Loving children to death (Read 4271 times)

Re: Loving children to death
Reply #30 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 7:50am

Maqqa wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 8:17pm:
cods wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 8:13pm:
you would have to get the parents fixed first.. sounds like they are the dregs.. but never the less..we have been through the stolen generation.. isnt this more of the same..

if the specialists cant get the parents to change then their is something wrong with how they are approaching them..

if thyey are as obese as you say.. then it wouldnt be hard to get someone in the house doing all the meals and shopping..it wouldnt be anywhere near as expensive as putting these kids into foster homes..

maybe a dose of hypnosis..or frontal lobotomy...

Don't forget they can snack

So unless you control their money - they will buy heaps of snacks which compound the issue

So does the government quarantine their income? We tried that with the Aborigines and look at the outrage

this is ONE family not a whole tribe although it is on the increase..

its an addiction isnt it.. and sadly they have trained their kids into the same addiction..look go into a chemist these days and you are confronted by food..nowhere is safe..for the kids I hope they can fix it.. without taking them away from their home..that doesnt seem right to me..

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #31 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 7:53am

cods wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 7:50am:
Maqqa wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 8:17pm:
cods wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 8:13pm:
you would have to get the parents fixed first.. sounds like they are the dregs.. but never the less..we have been through the stolen generation.. isnt this more of the same..

if the specialists cant get the parents to change then their is something wrong with how they are approaching them..

if thyey are as obese as you say.. then it wouldnt be hard to get someone in the house doing all the meals and shopping..it wouldnt be anywhere near as expensive as putting these kids into foster homes..

maybe a dose of hypnosis..or frontal lobotomy...

Don't forget they can snack

So unless you control their money - they will buy heaps of snacks which compound the issue

So does the government quarantine their income? We tried that with the Aborigines and look at the outrage

this is ONE family not a whole tribe although it is on the increase..

its an addiction isnt it.. and sadly they have trained their kids into the same addiction..look go into a chemist these days and you are confronted by food..nowhere is safe..for the kids I hope they can fix it.. without taking them away from their home..that doesnt seem right to me..

hence my comments initially that if government intervene and legislate - it would have more of an impact on families that are doing the right thing

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Reply #32 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 7:59am

gizmo_2655 wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 10:28pm:
cods wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 8:09pm:
Maqqa wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 8:05pm:
I would not be surprised the parents are also large mammals as well

Dieticians are great - you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it stop eating

So in this case - education is useless if they won't take action

If the 12 years old is 102kg - I find that to be child abuse.

Parents seems to have no will power to say NO to their own food intact and no will power to say no to their children

So how do you protect the children?

so what do you call taking kids away form loving parents???

The parents may be 'loving' but they're potentially killing the kids....

A 12 year old who weighs 102kg???........A grown man, 178cm (5 foot 8 inch) man should only weigh 78 kgs...

thats not the point. bogan parents that set bad examples for their kids by drinking fighting swearing, working only occasionally  etc do much of the same thing. should their kids be removed?

Reply #33 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 8:00am

How soon we forget....

anyone remember the Stolen Generation????

this is NO DIFFERENT.

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #34 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 8:01am

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 7:59am:

Dieticians are great - you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it stop eating

Parents seems to have no will power to say NO to their own food intact and no will power to say no to their children

A 12 year old who weighs 102kg???........A grown man, 178cm (5 foot 8 inch) man should only weigh 78 kgs...

thats not the point. bogan parents that set bad examples for their kids by drinking fighting swearing, working only occasionally  etc do much of the same thing. should their kids be removed?

so what do we do as a society

I oppose removal of these children - but what is the alternative?

education?

do we force them to be better? - the civil libertarians will have a field day

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Reply #35 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 8:09am

Maqqa wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 8:01am:

thats not the point. bogan parents that set bad examples for their kids by drinking fighting swearing, working only occasionally  etc do much of the same thing. should their kids be removed?

education?

there are a variety of alternatives but this thread is about REMOVAL of the children. this kind of behaviour must be opposed strongly otherwise it wil end up being a standard method used by an incompetent state to enforce its own ridiculous standards. This kind of thing MUST be opposed by everyone.

Reply #36 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 8:11am

education?

why do we HAVE to do anything?? you would think they are the first fat kids ever! it is the attitude of 'we have to do something' that ends up with taking the kids from them FOR LIFE.

Reply #37 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 8:27am

can we assume these kids go to school! so at some satge they are in the care of someone else..as you say longy if the parents are feral they dont remove the kids.. its only when they are abused... but how many kinds of abuse are there??

I have a family semi related that are very feral..4 children father only works at night stealing..eldest son stole a car crashed it and his passenger [girl] lost a leg.. he was 15..the son goes on stealing nights with dad..all smoke dope..these have been reported over and over again... but still the kids remain there..

maybe we should sterilise these people befor they have 4 kids..

wish I knew!

I might add this is the fathers second family.. he has 7 others by first wife..lucky for me I dont know too much about them

Equitist

Reply #38 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 9:00am

C'mon Macca et al

Given that, when identical twins are raised separately, their body fat and shape remains uncannily similar throughout their lifespan, it seems ludicrous to give undue weight to nurture factors over genetic nature!

As I have mentioned previously, I have an older half-sister who was adopted out from birth and had no contact with her birth parents for the first 45 years of her life - and her mannerisms and speech patterns are uncannily similar to my father and other members of our extended family. This can be no coincidence!

Similarly, I have a friend who recently found his birth parents after about 40 years - and he made similar observations about himself and his parents and 3 full-siblings. The word he used to me, to describe his observations of the familial characteristics, was also "uncanny"!

Moreover, his extra-large body shape matches that of the members of his birth family - and not that of the 3 other slim members of the household in which he was raised from infancy! As it happens, his brother from this household was also adopted.

He says that he never really felt a part of his strict, authoritarian and wealthy adoptive family - but he blends right into his easy-going working class birth family! Both of which are Jewish!

BTW, unlike me, he's religious and a staunch Liberal voter - yet we have remained friends since high school!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #39 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 9:21am

BTW, unlike me, he's religious and a staunch Liberal voter - yet we have remained friends since high school!

did he mention anything about have a thick skin....lol...to be a liberal friend with you he would need one.... having a joke nem

Equitist

Reply #40 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 9:25am

cods wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 9:21am:

did he mention anything about have a thick skin....lol...to be a liberal friend with you he would need one.... having a joke nem

LOL, Cods - like most right whingers, he's got such thick skin that he's reptilian! Uncharacteristically, however, he has a good sense of humour...

Suffice to say that we can only take each other in small doses!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #41 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 10:17am

education?

Reintroduce phys ed in schools.  IT's been on the decline for years to make way for more useless touchy feely crap.
A bit of phys ed and peer pressure might go a long way to reining in the fatties...but of course being mocked for their weight would violate their 'human rights' so the do-gooders wouldn't have a bar of that, ensuring that they stay fat burdens for life.

Deborahmac09

Reply #42 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 10:41am

I agree with maqqa, civil libertarians have been given too much power. A bit or a lot rather like unions.

Reply #43 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 11:52am

sigh... this thread has zero to do with childrens weight. it is EVERYTHING to do with the state removing children form a loving family on the basis of weight.

Reply #44 - Sep 6th, 2011 at 11:58am

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 11:52am:
sigh... this thread has zero to do with childrens weight. it is EVERYTHING to do with the state removing children form a loving family on the basis of weight.

GASMeter1.gif (30 KB | 29 )
GASMeter1.gif