Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10
Who Should The People On Welfare Vote For. (Read 13661 times)
imcrookonit

Re: Who Should The People On Welfare Vote For.
Reply #30 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 6:30pm

Welfare groups criticise Abbott plan

Advocacy groups have savaged Opposition Leader Tony Abbott's slated welfare reforms as a new pinnacle in the era of "welfare bashing".   Angry

They say his vision does nothing but "take the stick" to vulnerable Australians and rehash policies that have already tried but failed to improve the welfare system.

At a business lunch in Brisbane on Thursday, Mr Abbott outlined a plan for welfare reform, which includes a call to expand income management across Australia.

Predictably, the government joined in the chorus of criticism, questioning whether Mr Abbott's "reheated, recycled" ideas were properly funded.

Under the measures, Mr Abbott has urged compulsory "work for the dole" for the long-term unemployed and welfare benefits scrapped in places wherever there's a shortage of unskilled labour.

Mr Abbott also wants the disability pension to be tweaked to get people back into the workforce faster.

Advocacy groups quickly rejected Mr Abbott's draft plan, saying it tapped into the old idea that people on welfare are solely to blame for their situation.

St Vincent de Paul Society CEO John Falzon said both the major parties are playing off people's concerns about "dole bludgers" and the like to save a few pennies.

"It is the people that we deal with ... that have become a political football," Mr Falzon told reporters in Canberra.

"This is not genuine policy innovation, this is politicising poverty.

"They're playing off people's emotions."

The coalition is not alone in its bid to get tough on welfare, with the government announcing plans in August to suspend payments should job-seekers not meet certain compliance measures.

Further crackdowns are expected when the budget is delivered in May.

UnitingCare's Lin Hatfield Dodds said it was disturbing to see welfare recipients continually targeted.  

"Both the Liberal Party and the Labor Party have really gotten into welfare bashing," she told AAP.   Angry

"The theme emerging seems to be, `If you're on welfare, it's your fault.'  Angry

"There is an element of truism to that, but the bigger story is people are unemployed because of structural reasons."

Injuries and changes in the labour market which causes demand in certain jobs to shift were common reasons behind long-term unemployment in Australia, Ms Hatfield Dodds said.

But she did offer support for Mr Abbott's proposal to provide cash incentives for those willing to move for work, which has also been adopted by the government.

Mr Abbott defended his ideas to ABC Radio.

"What I don't want to see is people who might be participants in the economy just parked forever on welfare," he said.

"And some people aren't very good at managing their affairs and that's why this quarantining makes sense.

"(It's) not a kind of radical right-wing prescription."

Finance Minister Penny Wong said Mr Abbott had merely released another uncosted policy, labelling it "typically reckless economic management".   Sad

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #31 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 7:33pm

Abbott is only moving into line with JuLIAR - do you have more difficulty calling labor people Nazi scumbags than Liberals? Smiley

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

djrbfm

Reply #32 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 8:18pm

F*CK-OFF ABBOTT.

sick ppl?

YOU ARE THE SICKEST OF THE LOT.

you and Joe - Hock my Knee - are C*NTS of the royal order.

walk a mile in a disabled persons shoes - (C*NT FACES both.)

you two wouldn't last a minute.

the true heroes in Australia ARE the disabled, because they suffer two punishments:
1) their sickness.
2) Centre - smacking - link.

btw, i'm in a good mood.

if i were not, i'd be saying something like:

"Abbott, if i ever see you skulking around the suburbs, i'd break both your legs
and then we'd see how you go on DSP.

of course, Abbott wouldn't feel the pain - as he was born without ANY FEELINGS at all.

best,
j.

Reply #33 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 8:51pm

longweekend58 wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:40pm:
Maybe people who are entirely on welfare for the past 10 years shouldnt be allowed to vote?

I think you'll find that the overwhelming majority of
unemployment recipients have most certainly worked
and NOT relied on welfare for the last ten years.

The old 'Never have worked and never will work' mantra of the
Howard years wasn't true then, and isn't true now.

Reply #34 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 8:58pm

QUOTE: - ""Mr Abbott defended his ideas to ABC Radio.

"What I don't want to see is people who might be participants in the economy just parked forever on welfare," he said.

"And some people aren't very good at managing their affairs and that's why this quarantining makes sense.""

Yeah, right.

So, penalising everyone for the mistakes or bad decisions
of a few is fair, and makes sense?

Sorry, Tony, but I don't buy it.

Quarantining is only EVER acceptable if it is applied
to those who are KNOWN to be risking children, OR for
the chronically homeless, to get them into some kind
of accommodation.

It is NOT acceptable when applied as a blanket 'solution' to
a largely non-existent problem.

Unemployed-bashing at its right-wing worst.

Soren

Reply #35 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 9:33pm

Being unemployed in a booming economy with labour shortages to the extent that they have to get migrant workers to pick apples is a disgrace on every able bodies person on the dole.
The government offered a few thousand dollars for the 6 months + unemployed to go to WA or QLD where the mining jobs are. How many took up the offer?

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #36 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 10:06pm

The unemployed should be patriots and not comply with people we are at war with for the future of our nation. Smiley

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #37 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 10:13pm

We cannot settle for anything less than regime change in Australia and charges laid against all living politicians who have subverted the economic legal rights of Australians through globalization - no negotiation or bargain is possible. Smiley

Soren

Reply #38 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 10:15pm

Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #39 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:55am

Prevailing wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 6:54am:
nairbe wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 6:33am:
The answer is simple, they need the coalition. As much as i can not stand Abbott, mostly what you have quoted him as saying i agree with.

I am a single parent, the oldest has a mental disability and i run my own business. I also have a chronic illness that will be with me for the rest of my life. I am a very strong social justice thinker and believe in small communities, hence i live in the country. This is not a whinge, quite the opposite i love my life and would go out of my mind if i was not active.

I hate dole bluggers especially those that worm their way on to disability. The disability is there for those that really need it. I have made it my mission to ensure my daughter learns enough at school so she can at least hold down a job at woolies or maccas and have some pride in herself. If someone can work no matter the restriction due to disability they should at least be trying to work and we as a community should be trying to help them.

So i support the elimination of the disability support pension and replace it with a supplement to the newstart that can be kept when they get a job as generally they will be on poor wages. Increase the requirements for eligibility and require everyone that is not totally permanently incapacitated to do something.

I know it seems harsh but after a few generations of welfare in this country we seem to have become lazy. Not just the people who waste away on these benefits but the communities we live in don't see the need to create employment for the health of their community because the government will simply hand over the doe. We only have ourselves to blame if we think we live in a nanny state, we demand it of our government then criticise them for doing what we wanted.  

Ha ha ha what a lying socialist cannibal.  Pigs 'rse lol Grin Grin Grin Grin

Care to explain?

"Faced with what is right, to leave it undone shows a lack of courage."
Confucius

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #40 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:01am

warrigal wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 6:45am:
Quote: but the communities we live in don't see the need to create employment for the health of their community

Exactly the people in authority (Those will good Jobs working for the community), THEY DON"T CARE. They Only think about them selfs.

Why should a Disability Pensioner that is given and trained for a Job, be able to keep his or her government Beniefts.

Disbility Pensioners they live like Kings and they don't care about any one else. Cry

You attack me for saying we need to change and then write this?

Yes communities need to create more work for the local youth. It used to be a tradesman would have an apprentice as a duty to the community to pass on the skills.

Don't dream pensioners don't live like kings they do it hard and the genuine cases need more help than they get now. The others i spoke of are generally low socio and need help to get to work as they see no reason to do so. I have heard enough people on work for the dole crews talking about how they are going to get on the pension and won't have to do anything then. It is a mentality we have created by our welfare society thinking.

"Faced with what is right, to leave it undone shows a lack of courage."
Confucius

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #41 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:01am

"Who Should The People On Welfare Vote For?"

They shouldn't.

People on welfare, are the 'clients', of the state.

i.e.
Welfare recipients, are 'dependants' , they are not 'independents'.

???

Would you put Dracula in charge of the blood bank ???

Would you put lunatics, in charge of the asylum ???

[Oh silly me!!!
Ignore those last two Q's.
How foolish of me, expecting a rational intelligent response from you lot !!!! ]

IMO, only people who contribute to the state in some way [materially [taxes], or with some tangible service to the state] should be given the vote.

IMO, voting should not be a universal, unearned right.

IMO, in a democracy, voting should be a continually earned right.

IMO, both welfare recipients, and criminals, are two obvious groups, who should NOT have the right to vote to elect those who will make laws.

If people want the right to vote.

Let them earn the right to become bona fide citizens [who have earned the right to vote to elect those who will govern them].

Yadda, the  Cheesy

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

imcrookonit

Reply #42 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:19am

But it must be remembered, people on welfare DO VOTE, don't they?.  Smiley

Reply #43 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:22am

Yadda yadda yadda.................................................

You forgot to mention sick people, of course they can't vote because they are a stain on society. Sick people don't contribute anything, they suck the funds with all their stupid expensive medication and time wasting care they need.

Only the strong and healthy can vote for they are the backbone of the country. And only those strong and healthy that are employed full time with at least 8 hours overtime chucked in. If they're not putting in overtime they are lazy and they don't deserve to vote.

Women who stay home to raise their family should not be able to vote, they can work just like any one else.....having babies doesn't stop them from working and they can do the overtime too fair is fair.

I'm sick of everyone thinking they have the right to vote, it makes me sick. As a matter of fact only those earning over $200,000 a year should get to vote, anyone earning less than that surely can't pay enough tax to give them the right to vote.

Those people who have worked for 30 years and paid taxes think they should get the freedom to vote, just because they get retrenched......no vote until they get the job and the overtime back.

I wonder why we have compulsory voting?

Reply #44 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:26am

nairbe wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:01am:
warrigal wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 6:45am:
Quote: but the communities we live in don't see the need to create employment for the health of their community

Exactly the people in authority (Those will good Jobs working for the community), THEY DON"T CARE. They Only think about them selfs.

Why should a Disability Pensioner that is given and trained for a Job, be able to keep his or her government Beniefts.

Disbility Pensioners they live like Kings and they don't care about any one else. Cry

You attack me for saying we need to change and then write this?

Yes communities need to create more work for the local youth. It used to be a tradesman would have an apprentice as a duty to the community to pass on the skills.

Don't dream pensioners don't live like kings they do it hard and the genuine cases need more help than they get now. The others i spoke of are generally low socio and need help to get to work as they see no reason to do so. I have heard enough people on work for the dole crews talking about how they are going to get on the pension and won't have to do anything then. It is a mentality we have created by our welfare society thinking.

Until and unless NoStart is raised to a realistic amount, then personally I don't blame them, if they can get away with it.

This is NOT their fault, it is the fault of the Govt, and the obscenely low NoStart rate.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10