Liam Neeson 'considers converting to Islam' (Read 12482 times)
falah

Liam Neeson 'considers converting to Islam'
Jan 26th, 2012 at 1:18pm

Liam Neeson is considering converting to Islam, according to newspaper reports.

The desire to convert has sprung from spending time filming in Turkey, according to The Sun.

The Northern Ireland actor, who comes from a Catholic background, told the newspaper that the call to prayer in Istanbul drove him to distraction for the first week of filming but he then began to find it "the most beautiful, beautiful thing".

Neeson, a former altar boy in Ballymena, said: "There are 4,000 mosques in the city. Some are just stunning and it really makes me think about becoming a Muslim."

The actor has been nominated for an Oscar, a BAFTA and three Golden Globe Awards during his career.

He has starred in a number of notable roles including Oskar Schindler in Schindler's List and Michael Collins.

Neeson was married to actress Natasha Richardson for 15 years before her death on 2009, when she suffered a severe head injury in a skiing accident at the Mont Tremblant Resort, in Quebec.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/entertainment/news/liam-neeson-may-convert-to-islam-16108522.html

Nothing is worthy of worship except God Almighty - our Creator!

Yadda

A cat with a view
Re: Liam Neeson 'considers converting to Islam'
Reply #1 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 1:41pm

I wonder if he knows that ISLAM sanctions the killing of people who leave ISLAM ?

I wonder if Liam Neeson would personally support and agree with such a 'religious' doctrine ?

And is that a basis of his decision to 'consider' converting to ISLAM ?

Google;
uk muslim, honour killing

The term, 'honour killing', is a misnomer.

Moslem 'honour killing' actually refers to the common-place killing, of moslems, who choose to reject ISLAM's authority over their lives.

"...If somebody (a Muslim) discards his religion, kill him."

hadithsunnah/bukhari/ #004.052.260

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #2 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 2:07pm

Yadda,

When someone becomes a citizen of America, do you think they wonder what will happen if they betray America?

It carries the death penalty as well.

Unlike your flippant faith, Islam is a rock solid belief system, those who enter it usually do so with very firm conviction in its truthfulness. That's why it does not bother us what the penalty is for committing treason against it, since we have no intention to do so.

What kind of person would enter a faith with the intention of committing treason against it? An insincere person such as yourself Yadda.

abu_rashid  

falah

Reply #3 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 3:05pm

Christianity has a history of killing people not just for leaving Christianity, but also for being suspected of leaving Christianity.

In Spain, the church would order people to be tortured and executed if they bathed on Friday, the Muslim holy day, on mere suspicion that they might be a secret Muslim.

Christian Spanish Inquisition Torture Devices

Judas Chair

The Judas Chair was a pyramid-shaped seat (see right). The person being asked to confess his sins against Christ was placed on top of it, with the point inserted into the anus or vagina. Then, as the questioning advanced, the Inquisitor very slowly lowered the defendant further and further onto the point by overhead ropes.

Some theories suggest that the intended effect was to stretch the orifice over a long period of time, or to slowly impale. The victim was usually naked, adding to the humiliation already endured.

The Pear

Commit sodomy, adultery, incest, heresy, blasphemy or sexual union with Satan in Medieval Europe, and chances are, you’ll get this intricately-decorated device inserted into your mouth, rectum or vagina. A screw mechanism then makes its pointed “leaves” expand while inside any of those orifices, resulting in severe internal mutilation. Yikes.

Inquisitional Chair

The victims of the Inquisition who were forced to sit on it butt naked. Strapped tight to it with leather straps, those who sat on this chair felt the pain of hundreds of sharp and rusty spikes piercing their flesh, and that pain is magnified even more when torturers decide to press them down against the spikes. For added fun, torturers heated this iron chair and effectively roasted slowly the poor unfortunate souls sitting on it.

The heretics fork

Abiuro - "I recant" - the latin phrase engraved into the side of this double-ended two-pronged fork, was the only phrase that the prisoner was allowed to speak. The head was tilted back sharply, with the top two prongs embedded deeply under the flesh of the chin; the bottom two prongs likewise embedded into the flesh above the sternum. The leather strap was fastened tightly behind the neck.

Used during the Inquisition to hasten the confession of heresies real or imagined, those that refused to repent were summarily executed at the stake or by hanging - but were allowed Christian rites, no doubt a consoling factor.

The Rack

As the interrogation progresses, a handle and ratchet attached to the top roller are used to increase tension on the chains, which induces excruciating pain as the victim's joints slowly dislocate. Once muscle fibers had been stretched past a certain point they lose their ability to contract, the victims who were released had ineffective muscles as well as problems arising from dislocation.

Because of its mechanically precise, graded operation, the rack was well-suited for hard interrogation, and led to many "confessions."

One gruesome aspect of being stretched too far on the rack is the loud popping noises made by snapping cartilage, ligaments or bones. Eventually, if the application of the rack is continued, the victim's limbs were ripped right off.

Breast Ripper

This one is self-explanatory. Many women condemned as heretics, adulterers, blasphemers had their breasts ripped out using this device.

The "Boots"

If you think the Knee Splitter was murder on a person's lower limbs, wait til you know what the "Boots" were about. This horrible piece of equipment was made up of wedges that fitted the legs from ankles to knees. Pure pain ensues when the torturer violently pounds the wedges with a large, heavy hammer, a process that is done repeatedly until flesh and bone are completely destroyed, with some victims even gushing marrow from their crushed legs.

Perhaps the cruelest aspect of the torture process was that after the victim recanted his alleged sins, he was then punished for them. The Inquisition was just the trial to extract a confession. The ensuing punishment ranged from forfeiture of all assets to the Crown and the Cross to, you guessed it, death by torture.

One must keep in mind that the Spanish Government could not have carried out the Inquisition without the active assistance of the Church. This type of mass trial by ordeal, bloody torture, and confiscation of the assets of the accused probably could not have taken place for merely secular reasons.

By including the Church as an arm of the government, however, the King and Queen were able to eliminate their political opponents without very much resistance from the Spanish people, who were told that the Inquisition was something aimed to get everyone to believe the one great truth of Christianity. It was a way to root out evil bogeyman and either kill them or, at the very least, force them to confess their alleged sins against Christ and repent.

All tolled, Spanish Inquisitors tortured or killed as many as 150,000 people people between the years of 1480 and 1530. Most of the victims were suspected of being Jewish or Muslim. Then, as Protestantism began to rise, the Church turned its ire towards those followers of Martin Luther, a group who claimed to be true Christians but according to the Church, were heretics. Persecution of Protestants continued on for another 150 years.

Christian Inquistor Torturer

Mute's Bridle

The Mute's Bridle, or Iron Gag was used to stifle the screams of a victim. The oblong box was forced into the mouth and the metal collar was tightly fastened around the back of the neck. A small hole in the front allowed air to pass in and out but muffled any screams. A torturer could press a single fingertip to the air-hole and create an extremely distressing situation for the accused.

This was used often during the Inquisition's auto da fe, so the accused would not interrupt the ceremony with their irritating cries of distress.

« Last Edit: Jan 26th, 2012 at 3:21pm by falah »  

Reply #4 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 3:21pm

abu_rashid wrote on Jan 26th, 2012 at 2:07pm:
Yadda,

When someone becomes a citizen of America, do you think they wonder what will happen if they betray America?

Unlike your flippant faith, Islam is a rock solid belief system, those who enter it usually do so with very firm conviction in its truthfulness. That's why it does not bother us what the penalty is for committing treason against it, since we have no intention to do so.

What kind of person would enter a faith with the intention of committing treason against it? An insincere person such as yourself Yadda.

Abu, you need a pretty warped sense of faith to confuse leaving a country with betraying it.

Your logic is completely backwards. If Muslims were not worried about people leaving Islam, they would not stone them to death for doing so. They would leave them free to decide for themselves. It is only because they are fully aware of the risk of people leaving that they stone people to death for it. It is part of how Islam grew in the past - effectively a faith ratchet.

This is why you yourself have such faith in Islam that you cannot answer basic question like whether a child brought up under Islam should be stone dto death for rejecting Islam, or whether Shites should be stoned to death for rejecting Islam. This is a fundamental insecurity.

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #5 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 3:44pm

falah suirely your post can't be accurate, because we all know Christianity is a loving peaceful accepting religion which would never hurt people. It's all about love and forgiveness and showing people the kindness of the Christ.

abu_rashid  

Reply #6 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 4:29pm

Yadda,

What kind of person would enter a faith with the intention of committing treason?

Abu
How many people have the USA executed for treason?

What about Jane Fonda they called her "Hanoi Jane" for helping the enemy in the Vietnam war why is she still alive if they execute for treason?

John Walker Lindh was caught fighting with your mates the Taliban why has he not been executed for treason?

Do you think it is pretty lame comparing the death penalty for apostasy to death for treason when the USA does not appear to execute people for treason these days?

What if a revert reads Quran 4:82 the Quran says it is not from Allah if there are contradictions,can a revert be blamed for taking 4:82 literally and leaving Islam?
http://quran.com/4/82

falah

Reply #7 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 4:39pm

Christian Burn Suspected Witches

...in Switzerland, 1585.

In Massachusetts, between February 1692 and May 1693, nineteen of the accused, fourteen women and five men, were executed by hanging.

Christian 'Witch' Burning
http://endofcapitalism.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/witch-burning.jpgw=490

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witch_trials_in_Early_Modern_Europe

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inquisition

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nine_million_witches#.22Nine_million_women.22

Even Children Are Not Safe From Christian Witch Hunts

Congo witch-hunt's child victims

The sect - run by a free-thinking Congolese Bible teacher called Prophet Onokoko - has 230 children on its books. All are accused of witchcraft.

Many have been thrown out of their family homes. All will have to undergo some kind of ritual exorcism to expunge the evil spirits.

In a small room, members of the sect crowd round the two terrified Mahonda boys, praying. Eyes closed, with an air of deep concentration, Prophet Onokoko joins in with chosen words.

"Oui!" someone shouts suddenly - confirmation, it is said, that the boys are witches (or as they call them here, enfants dits sorciers).

The Prophet's eyes open and light up. He shakes Ikomba and Luwuabisa by the hand. "Yes, yes," he grins. "It is confirmed."...

Then we meet the girl, Angella, who is busy hanging washing on a line. She says she is 10 years old. Then she tells how she was treated when her parents decided their bad luck was being caused by her sorcery.

"They wanted to kill me. They wanted to throw me into a big river. They put me in a sack, ready to do it. When I escaped, they gave me shocks with an eletrical power flex."

More than 14,000 children in Kinshasa are said to have been thrown out of their homes accused of witchcraft. It is tempting to think that if Prophet Onokoko manages to remove the stigma from some of them so they can return to their families, his sect is worth its weight in gold.

Abuse

Not so, says Save The Children. The organisation's representative here, Mahimbo Mdoe, has researched the world of enfants dit sorciers and is extremely worried by the work of the exorcism sects, and not least Prophet Onokoko's.

"As far as we're concerned, what's going in that organisation is purely and simply child abuse," he says.

"Children are made to vormit up things that have been inserted into them unnaturally.

"Two eyewitnesses have told us of objects like bars of soap being inserted into the anuses of children.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/575178.stm

The spread of Christianity in Kenya seems to be associated with the phenomena of witch burning:

Horror of Kenya's 'witch' lynchings

Joseph Ondieki, at the grave of his mother, who was burned as a witch

Suddenly an old woman breaks from the crowd, screaming for mercy. Three or four people go after her, beat her and drag her back, pushing her onto - what I can now see - is a raging fire.

Burned alive

I was witnessing a horrific practice which appears to be on the increase in Kenya - the lynching of people accused of being witches.

I personally saw the burning alive of five elderly men and women in Itii village.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/8119201.stm

Nigeria 'child witch killer' held

Police in south-east Nigeria have arrested a man who claimed to have killed 110 child "witches".

"Bishop" Sunday Ulup-Aya told a documentary film team he "delivered" children from demonic possession.

Child rights campaigners say children are frequently abandoned, hideously injured and even murdered because their families believe they are witches.

Self-proclaimed "pastors" extort money from families to exorcise the children, but none has been charged until now.

Mr Ulup-Aya was arrested in Akwa Ibom State after a child rights campaigner led police to his church and negotiated a consultation fee for an exorcism.

He has now been charged with murder.

Five others have been arrested since the weekend and the state government says more arrests are planned

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/7764575.stm

Sarah Palin Heaps Praise on a Witch Hunting Preacher

"The pastor whose prayer Sarah Palin says helped her to become governor of Alaska founded his ministry with a witchhunt against a Kenyan woman who he accused of causing car accidents through demonic spells.

At a speech at the Wasilla Assembly of God on June 8 this year, Mrs Palin described how Thomas Muthee had laid his hands on her when he visited the church as a guest preacher in late 2005, prior to her successful gubernatorial bid.

In video footage of the speech, she is seen saying: "As I was mayor and Pastor Muthee was here and he was praying over me, and you know how he speaks and he's so bold. And he was praying "Lord make a way, Lord make a way."

Sarah Palin, a Pentecostal, has high praise for a "man of God" who harassed and persecuted a Kenyan woman who was accused of being a witch. No doubt, in 1692 Sarah Palin would be one of those calling for the teenage witches to be burned at the stake.

http://newsblaze.com/story/20080920114557reye.nb/topstory.html

It’s not the first time Mutheee has prayed against witchcraft. He began his ministry with a witch-hunt against a Kenyan woman who he accused of causing car accidents through demonic spells. According to the Christian Science Monitor, which first reported the story in 1999, Muthee publicly declared the woman "a witch responsible for the town's ills, and ordered her to offer her up her soul for salvation or leave…” The woman fled.

http://blackstarnews.com/?c=135&a=4935

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5jqQYedt-EU

Reply #8 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 4:43pm

Well done Falah. You can almost make Islam look good in comparison.

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #9 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 4:56pm

Is that your best comeback fd? Pretty lame if it is.

abu_rashid  

Soren

Reply #10 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 5:18pm

Kinana b. al-Rabi, who had custody of the treasure of B. al-Nadir, was brought to the apostle [Muhammad] who asked him about it. He denied that he knew where it was. Then Muhammad finds some of the treasure:

A Jew came to the apostle and said that he had seen Kinana going around a certain ruin every morning, early. When the apostle said to Kinana, "Do you know that if we find you have it, I shall kill you?" he said Yes. The apostle gave orders that the ruin was to be excavated and some of the treasure was found.

Here is the torture that Muhammad permitted: When he [Muhammad] asked him about the rest, he refused to produce it, so the apostle gave orders . . . "Torture him until you extract what he has," so [the torturer] kindled a fire with flint and steel on his chest until he was nearly dead.

This hadith says that Allah reprimanded his favorite prophet for his cruelty:

When the Apostle of Allah . . . cut off (the hands and feet of) those who had stolen his camels and he had their eyes put out by fire (heated nails), Allah reprimanded him on that (action), and Allah, the Exalted, revealed: "The punishment of those who wage war against Allah and His Apostle and strive with might and main for mischief through the land is execution or crucifixion." (Abu Dawud, no. 4357)

Then he  Mohammed) ordered for [sic] nails which were heated and [the tribesmen] were branded with those nails, their eyes, and they were left in the Harra (i.e. rocky land in Al-Madina). And when they asked for water, no water was given them till they died . . . . (Bukhari, Book of Jihad, no. 3018)

In early AD 628, during a raid, Zayd, Muhammad’s freedman and adopted son, was wounded and some of his men were killed by a tribe. Zayd vowed to abstain from sex until he took revenge. After Zayd recovered from his wounds, Muhammad sent him and a raiding band back to the tribe. An old woman named Umm Qirfa was taken prisoner. Would a Muslim leader spare her from death, not to mention from torturing her? No. Her death was cruel, says an Islamic source, matter-of-factly.

The executioner appointed by Zayd "tied each of her legs with a rope and tied the ropes to camels, and they split her in two." (Tabari)

Soren

Reply #11 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 5:21pm

A kidnapped Christian convert from Islam was found decapitated on Sept. 2 … Juma Nuradin Kamil was forced into a car by three suspected Islamic extremists from the al-Shabaab terrorist group on Aug. 21, area sources said. After members of his community thoroughly combed the area looking for him, at 2 p.m. on Sept. 2 one of them found Kamil’s body dumped on a street. The kidnapping and subsequent manner of murder suggests that al-Shabaab militants had been monitoring him, Christian leaders said. Muslim extremists from al-Shabaab, a militant group with ties to al Qaeda, have vowed to rid Somalia of Christianity.

There are countless other similar examples in the news about apostates from Islam. But miraculously, there was never any threat of violence towards Abu or galah when they converted to Islam. But they think it's perfectly relevant to cite 16th century Spanish practice as being relevant s far as the respective relkigious tolerance of TODAY'S Islam and Christianity is concerned.

Reply #12 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 5:36pm

Here you go Abu:

freediver wrote on Jan 26th, 2012 at 3:21pm:
Yadda,

Abu, you need a pretty warped sense of faith to confuse leaving a country with betraying it.

Your logic is completely backwards. If Muslims were not worried about people leaving Islam, they would not stone them to death for doing so. They would leave them free to decide for themselves. It is only because they are fully aware of the risk of people leaving that they stone people to death for it. It is part of how Islam grew in the past - effectively a faith ratchet.

This is why you yourself have such faith in Islam that you cannot answer basic question like whether a child brought up under Islam should be stone dto death for rejecting Islam, or whether Shites should be stoned to death for rejecting Islam. This is a fundamental insecurity.

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #13 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 6:27pm

freediver wrote on Jan 26th, 2012 at 4:43pm:

Well done Falah. You can almost make Islam look good in comparison.

That is true FD.

+++

Yes it is true that Jews and Christians have caused the name of God to be polluted and profaned among the infidels...

Ezekiel 36:16
Moreover the word of the LORD came unto me, saying,
17  Son of man, when the house of Israel dwelt in their own land, they defiled it by their own way and by their doings: their way was before me as the uncleanness of a removed woman.
18  Wherefore I poured my fury upon them for the blood that they had shed upon the land, and for their idols wherewith they had polluted it:
19  And I scattered them among the heathen, and they were dispersed through the countries: according to their way and according to their doings I judged them.
20  And when they entered unto the heathen, whither they went, they profaned my holy name, when they said to them, These are the people of the LORD, and are gone forth out of his land.
21  But I had pity for mine holy name, which the house of Israel had profaned among the heathen, whither they went.
22  Therefore say unto the house of Israel, Thus saith the Lord GOD; I do not this for your sakes, O house of Israel, but for mine holy name's sake, which ye have profaned among the heathen, whither ye went.

Jeremiah 4:4
Circumcise yourselves to the LORD, and take away the foreskins of your heart, ye men of Judah and inhabitants of Jerusalem: lest my fury come forth like fire, and burn that none can quench it, because of the evil of your doings.

Jeremiah 9:26
Egypt, and Judah, and Edom, and the children of Ammon, and Moab, and all that are in the utmost corners, that dwell in the wilderness: for all these nations are uncircumcised, and all the house of Israel are uncircumcised in the heart.

Romans 2:28
For he is not a Jew, which is one outwardly; neither is that circumcision, which is outward in the flesh:
29  But he is a Jew, which is one inwardly; and circumcision is that of the heart, in the spirit, and not in the letter; whose praise is not of men, but of God.

+++

AND IT IS CERTAIN THAT ONLY THE MOSLEM PEOPLE ARE RIGHTEOUS BEFORE GOD, AND GOD HIMSELF HAS SAID SO....

"Ye [moslems] are the best of peoples, evolved for mankind, enjoining what is right, forbidding what is wrong, and believing in Allah. If only the People of the Book [i.e. Jews and Christians] had faith, it were best for them: among them are some who have faith, but most of them are perverted transgressors."
Koran 3.110

Yup, the Jews and Christians, are the perverted transgressors.

And only Moslems are righteous, and blessed in God's eyes.
.....coz only devout moslems are virtuous people.

Do ya think Abu?         Tongue

Proverbs 21:4
An high look, and a proud heart, and the plowing of the wicked, is sin.

"....and the plowing of the wicked, is sin."

???

Ecclesiastes 12:8
Vanity of vanities, saith the preacher; all is vanity.

James 4:5
Do ye think that the scripture saith in vain, The spirit that dwelleth in us lusteth to envy?

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

falah

Reply #14 - Jan 26th, 2012 at 6:47pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Jan 26th, 2012 at 4:29pm:
Abu
How many people have the USA executed for treason?

Julius and Ethel Rosenberg - executed 1953

The execution of the Rosenbergs in the electric chair at Sing Sing on June 19, 1953, ended one of the most sensational cases of the McCarthy era. It was the first execution of civilians for espionage in U.S. history.

http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/2003-06-17-rosenbergs_x.htm

Guess which religion they were.

The UK sure has executed a few people in modern times for treason:

Spies and traitors.

One man was hanged at Wandsworth during World War I for spying under the Treachery Act of 1914. He was Robert Rosenthal on the 15th of July 1915. Rosenthal had been reporting British ship movements to the German Admiralty. The 11 other men convicted of spying during World War I were all sentenced to death by firing squad and shot at the Tower of London.

Soon after the beginning of World War II, the government, in an effort to deal with an expected influx of German spies, introduced The Treachery Act of 1940 which stated that : "If, with intent to help the enemy, any person does, or attempts or conspires with any other person to do any act which is designed or likely to give assistance to the naval, military or air operations of the enemy, to impede such operations of His Majesty's forces, or to endanger life, shall be guilty of felony and shall on conviction suffer death."

Under this Act, nine men were hanged at Wandsworth. (A further seven were executed at Pentonville and one shot at the Tower of London.) 

http://www.capitalpunishmentuk.org/wands.html
« Last Edit: Jan 26th, 2012 at 7:08pm by falah »