Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 22
The case against Islamic immigration (Read 42082 times)

Re: The case against Islamic immigration
Reply #15 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 3:36pm

philperth2010 wrote on Mar 25th, 2011 at 10:18am:
Extremism is a big problem in any religion or culture....however main stream Islam is a peaceful religion and should not be feared.....Those who support discrimination against Muslims are showing there extreme beliefs and support of continuing distrust and blind fear against moderate people....We need to accept we are all different and do not need to be the same or act the same.....What is wrong with society in Australia anyway, it works just fine???

Huh

Phil what do you think of as 'moderate' Muslims? Do you see them as the minority of Muslims?

Reply #16 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 5:24pm

freediver wrote on Mar 25th, 2011 at 3:36pm:
philperth2010 wrote on Mar 25th, 2011 at 10:18am:
Extremism is a big problem in any religion or culture....however main stream Islam is a peaceful religion and should not be feared.....Those who support discrimination against Muslims are showing there extreme beliefs and support of continuing distrust and blind fear against moderate people....We need to accept we are all different and do not need to be the same or act the same.....What is wrong with society in Australia anyway, it works just fine???

Huh

Phil what do you think of as 'moderate' Muslims? Do you see them as the minority of Muslims?

I see the majority of Muslims as moderate.....However I agree there is an element within Islam that drives extremism and should be exposed and opposed....Islam needs to make it acceptable and defend itself against the extreme elements that are driving this belief that Islam promotes and accepts these extreme views!!!

These extreme views must be contested by Muslim leaders so that a culture of tolerance and trust will be promoted within these communities.....We cannot live apart so we must learn to live together...It is moderate Islamic leaders who oppose extremism that need to drive this debate not allow themselves to be shouted down by the vocal minority driving division!!!

Reply #17 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 5:58pm

What I was getting at is, what do you think are the extreme views and what are the moderate views?

Is fundamental opposition to democracy an extreme view held by a minority of muslims, or a moderate view held by the majority?

Is fundamental opposition to personal freedom an extreme view held by a minority of muslims, or a moderate view held by the majority?

Is fundamental opposition to freedom of religion an extreme view held by a minority of muslims, or a moderate view held by the majority?

Is fundamental opposition to any rights for gay people an extreme view held by a minority of muslims, or a moderate view held by the majority?

Is fundamental opposition to equality of women before the law an extreme view held by a minority of muslims, or a moderate view held by the majority?

Is fundamental opposition to your children falling in love with and choosing for themselves who to marry an extreme view held by a minority of muslims, or a moderate view held by the majority?

Surely these are the questions we need to think about in choosing who to let into the country, rather than simply asking whether you intend to blow up Canberra and hoping that is sufficient to combat 'extremism'.

Grey

Reply #18 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 6:42pm

I find it heartening that a glance over what's been said doesn't show anybody to be on another page. It's been said that 'Muslims are mainly moderate'. Well what does that mean? Moderate is a relative term. Most muslims don't fly planes into buildings, therefore ... I'm just saying that what you say, needs saying carefully.

This is a debate that needs to balance. I bloody well hate racism, I grew up in the most cosmopolitan part of working class London. There was a gang culture. but race didn't come into it. Racism and fascism are blood brothers; so I'm antifascist as well.

Hitchens coined the term 'Islamofascist'. Was he wrong? A bit, but only a bit IMO, a better term is theofascist, because there are people in Judaism and Christianity that are just as out there as the Taliban. As an Atheist I tend to regard most practising religious people as extremist. It wasn't so long ago that the religious burnt old ladies and their pets. Even less time ago I'd be imprisoned for blasphemy. After all the work that's been done to create tolerant secular societies like ours, should we be letting in committed religious anythings that stand as a danger to reversing our social evolution?

If it was up to me, and I'm not quite convinced I'm right, I wouldn't allow the Burkha. I don't care how many idiot women put their hand up to say otherwise, I know what the burkha is, it's a symbol of an outrageous and oppressive patriarchy. On the other hand, we give visas to mormons, that they may knock on our doors as missionaries and convert people into believing the most unrealistic codswallop ever concocted. You might just as well let Nigerian email scammers go on a door knock.

We have to let Islam in, anything else is damaging to Australia's international reputation. But we have to act against mullahs who do hate speech from the pulpit. By that I mean send them back and have the legal provisions in place to do that without fuss.

Anybody who wants to enter Australia should be allowed to do so. They shouldn't be imprisoned for being refugees. They should get provisional citizenship for 5 years revoked the instant it's shown that they brought too much baggage. People are a resource Australia is short of.

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

beware

Reply #19 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 7:18pm

Go back to London!!

Grey

Reply #20 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 8:48pm

beware wrote on Mar 25th, 2011 at 7:18pm:
Go back to London!!

Grin I was born there Beware, I am seeped in its knowledges. You should go there yourself, it will teach you a thing or two.

beware

Reply #21 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 8:55pm

I have already been there and I have no wish to bring any of its cultures to Australia............

We already have our own culture and we already have our own form of christianity.... be it ever so humble. I love the wide open spces of this great land and I am sick of the 'rest of the world' being forced down our necks!!

MoreKavaPlease

Reply #22 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 9:29pm

I must admit that I pretty much hate people that follow Islam, and hate them coming into this country, I reckon they are cultural primitives, barbaric tossers. Islam is the most pathetic bogan religion.

Grey

Reply #23 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 9:31pm

beware wrote on Mar 25th, 2011 at 8:55pm:
I have already been there and I have no wish to bring any of its cultures to Australia............

What? There was nothing at all you found worthy? Can anybody be so narrow minded?

We already have our own culture and we already have our own form of christianity.... be it ever so humble. I love the wide open spces of this great land and I am sick of the 'rest of the world' being forced down our necks

Come off it Beware, you know as well as I do that there's no such thing as  "Australian culture" or a rigid culture anywhere else in the modern world. there are people you relate to and people you don't. Australia has several forms of Christianity, and actually Islam and Judaism are historically just as much a part of Australia. Australia would have developed in fundamentally different ways without the Afghan Traders.

Places like Saudi Arabia may be said to have a 'rigid culture'. A culture where they ban 'infidels' from an entire city (Mecca). You wouldn't wish that kind of rigidity on Australia would you? You wouldn't wish to ban Indian, Chinese or Russian restaurants, only dinky di BBQ"s allowed, NO VEGIBURGERS!?  Smiley

Soren

Reply #24 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 10:24pm

I think it is very telling that people who knock 'Australian culture' can only ever cite restaurants as forms of cultural enrichment this country has had from non-European sources.

The very simple and indisputable fact is that this is a country made by Enlightenment Europeans and is still inhabited by them. That is what the Chinese and the Irish and Germans and English and Indians and all the rest are coming for (the ones that are not coming just for the money, that is). It is a country that is at home in the western enlightenmnt cultural tradition. It also dreams in the English language, which is a very important part of that western cultural tradition.

Australia may not have the artefacts but it has that western enlightenment tradition in its bones, much more than perhaps even Europeans,  many of whom are suffocated by the weight of all their dreadful history before and after the Enlightenment.

An awful lot of Europeans will trot out the 'how ridiculous to say Australian culture' and gesticulate towards European art and history and architecture, saying, 'look how much more culture we have'. However, the vast majority of Europeans have minimal grasp of their own cultural history and go to work in the shadows of those magnificent medieval cathedrals without a thought for them, dreaming instead of 'California' or 'Australia'.

AUstralia is at home in the country of the imagination that is the western cultural tradition. That's what matters. Both to its natives and its immigrants.

« Last Edit: Mar 25th, 2011 at 11:20pm by Soren »  

Foolosophy

Reply #25 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 10:47pm

Mohamed Ali and Cat Stevens follow the Islamic faith

Goerge Bush and Timothy Mcveigh followed the Judaic scriptures

Now who would you rather have in this country?

More importantly is there an exchange scheme whereby we could off load Pauline Hanson and Barnaby  Joyce

Soren

Reply #26 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 10:59pm

Foolosophy wrote on Mar 25th, 2011 at 10:47pm:
Mohamed Ali and Cat Stevens follow the Islamic faith

Goerge Bush and Timothy Mcveigh followed the Judaic scriptures

Now who would you rather have in this country?

More importantly is there an exchange scheme whereby we could off load Pauline Hanson and Barnaby  Joyce

I can't believe that there are such unbelievably stupid grown-ups as you. I say this with a lot of feeling.

You seem to me to be always on tap with the most stupefying, idotic, dead-end ideas. A complete drongo.
Marvellous word, that. You are a smacking drongo.

(You will be pleased that saying this has eased the pain somewhat.)

« Last Edit: Mar 25th, 2011 at 11:21pm by Soren »  

Belgarion

Reply #27 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 11:08pm

Excellent summing up of the Australian ethos Soren. It's telling that in less than 100 years one of the worlds most stable democracies was created by many who were considered social outcasts. However the philosophy of the enlightenment was embraced and led to universal suffrage, free compulsory education, aged pensions, and other social reforms that the so called cultures of other nations had never dreamed of.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Soren

Reply #28 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 11:29pm

Australia has an older constitution than almost all European, (and Asian, African, Latin American) countries. It is 'young', constitution wise, only if compared to the AMericans and the British (who don't have one).

Amadd

Mo

Reply #29 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 1:31am

Australia has an older constitution than almost all European, (and Asian, African, Latin American) countries. It is 'young', constitution wise, only if compared to the AMericans and the British (who don't have one).

The day that we have access to our constitution is the day that your comment will become valid.

Grow a brain...puhleaase Soren!!

You are the opitamy of a contradiction in terms...an oxynoron.

We have no access to our constitution you idiot.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 22