Stop Men
Re: GILLARDS FLOOD LEVY
Reply #270 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 6:30pm

cods wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 5:53pm:
Equitist wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 5:09pm:
cods wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 5:03pm:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 1:28pm:
Please delete wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 1:24pm:
And the least likely to get any form of action ....

Not into passive aggression.

yet you state you are not into personal attacks - yet have failed on that front on numerous occasions no?

Plus for some bizarre reason you seem to feel the need (along with smithy too) to go into bat for vegi as well?

hey andrei we had a discussion on whether USA govt has a disaster fund .. or whether they have a levy everytime a tornado rips through the place..

how do the people over there carry on after all is lost??

would you be able to insure your home if you lived in a tornado prone zone?

From most accounts I've read, the disaster response was absolutely woeful in the wake of Katrina - it has been suggested that this was because the worst affected demographic (poor and predominantly non-white people) didn't rate high on the list of priorities for the Bush Administration...

yes nem I think most of us remember that and it was shameful however I am talking about money.... where do they get the money to fix up the country after such devastation???...

I tell you another shamful place is Haiti.. can you imagine us putting up with that 12 months after the quake?..how can this be I dont understand it.they are still in squaller and rubble and no hope..hell in other words.

My bet is Julia, Kevin, Bob and Anna will put another levy on the Queensland cyclone victims to bail out the racist corporate elites economy, and to steal from genuine aid and relief donations intended for victims for the racial elites. Cool

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

Reply #271 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 8:26pm

Federal Opposition Leader Tony Abbott has sent an email encouraging people to donate money to the Liberal Party's campaign against the Government's proposed flood levy.

The Government plans to introduce the one-off levy for people earning more than $50,000 a year to help pay for the flood recovery. Flood victims and low-income earners will be exempt from the levy.

In the message to supporters, Mr Abbott outlines his opposition to the levy and says it defies credibility that the Government cannot find the money through budget cuts.

Mr Abbott's email against the levy provides a link to the Liberal Party's website where donations can be made.

A spokesman for Mr Abbott says the link was added by the Liberal Party headquarters.

In the email, Mr Abbott says the Government should not impose the levy to repay for infrastructure damaged by the floods.

"The Coalition is committed to doing everything necessary to get the infrastructure of Queensland, northern NSW and northern Victoria operational again. But we disagree with the Government on how to pay for it," the email said.

"We believe the costs for repairing and rebuilding infrastructure damaged and destroyed by the floods should come from budget savings, not from a new tax."

The email finishes with a line encouragaing donations: "PS Click to donate to help our campaign against Labor's flood tax".

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2011/02/02/3128336.htm

What kind of idiot would rather donate to the Liberal Party to fight against paying a levy to help their fellow Australians, than pay a levy to help their fellow Australians?

The kind of idiot who Tony Abbott represents, apparently

I suppose I’d be more surprised by that if the Liberal Party support base wasn’t filled with people who’d pay an accountant $2000 to save them $1000 in tax.

These are people with really warped priorities.

http://anonymouslefty.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/a-worthy-cause/

« Last Edit: Feb 2nd, 2011 at 8:36pm by buzzanddidj »  

Reply #272 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 9:02pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 8:26pm:
Federal Opposition Leader Tony Abbott has sent an email encouraging people to donate money to the Liberal Party's campaign against the Government's proposed flood levy.

The Government plans to introduce the one-off levy for people earning more than $50,000 a year to help pay for the flood recovery. Flood victims and low-income earners will be exempt from the levy.

In the message to supporters, Mr Abbott outlines his opposition to the levy and says it defies credibility that the Government cannot find the money through budget cuts.

Mr Abbott's email against the levy provides a link to the Liberal Party's website where donations can be made.

A spokesman for Mr Abbott says the link was added by the Liberal Party headquarters.

In the email, Mr Abbott says the Government should not impose the levy to repay for infrastructure damaged by the floods.

"The Coalition is committed to doing everything necessary to get the infrastructure of Queensland, northern NSW and northern Victoria operational again. But we disagree with the Government on how to pay for it," the email said.

"We believe the costs for repairing and rebuilding infrastructure damaged and destroyed by the floods should come from budget savings, not from a new tax."

The email finishes with a line encouragaing donations: "PS Click to donate to help our campaign against Labor's flood tax".

http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/201102/r711890_5575290.jpg

What kind of idiot would rather donate to the Liberal Party to fight against paying a levy to help their fellow Australians, than pay a levy to help their fellow Australians?

I suppose I’d be more surprised by that if the Liberal Party support base wasn’t filled with people who’d pay an accountant $2000 to save them $1000 in tax.

you are so right...

lets give it to Judas instead so she can put a Great Big New Tax on everything via her CARBON TAX..whilst she also creams money away from solar panels. what sort of hypocrisy is that I ask you.

and to top it all off now the Greens are agreeing with Abbott and not Judas.. tsk tsk.,. what will you do.Mr Bandt isnt happy not one little bit..

typical of the" lets do it and think about what it means later policies "from the kneejerk party.... now she will have to do more backflips and pleading.. cringe

but its okay keep knocking the Libs..that way you dont have to think about ramifications just like th ALP..

Reply #273 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 9:38pm

Flood levy closer as MP backs bill

17:29 AEST Wed Feb 2 2011

WA Nationals MP Tony Crook has signalled he will vote in favour of the levy in federal parliament.

The levy will raise $1.8 billion to rebuild roads, rail lines and bridges in the wake of this summer's devastating floods.

"I am satisfied that the government's response is adequate and responsible," Mr Crook said in a statement.

He said Prime Minister Julia Gillard had assured him flood-affected residents of Gascoyne in Western Australia would be able to seek exemptions from the levy, and that WA projects would not be delayed.

Ms Gillard is in talks with other independent MPs and the Greens, which will continue next week when parliament resumes.

"I very much thank him for taking that approach ... in circumstances where the flood levy legislation is necessary to finance the rebuilding we will need to see in Queensland and in other parts of the nation," she said.

The prime minister said she had not given any thought to whether the levy should be extended to cover the potential damage from Cyclone Yasi.

"The levy proposal I outlined last week is the government's proposal - that's it," she said.

Ms Gillard met with Tasmanian independent MP Andrew Wilkie in Melbourne on Tuesday night, and plans to meet with him and other independents in Canberra next week.

A spokeswoman for Mr Wilkie said he wanted to be across all the detail of the levy before deciding

Greens leader Bob Brown on Wednesday said government cuts to affordable housing and solar energy schemes were sticking points in the party's talks on the levy.

Senator Brown also held discussions with Ms Gillard on the tax in Melbourne on Tuesday.

He said the Greens were committed to ensuring assistance for flood victims as soon as possible, "but at the same time making sure that the financing of that package doesn't harm other programs if they are worthwhile".

Greens MPs and senators will meet on Monday ahead of the levy bill being introduced on Thursday

Meanwhile a senior international analyst has backed the levy.

"The levy shows the strong fiscal discipline in Australia," said Steven Hess, Moody's Investors Service's top analyst for the US and Australia

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/floods/8205203/gillard-will-discuss-disaster...

Reply #274 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 9:57pm

cods wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 9:02pm:
buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 8:26pm:

http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/201102/r711890_5575290.jpg

you are so right...

lets give it to Judas instead so she can put a Great Big New Tax on everything via her CARBON TAX..whilst she also creams money away from solar panels. what sort of hypocrisy is that I ask you.

and to top it all off now the Greens are agreeing with Abbott and not Judas.. tsk tsk.,. what will you do.Mr Bandt isnt happy not one little bit..

typical of the" lets do it and think about what it means later policies "from the kneejerk party.... now she will have to do more backflips and pleading.. cringe

but its okay keep knocking the Libs..that way you dont have to think about ramifications just like th ALP..

So if the opposition oppose the levy in the senate Queenslanders can go fish.....
donate to the Liberal party of Australia to stop the only means available to help repair the flood damage
.....Either the Coalition will lose the vote in the Senate when key independents back the levy......or the levy will be blocked.....The Abbott should be reminded he is not in government and NEVER WILL BE!!!

Equitist

Reply #275 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 10:25pm

This is the text of Abbott's email - received by me today and time-stamped 2:01PM...

What the hell was he thinking when he sent this in the hours leading up to the impending havoc and devastation of Cyclone Yasi!?

We can do better than Labor’s flood tax

[Picture of Tony Abbott]

The devastation wrecked by the floods across our nation brought out the best of the Australian character.

Family, friends, neighbours and countless benefactors have displayed enormous generosity towards their fellow Australians in trouble.

The task now ahead is to repair and rebuild.

The Coalition is committed to doing everything necessary to get the infrastructure of Queensland, northern NSW and northern Victoria operational again. But we disagree with the Government on how to pay for it.

We believe the costs for repairing and rebuilding infrastructure damaged and destroyed by the floods should come from Budget savings, not from a new tax.

Julia Gillard is trying to pitch her proposed flood tax as a “mateship” tax, but mateship is about helping people, not taxing them.

Only a Prime Minister who is out of her depth would seek to exploit people’s generosity to flood victims to try to win acceptance for yet another new tax. Australian families and businesses should not have to endure yet another new tax on top of the mining tax and the carbon tax that the Gillard Government intends to introduce in 2011.

There is a world of difference between a levy to fund unavoidable extra spending when there is no fat in the Budget and the Gillard Government’s latest raid on people’s wallets.

Julia Gillard oversees a $350 billion national budget. It defies credibility to deny that an extra $1.8 billion in savings cannot be identified in an annual budget of that magnitude.

Projects such as the National Broadband Network could easily be deferred. If it was our decision, it would be scrapped and the taxpayer saved billions of dollars in more government debt. The Government still hasn’t spent around $15 billion of its stimulus money, and there is about $2 billion uncommitted in various funds such as the Building Australia Fund.

The Coalition has offered to sit down with the Prime Minister in the spirit of bipartisanship and in the national interest to come up with the additional $1.8 billion in savings needed to pay what’s necessary without the new tax. Hardworking Australians, struggling to meet their own family budgets, deserve nothing less.

Tony Abbott
Leader of the Opposition

PS. Click to donate to help our campaign against Labor's flood tax

Click to read my address to the 2011 Federal Young Liberal Convention

LIBERAL PARTY OF AUSTRALIA

Authorised by Brian Loughnane for the Liberal Party of Australia
Cnr Blackall & Macquarie Streets, Barton ACT 2600  

Click here to unsubscribe instantly if you do not wish to receive the Liberal Party Newsletter
Click here to update your details - Name, Email Address or Post Code  

What were Loughnane and his minders thinking, when they allowed him to send this!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #276 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 10:42pm

I still say the Nazis are going to use the Floods and the Cyclone to tax the victims and the poor and rake in more revenue for the corporate master race - this is Katrina all over again folks.

Dead Kennedys-kill the poor
Cool

"Kill The Poor"

Efficiency and progress is ours once more
Now that we have the Neutron bomb
It's nice and quick and clean and gets things done
Away with excess enemy
But no less value to property
No sense in war but perfect sense at home:

The sun beams down on a brand new day
No more welfare tax to pay
Unsightly slums gone up in flashing light
Jobless millions whisked away
At last we have more room to play
All systems go to kill the poor tonight

Gonna
Kill kill kill kill Kill the poor:Tonight

Behold the sparkle of champagne
The crime rate's gone
Feel free again
O' life's a dream with you, Miss Lily White
Jane Fonda on the screen today
Convinced the liberals it's okay
So let's get dressed and dance away the night

While they:
Kill kill kill kill Kill the poor:Tonight  Cool

Reply #277 - Feb 2nd, 2011 at 10:53pm

Equitist wrote on Feb 2nd, 2011 at 10:25pm:
This is the text of Abbott's email - received by me today and time-stamped 2:01PM...

What the hell was he thinking when he sent this in the hours leading up to the impending havoc and devastation of Cyclone Yasi!?

We can do better than Labor’s flood tax

[Picture of Tony Abbott]

The devastation wrecked by the floods across our nation brought out the best of the Australian character.

Family, friends, neighbours and countless benefactors have displayed enormous generosity towards their fellow Australians in trouble.

The task now ahead is to repair and rebuild.

The Coalition is committed to doing everything necessary to get the infrastructure of Queensland, northern NSW and northern Victoria operational again. But we disagree with the Government on how to pay for it.

We believe the costs for repairing and rebuilding infrastructure damaged and destroyed by the floods should come from Budget savings, not from a new tax.

Julia Gillard is trying to pitch her proposed flood tax as a “mateship” tax, but mateship is about helping people, not taxing them.

Only a Prime Minister who is out of her depth would seek to exploit people’s generosity to flood victims to try to win acceptance for yet another new tax. Australian families and businesses should not have to endure yet another new tax on top of the mining tax and the carbon tax that the Gillard Government intends to introduce in 2011.

There is a world of difference between a levy to fund unavoidable extra spending when there is no fat in the Budget and the Gillard Government’s latest raid on people’s wallets.

Julia Gillard oversees a $350 billion national budget. It defies credibility to deny that an extra $1.8 billion in savings cannot be identified in an annual budget of that magnitude.

Projects such as the National Broadband Network could easily be deferred. If it was our decision, it would be scrapped and the taxpayer saved billions of dollars in more government debt. The Government still hasn’t spent around $15 billion of its stimulus money, and there is about $2 billion uncommitted in various funds such as the Building Australia Fund.

The Coalition has offered to sit down with the Prime Minister in the spirit of bipartisanship and in the national interest to come up with the additional $1.8 billion in savings needed to pay what’s necessary without the new tax. Hardworking Australians, struggling to meet their own family budgets, deserve nothing less.

Tony Abbott
Leader of the Opposition

PS. Click to donate to help our campaign against Labor's flood tax

Click to read my address to the 2011 Federal Young Liberal Convention

LIBERAL PARTY OF AUSTRALIA

Authorised by Brian Loughnane for the Liberal Party of Australia
Cnr Blackall & Macquarie Streets, Barton ACT 2600  

Click here to unsubscribe instantly if you do not wish to receive the Liberal Party Newsletter
Click here to update your details - Name, Email Address or Post Code  

What were Loughnane and his minders thinking, when they allowed him to send this!?

Glory built on selfish principles is shame and guilt.
William Cowper (1731 - 1800)

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #278 - Feb 3rd, 2011 at 12:10am

The main beneficiaries of Juliars and Annas Flood Levy for infrastructure reconstruction...

... Cool

and

... Cool

Cool

The Dead Kenney's

"Holiday In Cambodia"

So you been to school
For a year or two
And you know you've seen it all
In daddy's car
Thinkin' you'll go far
Back east your type don't crawl

Play ethnicky jazz
To parade your snazz
On your five grand stereo
Braggin' that you know
How the black people feel cold
And the slums got so much soul

It's time to taste what you most fear
Right Guard will not help you here
Brace yourself, my dear:

It's a holiday in Cambodia
It's tough, kid, but it's life
It's a holiday in Cambodia
Don't forget to pack a wife

You're a star-belly sneech
You suck like a leach
You want everyone to act like you
Kiss ass while you bitch
So you can get rich
But your boss gets richer off you

Well you'll work harder
With a gun in your back
For a bowl of rice a day
Slave for soldiers
Till you starve
Then your head is skewered on a stake

Now you can go where people are one
Now you can go where they get things done
What you need, my son:.

Is a holiday in Cambodia
Where people dress in black
A holiday in Cambodia
Where you'll kiss ass or crack

Pol Pot, Pol Pot, Pol Pot, Pol Pot, [etc]

And it's a holiday in Cambodia
Where you'll do what you're told
A holiday in Cambodia
Where the slums got so much soul
Cool

nichy

Reply #279 - Feb 3rd, 2011 at 8:56am

The Government still hasn’t spent around $15 billion of its stimulus money, and there is about $2 billion uncommitted in various funds such as the Building Australia Fund.

Tony Abbott
Leader of the Opposition

Sounds pretty sane and logical to me  Phil . 

"He who does not value life does not deserve it." -- Leonardo da Vinci&&&&

Verge

Reply #280 - Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:09am

I hope Gillard has enough brains to have the rebuilding of the telecommunications networks up there done with the NBN so there is no duplication of costs down the track.

Since roads will be ripped up and need major rebuilding, it would be a good time to be putting the fibre network in and putting power underground while they are going.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #281 - Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:36am

Verge wrote on Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:09am:
I hope Gillard has enough brains to have the rebuilding of the telecommunications networks up there done with the NBN so there is no duplication of costs down the track.

Since roads will be ripped up and need major rebuilding, it would be a good time to be putting the fibre network in and putting power underground while they are going.

Quite right Verge, but this has sensibly be mentioned before & knocked on the head as far too expensive by several posters here.
Thankfully they are not in charge of the nations purse strings.
While yes it maybe an expensive investment now, whether you believe CC has something to do with man or not everyone seems to agree it's happening so these events are going to be more frequent.
I'm not sure of the effect on underground wires in floods but at least with cyclones you could reasonably expect the power to stay on as there will be no poles going down to disrupt service.

Reply #282 - Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:50am

While rebuilding after major catastrrphies it would be sensible to use the most viable systems.
Use the newest technology if it is warranted, use the best if it is economic.

A good time to install fibre in areas, beef up renewable power, there are systems to get fresh water from the sea.
consider all options, use some of one, some of another.

Reply #283 - Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:57am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:36am:
Quite right Verge, but this has sensibly be mentioned before & knocked on the head as far too expensive by several posters here.

Mate you would want me in charge of the nation's purse strings.

In the last 2 years I have been over-budget in just one quarter.

I would have the country running economically efficient. It would be a fantastic place with me at the helm I assure you.

Reply #284 - Feb 3rd, 2011 at 10:06am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:57am:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 3rd, 2011 at 9:36am:

Mate you would want me in charge of the nation's purse strings.

In the last 2 years I have been over-budget in just one quarter.

I would have the country running economically efficient. It would be a fantastic place with me at the helm I assure you.

PMSL
Only if I was PM to curtail your worst excesses in demonising the less fortunate & giving free rides to the wealthy Wink

Pages: 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22