Pages: 1 2 3 ... 6
Abbott on the spot after Nazi gibe (Read 7516 times)
astro_surf

Abbott on the spot after Nazi gibe
Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:02am

Disgraceful

June 23, 2011 - 10:36AM

Opposition Leader Tony Abbott should not attend a conference alongside Lord Monckton after the British climate change denier claimed Ross Garnaut was a Nazi, Labor MPs say.

In a speech in the US, Lord Christopher Monckton said Professor Garnaut, the government's chief climate change adviser, held fascist views and was someone who expected people to "accept authority without question".

"Heil Hitler, on we go," said Lord Monckton when discussing Professor Garnaut.

Lord Monckton is scheduled to speak at the Mining and Exploration Companies (AMEC) conference in Perth next week.

Mr Abbott and federal independent MP Rob Oakeshott are expected to attend the event.

Labor MP Deborah O'Neill said it was "disgrace" that the image of a swastika was used in Lord Monckton's recent speech and called on Mr Abbott to withdraw from the conference.

"Frankly, I think unless Lord Monckton actually is removed from the program Tony Abbott should refuse to be on the same platform with the same person," she said today.

Liberal MP and climate-change supporter Malcolm Turnbull said Lord Monckton was a "sensationalist" and he didn't think Professor Garnaut would lose any sleep over the matter.

"He is increasingly a rather sick, vaudeville character who makes more and more outlandish charges in order to get attention for himself," Mr Turnbull said.

Fellow Liberal MP Jamie Briggs echoed these comments.

"I think in public debate everyone's entitled to have a view but that does not extend to personal abuse and it certainly doesn't extend to using offensive symbols from the past," Mr Briggs said.

When asked whether Mr Oakeshott should also withdraw from the conference, Labor backbencher Michelle Rowland said he wasn't "putting himself up to be the alternative prime minister" like Mr Abbott.

AAP

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 11th, 2011 at 11:23am:
So tell me, you'd like to see more and more craphouse coloured people in Australia right?&&Yeah good idea moron.&&

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Re: Abbott on the spot after Nazi gibe
Reply #1 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:12am

Their is no excuse for using that death symbol at any time, or referring to Garnaut in that way.
He stepped over the line this time.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Reply #2 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:13am

astro_surf wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:02am:
Disgraceful

Opposition Leader Tony Abbott should not attend a conference alongside Lord Monckton after the British climate change denier claimed Ross Garnaut was a Nazi, Labor MPs say.

In a speech in the US, Lord Christopher Monckton said Professor Garnaut, the government's chief climate change adviser, held fascist views and was someone who expected people to "accept authority without question".

Lord Monckton is scheduled to speak at the Mining and Exploration Companies (AMEC) conference in Perth next week.

Mr Abbott and federal independent MP Rob Oakeshott are expected to attend the event.

Labor MP Deborah O'Neill said it was "disgrace" that the image of a swastika was used in Lord Monckton's recent speech and called on Mr Abbott to withdraw from the conference.

"Frankly, I think unless Lord Monckton actually is removed from the program Tony Abbott should refuse to be on the same platform with the same person," she said today.

Liberal MP and climate-change supporter Malcolm Turnbull said Lord Monckton was a "sensationalist" and he didn't think Professor Garnaut would lose any sleep over the matter.

"He is increasingly a rather sick, vaudeville character who makes more and more outlandish charges in order to get attention for himself," Mr Turnbull said.

"I think in public debate everyone's entitled to have a view but that does not extend to personal abuse and it certainly doesn't extend to using offensive symbols from the past," Mr Briggs said.

When asked whether Mr Oakeshott should also withdraw from the conference, Labor backbencher Michelle Rowland said he wasn't "putting himself up to be the alternative prime minister" like Mr Abbott.

AAP

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/06/22/2446023/art-415326574-420x0.jpg

Prevailing

Re: Bob Hawkws not well !!!
Reply #15 - Today at 8:55am Alert Board Moderator about this Post! Quote
Bob Hawke is such a Nazi , I just hope the end is not to easy for him, for what he did to this country and the harm he did to peoples lives. Bob is such a failure as a human being and a Father he messed his daughter up so bad with his psychopathic cruelty she was driven to Heroine drugs.Cool Cool

HOLY SWASTIKA BATMAN
IS PREVAILING LORD MOCKTON???????????

See Prev even Turnbull knows who you are.
Time for the tin foil, They're watching & recording

boogieman

Reply #3 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:16am

astro_surf wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:02am:
Disgraceful

AAP

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/06/22/2446023/art-415326574-420x0.jpg

Same problem. Cut 'n paste. Do you think you qualify as a news feed? Sorry, you don't. Just a third rate cut ' paster with no opinion.

Reply #4 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:17am

Really scraping the bottom of the barrel aren't ya astro?

astro_surf

Reply #5 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:21am

ROFL @ Smithy! Grin

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:12am:
Their is no excuse for using that death symbol at any time, or referring to Garnaut in that way.

Good for you! Drawing a line in the sand. I respect that.

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 11th, 2011 at 11:23am:
So tell me, you'd like to see more and more craphouse coloured people in Australia right?&&Yeah good idea moron.&&

Reply #6 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:24am

astro_surf wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:21am:
ROFL @ Smithy! Grin

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:12am:

Good for you! Drawing a line in the sand. I respect that.

Yes even tho I often disagree with chook he and sprint have something the likes of prevailing don't, integrity.

Reply #7 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:32am

On a more serious note, Abbott will revel in the publicity.
He'll somehow work the carbon tax into it, perhaps something about extra cost for the gas in the ovens or something along those lines.
But why is he appearing with Monckton anyway?
Doesn't he believe in CC & have a Direct Action Plan to tackle it?
That's what he's been telling us, could he be lying???? Surely not after the hard time his been giving Gillard about being less than honest.

Verge

Reply #8 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:36am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:32am:
He'll somehow work the carbon tax into it, perhaps something about extra cost for the gas in the ovens or something along those lines.
That's what he's been telling us, could he be lying???? Surely not after the hard time his been giving Gillard about being less than honest.

And why is Oakeshott going too mate?  Isnt he on the committee?

Or was it because they were invited.

Stop in a tea cup crap.

How this is made about Abbott has me stumped, and the headline suggests Abbott is the one making the jibe.

Deceptive stuff from Astro on this occassion.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #9 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:36am

Abbott is getting a very sore groin from straddling both sides of the fence in order to hold on to any vote he can get.

Reply #10 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:38am

I think its called debating an issue smithy something Abbott cant do with our current PM... she cant debate only abuse and tell whoppers.oh and point fingers.. sad but true.

I think its about time this subject was debated by our power brokers...pollies..

I think its high time this govt told us the FACTS told us what their plans are. told us what their price is and told us what the affects will be,

dont you??????.. or am I the only one that wants to know whats in store for us?

progressiveslol

Reply #11 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:38am

Much a do about nothing. The reference is to expecting people to take authority without question, not to the man himself. Just not good enough to try and get rid of someone you dislike, but sure you could cry at the reference itself, but you are not going to get far.

lisa.greek

Cairns QLD
Reply #12 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:45am

cods wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:38am:

I think its called debating an issue smithy something Abbott cant do with our current PM... she cant debate only abuse and tell whoppers.oh and point fingers.. sad but true.

I think its about time this subject was debated by our power brokers...pollies..

I think its high time this govt told us the FACTS told us what their plans are. told us what their price is and told us what the affects will be,

Once again Fishwife, you go off track with a vicuous and abusing rant.   This thread is about remarks made by some poncing british Lord about an australian who has worked his way up to the top of his field.    Do you or do you not Nana, support the poncing Lord's remarks associating Hitler with an eminant Australian.

It doesn't matter whether you agree or disagree with the Professor.  It is about other entities abusing or maligning a fellow Australian.   So Fishwife - are you with the Lord on this one or will you stick up for an australian?

Reply #13 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:47am

Hysterical wrist flapping aside - the statement is true. 

The truth hurts sometimes dunnit?

Reply #14 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:48am

cods wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 11:38am:

I told you the facts the other night Cods.
More of our tax dollars are going to be spent on the environment regardless of which party wins the next election.
You never said which plan you preferred.

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 6