Too many foreign owned companies in Australia (Read 681 times)
culldav

Too many foreign owned companies in Australia
Jan 13th, 2012 at 10:35am

Why should the Australian tax payers be financially burdened by subsidising foreign owned companies like GM/Holden or others like Ford to the tune of $billions of dollars over decades to keep them afloat because they are in financial trouble; when our public owned business like the “Commonwealth Bank” “QANTAS” and “TELSTRA” were sold because they were deemed to be in financial trouble and a liability?

Why are Australian politicians giving $billions of tax payer money to keep foreign owned companies going when they don’t  do the same thing to keep public owned assets?

Re: Too many foreign owned companies in Australia
Reply #1 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 11:39am

Mate, I know a guy who works at GM in the US who used to work with me here and he told me GM Holden Pty Ltd is operated and run completely separately and as an Australian company.

All of the grants and tax offsets would be applied for by the Pty Ltd and would have an operating Australian executive management as well.

It is merely under the banner of General Motors from a retained profits and transfer pricing/inventory scenario.

You could really see Holden as an Australian company in many ways.

PS - It is actually so I am told the most profitable GM business on a ROI perspective and run very well.
It just is not large from a revenue perspective compared to the other subsidiaries.

culldav

Reply #2 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 12:21pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 13th, 2012 at 11:39am:
Mate, I know a guy who works at GM in the US who used to work with me here and he told me GM Holden Pty Ltd is operated and run completely separately and as an Australian company.

All of the grants and tax offsets would be applied for by the Pty Ltd and would have an operating Australian executive management as well.

It is merely under the banner of General Motors from a retained profits and transfer pricing/inventory scenario.

PS - It is actually so I am told the most profitable GM business on a ROI perspective and run very well.
It just is not large from a revenue perspective compared to the other subsidiaries.

Its still owned by General Motors, and all related profits would go home to the parent company; and don't forget Saab was a GM subsidiary from 1990 - 2010 and now Saab is bankrupt.

Reply #3 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 4:46pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 13th, 2012 at 11:39am:

Surely the shareholders of GM would be pissed off if the profits always remained in Australia Sad

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #4 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 5:38pm

Holden and Ford in this country are just second rate copies of second rate American cars.
If it wasnt for the money state and federal govts throw at them as well as the shonky deals to use Fords and Holdens in govt fleets they would sell in less numbers than second hand Daewoos.
Surely if the people who are employed in these highly protected American companies are either to stupid or to lazy to find work doing something else they arent worth bothering with. Australian car workers seem to think their employment should be based on charity and they should have taxpayer subsidised jobs for life.

Go the Bunnies

Reply #5 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 5:58pm

I'd like to see three laws enacted....

1/ That NO Australian company can be more than 49% foreign-owned.

and

2/ That NO australian BRAND can be owned, or sold to, a foreign-owned enterprise.

and

3/ that NO foreigner can OWN Australian land, but can only lease it.

Yes, I know....I'm dreamin'.

culldav

Reply #6 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 6:53pm

I am really angry and annoyed at these parasite politicians giving away tax payer money to subsidises foreign owned companies when they are in financial trouble, but they sell off public assets like "commonwealth Bank" QANTAS" and "TELSTRA" claiming they are unprofitable businesses.  Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

beware

Reply #7 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 7:34pm

culldav wrote on Jan 13th, 2012 at 6:53pm:
I am really angry and annoyed at these parasite politicians giving away tax payer money to subsidises foreign owned companies when they are in financial trouble, but they sell off public assets like "commonwealth Bank" QANTAS" and "TELSTRA" claiming they are unprofitable businesses.  Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

I agree with you. Apparently in the USA companies are being bailed out of bankrupty with tax dollars and yet people cannot find work and young college students cannot find jobs with billions of dollars going to the coropate world.

That does not make sense!!!

Reply #8 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 8:29pm

Kat wrote on Jan 13th, 2012 at 5:58pm:
I'd like to see three laws enacted....

1/ That NO Australian company can be more than 49% foreign-owned.

and

2/ That NO australian BRAND can be owned, or sold to, a foreign-owned enterprise.

and

3/ that NO foreigner can OWN Australian land, but can only lease it.

Yes, I know....I'm dreamin'.

it's a bit late because the pollies have already stood by whilst allowing the arse to be sold out of the country Sad

In Billy Shortarses own words - "We have to get the balance right" - What utter bullshit Sad

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #9 - Jan 13th, 2012 at 9:01pm

Wake up you have a Prime Minister giving aid and sanctuary to  violent international extremist organizations. Cool

World Wide Working Class Struggle