Pages: 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 ... 42
FORD.R.I.P. (Read 39261 times)
Verge

Re: FORD.R.I.P.
Reply #270 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 10:04am

Ive never seen two homo's move the goal posts on a discussion as much as Bobby and Nail in this thread.

The funny thing is Quantum has presented excellent discussion points, yet all Bobby and Nail have done has argued even when he was agreeing with them.

Its a sad day when people like Quantum who have presented detailed and excellent points leave a thread because two butt buddies cant actually focus on a single topic at a time.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #271 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 10:41am

Verge wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 10:04am:
Ive never seen two homo's move the goal posts on a discussion as much as Bobby and Nail in this thread.

The funny thing is Quantum has presented excellent discussion points, yet all Bobby and Nail have done has argued even when he was agreeing with them.

Its a sad day when people like Quantum who have presented detailed and excellent points leave a thread because two butt buddies cant actually focus on a single topic at a time.

too true. But to have an actual valuable debate on a topic like EVs you need to at the very least acknowledge the facts as they are. I had a discussion with the GM Of Nissan Australia over the leaf and he acknoweldged that its greatest problem was limited range and cost. He wasnt ranting and raving and pretending. he was seeing what the strengths and weaknesses are. he isnt expecting the Leaf to take over fromt eh Commodore or repalce the Mazda 3. He is justifiably proud of what is a great car but he is no unaware of its very real limitations and the fact thatit will not be a mass seller.

why cant the butt-buddies do the same???
« Last Edit: Aug 1st, 2012 at 10:59am by longweekend58 »  

Reply #272 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 11:45am

what discussion points ?? Most of what he has claimed is utter bullshit !!

Ford is going out of business in Australia and continues to waste tax payers money making old technology junk that nobody wants anymore whilst its parent company in the US  is busy building the next generation EV's and plugin hybrids. Go figure !!

Reply #273 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 11:48am

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 10:41am:

too true. But to have an actual valuable debate on a topic like EVs you need to at the very least acknowledge the facts as they are. I had a discussion with the GM Of Nissan Australia over the leaf and he acknoweldged that its greatest problem was limited range and cost. He wasnt ranting and raving and pretending. he was seeing what the strengths and weaknesses are. he isnt expecting the Leaf to take over fromt eh Commodore or repalce the Mazda 3. He is justifiably proud of what is a great car but he is no unaware of its very real limitations and the fact thatit will not be a mass seller.

And you said that people will still continue to buy large gas guzzling cars in huge numbers but Commodore has slipped to 8th place and Ford is way off the list now whilst all small 4 cylinder cars such as Mazda 3 and Toyota Corolla are top sellers. Somehow fuel economy and the cost of running a car is a major factor in  the purchase contrary to what you have always said !!

So much for another one of your rubbish predictions !!

Reply #274 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 11:58am

Hear hear Nail,
That just proves we were right all along.

Verge

Reply #275 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 12:02pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 11:48am:

And you said that people will still continue to buy large gas guzzling cars in huge numbers but Commodore has slipped to 8th place and Ford is way off the list now whilst all small 4 cylinder cars such as Mazda 3 and Toyota Corolla are top sellers. Somehow fuel economy and the cost of running a car is a major factor in  the purchase contrary to what you have always said !!

Did you notice a lot of other vehicles coming on, notably 4wd utes.

Im noticing a lot of families are going to dual cab utes because of their versatility.

Im also seeing a lot of previous commodore owners going to captiva's, territory's, iX35's and Sorrentos for the additional space and versatility.

We just bought a nissan.  The reliability is better and it was far cheaper.

Simply, commodores and falcons are over priced with a poor build quality, but with the unions in Oz running the show, you cant expect much else can you.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #276 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 12:08pm

Verge wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 12:02pm:

Im noticing a lot of families are going to dual cab utes because of their versatility.

Im also seeing a lot of previous commodore owners going to captiva's, territory's, iX35's and Sorrentos for the additional space and versatility.

Simply, commodores and falcons are over priced with a poor build quality, but with the unions in Oz running the show, you cant expect much else can you.

typical libbo always blames the unions Sad

Did you know that Germany's car manufacturing industry is highly unionised and yet they make premium quality cars that they export all around the world including Australia !!

Maybe the trick is for a country to own it's own car industry instead of always paying off a foreign corporation that makes bad decisions that is not in the interest of the country !!

Reply #277 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 12:24pm

Still not taking my offer of my SUV?

Come on, I can see you in a 5 liter V8 mate....

Reply #278 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 12:25pm

Almost 2 out of 3 cars in our car park at work (which by the way is huge and at peak hour has a bus service to take people to their cars) is a 4WD.

GMCs, Ford, Nissan, Toyota. All types but they are all big 4 liter plus 4x4s

Reply #279 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:18pm

Verge,
Who is we?

Reply #280 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:38pm

No but at the same time Nissan aren't making the equivalent of Ford Falcons and trying to flog them here are they ??

Also if you were a manufacturer of small petrol cars would you want to screw up your own market up with completely new technology that is much more reliable and cheaper to run ?

There is no reason why the Leaf should sell for 50K just as any new petrol car that Nissan spends billions developing never sells for 50K !! Their whole pricing structure is absurd but intentional Sad

Nissan just doesn't want people to abandon their existing investment in fossil fool cars  !!

Reply #281 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:41pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 12:24pm:
Still not taking my offer of my SUV?

Come on, I can see you in a 5 liter V8 mate....

what's the point of throwing tens of dollars out of the tail pipe during peak hour traffic ?? Where is the economics in doing that ??

And now they have found a direct link between deisel fumes and respiratory problems in children. Thankyou for contributing to that hicks with your vanity Sad

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #282 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:42pm

We should definitely be placing heavy tariffs on imported cars to protect our own manufacturing jobs - the Button Plan and economic rationalism is a proven failure and is unconstitutional... Cool Cool

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

Reply #283 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:58pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:18pm:

Verge,
Who is we?

and in todays lesson, booby discovers that MOST people actually have relationships and refer to themsevles as 'we'.

one day perhaps you too will discover a person willing to put up with you.

Reply #284 - Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:59pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 1st, 2012 at 1:38pm:

No but at the same time Nissan aren't making the equivalent of Ford Falcons and trying to flog them here are they ??

Also if you were a manufacturer of small petrol cars would you want to screw up your own market up with completely new technology that is much more reliable and cheaper to run ?

There is no reason why the Leaf should sell for 50K just as any new petrol car that Nissan spends billions developing never sells for 50K !! Their whole pricing structure is absurd but intentional Sad

Nissan just doesn't want people to abandon their existing investment in fossil fool cars  !!

and if you ever understood the economics of MASS production you might know the answer. the Vot and Leaf are niche sellers at best.

Pages: 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 ... 42