When God said, 'Brains ?' I thought he said Trains (Read 5333 times)
Super Nova

Everywhere
Re: When God said, 'Brains ?' I thought he said Trains
Reply #15 - Jul 11th, 2012 at 3:04am

... wrote on Jul 10th, 2012 at 5:42pm:
Super Nova wrote on Jul 10th, 2012 at 5:39pm:
Our brain is more developed for our type of survival strategy.... when survival was ensured by our society we could apply our free time to dealing with other problems.

I'm not so sure anymore.  Many things we do actively work against our survival, both as individuals and collectively.   

I think I understand your point. Many things are outside our control. A nearby supernova could kill us all.

We now need to overcome some of our most basic instincts:
1. Over population - like rabbits we breed at the rate we are designed for. In nature population grows until all resources are unavailable/restricted then they die back to a sustainable population or die out.

With no natural preditors to keep our population in check, micro organisms will cull us back or the lack of resources will. Competing for scarce resources (war) could also cull us back.

We just consume more and more... something needs to give. We need to overcome this instinct with our bigger brains.

2. War ...etc

It will be for resources or ideology. We are a fighting species. When we gave up the hunt, we focused on taking the resources of others. We need to overcome this natural instinct with our bigger brains.

3. Action

I don't think there will be real action until something drastic happens. We tend not to react until it's too late. Hope is not a good action plan... our leaders need to get their poo together and start using their bigger brains for something useful.

Our short term ideology of the moment will not serve us well into the future.
« Last Edit: Jul 11th, 2012 at 4:21am by Super Nova »  

Reply #16 - Jul 11th, 2012 at 5:46pm

Individually, I was thinking more of things like taking drugs and eating food we know is bad for us.

Collectively, we work ourselves to death.  Spend more time in the office than enjoying life.  Buy into, and enforce ideologies that place the welfare of strangers above our own.
Our priorities have been skewed from what they initially were. 

For all our "intelligence", we sure are a stupid bunch.

Super Nova

Everywhere
Reply #17 - Jul 11th, 2012 at 6:57pm

We are collectively stupid sometimes.

We are pretty young really. We haven't been out of the trees much more than a million years and civilisation only started after the last ice age. If we don't get killed off we could do great things.

As an individual I relate to the waste of my life that is "work". Man I spend my whole life working for others just to feed the family and pay the morgage.

However, in past times, I would have spent my whole life chasing or growing food just to survive.

Life is all about doing enough to survive and breed. That's it. No higher purpose than that.

Sad really.

Reply #18 - Jul 11th, 2012 at 7:08pm

Super Nova wrote on Jul 11th, 2012 at 6:57pm:

We are pretty young really. We haven't been out of the trees much more than a million years and civilisation only started after the last ice age. If we don't get killed off we could do great things.

As an individual I relate to the waste of my life that is "work". Man I spend my whole life working for others just to feed the family and pay the morgage.

However, in past times, I would have spent my whole life chasing or growing food just to survive.

Life is all about doing enough to survive and breed. That's it. No higher purpose than that.

Sad really.

It's beleived among anthropologists that hunetr gatherer man put as little as 8 hours a week into actually working.  Compare that with the 40 hour standard week we put in now that we are "liberated".

Pretty much agree about there being no higher purpose.  In that respect we're just like the animals, only with the capacity to wish for so much more.  in that respect higher intelligence is a curse. Dogs and cats seem pretty happy spedning their whole day sleeping, and I reckon they're onto it.

Super Nova

Everywhere
Reply #19 - Jul 11th, 2012 at 7:29pm

"Dogs and cats seem pretty happy spedning their whole day sleeping, and I reckon they're onto it. "

Yes because they have us to feed them.

Would you be happy if someone provided you with food and shelter and you had nothing to do but sleep.

That's called the dole or welfare... they generally don't seem happy with fulfilled lives.

Reply #20 - Jul 11th, 2012 at 8:57pm

Super Nova wrote on Jul 11th, 2012 at 7:29pm:
"Dogs and cats seem pretty happy spedning their whole day sleeping, and I reckon they're onto it. "

Would you be happy if someone provided you with food and shelter and you had nothing to do but sleep.

That's called the dole or welfare... they generally don't seem happy with fulfilled lives.

That's what "the pack" is for.  On a small scale, each contribute and each reap the benefits with a small imbalance between individual members.  Cooperation allows more to be accomlished with less effort. 
But as the size of the pack grows, so too does the imbalance and Where the pack was once a boon, now it is a burden.  More and more effort is required for less and less return, until you wonder if you'd be better off breaking from the pack.

Mutawintji

Grendel Her Bor

Mutawintji. Far western NSW
Reply #21 - Jul 12th, 2012 at 7:06am

Super Nova wrote on Jul 11th, 2012 at 6:57pm:

Sad really.

Not so sad ..

"We were born of risen apes, not fallen angels, and the apes were armed killers besides. And so what shall we wonder at? Our murders and massacres and missiles, and our irreconcilable regiments? Or our treaties whatever they may be worth; our sympathies however seldom they may be played; our peaceful acres, however frequently they may be converted to battlefields; our dreams however rarely they may be accomplished.

The miracle of man is not how far he has sunk but how magnificently he has risen. We are known among the stars by our poems, not our corpses."

Robert Ardrey (b. 1908-10-16 in Chicago, Illinois; d. 1980-01-14 in South Africa) was an anthropologist, playwright and screenwriter.

Zac the Black

'Blondie says I must hate all Brunettes. I'll try, but if I can't ... I'll love them both'

... graffiti on Tavern wall, Pompeii, circa AD 70.

Super Nova

Everywhere
Reply #22 - Jul 12th, 2012 at 8:04pm

"The miracle of man is not how far he has sunk but how magnificently he has risen. We are known among the stars by our poems, not our corpses"

I guess we do the same. We remember our progress and achievements and forget the corpes left behind. An individual life has no real value, only the existence of our species is valued and the progress it makes.

Reply #23 - Jul 13th, 2012 at 6:01am

Super Nova wrote on Jul 11th, 2012 at 7:29pm:

Cats sleep 16 hours a day. Even in the wild. They catch a mouse or something to eat then go back to sleep.

On the other hand ppl on the dole spend all day sitting in centerlink or standing in queues and filling in forms and what is it now? 10 interviews a week? How is that even possible? They spend time looking for where they are going to sleep tonight and if they have time looking for somewhere to get a feed.

Super Nova

Everywhere
Reply #24 - Jul 13th, 2012 at 9:22pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 13th, 2012 at 6:01am:
On the other hand ppl on the dole spend all day sitting in centerlink or standing in queues and filling in forms and what is it now? 10 interviews a week? How is that even possible? They spend time looking for where they are going to sleep tonight and if they have time looking for somewhere to get a feed.

On the other hand they could not get the dole like in other countries and beg for food or die.

Doing something for the money that keeps you alive like, looking to find a way to make a positive contribution to the society that feeds you is not an unreasonable ask.

Welfare is not a right it's a priviledge that very few on this planet (as a %) have access to.

Reply #25 - Jul 14th, 2012 at 6:26am

Super Nova wrote on Jul 13th, 2012 at 9:22pm:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 13th, 2012 at 6:01am:

On the other hand they could not get the dole like in other countries and beg for food or die.

Doing something for the money that keeps you alive like, looking to find a way to make a positive contribution to the society that feeds you is not an unreasonable ask.

Welfare is not a right it's a priviledge that very few on this planet (as a %) have access to.

When would they have time?

If you are talking about WFTD then why the heck cant they pay reasonably and call it a job instead of slave labour?

Reply #26 - Jul 16th, 2012 at 4:14pm

well mutawintji, i certainly enjoyed that and i will be reading that to my kids. 

i dont care if its 100 % true , its a damn good story and they need a boost to their imagination that "call of duty" or "the sims" is unlikely to provide.
thank you very much for posting

Mutawintji

Grendel Her Bor

Reply #27 - Jul 17th, 2012 at 8:42am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 16th, 2012 at 4:14pm:
well mutawintji, i certainly enjoyed that and i will be reading that to my kids. 

i dont care if its 100 % true , its a damn good story and they need a boost to their imagination that "call of duty" or "the sims" is unlikely to provide.
thank you very much for posting

Well ... thats my second only direct reply on this forum. The first said 'Horse-shyt' ...

So obviously I like yours better .... lmao

Ta mate !

Zac the black.

'Blondie says I must hate all Brunettes. I'll try, but if I can't ... I'll love them both'

Mutawintji

Grendel Her Bor

Reply #28 - Jul 17th, 2012 at 9:05am

Actually .... I like GT5 .... play it all da time .... lmao

Zac da Black

bludger

Reply #29 - Jul 24th, 2012 at 9:30pm

Homo sapiens aint that smart. Have a look around you. The planet stuffers are really hard at it. What a bunch of morons.
My jack russell is just as bad. Smiley