Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11
where do refugees get money from for boat trip ? (Read 12546 times)

Re: where do refugees get money from for boat trip ?
Reply #45 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:43pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:20pm:
... wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:11pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 7:58pm:
... wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 7:53pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 7:47pm:
... wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 7:44pm:
The one you call '"wesley" is no more.

there is only the truth now.....

I preferred Wesley - at least he wasn't THAT deluded. Wink

But seriously, how can anyone from the Middle East or Africa, where their average income a year is less than the payment for a seat on a boat, afford to come here? You summed it up very well with your observation that they must all be prostitutes, drug lords or pirates. Smiley  

Ahh but my observation was much more specific than that wasn't it?  

It said nothing about it being "all of them" and never mentioned prostitutes or pirates. Drug lords is a gross exagggeration.
I merely said 'from the opium trade' as it's not likely that high level players would flee....but mules, farmers or small time dealers might...

Apologies, you are correct. Going by your observations its drug mules, small time dealers, prostitutes or pirates. Smiley  

I'm simply extending your observation and making generalisations, something I must admit I am still learning.   Perhaps you can teach me, being an expert in the field?  Grin

But you did make your observation based on the fact that on average Afghanis make $900 a year - a shared reality within that region and North Africa. That being the case, we must be getting ALL of the bad seeds. It can't be possible that we'd be getting people with skills who are genuinly fleeing persectution. Not based on your generalisations.  

Ah but you see, my student, that while the average income may be similar, it is only afghanistan that earns 1/3 of its GDP from the opium trade, and is the worlds largest producer of hash.  One would think that a single industry that accounts for 1/3 of a countries GDP, would have more than 1 or 2 employees, and no other industry has quick cash on offer like the drug trade.

So, my disciple, such observations do require an element of thought.  It may seem futile to aim for such lofty goals now, but practice hard, and maybe one day, you might be able to offer an opinion worth more than its weight in poo.

Interesting of course that the opium trade only jumped to its now normal heights after the war began, and the refugees we receive who happen to be Afghanis are not coming from Afghanistan direct to Malaysia.  But of course, let's ignore this and instead just concentrate on some ill thought up bubble and mark that as fact. Seems you aren't very good at truth after all.

This of course leaves us back to the original generalisation that because people in that region earn such a small income compared to the boat fees it must be that they are all pirates, prostitutes and small time drug traffickers.

You're going round in circles son.  didn't we clear up this "all pirates and prostitutes" malarkey?

hell, I'd he happy if you admitted that just 1 afghan refugee was in some way connected to the drug trade. The probability of that is 1:1.  It's a given. A done deal.  A lock. The unbackable favourite.  Why does admitting the truth trouble you so much young one?

Open your mind and your heart to the truth, my child.  It will set you free.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #46 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:47pm

... wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:43pm:

But seriously, how can anyone from the Middle East or Africa, where their average income a year is less than the payment for a seat on a boat, afford to come here? You summed it up very well with your observation that they must all be prostitutes, drug lords or pirates. Smiley  

It said nothing about it being "all of them" and never mentioned prostitutes or pirates. Drug lords is a gross exagggeration.
I merely said 'from the opium trade' as it's not likely that high level players would flee....but mules, farmers or small time dealers might...

Apologies, you are correct. Going by your observations its drug mules, small time dealers, prostitutes or pirates. Smiley  

I'm simply extending your observation and making generalisations, something I must admit I am still learning.   Perhaps you can teach me, being an expert in the field?  Grin

But you did make your observation based on the fact that on average Afghanis make $900 a year - a shared reality within that region and North Africa. That being the case, we must be getting ALL of the bad seeds. It can't be possible that we'd be getting people with skills who are genuinly fleeing persectution. Not based on your generalisations.  

Ah but you see, my student, that while the average income may be similar, it is only afghanistan that earns 1/3 of its GDP from the opium trade, and is the worlds largest producer of hash.  One would think that a single industry that accounts for 1/3 of a countries GDP, would have more than 1 or 2 employees, and no other industry has quick cash on offer like the drug trade.

So, my disciple, such observations do require an element of thought.  It may seem futile to aim for such lofty goals now, but practice hard, and maybe one day, you might be able to offer an opinion worth more than its weight in poo.

Interesting of course that the opium trade only jumped to its now normal heights after the war began, and the refugees we receive who happen to be Afghanis are not coming from Afghanistan direct to Malaysia.  But of course, let's ignore this and instead just concentrate on some ill thought up bubble and mark that as fact. Seems you aren't very good at truth after all.

This of course leaves us back to the original generalisation that because people in that region earn such a small income compared to the boat fees it must be that they are all pirates, prostitutes and small time drug traffickers.

You're going round in circles son.  didn't we clear up this "all pirates and prostitutes" malarkey?

hell, I'd he happy if you admitted that just 1 afghan refugee was in some way connected to the drug trade. The probability of that is 1:1.  It's a given. A done deal.  A lock. The unbackable favourite.  Why does admitting the truth trouble you so much young one?

Open your mind and your heart to the truth, my child.  It will set you free.

Could I trouble you to provide one bit of evidence to back up this claim?

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Reply #47 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:52pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:47pm:

You're going round in circles son.  didn't we clear up this "all pirates and prostitutes" malarkey?

hell, I'd he happy if you admitted that just 1 afghan refugee was in some way connected to the drug trade. The probability of that is 1:1.  It's a given. A done deal.  A lock. The unbackable favourite.  Why does admitting the truth trouble you so much young one?

Certainly, my good man.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Probability

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #48 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:54pm

... wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:52pm:

Certainly, my good man.

Smiley so u dont have any evidence.  Tell me, Mr truth, if the opium trade rose exponentially after the war, and the refugees we receive are not coming from Afghanistan direct, what is the probability?

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Reply #49 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 9:42pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:54pm:
... wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 8:52pm:

Certainly, my good man.

Smiley so u dont have any evidence.  Tell me, Mr truth, if the opium trade rose exponentially after the war, and the refugees we receive are not coming from Afghanistan direct, what is the probability?

If the war is over, then it has been over for several years. 

2007 August - Opium production has soared to a record high, the UN reports.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-12024253

A record high in 2007.

After the Taliban were driven out of power in 2001, opium made an astonishing comeback in the impoverished Afghan countryside. By 2006, twenty-one of Afghanistan's thirty-four provinces were producing 94 percent of the world's supply--estimated at a pre-export value of $4 billion and equivalent to nearly 50 percent of the country's GDP.

http://www.cfr.org/afghanistan/good-bad-news-afghan-opium/p21372

50% of the nations GDP in 2006.

So opium production isn't a brand new thing in afghanistan is it? 

Introducing this premise doesn't significantly alter the probability.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #50 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 10:00pm

... wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 9:42pm:
If the war is over, then it has been over for several years.  

2007 August - Opium production has soared to a record high, the UN reports.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-12024253

A record high in 2007.

After the Taliban were driven out of power in 2001, opium made an astonishing comeback in the impoverished Afghan countryside. By 2006, twenty-one of Afghanistan's thirty-four provinces were producing 94 percent of the world's supply--estimated at a pre-export value of $4 billion and equivalent to nearly 50 percent of the country's GDP.

http://www.cfr.org/afghanistan/good-bad-news-afghan-opium/p21372

50% of the nations GDP in 2006.

So opium production isn't a brand new thing in afghanistan is it?  

Introducing this premise doesn't significantly alter the probability.

Wow, apologies I missed the world "begun."  Oh well. 

In any case, do tell us, oh good friend, what was the opium trade in 2001? and then what was the trend from then on?

matty

East Sydney
Reply #51 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 10:11pm

juliar wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 11:02am:
Ever wondered where the illegal boat immigrants get the money from to get here?

When the boat people arrive here, they have already printed out from the net their rights and have a list of welfare benefits that they demand from the Australian Government.

After spending around 6-9 months in detention, the illegal boat people have approximately $10000 saved in welfare payments from the Australian Government.

They then send the money home and arrange for the next family member to come out on a boat.

So this means we are actually paying for the flood of illegal boat people through the welfare payments provided to them.

Great system, isn't it? Come here, even if you're not a fair dinkum refugee, and sponge off the government and tax-payers for the rest of your life. Don't forget to bring a dozen family members, too!

I was in the NT recently, and it would have taken a very short time to sail to Indonesia. I wonder whether I would get the same free handouts and benefits if I did??

BILL SHORTEN WILL NEVER BE PM!!!!

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #52 - Nov 16th, 2011 at 10:13pm

matty wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 10:11pm:
juliar wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 11:02am:
Ever wondered where the illegal boat immigrants get the money from to get here?

When the boat people arrive here, they have already printed out from the net their rights and have a list of welfare benefits that they demand from the Australian Government.

After spending around 6-9 months in detention, the illegal boat people have approximately $10000 saved in welfare payments from the Australian Government.

They then send the money home and arrange for the next family member to come out on a boat.

So this means we are actually paying for the flood of illegal boat people through the welfare payments provided to them.

Great system, isn't it? Come here, even if you're not a fair dinkum refugee, and sponge off the government and tax-payers for the rest of your life. Don't forget to bring a dozen family members, too!

I was in the NT recently, and it would have taken a very short time to sail to Indonesia. I wonder whether I would get the same free handouts and benefits if I did??

Please don't bring your Allen thoughts into this thread - confine them to the redundant threads you make yourself.  And we've already offered to help you sail to Indonesia - although I did recommend you should go to Iran because that way you can still listen to Allen at a reasonable hour of the day.

Tell me, which asylum seekers in detention get welfare?

Reply #53 - Nov 17th, 2011 at 5:56am

Juliar/matty/mellie/log_me_in and ???
(After spending around 6-9 months in detention, the illegal boat people have approximately $10000 saved in welfare payments from the Australian Government.)

................................................................................

They can save $10,000 in 9 months from a small allowance? Get one of these guys to take over from Swanny right now!

Read it and weep for your stupidity!

REFUGEES IN DETENTION CENTRES

Asylum seekers in immigration detention centres receive a small allowance but do not receive Centrelink equivalent payments.

Government website

http://www.aph.gov.au/library/pubs/bn/sp/AsylumFacts.pdf

Reply #54 - Nov 17th, 2011 at 6:22am

This utter BS about asylum-seekers getting more than our pensioners has
been thoroughly discredited so many times it isn't funny.

And STILL idiot conservatives believe it.

Thick, or what?

Reply #55 - Nov 17th, 2011 at 6:41am

Kat wrote on Nov 17th, 2011 at 6:22am:
This utter BS about asylum-seekers getting more than our pensioners has
been thoroughly discredited so many times it isn't funny.

And STILL idiot conservatives believe it.

Thick, or what?

Because dopey Alan Jones spread the viral email around, he was too ignorant to realise it was a hoax, and if Alan said it, it must be true, hopeless cases. Only thick bogans listen to Alan Jones, so what do you expect. From the mouths of bogans.

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #56 - Nov 17th, 2011 at 7:02am

adelcrow wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 4:59pm:
Asylum seekers should not be banged up in detention centres anyway..if they are in the community while awaiting their cases they can work and contribute to society instead of rotting away in detention.

And of course they wont run away if their claim is rejected eh and disappear into their peoples enclaves will they.
And they can contribute to what exactly?
Lining up at Centrelink is not contributing.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Reply #57 - Nov 17th, 2011 at 7:10am

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #58 - Nov 17th, 2011 at 7:13am

Dr Brown wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 6:15pm:
juliar wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 5:49pm:
Now that everyone agrees that we, the Australian taxpayers, are paying to bring refugees to Australia there is a rather alarming lesson for Australia to be learned from Greece.

With an official population of just 11 million, half that of Australia, Greece now hosts a staggering 1 million illegal immigrants and asylum seekers.

About 6,879 people landed there last year, but Greece is now trying to cope with 128,000 appearing over the horizon.

As Greece slides towards the abyss of political and economic chaos, the country's enormous undocumented immigrant community is being blamed for adding to its woes.

Illegal immigrants who have swamped Greece's borders are accused of exacerbating the financial crisis that now threatens to infect other eurozone nations.

The annual cost of sustaining this immigrant population - in terms of healthcare, crime and impact on legitimate businesses - is estimated at 6 billion euros, says the president of the Athens Chamber of Commerce, Constantine Michalos.

If one ponders the comparison between Greece and Australia, an alarming picture emerges which presages dire consequences for Australia.

One imagines that some time ago the number of refugees entering Greece was probably something like the alarming number entering Australia now but the lackadaisical Grecian Government probably compared the number of refugees entering Greece with the number of refugees entering some other other country and decided Greece had nothing to worry about.

The chaotic state Greece is in now is partly as a result of their gross negligence and indolence in not taking the necessary and decisive action needed to control the number of unwanted refugees trying to enter the Grecian land of milk and honey.

The disastrous situation Greece now finds itself in, as a direct result of its negligence in not taking action to control the number of unwanted refugees entering its borders by stealth, is a STARK WARNING for AUSTRALIA whose grossly incompetent government has now opened the flood gates to any and all refugees.

So if we want to know what Australia will be like after a while then we need only look to Greece to see our future unless we get rid of the current laughable Labor government which is an insult to all Australians.

There is a rumor that, when the Americans move into Darwin, they will assist in encouraging the flood of refugees to look somewhere else. There is also the rumor that the Americans are moving into Darwin  because there is an increasing fear that Australia will be invaded from the north to seize our food and mineral resources.

You haven't a clue about Greece, or Australia for that matter.

Greece's financial woes stem from non payment of taxes by the wealthy and middle class cheats.

They believe that all that fancy stuff like collecting their garbage and training police was someone else's problem, and so corrupt officials let it all slide for a few drachmas in the kick.

Hey Presto, one basket case economy.

Now over the pond they call the Mediterranean Sea is a continent called Africa (that's right Deepest Darkest Africa), and in the north of Africa are some Arab countries that have been protesting and fighting for their freedom from totalitarian dictators and murdering tyrants.

These countries are handily located when it comes to Greece, Italy, Cypress, Sicily, Lampedusa etc etc, and hop on a boat for a few hours and you are in these places.

So Libya and Tunisia and Egypt all had upheavals and thousands of hopefuls jumped at the chance to improve their lot in the Eurozone, literally hours away.

Is it easier for you to think that the 50,000+ kept in detention and the 500 arrivals each and every week doesn't cost the Greek taxpayer billions each year, and hasn't contributed to Greece's downfall?

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

bomen_guy

http://aussie-aussie
-aussie.proboards.co
m/index.cg

Reply #59 - Nov 17th, 2011 at 7:19am

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Nov 17th, 2011 at 7:02am:
adelcrow wrote on Nov 16th, 2011 at 4:59pm:
Asylum seekers should not be banged up in detention centres anyway..if they are in the community while awaiting their cases they can work and contribute to society instead of rotting away in detention.

And of course they wont run away if their claim is rejected eh and disappear into their peoples enclaves will they.
And they can contribute to what exactly?
Lining up at Centrelink is not contributing.

If their claims are rejected and they run away tell me how can they claim anything from centrelink cause as soon as they do they would be arrest.

THE WORST LABOR GOVERNMENT IS 100% BETTER THEN THE BEST LIBERAL GOVERNMENT

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11