Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 
Jones lies about climate (Read 10993 times)
Equitist

Re: Jones lies about climate
Reply #105 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:17pm

Just fixing your typo, Smithy...

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:15pm:
darkhall67 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:08pm:
cods wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:03pm:
can we have an election to elect nem and smithy and astro... all the experts on how our lives should be run and how good they will be at running it.. why.. because they know everything and the peasants know nothing.

You'd be wanting to know their sexual preference though wont you before you'll vote for them

I have a massive penis which I like to scare women between the ages of 18 to 60 with.
I also like Pina Colada's & getting caught in the raincoat  Cheesy

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Reply #106 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:19pm

Now, now, children - I'm not sure that Jones would be happy about what has been done to his own special thread...

Heck, some of us could have yellow or brown or black skin - worse, we could be mongrels or inbreds!?

That said, Jones should feel free to tell us what colour his special raincoat is...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #107 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:20pm

can we have an election to elect nem and smithy and astro... all the experts on how our lives should be run and how good they will be at running it.. why.. because they know everything and the peasants know nothing.

You'd be wanting to know their sexual preference though wont you before you'll vote for them

I have a massive penis which I like to scare women between the ages of 18 to 60 with.
I also like Pina Colada's & getting caught in the rain  Cheesy

Thank you for sharing smithy.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Reply #108 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:20pm

progressiveslol wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:13pm:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:59pm:
progressiveslol wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:47pm:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:42pm:
progressiveslol wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:37pm:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:26pm:
You know there's only 2 to 3 grams of yeast in a loaf of bread?
Why the bugger do they bother?
Do I need to go on or has the idiocy of your "it's so small it doesn't matter" argument sunk in?

Are you saying there is 2 - 3 grams of yeast that we added compared to 97 grams of naturally occuring yeast. They dont do that. Use a different example.

Why afraid a few lightbulbs might be going on with the mentally challenged with that simple comparison.
Especially with everyone glued to MasterChef we see how small amounts over or under can totally ruin the whole.

You need to use proper example, not fallicy. If you are going to say we add something, then you need to keep in mind that it has to have naturally occuring ?? of 97% component. Then you would have to have an equvalent to the 9 - 26% CO2 is of the total forcing of greenhouse gases.

Otherwise your examples are just tripe. If you really wanted to calculate your bread theory, then the 2 - 3 grams of yeast would be the 100% of total greenhouse forcing. Then calculate the 26% (to be generous, which is the CO2 component of total greenhouse), then calculate 3% of that as total AGW. Now tell us if what you have left will ruin the bread.

No you like to make it sound so difficult as does Jones but its not
the 3 grams of yeast in a loaf of bread represents the carbon dioxide that naturally occurs in our atmosphere the 0.5 grams extra is our man made CO2 & it still stuffs the bread.

Do you think 0.00227% should be worried about?
Because as Thy has stated that's percentage is enough for you guys to reckon an election should be held.
500 divided by 22,000,000 x 100 = 0.002272727%

I take it my calculations are correct given your calculatation of 3% of 3 grams. It is not 0.5 grams, it is 0.09 grams. Your calculation is 17%

You seriously thought 0.5grm was whatever percentage was accurate.
All the figures (except for the 500 into 22mill) were EXAMPLES ONLY to show a small amount can & quite often does make a huge difference.
So A fvcken plus on the math but 0 for common sense

progressiveslol

Reply #109 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:22pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:20pm:
Do I need to go on or has the idiocy of your "it's so small it doesn't matter" argument sunk in?

Are you saying there is 2 - 3 grams of yeast that we added compared to 97 grams of naturally occuring yeast. They dont do that. Use a different example.

Why afraid a few lightbulbs might be going on with the mentally challenged with that simple comparison.
Especially with everyone glued to MasterChef we see how small amounts over or under can totally ruin the whole.

You need to use proper example, not fallicy. If you are going to say we add something, then you need to keep in mind that it has to have naturally occuring ?? of 97% component. Then you would have to have an equvalent to the 9 - 26% CO2 is of the total forcing of greenhouse gases.

Otherwise your examples are just tripe. If you really wanted to calculate your bread theory, then the 2 - 3 grams of yeast would be the 100% of total greenhouse forcing. Then calculate the 26% (to be generous, which is the CO2 component of total greenhouse), then calculate 3% of that as total AGW. Now tell us if what you have left will ruin the bread.

the 3 grams of yeast in a loaf of bread represents the carbon dioxide that naturally occurs in our atmosphere the 0.5 grams extra is our man made CO2 & it still stuffs the bread.

Because as Thy has stated that's percentage is enough for you guys to reckon an election should be held.

I take it my calculations are correct given your calculatation of 3% of 3 grams. It is not 0.5 grams, it is 0.09 grams. Your calculation is 17%

All the figures (except for the 500 into 22mill) were EXAMPLES ONLY to show a small amount can & quite often does make a huge difference.

So you have used 2 useless examples now. Do you have 1 real example or are you all talk.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #110 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:23pm

And do you like making love in the dunes by the Cape???

ps, I love that song...

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Reply #111 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:29pm

progressiveslol wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:22pm:

So you have used 2 useless examples now. Do you have 1 real example or are you all talk.

Unlike many here I realise when smashing my head against a brick wall.
And yes it feels good after you stop for awhile I don't get any jollies from it.
You don't believe in CC or that if by some miracle your wrong we should do anything to mitigate it's effect, business as usual in fact can we dig & pollute any faster?
Each to their own, next election you might still be able to vote for Mr NO & you'll get everything you want.

progressiveslol

Reply #112 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:33pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:29pm:
progressiveslol wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:22pm:

Unlike many here I realise when smashing my head against a brick wall.
And yes it feels good after you stop for awhile I don't get any jollies from it.
You don't believe in CC or that if by some miracle your wrong we should do anything to mitigate it's effect, business as usual in fact can we dig & pollute any faster?
Each to their own, next election you might still be able to vote for Mr NO & you'll get everything you want.

http://quizmasters.biz/Pub%20Genius/Mr_Men/Characters/Special/Mr%20No_01.png

All I was doing was letting you know your examples were incorrect. Have you conceded that your examples were way off the mark. I didnt hear it.

As for the hitting your head against a wall. I would go see someone about that. You know, you could be hitting your head on a wall because your examples are so wrong and unconvincing. Just a thought.

Reply #113 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:34pm

not really only if they want to be PM...although I still prefer true blue honesty.. I know its wishful thinking.. but I prefer it, you dont so you can suck it up..

sad for me that this country has gone down the road that its okay to lie and cheat just dont get caught.or do it in the house.. because then you are in trouble..

if you lie to the masses nothing those slobs can do about it so its okay

darkhall67

Reply #114 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:43pm

cods wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:34pm:

not really only if they want to be PM...although I still prefer true blue honesty.. I know its wishful thinking.. but I prefer it, you dont so you can suck it up..

sad for me that this country has gone down the road that its okay to lie and cheat just dont get caught.or do it in the house.. because then you are in trouble..

if you lie to the masses nothing those slobs can do about it so its okay

So if they wanted to just be deputy PM you'd still think it would be none of your business?

Just PM.

Reply #115 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:44pm

Equitist wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:10pm:

LOL...I think that Cods way paying me a compliment!?

But, just so that we know what to say up-front...does that mean that the politically-safe response to the sexuality question is: "not fussed"!?

of course its a compliment nem... you know me.. you willl never see someone elses point of view.. so that means you are right... and everyone that disagrees with you is wrong..

so what wrong with giving you guys the reins and leading us through troubled waters..

I mean your knowledge is astounding.. on every subject..we would be on a winner thats for sure... move over gillard and brown... you have had your day.

as for their sexual preferences... well all i know is... I like to know what we have leading the country... I dont care if he/she is gay... as long as they dont pretend they are anything else...it hasnt done brown any harm that I have seen anyway,...

I think we have enough hypocracy in our parliament thats all..

and some on here think its a a good thing if someone hides their real sexuality or is a womaniser, and dumps their wife as soon as they leave office.. they think its ok... so what I dont argue with that...

they are arguing with my point of view..

Abbott is a catholic..he has never denied that.. yet rudd is a catholic and chose to go to another church.. dont think hes been seen there since he got stabbed.but I know if that was Abbott you would all have made mincemeat out of him..lol.

progressiveslol

Reply #116 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:52pm

cods wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:44pm:
Equitist wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:10pm:

LOL...I think that Cods way paying me a compliment!?

But, just so that we know what to say up-front...does that mean that the politically-safe response to the sexuality question is: "not fussed"!?

of course its a compliment nem... you know me.. you willl never see someone elses point of view.. so that means you are right... and everyone that disagrees with you is wrong..

so what wrong with giving you guys the reins and leading us through troubled waters..

I mean your knowledge is astounding.. on every subject..we would be on a winner thats for sure... move over gillard and brown... you have had your day.

as for their sexual preferences... well all i know is... I like to know what we have leading the country... I dont care if he/she is gay... as long as they dont pretend they are anything else...it hasnt done brown any harm that I have seen anyway,...

I think we have enough hypocracy in our parliament thats all..

and some on here think its a a good thing if someone hides their real sexuality or is a womaniser, and dumps their wife as soon as they leave office.. they think its ok... so what I dont argue with that...

they are arguing with my point of view..

Abbott is a catholic..he has never denied that.. yet rudd is a catholic and chose to go to another church.. dont think hes been seen there since he got stabbed.but I know if that was Abbott you would all have made mincemeat out of him..lol.

We already have those types in government now. What makes you think another lot of the same will do any better.

PlayersPlay

Reply #117 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 9:29pm

You have many many more chemical change examples to choose from.....

...but it won't matter ! If nobodys home then nobodys home!!!  Shocked Shocked Grin

The bathtub example of flow rates in and out is what all the scientists use to explain to a lay audience accumulation and if they don't get that they stop bothering!!!

See, if people don't understand that then they look like idiots in front of thousands!!!!  Wink Wink No need to talk about Carbon Dioxide because the fools still pretending to not understand that things accumulate if you add things faster than you take them out!

TRY THIS ONE ON THE LIBERAL VOTERS: "If you look after the pennnies....."  Shocked Cheesy Grin Grin Grin They might give you a hint that someones home about then by grinning a tad too much!!!!!!!!  Cool

Now! How...?

astro_surf

Reply #118 - Jun 6th, 2011 at 9:43pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 1:20pm:

Thank you for sharing smithy.

You and I would really get along IRL, smithy! Grin

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 11th, 2011 at 11:23am:
So tell me, you'd like to see more and more craphouse coloured people in Australia right?&&Yeah good idea moron.&&

Luke Fowler

Reply #119 - Jun 7th, 2011 at 12:32am

Soren wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:28pm:
Luke Fowler wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:35pm:
Here's a hint, he does not dispute the figures.

That's just what the more perceptive fraternity around here has been pointing out, drongo, before your farcical entry from stage left. The point Jones was making was not disputed.

... and you were going so well.

I said nobody was disputing the figures but that is not the point the author was making. You need to practice reading things s l o w l y so you understand them.

The author was stating that it was Jones' assessment of the significance of the figures that was incorrect, not the figures themselves.

The point Jones was trying to make was based on the figures but was definitely in dispute. That being the whole point of the article in question.

Oh well, you got really close. Next time, eh kid?

« Last Edit: Jun 7th, 2011 at 12:47am by Luke Fowler »  

The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad. Salvador Dali

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9