Re: BaillieuWatch
Reply #1470 - May 6th, 2011 at 12:54pm

Baillieu Government in another train times debacle

May 6, 2011

RAILWAY stations in Melbourne's east will lose up to 10 morning peak-hour services each weekday, according to a Metro report outlining the biggest change to timetables in a decade.

Metro's ''passenger impact statement'' was handed to the Baillieu government in March, and remained confidential until yesterday.

The report nominates ''winners'' and ''losers'' in the new timetable, which begins on Sunday and introduces 127 extra services each weekday.

Many will benefit from the changes, but the report also shows that Laburnum and Camberwell stations will get 10 fewer trains to the city between 7.30am and 9am, with more express services not stopping.

Glenferrie will also have fewer services to the CBD stopping between 7.30am and 9am, while East Richmond will get 17 fewer trains to the city between 7.30am and 11am, also as a result of more express services.

The government's public relations campaign spruiking the timetable gained momentum last night, with marketing agency Metlink saying commuters would benefit.

But the reality outlined in the impact statement, released after a request in Parliament from Greens MP Greg Barber, shows a different outcome for many.

Some passengers will be happy, while others may be frustrated.

The report shows that Metro wants the government to pay it $6.6 million more a year to provide the extra services.

Mr Barber made his request to Parliament for the document on March 23, the day after it was given to the Department of Transport. But it was released only yesterday - just three days before the timetable change.

Mr Barber said the timetable would slow some services, and disadvantage thousands of commuters.

''And then it pays over $6½ million extra to the operator,'' he said. ''Now we know why they've been sitting on this report till the last minute.''

A copy of the eight-page document has been placed on The Age website. It explains clearly the effect the changes will have on Melbourne's 15 rail lines, even nominating winners and losers.

Residents in the area surrounding Laburnum station are clear ''losers'', and have this week been campaigning against the change. One resident, Peter Harry, said it was extraordinary the station would get a worse service when rail services had been such a huge election issue.

Liberal MP Dee Ryall won the seat of Mitcham off Labor's Tony Robinson, and agreed that frustration over public transport was a key issue. She said last night she was aware of the dissatisfaction.

''There is a reduction [in train services at Laburnum], but … we have to look at the future and how can we improve the problems on that line if we don't deal with the fundamental problems?'' Ms Ryall said.

Since The Age reported in January that Metro had applied to the government to make major changes to the timetable, protests with up to 500 people have occurred in Altona. Passengers there will also have a reduced service and will often have to change at Newport.

Public Transport Users Association president Daniel Bowen said the Metro impact statement clearly and honestly laid out the winners and losers, and should have been released long ago.

Transport Minister Terry Mulder confirmed he had signed off on the changes after seeing the impact statement. But he argued his hands were tied because it was part of Metro's contract, signed by the previous government Labor's fault.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/stations-to-lose-peak-services-20110505-1eai1....

Reply #1471 - May 6th, 2011 at 1:29pm

buzzanddidj wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 12:42pm:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 12:36pm:
There is a cut in place in effect from July 1, 2011 you idiot.

July 2011 - 20%
Jan 2013 - 30%
Jan 2014 - 40%
Jul 2014 - 50%

2014 is the LAST additional cut.

Where was Brumby's cut?
Fking useless old hack he and his Government were.

He WOULDN'T have given YOU any cut though, WOULD he, after July 1 ?

I DO like the way it is financed, though

Not the point being made.
What about all the middle to lower incomes who were buying a house and being ripped off by Brumby?

Where was their cut???

Nowhere.

An appallingly, divisive Government.

Reply #1472 - May 6th, 2011 at 1:43pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 1:29pm:
buzzanddidj wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 12:42pm:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 12:36pm:
There is a cut in place in effect from July 1, 2011 you idiot.

July 2011 - 20%
Jan 2013 - 30%
Jan 2014 - 40%
Jul 2014 - 50%

2014 is the LAST additional cut.

Where was Brumby's cut?
Fking useless old hack he and his Government were.

He WOULDN'T have given YOU any cut though, WOULD he, after July 1 ?

I DO like the way it is financed, though

Not the point being made.

It's EXACTLY the "point being made"

YOUR complaint about stamp duty has ALWAYS been about
the amount YOU paid

Never about how much was paid by the western suburbs "bogans" - as you would put it

Reply #1473 - May 6th, 2011 at 1:46pm

You haven't answered - where in any of the years he was in charge did Brumby make cuts to the appalling level of stamp duty in Victoria?

Hundreds of millions of dollars his Government amassed from people buying houses.
What did his Government do in that transaction to warrant taking that amount of money?

Nothing.

How much did he cut? Nothing.

How much did he then WASTE on failures of projects? Millions.

Stop defending the Brumby Government.

Reply #1474 - May 6th, 2011 at 2:10pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 1:46pm:
You haven't answered - where in any of the years he was in charge did Brumby make cuts to the appalling level of stamp duty in Victoria?

If revenue is not raised in ONE way - it will be raised in ANOTHER

The fact that
Lord Baillieu
has covered this CUT - with
INCREASES on OTHER taxes
- is testament to this

He is banking on INCREASED speed camera revenue, as an example, on the realisation of running Australia's flagship state

Neither Brumby, nor Bracks, INTRODUCED - or raised the RATE of stamp duty

Stamp duty is ALSO a deterrent to real estate speculation - holding prices DOWN

Why didn't he cut PAYROLL tax, instead - creating employment ?

Reply #1475 - May 8th, 2011 at 8:43am

Liberal MP outrages gay constituent with child molester analogy

Michael Bachelard
May 8, 2011

ONE of Premier Ted Baillieu's newly elected MPs, Geoff Shaw, has deeply offended a young gay man by suggesting that his desire to love who he wanted was as illegitimate as a dangerous driver wanting to speed or a child molester wanting to molest.

Mr Shaw, the member for Frankston, is active in his pentecostal church, Peninsula City. In his maiden speech to Parliament, Mr Shaw acknowledged ''the original owner of the land on which we stand - God, the Creator, the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, the God of the Bible''.

In early April, tertiary student Jakob Quilligan emailed Mr Shaw, his local member, to object to the government's new anti-discrimination legislation.

The legislation, tabled last week, will renew the exemption that religious organisations have to discriminate on grounds of religion, sexuality, marital status and gender, even in their commercial businesses, hospitals and schools.

In his letter, Mr Quilligan told Mr Shaw that churches should not be allowed to ''impose their beliefs on others … in non-religious/mainstream or secular settings''.

''I'm 20 in a week. I'm able to vote. I want to work, live and love freely during the course of my life, and I want to do that without thinking that I can't,'' he wrote.

Mr Shaw replied the same day, quoting Mr Quilligan's line back at him and adding: ''What if I loved driving 150kms per hour in residential areas?

''What if there was a convicted sex offender who stated that, or a child molester? Can they still do what they want? Under your statement the answer is yes.

What if one wanted to get drunk, take drugs, steal and murder? What if one loved this? Can they also do what they want without thinking that they can't?

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/mp-outrages-gay-constituent-with-child-moleste...

Reply #1476 - May 8th, 2011 at 9:05am

I am not sure I would equate gays with molestors, but they are definitely not normal.

Reply #1477 - May 8th, 2011 at 9:33am

ONE moment of DECENCY ...

MUSLIM women who choose to wear the face-covering burqa should be entitled to do as they pleased, says Victoria's multicultural affairs minister.

Nick Kotsiras has also praised the Sudanese community which has come under scrutiny in the aftermath of outbreaks of street brawling after a beauty pageant last month.

''We have not got a Sudanese problem in Australia - or in Melbourne. There are 8000 Sudanese living in Victoria, the vast majority are hard-working, law-abiding citizens '' he told The Age

In a spirited defence of cultural diversity, Mr Kotsiras said isolated incidents of violence were not an example of social disharmony brought on by the latest arrivals from Africa. And while those who broke the law should be punished, ''you cannot say it's all the community's fault''.

Weighing into the international debate on banning burqas, taken up by some of his federal Coalition colleagues, Mr Kotsiras said: ''If a person wishes to wear the burqa, then they should be allowed to wear the burqa. I don't believe that someone should be forced to wear any particular item of clothing, but that's across all cultures. If someone wants to wear [a burqa], I can't see what the problem is.''

Mr Kotsiras, who arrived here as a child migrant from Greece in the early 1960s with no English, acknowledged that all new waves of settlers to Australia faced challenges relating to issues such as jobs and youth.

But he hoped an initiative in the state budget for a new unit in the Premier's Department to help co-ordinate policies for new refugees and migrants in local, state and federal governments would identify service gaps.

''We open our arms to new migrants but now it is about helping them resettle in a new country,'' said Mr Kotsiras, who is also the Minister for Citizenship.

A tendency for new arrivals to congregate in certain suburbs such as Dandenong or St Albans should not be characterised as creating ''ethnic ghettos'', Mr Kotsiras said.

''That's an appalling term,'' he said. ''There is absolutely no such thing as ghettos; people will live where they've got friends, where they've got jobs, where they've got a support base.''

Mr Kotsiras cited his own experience arriving with his family: ''We went to Fitzroy because of the support base … and relatives. Where else would you expect us to go and live?''

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/minister-buys-into-debate-on-burqas-20110505-1...

Reply #1478 - May 8th, 2011 at 6:47pm

Ted "sinks" Australian Synchrotron

May 8, 2011

JOHN Brumby's pet project, the $200 million Australian Synchrotron, could be shut down next year after the Baillieu government failed to commit to ongoing funding of the research facility at the centre of Melbourne's thriving scientific community.

The Sunday Age understands the synchrotron's board has made contingency plans for its closure, with funds due to run out in June next year - just five years after it opened.

Last week's state budget gave no extra funds to the facility, which supports the work of 2500 scientists, has 120 highly skilled staff and is producing scientific discoveries of world importance.

''There's a great sense of unease in the community,'' said one synchrotron scientist. ''People are just holding their heads in their hands.''

Innovation Minister Louise Asher, who for years criticised the former Labor government over the synchrotron's delays and cost blowouts, has now refused to guarantee its future.

''I understand its scientific value, but it will have to go through the budget and expenditure review committee process,'' Ms Asher said.

But federal Innovation Minister Kim Carr believes this process, which winds up early next year, will come too late to save the synchrotron. He warned the Baillieu government it was risking the state's international reputation as a research and innovation hub.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/synchrotron-sinking-as-baillieu-pulls-plug-201...

Monash welcomes a bright new era in Synchrotron research
31 July 2007

Monash University today welcomed a new era in scientific research with the official opening of the Australian Synchrotron by Victorian Premier John Brumby.

Monash University is a founding member of the Australian Synchrotron, which is adjacent to the University's Clayton campus in Melbourne.

Centre for Synchrotron Science Director, Professor Rob Lewis said the formation of the Monash Centre for Synchrotron Science is another chapter in the University's almost 50-year track record of scientific advancement, which includes innovations in IVF, drug design and stem cell research.

"The creation of the Synchrotron Science Centre means Monash is taking a pro-active position in Australia's development of synchrotron science and in the application of the synchrotron to many research fields," Professor Lewis said.

"Our scientists are well placed to take a lead in many of the scientific, health and environmental issues facing our community."

The Centre unites elite Monash experts from a diverse range of disciplines and faculties, and is dedicated to finding new uses and approaches of Synchrotron science to the challenges facing our community.

The centre:

•provides advice and assistance to researchers;
•develops platform technologies;
•engages in education programs across the university; and
•funds research fellowships and student scholarships.
Monash University researchers are guaranteed a minimum 1,500 hours access to the facility's beam lines each year. Instead of travelling to overseas facilities, they can use world-class technology at their door.

Monash synchrotron research includes fields ranging from x-ray crystallography and medical imaging, to materials science and nanotechnology.

Monash University is Australia's largest and most internationally focused university. Next year celebrating its 50th anniversary, Monash University was recently ranked at number 38 in the world in the 2006 Times Higher Education supplement.

http://www.eng.monash.edu.au/news/shownews.php?year=2007&nid=24

Reply #1479 - May 10th, 2011 at 1:48am

State budget: no money for helipad, despite pre-election promise

BY KIM QUINLAN
04 May, 2011 09:20 AM

ADVOCATES of a helipad for Ballarat have criticised the Coalition government for failing to commit to the project in yesterday’s state budget.
The Coalition had promised $2 million for the project in the lead-up to last year’s state election, but failed to include that funding in its first budget since being elected last November

HELP  (Hospitals Emergency Landing Pad) member Wayne Rigg said
the Ballarat community should feel betrayed
by the lack of immediate funding.

“We have been let down in a big way. A promise was made to us, as a group, and to Ballarat for $2 million for the project, and now we have nothing. It’s an absolute crock to have one line in the budget saying a helipad will be funded in the future. What does that even mean? It’s like the Gold Coast Suns saying that one year in the future they may win an AFL grand final,” Mr Rigg said.

“I will go to the first working group meeting. We may take two months to come up with our recommendations, but are we then going to sit around and twiddle our thumbs for the next 10 months waiting for funding in the next state budget?

“No matter how you want to say it, the Coalition has not honoured its promise. We are no better off than before the election ... we’re getting nothing.”

Ballarat West MLA Sharon Knight believes
the Coalition Government is treated Ballarat with contempt
by not allocating funds for a helipad.
“This is a breach of trust and is essentially putting people’s lives at risk,”
Ms Knight said.

http://www.thecourier.com.au/news/local/news/general/state-budget-no-money-for-h...

Reply #1480 - May 10th, 2011 at 11:06am

State's prayer: '
make us stop living off debt
- but not yet'

May 9, 2011

It was the young St Augustine who prayed: ''Lord, make me chaste - but not yet.'' Last week he was joined in the pews by the young Baillieu government.

After denouncing the Brumby government for taking on new debt to build infrastructure, Team Ted's first budget did just the same. It increased spending, cut taxes, and paid for it by
almost trebling the state's debt from $8 billion in mid-2010 to a projected $23 billion in mid-2015

It pledged to stabilise the debt in a few years' time - but now at
$23 billion,
rather than the
$16 billion
Labor promised last year

That it chose to keep its promises tells us something about Baillieu. But that it
put off tackling the debt - indeed, allowed it to treble
- also tells us that his rhetoric about
the ''ruinous'' fiscal position left by Labor is just rhetoric.

The Brumby government had serious flaws, but its handling of state finances was responsible, as the state's
AAA credit rating
testifies.

But now the focus switches to what comes next. And that could be very different.

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/politics/states-prayer-make-us-stop-living-off-deb...

« Last Edit: May 10th, 2011 at 11:18am by buzzanddidj »  

Reply #1481 - May 11th, 2011 at 1:41pm

Federal budget: Ballarat gets $8 million filling

BY TOM MCILROY
11 May, 2011 12:58 AM

WAITING lists for dental and health care services in Ballarat are expected to fall, under new promises for the city in yesterday’s federal budget.
In bringing down the first budget of the Gillard government last night,
Treasurer Wayne Swan committed $19.94 million to expand and modernise Ballarat Health Services’ dental clinic and provide a purpose-built primary health care facility for Ballarat Community Health.

The estimated current waiting time of 29 months for dental treatment is expected to be reduced by a doubling of chairs at the Ballarat Dental Clinic following the commitment of $8.34 million to the service.

The expanded clinic, which will be operational by June 2013, will have 10 dedicated chairs for teaching of undergraduate dentists, oral health therapists and dental technicians.

Increased care is also expected to reduce the number of hospitalisations which occur as a result of poor dental health

http://www.thecourier.com.au/news/local/news/general/federal-budget-ballarat-get...

Ballarat Community Health also received substantial commitments in the budget, with
$13.6 million for the new purpose-built primary care facility.
The commitment will benefit core services, including allied health, alcohol and drug support, mental health support and youth services.

The new facility will see an increase in the number of GPs and practice nurses and will allow for a continuation of satellite services to other sites. Work on the centre will begin once the funding agreement is finalised, and is expected to be completed by February

Some
GOOD NEWS
- after the Baillieu Government "bailled" on their election pledge to build a helipad for Ballarat Hospital

A helipad would SAVE LIVES
Another "review" - WON'T

Reply #1482 - May 11th, 2011 at 1:45pm

Historical.

We are on the verge of a 100 page tantrum of an election result that someone didn't like.

Whoever said queers weren't precious?

Verge

Reply #1483 - May 11th, 2011 at 2:32pm

Your tantrum is getting a bit sad dont you think Buzz.

You have failed to recognise anything the Libs have done, and believe the ALP could have done nothing wrong.

Its getting boring mate.  You have no idea how you sit in a chair without arms, you are so biased you would fall off to the left immediatley after sitting down.

Balance is not your strong point is it.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Verge

Reply #1484 - May 11th, 2011 at 2:35pm

buzzanddidj wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 12:54pm:
Baillieu Government in another train times debacle

May 6, 2011

RAILWAY stations in Melbourne's east will lose up to 10 morning peak-hour services each weekday, according to a Metro report outlining the biggest change to timetables in a decade.

Metro's ''passenger impact statement'' was handed to the Baillieu government in March, and remained confidential until yesterday.

The report nominates ''winners'' and ''losers'' in the new timetable, which begins on Sunday and introduces 127 extra services each weekday.

Many will benefit from the changes, but the report also shows that Laburnum and Camberwell stations will get 10 fewer trains to the city between 7.30am and 9am, with more express services not stopping.

Glenferrie will also have fewer services to the CBD stopping between 7.30am and 9am, while East Richmond will get 17 fewer trains to the city between 7.30am and 11am, also as a result of more express services.

The government's public relations campaign spruiking the timetable gained momentum last night, with marketing agency Metlink saying commuters would benefit.

But the reality outlined in the impact statement, released after a request in Parliament from Greens MP Greg Barber, shows a different outcome for many.

Some passengers will be happy, while others may be frustrated.

The report shows that Metro wants the government to pay it $6.6 million more a year to provide the extra services.

Mr Barber made his request to Parliament for the document on March 23, the day after it was given to the Department of Transport. But it was released only yesterday - just three days before the timetable change.

Mr Barber said the timetable would slow some services, and disadvantage thousands of commuters.

''And then it pays over $6½ million extra to the operator,'' he said. ''Now we know why they've been sitting on this report till the last minute.''

A copy of the eight-page document has been placed on The Age website. It explains clearly the effect the changes will have on Melbourne's 15 rail lines, even nominating winners and losers.

Residents in the area surrounding Laburnum station are clear ''losers'', and have this week been campaigning against the change. One resident, Peter Harry, said it was extraordinary the station would get a worse service when rail services had been such a huge election issue.

Liberal MP Dee Ryall won the seat of Mitcham off Labor's Tony Robinson, and agreed that frustration over public transport was a key issue. She said last night she was aware of the dissatisfaction.

''There is a reduction [in train services at Laburnum], but … we have to look at the future and how can we improve the problems on that line if we don't deal with the fundamental problems?'' Ms Ryall said.

Since The Age reported in January that Metro had applied to the government to make major changes to the timetable, protests with up to 500 people have occurred in Altona. Passengers there will also have a reduced service and will often have to change at Newport.

Public Transport Users Association president Daniel Bowen said the Metro impact statement clearly and honestly laid out the winners and losers, and should have been released long ago.

Transport Minister Terry Mulder confirmed he had signed off on the changes after seeing the impact statement. But he argued his hands were tied because it was part of Metro's contract, signed by the previous government Labor's fault.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/stations-to-lose-peak-services-20110505-1eai1....

Noticed how this was missed;
"The report nominates ''winners'' and ''losers'' in the new timetable, which begins on Sunday and introduces 127 extra services each weekday."

Real balanced highlighting from Buzz and balanced reporting from the Age.

They focused on 10 cuts, and not the 127 EXTRA services.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Pages: 1 ... 97 98 99 100 101 ... 134