Re: FORD.R.I.P.
Reply #615 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 3:19pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 2:08pm:
Verge wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 2:02pm:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 1:58pm:
Verge,
you turn right when you enter a plane -
not left in economy class.
You have the money to buy an EV & keep your petrol car.

Do it & let us know how it goes.  Wink

I go to the back of the plane mate, never heard of one backing into a mountain.

If they made an EV Ute I might consider it since my ute doesnt go very far at all.

The car I packaged for my wife needs to hold two kids, pram and long distance driving.  There is no EV currently on the market that can do that.

You boasted before that you only fly first class.

Buy an EV.

Youve got me confused with Andre.  I have never flown first class.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #616 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 3:28pm

Verge,

I fly all the time Bobby - its right to economy class and left to business/first.

Reply #617 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 3:28pm

Verge wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 3:19pm:
Verge,

If they made an EV Ute I might consider it since my ute doesnt go very far at all.

The car I packaged for my wife needs to hold two kids, pram and long distance driving.  There is no EV currently on the market that can do that.

Buy an EV.

In my defence, I have flown first class 3 times in my life and all of them have been upgrades.

Verge

Reply #618 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 3:30pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 3:28pm:
Verge,

Buy an EV.

In my defence, I have flown first class 3 times in my life and all of them have been upgrades.

No worries.

For me personally I only fly domestic, so I dont see the need to fly first class.

If I bother to do an international flight greater than NZ I might consider it.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #619 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 3:42pm

I would add - each of those times (2 x Qantas and 1 x BA) I came out thinking it was nice but if I had paid the $17k or whatever it was, I would consider it complete waste of money.

One time I remember I couldn't plug in my laptop anywhere - so it was better back in business.

First is for excess and try-hards in my book.

Reply #620 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 5:04pm

Verge,

Buy an EV.

Verge,
I am almost certain you made that turn right claim one day.
Maybe it was on yahoo?

Reply #621 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 6:31pm

Verge wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 12:42pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 12:12pm:
Verge wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 8:43am:
Okay, just trying to do some calculations.

The nissan leaf has an average range of 140kms.

Using the on-board 3.3 kW charger the Leaf can be fully recharged from empty in 8 hours from a 220/240-volt 30 amp supply.  So 3.3kw x 8 hours is 26.4kw.

To generate this kind of electricity I would need a 5kw solar installation.

This costs approximatley $13,500, as my neighbour just put this system on.

Solar has a repay time of 4 years.

To look at it realistically, its a lot of outlay for a small vehicle.

So what. Some people are forking out $100 a week in petrol to drive their car to work each week. That's $5000 a year plus another $1000 on maintenance !! $13,500 for a 5KW solar PV array is a few years worth of driving a petrol car !! Don't tell you think driving a fossil fool car is a good investment !!

Do your calculations properly.

How much electricity did you use ?? At 20 cents per KWh that's about 5 bucks !! How much at the fossil fool bowser ??

and how do you ever recover the costs on your fossil fool usage ?? People don't just install solar PV arrays for electric cars. There are lots of other appliances it can help offset.

But you arent factoring in how the electric car hasnt reached economies of scale yet.

The nissan leaf is over $10k more than a car of equivelent size and comfort.

Like Bobby has said, better of waiting for them to be $20k.

At $30k, its still cheaper to have a petrol car.

Yes true the car is to dear at the moment. It's a very good car from reports I have read but it still needs to come down in price. 30K is a reasonable price which is what it sells for in the states.

And it certainly has to come down as economy of scales and comeptition increase Wink Having said I still can't see how they justify a price premium of 20K in Australia compared to the US when the AUD is above parity Sad

gold_medal

Reply #622 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 10:52pm

Verge,

I fly all the time Bobby - its right to economy class and left to business/first.

You dont think bobby has ever actualy flown in a plane do you? he is a bogan!

Reply #623 - Aug 14th, 2012 at 11:42pm

gold_medal wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 10:52pm:
Verge,

Gold Muppet/Longweekend,
I've flown all around the world many times & a few times
I even went business class.

Longweekend/Gold thinks that others are inferior to him.

Longy/Gold  - when did you first develop your superiority complex?

Reply #624 - Aug 15th, 2012 at 12:41am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 11:42pm:
gold_medal wrote on Aug 14th, 2012 at 10:52pm:
Verge,

Gold Muppet/Longweekend,
I've flown all around the world many times & a few times
I even went business class.

Longweekend/Gold thinks that others are inferior to him.

Longy/Gold  - when did you first develop your superiority complex?

when he became a christian and started mixing with other christians with the same paranormal friend Wink

Pages: 1 ... 40 41 42