Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
Stupidity (Read 3101 times)
Soren

Stupidity
Jun 10th, 2012 at 1:44pm

1. If someone says something stupid and you say, "Hey, that is stupid BS because ... xyz' - is that abuse?

2. If someone says stupid things because he/she is stupid (ie says says stupid things as a matter of personal policy and outlook), and you say to him: 'you speak like that because you are stupid" - is that abuse?

I mean, are there no idiots any more? Is every point of view, no matter how demonstratively unreasoned, how evidently inconsistent, how obviously blind needs to be respected and treated as 'valid'? Has all this self-esteem mongering that starts in kindy seeped into the life of adults now? Now even adults have to be sheltered from  their stupidity for fear of their developing of self-esteem related 'issues'?
It seems to me to be a result of the feminisation of education and then social interaction and discourse. Everyone now must beat around the bush like girls. No spade is vre called a spade because direct, frank language is seen s too masculine (ie aggressive).. What's happening?

I don't just mean on this forum but in the broader context. Some people should not be sheltered from the fact that they are idiots. As long as you tell them what was stupid and why in what they said or did, this should be seen as a valuable civic, manly virtue, not as abuse, not as bitching.

I have been called all sorts of things on this forum but I have never whined to the Mods. Why is it that only idiots whine to the mods? I am interested in the psychology of the whining idiots.

Whaddaya reckon?

Re: Stupidity
Reply #1 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 2:23pm

I reckon you're an idiot.

Reply #2 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 2:27pm

Soren you are prolly the stupidest person on this forum. Dont be offended though mate its for your own good we tell you this.

Reply #3 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 2:29pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 10th, 2012 at 2:27pm:
Soren you are prolly the stupidest person on this forum. Dont be offended though mate its for your own good we tell you this.

Now, now don't be modest.  I can't think of a more worthy winner of the title of stupidest person than your good self.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #4 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 2:40pm

It's a real contest as to who is the stupidest here.
There's about a dozen candidates. Just when you think someone takes the prize, along comes another contender that gives them a run for their money.

Reply #5 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 2:44pm

Soren I hope the responses so far demonstrate to you the pitfalls of what you are asking for.

1. If someone says something stupid and you say, "Hey, that is stupid BS because ... xyz' - is that abuse?

So long as you direct your criticism at what they posted, rather than the person, then no (it will not get you banned).

2. If someone says stupid things because he/she is stupid (ie says says stupid things as a matter of personal policy and outlook), and you say to him: 'you speak like that because you are stupid" - is that abuse?

Yes (it will get you banned).

Is every point of view, no matter how demonstratively unreasoned, how evidently inconsistent, how obviously blind needs to be respected and treated as 'valid'?

Of course not. You should simply ignore the more absurd ones.

Has all this self-esteem mongering that starts in kindy seeped into the life of adults now?

It has nothing to do with self esteem. It is about sticking to the topic and having a functioning politics forum. It is usually the people I am least impressed with intellectually who try to argue that an insult is a substitute for an argument.

It seems to me to be a result of the feminisation of education and then social interaction and discourse.

Because women never bitch about each other? There is something kind of embarrassing about watching grown men carry on like schoolgirls (and this is not a reference to discussing politics).

Soren

Reply #6 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 4:38pm

freediver wrote on Jun 10th, 2012 at 2:44pm:
Soren I hope the responses so far demonstrate to you the pitfalls of what you are asking for.

So long as you direct your criticism at what they posted, rather than the person, then no (it will not get you banned).

Being an adult, this is the only way I have ever identified idiots.

But I must say, when someone says stupid things consistently, unfailingly - I think that needs to be recognised and a citation along the lines of 'you fooking idiot, you are amazingly thick' is in order. I think merit must be recognised and spoken of. It is not easy for some of the people here to show up every day, hail or shine, and be fooking idiots. We must not shy away from recognising such everyday heroes. We can't pat them on the head, so we have only words to encourage them.

Am I too generous? Maybe. But I like to recognise effort. It's good for morale, in my experience.

Soren

Reply #7 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 4:42pm

Is every point of view, no matter how demonstratively unreasoned, how evidently inconsistent, how obviously blind needs to be respected and treated as 'valid'?

Of course not. You should simply ignore the more absurd ones.

Oh!? Ignore?

Ignorance, absurdity, militant stupidity are spreading like topsy. Ignoring them just encourages the spread.

Tut, tut, FD. 'Good men doing nothing when absurd idiots speak...' and all that.

Reply #8 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 4:45pm

Okay - you obviously want a bone

It's good for morale, in my experience.

"you fooking idiot, you are amazingly thick"

*pats soren on the head*

Soren

Reply #9 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 4:50pm

It seems to me to be a result of the feminisation of education and then social interaction and discourse.

Because women never bitch about each other?

You misunderstand me. It is because women bitch and snipe and gossip and verbalise everything to within an inch of its interest-value. A bloke will typically explain where he's coming from and tell another bloke to fook off if the other is a recalcitrantly incomprehending. A woman will hiss and nag and start a gossip campaign.

I am speaking of stereotypes, of course. Not all men and women are so categorically different. Submissive or gay men will bitch and gossip like girls, for example.

Reply #10 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 4:54pm

Thats hilarious. Men do exactly the same thing as women. Dramas abound., Just look @ parliament. Look @ abbott. Look @ his whining all the time to the media (and subsequently all of us) about gillard all the time. And what do you talk to with a bunch of mates with beers? Football for a lil while then you talk about other ppl that arent there. you just dont call it "gossip" when you do it.

Maybe women dont talk generally about football so much and men dont talk about dresses so much but the idea and basic premise is the same.

Reply #11 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 6:02pm

Men are gossipy bitches just like women. When a woman does it she's a gossip. When a man does it, he's just saying it like it is. Anyone who's worked with a bunch of men will know they love a back-biting chit chat session.

Soren

Reply #12 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 6:07pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 10th, 2012 at 4:45pm:
Okay - you obviously want a bone

It's good for morale, in my experience.

"you fooking idiot, you are amazingly thick"

*pats soren on the head*

There you go, bitching and then  starting a gossip campaign.
What did I tell y'all?

JC Denton

Reply #13 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 7:35pm

i know i love talking sh!t - discussing why stupid people are stupid is the greatest topic of conversation possibly ever.

Soren

Reply #14 - Jun 10th, 2012 at 7:47pm

JC Denton wrote on Jun 10th, 2012 at 7:35pm:
i know i love talking sh!t - discussing why stupid people are stupid is the greatest topic of conversation possibly ever.

Thank you. I started this for all of us.

I think idiots know they are idiots. If they were really ignorant of it they would have been run over by a truck at age 7. They couldn't possibly go through life not knowing that they are not actually understanding anything going on around them.

That's the dilemma. How can they be idiots yet navigate through daily life?

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5