Re: Tony Abbott
Reply #45 - Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:17am

Maqqa wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:07am:
philperth2010 wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:04am:
Maqqa wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 10:59am:
philperth2010 wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 10:32am:
Griff wrote on Sep 25th, 2011 at 8:27pm:
Abbott is a volunteer surf life saver at Queenscliff ,
a volunteer member of the NSW Rural Fire Service as a member of the Davidson Rural Fire Brigade

He  has participated in many events for charity including running in a 100 km charity ultramarathon.

In April 2007 he launched the tenth annual Pollie Pedal, a charitable event which aimed to raise money for breast cancer research

Abbott spent weeks teaching in a remote Aboriginal settlements in Cape York in 2008 and 2009, organised through prominent indigenous leader Noel Pearson. He taught remedial reading to Aboriginal children; worked with an income management group, helping families manage their welfare payments; and visited children who had not been attending school—with a goal 'to familiarise himself with indigenous issues'.

Criticise all you like -  how many other front bench politicians do volunteer work ?

We all know volunteer work is only done to gain prestige and further your career in Aboriginal free loading.....No one does volunteer work unless it is for personal gain according to the right....What a self serving wanker Tony Abbott is!!!

So any volunteers who vote for Liberal falls into this category then
you are a disgrace phil to all volunteers across this great nation

I was being sarcastic!!!

Cool

gotcha!

I thought you where smarter than that Macca???

Everybody gets so much information all day long that they lose their common sense.
Gertrude Stein (1874 - 1946)

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #46 - Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:20am

philperth2010 wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:17am:
Maqqa wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:07am:
philperth2010 wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:04am:
Maqqa wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 10:59am:
philperth2010 wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 10:32am:
Griff wrote on Sep 25th, 2011 at 8:27pm:
Abbott is a volunteer surf life saver at Queenscliff ,
a volunteer member of the NSW Rural Fire Service as a member of the Davidson Rural Fire Brigade

He  has participated in many events for charity including running in a 100 km charity ultramarathon.

In April 2007 he launched the tenth annual Pollie Pedal, a charitable event which aimed to raise money for breast cancer research

Abbott spent weeks teaching in a remote Aboriginal settlements in Cape York in 2008 and 2009, organised through prominent indigenous leader Noel Pearson. He taught remedial reading to Aboriginal children; worked with an income management group, helping families manage their welfare payments; and visited children who had not been attending school—with a goal 'to familiarise himself with indigenous issues'.

Criticise all you like -  how many other front bench politicians do volunteer work ?

We all know volunteer work is only done to gain prestige and further your career in Aboriginal free loading.....No one does volunteer work unless it is for personal gain according to the right....What a self serving wanker Tony Abbott is!!!

So any volunteers who vote for Liberal falls into this category then
you are a disgrace phil to all volunteers across this great nation

I was being sarcastic!!!

Cool

gotcha!

I thought you where smarter than that Macca???

Everybody gets so much information all day long that they lose their common sense.
Gertrude Stein (1874 - 1946)

I am - but you just don't recognise it

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

olive

Reply #47 - Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:36am

Maqqa wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 7:38am:
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/opinion/the-other-side-of-tony-...

FROM the progressive Left that loathes him to the right-wing free market lobby that distrusts him, Tony Abbott's political character as cautious, conservative and pragmatic remains the source of denial and alarm.

Abbott has been the most misunderstood leader of a major political party for many years. Blunder after blunder has been perpetrated by his opponents because they have failed to see what is in front of their eyes, and what Abbott represents.

The two great myths are Abbott as extremist and Abbott as ideologue. The Australian public shuns such traits and Abbott's poll ratings affirm this is not how the public sees him. The effort to paint Abbott as extremist and ideologue, once Labor's central strategy, has failed so far.

Labor, however, cannot give up. Undermined by its own dysfunction, it will keep playing the Abbott card because it has few other options and is convinced he is a destructive force unfit to become prime minister. Labor's last hope remains a bet against Abbott's political character.

This week Peter Costello, who understands Abbott better than most, rapped him over the knuckles for being too soft and cautious on industrial relations reform. Costello's complaint is that Abbott ruled out individual statutory contracts, a policy legislated by the Howard government in 1996 on Coalition and Australian Democrat votes, long before Work Choices. Abbott, in short, has positioned himself to the left of the Australian Democrats circa 1996. Sound extreme to you? No wonder Costello is unhappy.

In his book Battlelines, Abbott attacked Work Choices as "a catastrophic political blunder". Indeed, he was one of the least enthusiastic ministers when the Howard cabinet agreed to the policy. Abbott is making crystal clear his attitude in office to industrial relations - he will operate within Julia Gillard's existing laws. Radical IR reform is simply off Abbott's radar. The employer groups will need to get their heads around this reality.

Costello's pot shot follows that from Abbott backer and former finance minister Nick Minchin in the partyroom in May accusing Abbott of failing the "good reform" test by not supporting a Labor excise increase. In short, Abbott was too soft and cautious for Minchin's taste on fiscal discipline.

Such critiques penetrate both to Abbott's style and substance. Abbott, in case you missed it, does not seek a fifth term for the Howard-Costello government. As far as Abbott is concerned, that government is over. Abbott runs for a first-term Abbott government. It will be different in policy and style, even though John Howard remains his model.

How will it be different? Well, Abbott's first-term game plan is on the table now. It will be dominated by four items that reflect Abbott's conservatism applied to the times: the dismantling of the carbon price scheme (the most substantial and risky dismantling of any policy in Australian history), the scaling back and re-defining of the National Broadband Network, the removal of the mining tax and hefty spending cuts to achieve the promised fiscal consolidation. How much detail the Coalition provides on the fiscal side remains to be seen and it refuses to get its policy costed by any government agency. This agenda is heavily negative, but Abbott's retort is the public doesn't buy Labor's reform edifices and wants them dismantled.

Abbott's instinctive reply to Minchin in their partyroom exchange was memorable. He said faced with a choice between "policy purity and political pragmatism, I'll take pragmatism every time". It is the antithesis of ideology.

As for tactics, Abbott is tracking Howard's 1996 campaign. Just as Howard dismissed any GST, so Abbott dismisses IR reform to counter Labor's inevitable Work Choices scare. Abbott will give Labor nothing - no opening, no break against him. Abbott operates on the assumption of Kevin Rudd's possible return thereby reviving Labor's vote. How dumb would Abbott be to devise bold and risky policies against a weak Gillard only to gift a resurrected Rudd fresh weapons to use against him and reverse the political equation? For the record, Abbott won't be that dumb.

Much of the current debate misses the way Abbott frames the political future. His objective is to win and win big. Abbott wants the Australian people to mandate his judgment against Labor and to authorise his dismantling of the Gillard-Rudd legacy. The next election is the opposite of 2010: it will be a turning point poll between radically different programs.

Found this an interesting article, maqqa. I do think people underestimate Abbott. That is not simply a view from a conservative, as I undoubtedly am, but a view from someone who knows more about the paternity story than most would on here. Abbott is a man of fine character.
I find it interesting that many put him down and when I ask them why, they say he is a hypocrite, a religious nutter, a lying so and so...etc. etc. Yet when I ask them to expand on why they think this, they flounder or revert to gossip and innuendo.

The left are definitely at a loss as to how to deal with Abbott.

Reply #48 - Oct 1st, 2011 at 4:35pm

Not really. I read his book and still found him to be a complete wanker.

Well - not complete. He has grown up a lot since his student days, where he papered the walls of his elite college dorm with pictures of the pope.

And yes, he has actually GONE to Aboriginal communities, which is a lot more than can be said for most.

It's his ideas - his ideology - which I find completely alien. This strange amalgam of Catholic-right and neoliberal world views. It's strange, because the two have traditionally been like oil and water.

Sure he wrote three books. Is anybody reading them?

Abbott's minders are hoping that they don't.

Abbott is an ideologue thrust into a position that requires pragmatism. So far, when he's been in the spotlight, he's got it wrong. His instinct is to explain, to battle it out with words - which is where he trips himself up. I don't see him as an active politician at all, despite all the lifesaving and triathlons. He's a thinker, he mulls things over. Perhaps he WOULD make a good theologian.

Take his stance as a health minister on issues like tobacco and fast food advertising. He always went to where the power was - with the big lobbies. That's his instinct too: to suck up to power and let things happen. His maternity leave stance - and all it was was a stance - was intended to rebadge himself and wedge the government. He learned wedge politics avidly from Howard. Howard held onto aspirational ex-Labor voters all those years by playing the game Abbott's learned so well.

The problem with all this is that Abbott will need to govern. He's lucky, because he's found himself in the middle of a mining boom. But things aren't all that great, as economic and consumer confidence is lower than the 1980s.

Abbott will eventually get the chance to put himself to the test, and after seeing Rudd and Gillard flounder so badly in the polls, it's a sh!t sandwich. He will need to implement actual policies rather than soundbites and dog whistles. It will not be easy for him.

He's shown he can handle the media, which must take its toll on you - and kill lessor mortals - such as Latham. But this is not enough. So far, Abbott has not shown consistency in anything aside from conservative platitudes and monosyllabic soundbites: stop the boats.

Still, I hope he does well. We have no choice in the inevitability of this, do we?

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #49 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 5:01pm

olive wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 11:36am:
Found this an interesting article, maqqa. I do think people underestimate Abbott. That is not simply a view from a conservative, as I undoubtedly am, but a view from someone who knows more about the paternity story than most would on here. Abbott is a man of fine character.
I find it interesting that many put him down and when I ask them why, they say he is a hypocrite, a religious nutter, a lying so and so...etc. etc. Yet when I ask them to expand on why they think this, they flounder or revert to gossip and innuendo.

The left are definitely at a loss as

exactly olive

I am glad you asked the extra questions because it may have helped that particular person to realised they need an independent thought

AND not to trifle with olive  Wink

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Equitist

Reply #50 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 8:09pm

Karnal wrote on Oct 1st, 2011 at 4:35pm:
He's shown he can handle the media, which must take its toll on you - and kill lessor mortals - such as Latham. But this is not enough.

I agree with most of your comments - but I reckon that Abbott only handles the media by tightly controlling the subject matter and whom he speaks to as well as the where and the when...

Cast your mind back to the 2010 Election campaign - and you will recall how badly he responded when he wasn't so much in control of the media circus...

Remember his extraordinarily agitated, brief, narrow and truncated interviews - when he was on the back foot...!?

When (if) Australian journalists start doing their jobs - and Abbott flips back into defensive mode - the electorate will be reminded of the type of 'leader' he would be...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #51 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 8:25pm

Equitist wrote on Oct 2nd, 2011 at 8:09pm:
He's shown he can handle the media, which must take its toll on you - and kill lessor mortals - such as Latham. But this is not enough.

I agree with most of your comments - but I reckon that Abbott only handles the media by tightly controlling the subject matter and whom he speaks to as well as the where and the when...

Cast your mind back to the 2010 Election campaign - and you will recall how badly he responded when he wasn't so much in control of the media circus...

Remember his extraordinarily agitated, brief, narrow and truncated interviews - when he was on the back foot...!?

When (if) Australian journalists start doing their jobs - and Abbott flips back into defensive mode - the electorate will be reminded of the type of 'leader' he would be...

you are such a biased child
abbott threw out rudd. which at that time was unthinkable
then he went into a hairsbreadth of crushing the leftards dream 1st female. she has a vastly biased vote before she begun.

NorthOfNorth

Reply #52 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 8:46pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Oct 2nd, 2011 at 8:25pm:
Equitist wrote on Oct 2nd, 2011 at 8:09pm:

you are such a biased child
abbott threw out rudd. which at that time was unthinkable
then he went into a hairsbreadth of crushing the leftards dream 1st female. she has a vastly biased vote before she begun.

Bit of a man crush there Sprint. Grin

I'm told that happens in seminaries a lot...

Cardinal Pell has that problem all the time... Apparently Grin

Conviction is the art of being certain

Reply #53 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:02pm

anything on topic there helian ?
or just happy to infer a homo desire on me ?

well, get buggered.

Reply #54 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:04pm

helian - i have reported you front bottom.

hope you get banned

NorthOfNorth

Reply #55 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:07pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:02pm:

well, get buggered.

Get buggered? Grin You're really goin with this man crush thing.

What's the day today? Ah yes, Sunday... Back on the turps again, there Sprint.

Reply #56 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:33pm

NorthOfNorth wrote on Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:07pm:

well, get buggered.

We wouldn't want to infer a homo desire on Sprint. He takes these things very seriously indeed. Now on topic, it is widely reported that Mr Abbott had a sexual encounter in the priesthood that left him wracked with guilt. Hence his remarks on homosexuality, and his candour that it makes him feel deeply uncomfortable.

It is not known whether Mr Cyclist has had such an experience, but perhaps we can infer from the above reference to sodomy.

Not that there's anything wrong with it, Sprint.

Moderator, kindly ban us, thank you.

Reply #57 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:38pm

Karnal wrote on Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:33pm:

well, get buggered.

We wouldn't want to infer a homo desire on Sprint. He takes these things very seriously indeed. Now on topic, it is widely reported that Mr Abbott had a sexual encounter in the priesthood that left him wracked with guilt. Hence his remarks on homosexuality, and his candour that it makes him feel deeply uncomfortable.

It is not known whether Mr Cyclist has had such an experience, but perhaps we can infer from the above reference to sodomy.

Not that there's anything wrong with it, Sprint.

Moderator, kindly ban us, thank you.

i have passed yoour request on and look forward to your banning

Reply #58 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:39pm

well, get buggered.

i have requested again your banning

NorthOfNorth

Reply #59 - Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:42pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Oct 2nd, 2011 at 10:39pm:

well, get buggered.

i have requested again your banning

A humourless quasi-Christian drunk... What a surprise mix... not.  Roll Eyes