To all of those calling me mel/mellie? (Read 6940 times)
Wattle Grove

Re: To all of those calling me mel/mellie?
Reply #15 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 3:58pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 3:19pm:
It's interesting mate, I will give you that. An interesting take on it.

What strikes me though is that in the poll done last year of citizens who were asked "Who if they had the choice would they want as President right now if they could pick any President from history"

Of those aged 35+, 69% said Ronald Reagan.

Reagan won 49 states out of 50 in 1984.

The 1980s mate. A safer world, a better world, socially, culturally and we all knew our place. We were the good guys, the Soviet Communists were the bad guys, and Miami Vice was on TV...

JFK would of been a lot better president then Reagan would even been

Reply #16 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:02pm

Never seen before and never been repeated since.

1984PresElect.jpg (32 KB | 38 )
1984PresElect.jpg

Wattle Grove

Reply #17 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:12pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:02pm:
Never seen before and never been repeated since.

is that his only claim to frame expect B grades movies he was in

name anything he done for America

Reply #18 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:12pm

That map says a lot more about the low IQ of yanks than it does about the ability of a B grade movie actor.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #19 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:31pm

How many americans actually voted in that election and what percentage of the adult population was it?

Go the Bunnies

Reply #20 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:35pm

adelcrow wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:31pm:
How many americans actually voted in that election and what percentage of the adult population was it?

Electoral vote - Reagan 525,     Mondale  13

States carried - Reagan  49,      Mondale  1 + DC

Popular vote - Reagan  54,455,472,     Mondale -  37,577,352

Percentage - Reagan - 58.8%,      Mondale -  40.6%

Reply #21 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:39pm

Psephologists pointed to "Reagan Democrats"—millions of Democrats who voted for Reagan, as in 1980.

They characterized such Reagan Democrats as southern whites and northern blue collar workers who voted for Reagan because they credited him with the economic recovery, saw Reagan as strong on national security issues, and perceived the Democrats as supporting the poor and minorities at the expense of the middle class.

The Democratic National Committee commissioned a study after the election that came to these conclusions, but suppressed the "explosive report" afraid that it would offend its key voters.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #22 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:44pm

percentage of the total adult population?
not just those that could be bothered voting..the reagan/ mondale election seemed to me to be more significant because most Americans didnt want either of them  Smiley

Go the Bunnies

Equitist

Reply #23 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:45pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:35pm:

Electoral vote - Reagan 525,     Mondale  13

States carried - Reagan  49,      Mondale  1 + DC

Popular vote - Reagan  54,455,472,     Mondale -  37,577,352

Percentage - Reagan - 58.8%,      Mondale -  40.6%

Er...that doesn't answer the question as asked...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Reply #24 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:45pm

LOL...snap...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #25 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:46pm

Honestly..who would vote for Mondale?
He was an idiot and an embarrassment

Go the Bunnies

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #26 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:49pm

Honestly..its like the last election here, Gillard and Abbott..there was no way I was going to vote for either of them.
I would rather have not voted if I couldnt vote for Costello or Turnbull

Go the Bunnies

Reply #27 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:59pm

I can't agree with that.

Look at the people's current views of the Reagan era and their view of him as President.

How do you explain so many Americans asserting they would have him back as President tomorrow if they could?

Wattle Grove

Reply #28 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 5:04pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:35pm:

Electoral vote - Reagan 525,     Mondale  13

States carried - Reagan  49,      Mondale  1 + DC

Popular vote - Reagan  54,455,472,     Mondale -  37,577,352

Percentage - Reagan - 58.8%,      Mondale -  40.6%

population of America in 1984 was 235,825,000 people

http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/peo_pop-people-population&date=1984

According to your figure only 37,631,807 people voted so I wouldn't call that a good result

Just say 234,000,00 people were eligible to vote so that is 196,368,193 didn't vote and you reckon compulsory voting is no good

There was more that didn't vote then voted for Reagan.

astro_surf

Reply #29 - Jun 23rd, 2011 at 5:06pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 4:59pm:
How do you explain so many Americans asserting they would have him back as President tomorrow if they could?

Ignorance and stupidity. Look what else happened in 1984.

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 11th, 2011 at 11:23am:
So tell me, you'd like to see more and more craphouse coloured people in Australia right?&&Yeah good idea moron.&&