for the benefit of the top 20% of the population.
e.g.
1)Death Duty abolished in the 1970’s
2)Estate Duty abolished 1979
3)Gift Duty abolished  1979
4) Probate abolished in the 1970-1980’s in all states
5)Huge tax concessions for super.
6) Last but not least, now tax-free super for the over sixties, if paid from a taxed super fund.
7)Tax rates have progressively been reduced
8)Dividend imputation introduced. When the company pays 30% tax and the shareholders receive the imputation credit, it is almost a zero numbers game, eg: company pays tax and the Government returns most, if not all back, to the shareholders.
How many countries have Dividend imputation?
The UK has recently abolished it.

The changes to the tax rules for super-pensions from taxed super for the over sixties must be really the icing on the cake.
Much of accumulated super assets have been accumulated with generous tax concessions, and at times no tax was paid in the accumulating stages; due to dividend imputations, negative gearing, etc.
Is there any country which has such generous provisions for the very rich?
As almost 78% of the people over the pension age receive some part of Centrelink pension, this people pay the highest tax rate, namely 40% in loss of Centrelink pension, plus marginal tax rate, if income is above the tax threshold.

The loss of Centrelink pension has increased from $0.40 in the dollar to $0.50 since this submission was made; e.g. the part-pensioners will pay for the recent increase of the age pension.

What should be the first priority in changing the tax system:
1)       Abolish all tax concessions for super and abolish the compulsory super contributions, increase the wages by the amount of the compulsory super, because the super was only granted to the workers to forfeit any wage increase at the time of introduction.
2)      Abolish all the means-testing of the age pension, but retain the tax offsets for seniors. The reason for the tax offsets is, that the aged are not able do certain tasks which a person of younger age can do and have to pay for that. The means test of the age pension is the meanest in the whole developed world. The Government just uses it to keep the pensioners just above the poverty, with no chance of the pensioners improving their conditions.
The compulsory super and all the tax concessions for super is turning Australia from a Democracy into a Plutocracy.

Reply #3 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:49pm

||In the last four decades all the tax-changes have been for the benefit of the top 20% of the population.
e.g.
1)Death Duty abolished in the 1970’s  

EVERYONE DIES - not just 20%

2)Estate Duty abolished 1979

ALMOST EVERYONE leaves an estate - not just 20%

3)Gift Duty abolished  1979

DO YOU REALLY WANT THAT INSANE TAX BACK?

4) Probate abolished in the 1970-1980’s in all states

BRING BACK DEATH TAXES!!! YAY!  are you serious?

5)Huge tax concessions for super.

BECAUSE IT IS IMPORTANT THAT THE GOVT BE THE SOLE PROCIDER FOR RETIRMENT and ensure that the budget is unable to cope with that drain. or you could be clever and promote retirment savings with incentives! guess which one we chose?

6) Last but not least, now tax-free super for the over sixties, if paid from a taxed super fund.

DONT FORGET TO BE A REAL SCUMBAG and make it harder for our retirees or near retirees.

7)Tax rates have progressively been reduced

HOW sad! we have to pay less tax! I personally am devastated that my tax has been reduced at the same time as australia has gotten richer. TAX ME HARDER!!!

8)Dividend imputation introduced. When the company pays 30% tax and the shareholders receive the imputation credit, it is almost a zero numbers game, eg: company pays tax and the Government returns most, if not all back, to the shareholders.
How many countries have Dividend imputation?
The UK has recently abolished it.

DIVIDEND IMPUTATION is an extremely equitable tax regime as it ensures that earnings are taxed ONCE. surely that is not only fair but mandatory. so your alternative is that the company pays 30% on the profit and then the receipient pays tax on it again??? why not just confiscate profit altogether and then we can stand araound and sing marxist songs in the Workers Paradise?

||

Reply #4 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:51pm

Equitist wrote on Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:25pm:
One thing that I didn't mention was the relevance of curbing regressive taxation and inter-related WEALTHfare waste in order to prepare for the grave issues raised in the dreaded Intergenerational Report.

Personally, I reckon that the Howardian Era set some very bad precedents, in terms of pretending that some of its WEALTHfare, tax and pensions and other policies were designed to responsibly address those and other increasingly-daunting long-term socio-economic issues...

and those bad precedents woudl be...

1) lower taxes
2) higher welfare
3) no debt
4) deficit
5) increased savings for retirement

and your problem with these is what? since we can manifestly afford them what is your problem - other than an ideological attachment to high taxes and punishment for high earners?

Reply #5 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:58pm

|\8)Dividend imputation introduced. When the company pays 30% tax and the shareholders receive the imputation credit, it is almost a zero numbers game, eg: company pays tax and the Government returns most, if not all back, to the shareholders.||

not even close to being true. the tax already paid to generate this dividend is a credit to the taxpayer who then has to pay tax on the entire pre-tax earnings. if you are in the 30% bracket then nothing changes but if you are in the 45% bracket you pay an additional 15%. it is exceptionally fair an equitable and treats it like any other non wage income you have and taxes it. the only difference is that it has already been taxed once and that is taken into consideration.

Reply #6 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:07pm

I, for one, am concerned about the increasingly-regressive nature of our taxation system on individuals and families

Are you sure it is actually getting more regressive? Goods taxes are not new. Historically there have been a lot of them. Also, government spending is trending more 'progressive'. You cannot look at income tax alone. You have to look at the whole package. Your table also brushes over inflation. It would be more meanigful to quote the % of people in each bracket.

Reply #7 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:19pm

it still makes the unsubstantiated claim that the old tax scales were intrinsically superior to the current ones. given that the old ones existed when australia had a highly regulated moribund economy and the new ones exist when we have literally the worlds best economy, I woudl hesitate to suggest that the new scales are wrong. given how good our economy is in regards to the rest of the world we would be stupid to make major changes without good reason.

BUT THE BIGGIE IS STILL THIS: if we can afford  the current scales - and we can - why would we increase income taxes at all? why reduce peoples standard of living just for the hell of it?

Equitist

Reply #8 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:41pm

freediver wrote on Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:07pm:
I, for one, am concerned about the increasingly-regressive nature of our taxation system on individuals and families

Are you sure it is actually getting more regressive? Goods taxes are not new. Historically there have been a lot of them. Also, government spending is trending more 'progressive'. You cannot look at income tax alone. You have to look at the whole package. Your table also brushes over inflation. It would be more meanigful to quote the % of people in each bracket.

Geeze, FD, you don't ask for much...LOL

I really wish I could readily find the stats on the relative proportions of people in each tax bracket over time - but I suspect that our pollies have strongly vested interests in making such difficult to find...

For starters, I know for a fact, that the 'Median Income' of Aussie Adults has been slipping further and further below the headline 'Average (Full-Time) Wage' - it is currently remarkably close to the Minimum Wage - but we rarely hear of that figure from our pollies because it highlights the rapidly-growing inequality in our society and economy...

Yup, about 50% of all Aussie adults have annual incomes of the Minimum Full-Time Wage or less - FACT!

Clearly, that is not enough to them to live on, much less provide for their own retirement!

Curiously, tho': the Howard Govt (and probably the Labs since) always made its submissions to the annual Minimum Wage case based on the Median Wage rather than the headline Average (Full-Time) Wage...

Similarly, the determination of Child Support payments has revolved around Median and not the Average wage...

So, do you not find it strange, that we don't routinely hear the headline Median Income and Median Wage as well as the Minimum Wage and Average Wage!?

I digress...again...

Even allowing for inflation and welfare transfers, I am certain that our entire system has become far more regressive over the past quarter century - and that's without the various new and effectively-exclusive WEALTHfare payments introduced over the last decade in particular...

There have been a number of commentators (with different perspectives from all sides of politics) who have highlighted these regressive trends, in the past few years - including in recent weeks. I shall try to dig some of their articles up...

Reply #9 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:47pm

||Yup, about 50% of all Aussie adults have annual incomes of the Minimum Full-Time Wage or less - FACT! ||

actually that is utter garbage. income is still distributed as a bell graph

Reply #10 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:48pm

Equitist wrote on Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:41pm:
freediver wrote on Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:07pm:

Geeze, FD, you don't ask for much...LOL

I really wish I could readily find the stats on the relative proportions of people in each tax bracket over time - but I suspect that our pollies have strongly vested interests in making such difficult to find...

For starters, I know for a fact, that the 'Median Income' of Aussie Adults has been slipping further and further below the headline 'Average (Full-Time) Wage' - it is currently remarkably close to the Minimum Wage - but we rarely hear of that figure from our pollies because it highlights the rapidly-growing inequality in our society and economy...

Yup, about 50% of all Aussie adults have annual incomes of the Minimum Full-Time Wage or less - FACT!

Clearly, that is not enough to them to live on, much less provide for their own retirement!

Curiously, tho': the Howard Govt (and probably the Labs since) always made its submissions to the annual Minimum Wage case based on the Median Wage rather than the headline Average (Full-Time) Wage...

Similarly, the determination of Child Support payments has revolved around Median and not the Average wage...

So, do you not find it strange, that we don't routinely hear the headline Median Income and Median Wage as well as the Minimum Wage and Average Wage!?

I digress...again...

Even allowing for inflation and welfare transfers, I am certain that our entire system has become far more regressive over the past quarter century - and that's without the various new and effectively-exclusive WEALTHfare payments introduced over the last decade in particular...

There have been a number of commentators (with different perspectives from all sides of politics) who have highlighted these regressive trends, in the past few years - including in recent weeks. I shall try to dig some of their articles up...

and not a supported fact in sight...

Reply #11 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:58pm

||I really wish I could readily find the stats on the relative proportions of people in each tax bracket over time - but I suspect that our pollies have strongly vested interests in making such difficult to find...||

nothing like a good paranoid conspiracy to keep you warm at night.

Equitist

Reply #12 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:59pm

longweekend58 wrote on Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:51pm:
Equitist wrote on Jul 24th, 2010 at 5:25pm:

and those bad precedents woudl be...

1) lower taxes
2) higher welfare
3) no debt
4) deficit

5) increased savings for retirement

and your problem with these is what? since we can manifestly afford them what is your problem - other than an ideological attachment to high taxes and punishment for high earners?

Crikey, Longy, don't let your fellow Libs catch you dogmatically denying that we have major, unprecedented, catastrophic, urgent and life-threatening Federal Govt Debt and Deficit problems!

And, no, I am not about punishing high income earners - rather I am concerned about the risks and opportunity costs of fiscally, socially and environmentally reckless policies.

Notably, since the turn of the century (in particular), our progressive tax and transfer systems have been stealthfully bastardised, by dogmatic and elitist short-term-thinkers - for the benefit of the very same elite few, whose income and wealth levels also benefitted disproportionately from the most recent extended boom.

Moreover, this has been at the expense of both the living standards of the majority of Australians and the ongoing conservation of our environment and the maintenance and upgrading of First World essential services and infrastructure.

Given the looming intergenerational and environmental crises, and associated budget strains, I believe we need to restore a semblance of scoio-economic equity and fiscal and environmental responsibility to our national budget.

Clearly, Longy, and despite your petty protests, you appreciate that such can and should be done without widespread pain - purely by restoring personal taxation levels closer to where they ought to have been left in the first instance...

Reply #13 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 7:00pm

||Curiously, tho': the Howard Govt (and probably the Labs since) always made its submissions to the annual Minimum Wage case based on the Median Wage rather than the headline Average (Full-Time) Wage...

||

yet you are the same person that trumpets the supremacy of median over mean... but apparently your convictions are flexible depending on circumstances...

Equitist

Reply #14 - Jul 24th, 2010 at 7:02pm

longweekend58 wrote on Jul 24th, 2010 at 6:47pm:
||Yup, about 50% of all Aussie adults have annual incomes of the Minimum Full-Time Wage or less - FACT! ||

actually that is utter garbage. income is still distributed as a bell graph

That is either a lie or an assumption - so I challenge you to prove it if you can!

As for your false claims about the absence of facts - ye and me both know that I have provided them on Yahoo previously and that I can and will find present same here in due course...

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7