No-Start enquiry: Here's MY 2/- worth....... (Read 846 times)

No-Start enquiry: Here's MY 2/- worth.......
Aug 15th, 2012 at 6:44pm

WHERE'S YOURS?

Now that submissions to the Senate Enquiry can be made public, here's mine....

http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate_Committees?url=ee...

Look for sub #24.

Where's YOURS?

Read it. Agree. Disagree. I don't care.

Read some of the other subs. They're both pro AND con.

If you lodged a sub (pro OR con) then good on you.

If you didn't, well that's OK too. Up to you.

But some of you ( Hi, Longy, Big'Ol etc) have long told me to
put my 'money where my mouth is', and 'do something' other
than 'moaning about it here'.

Well now I have. So shoot me.

READ my sub, READ some of the other subs.

The support for an increase, and for a better all-round deal for
the unemployed is OVERWHELMING. See for yourselves.

**Abuse and/or anti-unemployed sentiments are neither required
nor welcome.

Address the topic or sod off.**

Re: No-Start enquiry: Here's MY 2/- worth.......
Reply #1 - Aug 15th, 2012 at 7:48pm

good on you kat for having an input

Reply #2 - Aug 15th, 2012 at 7:54pm

I don't disagree with anything you've done there....but I don't see a section entitled "what we can do about the bludgers".

There's plenty of em out there man.

Shane B

Reply #3 - Aug 15th, 2012 at 8:00pm

Have an increase in Newstart, but lets get serious and start putting time limits on it.

The Government can also do more to provide greater incentives to enter the workforce by lowering effective marginal tax rates
For those coming off welfare.

Julia Gillard - twice selected, never elected.

We're still paying for the Whitlam Government.

Reply #4 - Aug 15th, 2012 at 8:06pm

kat you need to lighten up.. you cannot change the world as much as you care about it..

we do our best thats the main thing.. ok ok we can do more but it doesnt help to get abusive.

if you explain things in a well informed way I am sure you would get a better reaction and those that dont agree.. well what the heck.

you have had a go well done..jusy maybe someone will listen it all you can hope for.

Reply #5 - Aug 15th, 2012 at 8:16pm

I read the bit about no punishment.. isnt that giving those that do treat the system as a joke licence to do precisely what most say they all do??? sleep in all day and let someone else do it.

our system is wrong and it covers up bad govt..

we now have a huge market of casuals and part timers.. yet we are told we have full employment...

casuals can well earn money in the hand. unloading trucks isnt a skill is it?..

casuals are at the mercy of the unpredictable ...therefore money earned is variable.

how do you make a life living like that??????.

making it easier to employ casuals than part or full timers is wrong wrong wrong.

people need security they need to know or have a rough idea where they will be in 12 months..

Reply #6 - Aug 15th, 2012 at 9:51pm

There is a new 'Welfare' board in the Member's Board section.

It is devoted to discussions on welfare and wealthfare, both pro and con.

Hate 'dole-bludgers'? Come on down! LIKE dole-bludgers? Come on down.

Support/oppose the baby bonus? Come on down!

The unemployed are all bludgers? Come on down, tell us why. Or why not.

On the dole and had a bad experience? Come on down, tell us about it.

Done work and been ripped off? Here's the place you wanna be.

Come on down to 'Welfare' and let's stop polluting the major fora.

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1345030314

The mods are pretty reasonable blokes, too.....Smiley
« Last Edit: Aug 15th, 2012 at 9:58pm by Kat »  

Reply #7 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 7:27am

Shane B wrote on Aug 15th, 2012 at 8:00pm:
Have an increase in Newstart, but lets get serious and start putting time limits on it.

The Government can also do more to provide greater incentives to enter the workforce by lowering effective marginal tax rates

Time-limits won't work.

The dole is NO LONGER merely a short-term payment, for many.

And they're not necessarily bludgers.

That needs to be accepted.

Reply #8 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 7:32am

... wrote on Aug 15th, 2012 at 7:54pm:
I don't disagree with anything you've done there....but I don't see a section entitled "what we can do about the bludgers".

Why do anything about them? Why wreck it for everyone else? There arent enough of them to worry about and all the checks and balances in place will get them eventually. I find it fantastical that there is anyone that would choose to live on not enough money to live on but well you reckon they exist so they must.

Reply #9 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 7:33am

cods wrote on Aug 15th, 2012 at 8:06pm:
kat you need to lighten up.. you cannot change the world as much as you care about it..

we do our best thats the main thing.. ok ok we can do more but it doesnt help to get abusive.

if you explain things in a well informed way I am sure you would get a better reaction and those that dont agree.. well what the heck.

you have had a go well done..jusy maybe someone will listen it all you can hope for.

Where exactly was he abusive?

Reply #10 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 10:16am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 16th, 2012 at 7:33am:
cods wrote on Aug 15th, 2012 at 8:06pm:

Where exactly was he abusive?

Probably where I told potential thread-trashers to 'sod off'.

That's one of the reasons we now have a Welfare forum.

The whole gamut of welfare is covered, not just the dole.

And the discussions should be relatively immune to thread-trashing.

Shane B

Reply #11 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 10:21am

i.e. no posts that criticise the failings of the welfare state or point out the obvious are allowed.

Julia Gillard - twice selected, never elected.

We're still paying for the Whitlam Government.

Reply #12 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 10:24am

Shane B wrote on Aug 16th, 2012 at 10:21am:
i.e. no posts that criticise the failings of the welfare state or point out the obvious are allowed.

No, quite the contrary.

All opinions are welcome, both pro and con.

But abuse and mud-slinging are not.

Reply #13 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 10:26am

Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2012 at 7:27am:
Shane B wrote on Aug 15th, 2012 at 8:00pm:

Time-limits won't work.

The dole is NO LONGER merely a short-term payment, for many.

The dole was never meant to be a lifestyle choice, if you want more money i suggest getting a job.

All these dole bludgers crying out for more money yet none of them will say who will get taxed more to pay for this extra sit down money

Reply #14 - Aug 16th, 2012 at 10:27am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 16th, 2012 at 7:32am:
... wrote on Aug 15th, 2012 at 7:54pm:

Why do anything about them? Why wreck it for everyone else? There arent enough of them to worry about and all the checks and balances in place will get them eventually. I find it fantastical that there is anyone that would choose to live on not enough money to live on but well you reckon they exist so they must.

Bicth please - there's heaps of them and it's piss easy to get away with it.  I should know.   Wink
At least I was only rorting it for a short time - I could have done it indefinitely if I had no ambition.