larry pickerings advice for abbott (Read 490 times)
Guildford

It's Only Me

SE Victoria
larry pickerings advice for abbott
Jun 5th, 2012 at 4:03am

Bloody hell, Tony, what was that response this morning all about? You knew you would get a question on your low poll figures. Answer the damned question and make it work for you. Don’t dodge it with hackneyed Gillard-style clichés.

Who are your media staffers? Plants from Gillard’s office?Whoever it was told you to respond in that fashion, give him a call now and sack him!

This is how you should have answered that question:

“Well, (broad grin) I’m the eternal bearer of bad news, I’m afraid... that’s my job. I’m amazed my polling figures aren’t lower!

“Opposing each of this Government’s stuff-ups is a nasty, full-time job I can’t hope to accomplish in full.

“I guess when people have to face me every morning with yet another disaster to comment on, I can’t aspire to popularity.

“But what I can aspire to is good Opposition no matter what my personal cost in popularity. I’ve got the most distasteful job in politics right now but I can promise you this: I will do it to the best of my ability, and I will continue to do it until the people of Australia have a government they deserve.”

You would have gone up four points by lunchtime, mate. Get rid of those media advisers who vomit poo for you to repeat parrot-fashion each day.

“A python squeeze and not a Cobra strike”?Do you actually pay those idiots for that relentless daily drivel? I know it was supposed to counter Julia’s, “first of July” bullshit but people are suffering vertigo with this type of spin, Tony.

If you want to improve your standing in the polls get yourself a decent media adviser and tell the ones you’ve got that there are jobs still going in Julia’s office.

Drop Dead Gorgeous

MOTR

Re: larry pickerings advice for abbott
Reply #1 - Jun 5th, 2012 at 4:50am

You can only spin things so far, Larry. The electorate has had a long time to look at Abbott and we don't like what we see.

Hunt says Coalition accepts IPCC findings

"What does this mean? It means that we need to do practical things that actually reduce emissions."

progressiveslol

Reply #2 - Jun 5th, 2012 at 6:24am

Yes we green and labor hacks just dont like the liberal leader lol

Reply #3 - Jun 5th, 2012 at 7:37am

The funniest thing is listening to Gillard blaming Abbott for the govts low polls. So in essence she is saying thet the OPPOSITION LEADER is doing a stellar job in his role of opposing the govt? Which twit advised her to say that????

Reply #4 - Jun 5th, 2012 at 8:52am

MOTR wrote on Jun 5th, 2012 at 4:50am:
You can only spin things so far, Larry. The electorate has had a long time to look at Abbott and we don't like what we see.

I am sort of wondering how many of the WE are left in the empire to be honest..

its an ever shrinking group.. and even the ALP admits its finding it hard to recruit new members..

maybe they should give free tickets/memberships to taxi drivers to give away like the footy clubs do..

Gist

I am not a sock, I am
a human being!

Reply #5 - Jun 5th, 2012 at 9:03am

I think maybe Tony was thinking of this python squeeze:

"When our military goes to war it should be for purposes and objectives clearly in Australia’s interests, not merely because the Americans want some company" - Malcolm Fraser (2012 Whitlam Oration)

MOTR

Reply #6 - Jun 6th, 2012 at 7:25pm

cods wrote on Jun 5th, 2012 at 8:52am:
MOTR wrote on Jun 5th, 2012 at 4:50am:

I am sort of wondering how many of the WE are left in the empire to be honest..

its an ever shrinking group.. and even the ALP admits its finding it hard to recruit new members..

maybe they should give free tickets/memberships to taxi drivers to give away like the footy clubs do..

I was talking on behalf of the Australian electorate. Remind me of Abbott's personal approval ratings.

Hunt says Coalition accepts IPCC findings

"What does this mean? It means that we need to do practical things that actually reduce emissions."

bludger

Reply #7 - Jun 6th, 2012 at 9:54pm

The problem is their advisors never had a job in the real world and the people know it. Take Mark Abib the twit, why on earth would anyone take notice of what he said.
They are all on the same dork level.
Not interested in running the country only poncing around like a bunch of girls.