What the hell is happening to Victoria? (Read 1915 times)
GoddyofOz

Vote 1 for Sex, cause
you're gay if you don't

What the hell is happening to Victoria?
Jun 24th, 2011 at 12:32am

All I've been seeing lately is Draconian laws favoring religious institutions and far right principles. The new laws against swearing on public? An absolute joke. Our politicians have been heard swearing in PARLIAMENT. This is a blatant breach of freedom of speech and seriously draws into question the legitimacy of our constitution.

The right for churches to discriminate? Just as ridiculous. I don't keep up with Victorian politics, but who is in control right now, and what the hell is going on?

"A Conservative is a man who just sits and thinks, mostly just sits." - Woodrow Wilson.

True Patriotism is serving your country all the time, and serving your Politicians when they deserve it.

TheScumAtTheTop

Re: What the hell is happening to Victoria?
Reply #1 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 2:17am

GoddyofOz wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 12:32am:
All I've been seeing lately is Draconian laws favoring religious institutions and far right principles. The new laws against swearing on public? An absolute joke. Our politicians have been heard swearing in PARLIAMENT. This is a blatant breach of freedom of speech and seriously draws into question the legitimacy of our constitution.

The right for churches to discriminate? Just as ridiculous. I don't keep up with Victorian politics, but who is in control right now, and what the hell is going on?

Fascists like your party trying to legislate and politicize and control sex, biology, reproduction, ect ect all in the name of freedom of course...

Reply #2 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 7:45am

Get used to it mate....Barnett in WA is the same......Utility bills tripled in 3 years....Mandatory sentencing that has been proven to be a failure.....Honest Australian's stopped and searched with no reason needed....Night clubs requiring photo ID to enter.....Services cut back to the bone.....Millions spent on new offices for his staff.....Trashing the environment for short term profit.....Reneging on a sporting complex.....reneging on the new hospital he promised.....Increase funding to private schools whilst cutting public funding.....just to name a few.....If it was not for the fact Eric Ripper is worse than Barnett Labor might have a chance of holding this government to account.....Barnett can do what he likes because WA Labor is weak as piss!!!

Angry

Reply #3 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 8:31am

buzzanddidj wrote on May 18th, 2011 at 4:18pm:
This is Baillieu's BIGGEST problem

His lack of EXPERIENCE

He has NEVER been in government
Not even as a BACK-BENCHER

buzzanddidj wrote on May 17th, 2011 at 11:28am:
Baillieu - too scared to make decisions

May 16, 2011

THE Coalition is facing rising criticism of paralysis at the top levels of government as it sits on a key report into the future of myki.
The sanctioning of a further review into Victoria Police last week tops up to 80 reports and reviews already started and threatening to slowly grind down the Coalition's ability to govern.

Some of the completed reports have been sitting on Premier Ted Baillieu's desk for months without any action.

The myki report is believed to have been prepared for Cabinet on at least two occasions in recent months but has not been brought forward.

Senior Liberals fuming at the slow progress are demanding action, with many directly blaming Mr Baillieu's office.

"It is almost impossible to get them to make a decision,"
one Coalition MP said.

Consultant Deloitte's report into the controversial myki smartcard system has been buried in a Cabinet sub-committee for more than three months, despite reports the inaction on
myki is costing taxpayers $200,000 every day.

Myki was originally scheduled to take over from the antiquated Metcard system at Easter.

And on Budget day, Treasurer Kim Wells dropped the strongest possible hint the botched myki ticketing system would be approved.

But the Premier still refuses to talk publicly about the report's findings, despite admitting that whichever way the Government moves "is going to cost" taxpayers.

Opposition spokesman on scrutiny of government Martin Pakula said the Coalition's paralysis meant Victoria ran a real risk of losing its reputation as "the No.1 state in the nation".

"Announcing review after review, then leaving them sitting on a desk because Mr Baillieu is too scared to make a decision is not governing,"
Mr Pakula said.

"Mr Baillieu's failure to make decisions is sending a clear signal that Victoria is closed for business. Every day Mr Baillieu dithers is costing Victorians hundreds of thousands of dollars."

Some of the other outstanding reports that have yet to be returned to the Government include a review into child protection services, smart meters, the Victorian Transport Plan and an audit of the state's speed cameras

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/ted-baillieu-too-scared-to-make-decis...

BaillieuWatch

Sappho

Reply #4 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 8:47am

The new laws against swearing on public? An absolute joke. Our politicians have been heard swearing in PARLIAMENT. This is a blatant breach of freedom of speech and seriously draws into question the legitimacy of our constitution.

Really? A blatant breach of freedom of speech? How so? Are people incapable of speaking their mind without swearing and therefore we need the right to swear so that we can speak our mind? If yes, then I have more issue with your low opinion of Victorians which to your mind are excessively emotive with limited rational ability.

Psych studies have showing that swearing is an emotive response and not a rational response.

Now, if I stub my toe in public and swear because of it and a police man happens to be near by and charges me for that, I would take it to court and win the case, because what I have done in that situation is perfectly normal and human. These swearing laws have more to do with the angry abuse of fellow humans which breads distrust and disrespect.

If you ask me, these laws will cause more people to THINK before they deliver a tirade of swearing abuse and express their concerns rationally instead. That's a good thing. That promotes and encourages rational speaking of the mind. 

"Love is a cunning weaver of fantasies and fables."

Sappho

Reply #5 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 8:55am

The right for churches to discriminate? Just as ridiculous.

I agree. I was raised in a country which proclaimed we were all entitled to equal consideration. We were not equal. We were different. But difference did not mean that your voice was to be left unheard. Difference was that which ensured an equal right to express our concerns and have those concerns considered in the same way that the majority voice was given consideration.

Now however, religious institutions do not have to give equal consideration to the voices of difference. And that is a slight upon the right to speak our minds.

The consideration of another's view is less important now than it was in earlier times. Expect that to get worse.

Equitist

Reply #6 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:20am

What the hell is happening to Victoria?

Well, for starters: -

* Big Brother is watching - more CCTV to come!

* Big Brother is listening - swear and you can be arrested!

* Big Brother is discriminating - some bigots are more equal than others!

* Big Brother is pro-union - business unions (not workers' unions)!

* Big Brother is depriving and dumbing down your kids - some kids are more equal than others (notably those in Private Schools)!

* Big Brother is creating more beds - in gaols (not hospitals)!

* Big Brother wants a Police State - so watch out, you're next in line for those new beds!

Big Brother = Big Ted Baillieu!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #7 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:21am

Sappho wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 8:47am:

Psych studies have showing that swearing is an emotive response and not a rational response.

Which makes it a criminal offence ?

... and get THIS one

buzzanddidj wrote on May 31st, 2011 at 3:40pm:
THE
Baillieu Government
and the Herald Sun are giving
Herald-Sun readers
a significant opportunity to give their views on sentencing for a range of crimes.

The survey of tens of thousands of our readers will provide the Government with an in-depth indication of their opinions.

Readers will be asked if they strongly agree or disagree with the minimum sentences being considered.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/ipad/let-us-hear-your-verdict-on-sentencing/story-fn...

And don't forget your
"Be Magistrate for a Day"
scratch card in the
Weekend Herald-Sun

Lucky winners will be given a wig and gavel (little hammer) and spend a day sentencing in one of
Victoria's Magistrate Courts

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #8 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:39am

Oooow, oooow, oooow, please let Yadda have one of those scratch cards!!!      Cheesy

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

Sappho

Reply #9 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:44am

buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:21am:

Which makes it a criminal offence?

Would you prefer that humans be more like animals and emote there issues rather than rationally and speak freely their issues?

Actually, don't answer that... your inclination to coloured, large words... make it obvious that you think more with your feelings than you do with your mind. 

Back to your emotive roaring... you gotta show 'em who's Lord of the Flies.
« Last Edit: Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:53am by Sappho »  

Reply #10 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:03am

Sappho wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:44am:
buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 9:21am:

Which makes it a criminal offence?

Would you prefer that humans be more like animals and emote there issues rather than rationally and speak freely their issues?

Actually, don't answer that... your inclination to coloured, large words... make it obvious that you think more with your feelings than you do with your mind.  

Back to your emotive roaring... you gotta show 'em who's Lord of the Flies.  

Well when the alternative Prime Minister of this country allows his emotions to take over the most sedate debates let alone the ones that envoke real passion & is lauded as somehow being "REAL", why wouldn't at least half the population decide it's a good way to go.
Sh!t happens eh?

Reply #11 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:09am

All I've been seeing lately is Draconian laws favoring religious institutions and far right principles.

Gotta say, that'd be a welcome change for me.

Lately our societies seemed to have moved away from moral principles that we used to have 40/50 years ago.

Now we get dictated to by tree huggers, poofters and assorted immigrants.

God only knows what my Grandparents' generation would make of what we have become and who we have allowed to speak up.
Britain and the US getting dictated to by Chinese people and Indians.

Jeezus, what is happening to this world.

Reply #12 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:13am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:09am:
All I've been seeing lately is Draconian laws favoring religious institutions and far right principles.

Gotta say, that'd be a welcome change for me.

Lately our societies seemed to have moved away from moral principles that we used to have 40/50 years ago.

Now we get dictated to by tree huggers, poofters and assorted immigrants.

God only knows what my Grandparents' generation would make of what we have become and who we have allowed to speak up.
Britain and the US getting dictated to by Chinese people and Indians.

Jeezus, what is happening to this world.

US getting dictated to by Chinese people and Indians.

He who pays the piper calls the tune.

Reply #13 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:16am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:13am:

To quote one of my colleagues (whilst stood on the fairway of Torrey Pines last month) -

"Who the hell do other countries think they are telling us what to do? This is fking America, they should all be bowing down and kissing our goddamn asses"

My colleague is from Tennessee......

Reply #14 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:28am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:16am:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:13am:

To quote one of my colleagues (whilst stood on the fairway of Torrey Pines last month) -

"Who the hell do other countries think they are telling us what to do? This is fking America, they should all be bowing down and kissing our goddamn asses"

My colleague is from Tennessee......

You colleague is an idiot, I hope you took the time to point out the implications of China calling in the debt they hold.
That without these "Gooks" he'd be scrapping the barn floor looking for that kurnel of corn to feed his family for a week.