How long would food in your fridge/pantry last? (Read 2829 times)
Annie Anthrax

Take the plan, spin it
sideways

Re: How long would food in your fridge/pantry last?
Reply #15 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:48pm

This is really interesting. I used to read a good UK website a few years ago called self sufficient ish, if you're interested.

You guys should start a sub-forum on Self sufficiency/sustainability.  

I can't do this, but I'm doing it anyway.

Grey

Reply #16 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:49pm

cods wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:44pm:
Grey wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:40pm:
There's a huge difference between what you're used to having on hand and survival necessities. Here in the Sth West it's bloody Eden out there. Fresh water lobster that live in streams that wouldn't wet your ankles crossing. Plenty of rabbit, snakes, pigs, honey, shellfish, birds and plenty of wild fruit and vegetables.  

What you need. A roll of wire, a magnifying glass, a roll of fishing line, a collapsable spade, a stout knife, a billy can, a good seed store, but now we're talking luxury. Matter of fact it's all luxury, except for knowledge and an ability to roll with the punches.  Grin

What would scare me most are humans. Apart from my own, I'd get the hell away from them.

unless you broke a leg of course!

Well a simple fracture wouldn't be too bad, but generally you have to look after legs, arms heads. Being dead solves most problems  Grin

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

Grey

Reply #17 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:55pm

Annie Anthrax wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:48pm:
This is really interesting. I used to read a good UK website a few years ago called self sufficient ish, if you're interested.

Oh I'm not that into it Annie. I'm a horticulturist so I've spent time in the bush and in the company of one of the most knowledgable bushies to be found. But preparing for doomsday has never figured large.

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

barnaby joe

euchareena
Reply #18 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:57pm

in the event of a zombie outbreak head right for your local mitre 10 / bunnings, preferably located near a super market. you can spread seeds and dirt over the roof oth e building and grow your own food. secondly, you have access to tools and weapons in the hardware store and a forklift for disposing of zombies.

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #19 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:59pm

I've got a huge sack of TVP and the same of  rice and enough herbs and spices to last several years, plus garden vegetables. I could also catch fish and prawns if necessary.  It wouldn't be the most pleasant of diets, but I'd survive.

1523 people like this. The remaining 7,134,765,234 do not 

Reply #20 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 1:27pm

qiv <<aquaponics is much easier than you'd think and can be established for very minimal cost.

I mentioned it because I know someone (a friend of a friend) who's got one set up in a fairly small backyard and he swears by it , but says it's not much work, looks like plenty of work to me. Says he doesn't use the mains power so he must have solar. I'll check out the website. If it involves much more than turning a switch on and off I'm lost.

Reply #21 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 1:27pm

Clean water is far more important than food, especially in an arid country like australia.

Reply #22 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 1:37pm

Grey wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:55pm:
Annie Anthrax wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:48pm:

Oh I'm not that into it Annie. I'm a horticulturist so I've spent time in the bush and in the company of one of the most knowledgable bushies to be found. But preparing for doomsday has never figured large.

It doesn't have to be as drastic as preparing for doomsday. There are parts of Greece that are experiencing this scenario right now. No work, no power, and hardly enough money to feed themselves. It seems that all sorts of innovative ideas are coming to the fore, even to the point where they may print their own money for their individual communities.

Reply #23 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 1:44pm

<<If the shyte really hits the fan, and electronic transactions being the norm, there is every chance that every stockmarket and every financial institution across the globe will shut down its virtual transactions systems and physically close its doors within, maybe, 12-72 hours...>>

There is advantages to being behind the rest of the world. I think we would have enough warning to take action, if we were quick. I would expect it would happen overseas first so the plan is to keep an eye (or two) on what's happening and remember that just because we are an ocean away don't think we are immune because we're not.

The thing is that the European saga is not going to be fixed and it's not going away. It will play out to its logical conclusion now, so we should be prepared for rough times ahead.

Scouts honour!

qikvtec

Queensland
Reply #24 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 2:37pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 1:27pm:
qiv <<aquaponics is much easier than you'd think and can be established for very minimal cost.

I mentioned it because I know someone (a friend of a friend) who's got one set up in a fairly small backyard and he swears by it , but says it's not much work, looks like plenty of work to me. Says he doesn't use the mains power so he must have solar. I'll check out the website. If it involves much more than turning a switch on and off I'm lost.

Most of the hard work is in the set-up, once it's set-up there is practically no maintenance at all.

Politicians and Nappies need to be changed often and for the same reason.

One trouble with political jokes is that they often get elected.

Alan Joyce for PM

Reply #25 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 7:24pm

With Australia being a net food exporter, we are unlikely to go hungry. the real risk is that people will simply come in and take what they want.

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #26 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 8:24pm

cods wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:44pm:
Grey wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:40pm:
There's a huge difference between what you're used to having on hand and survival necessities. Here in the Sth West it's bloody Eden out there. Fresh water lobster that live in streams that wouldn't wet your ankles crossing. Plenty of rabbit, snakes, pigs, honey, shellfish, birds and plenty of wild fruit and vegetables.  

What you need. A roll of wire, a magnifying glass, a roll of fishing line, a collapsable spade, a stout knife, a billy can, a good seed store, but now we're talking luxury. Matter of fact it's all luxury, except for knowledge and an ability to roll with the punches.  Grin

What would scare me most are humans. Apart from my own, I'd get the hell away from them.

unless you broke a leg of course!

Then that would be life Cods, what are you scared of your own mortality.

My stores would probably do a month if we pulled our heads in and ration. I have heaps of peas, tins, grains, flour and a freezer full of meat. A hangover from living on a remote property that would be isolated by flooded for up to a week on no notice. Takes a while to let it go.

"Faced with what is right, to leave it undone shows a lack of courage."
Confucius

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #27 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 8:36pm

Put me down in the roving scumbag column. It just seems easier.

« Last Edit: Nov 8th, 2011 at 8:58pm by Life_goes_on »  

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

Equitist

Reply #28 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 8:53pm

Wow, there's some interesting responses here - some from surprising sources too!

I figure that, being a relatively well-governed country, with most utilities still under government control, we would not suffer an extended loss of water supply or electricity (tho' we might still lose our frozen stuff) - and that garbage collections would be continued (or reinstated fairly quickly).

Something I didn't mention in the OP, is the likelihood of the introduction of rationing and a substitute medium of exchange and 'food/grocery stamps'. The Federal Govt (and certain big grocers) already have systems in place for welfare quarantining and associated card systems - and, in the post-9/11 era, I wouldn't be surprised if there was already a crisis contingency in place for such a scenario.

In addition to some of the sacrifices and social order reorientations already mentioned by me and others, what we would almost-certainly face, is a short-medium-term loss of the luxuries of processed foods - and a need to get back to basics with cooking from scratch.

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Reply #29 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 9:09pm

Oh look, this old thread is still here...

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1276990594/0

Re: Self-Sufficiency and Survival Foods

Equitist wrote on Jun 20th, 2010 at 9:36am:
~~~

I just wanted to share one of my favourite quirky light-reading books and web-sites, on the subject of self-sufficiency and survival foods...

http://herbsarespecial.com.au/books_and_dvds/about-isabells-self-sufficiency-boo...

http://herbsarespecial.com.au/images2/self-sufficiency-book.jpg

Isabell Shipard, one of Australia's most knowledgable and sought after authorities on herbs and author of the acclaimed books How can I use Herbs in my daily life?  and How can I grow and use Sprouts as living food? says,

"For many years I taught Herb Courses, covering many edible plants, and included a segment on survival foods and the importance of self-sufficiency for possible hard times. People often expressed that I should put this information into a book.

With the economic squeeze in Australia, and severe drought experienced over large areas of farmland, just what will the future hold for average Australian families? Everyone is experiencing the pressure, as food, fuel and the cost of living has dramatically risen in price. In this 21st century we are seeing major disasters that are disrupting peoples lives in so many areas of the world. We must all be more conscious of ways to reduce, recycle, repair and reuse items and consider how we can all tread more softly on Planet Earth."

"What I desire is that all who read this book will be inspired and motivated to take action for the benefit of the planet."

We believe the book, How can I be prepared with Self-Sufficiency and Survival Foods? will be a valuable reference manual for every person and family. This book offers encouragement about the importance of being as self-sufficient as one is able and an action plan to help you 'ride the storms'. Isabell shows us how to be prepared with a step-by-step emergency management plan for food provisions and essential supplies.

The book is A4 size, 136 pages, and beautifully illustrated with over 100 coloured pictures. The full colour cover is celloglazed, with a durable stitched and bound spine.

We need to encourage one another to be as self sufficient as possible... now... in our gardens, as this is the most nutritious fresh food and and cheapest way to live in these times of rising prices. Growing our own food is very satisfying as well as beneficial to health and well-being.

Annie Anthrax wrote on Jun 20th, 2010 at 9:40am:
You may be interested in one of my favourite websites.

http://www.selfsufficientish.com

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!