What Now Labor (Read 3107 times)
____

What Now Labor
Dec 17th, 2010 at 7:15am

Well it had been one of those wild ride years for Labor, I think this is something we all can agree on.

So what now.

Labor's two internal wings are in a major battle for control of the party. The Right Wing has been in control for so long, yet the rise of The Greens has given power to Labor's left.

What path should Labor take

Lurch to the Right and empower Greens
Lurch to the Left and empower the Neo Cons in the Liberal Party
or the third option, split.

Should a party form from Labor that is close to centre ... those to the right work the small l Liberals ... those to the left, work with the Greens so giving us 3 distinct political groups

Greens and Labor Left
Ex right wing Labor and Ex Liberals (small l)
Neo Cons and Nationals

Labor, same old same old will end up ripping itself apart.
If Labor revolutionises itself by splitting and reforming, the ramifications will likely be the splitting of the Liberals also.

If Labor doesn't, then the death of the party is a real scenario.

vegitamite

Re: What Now Labor
Reply #1 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 8:27am

Labor's two internal wings are in a major battle for control of the party. The Right Wing has been in control for so long, yet the rise of The Greens has given power to Labor's left.

-------------------------------------------------

Since the outting of Rudd I am watching Labor much more closely. I still prefer many of  the Labor  ministers over most of the  Liberal  ministers that we see reguraly.

However Arbib and a few others need close watching. The good thing I think is they are more up front. Than those 'faceless'  men behind the Liberal Party.

Reply #2 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 9:02am

greens_lose - the alp is fated, its days are numbered

____

Reply #3 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 9:15am

In it's present form, for sure.

Yet from any ashes rises a new phoenix.

I would be very surprised if Labor's right wing and Liberals small l's have not had some kind of informal talks already.

If not, why not. This combination would be more powerful together than apart in this new political paradigm.

James Bluntus

Reply #4 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 1:28pm

____ wrote on Dec 17th, 2010 at 7:15am:
Well it had been one of those wild ride years for Labor, I think this is something we all can agree on.

So what now.

Should a party form from Labor that is close to centre ... those to the right work the small l Liberals ... those to the left, work with the Greens so giving us 3 distinct political groups

Greens and Labor Left
Neo Cons and Nationals

If Labor revolutionises itself by splitting and reforming, the ramifications will likely be the splitting of the Liberals also.

Yes. Centre Unity has been in control for too long. The Terrigals have too much power in NSW. Centre Unity also has too much power within Young Labor up here on the coast. In my opinion, Labor Left should regain control and that all starts in Young Labor. The left had control for YEARS in Young Labor and they had control of the Senior party. When Tripodi and Reba Meagher came a long, they took over control of Young Labor for the right and thus got control of the senior party.
Incorrect, the Left has not got control of the party. Julia is from the left, but her leadership is very unstable. Once the right decide to pull the pin on her leadership, she's gone. As you saw with Rudd. He had no factional allies. He had the backing of the Right members in the caucus and when they decided that he was detrimental to the right's cause, they installed Julia.

You also saw this with Nathan Rees. He had the backing of the right. Once he dumped McDonald and Tripodi, goodbye Rees.

I'm active in YLL and one of the most agreed upon subjects is to get back control and reform the party. This is what needs to happen!

Keep David Harris for Wyong. He gets things done.

Reply #5 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 1:50pm

So what now.

Greens and Labor Left
Neo Cons and Nationals

do you train for it or is it a natural skill to be so completely and hopelessly wrong about virutally every political scenario? IM not sure if you are a troll or an idiot. either way your value to serious debate is still zero.

____

Reply #6 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 1:51pm

I didn't say the Left controlled the party, I implied the growth in Greens' support has tipped the balance.

The issues being to the fore via The Greens are more inline with Left Labor, not conservative Right Labor.

____

Reply #7 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 1:53pm

longweekend58 wrote on Dec 17th, 2010 at 1:50pm:

So what now.

Greens and Labor Left
Neo Cons and Nationals

do you train for it or is it a natural skill to be so completely and hopelessly wrong about virutally every political scenario? IM not sure if you are a troll or an idiot. either way your value to serious debate is still zero.

Yet I have the ability to get your goat up old man.

On this note, you have made my weekend.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #8 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:03pm

To be honest, I dont care if the Labor Party or the Coalition are in power, they are carbon copies of each other and both of them are to busy playing politics by pandering to the lowest common denominator instead of governing.
The two best leaders they can find is Gillard and Abbott?..That should tell us how pathetic and broken down they are  Smiley

Go the Bunnies

Reply #9 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:22pm

adelcrow wrote on Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:03pm:
To be honest, I dont care if the Labor Party or the Coalition are in power, they are carbon copies of each other and both of them are to busy playing politics by pandering to the lowest common denominator instead of governing.
The two best leaders they can find is Gillard and Abbott?..That should tell us how pathetic and broken down they are  Smiley

I defy you to define Gillard's 'leadership'. as far as I can tell, the nearest thing this sham of a government has as a leader is Adam Bandt.

this is a pathetic excuse of a govt.

codswal

Reply #10 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:28pm

longy you should know by now this is woodies little tricks.. if he isnt starting a PANIC..he is pushing people buttons.. dont you remember about 12 months or more ago he was making the same statements about the Libs.. with Turnbull snd Nelson.."" they are falling apart.. goodbye Libs.."".. he a joke but he probably gets his orders from booby..ooops bobby to go out there and STIR.. what else is there for them to do?

Reply #11 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:32pm

I defy you to define Abbotts 'leadership'. as far as I can tell, the nearest thing this sham of an opposition has as a leader is Bob Katter.

this is a pathetic excuse of an opposition.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #12 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:45pm

Im going to start a "BRING BACK COSTELLO AND KEATING" campaign.
Gillard is just as gutless as Rudd was and Abbott is nuttier than Bob Katter..surely this country deserves better.
Swann is just as gutless as Gillard and I hate to say it but one of my favourite pollies, Joe Hockey should give up being the Shadow Treasurer and take up another gig.
Between both parties they are going to ruin one of our greatest strengths..our banking system. Gee.. when the bubble bursts lets make sure we have a weak banking system! And why? To grab the votes of a few idiots who dont know how to run their own finances.
Costello and Keating were brave enough and smart enough to do the right thing no matter how much political flack they endured through the process.

Go the Bunnies

Reply #13 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:53pm

adelcrow wrote on Dec 17th, 2010 at 3:45pm:
Im going to start a "BRING BACK COSTELLO AND KEATING" campaign.
Gillard is just as gutless as Rudd was and Abbott is nuttier than Bob Katter..surely this country deserves better.
Swann is just as gutless as Gillard and I hate to say it but one of my favourite pollies, Joe Hockey should give up being the Shadow Treasurer and take up another gig.
Between both parties they are going to ruin one of our greatest strengths..our banking system. Gee.. when the bubble bursts lets make sure we have a weak banking system! And why? To grab the votes of a few idiots who dont know how to run their own finances.
Costello and Keating were brave enough and smart enough to do the right thing no matter how much political flack they endured through the process.

I have to agree, Gillard needs to make her mark, so far she has been mediocre to say the least.
Abbott is a disaster and would lurch this country so far to the right we may never recover from his damage. I've always liked hockey, but I suspect he's another Beasley, most people like him but he;s not PM material.
I think the best person in parliament atm to be PM is Turnbull, the question is -do the Libs really want to govern? because if they do, Turnbull is the only one from either side with the nouse to pull off what this country needs.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #14 - Dec 17th, 2010 at 4:16pm

I reckon Turnbull would be a great asset for the Greens but he is wasted in a Coalition that has burrowed itself so deep up the clacker of the Neo Nationalist movement that it needs a Landcruiser winch to extract itself.
The Coalition should be honest and merge into one party and call themselves the
"Against Everything and Will Say and do Anything for a Whinging Bogan Vote Party"

Go the Bunnies