How long would food in your fridge/pantry last? (Read 2817 times)
Equitist

How long would food in your fridge/pantry last?
Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:37am

With the global financial situation teetering on the brink of the next catastrophic disaster, perhaps it is time for all of us to consider how robust our own risk management and domestic planning has been...

If the shyte really hits the fan, and electronic transactions being the norm, there is every chance that every stockmarket and every financial institution across the globe will shut down its virtual transactions systems and physically close its doors within, maybe, 12-72 hours...

Even cash reserves would be useless within about a week - because the the suspension of share and financial institution trading would lead to the rapid shut down of every petrol station and road transport enterprise within, maybe, 7 days - and perhaps the panicked-looting and/or boarding-up of every grocery store within the same timeframe...

At the earliest, the relevant Govt, armed forces, emergency services and charity organisations would probably be distributed on the ground in about 7-14 days...

Of course, I could be way out in those scenarios and timeframe estimations - but, realistically, how long would your fridge and pantry (and garden) stores last in your household?

Oh, and how long before you would run out of medications and day-to-day items such as toilet paper and toiletries?

« Last Edit: Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:42am by Equitist »  

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Re: How long would food in your fridge/pantry last?
Reply #1 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:47am

Equitist wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:37am:
With the global financial situation teetering on the brink of the next catastrophic disaster, perhaps it is time for all of us to consider how robust our own risk management and domestic planning has been...

If the shyte really hits the fan, and electronic transactions being the norm, there is every chance that every stockmarket and every financial institution across the globe will shut down its virtual transactions systems and physically close its doors within, maybe, 12-72 hours...

Even cash reserves would be useless within about a week - because the the suspension of share and financial institution trading would lead to the rapid shut down of every petrol station and road transport enterprise within, maybe, 7 days - and perhaps the panicked-looting and/or boarding-up of every grocery store within the same timeframe...

At the earliest, the relevant Govt, armed forces, emergency services and charity organisations would probably be distributed on the ground in about 7-14 days...

Of course, I could be way out in those scenarios and timeframe estimations - but, realistically, how long would your fridge and pantry (and garden) stores last in your household?

Oh, and how long before you would run out of medications and day-to-day items such as toilet paper and toiletries?

I've taken a moderate interest in survivalism for a few years now, so I'm far more prepared than average joe. 
But the one thing that is lacking is my ability to protect my family and my stash from deadbeats who didn't prepare so well.  So I say thank you John Howard, for tightening gun laws and ensuring that law abiding citizens are easy pickings for deadbeats with illegal firearms.

Reply #2 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:48am

Have you been watching NatGeo again?

Equitist

Reply #3 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:51am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:48am:

Have you been watching NatGeo again?

Nope - just watching the news of struggles of millions of mere mortals thrown into sudden chaos in other parts of the world...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Annie Anthrax

Take the plan, spin it
sideways

Reply #4 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:51am

But the one thing that is lacking is my ability to protect my family and my stash from deadbeats who didn't prepare so well.  So I say thank you John Howard, for tightening gun laws and ensuring that law abiding citizens are easy pickings for deadbeats with illegal firearms.

Get yourself a gun license.

Eq, I could probably do 5 days.

I can't do this, but I'm doing it anyway.

Equitist

Reply #5 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 10:59am

My fridge and pantry are always chockers, so I could probably do a couple of weeks - longer if I sprouted seeds (legumes and greens) for fresh vegies and raided the garden...

But I know several families, who have sparsely-stocked fridges and cupboards and shop for bits and pieces every day, who would run low within a couple of days...

That said, since we live in a semi-rural location - surrounded by lakes, beaches and bush - there's plenty of 'wild' food to be hunted and gathered, if necessary...

qikvtec

Queensland
Reply #6 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 11:01am

We routinely run our cupboards bare of short to medium dated products to avoid waste.

We have chooks with a regular supply of eggs and enough food for them for months; I live nearby a river where we can also take plenty of fish; I have enough soft plastics and worms in the garden for bait until it all blows over.  There are heaps of old people around our place with veggie gardens, most of whom will die from heat stroke when their AC goes out.  Our water supply is pretty much guaranteed and we have weapons.  We have a Woolworth's within walking distance, so as soon as their generator runs out of diesel, unless I can break into it and raid the tank first; their security system will go down and it's a free for all.  Native wildlife is plentiful and cats aren't known for their loyalty. 

I think we'll be right.

Politicians and Nappies need to be changed often and for the same reason.

One trouble with political jokes is that they often get elected.

Alan Joyce for PM

Annie Anthrax

Take the plan, spin it
sideways

Reply #7 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 11:03am

That said, since we live in a semi-rural location - surrounded by lakes, beaches and bush - there's plenty of 'wild' food to be hunted and gathered, if necessary...

Yes. My dad has 40 acres on a river, so I'd probably pick my grandfather up and head out there.

Does that count as a survival plan?  Grin

Annie Anthrax

Take the plan, spin it
sideways

Reply #8 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 11:10am

There are heaps of old people around our place with veggie gardens, most of whom will die from heat stroke when their AC goes out.

It's awful that this part gave me the giggles.

Awful, awful.

Belgarion

Reply #9 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 11:18am

I could survive for a week on what is in my cupboards. After that I will access an illegal firearm and prey on others.  Cheesy

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #10 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 11:43am

Join the military? three meals a day......joking.

What do they say in the deep south of America? bullets, bullion and bibles.

I have sufficient canned food to last some months. Coffee and toilet paper for one year. I will get flour and powdered milk and more seeds after the third Euro country goes under.

I've got lots of packets of seedlings in my emergency pack, but if they cut the water supply off I might be stuffed.

Everyone will be bartering, so the trick is to have something worthwhile to use as collateral.

I could go fishing but I'm not very good at it.

This is a survivalist strategy although it seems pretty complicated to me, but if your survival is on the line it's a good method to grow veges and fish at the same time.

http://www.aquaponics.net.au/system600a.html

Don't forget to scavenge for food with your neighbours so they think you've got nothing.

Good topic nem.

qikvtec

Queensland
Reply #11 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 11:52am

If you are going the aquaponics route you'd best have a solar powered pump.

Have a really good read of this Pansi http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/Travis/IBCofAquaponics1.pdf aquaponics is much easier than you'd think and can be established for very minimal cost.  If survival is the name of the game grow green leafy vegetables, berries, red claw/marin and silver perch.  If you have a multi IBC system get one of them black and expose it to full sun, it will negate the need for heating.  Combine this with a massive worm farm (possibly another IBC) and you will have a closed loop system with more produce than you can eat.  Couple it with chooks and you'll be right.

This is a project for me next year.

One very useful item to have in an Armageddon situation is a magnifying glass, pretty easy to start a fire when the sun's out.  Their is enough local timber for me to burn up to stay warm and cook my catch. 

I think it would be kind of fun once the smell of the dead bleeding heart brigade passed.
« Last Edit: Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:11pm by qikvtec »  

Politicians and Nappies need to be changed often and for the same reason.

One trouble with political jokes is that they often get elected.

Alan Joyce for PM

Reply #12 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:11pm

im just thinking no more POWER bills.. No CARBON TAX..

there is always a silver lining!

Grey

Reply #13 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:40pm

There's a huge difference between what you're used to having on hand and survival necessities. Here in the Sth West it's bloody Eden out there. Fresh water lobster that live in streams that wouldn't wet your ankles crossing. Plenty of rabbit, snakes, pigs, honey, shellfish, birds and plenty of wild fruit and vegetables.  

What you need. A roll of wire, a magnifying glass, a roll of fishing line, a collapsable spade, a stout knife, a cut throat razor, a billy can, a good seed store, but now we're talking luxury. Matter of fact it's all luxury, except for knowledge and an ability to roll with the punches.  Grin

What would scare me most are humans. Apart from my own, I'd get the hell away from them.

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

Reply #14 - Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:44pm

Grey wrote on Nov 8th, 2011 at 12:40pm:
There's a huge difference between what you're used to having on hand and survival necessities. Here in the Sth West it's bloody Eden out there. Fresh water lobster that live in streams that wouldn't wet your ankles crossing. Plenty of rabbit, snakes, pigs, honey, shellfish, birds and plenty of wild fruit and vegetables.  

What you need. A roll of wire, a magnifying glass, a roll of fishing line, a collapsable spade, a stout knife, a billy can, a good seed store, but now we're talking luxury. Matter of fact it's all luxury, except for knowledge and an ability to roll with the punches.  Grin

What would scare me most are humans. Apart from my own, I'd get the hell away from them.

unless you broke a leg of course!