Q&A tonight - the politics re Asylum Seekers, etc. (Read 3016 times)
Equitist

Re: Q&A tonight - the politics re Asylum Seekers,
Reply #15 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:59am

Deborahmac09 wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:49am:
Equitist wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:47am:
So, folks, there you have it: right whingers tend to have short attention spans and therefore little capacity for processing alternative points of view!

This probably explains why Tony Abbott has taken it upon himself to narrow complex policy issues down to parroted slogans of 3 to 5 words...

You want to pretend you understood half of what Malalai Joya said?

I agree that she was relatively difficult to understand - but she had an interesting and important perspective and there was nothing that she said that I was unable to process...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Re: Q&A tonight - the politics re Asylum Seekers, etc.
Reply #16 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:03am

olive wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:54am:
So, folks, there you have it: right whingers tend to have short attention spans and therefore little capacity for processing alternative points of view!

This probably explains why Tony Abbott has taken it upon himself to narrow complex policy issues down to parroted slogans of 3 to 5 words...

"Moooooviinnnngg forrrrwwwarrrd"...Wink

All pollies use slogans but Abbott's use of mindless spin is excessive - and I estimate that his would outnumber hers by a ratio of between 3 and 5 to 1!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #17 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:03am

olive wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:40am:
chicken_lipsforme wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:31am:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:11am:
chicken_lipsforme wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 7:43am:
I reached my limit after 15 minutes and gave it the flick.

WOW even I only lasted 5
You becoming part of the Latte set in your old age Chook Smiley

No fear of that happening smithy.
I guess I lasted that long as I was hoping the program would pick up but it didn't.

I switched to it to see what it was about, but fell asleep on the couch after about 10 mins....must have been riveting !!!
(not)

No, not really.
You saved yourself hearing some noise pollution.
I gave up trying to translate what the pushy gibbering Afghan woman was on about.
I thought at the time her "US forces get out of Afghanistan" button she was wearing might have been more relevant if worn somewhere else.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #18 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:04am

What whinger Malalai Joya was. So ungrateful. I wonder if there was no invasion of Afghanistan would she even of been able to of once been a parliamentarian? 
I bet she was flown over on Australian tax payer money too.

Deborahmac09

Reply #19 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:07am

Equitist wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:59am:

I agree that she was relatively difficult to understand - but she had an interesting and important perspective and there was nothing that she said that I was unable to process...

I know. She is one gutsy lady. Denouncing the warlords in parliment.

Many people ask me how they should support women of Afghanistan. Firstly, war will never help women. Secondly, if we have the opportunity, Afghan women can liberate themselves and progressive Afghan men will help us. We must unite and fight for our own liberation. As long as these warlords are in power, there is no hope for any positive change

olive

Reply #20 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:19am

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:03am:

WOW even I only lasted 5

I guess I lasted that long as I was hoping the program would pick up but it didn't.

I switched to it to see what it was about, but fell asleep on the couch after about 10 mins....must have been riveting !!!
(not)

No, not really.
I gave up trying to translate what the pushy gibbering Afghan woman was on about.
I thought at the time her "US forces get out of Afghanistan" button she was wearing might have been more relevant if worn somewhere else.

Have to agree there, chook, as I felt she was undeniably hostile to our troops being there. I wish they could come home too, as the hospitals and schools they are building are obviously not appreciated, and its all a devious plot, according to her. That turned me off her immediately. Especially as I know two men over there who are risking their lives for the betterment of that country.

Reply #21 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:30am

Equitist wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:03am:
olive wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:54am:

"Moooooviinnnngg forrrrwwwarrrd"...Wink

All pollies use slogans but Abbott's use of mindless spin is excessive - and I estimate that his would outnumber hers by a ratio of between 3 and 5 to 1!

I would have to say the MINDLESS SPIn from yourself is also excessive and MIND NUMBING..every post from you contains some slagging off of Abbot whatever this man has done to you I cannot fathom.. but you are most definately paranoid about him I do hope you dont condemn your boys to  your constant trashing of Abbott.

I am not even sure if Abbotts name came up last night I know it didnt in the few seconds I watched it..

however here he is again.. getting blamed for all and sundry..what a whinger.

Deborahmac09

Reply #22 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:31am

olive wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:19am:
chicken_lipsforme wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:03am:

WOW even I only lasted 5

(not)

No, not really.

Have to agree there, chook, as I felt she was undeniably hostile to our troops being there. I wish they could come home too, as the hospitals and schools they are building are obviously not appreciated, and its all a devious plot, according to her. That turned me off her immediately. Especially as I know two men over there who are risking their lives for the betterment of that country.

She said the hospitals and schools were appreciated. Just not the bombs dropped on civilians by the US and germany I think it was.
What she was saying was the civilians have three sides now to fear. the warlords, the terrorists and the allies, instead of two.

culldav

Reply #23 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:34am

And the difference between this panel of idiots and discussing the same matter with strangers at the local is…?

Q&A needs to get its act together big time.  Its losing ratings big time because some idiot is putting together panellists who have no bloody idea about what they are talking about when the producers of the show know in advance that specific issues will be raised that night.  It was a good show until it became the Politicians Celebrity Hour with your host - Tony Jones instead of real Q&A addressed to politicians like it was originally meant to be.  

This is the 4th show in a row whereby we have not even bothered to watch it - same garbage, and just seems like parliamentary question time where the majority of the audience is now reduced to reading rehearsed questions off cards that don’t even sound like something they would ask in the first place.  

FRED.

Reply #24 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:37am

culldav wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:34am:
And the difference between this panel of idiots and discussing the same matter with strangers at the local is…?

Q&A needs to get its act together big time.  Its losing ratings big time because some idiot is putting together panellists who have no bloody idea about what they are talking about when the producers of the show know in advance that specific issues will be raised that night.  It was a good show until it became the Politicians Celebrity Hour with your host - Tony Jones instead of real Q&A addressed to politicians like it was originally meant to be.  

This is the 4th show in a row whereby we have not even bothered to watch it - same garbage, and just seems like parliamentary question time with the audience is now reduced to reading rehearsed questions of cards that don’t even sound like something they would ask in the first place.  

YEP Its gone to SHYTE   Grin Grin

FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au  

culldav

Reply #25 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:40am

Its just a celebrity show now for the average “run of the mill” pollies.

Q&A is The Footy Show for Politicians.

Reply #26 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:42am

Deborahmac09 wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 10:07am:
Equitist wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 9:59am:

I know. She is one gutsy lady. Denouncing the warlords in parliment.

Many people ask me how they should support women of Afghanistan. Firstly, war will never help women. Secondly, if we have the opportunity, Afghan women can liberate themselves and progressive Afghan men will help us. We must unite and fight for our own liberation. As long as these warlords are in power, there is no hope for any positive change

is she going back?????

otherwise she is only complaining about the war lords in a foreign country... if she stood up in her own country and denounced them I would then call her gutsy..

war will never help woman.!.. what does that MEAN?

is it meant to help a certain section I thought it was all about democracy..

Afghan woman can help themselves... what even if they are not allowed to go to school or show their faces.. yeah I am sure they will

I agree with them fighting for themselves.. that will be a first.

maybe when the NBN passes their front doors and they all get computers then they will catch up with the rest of the world..and say hey no one else lives like we do... whats wrong with us??

as thats not likely to happen..what does she want in the meantime?

has anyone noticed the yanks are not jumping straight into conflict like they once did.. who would blame them..

they are now facing something like $10billion for cyclone Irene.. and with all the other disasters that have befallen America over the past few years.. I doubt whether the yanks give a fig whats happening anywhere else to be honest..look at Libya.. Syria.Somalia..silence.. even Israel and Palestine..nothing..maybe thats a good thing.. when they look around and no one is there with the safety net.. they might pull their collective heads in.

Deborahmac09

Reply #27 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 11:12am

yep cods, lets send her back so she gets murdered. She will.

Reply #28 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 11:17am

These people are free to seek asylum somewhere else.

For those that are suspected terrorists, the Government of Sri Lanka for example said it will receive back these alleged refugees for processing of their suspected Tamil Tiger links.

Let's also remember here please that the Socialist Democratic Republic of Sri Lanka is an ALLY of Australia and a friend of Australia.
This is not North Korea.

Reply #29 - Aug 30th, 2011 at 11:23am

LOL.  yeah good luck with that.  Grin Grin