Pages: 1 2 3 ... 6
Gillard and Swan have done it again. (Read 6386 times)
whatsforme

Gillard and Swan have done it again.
Jan 28th, 2011 at 1:29pm

Yep the dopey duo have made a bloody great mess of the flood levy.

Example 1: husband and wife with two children. Husband works and earns $120,000 a year will pay $450 levy.

2: husband and wife both working earning $80,000  each with two children will pay $300 levy.

The couple that both work have a combined income of $160,000  thats $40,000 less than the one parent working family but pay $150 less for the levy.

Well done Julia you idiot. Just another typical labor stuff up.

Re: Gillard and Swan have done it again.
Reply #1 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 1:43pm

whatsforme wrote on Jan 28th, 2011 at 1:29pm:

Example 1: husband and wife with two children. Husband works and earns $120,000 a year will pay $450 levy.

2: husband and wife both working earning $80,000  each with two children will pay $300 levy.

The couple that both work have a combined income of $160,000  thats $40,000 less than the one parent working family but pay $150 less for the levy.

Your comparing apples and oranges.
Family 1 is single income
Family 2 is duel income.
The levy is imposed on taxpayers, via the tax file number, families don't have tax file numbers individuals do.

But nice try, post it in the daily tele those idiots will fall for it but you have to try a bit harder here.

nichy

Reply #2 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 1:46pm

Thousands escape paying flood levy

Michael Madigan and Dennis Atkins From: The Courier-Mail
January 28, 2011 12:00AM

THOUSANDS of people, including high-income earners whose homes were not flooded, have a ready-made loophole to avoid paying the Federal Government's new flood levy. And several Queensland projects designed to stop flooding on the Bruce Highway are likely to fall victim to federal spending cuts to help rebuild the state.

The flood levy will not apply to anyone who received the Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment, which was not means tested. As of last Friday more than 250,000 Queenslanders - one in every eight - had collected the payment of $1000 for adults and $400 for children.

One in eight Queenslanders eh !      Sounds a bit sus.    Oh well -

"Here we go again,
The suckers  'll have to pay
Even tho some are rorting
Those dreadful rainy days "

What's new with labor ?   Policy on the run ? 

"He who does not value life does not deserve it." -- Leonardo da Vinci&&&&

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #3 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 1:53pm

In in every eight?

Considering that there's more than 4.5mil people living in Queensland, wouldn't that make it one in eighteen?

I love the Courier Mail, it makes the Daily Telegraph look good.

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #4 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 1:59pm

A few hundred dollars to help out your fellow Aussies and you fellas are whinging like you've been asked to lop off an arm.
Its a shame the far right have decided to use the misery caused by the Queensland, NSW and Vic floods for some sort of perverted little game.
Anyone on $120,000 who complains about a $450 levy while so many of their fellow Aussies have been reduced to nothing is not worth a grain of cocky sh!t.
Lets also remember that these very same far right whingers are the ones who would jump on the Gillard govt if they didnt deliver a budget surplus when they promised and would accept no excuses..come floods, fires or famine!

Go the Bunnies

nichy

Reply #5 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 2:05pm

Comments about the rorts already occurring.

Milo of Bulimba Posted at 11:50 PM January 27, 2011
Amazing, after three years of Labor debacles I thought they had already plumbed the debts of incompetance but this is absurd. Consider this: Your home isn't flooded but for safety reasons your power gets cut off for 48 hours. So because your beer goes warm, you have to barbecue thawing food and take cold showers, every member of your family gets $1000, AND now you all escape Jooolya's levy because as AGDRP-recipients you meet the exemption criteria. Hands down, this beats the stupidity of paying thousands of overseas residents who haven't lived in Australia for years, the $900 stimulus payments in their local currency. In 2007 Australia voted for "Change" and we got it. Incompetance and mismanagement is a "change" from Costello's astute financial management, isn't it?
Comment 9 of 317
Gordonh Posted at 11:32 PM January 27, 2011
The Levy is a disgrace. I know a guy who got $4,000 from Centrelink because he lost power for 48 hours, but the flood waters were nowhere near his house. But I couldn't get into work, lost pay and got nothing. But he's exempt while I have to pay the flood levy. All for what? So he gets a nice new home theatre. He was grinning from ear-to-ear. If that money had gone to someone who was genuinely flooded I wouldn't mind, but this rorting is disgraceful. Labor could have stopped it but didn't. Of course we are upset.Comment 4 of 317
Harvey Fewings of Queensland Posted at 6:54 AM Today
Apart from the weirdness of the Whitlam financial circus, has Australia ever had to bear such an incompetent, reactive, unintelligent Government such as this ? Tradespeople have given their time, expertise and, in some cases, actual products to help their fellow Australians effected by the floods. Other people have sat on their bums in a house without power for a couple of days and claim flood disaster relief money. Gillard, in her desperation to buy votes has made money available to almost anyone with a case of prickly heat and now super imposes a flood relief tax on the very people who have given most ! Donations to the Qld Premier's Flood Appeal should be refunded, the thousands of soldiers of the " Mud Army " should be paid for their time, or at least claim their time from the tax levy. Gillard has, once again, working on the socialist principles of envy,divided the Community and succeeded in casting into irrelevance all the good will and free time offered. Come the next disaster, and their will be one, forget the community help efforts,folks, we can all sit on our bums and wait for the ALP to tax us ! Stumblebums hardly describes this Government.
Comment 41 of 317
Not happy Jan of Brisbane Posted at 6:55 AM Today
Nice. So my colleagues who "couldn't get to work" (read - it was inconvenient) and therefore took paid "flood leave" from work have also claimed more than two grand for their family as a non means tested payment and will not be paying the flood levy. Those of us who went to (essential services) work by driving the long way round, worried about our families at home - pay though the nose. Again.Comment 42 of 317

Very annoyed Posted at 7:10 AM Today
I earn $600.00 over $50,000.00 and have four kids living at home. My boss who owns his own business as well as earning an income of over 150K will not have to pay the levy because he and his wife (given 1000k each) lost power for 48 hours. WHAT A JOKE!!!Comment 54 of 317

Allan of Gold Coast Posted at 7:10 AM Today
This will kill the spirit of donating time and money for future natural disasters. Gillard, you have put a knife intot he heart of the goodwill that was shown after these floods by mates helping mates. You were useless during the flood when you were giving speeches read from auto cues and you are useless now. I don't think anyone in the country would mind if you said that to avoid a levy, we would need to put back the surplus target by a year.
Comment 55 of 317

Equitist

Reply #6 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 2:41pm

nichy wrote on Jan 28th, 2011 at 2:05pm:
Comments about the rorts already occurring.

Milo of Bulimba Posted at 11:50 PM January 27, 2011
Amazing, after three years of Labor debacles I thought they had already plumbed the debts of incompetance but this is absurd. Consider this: Your home isn't flooded but for safety reasons your power gets cut off for 48 hours. So because your beer goes warm, you have to barbecue thawing food and take cold showers, every member of your family gets $1000, AND now you all escape Jooolya's levy because as AGDRP-recipients you meet the exemption criteria. Hands down, this beats the stupidity of paying thousands of overseas residents who haven't lived in Australia for years, the $900 stimulus payments in their local currency. In 2007 Australia voted for "Change" and we got it. Incompetance and mismanagement is a "change" from Costello's astute financial management, isn't it?
Comment 9 of 317
Gordonh Posted at 11:32 PM January 27, 2011
The Levy is a disgrace. I know a guy who got $4,000 from Centrelink because he lost power for 48 hours, but the flood waters were nowhere near his house. But I couldn't get into work, lost pay and got nothing. But he's exempt while I have to pay the flood levy. All for what? So he gets a nice new home theatre. He was grinning from ear-to-ear. If that money had gone to someone who was genuinely flooded I wouldn't mind, but this rorting is disgraceful. Labor could have stopped it but didn't. Of course we are upset.Comment 4 of 317
Harvey Fewings of Queensland Posted at 6:54 AM Today
Apart from the weirdness of the Whitlam financial circus, has Australia ever had to bear such an incompetent, reactive, unintelligent Government such as this ? Tradespeople have given their time, expertise and, in some cases, actual products to help their fellow Australians effected by the floods. Other people have sat on their bums in a house without power for a couple of days and claim flood disaster relief money. Gillard, in her desperation to buy votes has made money available to almost anyone with a case of prickly heat and now super imposes a flood relief tax on the very people who have given most ! Donations to the Qld Premier's Flood Appeal should be refunded, the thousands of soldiers of the " Mud Army " should be paid for their time, or at least claim their time from the tax levy. Gillard has, once again, working on the socialist principles of envy,divided the Community and succeeded in casting into irrelevance all the good will and free time offered. Come the next disaster, and their will be one, forget the community help efforts,folks, we can all sit on our bums and wait for the ALP to tax us ! Stumblebums hardly describes this Government.
Comment 41 of 317
Not happy Jan of Brisbane Posted at 6:55 AM Today
Nice. So my colleagues who "couldn't get to work" (read - it was inconvenient) and therefore took paid "flood leave" from work have also claimed more than two grand for their family as a non means tested payment and will not be paying the flood levy. Those of us who went to (essential services) work by driving the long way round, worried about our families at home - pay though the nose. Again.Comment 42 of 317

Very annoyed Posted at 7:10 AM Today
I earn $600.00 over $50,000.00 and have four kids living at home. My boss who owns his own business as well as earning an income of over 150K will not have to pay the levy because he and his wife (given 1000k each) lost power for 48 hours. WHAT A JOKE!!!Comment 54 of 317

Allan of Gold Coast Posted at 7:10 AM Today
This will kill the spirit of donating time and money for future natural disasters. Gillard, you have put a knife intot he heart of the goodwill that was shown after these floods by mates helping mates. You were useless during the flood when you were giving speeches read from auto cues and you are useless now. I don't think anyone in the country would mind if you said that to avoid a levy, we would need to put back the surplus target by a year.
Comment 55 of 317

There are some interesting scenarios mentioned in those comments - many of which will be essentially true - and some of which will be misunderstandings or misrepresentations of the facts...

It would seem as though the Govt set loose criteria for claimants - and that some chose to rort same...

Either way, the Centrelink Officers had no real way of verifying claims in the depths of the massive and chaotic crisis - at a time when any reasonable person would have expected that they would err on the side of compassion rather than stinginess...

That said, does anyone know if claimants were required to sign-off on a declaration that their claim was legitimate - and that they undertook to fully repay the monies, via Centrelink's and/or the ATO's usual methods, if their claim was subsequently found to be in any way 'fraudulent'!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

nichy

Reply #7 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 2:50pm

Hell you are a classic Eq.  you just will not accept that the Federal Government has again rushed in with an ill thought out plan that was just asking to be rorted.    They cannot and never have been good economic managers, and it seems the electorate are waking up to them. 

The sad thing is, many of the letters commenting on that article are from good, honest people who have not claimed what they could have due to a sense of decency, and are now out of pocket.  You should take the time to read them with an open mind.

Reply #8 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:31pm

nichy thats very true..but at least nem didnt blame Hockey or Abbott.. or even Howard..lol.. a first for a lefty..

not only should we have an emergency fund safely tucked away where shyster pollies cant touch it..that goes for State and Fed govts..

we should also have a contingency plan in place.. for just such emergencies..

if our armies were run on a jerknee reaction,where would we be???

my daughter was involved in a small way.logistics. with the ship wreck on Christmas Island..it was a shambles.. two many chiefs not enough indians.. and then you have the empire builders..who resented outsiders saying anything..I could go on and on... and that was a small emergency compared to this..but if we had a group that knew all there was to know about every senario.. within reason.

imagine if we had had a group that went to  Louisiana and worked on the Katrina sites.. they would have a good idea whats wrong and whats right at times like that..the best way to deal with this emergency..

there wouldnt be any need to make it up as you go along.

well that makes sense to me..

vegitamite

Reply #9 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:36pm

2: husband and wife both working earning $80,000  each with two children will pay $300 levy.

The couple that both work have a combined income of $160,000  thats $40,000 less than the one parent working family but pay $150 less for the levy.

Lets compare stuff ups...

'Abbott’s paid parental leave was announced on March 8, 2009—International Women’s Day—without the approval of the shadow cabinet or the party room. The following day, Abbott apologised to a joint party room meeting.
“Sometimes it’s better to ask for forgiveness than permission,” Abbott told his colleagues.
It was dumb policy then and it is even dumber now because the Government will mercilessly mock Abbott. How can he oppose a levy on flood devastated Queensland while supporting one for mum’s to be who earn $150,000 a year?

http://blogs.theaustralian.news.com.au/jacktheinsider/index.php/theaustralian/co...

whatsforme

Reply #10 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:38pm

<<Your comparing apples and oranges.
Family 2 is duel income.
The levy is imposed on taxpayers, via the tax file number, families don't have tax file numbers individuals do.

But nice try, post it in the daily tele those idiots will fall for it but you have to try a bit harder here.>>

So you are happy for  a couple that earn $40,000 more a year to pay less to dopey Gillards flood levy than someone earning $120,000.

As usual labor stuffs it again. They have done nothing right since they came into power. The second time  by illegitimate means.

whatsforme

Reply #11 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:43pm

<<Lets compare stuff ups...

'Abbott’s paid parental leave was announced on March 8, 2009—International Women’s Day—without the approval of the shadow cabinet or the party room. The following day, Abbott apologised to a joint party room meeting.
“Sometimes it’s better to ask for forgiveness than permission,” Abbott told his colleagues.
It was dumb policy then and it is even dumber now because the Government will mercilessly mock Abbott. How can he oppose a levy on flood devastated Queensland while supporting one for mum’s to be who earn $150,000 a year?>>

FFS idiot what does that have to do with the flood levy?

I know it is very hard for you to focus dumbass.

Do you agree with the way the levy will work?

Don't answer straight away vegetable. Think about it.

Maybe I shouldn't have said 'think about it' as we could be here all night waiting for a reply.

Come on idiot it is your turn again.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #12 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:43pm

whatsforme wrote on Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:38pm:
Family 2 is duel income.

But nice try, post it in the daily tele those idiots will fall for it but you have to try a bit harder here.>>

So you are happy for  a couple that earn $40,000 more a year to pay less to dopey Gillards flood levy than someone earning $120,000.

As usual labor stuffs it again. They have done nothing right since they came into power. The second time  by illegitimate means.

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Oh!  Mate!  You should run your own talk back radio show!  Give you a great opportunity to discuss internet names.

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Equitist

Reply #13 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 4:21pm

whatsforme wrote on Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:38pm:
Family 2 is duel income.

So you are happy for  a couple that earn $40,000 more a year to pay less to dopey Gillards flood levy than someone earning $120,000.

As usual labor stuffs it again. They have done nothing right since they came into power. The second time  by illegitimate means.

Speaking of apples and oranges, have you worked out the nett differentials after payments of FTB and/or Dependent Spouse Rebate are taken into account!?

Oh, and is the proposed levy set in concrete yet - or can it be tweaked when Parliament returns!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

vegitamite

Reply #14 - Jan 28th, 2011 at 4:32pm

whatsforme wrote on Jan 28th, 2011 at 3:43pm:
<<Lets compare stuff ups...

It was dumb policy then and it is even dumber now because the Government will mercilessly mock Abbott. How can he oppose a levy on flood devastated Queensland while supporting one for mum’s to be who earn $150,000 a year?>>

FFS idiot what does that have to do with the flood levy?

I know it is very hard for you to focus dumbass.

Do you agree with the way the levy will work?

Don't answer straight away vegetable. Think about it.

Maybe I shouldn't have said 'think about it' as we could be here all night waiting for a reply.

Come on idiot it is your turn again.

I have given many points of view on the levy under the present Levy threads. Maybe , just maybe , if you spent time in reading and posting in them- ( Instead of flying in with your one liners)- And starting new threads , you would know this. And know my concerns, or ideas ,on the levy.

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 6