Does anyone know why offshore processing started? (Read 5665 times)
FRED.

Re: Does anyone know why offshore processing started?
Reply #15 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:55am

Dnarever wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:52am:
Maqqa wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 7:33am:
Offshore processing started because Australian lawyers used a loophole in Australian laws to get asylum-seekers their refugee status

So as long as the asylum-seekers landed on the mainland - they are assured of refugee status

Even if security checks turns out against the asylum-seeker the Australian lawyers will use this loophole to keep them here.

The legal challenges are often costly and involve the media.

The Greens generally will jump on the bandwagon

Rubbish - all it did was to give them access to the Australian judicial system which meant that their rights including with refugee claims had to be handled properly or take the risk of being overturned.

There was no loophole to grant refugee status.

In reality off shore processing started because Mr Howard wanted to be able to say that We will deciede who comes to this country in his 2001 election campaign. That is literally all it was about.

Howards 10 Billion dollar election stunt.

5 External links

BackgroundThe policy "Migration Act 1958 " was discretionary prior to 1992 but since the 1990s when the Paul Keating ALP government enforced a policy of mandatory detention of unauthorised arrivals, non-citizens arriving by boat without a valid visa were detained until they were either granted a visa, or deported. [3]

Towards the end of the 1990s, a large increase in the number of unauthorised arrivals exceeded the capacity of the existing Immigration Reception and Processing Centres at Port Hedland and Curtin.[4]

Facilities [5]

HARD FOR YOU buggers to ADMIT     Grin Grin

FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au  

Reply #16 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:59am

skippy. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:34am:
cods wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:26am:
skippy. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:19am:
I think Keating started it,but who cares now, this is the beginning of the end of this barbaric practice. Australia will once again be able to hold our heads high in the international community without the bigoted xenophobes like maqqa being able to manipulate policy. Cool
I SAY THANKYOU TO OUR HIGH COURT.

so where do you put your name down to take in the next boat load that arrives and take full responsibility..

shouldnt we all be putting our hands up to do our share?

Put my name next to all these ex PMS
Menzies, Holt,Gorton,McMahon,Whitlam,Fraser,Hawke. Cool

where though..I know we dont want all those bigots and racists... so that just leave a few on here..but I am sure you will be one of the first along with buzz and nem.. I would like a copy of the commitment when you can put it up... btw the first 4 on your list are dead so dont expect much from them

Reply #17 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:01am

FRED. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:55am:
Offshore processing started because Australian lawyers used a loophole in Australian laws to get asylum-seekers their refugee status

So as long as the asylum-seekers landed on the mainland - they are assured of refugee status

Even if security checks turns out against the asylum-seeker the Australian lawyers will use this loophole to keep them here.

Rubbish - all it did was to give them access to the Australian judicial system which meant that their rights including with refugee claims had to be handled properly or take the risk of being overturned.

In reality off shore processing started because Mr Howard wanted to be able to say that We will deciede who comes to this country in his 2001 election campaign. That is literally all it was about.

5 External links

BackgroundThe policy "Migration Act 1958 " was discretionary prior to 1992 but since the 1990s when the Paul Keating ALP government enforced a policy of mandatory detention of unauthorised arrivals, non-citizens arriving by boat without a valid visa were detained until they were either granted a visa, or deported. [3]

Towards the end of the 1990s, a large increase in the number of unauthorised arrivals exceeded the capacity of the existing Immigration Reception and Processing Centres at Port Hedland and Curtin.[4]

Facilities [5]

HARD FOR YOU buggers to ADMIT     Grin Grin

dunno about you Fred.. but I like the idea WE WILL DECIDE WHO COMES HERE...

Reply #18 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:14am

cods wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:59am:
skippy. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:34am:
cods wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:26am:
skippy. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 8:19am:
I think Keating started it,but who cares now, this is the beginning of the end of this barbaric practice. Australia will once again be able to hold our heads high in the international community without the bigoted xenophobes like maqqa being able to manipulate policy. Cool
I SAY THANKYOU TO OUR HIGH COURT.

so where do you put your name down to take in the next boat load that arrives and take full responsibility..

shouldnt we all be putting our hands up to do our share?

Put my name next to all these ex PMS
Menzies, Holt,Gorton,McMahon,Whitlam,Fraser,Hawke. Cool

where though..I know we dont want all those bigots and racists... so that just leave a few on here..but I am sure you will be one of the first along with buzz and nem.. I would like a copy of the commitment when you can put it up... btw the first 4 on your list are dead so dont expect much from them

If YOU dont like the laws in this country, which btw have bugger all to do with the gov, they were handed down by the high court, piss off back to pommy land,we wont miss you or your whinging.

Reply #19 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:20am

5 External links

Facilities [5]

Hey fwedo ,when you read this thread for THE FIRST TI ME you'll see I said it was Keating in post #9,simpleton.

FRED.

Reply #20 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:26am

skippy. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:20am:

5 External links

Facilities [5]

Hey fwedo ,when you read this thread for THE FIRST TI ME you'll see I said it was Keating in post #9,simpleton.

SO WHAT  I dont read 90% of your looser SHYTE     YOU smacking MORON      Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #21 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:27am

FRED. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:26am:

5 External links

Facilities [5]

SO WHAT  I dont read 90% of your looser SHYTE     YOU smacking MORON      Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Grin Grin Grin You hate when I prove you wrong ALL THE TIME hey fwed? Grin Grin Grin

FRED.

Reply #22 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:29am

skippy. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:27am:
FRED. wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 9:26am:

5 External links

Facilities [5]

SO WHAT  I dont read 90% of your looser SHYTE     YOU smacking MORON      Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Grin Grin Grin You hate when I prove you wrong ALL THE TIME hey fwed? Grin Grin Grin

IN YOU DREAMS   WANKER    Grin Grin Grin Grin

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #23 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 11:40am

Yes I remember why.
It was to stop the ongoing endless and costly court appeals initiated  by refugees who did not like the Immigration departments decision not to grant them refugee status.
But despite initiating these appeals which lengthened their stay behind bars and then refused to return home, would then riot, sew their lips together whilst on hunger strikes and wail at the left wing media because of the length of time they had to wait.
Howard stopped that rot, and Labor brought it all back via their incompetence.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Equitist

Reply #24 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 12:12pm

Kindly stop the spamming, Macca...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #25 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 2:40pm

5 External links

Facilities [5]

Dnerever is right. Offshore processing was Ruddock and Howard's response to the Tampa crisis in 2001. A Norwegian container ship picked up a shipwrecked boat near Christmas Island and was refused entry to Australian ports.

The solution: the tiny Island of Nairu offered to take them for 10 million dollars and a purpose built facility. Subsequent facilities were built on Christmas Island and Manus Island in Papua New Guinea. The "Pacific Solution" was born.

It wasn't planned policy, it was a crisis-driven response to an international crisis. Indonesia refused them, Australia refused them. There was no time for maritime law to be argued in the courts.

All but 2 of the 1229 refugees detained in Nairu were eventually taken into Australia as refugees, but the "Pacific Solution" saw a drop in the number of refugee boats coming to Australia. Hence, Ruddock was able to claim that the policy broke the business model of the people smugglers.

Maybe. When Rudd got in and abandoned the Pacific Solution, the boats started coming again. Labor addressed "push factors", diplomacy and an Australian Federal police task force to work with the Indonesians to catch people smugglers. The civil war in Sri Lanka ended. But the numbers continued to rise.

As the numbers rose, it became increasingly hard to argue that offshore processing hadn't worked. The shock jocks went wild. When Rudd was deposed, Gillard was tasked with solving the boat problem. Talk returned to breaking the people smuggler business model and the Pacific Solution was reborn: first East Timor, then the Malaysian Solution.

Mandatory detention is an entirely separate policy, begun by the Keating government in 1992. A detention limit of 273 days applied to all cases, and the policy had bipartisan support.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #26 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 3:02pm

Ah, quite obviously it was started to please the bogans and bigots and obtain their votes. Derr.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Reply #27 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 3:12pm

5 External links

Facilities [5]

HARD FOR YOU buggers to ADMIT    

Well what is there to admit, You have stated what we already know and totally opposed Macca's theory in the process but fail to give any logical connection between Keatings action, the onshore detention centres and the offshore option.

Your time window shows the arrivals becoming a problem 2 years before the rather strange and un Australian solution being implimented on the cusp of an election and at a time when additional mainland facilities were already being put in place.

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #28 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 10:22pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 1st, 2011 at 11:40am:
Yes I remember why.
It was to stop the ongoing endless and costly court appeals initiated  by refugees who did not like the Immigration departments decision not to grant them refugee status.
But despite initiating these appeals which lengthened their stay behind bars and then refused to return home, would then riot, sew their lips together whilst on hunger strikes and wail at the left wing media because of the length of time they had to wait.
Howard stopped that rot, and Labor brought it all back via their incompetence.

CORRECT on all accounts

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Reply #29 - Sep 1st, 2011 at 10:42pm

The solution: the tiny Island of Nairu offered to take them for 10 million dollars and a purpose built facility. Subsequent facilities were built on Christmas Island and Manus Island in Papua New Guinea. The "Pacific Solution" was born.

$10mil seems a pittance compared to what we are paying now.. dont you think??,.. with no end in sight.

seems to me the people smugglers know more about what we can and cant do than this govt will ever know..

they have got to be laughing themselves stupid..and a s for the Indonesian govt how much are we paying them to put a stop to the smugglers.?? another waste of space that idea is..but its only money who cares..